View Full Version : Eddie Turnbull Funeral Cortege tomorrow at Easter Road 1pm-1.15pm

08-05-2011, 10:07 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110506/eddie-turnbull-_2262950_2354560

A very sad day but just wondering who will be going along to pay their final respects to this great man who served Hibernian so brilliantly for all those years.

roondheid
08-05-2011, 11:38 PM
Certainly will, along with many others i would say. :not worth

09-05-2011, 07:59 AM
Due to family commitments I won't make it along to say a last farewell (and thank you) to Eddie. Hope he gets the sort of send-off befitting his legendary status at Hibernian.
Only one Eddie Turnbull. :not worth

09-05-2011, 08:21 AM
My mate & me have taken the day off work to come up from the Borders. I doubt we will see many Hibs legends like ET again coz of the way players move from club to club.

09-05-2011, 08:24 AM
I will be there to see him off.

Ollie Reed
09-05-2011, 08:29 AM
Due to family commitments I won't make it along to say a last farewell (and thank you) to Eddie. Hope he gets the sort of send-off befitting his legendary status at Hibernian.
Only one Eddie Turnbull. :not worth

He definitely will, P.

Heading along with my dad, Eddie was his all-time hero from the 40's onwards. The respect Eddie has, cannot be surpassed.

09-05-2011, 01:24 PM
Maybe nit-picking or over-sensitive, but in a news report on Eddie's funeral at Mansfield Traquair church, the BBC chose to feature FJK talking about the great man. Then, when it returned to the studio, they proceeded to give even more information about Jeffries' link (?) with Eddie Turnbull. A poor choice at best in my opinion.

09-05-2011, 01:27 PM
Maybe nit-picking or over-sensitive, but in a news report on Eddie's funeral at Mansfield Traquair church, the BBC chose to feature FJK talking about the great man. Then, when it returned to the studio, they proceeded to give even more information about Jeffries' link (?) with Eddie Turnbull. A poor choice at best in my opinion.

Seems an odd choice. What was the connection apart from 7-0 :wink:

09-05-2011, 02:08 PM
Just back.

Not a bad turnout.

RIP Eddie.

09-05-2011, 02:22 PM
Pretty good turnout, I was dreading a sub-50. Probably a good 200-300 there, the piper was good aswell.

09-05-2011, 02:24 PM
Nearer double that i would say.

09-05-2011, 02:25 PM
Mibbe, I was away down the south end so never had that good a view of the crowd.

09-05-2011, 02:32 PM
I would think about 300 turned up.

09-05-2011, 02:45 PM
Considering they have a decent number of their support living in the central belt, I was slightly surprised at the absence of any Aberdeen colours in amongst the tributes..

09-05-2011, 02:56 PM
Considering they have a decent number of their support living in the central belt, I was slightly surprised at the absence of any Aberdeen colours in amongst the tributes..

I spotted a couple of Hearts scarves. Well done to them.

To be honest I was a wee bit disappointed by the lack of tributes and thought there would be more than there was. A woman I was chatting to said she went down yesterday and there were no tributes up at that point. I think she said she went to the east stand to add her contribution and I can only guess the tributes were perhaps at the entrance to the Hibs reception area in the west stand.

09-05-2011, 02:57 PM
I would say about 500 there. Good turnout.

Anybody hear/see that bird going mental at the gate to the east afterwards?

09-05-2011, 02:58 PM
I would say about 500 there. Good turnout.

Anybody hear/see that bird going mental at the gate to the east afterwards?

Aye it was just a few seconds after I discreetly handed her my mobile number. :greengrin

Seriously - what happened?

09-05-2011, 03:00 PM
Aye it was just a few seconds after I discreetly handed her my mobile number. :greengrin

Seriously - what happened?

She was bevvied (or similar) started screaming and shouting about folk no turning up for games. I did a bolt so never saw/heard the rest but she was fairly going for it.

09-05-2011, 03:01 PM
There was an elderly guy being interviewed after the cortege. He was speaking on camera about Eddie Turnbull both as a player and a manager.

Anyone know who he was?

09-05-2011, 03:03 PM
She was bevvied (or similar) started screaming and shouting about folk no turning up for games. I did a bolt so never saw/heard the rest but she was fairly going for it.

Absolute disgrace. Hardly the time and the place.

09-05-2011, 03:15 PM
http://news.scotsman.com/edinburgh/Hundreds-turn-out-to-pay.6765278.jp

09-05-2011, 03:24 PM
And a wee video made by former Hibs.net poster Chuckie.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6jpNlM2nAI

09-05-2011, 03:30 PM

:aok: Excellent

09-05-2011, 03:56 PM

I seen that, don't know what her point was though, but she made sure everyone around heard her.
Just an Arse I think!

NaeTechnoHibby
09-05-2011, 04:24 PM
STV online reporter spoke to a fair few fans in the Albion Cafe and around the stadium

Report here

http://local.stv.tv/edinburgh/news/17220-hundreds-pay-tribute-to-hibs-legend/

So glad I was able to make it today.

09-05-2011, 05:27 PM
i attended the services at mansfield and warriston today and was very, very proud to be a hibee. eddie got a great send off, was good to see so many former and current players amongst the congregation.

i spoke to his daughter when coming out of warriston, she was overwhelmed with the amount of fans at easter road, the family appreciated it!

hopefully the boys do you proud on saturday ned

rip x

Simpson
09-05-2011, 05:50 PM
Missed the news on STV/BBC was there anything on about it?

If so, will the news be on the iPlayer / ITV Player??

Cheers.

r.i.p Eddie :not worth

Boris
09-05-2011, 06:19 PM
Missed the news on STV/BBC was there anything on about it?

If so, will the news be on the iPlayer / ITV Player??

Cheers.

r.i.p Eddie :not worth

Thought the coverage on both channels in their early evening news bulletins was excellent. Included footage of Eddie playing, interviews & some of the goals from 1/1/73 (canni mind the final score..........):thumbsup:

09-05-2011, 06:28 PM

Saw Chuckie (and myself) on the BBC. :thumbsup:

Ollie Reed
09-05-2011, 06:29 PM
I seen that, don't know what her point was though, but she made sure everyone around heard her.
Just an Arse I think!

A total fud, sadly.