View Full Version : The Royal Wedding

26-04-2011, 08:44 AM
I am neither a Royalist or a staunch nationalist and can't say I am particularly excited about the event which will soon take place.

However one thing which constantly really gets on my nerves to put it politely is the constant reference by the media and others to William and Kate being the future King and Queen of England.

According to the actress who played Kate in the tv movie, St Andrews is now apparently in England.

I don't know about anyone else but I get completely fed up when people refer to England when they are obviously talking about Britain.

I could go on about this for hours probably but hey, rant over for now.

26-04-2011, 10:02 AM
I'm no more excited about the Royal wedding than I would be about watching Simon Cowell or one of the Hairy Bikers get married. But I'll take any days off work I'm given, happily!

26-04-2011, 11:39 AM
I couldn't give a monkeys about the wedding. I suffer enough celebrity TV as it is!

As for the future king of England stuff, I'm still shaking too much after seeing a Charles and Di tea towel at Ibrox 30 years ago to care.

26-04-2011, 11:45 AM
I am neither a Royalist or a staunch nationalist and can't say I am particularly excited about the event which will soon take place.

However one thing which constantly really gets on my nerves to put it politely is the constant reference by the media and others to William and Kate being the future King and Queen of England.

According to the actress who played Kate in the tv movie, St Andrews is now apparently in England.

I don't know about anyone else but I get completely fed up when people refer to England when they are obviously talking about Britain.

I could go on about this for hours probably but hey, rant over for now.

It used to bother me but then I just stopped being bothered - there are much worse examples of ignorance than that.

Also on the wedding, spotted this earlier.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kav0FEhtLug

26-04-2011, 11:53 AM
It used to bother me but then I just stopped being bothered - there are much worse examples of ignorance than that.

Also on the wedding, spotted this earlier.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kav0FEhtLug

Saw that on Have I Got News For You...:greengrin

26-04-2011, 11:58 AM
Who gives a *****. I see the idea of a Royal Family as farcical - Indeed the Queen herself recently made a visit to Haddington, I wasn't fussed in the slightest about taking a 2-minute stroll down the road to catch a glimpse. As for the 'King and Queen of England' chat, that suits me fine. I don't want either.

My sister and I are having a bbq (weather dependant) on Friday with plenty pals round. Talk of the wedding is strictly banned!

Jay
26-04-2011, 12:01 PM
oooh I am really excited :greengrin Making bunting with the kids and having a garden party with plates and cups with William and Kate on them. Loads of baking to do this week! Barbeque for tea weather permitting! I'm Loving it :agree:

As for the England thing - so what? If you are not interested in the wedding or the Royal family why worry about that?

26-04-2011, 12:03 PM
oooh I am really excited :greengrin Making bunting with the kids and having a garden party with plates and cups with William and Kate on them. Loads of baking to do this week! Barbeque for tea weather permitting! I'm Loving it :agree:

As for the England thing - so what? If you are not interested in the wedding or the Royal family why worry about that?

Good grief. I'll stick with hanging wee flags from mine.

26-04-2011, 12:14 PM
Couldn't really care less about the wedding either to be honest. I can't really get too excited about the wedding of two people that I don't know and that I am never likely to know. I find the media's hysteria over this event to be excessive and completely over the top.

As for the references to "King of England", I had this discussion with a few people on here when the World Cup bid was going on last year and David Beckham and David Cameron kept referring to Prince William as the "future king of England".

Apparently it was correct to call him the "future king of England" because that will be his title, just as he is the "future king of Scotland, Wales etc etc...".

I don't think this is what they mean at all. The people who call him this, in my opinion, genuinely think of England as being the entire United Kingdom.

As far as I'm concerned, I think William, himself, is the type who sees himself as English rather than British and probably would consider himself to be the "King of England" when he takes over the reigns from his father.

Not being a royalist myself, the English are welcome to them but their ignorance is shocking. I have nothing against the current Queen and I would be happy to retain the monarchy for as long as she is Head of State but once Charles takes over, I really couldn't care less.

26-04-2011, 12:50 PM
Couldn't really care less about the wedding either to be honest. I can't really get too excited about the wedding of two people that I don't know and that I am never likely to know. I find the media's hysteria over this event to be excessive and completely over the top.

As for the references to "King of England", I had this discussion with a few people on here when the World Cup bid was going on last year and David Beckham and David Cameron kept referring to Prince William as the "future king of England".

Apparently it was correct to call him the "future king of England" because that will be his title, just as he is the "future king of Scotland, Wales etc etc...".

I don't think this is what they mean at all. The people who call him this, in my opinion, genuinely think of England as being the entire United Kingdom.

As far as I'm concerned, I think William, himself, is the type who sees himself as English rather than British and probably would consider himself to be the "King of England" when he takes over the reigns from his father.

Not being a royalist myself, the English are welcome to them but their ignorance is shocking. I have nothing against the current Queen and I would be happy to retain the monarchy for as long as she is Head of State but once Charles takes over, I really couldn't care less.

You think William sees himself as English, but you also say he's someone you don't, are never likely to, know?

I also don't see why anyone would be happy with the Queen to retain the monarchy but once Charles comes in, you couldn't care less....why?

I'd be happy to get rid of the monarchy all together. It's so outdated. We shouldn't celebrate people because of thier bloodline, it's just ridiculous. We live in a society where positive discrimination/action takes place all the time to try to give everyone a fair chance in life regardless of background. But still, at the very top of our society, there's no such equality. They live by thier own rules that keep the posh white idiots at the top of the tree, and seperate from the rest of us.

26-04-2011, 12:58 PM
Cannae contain ma indifference to the wedding - I'll be on the golf course in case anyone is looking for me :wink:

26-04-2011, 12:59 PM
Cannae contain ma indifference to the wedding - I'll be on the golf course in case anyone is looking for me :wink:

Which golf course? In case I'm looking for you..

Jay
26-04-2011, 03:22 PM
Good grief. I'll stick with hanging wee flags from mine.

26-04-2011, 03:39 PM

Surely, you're for a monarchy or not? You can't decide whether to have one or not based on the incumbent or who might be coming up!

For the record, I'd bin the lot of them.

26-04-2011, 03:48 PM
I don't really give a S*** about them. I won't be watching.

26-04-2011, 04:06 PM

26-04-2011, 04:08 PM
Thought I was safe here in Berlin, but it seems we too will have live tv broadcasts on several stations for several hours, along with radio and all the usual newspaper, magazine overkill, i.e. previews so many days in advance and reviews for days after it all ends (when is it anyway?): I can only assume the Germans like it so much because they (we) don't have to pay for it!

Come to think of it, in these times of austerity in the UK, who is paying for it - wouldn't a small, family only, register-office do have sufficed?:rolleyes:

26-04-2011, 04:22 PM

Which golf course? In case I'm looking for you..
The King's Course at Gleneagles.

Naturally. :greengrin

26-04-2011, 04:28 PM
Wedding ? What wedding? Oh that wedding. Im off on Friday but not because its the Wedding because its my rest day. i can assure you i will not be watching it as theres probably a bucket outside ive got to be sick into.

Or i might just go Fishing instead.

heidtheba
26-04-2011, 04:41 PM
God - the Royal Wedding one week and the Scottish 'Parliament' the next, one is a bunch of people who do naff all for the country...
and the others are the Royal Family!
badda boom :greengrin

seriously though, good luck to the two of them, hope they've been actually allowed to be together because they want to be and not another sham like Jug-lugs and Di.

Just about to re-read the bit in Adrian Mole's diary from the first lot. Interesting chat at work today about the 'order of succession' and how Ann is after Andy and Ed because she's a woman...

26-04-2011, 06:29 PM
I wish the couple all the best they are going to need it

26-04-2011, 08:06 PM
You think William sees himself as English, but you also say he's someone you don't, are never likely to, know?

I also don't see why anyone would be happy with the Queen to retain the monarchy but once Charles comes in, you couldn't care less....why?

I'd be happy to get rid of the monarchy all together. It's so outdated. We shouldn't celebrate people because of thier bloodline, it's just ridiculous. We live in a society where positive discrimination/action takes place all the time to try to give everyone a fair chance in life regardless of background. But still, at the very top of our society, there's no such equality. They live by thier own rules that keep the posh white idiots at the top of the tree, and seperate from the rest of us.

Surely, you're for a monarchy or not? You can't decide whether to have one or not based on the incumbent or who might be coming up!

For the record, I'd bin the lot of them.

I'm happy with the monarchy staying in place whilst Elizabeth II is in power because she's been the monarch for almost 60 years as it is so, given that she's 85 years old, I don't see the problem in retaining it for the last remaining years that she's got left on this planet.

Once she's gone and Charles is ready to take over the reigns, I think that would be an ideal opportunity to look at things and consider ditching the monarchy.

It's a viewpoint that is shared by a vast number of people in Australia.

26-04-2011, 08:16 PM
I'm happy with the monarchy staying in place whilst Elizabeth II is in power because she's been the monarch for almost 60 years as it is so, given that she's 85 years old, I don't see the problem in retaining it for the last remaining years that she's got left on this planet.

Once she's gone and Charles is ready to take over the reigns, I think that would be an ideal opportunity to look at things and consider ditching the monarchy.

Do you not live in falkirkl:confused:

26-04-2011, 08:22 PM
all the best to them, i wont be actively celebrating it but i think its something that will show the country in a good light.

26-04-2011, 08:29 PM
all the best to them, i wont be actively celebrating it but i think its something that will show the country in a good light.

yeah I'd probably agree with that, it will help give the economy a wee short term boost, will help tourism, but under no circumstances will I watch it. I hate weddings where I personally know people involved never mind a wedding for two toffs I have never even met.

Think I will go for the golf option followed by a few cold beers in a pub without a tv:wink:

26-04-2011, 09:16 PM
Do you not live in falkirkl:confused:

Yes, why? :confused:

PC Stamp
26-04-2011, 09:50 PM
Was in Morrison's the other day and a woman maybe in her mid 50's was wandering around clearly unable to find what she was looking for.
So she goes up to a young lad stacking the shelves. Seemed a nice enough chap despite being tall, skinny and a wee bit gormless looking. I hear her ask him "Can you tell me where the bunting is for the Royal Wedding?" Young lad looks up and points to the store ceiling which is beautifully decorated with red white & blue bunting!! :greengrin

She says "No ... I meant for buying."
He replies "We don't sell it!!!"

Brilliant!

26-04-2011, 10:38 PM
Was in Morrison's the other day and a woman maybe in her mid 50's was wandering around clearly unable to find what she was looking for.
So she goes up to a young lad stacking the shelves. Seemed a nice enough chap despite being tall, skinny and a wee bit gormless looking. I hear her ask him "Can you tell me where the bunting is for the Royal Wedding?" Young lad looks up and points to the store ceiling which is beautifully decorated with red white & blue bunting!! :greengrin

She says "No ... I meant for buying."
He replies "We don't sell it!!!"

Brilliant!

27-04-2011, 06:58 AM
Yes, why? :confused:

Well I'm not sure why some aussies sharing your viewpoint matters, if they get rid of the queen falkirk will still have her?

The commonwealth won't break up just because of one country every country has to decide for themselves. For what it's worth I don't think the aussies, when it comes down to it, will break away from the monarchy, just a feeling though with little or no facts to back it up.

27-04-2011, 07:29 AM

That's the clincher for me. Only way I could be more convinced would be if I found out that people living in the Manchester area also thought the same way.

Twa Cairpets
27-04-2011, 08:23 AM
I've got no malice towards William or Kate - they seem on the face of it to be relatively decent individuals, allowing (a) for spin, and (b) for the hugely dysfunctional background he has.

As an institution, the monarchy are pretty reprehensible, because by their continuing existence in their current set-up it promotes the acceptance that some people are better than others on the basis of birth alone, and that is pretty abhorrent. I think/hope that once Chuckyboy has had his shot there is a chance that the institution may modernise and become more like the Dutch royal family for example. I used to be in favour of total abolition but have now come to the conclusion that the ludicous nature of who and what they are will result in them becoming essentially ridiculed out of existence unless they change to become of more relevance.

As for Friday, I'll be up a mountain, probably Glen Coe, away from a TV for as long as possible!

27-04-2011, 08:24 AM
yeah I'd probably agree with that, it will help give the economy a wee short term boost, will help tourism, but under no circumstances will I watch it. I hate weddings where I personally know people involved never mind a wedding for two toffs I have never even met.

Think I will go for the golf option followed by a few cold beers in a pub without a tv:wink:

I'm not saying you're wrong, you're almost certainly correct, but when people talk about the Royal wedding being good for tourism....what do they mean exactly?

Are there really people sitting at home in Spain or America or wherever and thinking "I wasn't going to go to England, but this Royal wedding malarky has changed my mind. Quick throw me my passport, we're going on holiday.."

Surely, if people were coming here then they were coming regardless of the wedding? No?

27-04-2011, 08:37 AM
I'm not saying you're wrong, you're almost certainly correct, but when people talk about the Royal wedding being good for tourism....what do they mean exactly?

Are there really people sitting at home in Spain or America or wherever and thinking "I wasn't going to go to England, but this Royal wedding malarky has changed my mind. Quick throw me my passport, we're going on holiday.."

Surely, if people were coming here then they were coming regardless of the wedding? No?

Think it means people'll come/continue to come in the future because they'll be introduced to/reminded of the sense of history that these ceremonies represent. Remember the likes of Australia and USA are just diddy countries a couple hundred years old, houses built of wooden planks and that. They don't have any decent history, traditions, etc, of their own yet.

27-04-2011, 08:56 AM
excellent, i'l get all my messages done in peace on friday hopefully :thumbsup: then i'l count the blades of grass in my huge garden area if it's still on the TV when i get home :agree: viva la republica

27-04-2011, 12:01 PM
I'm no more excited about the Royal wedding than I would be about watching Simon Cowell or one of the Hairy Bikers get married. But I'll take any days off work I'm given, happily!

Couldn't really care about the royal wedding either and find it rather sad that some people are literally wetting themselves in excitement over it :rolleyes:

As you say though; a day off is a day off! :agree:

That's the clincher for me. Only way I could be more convinced would be if I found out that people living in the Manchester area also thought the same way.

Thanks for that, just spat a mouthful of macaroni all over my desk/keyboard. :greengrin

27-04-2011, 12:12 PM
Well I'm not sure why some aussies sharing your viewpoint matters, if they get rid of the queen falkirk will still have her?

The commonwealth won't break up just because of one country every country has to decide for themselves. For what it's worth I don't think the aussies, when it comes down to it, will break away from the monarchy, just a feeling though with little or no facts to back it up.

The point I was trying to make (obviously not very well) was that wanting to review the status of the monarchy only after the death of the current Queen was not a viewpoint that was unique to myself. In Australia, a large number of people who took part in a recent poll gave exactly the same answer. I.E. people are leaning towards favouring a republic but not whilst Queen Elizabeth II is still alive.

I haven't seen any results from a similar poll that has been done in the UK but I'm sure that it would be quite a widely held view here too (although I still believe that the overall vast majority in this country would be in favour of retaining the monarchy, regardless of who is on the throne).

27-04-2011, 12:54 PM
Apparently there have been no street parties organised through in weedgie land.
So much for the Huns and their love of our national anthem and Union flag.
Maybe they are not such staunch Royalists as they would like to have us believe? :confused:

28-04-2011, 08:51 AM
Thatcher and Major have been invited, but no invitation for Blair and Brown. :greengrin

28-04-2011, 09:10 AM
Thatcher and Major have been invited, but no invitation for Blair and Brown. :greengrin

They were talking about that, well the touched on it, on Andrew Marr at the weekend.

28-04-2011, 09:58 AM
They were talking about that, well the touched on it, on Andrew Marr at the weekend.

I wonder what they have done to be snubbed ? It has just been announced by William Hague that the Syrian ambassador has been uninvited. What a pantomime the whole thing ! :greengrin

28-04-2011, 10:05 AM
I wonder what they have done to be snubbed ? It has just been announced by William Hague that the Syrian ambassador has been uninvited. What a pantomime the whole thing ! :greengrin

The way they mentioned it on Andrew Marr, to me anyway, seemed like it was as simple as being a 'class' thing. Brown, Blair, Labour....too common.

28-04-2011, 10:12 AM

Maggie's too ill to attend apparently.

Can't be long before the event that really will cause street parties in Scotland.

28-04-2011, 10:18 AM

Something like this wedding will re-enforce our history in peoples minds across the world, might not make many more come but I reckon it will help them spend some more of there pennies when they do get here.

I don't really see anything bad in the wedding, or to be honest the royal family, I just don't want to watch it:greengrin

28-04-2011, 10:30 AM
This wedding isn't half bringing the nutters out in this country. I was sitting behind 2 women on the bus yesterday and the conversation was up there with one of the worst i have ever heard but i just couldn't help but listen.

They are having a party on Friday at which everyone will be wearing bridesmaids dresses, they have bunting, flags etc etc and will have champagne and strawberries before sitting watching the wedding with the chairs arranged in rows so it's like they are in the church. They then have outside caterers coming in to serve up a 3 course wedding lunch. But my favourite bit of all was one of the women lowering her voice and taking on a solemn air as she informed her friend she had a potrait of Diana for the wall and a candle to go beneath it so she felt she was part of the day:faf: WTF?? Thats just creepy.

If people want to get all excited about a wedding that is costing taxpayers millions whilst jobs and public services are being ruthlessly cut thats up to them, i'll be on the golf course.

28-04-2011, 10:43 AM
Maggie's too ill to attend apparently.

Can't be long before the event that really will cause street parties in Scotland.

This is so true ! :greengrin

28-04-2011, 10:50 AM
I think its nice that Will is taking her 'up the aisle'.

Jay
28-04-2011, 11:42 AM
Well the bunting is made and ready to hang, the cakes are baked, the stuff for the bbq bought and there is plenty of alcohol for later on (once I finish work!)

BRING IT ON!!

:partyhibb:partyhibb:partyhibb:partyhibb:partyhibb

28-04-2011, 11:57 AM
Like millions of others who are self employed and who dont get holidays paid for them, I will be working as usual.

It does feel that there is social pressure on us to celebrate tomorrow. That's fine and good for those who would embrace it, but I for one do not appreciate being told when to take my holidays.

Grumpy, Mr.

Jay
28-04-2011, 12:03 PM
Like millions of others who are self employed and who dont get holidays paid for them, I will be working as usual.

It does feel that there is social pressure on us to celebrate tomorrow. That's fine and good for those who would embrace it, but I for one do not appreciate being told when to take my holidays.

Grumpy, Mr.

I am self employed and working - turning it into a party for all so I get paid and have a fun :thumbsup:

28-04-2011, 12:12 PM
http://m.youtube.com/watch?desktop_uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fw atch%3Fv%3DHiXQHBeC2dI%26feature%3Dplayer_embedded&feature=player_embedded&v=HiXQHBeC2dI&gl=GB

Excellent interview here with the happy couple. :aok:

ac1
29-04-2011, 06:42 AM
The Royal Family :rolleyes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJNcnDLWNis

29-04-2011, 07:50 AM
People on both sides of the divide (i.e. "it's a farce, hang the lot of them" vs. "Uber-English street parties") need to get over it.

If they could have had a wedding in front of 50-100 friends and family, I'm sure they would have.

Pomp, circumstance, tradition and an insatiable global media demand mean that that was never an option.

Best of luck to the both of them, cos, as previously said, they'll need it.

I'm not "getting excited" about it at all, but I get the feeling a lot of people are being "anti-wedding" because they think it's "cool" and "anti-establishment" to be so

29-04-2011, 07:56 AM
People on both sides of the divide (i.e. "it's a farce, hang the lot of them" vs. "Uber-English street parties") need to get over it.

I'm sure if they could have had a wedding in front of 50-100 friends and family, I'm sure they would have.

Pomp, circumstance, tradition and an insatiable global media demand mean that that was never an option.

I'm not "getting excited" about it at all, but I get the feeling a lot of people are being "anti-wedding" because they think it's "cool" and "anti-establishment" to be so

Good post. I'm a republican but that does mean I am still in the minority in the UK. Best of luck to all those who want to celebrate today, it will be a memorable occasion for millions of people no matter what I think of it all.

29-04-2011, 08:01 AM

If they could have had a wedding in front of 50-100 friends and family, I'm sure they would have.

I'll be celebrating out on my bike....well it is red, white and blue.

To keep things in balance we'll be heading for the Green Welly :greengrin

29-04-2011, 08:02 AM
Good post. I'm a republican but that does mean I am still in the minority in the UK. Best of luck to all those who want to celebrate today, it will be a memorable occasion for millions of people no matter what I think of it all.

I'm not that fussed either but there's no denying there is a massive event happening in this country today. Just flick through the channels.

29-04-2011, 08:05 AM

I'll be celebrating out on my bike....well it is red, white and blue.

To keep things in balance we'll be heading for the Green Welly :greengrin

Green Welly or the Real Food Cafe in the old Little chef place? Always a tough decision. :greengrin

29-04-2011, 08:49 AM
, but I get the feeling a lot of people are being "anti-wedding" because they think it's "cool" and "anti-establishment" to be so

Alternatively we might just think it goes against all concepts of a british meritocracy? Theres nothing 'cool' about being anti-royalty when the 'pomp and ceremony' is being constantly shoved down your throat.

29-04-2011, 09:29 AM

Must've been a Tory Minister in charge of the invites?

29-04-2011, 09:53 AM
I'm watching it now. She's got a bloody cheek wearing white.

29-04-2011, 10:03 AM

:confused: Who?? The Bride?? Am I missing something here - is that not the traditional colour for a wedding dress?

Or is this a WHOOOOOOSH moment :greengrin

29-04-2011, 10:06 AM
This reminds me of my wedding.

29-04-2011, 10:14 AM
:confused: Who?? The Bride?? Am I missing something here - is that not the traditional colour for a wedding dress?

Or is this a WHOOOOOOSH moment :greengrin

The latter.

White implies purity. Virginity.

Mr. Bollah was implying that half of Fife has had her.

29-04-2011, 10:18 AM
The latter.

White implies purity. Virginity.

Mr. Bollah was implying that half of Fife has had her.

I see :greengrin

29-04-2011, 10:31 AM
Are you implying that the future Queen of England was a wee dirty when at Uni?

29-04-2011, 10:35 AM
Are you implying that the future Queen of England was a wee dirty when at Uni?

Its common knowledge. At Uni they called her 'bury me in a y-shaped coffin' Middleton ;-)

29-04-2011, 10:37 AM
Its common knowledge. At Uni they called her 'bury me in a y-shaped coffin' Middleton ;-)

Are you saying "Not so much the Howe of Fife, more the "How Often""??

29-04-2011, 10:46 AM
Are you saying "Not so much the Howe of Fife, more the "How Often""??

....Allegedly ;-) (youve got to be careful of superinjunctions these days).

29-04-2011, 10:49 AM
I think i just saw liverpoolhibs in the congregation.

29-04-2011, 10:54 AM
I'd take Pippa Middleton up the aisle. She's gorgeous!

29-04-2011, 10:55 AM
Cannae get away from it in Carlisle. Got to say though, Kates sister has got a fine arse on her!

29-04-2011, 10:57 AM
I'd take Pippa Middleton up the aisle. She's gorgeous!

Great minds and all that!

29-04-2011, 11:09 AM
Harry looks nothing like the others. No way is he from the same bloodline.

29-04-2011, 11:10 AM
Great minds and all that!Indeed.

Cast-iron guaruntee that with Harry seeming to be such a lad, he'll be trying his hardest to fire into her later on at the disco. I'm assuming there will be a disco, as no wedding is complete without a corned beef sandwich every female in the family taking to the dancefloor when they hear 'Man! I Feel Like a Women' starting.

29-04-2011, 11:26 AM
Indeed.

Cast-iron guaruntee that with Harry seeming to be such a lad, he'll be trying his hardest to fire into her later on at the disco. I'm assuming there will be a disco, as no wedding is complete without a corned beef sandwich every female in the family taking to the dancefloor when they hear 'Man! I Feel Like a Women' starting.

Don't forget the slosh! :tsk tsk:

29-04-2011, 11:30 AM
The Royle Family wedding was better than this!

29-04-2011, 11:30 AM
Don't forget the slosh! :tsk tsk:

And, of course, the family fight......

"you're not my REAL Dad!!!" :greengrin

29-04-2011, 11:41 AM
Just an observation, but, not too many coloured faces lining the route!

29-04-2011, 11:54 AM
Just an observation, but, not too many coloured faces lining the route!Racist.

29-04-2011, 11:55 AM
Great day to be British.

29-04-2011, 11:56 AM
Great day to be British.

... and living in France. :aok:

29-04-2011, 12:27 PM
The Queen's a torn-faced cow.

29-04-2011, 12:28 PM

How would you like it if it was your hoose being used for a party?

29-04-2011, 12:32 PM
Great day to be British.

29-04-2011, 12:33 PM

She's just worried about what's going to happen once Phil the Greek hits the gin. :agree:

29-04-2011, 12:34 PM
She's just worried about what's going to happen once Phil the Greek hits the gin. :agree:

.. and then hits Camilla.

29-04-2011, 12:50 PM
Have to say her dress was gorgeous.

29-04-2011, 12:50 PM
Racist.

Aye, alright then. How?

29-04-2011, 12:57 PM
Green Welly or the Real Food Cafe in the old Little chef place? Always a tough decision. :greengrin

Green welly a rip off. Will try the Real Food cafe next time

29-04-2011, 01:22 PM
Right then who wants a bet on a Royal divorce. I'm offering:

After 2 years after an affair with Harry Hewitt or another Royal 1000/1
After 5 years and 1 child 40/1
Within 10 years after heir and spare a la Diana 10/1
Within 20 years after a Wills affair like father like son and all that 7/1
No divorce 15/1

29-04-2011, 01:40 PM
Managed to miss most of it as I watched the snooker this morning.

'Mon the red button! :thumbsup:

I really can't understand the psyche of people who have travelled to London from all over the place to line the route and cheer and wave.

Each to their own and all that I suppose but it's not for me. I find it all quite sad to be perfectly honest.

29-04-2011, 01:52 PM

I really can't understand the psyche of people who have travelled to London from all over the place to line the route and cheer and wave.

Each to their own and all that I suppose but it's not for me. I find it all quite sad to be perfectly honest.

Looked like a lot of people of various ages having a good time to me. I might crack open a tin or two myself now. :thumbsup:

29-04-2011, 02:01 PM
The Queen's a torn-faced cow.Reminds me of a song

:singing: The queen's a cow
Princess anne is a boot
charlie is a poof
the queen mother is (that's was now) a pro-sti-tute :singing:

29-04-2011, 02:12 PM
Looked like a lot of people of various ages having a good time to me. I might crack open a tin or two myself now. :thumbsup:

And that's fair enough. Like I said, each to their own, and they're not harming anyone so there's no problem.

I just don't 'get' how people are so engrossed in the lives and wedding of two people that they don't know. I understand why the cameras might be in Bucklebury, where Kate Middleton and her family are from because there's a lot of people there who will know her personally but I find all the other stuff, like how people are saying that it's a great way for the country to start feeling good about itself again after the hard couple of years that we've been through, quite odd.

I don't wish them any harm, and I'm pleased that the day passed off without terrorists in the IRA or al-Qaeda causing any problems, but I genuinely don't care how William and Kate (or Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge as I suppose she must be referred to now :rolleyes:) are getting on with married life.

No interest in them whatsoever.

29-04-2011, 02:25 PM
Great day to be British.aye, whatever

29-04-2011, 02:35 PM
To be fair, Middleton appears hotter than Lady Diana ever did. We can't argue with this wedding, other than to say, WTF does she see in that balding fud Wills? :confused:

29-04-2011, 02:42 PM
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/news/society/everyone-goes-mental-for-strangers'-wedding-201104293762/

29-04-2011, 02:58 PM
Aye, alright then. How?Sorry, no offence, just trying to lighten the mood as you mentioned 'coloured faces', I knew what you meant!

29-04-2011, 03:04 PM
I don't wish them any harm, and I'm pleased that the day passed off without terrorists in the IRA or al-Qaeda causing any problems

Honestly, FH, is that all the enthusiasm you can manage? "its nice they're not getting scraped off the pavement with a spatula thanks to a jihadist in a suicide vest?".

29-04-2011, 03:56 PM
Sorry, no offence, just trying to lighten the mood as you mentioned 'coloured faces', I knew what you meant!

Good man.

29-04-2011, 04:04 PM
Sorry, no offence, just trying to lighten the mood as you mentioned 'coloured faces', I knew what you meant!

Lighten? Instead, you made it darkier. :greengrin

29-04-2011, 04:09 PM
And that's fair enough. Like I said, each to their own, and they're not harming anyone so there's no problem.

I just don't 'get' how people are so engrossed in the lives and wedding of two people that they don't know. I understand why the cameras might be in Bucklebury, where Kate Middleton and her family are from because there's a lot of people there who will know her personally but I find all the other stuff, like how people are saying that it's a great way for the country to start feeling good about itself again after the hard couple of years that we've been through, quite odd.

I don't wish them any harm, and I'm pleased that the day passed off without terrorists in the IRA or al-Qaeda causing any problems, but I genuinely don't care how William and Kate (or Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge as I suppose she must be referred to now :rolleyes:) are getting on with married life.

No interest in them whatsoever.

Hmmm yet you know of her official title! Me thinks you've been paying more attention than you care to admit :wink:

29-04-2011, 04:36 PM
"Scuffles" now reported as breaking out at an unofficial Royal wedding party in weegieland.

Now there's a surprise!

29-04-2011, 05:19 PM
Hmmm yet you know of her official title! Me thinks you've been paying more attention than you care to admit :wink:

:agree: :greengrin

But I wonder why FH quoted that title and not the Strathearn one :dunno:

29-04-2011, 05:30 PM
Will young Harry have a pop at Pippa? NotW for sordid "insider" photos i hope! (as long as Harry isnae in any of them).

29-04-2011, 05:32 PM
Just realised I mentioned Will Young, dinnae see him showing any interest in Kates sister!

29-04-2011, 05:36 PM
"Scuffles" now reported as breaking out at an unofficial Royal wedding party in weegieland.

Now there's a surprise!

The thing was due to finish at 5, people left in a peaceful fashion although some refused to leave after 5. It was a good day in Kelvingrove park, mostly students filling the park.

29-04-2011, 06:20 PM

Now there's a surprise!

'Clashes' between Republicans and Monarchists outside Holyrood Palace acco0rding to Radio Scotland.

29-04-2011, 06:25 PM
:agree: :greengrin

But I wonder why FH quoted that title and not the Strathearn one :dunno:

To be fair, if he's like me.... I've had the radio on all day, avoiding the telly, and even I absorbed the Cambridge thing. The Strathearn thing wouldn't have been mentioned, cos WTF in Tunbridge Wells cares??

29-04-2011, 06:27 PM
'Clashes' between Republicans and Monarchists outside Holyrood Palace acco0rding to Radio Scotland.

When does a scuffle become a clash?

Can you imagine.... we're The Scuffle and we wanna ..um... carry out civil disobedience....

29-04-2011, 07:37 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-13245069

2 Billion Saddo's

29-04-2011, 07:52 PM

29-04-2011, 07:56 PM
Ive heard of Edinburgh Monarchs speedway team, not sure about the republicans though!

29-04-2011, 07:57 PM
Pippa's arse in that dress was worth whatever the hit on my tax was to pay for this thing.

29-04-2011, 08:06 PM
ha ha that's class.

29-04-2011, 09:09 PM
Pippa's arse in that dress was worth whatever the hit on my tax was to pay for this thing.

My abiding memory of the day, too :agree:

Outstanding flesh.

29-04-2011, 09:32 PM
Yip the sister wont be short of offers now, harry will prob have been there by now anyway

29-04-2011, 09:39 PM
Royalty ..they either do it for you or they dont ..I wasnt too fussed tbh, he looked a bit gormless & she looked a bit tidy ..other than that ..fair play ,,more worried about hibs & bowls tae worry about that lot ..

skyehibee
29-04-2011, 09:40 PM
Best picture from today

http://s3.amazonaws.com/twitpic/photos/full/287383348.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJF3XCCKACR3QDMOA&Expires=1304113768&Signature=AMSVqgdMWicYaqaDsqxn3mNYcM0%3D

29-04-2011, 09:46 PM
Best picture from today

http://s3.amazonaws.com/twitpic/photos/full/287383348.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJF3XCCKACR3QDMOA&Expires=1304113768&Signature=AMSVqgdMWicYaqaDsqxn3mNYcM0%3D

29-04-2011, 09:49 PM
Best picture from today

http://s3.amazonaws.com/twitpic/photos/full/287383348.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=AKIAJF3XCCKACR3QDMOA&Expires=1304113768&Signature=AMSVqgdMWicYaqaDsqxn3mNYcM0%3DI assume the Princess is tying the Prince's shoe laces ..:rolleyes:

29-04-2011, 10:44 PM
Enjoyed a great day on a beach in East Lothian with republican-minded friends and family. No TV all day.

If any Hibby wasn't republican before, check out Fat Jim drinking out a hertz royal wedding mug on the back of the Hootsmon :sick:

29-04-2011, 11:15 PM
Watching it on sky news and all the "adults" like Prince Charles are starting to leave the party.

Harry will no doubt be getting the mirrors out from under the couch and batting up some lines.

01-05-2011, 04:12 PM

Great piece on Pippa's arse here.

http://www.sabotagetimes.com/people/pippa-middletons-upstaging-arse/

"...they were all talking about one arse at the Royal wedding and surprisingly it wasn't Prince Phillip."

01-05-2011, 06:21 PM
I hope this link works.

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/photo.php?fbid=10150176683912859&set=a.99844647858.86830.44086097858&type=1&theater (http://www.facebook.com/home.php#%21/photo.php?fbid=10150176683912859&set=a.99844647858.86830.44086097858&type=1&theater)

Edit: Here it is