View Full Version : R.I.P. Eddie Turnbull

Pages : 1 [2]

01-05-2011, 02:02 PM
RIP Eddie.

Great to see the vast majority of Hearts fans on that Kickback thread acknowledging and respecting how great he was.

01-05-2011, 02:07 PM
RIP Eddie.

Great to see the vast majority of Hearts fans on that Kickback thread acknowledging and respecting how great he was.

Excellent stuff from the majority of Hearts fans on kickback. As i said earlier there is a very nice thread on follow follow also and obviously the Aberdeen threads are full of some great sentiment and memories.

One post i read on an Aberdeen thread suggested that given all that Eddie acheived and the fact he lived a good, long life meant that after a respected minutes silence on the final day of the season it might well be an idea for Hibs and Aberdeen supporters to turn the day into a celebration of a fantastic life and all he acheived at both clubs. An excellent idea i thought.

01-05-2011, 02:55 PM
Thanks for the memories Eddie Turnbull. never realised he was held in such high regard by Aberdeen supporters, hopefully the 2 clubs can arrange a fitting tribute for the last game of the season :flag:

01-05-2011, 02:56 PM
A look back at Eddie's career from Aberdeen FC.

http://www.afc.co.uk/articles/20110430/former-aberdeen-manager_2212158_2350208

billbee
01-05-2011, 05:59 PM
Thanks Eddie - We will ner see your likes again - proud to have followed you and your team! Bless all your family - RIP Eddie

01-05-2011, 06:22 PM
As i said yesterday, R.I.P, a true Hibs legend.

I have a question. Someone said he was number 10, can someone confirm this as i have a picture and he is number 17?

01-05-2011, 06:33 PM
As i said yesterday, R.I.P, a true Hibs legend.

I have a question. Someone said he was number 10, can someone confirm this as i have a picture and he is number 17?

Number 10.

In those heady days numbers were 1 to 11 without exception, there were no subs remember.

No 17 will be on a training top or similar.

scottp1875
01-05-2011, 07:00 PM
RIP - true hibs legend

01-05-2011, 07:13 PM
Number 10.

In those heady days numbers were 1 to 11 without exception, there were no subs remember.

No 17 will be on a training top or similar.

Ok thanks. Yeah there was no crowd so it was taken during training.

cal-d hibs
01-05-2011, 07:44 PM
RIP Eddie Turnbull. A Hibernian Great.

davcar
01-05-2011, 07:50 PM
R.I.P Mr Hibs, never saw you play, was a bairn when you took on The Tornadoes.

Best wishes from me to your nearest and dearest Ned!

:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

01-05-2011, 08:00 PM
R.I.P Eddie Turnbull, Mr Hibs says it all really :hibees

01-05-2011, 08:01 PM
RIP Eddie

Just listened to his interview that is on you tube.

Really interesting, says George Best got him the sack.

Every new manager and player coming into Hibs should be made to listen to it.

01-05-2011, 08:13 PM
A Hibs great has gone, his team and his style was the one that really got me excited about Hibs, it was sadly not to be equalled since, which is truly the measure of his impact on the club as a manager. I know from what my elders tell me he was some player for us as well.

Thanks for some great memories and my thoughts are with his family. The club should find a way to mark Eddies contribution as a player and a manager.

RIP.

02-05-2011, 08:05 AM
I'd like to think the BBC will repeat the radio interview they did with Eddie in 2009 as a tribute to the great man.
Maybe Sat 14 May (last game of the season v Aberdeen) would be the time to do it.

02-05-2011, 08:16 AM
I'd like to think the BBC will repeat the radio interview they did with Eddie in 2009 as a tribute to the great man.
Maybe Sat 14 May (last game of the season v Aberdeen) would be the time to do it.

Was it too much to expect a wee mention on MOTD2 last night?

Henry Cooper and Ted Lowe both got honoured after their passing, but not an influential footballer. Shame, really.

02-05-2011, 08:18 AM
RIP Eddie..the best brand of football I ever saw at ER

:not worth

02-05-2011, 08:21 AM
RIP Ned. As can probably seen from my username, you gave me one of the greatest days ever. And many more besides.

02-05-2011, 08:22 AM
Was it too much to expect a wee mention on MOTD2 last night?

Henry Cooper and Ted Lowe both got honoured after their passing, but not an influential footballer. Shame, really.

I was hoping for that too. If even a part of Eddie's career had been in England it would've happened.

02-05-2011, 08:45 AM
I was hoping for that too. If even a part of Eddie's career had been in England it would've happened.

Typical EBC. Nothing to be surprised out but it does make me angry. They'd mention some European or South American great and probably an OF legend. Sad but true.

ginger_rice
02-05-2011, 10:48 AM
I only once got the chance to talk to Eddie, when he had ETs on Easter Road, IIRC Gordon Turnbull was with me, it was during the time when we were pretty poor on the park and ET didn't hold back, his appreciation of what was going wrong was amazing.

The odd thing was that he discovered by chance that I was in the RN at the time and as he had served in the Navy during the war,he then became more interested in me and what I did what ships I'd been on etc than a chat about football. True gentleman!

I too have read his book, probably one of the best Hibs books I've read, went to look it out last night then remembered I left it behind a bar in Spain! I would reccommend that all Hibbys read Having a Ball.

Sad loss

ForeverHibs93
02-05-2011, 11:08 AM
I got the chance to speak to Eddie Turnbull, when I was playing football with my dad at Broughton highschool when I was younger, and he took time out of his day to talk to us about Hibs and my football. Hibs legend:hibees

R.I.P. Eddie Turnbull:flag:

02-05-2011, 11:12 AM
R. I. P. Mr Turnbull.

A great loss for the Hibs Family.

02-05-2011, 11:42 AM
Sad, sad loss.

Thanks for greatest Hibs team I have ever seen or ever likely to see again. RIP

02-05-2011, 02:12 PM
RIP Eddie. In my opinion, our club's greatest servant.

A true Hibernian legend.

GMIZ
02-05-2011, 03:22 PM
R I P Eddie I had the pleasure of watching you as a player and then as a great manager at hibs Thanks for the memories.

LeithBoozy
02-05-2011, 07:00 PM
Rest in peace eddie, god bless you.

Tha Cabbage Kid
02-05-2011, 07:12 PM
A special man!

R.I.P Eddie. You were one of the greats!

OxoHibby
02-05-2011, 08:07 PM
Rest In Peace Eddie Turnbull

A true legend and giant of Hibernian Football Club and Scottish Football.

There aren't that many left.

Thoughts with the his family.

02-05-2011, 08:20 PM
R.I.P Ned

03-05-2011, 07:26 AM
http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/football/Eddie-Turnbull-service-on-Monday.6761563.jp

03-05-2011, 09:44 AM
RIP Eddie - a true gent and a true football great :not worth

03-05-2011, 10:01 AM
I once asked the great man for his autograph at Firrhill.

He told me to **** off.

Still a legend though.

Twiglet
03-05-2011, 06:17 PM
Tribute show on BBC Scotland now. Not available online, but on freeview radio channel 719 for those looking for it.

03-05-2011, 09:53 PM
R.I.P Mr Turnbull. A true Hibs legend if ever there was one.

Didnt always agree with some of his utterances on the modern game, but the above can never be denied.

03-05-2011, 10:24 PM
Tribute show on BBC Scotland now. Not available online, but on freeview radio channel 719 for those looking for it.

Yeah, well done radio scotland. Not only did they repeat the excellent interview with Eddie from 2009 but also had contributions from Craig Paterson, Joe Harper, Jackie Mac and John Blackley in addition to reporter Roger Baillie. Some great humouous anecdotes from them all about their run-ins with Eddie, his colourful language and his no-nonsense management style.
He's going to be sadly missed by a lot of folk. :not worth

Twiglet
03-05-2011, 10:49 PM
Yeah, well done radio scotland. Not only did they repeat the excellent interview with Eddie from 2009 but also had contributions from Craig Paterson, Joe Harper, Jackie Mac and John Blackley in addition to reporter Roger Baillie. Some great humouous anecdotes from them all about their run-ins with Eddie, his colourful language and his no-nonsense management style.

I loved the bits from the 2009 interview where he struggled to get the story out because he was too busy laughing remembering it all. If only there were more managers around like him. I think it was Joe Harper that was talking about the keeper who trained for 20 minutes then said "that's enough", from listening to them all he was either very brace or very stupid.

04-05-2011, 06:40 AM
RIP Eddie Turnbull - a Hibs Legend in every sense.

04-05-2011, 08:22 AM

Loved the bit about E T chinning Harper.

Should have him hit harder.....,

:not worth

06-05-2011, 07:31 AM
Apologies for lateness of this response but was out country.
There are thousands of stories about Eddie but here's a couple from the day he honoured us at London Hibs by being our guest at our Burns Night.
1. We went to see Spurs that day & went with Eddie to the Legends lounge. Little Tommy Harmer, a Spurs player from Eddie's era came over & said hello then added, " I remember playing you Jocks, you weren't bad". " Not bad" said Ned, "we !!!!!! you 5-2!"
2. In the evening when introducing Eddie to the gathering I asked him about special moments & was it his best individual performance in scoring 4 goals against Celtic. "Naw son", he said, "my 4 goals against Manchester United were better". You could hear the collective jawdropping of the youngsters in the crowd & they knocked us old guys out the way in the rush to get Eddie's autograph.

Thanks for the memories Ned!

06-05-2011, 07:38 AM
Apologies for lateness of this response but was out country.
There are thousands of stories about Eddie but here's a couple from the day he honoured us at London Hibs by being our guest at our Burns Night.
1. We went to see Spurs that day & went with Eddie to the Legends lounge. Little Tommy Harmer, a Spurs player from Eddie's era came over & said hello then added, " I remember playing you Jocks, you weren't bad". " Not bad" said Ned, "we !!!!!! you 5-2!"
2. In the evening when introducing Eddie to the gathering I asked him about special moments & was it his best individual performance in scoring 4 goals against Celtic. "Naw son", he said, "my 4 goals against Manchester United were better". You could hear the collective jawdropping of the youngsters in the crowd & they knocked us old guys out the way in the rush to get Eddie's autograph.

Thanks for the memories Ned!

06-05-2011, 09:17 AM
He must be the only Hibbie who is a legend twice over. Firstly as a player and then as a manager.
Together with his track record and his wonderful scowl, he was surely one of the greatest characters in the Scottish game.
Thanks for the unforgetable memories, Ned.

06-05-2011, 12:30 PM
Talk of people being Legends is always on here for debate everybody has there own criteria for what makes a legend and there has been some great debate.

There are a few people associated with Hibernian whom we all come together on as one and I think Eddie is one of that very few.

Eddie was a winner as a player and as a manger and I dont think many if any can say that. The Famous 5 is legend enough add the League cup and the 7-0 and you are talking the very highest order at Hibernian.

I do not think we will get that sort of service from an individual ever again and what he did should never be forgotten and people like myself just too young and all the new support should know of what he did. A staue or part of the stadium should be named in honour, I think a statue is fitting.

Fantastic servant to Hibernian Eddie I wish many had even 10% of what you gave us. I would normally say RIP however I would like just for once for somebody to ""Gie The Ba' Tae Eddie"