View Full Version : Match Updates Today's Games

08-05-2011, 10:28 AM
First up we have the Wolves v WBA. I think we could be looking at draw. Killie v Celtic again I'm going for a draw which would be quite funny. We then have Stoke v Arsenal, away win here stoke will be thinking of wembley. Our thoughts will then turn to the big game at the Shay. Personally I would like to see an home win but I just can't see it. Special mention to the Cougars today in their tough task in Warrington.

08-05-2011, 11:06 AM
Fletcher starts for Wolves. Since leaving Hibs I reckon he has done very well. Good player.

08-05-2011, 11:09 AM
Fletcher starts for Wolves. Since leaving Hibs I reckon he has done very well. Good player.

Can we have Fletcher back, rather than O'Connor??

08-05-2011, 11:17 AM
Goal for Wolves. Fletcher tap in.

08-05-2011, 11:18 AM
Can we have Fletcher back, rather than O'Connor??
Depends how many season tickets we sell.

08-05-2011, 11:20 AM
Good put away from Fletch. Thinking about the " one that got away" thread, what about the four million we lost on him, in the space of twelve months?

08-05-2011, 11:22 AM
Good put away from Fletch. Thinking about the " one that got away" thread, what about the four million we lost on him, in the space of twelve months?
How much did Burnley pay for him again?

08-05-2011, 11:23 AM

£3m I think, but we had a sell on clause so got a good chunk again when Wolves bought him for £7m.

08-05-2011, 11:24 AM

About £3.5 million I think.

08-05-2011, 11:29 AM
If we have a sell-on, sell-on clause, in case Wolves go down, that would seal RP's claim to be a financial genius.

Wolves 2-0 up.

Assist from Fletcher.

2-0

08-05-2011, 11:31 AM
First up we have the Wolves v WBA. I think we could be looking at draw. Killie v Celtic again I'm going for a draw which would be quite funny. We then have Stoke v Arsenal, away win here stoke will be thinking of wembley. Our thoughts will then turn to the big game at the Shay. Personally I would like to see an home win but I just can't see it. Special mention to the Cougars today in their tough task in Warrington.

Looking quite like a Wolves win now.

I fancy Celtic to get beyond Killie, Arsenal to comfortably see off Stoke and Man Utd and Chelsea to draw.

Dirkster23
08-05-2011, 11:32 AM

We didn't lose 4 million on him. When Wolves bought him he'd played a season in the EPL and proven it was a level he could play at. There's no way Wolves would have paid that kind of money hoping he could make the step up.

08-05-2011, 11:33 AM
Fletch was always going to make it because he seen there was bigger teams than the old firm.

08-05-2011, 11:34 AM
My sky has just went down. Saying no satellite signal is being recieved. Anybody elses done this today?:grr:

08-05-2011, 11:38 AM
My sky has just went down. Saying no satellite signal is being recieved. Anybody elses done this today?:grr:

We had thunder and lightning last night and I had that message so I turned off the power and turned it back on again and it worked fine.

08-05-2011, 11:42 AM
Thanks got it sorted. Severe weather outside the now. Torrential rain.

08-05-2011, 11:44 AM

Mine too. I have a shared satellite dish so I don't think that helps.

08-05-2011, 11:45 AM
Wished Hibs worked as hard as Wolves.

08-05-2011, 11:46 AM

Mine came back on after the really heavy rain passed. Its still raining but not heavy now.

08-05-2011, 11:46 AM
I used to get it a bit in winter but sun is out today so no problems here.

08-05-2011, 11:49 AM
I used to get it a bit in winter but sun is out today so no problems here.

:fibber: :tee hee: :greengrin

08-05-2011, 11:55 AM

Oh god its too hot.

08-05-2011, 11:56 AM
A few snippets from Sporting Life text:

15: GOAL - Steven Fletcher - Goal for Wolves as West Brom fail to deal with Stephen Hunt corner. As the ball comes in, Guedioura chests it - without knowing much about it - and the ball drops for Fletcher to slam the ball home from three-yards.

19: Great work from Fletcher down the left, he finds O Hara - who swings a first-time ball into the box but again Ward is offside.

28: GOAL - Adlene Guedioura - Another Hunt corner undoes West Brom. And it is the same two players, this time Fletcher creates as he heads ball back across goal for unmarked Guedioura to volley home from close-range.

37: Good clearance from Gonzalo Jara as Fletcher set Ward free down the right and he cut the ball back dangerously, but the Chilean managed to clear

37: Deep Wolves cross sees Shorey scrambling but he manages to get there ahead of Fletcher but has to concede another corner.

38: Another wonderful chance for Wolves, this time from an O'Hara corner and Fletcher stands his ground in six-yard box and gets a free-header which he sends just wide

39: Fletcher, who is winning every ball in the air, finds Ward he is free in the box - he looks for a Wolves shirt but Meite clears.

Sounds like he is having a stormer. :wink:

08-05-2011, 11:58 AM
Wonder if Walter Smith or Ally McCoist are at Rugby Park to make sure Killie aren't lying down to Celtic :rolleyes:

08-05-2011, 12:01 PM
Wonder if Walter Smith or Ally McCoist are at Rugby Park to make sure Killie aren't lying down to Celtic :rolleyes:

Killie giving as good as they are getting at the moment. Good on them.:greengrin

08-05-2011, 12:05 PM
Killie giving as good as they are getting at the moment. Good on them.:greengrin

Glad to here the conspiracy is alive and well :agree:

Meanwhile at 13:03 Pro IRA songs coming over the radio loud and clear :confused:

Fletcher scores again.

Offside. Good call. Celtic nearly 1 up

08-05-2011, 12:07 PM
You have to laugh at (or pity?) the sheer lack of intellectual capacity amongst the Celtic fans to understand the concept of "irony" - they were up in arms (no pun intended) about the bombs sent to Lennon, McBride etc a few weeks ago, yet their fans still sing loudly and proudly about the IRA.

Eremenko booked for a late tackle on Mark Wilson, Scott Brown gets away with an arm/face challenge on Eremenko (which by Brown's expression, was evidently a revenge mission) :confused:

08-05-2011, 12:08 PM
Eremenko booked for a late tackle on Mark Wilson, Scott Brown gets away with an arm/face challenge on Eremenko (which by Brown's expression, was evidently a revenge mission) :confused:

Remember that the referees pick on Celtc though

08-05-2011, 12:09 PM
You have to laugh at (or pity?) the sheer lack of intellectual capacity amongst the Celtic fans to understand the concept of "irony" - they were up in arms (no pun intended) about the bombs sent to Lennon, McBride etc a few weeks ago, yet their fans still sing loudly and proudly about the IRA.

Theres a conspiracy though? :greengrin

Liams
08-05-2011, 12:10 PM
Its good to see Fletcher getting the goals he deserve.. did great at Burnley but hasnt really been giving a chance for wolves... just to think he could be there hero if he makes them stay up... Go on Fletcher!!

ps as im writing this you can here the fans chanting his name

08-05-2011, 12:11 PM

Anybody want to report it?

http://farenet.org/default.asp?intPageID=7&intArticleID=2449

08-05-2011, 12:12 PM
Pen to W Brom. Stonewaller

08-05-2011, 12:12 PM
3-1

08-05-2011, 12:13 PM
3-1 pen for WBA

08-05-2011, 12:18 PM
Anybody want to report it?

http://farenet.org/default.asp?intPageID=7&intArticleID=2449

You can see (from looking at Fare's form) why it's difficult to take action against the pro-IRA, pro-UVF type songs.

Who would you define as a "victim" of said songs? :confused:

08-05-2011, 12:20 PM
Another goal for Celtc chopped off for offside :tee hee:

08-05-2011, 12:23 PM
You can see (from looking at Fare's form) why it's difficult to take action against the pro-IRA, pro-UVF type songs.

Who would you define as a "victim" of said songs? :confused:

Have to admit I didn't look at it, but sure every victim of the IRA terrorist attacks would be the Legitimate victims. The songs glorify an outlawed terror organisation (not to be confused with Sinn Fein, the political party)

08-05-2011, 12:24 PM
Steven Fletcher - doing not bad for himself for a guy who just has a left foot

08-05-2011, 12:25 PM
They've just finished giving that song it's second airing - here's the contents:

We remember back in time in the year of '69
You unleashed your dogs of war onto our streets
We could not stand idly by and let our families die
We fought you back and joined the IRA

So stuff your ****ing crown we Irish won't lie down
and give away our guns to a foreign land
No semtex not our guns will you ever get from us
You can stick your decommission up your arse

Well you murdered fourteen young men and you'll do the same again
Decommission you will never ever see
As long as we have men like the famous fighting men
Yes those famous fighting men from Crossmaglen

In memory of the ten they were Ireland's bravest men
We will not forget the ones who fought and died
Decommission you can see will never ever be
'Cause the IRA will always be around

and give away our guns to foreign lands

You can tell the RUC, those black *******s from Drumcree
You'll never march down Garvaghy road
If you want to make a fight we will stand up for our rights
You can take your ****ing march and give us peace

Now Trimble you're an ass if you think that it will last
Six counties are under tyranny
You can tell wee Tony Blair and Mo Mowlam if you dare
They can stick their decommission up their ass

Source: http://forum.stirpes.net/baile-na-ceilteach/

08-05-2011, 12:31 PM
1-0 Celtc, Scott Brown

08-05-2011, 01:13 PM
2-0 commons

Nevi1875
08-05-2011, 01:37 PM
Stoke 1 - 0 Arsenal (Jones)

08-05-2011, 01:39 PM
Arsenal losing. All the ball as well. Just can't defend.

08-05-2011, 01:40 PM

bet your glad you didnt put money on hahaha

08-05-2011, 01:45 PM
2-0 Stoke :thumbsup:

08-05-2011, 01:55 PM
bet your glad you didnt put money on hahaha
Why do you think I stopped betting ha ha

08-05-2011, 02:04 PM

Hope you have stuck bbc2 on to see the sunshine. :-)

08-05-2011, 02:08 PM
9 goals in 9 league game for Commons, wonder what the average distance of them is...

He's certainly got a strike on him

08-05-2011, 02:08 PM
Hope you have stuck bbc2 on to see the sunshine. :-)

B ugger, just of the phone to my sis-in-law in Castleford, and she said it was chucking it down yesterday, so you don't have a monopoly on good weather.

08-05-2011, 02:34 PM
B ugger, just of the phone to my sis-in-law in Castleford, and she said it was chucking it down yesterday, so you don't have a monopoly on good weather.
Oh don't worry it normally rains here. However rain is the last thing you would worry about in castleford ha ha.

08-05-2011, 02:44 PM
3-1 Stoke

08-05-2011, 02:44 PM
3-1 Stoke.

Quick couple of goals.

08-05-2011, 02:45 PM
Why do you think I stopped betting ha haDinnae ken about stopping betting but I'm going tae stop puting that pishy Arsenal team in my bets :bitchy:

08-05-2011, 02:54 PM
Two good EPL games the day so far. Bet the Manure v Chelski is a massive let down.

08-05-2011, 02:57 PM
Dinnae ken about stopping betting but I'm going tae stop puting that pishy Arsenal team in my bets :bitchy:

The bet I put on today was:
West Brom (FAIL)
Celtc (WIN)
Arsenal (FAIL)
Man U

Seeing how much of a jinx I am, if anyone has the potential for a bet in play bet on either a draw or a Chelsea win, they should lump on!

08-05-2011, 02:58 PM
The bet I put on today was:
West Brom (FAIL)
Celtc (WIN)
Arsenal (FAIL)
Man U

Seeing how much of a jinx I am, if anyone has the potential for a bet in play bet on either a draw or a Chelsea win, they should lump on!

Let's hope you get two out of four. :agree:

08-05-2011, 03:00 PM
Let's hope you get two out of four. :agree:

How's the weather in Manchester? :greengrin

08-05-2011, 03:11 PM
Booger

08-05-2011, 03:11 PM
Chicharitooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooo!!! :thumbsup:

What a start! :greengrin

08-05-2011, 03:12 PM
Shocking defending :grr:

08-05-2011, 03:15 PM
Was kinda hoping that Chelski would score first. Even the best players in the world can be rank it seems.

08-05-2011, 03:16 PM
Chicharitooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooo!!! :thumbsup:

What a start! :greengrin

For god sake. We were hoping you had gone to your first game so we can have a really enjoyable match thread. Your a bloody let down lad.

08-05-2011, 03:18 PM
How fired up for this are Man Utd?!

Almost 2 - scorcher from Rooney.

08-05-2011, 03:21 PM
For god sake. We were hoping you had gone to your first game so we can have a really enjoyable match thread. Your a bloody let down lad.

I think this thread needs my input. The silence has been deafening since the "little pea" scored after 40 seconds. :agree:

United have started absolutely brilliantly. Chelsea just can't cope with this tempo at the moment. It was a great save by Cech a minute ago from Rooney.

08-05-2011, 03:31 PM
I think this thread needs my input. The silence has been deafening since the "little pea" scored after 40 seconds. :agree:

United have started absolutely brilliantly. Chelsea just can't cope with this tempo at the moment. It was a great save by Cech a minute ago from Rooney.
I'm watching the rugby league, might watch 2nd half though. God knows how someone can care about a team he has never been to see. In all honestly your just a glory hunter. Have you baught their shirt this season?

08-05-2011, 03:34 PM
2-0 Vidic

2-0 vidic

2-0, Vidic. :thumbsup:

Championeees, championeees
Oh way
Oh way
Oh way!!!

Oh well time to unleash Torres. :greengrin

2-0 Vidic

Again shocking defending. By By Carlo :bye:

08-05-2011, 03:36 PM
I'm watching the rugby league, might watch 2nd half though. God knows how someone can care about a team he has never been to see. In all honestly your just a glory hunter. Have you baught their shirt this season?

Have you ever seen either of the rugby league teams play?

08-05-2011, 03:39 PM

Of cause. In fact there is not many rugby league grounds I have not been to. Glad your teams winning though.

08-05-2011, 03:39 PM

He's not making a point of cheering on one of the 2 though? :greengrin

I couldn't care less who wins this really - it's the English equivalent of Rangers vs Celtic for me.

Been a good game to watch thus far though.

08-05-2011, 03:43 PM

I couldn't care less who wins this really - it's the English equivalent of Rangers vs Celtic for me.

The Rangers v CEltic comment hits nail on the head for me.

08-05-2011, 03:44 PM
Of cause. In fact there is not many rugby league grounds I have not been to. Glad your teams winning though.

Hibs are my team, and they lost, as usual:wink:

08-05-2011, 03:45 PM

no but he's saying he isn't watching the man utd chelski game because he doesn't care, never mind it was a crap argument:greengrin

08-05-2011, 03:47 PM
Hibs are my team, and they lost, as usual:wink:
Thing is there is 'Hibs' fans on this message board that would have taken a loss yesterday if it meant FC GLAZERS won today. I don't doubt it.

08-05-2011, 03:48 PM
Any of the United fans know who the group of Sikh fellows are who sit behind the Man Utd dugout? They're present in those seats every single home game without fail.

08-05-2011, 03:50 PM
Thing is there is 'Hibs' fans on this message board that would have taken a loss yesterday if it meant FC GLAZERS won today. I don't doubt it.

The scary thing is this is probably true.

08-05-2011, 03:51 PM

What team do you support again? :devil:

08-05-2011, 03:51 PM
Ivanovic a lucky boy to still be on the park...

08-05-2011, 03:52 PM
What team do you support again? :devil:

I gave up "supporting" any time a long while ago - too many choices :greengrin

Dirkster23
08-05-2011, 03:53 PM

Your talking crap! You don't like Man U, fair enough but your getting very boring now with your trolling :agree:

08-05-2011, 03:55 PM

Yep, you're right.

I was delighted that Hibs lost to the worst team in the league yesterday. :aok:

08-05-2011, 03:56 PM
They've just finished giving that song it's second airing - here's the contents:

We remember back in time in the year of '69
You unleashed your dogs of war onto our streets
We could not stand idly by and let our families die
We fought you back and joined the IRA

Well you murdered fourteen young men and you'll do the same again
Decommission you will never ever see
As long as we have men like the famous fighting men
Yes those famous fighting men from Crossmaglen

In memory of the ten they were Ireland's bravest men
We will not forget the ones who fought and died
Decommission you can see will never ever be
'Cause the IRA will always be around

and give away our guns to foreign lands

You can tell the RUC, those black *******s from Drumcree
You'll never march down Garvaghy road
If you want to make a fight we will stand up for our rights
You can take your ****ing march and give us peace

Now Trimble you're an ass if you think that it will last
Six counties are under tyranny
You can tell wee Tony Blair and Mo Mowlam if you dare
They can stick their decommission up their ass

Source: http://forum.stirpes.net/baile-na-ceilteach/

Up there with the filthy Huns bile!

08-05-2011, 03:57 PM
Your talking crap! You don't like Man U, fair enough but your getting very boring now with your trolling :agree:

I'm not sure he is talking crap - someone posted on here yesterday that they'd like Hamilton to beat us to make the relegation battle more exciting! True story.

08-05-2011, 03:58 PM
Maybe one day we'll get through a match update thread on a day when Man Utd are playing that sticks to the topic :rolleyes:

08-05-2011, 03:59 PM
Please :troll: he is :fishin: and he is :drunk:.

08-05-2011, 03:59 PM

I talk a lot of crap. Not so much on this board though. How's the game going?

08-05-2011, 04:03 PM
GIRFUY Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink!

08-05-2011, 04:05 PM
Please :troll: he is :fishin: and he is :drunk:.

He's not even drunk hes like this every week!:greengrin

Dirkster23
08-05-2011, 04:09 PM
I talk a lot of crap. Not so much on this board though. How's the game going?

No arguments from me there!

I've no idea how the games going, i'm not watching it.

08-05-2011, 04:11 PM
Is Jamie Redknapp actually wearing trousers or has someone painted his legs?

08-05-2011, 04:14 PM
No arguments from me there!

I've no idea how the games going, i'm not watching it.

Let me tell you how its going.

Luiz is having a shocker.

Park is having a stormer.

Valencia is tearing up Cashley Hole at every opportunity.

Ivanovic is lucky to be on the park after a rash lunge at Rooney, blocking him off then standing on his ankle.

Terry looks like a lost little boy trying to keep tabs on Rooney/Hernandez.

And Ancelotti made the right call not starting with Lampard.

I've got a great view form up here in the Stretford end.

08-05-2011, 04:29 PM

Ivanovic is lucky to be on the park after a rash lunge at Rooney, blocking him off then standing on his ankle.

...and Carrick hasnae wasted a pass aw game:agree:

08-05-2011, 04:33 PM

So you have paid around £50 for a ticket and you have sat and typed all that on a mobile phone while on the ground. Oh dear.

08-05-2011, 04:38 PM
Fat Frank pulls one back, 2-1

08-05-2011, 04:38 PM
So you have paid around £50 for a ticket and you have sat and typed all that on a mobile phone while on the ground. Oh dear.

at half time? And why does it matter ? 2-1 now, lampard.

08-05-2011, 04:40 PM
Cmon Chelsea. Get right into Rid pusses team.

08-05-2011, 04:48 PM
Chelsea have been coming right back into this over the past twenty minutes or so.

08-05-2011, 04:48 PM

Doesn't say posted from a mobile device. :hmmm:

08-05-2011, 04:49 PM
Chelsea have been coming right back into this over the past twenty minutes or so.

Good.

08-05-2011, 04:53 PM
Doesn't say posted from a mobile device. :hmmm:

Oh right. I guess he will be on the free WiFi in the ground then. It's offered at old trafford as people travel miles to the ground and some may need to keep in touch with their families.

Love the Green
08-05-2011, 04:55 PM

So your sat nav must have found the ground then.How did youn get a ticket are the Londoners all away on their holidays.
Easy to support winning teams just like being an OF supporter.

"keep the faith"
"blue moon rising"

Dirkster23
08-05-2011, 05:00 PM
Cmon Chelsea. Get right into Rid pusses team.

Nice to see you've made an appearance Andy, like the Arsenal defence, you were posted missing during their game :greengrin

08-05-2011, 05:00 PM
So your sat nav must have found the ground then.How did youn get a ticket are the Londoners all away on their holidays.
Easy to support winning teams just like being an OF supporter.

"keep the faith"
"blue moon rising"
Deary me.

08-05-2011, 05:02 PM
Nice to see you've made an appearance Andy, like the Arsenal defence, you were posted missing during their game :greengrin

Thought id better join in:greengrin

08-05-2011, 05:12 PM
Cheers guys.

It's been a long season, but Fergie's boys have done the job yet again.

Arsenal's "challenge" would never last the course of 38 games.

Chelsea's "challenge" was in tatters mid season.

And Liverpool's "challenge" never even started.

Best team in the league. Easily. And champions once again.

08-05-2011, 05:29 PM
Cheers guys.

Not yet. :wink:

Love the Green
08-05-2011, 05:33 PM
Cheers guys.

Sorry but can you confirm I changed channel 2 early and must have missed the presentation.

Or are they not passed the post yet?

"keep the faith"
blue moon rising

08-05-2011, 05:38 PM
Sorry but can you confirm I changed channel 2 early and must have missed the presentation.

Or are they not passed the post yet?

"keep the faith"
blue moon rising

Clutching at straws?

Blackburn (A)
Blackpool (H)

1 point and the titles in the bag.

That's given that Chelsea win their two last games.

Like I said, Champions once again.

08-05-2011, 05:38 PM
Hibs Supporter :na na:

08-05-2011, 09:41 PM
Cheers guys.

And as for Manchester City...:faf:

Despite spending about £200 million on their current squad of players, it looks as if they're only going to scrape into next season's champions league by the skin of their teeth and haven't even had a sniff of winning the title.

When United pick up their inevitable point from their last two games, they'll officially become the most successful side in English football history.

I bet nobody thought this would be possible 20 years ago when they were 11 titles behind Liverpool.

What a manager Sir Alex is. Only 245 defeats in 25 years as manager of Manchester Utd. That is an outstanding statistic. :agree:

08-05-2011, 09:43 PM

Despite spending about £200 million on their current squad of players, it looks as if they're only going to scrape into next season's champions league by the skin of their teeth and haven't even had a sniff of winning the title.

When United pick up their inevitable point from their last two games, they'll officially become the most successful side in English football history.

I bet nobody thought this would be possible 20 years ago when they were 11 titles behind Liverpool.

What a manager Sir Alex is. Only 245 defeats in 25 years as manager of Manchester Utd. That is an outstanding statistic. :agree:

pssst....its 249 defeats in 25 years :wink:

08-05-2011, 09:49 PM
pssst....its 249 defeats in 25 years :wink:

I know the Sky commentator said that today but wikipedia has it as 245 so that'll do for me. :greengrin

Hibbie_Cameron
08-05-2011, 09:54 PM

To be fair on Man City, noone has ever came out and said there aim was instant success. When Abramovich took over Chelsea they never found instant success either.

I think it will be next season or the season after before they really do damage, anyone who thinks they wont is kidding themselves on imo.

Whilst i predict that Man Utd would win the league several months ago, they should have had it wrapped up weeks ago. It shows how poor the other challengers are, when one of the poorest Man Utd teams for years still win the league with some what ease.

Im actually looking forward to next seasons premier league. Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal, Man City, Liverpool and Spurs will all be up there imo

08-05-2011, 10:03 PM
I have very little interest in who wins the hypefest, but this has been the poorest man yoo side for quite a while, and its only the poor quality of the league as a whole that has given them the title. Barca will surely destroy them.

08-05-2011, 10:10 PM
To be fair on Man City, noone has ever came out and said there aim was instant success. When Abramovich took over Chelsea they never found instant success either.

I think it will be next season or the season after before they really do damage, anyone who thinks they wont is kidding themselves on imo.

Whilst i predict that Man Utd would win the league several months ago, they should have had it wrapped up weeks ago. It shows how poor the other challengers are, when one of the poorest Man Utd teams for years still win the league with some what ease.

Im actually looking forward to next seasons premier league. Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal, Man City, Liverpool and Spurs will all be up there imo

For the money they've spent over the past 2 or 3 years, they really should be doing a lot better than they have done. They've only got an FA Cup final appearance to show for their efforts.

You really can't beat having a good manager in charge and experience on the pitch, together with a good team spirit. When you have clowns like Mario Balotelli playing for you, who are only interested in themselves, I don't think you'll ever be successful.

Arsenal will need to make wholesale changes to their squad before they'll seriously challenge for the title again.

I only see Manchester Utd and Chelsea as genuine title contenders for next season.

Hibbie_Cameron
08-05-2011, 10:22 PM
For the money they've spent over the past 2 or 3 years, they really should be doing a lot better than they have done. They've only got an FA Cup final appearance to show for their efforts.

You really can't beat having a good manager in charge and experience on the pitch, together with a good team spirit. When you have clowns like Mario Balotelli playing for you, who are only interested in themselves, I don't think you'll ever be successful.

Arsenal will need to make wholesale changes to their squad before they'll seriously challenge for the title again.

I only see Manchester Utd and Chelsea as genuine title contenders for next season.

It may well turn out to be down to Man Utd and Chelsea again, however i do disagree with you about Man City.

As you know, i dont support them but they have seen such radical changes in such a short time that achieving success will always be difficult. I think they have set out some good targets, eg Champs league this season and good cup runs. In short what im trying to say is its easy to laugh at Man City just now but in the long run, they will win things and they will be a threat.

You must remember that despite many super signings Fergie has also bought some utter dross for Man Utd. In Man City's case, i think they will get rid of quite a few in the summer and try and focus on a more settled team. I also dont think Balotelli will be at City long, his heart is with AC.

08-05-2011, 10:33 PM
I have very little interest in who wins the hypefest, but this has been the poorest man yoo side for quite a while, and its only the poor quality of the league as a whole that has given them the title. Barca will surely destroy them.

I hear a lot of people saying how poor a United side this is. Yet they remain undefeated at home for over a year, they have got to the Champions League final without losing a single game at home or away and are one point away from winning a record 19th English league title.

In van der Sar they have one of the best goalkeepers in world football, even at 40 years of age. In Ryan Giggs they have one of the greatest footballers that British football has ever seen and at 37 years old, he's still influencing games like he was 10 years ago.

In guys like Hernandez, Valencia and Park they have workers all over the pitch and in Vidic and Ferdinand they have one of the best defensive pairings in the world.

They have drawn a lot of league games away from home this season and that could have been their downfall but if Man Utd play like they did today in the Champions League final, I'm not certain at all that Barcelona will destroy them.

That first half performance was as good as anything that I've seen by any side for quite some time.

Their passing, tempo and workrate was exceptional.

08-05-2011, 11:31 PM
I hear a lot of people saying how poor a United side this is. Yet they remain undefeated at home for over a year, they have got to the Champions League final without losing a single game at home or away and are one point away from winning a record 19th English league title.

In van der Sar they have one of the best goalkeepers in world football, even at 40 years of age. In Ryan Giggs they have one of the greatest footballers that British football has ever seen and at 37 years old, he's still influencing games like he was 10 years ago.

In guys like Hernandez, Valencia and Park they have workers all over the pitch and in Vidic and Ferdinand they have one of the best defensive pairings in the world.

They have drawn a lot of league games away from home this season and that could have been their downfall but if Man Utd play like they did today in the Champions League final, I'm not certain at all that Barcelona will destroy them.

That first half performance was as good as anything that I've seen by any side for quite some time.

Their passing, tempo and workrate was exceptional.

I agree that this tag of "not a great side" is perplexing. They HAVE lost a lot of games this season they would be expected to win (mostly away from home) but their home record, imminent league victory and Champions League final spot (though their path has been quite simple, truth be told) is quite a damning statement to the contrary.

I would however request you lay off the sauce whilst trying to reference Ferdinand and Vidic as "one of the best defensive pairings in the world", particularly when they've only played a dozen games together this season :agree:

09-05-2011, 12:14 AM
I agree that this tag of "not a great side" is perplexing. They HAVE lost a lot of games this season they would be expected to win (mostly away from home) but their home record, imminent league victory and Champions League final spot (though their path has been quite simple, truth be told) is quite a damning statement to the contrary.

I would however request you lay off the sauce whilst trying to reference Ferdinand and Vidic as "one of the best defensive pairings in the world", particularly when they've only played a dozen games together this season :agree:

I'm completely sober, not had a drink for a couple of weeks! :greengrin

I wasn't just talking about this season, I was referring to the partnership that they have formed over the past five years, since Vidic signed for Man Utd in 2006.

I don't have the stats to hand, relating to the number of goals that United have conceded when Ferdinand and Vidic have both played over that 5 year period, but I do believe that they are one of the best centre half partnerships in the world.

The stats for this season are as follows;

Number of games that Vidic and Ferdinand have played in together-23
Number of goals that Man Utd have conceded in those games-15

That works out at losing a goal every 1.5 games.

If you take United's stats for the entire season they are as follows;

Games-56
Goals lost-48

That works out at losing a goal every 1.1 games.

09-05-2011, 01:46 AM

I have this irrational dislike for Manchester United but I have to disagree when I hear it's one of the poorest teams they have had.
They've lost players but the others have stepped up to the plate. Unsung heroes like Park, Giggs and Scholes have really shone this season and have contributed more than enough to ensure that the team is still as effective when it matters.
This Chicarito has also added so much to their attack. Best find in years and I'd say he's had more of an impact in his first season than nearly anyone I can remember. Nearly every Man U great you can think of takes a one or two seasons to adjust and fit in but this boy has done it instantly....and he's still so young.
I'm not that sure that they have only won the league because the quality has diminshed. Sure, they might have dropped points but who hasn't?
To me this says the league as a whole is actually getting stronger and there are no easy three points any more. There's quality at every club in the premier league and nearly anyone can beat anyone on their day. It just so happens that Man U have this ability to pull results out the bag more than any other team.

Love them or loathe them you have to take your hat off to them and sir Alex. They've been a phenomenom over the past 20 years and deserve every one of the championships they have won (apart from the one in the early nineties where Aston Villa were robbed).

I was also going to say something along the lines of "come back when you've won 5 European cups" but I think they have a great chance against Barcelona. They're playing at Wembley which is on home soil and They are experienced enough to know that Barca are not unbeatable. If Arsenal, who can't defend for toffee can beat them at the Emirates then surely a battle hardened team like Man U can find a way past them in a one-off game.

I think all football fans should take note of what this man has done at this club and give it the respect it deserves because I'm not sure it will ever be repeated considering the way the modern game is going.