View Full Version : Yams new shirt sponser!

27-04-2011, 01:27 PM
Wonga.com Couldn't make that up!!!

27-04-2011, 01:28 PM
Wonga.com Couldn't make that up!!!

Source? :greengrin

27-04-2011, 01:31 PM
Source? :greengrin

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20110427/hearts-scores-with-wongacom_2241384_2347335

Mate in work who's a yam can't believe it haha.

27-04-2011, 01:34 PM
At least now if they don't get their bonus they know were to go for a wee loan. :greengrin

H113EE5
27-04-2011, 01:38 PM
Same as Blackpool

27-04-2011, 01:38 PM
Why is vlads bank not sponsoring them anymore?

27-04-2011, 01:41 PM
They offer you loans at something like 2500% interest

:wtf:

:bandit:

27-04-2011, 01:41 PM
Decent news for them as they would previously have got nowt from sponsorship.

Drop in the ocean mind you.

27-04-2011, 01:42 PM
The club shows real class, on and off the pitch,

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

27-04-2011, 01:43 PM

:titanic:

:lolyam:

hibbymac
27-04-2011, 01:47 PM
This company and their like are the leeches of society, who prey on the vulnerable.

Representative APR - 4214% :bitchy:

27-04-2011, 01:47 PM
At least now if they don't get their bonus they know were to go for a wee loan. :greengrin

Borrow £400 for 30 days and you only have to give them £525.38. £125.38 in interest and fee. Only 4214% APR. :aok:

27-04-2011, 01:50 PM
:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

Working for Wonga, Hearts probably does seem quite classy in comparison.

crewetollhibee
27-04-2011, 01:52 PM
Decent news for them as they would previously have got nowt from sponsorship.

Drop in the ocean (finance) mind you.
Fixed that for you. :wink:

27-04-2011, 01:59 PM
Dearie me :rolleyes:

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/91908-new-shirt-sponsorship-deal/

Only Hearts supporters could create negativity from something so positive, a nationwide known company, sponsors of an EPL team and official broadcasting partner of one of the greatest cup competition's in the world, all publicity for the club! :thumbsup:

I for one think its good news.

27-04-2011, 02:02 PM
http://img64.imageshack.us/img64/3555/wonga.png

Class. :greengrin

27-04-2011, 02:13 PM
Have these morons seen Gorgie lately?

i find a little exquisite irony in that we are now advertising the branding of a company that will actually appeal more to the needs of the hobo / septic demographic in society. you could argue that we'll be benefiting from the jakey dollar from the desolate slums of lochend and the east end of glasgow.

27-04-2011, 02:19 PM
They offer you loans at something like 2500% interest

:wtf:

:bandit:

Think I saw an advert and the small print said 4,213%! :rolleyes:

Loved this, too, from the blurb on the Yams site:

Wonga.com "...provide online applicants with instant, yet responsible decisions". Oh, ma sides. Responsible financial management? Will fit right in at the PBS. :greengrin

GB6
27-04-2011, 02:24 PM
"Short term loans online from £1 - £1000 with no fax required"

27-04-2011, 02:33 PM
They don't need us to rip them for this one:

"My only point was that whilst they are a big company, the business they are in is not the most attractive - a bit like being sponsored by Lidl."

Yup, thats pretty much the way in which your tawdry wee club is perceived outside the environs of EH11.
Now off ye go and prepare for Friday with a skanky Billy and Katie flag.

27-04-2011, 02:37 PM
"Short term loans online from £1 - £1000 with no fax required"

Plus they probably don't even have to see a birth certificate.

27-04-2011, 02:48 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/article-1301137/2-689-reasons-Premier-League-newcomers-Blackpool-love-affair-tainted-already.html

27-04-2011, 02:56 PM
Keechback post where else could you pay over 4,000% interest for a loan? (bank base rate 0.5%)
first a bank that we cant access now company that fleeces the poor. how long before the news starts putting up warnings like they did with the send me your gold companies. :greengrin

27-04-2011, 02:59 PM
Can you believe it.

One post on kickback states

This sponsor could ruin the look of the strip. I would seriously consider not buying it depending on how the sponsor looks :faf:

Mark79
27-04-2011, 03:01 PM
Maybe they are financing the 400,000 seater main stand through Wonga? The Wonga stand.

27-04-2011, 03:09 PM
Hearts shirt sponsor being sponsored by crooks? Well I never.

27-04-2011, 03:15 PM
Monga.com good enough for the yams.

Zondervan
27-04-2011, 03:29 PM
Here is another press article about Wonga, published today just by coincidence:

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/markets/article-23944738-doing-for-money-lending-what-amazon-did-for-books.do

27-04-2011, 03:31 PM
Working for a bank i can tell you that Wonga.com are a bunch of absolute crooks and are relentless and remorseless in dishing out these loans and clawing them back from the most desperate and vulnerable people in society.

I couldn't possibly imagine a better fitting company for the yams to be associated with.

27-04-2011, 03:44 PM
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/opinion/Margo-MacDonald-Dodgy-lenders-must.6758549.jp?articlepage=1

Leave it to a Hibby to talk some sense.

27-04-2011, 03:49 PM
A company which prides itself in over-inflation, sponsoring a club who prides itself in over-inflation, supported by a group of people who love talking about their over-inflated club/fanbase.

I fail to see the issue.

27-04-2011, 03:54 PM
Devils advocate hat on here. Wonga.com aren't forcing people to take out thier overpriced loans. If people are desperate enough to borrow £1000 to buy a tv that's too big for thier living room then that's up to them. Wonga.com claim (I wouldn't ever use them so don't know) to be up front with the costs involved, so if you're told it'll cost you X amount to borrow the money you can't agree, then complain when it's time to pay up!

Secondly, I wouldn't care if Hibs were sponsored by Dodgy Daves Diamond Dildos as long as he was putting up the cash and it was benefiting the playing squad.

itchy07
27-04-2011, 03:58 PM
Devils advocate hat on here. Wonga.com aren't forcing people to take out thier overpriced loans. If people are desperate enough to borrow £1000 to buy a tv that's too big for thier living room then that's up to them. Wonga.com claim (I wouldn't ever use them so don't know) to be up front with the costs involved, so if you're told it'll cost you X amount to borrow the money you can't agree, then complain when it's time to pay up!

Secondly, I wouldn't care if Hibs were sponsored by Dodgy Daves Diamond Dildos as long as he was putting up the cash and it was benefiting the playing squad.

Come on now, I think you would??:hmmm:

27-04-2011, 03:59 PM
Come on now, I think you would??:hmmm:

Would I though?:fishin: :wink:

27-04-2011, 04:00 PM

are they still going? finding things hard last i heard:greengrin

27-04-2011, 04:02 PM

Well I would. No doubt get ribbed by all and sundry if had that on the front of Hibs top. :wink:

27-04-2011, 04:03 PM

They're up against some stiff opposition.

27-04-2011, 04:23 PM
Is this not similar to us having Mcewan Fraser? Both companies help people out of particularly tight spots when required at a substantial profit.

27-04-2011, 04:35 PM
Well I would. No doubt get ribbed by all and sundry if had that on the front of Hibs top. :wink:

Do they do ribbed ones now? :confused:

27-04-2011, 04:44 PM
Is this not similar to us having Mcewan Fraser? Both companies help people out of particularly tight spots when required at a substantial profit.

Except there are moves afoot (see Margo Macdonald's election manifesto) to make such dealings illegal. Not before time.

27-04-2011, 04:44 PM

I was about to post the same. I think both companies take advantage of the desperate though.

son of haggart
27-04-2011, 04:53 PM

excellent joke:top marks

27-04-2011, 05:07 PM
At the risk of sticking up for hearts companies like these don't 'pick on the poor', they give loans of money to people who have a history of not paying money back so are paying the price for it when getting more expensive loans from companies like this.

Been there myself when i had a problem with credit, the only firm i could get it from charged a ridiculous rate but i was gratefull for it at the time and it gave me the breathing space i needed, nobody forced me into it and it was my own fault for not paying bills when i was younger.

Hearts are still tramps though :agree:

27-04-2011, 05:11 PM
This from over on keechback had me pissing myself

"I think people have to realise that payday loans are massively popular.

As Wonga are one of the biggest lenders in this field I think it is a modern and growing brand to be associated with, so well played Hearts. Once again the hibs are in our shadow. "

They are plonkers of the 1st degree

27-04-2011, 05:22 PM

Not for long, mon the Crabbies! :greengrin

27-04-2011, 05:28 PM
Did anyone see the STV news? They were at Tynecastle, talking about the new sponsor then cue Gary Forelock holding a ball with what can only be described as maroon-coloured duck tape with wonga.com stuck on it :faf:

27-04-2011, 05:29 PM

Couldn't outbid Wonga, unless they had the creditworthiness to get a short term loan? :faf:

Nae story though becasue all big clubs do this, their brand image rights have also been outsourced to Cashconverters.

27-04-2011, 05:32 PM
Horrible sponsors for a horrible club in a horrible part of town. Nuff said.

27-04-2011, 05:33 PM

Nah, its about the markets they are in, theres an assett to borrow against or more likely just offload in our example, the Wonga model has no real security around the loan and if you are in that market for a loan, you probably havent got anything you can or want to sell to our sponsor (views of the writer only!)

27-04-2011, 05:40 PM
I suppose that loan-sharks such as Wonga have researched the market and undertaken detailed feasibility studies on their target audience, and Herts, with their 400k loyal supporters, are exactly the customer base that they're after.

27-04-2011, 05:48 PM
I suppose that loan-sharks such as Wonga have researched the market and undertaken detailed feasibility studies on their target audience, and Herts, with their 400k loyal supporters, are exactly the customer base that they're after.

:agree: Yep, they stopped 20 nylon maroon track suited guys with woollen scarves tied around their wrists on a Tuesday morning in Gorgie, and 1 camel hair overcoated Lithuanian if they would like an instant cash loan of a small sum at eye watering interest rates instantly with few questions. 21 out of 21 can't be wrong :wink:

I imagine young Shaun Lawson's signed up for a pocket money loan in support already. Its the future guys, we just haven't seen it.

27-04-2011, 05:51 PM
Did anyone see the STV news? They were at Tynecastle, talking about the new sponsor then cue Gary Forelock holding a ball with what can only be described as maroon-coloured duck tape with wonga.com stuck on it :faf:

just about to post this :faf: just a wee sticker :faf:

they seem to think its the biggest sponsership deal in scottish football history outwith the old firm :rolleyes: coooooooourse they do. they've went really downhill since winning the champions league :greengrin

27-04-2011, 05:54 PM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13213039.stm

Tacky or tacky.

27-04-2011, 06:15 PM
Quote from the Wonga dude -

"Hearts is a club with a great history and they are having a really strong season, so we were keen to support them when the opportunity came up.

"They show real class, on and off the pitch, and we can't wait to start being involved from next season onwards."

Man, you couldn't make it up. Hilarious.

27-04-2011, 06:19 PM
Would I be right in thinking that Wonga is owned by Oyston who owns Blackpool and was charged(convicted?)with rape a few years ago?

27-04-2011, 06:24 PM
Would I be right in thinking that Wonga is owned by Oyston who owns Blackpool and was charged(convicted?)with rape a few years ago?

Nah, that was Wanga. :greengrin

All big clubs have sex offenders. Nothing to see here, move along.

27-04-2011, 07:14 PM
On the plus side, the Hertz players will have a good new contact to borrow from when the next 'technical glitch' comes along on pay day.

27-04-2011, 07:30 PM
Nah, that was Wanga. :greengrin

All big clubs have sex offenders. Nothing to see here, move along.

down the slope
27-04-2011, 09:16 PM
They will rename their 50,000 seat stadium "Wongacastle"

27-04-2011, 09:28 PM
They will rename their 50,000 seat stadium "Wongacastle"

Nah I heard the naming rights have been bought by someone else....it's going to be the WeBuyAnyCar Stadium next season.

27-04-2011, 10:15 PM
This from over on keechback had me pissing myself

"I think people have to realise that payday loans are massively popular.

As Wonga are one of the biggest lenders in this field I think it is a modern and growing brand to be associated with, so well played Hearts. Once again the hibs are in our shadow. "

They are plonkers of the 1st degree

cash for gold is popular, they should have got them :greengrin

hibbymac
27-04-2011, 10:17 PM
Nah I heard the naming rights have been bought by someone else....it's going to be the WeBuyAnyCar Stadium next season.

Close, try replacing ar with unt :eek:

28-04-2011, 02:50 PM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13213039.stm

Tacky or tacky.

Tackless going by that picture.

28-04-2011, 03:01 PM
cash for gold is popular, they should have got them :greengrin

Aye, we are definitely missing a trick having a large drinks company as a sponsor, would much rather have loansharks.com.

I wonder if Vlad got them on board by transferring Hearts loans to them, a tasty 4,000% APR hehe

28-04-2011, 03:25 PM
Am I the only person thats worried about this master class move by the yams?

Every new customer can get £400 deposited to their account.

£400 x 400,000....... £160,000,000 :worried:

28-04-2011, 03:28 PM
Quote from the Wonga dude -

"Hearts is a club with a great history and they are having a really strong season, so we were keen to support them when the opportunity came up.

"They show real class, on and off the pitch, and we can't wait to start being involved from next season onwards."

Man, you couldn't make it up. Hilarious.

Thats the part that catches my attention. In what way are they planning on being "involved"? :wink:

Zondervan
28-04-2011, 03:53 PM
"Halewood International" wholly own Crabbies, including brewing and distribution. For 2011:

Annual turnover: £245,605,000
Annual profit: £7,043,000

http://www.worksmart.org.uk/company/company.php?id=03699814

I am happy with that.

28-04-2011, 04:47 PM
Thats the part that catches my attention. In what way are they planning on being "involved"? :wink:

They'll be on hand to give a one day to thirty day loan to the Mad One ( with attractive interest rates) when the inevitable cash flow problem arises every other month.

28-04-2011, 05:25 PM
Anyone else see FJK with a royal wedding mug :faf:

28-04-2011, 05:31 PM
Wonga sounds like either the name of an eccentric chocolate manufacturer or the polynesian term for self abuse. Both seem quite appropriate.

28-04-2011, 05:42 PM
Classic move by Margo McDonald-she is going to try to get payday loans scrutinised for unfairness.

28-04-2011, 05:53 PM
Anyone else see FJK with a royal wedding mug :faf:

:agree: Fuds. End of.

28-04-2011, 05:55 PM
:agree: Fuds. End of.