View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v St Mirren

24-04-2011, 12:49 PM
My record is horrendous but why not. Any team news?

CalgaryHibs
24-04-2011, 12:52 PM
Bugger you beat me to it.

What's the weather like today n Leith?

24-04-2011, 01:08 PM
Sunshine on Leith, Calgary!

24-04-2011, 01:10 PM
Hi, Anyone going along to the game? I feel obliged,as I promised myself to at least go to every catB game, but I don't fancy sitting there on my own, booing and cursing. Might take my bike and the sunday papers.

24-04-2011, 01:14 PM
I just cant be ersed. Shocking i know.
i predict 9500 today.

24-04-2011, 01:19 PM
i predict 9500 today.

That would be a brilliant turn out, for an Easter sunday against the 2nd bottom team, with nothing at stake.

24-04-2011, 01:19 PM
Starting lineup:

Brown
Towell
Dickoh
Hanlon
Booth
Scott
Palsson
Miller
Wotherspoon
Riordan
Sodje

24-04-2011, 01:32 PM
Starting lineup:

Brown
Towell
Dickoh
Hanlon
Booth
Scott
Palsson
Miller
Wotherspoon
Riordan
Sodje
On the bench
Divis
Murray
Vaz Te
Nish
Stevenson
Hart
Stephens

24-04-2011, 01:54 PM
That would be a brilliant turn out, for an Easter sunday against the 2nd bottom team, with nothing at stake.

The away end looks at least twice as full as it did last sunday.

24-04-2011, 01:55 PM
i predict 9500 today.

I'm the same. I took the family out for the day seeing as this is supposed to be the best day of the weekend. My brother is away with the ST instead.

24-04-2011, 01:58 PM
i predict 9500 today.

Nowhere near it, looks about 7500 to me.

24-04-2011, 02:00 PM
Is that Gavin Pearson back on the tannoy?

24-04-2011, 02:07 PM
Can see St Mirren winning this one if the atmosphere of last week was anything to go by. Was like a pre-season game.

AJWisme
24-04-2011, 02:09 PM
Is there a link to listen to it?
I'm too ill to make it today :no way:

aussie_hibee
24-04-2011, 02:11 PM
I know it's just started but how are we looking?

24-04-2011, 02:12 PM

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/6359425.stm

_hucks_

that's the one

Can see St Mirren winning this one if the atmosphere of last week was anything to go by. Was like a pre-season game.

The atmosphere sounds ok today on the radio, hopefully it continues:agree:

AJWisme
24-04-2011, 02:13 PM
Thank you everybody :thumbsup:

24-04-2011, 02:18 PM
Sounds like St Mirren are having too much of the ball and it's only a matter of time before we end up being 1-0 down and chasing the game just like last week.

Hope I'm wrong but can't see it.

24-04-2011, 02:21 PM
St mirren on top at the moment!

24-04-2011, 02:22 PM
This is ****.

24-04-2011, 02:22 PM
Hibs look very lethargic

24-04-2011, 02:24 PM
Pallson booked

24-04-2011, 02:26 PM
1-0 sodje!:flag:

Sounds like St Mirren are having too much of the ball and it's only a matter of time before we end up being 1-0 down and chasing the game just like last week.

Hope I'm wrong but can't see it.

I'm wrong - thank god for that.

Only one Sodje. :thumbsup:

YESSSSSS!

Sodje!!:thumbsup::thumbsup:

5 goals in how many now? 11?

Goal Sodje

Yaas

pogo
24-04-2011, 02:27 PM
woohoo! Go on Sodje.

24-04-2011, 02:29 PM
woohoo! Go on Sodje.

If he's our back up striker for next season he's no bad.

24-04-2011, 02:29 PM
Sodje is a goal machine:wink: Just out of interest how many has Riordan scored this season? 10?

24-04-2011, 02:30 PM
This ref is blowing for anything

Anything for sainsts that is

NYHibby
24-04-2011, 02:30 PM
Deek with the assist

24-04-2011, 02:31 PM
Paulsson or that old boy in their centre mid will get sent off!!

Seem to be getting stuck into each other.

24-04-2011, 02:32 PM
YESSSSSS!

Sodje!!:thumbsup::thumbsup:

5 goals in how many now? 11?

5 in 10.33 :greengrin

24-04-2011, 02:35 PM
The ref is giving them everything and us **** all.

24-04-2011, 02:35 PM
Whats the attendance like?

Can't imagine anythin more than the 10,000 mark if we're lucky. Easter Sunday against second worst team in the league, with nothing to play for and coming off the back of a defeat to Hamilton.

Anyway, good to see Sodje getting another goal :flag:

McKenzie
24-04-2011, 02:36 PM
what was the goal like?:flag:

24-04-2011, 02:37 PM
Should have been two, miller ballooned it over from 12 yards

24-04-2011, 02:38 PM
**** off, saints pen!

24-04-2011, 02:39 PM
1-1

24-04-2011, 02:39 PM
1-1

24-04-2011, 02:41 PM
1-1:grr:

24-04-2011, 02:41 PM
This ref is a shocker

Twiglet
24-04-2011, 02:42 PM
At the match. What was the penalty for?!

24-04-2011, 02:43 PM
**** sake hibs :grr:

Games like this are exactly the reason why we have to make top 6 every season. Anyone thinking that getting the bottom 6 was going to be in some way a good thing for us needs their head checked, IMHO.

Season's over.

Commentators on Hibs TV remain mystified as to why the penalty was awarded.

Couldn't see why the pen was given.

24-04-2011, 02:44 PM
I can't listen to this gash anymore.

I'm away to smash up the easter eggs.

24-04-2011, 02:44 PM
"great save" from Brown apparently.

SaudiHibby
24-04-2011, 02:45 PM
Dickoh foul on McGowan :rolleyes:

hibbybrian
24-04-2011, 02:45 PM
Commentators on Hibs TV remain mystified as to why the penalty was awarded.

The text commentary has it for a foul by Dickoh on McGowan :dunno:

24-04-2011, 02:47 PM
Couldn't see why the pen was given.

Shafted again by these incompitant clowns! How many more games are they going to ruin before something actually gets done about it!

It was **** refereeing decision that cost us the derby (along with horrific defending i must admit)

Scottish referees are a complete joke!

24-04-2011, 02:48 PM
Ref is a f****** disgrace,

MountcastleHibs
24-04-2011, 02:49 PM
At the game and actually still wondering why that pen was given. Worst decision I have EVER seen. The referee is having a nightmare.

HiBremian

BBC obviously confused too at http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/9466891.stm:

Hibernian's Victor Palsson - who's already on a yellow - clumsily goes into the back of Paul McGowan in the box. Ref Muir points to the spot..

But over on http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/9464375.stm:

Francis Dickoh concedes a Penalty for a foul on Paul McGowan.

Joke :confused::confused:

Who is the referee btw?

Sorry if it's already been said, haven't realy read through the previous posts.

At the game. Clueless as to what the Pen was for

24-04-2011, 02:52 PM

Yet the commentators "think" that it could have been for a foul by Palsson.

At the match. What was the penalty for?!

Only the ref knows :-(((

Hibs will get a player sent of today. The ref is the worst of the season. Not one saints player shouted for a pen

24-04-2011, 02:53 PM
Hibs will get a player sent of today. The ref is the worst of the season. Not one saints player shouted for a pen

Pallson would be my bet

24-04-2011, 02:53 PM
Anyone else listening to the OF "get the boot in" phone in?

I'm a Rangers follower. Ah dinnae watch them ah jist follow them.

Hibby-Nessie
24-04-2011, 02:54 PM
Think it's the same ref that gave Dun Utd a penalty against us that was miles outside the box.

MountcastleHibs
24-04-2011, 02:55 PM
Who is the referee btw?

Alan Muir I believe is his name.

24-04-2011, 02:56 PM

I hope the Ref wasn't seen coming out of the Bookies

:devil:

24-04-2011, 02:57 PM
Who is the referee btw?

Alan muir apparently. Either biased or completely incompetent. Shocking.

24-04-2011, 02:58 PM
Least he's making the match a bit more interesting. Or we're seeking any reason to make it more interesting.

24-04-2011, 03:01 PM
Second half coming up.

Shame. I was quite enjoying the OF Phone-in.

24-04-2011, 03:01 PM
Ref has missed so much and to my eye made a lot up. Where do they get them?

24-04-2011, 03:11 PM
Murray coming on, probs for palsson before he gets sent off for murdering goodwin

24-04-2011, 03:12 PM
Murray coming on, probs for paladin before he gets sent off for murdering goodwin

New signing?:greengrin

24-04-2011, 03:13 PM
It sounds absolutely grim.

There seems to be no continuity whatsoever in our pattern of play.

24-04-2011, 03:20 PM
st mirren sound the more likely to score im afraid

24-04-2011, 03:21 PM
Hibs are poor his half

24-04-2011, 03:21 PM
st mirren sound the more likely to score im afraid

Me too.

24-04-2011, 03:24 PM
think the crowd just got goodwin booked :greengrin

24-04-2011, 03:25 PM
Apparently CC is going radge at the 4th official:greengrin

24-04-2011, 03:26 PM
Calderwood having a bit of a set to with the 4th official

24-04-2011, 03:28 PM
think the crowd just got goodwin booked :greengrin

Let's see if we can get him sent off now then!

24-04-2011, 03:42 PM
St Mirren are renowned for losing late goals.

We live in hope.

magnificent_seven
24-04-2011, 03:42 PM
This game sounds like a pile of nonsense. Fair play to those who turned up. I really don't understand why we are not giving some youth players a run out?

24-04-2011, 03:44 PM
Fans beginning to leave Easter Road now.

Surprised they stayed so long.

24-04-2011, 03:47 PM
In other news, Bolton 1-0 up against the gooners!

24-04-2011, 03:51 PM
ft-1-1.

24-04-2011, 03:52 PM
Anyone know when the highlights are on?

I'd like to know how they're going to fill in the 5 minutes or so.

24-04-2011, 03:58 PM
Hibs were so poor we made DVZ look like an attacking full back!!

24-04-2011, 03:58 PM
All I can say is thank God we didn't accidently slip into the top six. Calderwood has a mountain to climb to inject some sort of quality into the squad.

Bobo
24-04-2011, 04:16 PM
Dreadful game, another p!ss poor performance where we created next to nothing, were too slow in everything we did and had little creativity. It was that bad that Van Zanten had Rordan in his back pocket for the majority of the game without breaking a sweat.

At best we were dire!

24-04-2011, 04:28 PM
shocking, what a waste of time and effort going to see half hearted crap.one great ball from deek for the goal then junior standard at best for the rest of the game.done well to last 85 mins:no way:

24-04-2011, 04:42 PM
That was worse than last week, at least we have a few chances against Hamilton, snooze a minute. :yawn:

Think I'll take my kids DS to the game next week to keep me occupied. Thank god I'm getting bevvied before the Aberdeen game. The end of this season can't come quick enough.

blairwallace
24-04-2011, 04:49 PM
the only thing I could see a foul against for the penalty was Palsson high feet but there was no st mirren players near him, no st mirren players were shouting for a penalty and even when it was given they looked clueless to why it was given! Alan Muir is a clown of a referee!

PPZPOL
24-04-2011, 05:28 PM
We are officially the slowest team in football. Let's be proud of that achievement. At one point in the 2nd half we almost had a breakaway, we then ended up just about back at our keeper, allowing them to get back into position meaning we have to try and break them down again which usually ends up with us giving it away with an aimless hoof - pure p**h. We need some players with pace badly, we have too many one paced players who are happy with a 5/10 performance every week, we don't deserve that any longer! We need guys who are pushing to be 8 & 9's every week. I look at Wotherspoon (could have picked several other examples btw) and wonder how much he gave to today? He could probably run a marathon tomorrow due to his lack of involvement or dare I say his interest?

24-04-2011, 05:54 PM
Typical 18 team league nothing at stake game.Prepare for many more of these if fan power wins the day.

EasterRoad4Ever
24-04-2011, 05:57 PM
Dreadful game, and basically a waste of time and money. Calderwood should be using these to try out new players, formations, tactics etc and the players should be playing with a sense of freedom. Sadly most of them couldn't be arsed working for their over-inflated wages, and CC didnlt seem to know what he was doing (again). Miller, Riordan, Wotherspoon, Palsson were all shockingly poor. I'd accuse the ref of incompetence, but that would suggest he was equally poor for both sides - still no idea what the pen was for. Series of baffling one sided decisions to help St Mirren who were struggling to get close to our goals. After the ref was berated by the Hibs fans it was as if he was on a mission to give anything and everything to them.

Gladly thats my last match of the season. Hibs need to review their ST pricing if the players are not going to turn up - never worth the money. 1 point out of 6 at home to the bottom 2 sides in a poor SPL shows how far this Hibs team has slumped.

24-04-2011, 05:58 PM
And where do these new players come from?

24-04-2011, 06:02 PM
Dreadful game, and basically a waste of time and money.

<snip>

Hibs need to review their ST pricing if the players are not going to turn up - never worth the money. 1 point out of 6 at home to the bottom 2 sides in a poor SPL shows how far this Hibs team has slumped.

We still have to play them both again.

I have to doubt the sanity of the folks that actually can be arsed to turn up to those matches.

Rather them than me.

24-04-2011, 06:06 PM
And where do these new players come from?

What about our much vaunted "conveyer belt of talent"?

24-04-2011, 06:28 PM
We are so pish its embarrasing.

We will look back at this season in years to come and think how the hell did that shower of crap not get us relegated.

For me only Sodje ( for the goal) Hanlon and Booth would get anything more than 3 out of 10.

We have so many crap players in that team its frightening.

With the the exception of the above 3 (and wanting Sodje to stay its scary enough in itself!) they can all go and go now for me.

We will be lucky to get 6000 -7000 attendances next year we are just awful to watch and so slow its scary.

Every attack is a punt to Sodje

Unimpressed by Towell, Pallson or Scott today, whose only attribute seems to be to be able to run.

Miller is an absolute *****bag, an imposter and his forthcoming move to Hearts cant come quick enough for me.

Thank god there are only 2 home games left to suffer, Lets hope uncle Rod looses the purse strings as we need at least 7 or 8 first picks in to make anything of that team.

down the slope
24-04-2011, 06:30 PM
Typical 18 team league nothing at stake game.Prepare for many more of these if fan power wins the day.

Yep thats what we want.

24-04-2011, 06:37 PM
What about our much vaunted "conveyer belt of talent"?

Presactly! :agree:
He is right to play the the people he thinks are the core of the team for next season, but give some young lads a run. I feel the enthusiasm of youth would give us a lift. It is not our home developed players blocking the system, the ones given a chance have all gone to more lucrative pastures. If people are already looking at Booth then get the next generation in now. What I want to see in meaningless end of season games is something to give me hope for the future and I suspect I am not alone.

24-04-2011, 08:14 PM
Everyone still convinced we are better than we were under Hughes? :greengrin

24-04-2011, 08:29 PM

Yep. The future is certainly brighter.

24-04-2011, 08:56 PM

100%:agree: and I backed Yogi for a long, long time.

24-04-2011, 09:07 PM

Undoubtedly.

24-04-2011, 09:18 PM
not even 7500 today, i know the season is pretty much over but why such a huge drop in our crowds :confused:

24-04-2011, 09:20 PM
not even 7500 today, i know the season is pretty much over but why such a huge drop in our crowds :confused:

12 noon kick off last sunday. Easter sunday afternoon kick off today. It isn't rocket science.

No wonder if they are still charging £22-£25 to get in. Club could put the prices down for remaining games surely?

Lots of season tickets holders not attending is my guess, if you looked at the online ticketing availability for today and last weeks match we sold a lot more tickets than the attendance figures suggest.

24-04-2011, 09:21 PM
No wonder if they are still charging £22-£25 to get in. Club could put the prices down for remaining games surely?

And give season ticket holders a refund at the same time?

24-04-2011, 09:26 PM
12 noon kick off last sunday. Easter sunday afternoon kick off today. It isn't rocket science.
do bank holiday weekends not normally mean a increase in crowds?

thats the same as every other cat B game though

Lots of season tickets holders not attending is my guess, if you looked at the online ticketing availability for today and last weeks match we sold a lot more tickets than the attendance figures suggest.

IIRC i think we sold just over 9000 ST's for this season i dont see why people would stay away when they have already paid for it, their choice i suppose but i dont get it.

24-04-2011, 09:29 PM
IIRC i think we sold just over 9000 ST's for this season i dont see why people would stay away when they have already paid for it, their choice i suppose but i dont get it.

Apparently they were turncoats last Sunday. Not heard from Morag tonight yet.

24-04-2011, 09:30 PM

Lack of entertainment as well as nothing to play for.

24-04-2011, 09:39 PM
i dont see why people would stay away when they have already paid for it, their choice i suppose but i dont get it.

I was one of those ST holders who didn't go today and instead I spent a nice day with my kids down at the beach.

Just a choice I made, but after watching last weeks non effort, I decided against going to ER and I suspect plenty others in a similar position to me chose the same option as me.

Out of interest, did we lose a toss of coin by getting the sunday fixture or did we actually agree to it and let Hearts play on Saturday?

24-04-2011, 09:48 PM
I was one of those ST holders who didn't go today and instead I spent a nice day with my kids down at the beach.

Just a choice I made, but after watching last weeks non effort, I decided against going to ER and I suspect plenty others in a similar position to me chose the same option as me.

Out of interest, did we lose a toss of coin by getting the sunday fixture or did we actually agree to it and let Hearts play on Saturday?

thats fair play, i wasn't looking for explanations and you certainly don't need to give one to me :greengrin

i was just thinking if i paid for something i would make the most of it to get my moneys worth :agree:

as for the Sunday thing, i was a bit bemused myself, If London can hold a game and the Emirates and Wembley at the same time then the 2 Edinburgh teams can play at home imo