View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 1 v 2 Hamilton (full time)

17-04-2011, 09:57 AM
Here we go. Any team news?

17-04-2011, 10:02 AM
Come on the Cabbage !

Sqaud not team : Brown, Thicot, Dickoh, Hanlon, Booth, Miller, Murray, Palsson, Wotherspoon, Scott, Vaz Te, Sodje, Riordan, Smith, Nish, Stevenson, Stephens, Duffy, Divis, Trakys.

Trakys in the squad.... No Thornhill !

17-04-2011, 10:06 AM
Come on the Cabbage !

Sqaud not team : Brown, Thicot, Dickoh, Hanlon, Booth, Miller, Murray, Palsson, Wotherspoon, Scott, Vaz Te, Sodje, Riordan, Smith, Nish, Stevenson, Stephens, Duffy, Divis, Trakys.

Thornhill's out for the season.

17-04-2011, 10:06 AM
Come on the Cabbage !

Is Thornhill not out for remainder of the season ?

17-04-2011, 10:07 AM
Thronhill is out till end of season. I can see this being a very low crowd. 12 o'clock is a stupid time to have a game kick-off. It's even more stupid when it's against Accies.

I'd be surprised if there is over 8000 in there today. I'm not going myself, I aint getting up early on my one day off this week to face the Sunday transport battle to get through to ER for 12.

Will be nice to get a win and hopefully some of the laddies will get a run out.

17-04-2011, 10:09 AM
Have got a game today, have to miss the Hibs game:grr:

Anyway c'mon the Hibs!:flag:

17-04-2011, 10:09 AM
Oh, I remember ! Picked it up against Sheep.

17-04-2011, 10:12 AM
Is Thornhill out for the season?

17-04-2011, 10:21 AM
Well done Hamilton, good result today! :aok:

Grand Prix of course ... 3 – 1 to the Hibees! :greengrin

17-04-2011, 10:21 AM
Thornhill is out for the rest of the season.

17-04-2011, 10:24 AM
Why have a noon kick off? It's ****** and it's against nature. We all know scots love a lie in on a sunday :confused:

17-04-2011, 10:25 AM
Thornhill is out for the rest of the season.

This is news to me. Does this mean he won't play in the next 6 games??

17-04-2011, 10:27 AM
Stupid time for a game like this. Crowd will be smallest of the season, was in 2 minds myself but will be leaving in 5 mins to head along.

17-04-2011, 10:27 AM
This is news to me. Does this mean he won't play in the next 6 games??

Well as there are 6 games left of the sseaon, then yes.

17-04-2011, 10:38 AM
Methinks there's a few folk extracting the urine on this thread.

:tsk tsk:

17-04-2011, 10:41 AM
Brown

Booth
Hanlon
Dickoh
Towell

Wotherspoon
Miller
Pallson
Vaz Te

Deek
Sodje

17-04-2011, 10:43 AM
Brown

Booth
Hanlon
Dickoh
Towell

Wotherspoon
Miller
Pallson
Vaz Te

Deek
Sodje

That will do.

Not sure about Deek retaining his place though.

:fishin:

17-04-2011, 10:44 AM
Accies going with a 3-2-4-1, They look like they are gonna attack all over.

17-04-2011, 10:52 AM
Why is Nish on the bench?

No having a go at him, but if he's not getting a contract then might aswell have Byrne or one of the younger strikers.

17-04-2011, 10:56 AM
Byrne is out on loan is he not?

17-04-2011, 11:02 AM
The east is looking rather empty. Should be at least 1 more in it next Sunday though as I'm up.

17-04-2011, 11:07 AM
It has just been said on ESPN that CC is happy that so many players are out contract so he can dump the underperforming ones. Good hands there from brown. Should sodje have gone down and got keeper sent off?

17-04-2011, 11:09 AM
Can someone please run up to the commentators booth and punch Craig Burley in the face.

Cheers.

17-04-2011, 11:10 AM
1-0 Accies

Dickoh had about three chances to empty him there

McKenzie
17-04-2011, 11:11 AM
what is Dickoh doing:confused:

Awful from Dickoh.

Pushed off the ball about 3 times by a guy whos a foot shorter than him.

dickoh just got torn apart

17-04-2011, 11:15 AM
Seeing the downside to Dickoh now. Rotten.

17-04-2011, 11:17 AM
How did they not make it 2-0 there. Very lucky

Terrible defending. Accies miss a sitter.

Have the back 4 met each other? :confused:

Awful from Dickoh.

Not just him - we're getting ripped apart all over the park.

McKenzie
17-04-2011, 11:18 AM
Defence is nowhere

****inghell. getting ripped apart at the back.

Awful stuff. This split doesn't help either, Accies are pretty much doomed and thanks to the split we can't finish any higher than 7th. Meant to make things exciting? My arse, this game is meaningless.

Doesn't excuse us being that awful, though.

Might as well just take the defense off and play with 5 up front.

Deplorable.

WarringtonHibee
17-04-2011, 11:19 AM
Did we get that back 4 from the local Sunday league team? :grr:

Got away with that then.

dalkeith stu
It has just been said on ESPN that CC is happy that so many players are out contract so he can dump the underperforming ones. Good hands there from brown. Should sodje have gone down and got keeper sent off?

Not the Hibs way, if it was Templeton he would've went down quicker than a cheap hooker. See that wee scrote got another player sent off yesterday.

paulhfc88
Very poor defending. Lucky its still only 0-1.

hibeeleicester
17-04-2011, 11:20 AM
Wheres the famous 12th Man, place is dead.

McKenzie
17-04-2011, 11:21 AM
Did they just call Spoony a striker?:confused:

dalkeith stu
17-04-2011, 11:22 AM
Is this another friendly?

17-04-2011, 11:23 AM
It may as well be. There's nothing at stake.

17-04-2011, 11:24 AM
Ok, why is Dickoh playing:confused:
Back to the bad old days of piss poor defending. :confused:
Build up painfully slow. :confused:
Whole team seem devoid of ideas. :confused:
Hanlon's not ready to be captain, still making simple basic errors and as yet isn't showing leadership qualities. :confused:

one day maybe...
17-04-2011, 11:24 AM
Why is Stephens not playing today?, guy should have been in until the end of the season..

17-04-2011, 11:25 AM
You would think that players out of contract soon would try their best to secure a new deal.

This is shocking football from Hibs

crewetollhibee
17-04-2011, 11:26 AM
Terrible defending. Accies miss a sitter.

Have the back 4 met each other? :confused:
Aye Templeton introduced them to each other.

17-04-2011, 11:28 AM
much better in the last 10 minutes

hibsboy90
17-04-2011, 11:29 AM
Dickhot misses a free header from 2y out! :rolleyes:

Sitter from Dickoh.

We need to do everything we can to keep Ritchie Towell next season and beyond.

paulhfc88
Did they just call Spoony a striker?:confused:

Now just called Dickoh, "Sodje", when the camera was on Dickoh's face

17-04-2011, 11:31 AM
Well I'm glad I'm at Alton Towers :devil:

McKenzie
17-04-2011, 11:34 AM
what a farce at the back:rolleyes:

0-2

We are awful.

Comedy defending.

2-0

Riordans Boots
OG - Miller :grr::grr:

17-04-2011, 11:35 AM
2-0 accies

17-04-2011, 11:35 AM
Expect Hamilton to put the shutters up!

17-04-2011, 11:37 AM

They don't need to. We're dreadful all over the park and they look like they'll score every time they come forward.

17-04-2011, 11:37 AM

Good.

If they keep attacking we could be on the end of a doing here.

crewetollhibee
17-04-2011, 11:39 AM
Why didn't Sodje imagine he was at the other end and head the bloody thing sky-high. These guys have started their holidays early. Shocking, back to earlier in CC's reign; he won't stand for this.

17-04-2011, 11:39 AM
To be fair we look not bad going forward it could be 4-4 :-))

paulhfc88
17-04-2011, 11:40 AM
Are you sure Hamilton have only won 2 games all season? Hibs seem to be the team stuggling to get wins. Very poor today

17-04-2011, 11:41 AM
Dickho hit bar

17-04-2011, 11:41 AM
Dickoh heads it off the bar

crewetollhibee
17-04-2011, 11:42 AM
To be fair we look not bad going forward it could be 4-4 :-))
Another 6-6 coming up ? We might have to score 6 today to get anything from this game.

17-04-2011, 11:43 AM
Absolutely dire

Says it all when I'd rather post on here when I'm sat at the game

Expect another 3 games like this

Seasons over

17-04-2011, 11:43 AM
Hope CC tells them at half time that all bets are off and they are all playing for contracts. Looks like beaches and beer are on their minds.

17-04-2011, 11:44 AM
On a positive note: Booth has looked good again

paulhfc88
17-04-2011, 11:45 AM
Another 6-6 coming up ? We might have to score 6 today to get anything from this game.

And we have NISH on the bench. Get him on.

17-04-2011, 11:47 AM
Well I came back from work to watch this garbage, utter gash, I'm back out to earn some dosh................this is the reason I aint buying a season ticket next year, bunch of wage thieves. :confused:

17-04-2011, 11:47 AM
And we have NISH on the bench. Get him on.

He can't do any worse than our up until now anonymous strikeforce that started the game

17-04-2011, 11:48 AM
Tbh all the out of contract players can give their all but it won't change the fact their days are numbered. They know it.

The players who will be here next season know the split means 7th is the best we can get and let's face it, no matter where in the bottom six we finish the season has been a disaster. No medals for finishing 7th, I'm afraid.

The split must be abolished.

17-04-2011, 11:48 AM
Can't believe how much these guys clearly don't give a crap. Its like back to before calderwood brought in some fresh faces.

Defending has bee actually horrific.

17-04-2011, 11:50 AM
Even the most Passionate Hibs fan can’t justify what we have just witnessed because we are playing a team that’s 99.9% relegated at Home and were lucky to be only 2 down

17-04-2011, 11:50 AM
Francis dickho is slower than a house! Shocking defending for both goals and we look non-existent!!

Big second half needed. Awful just awful we turned up today obviously thinking this game was won.

Btw...Hamilton support? Embarrassing to Scottish football.

17-04-2011, 11:53 AM
I don't think Hamilton will have an easier afternoon against our defence, terrible to say the least and harsh words at half time is what I expect from CC

17-04-2011, 11:54 AM
The problem is the shape of the team . It looks like we are playing a 4-2-4. Palsoon and miller are bring over run.
I can't remember the ground being so empty for a league game

Dirkster23
17-04-2011, 11:54 AM
The lack of pace throughout the team is frightening! Vaz Te keeps looking for the ball in the middle of the park but we always go down the flanks.

God only know why Sodje decided to header the ball down for their second goal. I'm not even going to start on Dickoh's defending :confused:

17-04-2011, 11:55 AM
Francis dickho is slower than a house! Shocking defending for both goals and we look non-existent!!

Big second half needed. Awful just awful we turned up today obviously thinking this game was won.

Btw...Hamilton support? Embarrassing to Scottish football.

I have a mate that is a Hamilton season ticket holder, they have a very small support, Hamilton is a very small town and in the catchment area of those other Glasgow teams.

I would commend the supporters that turn up and support Hamilton rather than slate them for not having a very big support.

17-04-2011, 11:57 AM
On a positive note: Booth has looked good again

He's been terrible defensively. Along with Dickoh, Hanlon and Towell, mind you.

The only one who hasn't been ***** this half is Brown. I wouldn't renew a single contract if this is the sort of commitment we can expect.

grantonhibee
17-04-2011, 11:58 AM
dickoh having a complete nightmare , defence is looking very shaky , hope we can get back in this game

BullbreedHFC
17-04-2011, 12:04 PM
we are getting ripped apart by a very poor Hamilton side ....... says it all really :confused:

17-04-2011, 12:11 PM
Hibs will win 3-2! We're all over them! Yawn.....

one day maybe...
17-04-2011, 12:14 PM
We are still dreadfully short of decent players.. Getting beat by one of the worst teams in SPL history says it all really.. :rolleyes:

AllyF
17-04-2011, 12:16 PM
We are sh*te at going forward. Absolute garbage.

17-04-2011, 12:16 PM
Miller is not too smart is he?

17-04-2011, 12:17 PM
82 in the away end. Oh dear. Well done them for turning up though.

17-04-2011, 12:20 PM
82 in the away end. Oh dear. Well done them for turning up though.

Looks a lot less than 86!! More like 40!

17-04-2011, 12:22 PM
goal!!!!!

I watched the first half in the pub, then was told the telly woul dbe changed for the Semi!!! That meant every pub in town was showing the same game :angry:

17-04-2011, 12:22 PM
Well taken by Sodje.

17-04-2011, 12:23 PM
So glad for sodje!!!! Great finish that man he is proving me wrong.

HiBremian
goal Sodje 1-2

Good ball from Booth, good finish by Sodje.

Game on.

AllyF
Great ball, great finish.

Now we see what happens when we stop sending stupid high balls into the box.

Composed finish by Sodje.

Looks a lot less than 86!! More like 40!
I'm just going off someone who has counted them. 2-1 now decent finish from sodje

AllyF
17-04-2011, 12:24 PM
Riordan would've put that away five years ago, wouldn't he?

17-04-2011, 12:25 PM
Oh Deeks!!!! We've got them on the run though.

17-04-2011, 12:28 PM
Sodje's been watching Drogba! Hopefully, he'll pick up certain other skills too.

17-04-2011, 12:28 PM
Listening to this reminds me of how much of a a total knob Craig Burley is.

17-04-2011, 12:29 PM
All he had to do was chip it over keeper. Poor miss

17-04-2011, 12:29 PM

I'm not getting any BBC commentary :confused:

17-04-2011, 12:33 PM
I'm not getting any BBC commentary :confused:
He is on espn.

17-04-2011, 12:34 PM
He is on espn.

Ah, now I see, or don't as I left the pub at half time when the great unwashed demanded the telly was switched for their semi.

17-04-2011, 12:37 PM
This season can't end quick enough i'll be in Crete the time the new season kicks off.

I think it will finish 2-2

17-04-2011, 12:39 PM
Poor effort from Riordan. What's wrong with him these days?

17-04-2011, 12:41 PM
Both managers must be confused by the showings from their teams. No real point in Accies showing up when they are all but down.

17-04-2011, 12:46 PM
We're really on top now but as usual we've left it too late. Clear handball btw.

17-04-2011, 12:52 PM
full time, ah well

17-04-2011, 12:53 PM
Just wasn't our day TBH. Not too downhearted after that, as outwith the slack first half defending, we weren't too bad. Could've scored 5+ on another day.

17-04-2011, 12:54 PM
We are herendous i defence and even worse up front. NO cutting edge, we need someone that can score a header we had about 20+ crosses/corners and got 0 from them.

Everything about that performance was bad, can't wait for the season to just end now!

17-04-2011, 12:57 PM
Just wasn't our day TBH. Not too downhearted after that, as outwith the slack first half defending, we weren't too bad. Could've scored 5+ on another day.

Really? Today told me that we are STILL 5 players short of even being a top 5 SPL team.
Slow, predictable, poor defensively and terrible up front.

17-04-2011, 12:58 PM
It would not be hibs if we did not get beat by the bottom team.

17-04-2011, 12:59 PM
Total embarrassment again, Accies first win since October FFS.

So much for CCs signings, Palsson and Vaz Te fairly anonymous and Sodje thinks he's trying to score when he should be heading clear!

An easy win if corners count but unfortunately they don't and none of the penalty claims looked stonewallers.

17-04-2011, 01:01 PM
Regardless of how meaningless the game was, we shouldn't be losing to a team who were adrift at the bottom of the league and hadn't won a game in five months.

Very, very poor.

17-04-2011, 01:04 PM
We're terrible.
Very laboured in posession and continue to be poor at defending.

Thankfully we pulled away from relegation when we needed to, but otherwise this has been for sure one of thee worse seasons ever in my life time.

Big changes still needed and big improvements still to happen, before we can even get close to top 4.

17-04-2011, 01:06 PM
Meh.

17-04-2011, 01:11 PM
I thought accies played some good football today, we didnt turn up for the first 20 mins!

Well taken goal by sodje, Riordan was very poor (again). Today for me shows we need a regular goals scorer for next season.

Wull
17-04-2011, 01:13 PM

whit freekin time is it! ahve justlogged in an we stuffed by the worst team in the frikkin lot3 i have totally lost it wi HI and the SPL fann***. CC better get a grip this reminds me o' hughes in the semi @ if the guys canie lift the game fur the semi o' the scottish then whit can they be lifteid fur, and if we cannie beat the lowest o' the low whit the ***** are we dain. Whit time is it anyways???????????????????? should the game no be strartin th noooooooo:confused:

HibsMax
17-04-2011, 01:17 PM
Just like February's results didn't prove we're a team of world-beaters, today's loss doesn't mean we're we're still the same old crap as we were before. This is still a work in progress. I think we have improved but we're far from the finished article. Disappointed in today's result of course. Disappointed that I missed the game (I really need to keep a careful watch on the kickoff times!). But I'm not reaching for the knife drawer just yet.

17-04-2011, 01:23 PM
Just like February's results didn't prove we're a team of world-beaters, today's loss doesn't mean we're we're still the same old crap as we were before. This is still a work in progress. I think we have improved but we're far from the finished article. Disappointed in today's result of course. Disappointed that I missed the game (I really need to keep a careful watch on the kickoff times!). But I'm not reaching for the knife drawer just yet.

Awful for the first half an hour, picked up after that and had loads of chances (including 2 decent penalty shouts) but Hamilton sat in and defended well. A lot of work still needed in the summer but I'm confident CC will move us onwards and upwards.

Davy Mac
17-04-2011, 01:24 PM

Burley is very negative towards Hibs, always tries to be a smart arse but he's not very good at it.

You very rarely hear the Hansen's/Linekar's critise their clubs as bitter as our Scottish pundits do and it's little wonder naebody outwith Scotland raises an eyebrow about our game with muppets like Burley.

17-04-2011, 01:28 PM
Just back.

On another day we would have won that game BUT what it shows again and what most on here know, is that we need 6 new players of a higher standard than the ones we have.

Dickoh is an honest trier but not good enough and Vaz Te didn't do enough to secure a new contract. If Sodje is to get a contract it'd be a 1 year as he'd hopefully only be a squad player. Spoony and Riordan are totally out of sorts. Stevenson brings nothing to the team really and I'd get rid as I'm sure we can find better.

Pass marks to Brown, who had nothing to do really, Booth esp 1st half, Towell, Hanlon and Miller who I thought was MoM. Polson anonymous and deserved to be hooked at half time.

Back to reality after a decent run. Players with PACE for next season please CC especially up front.

17-04-2011, 01:30 PM
Can someone please run up to the commentators booth and punch Craig Burley in the face.

Cheers.

He is a twat of the highest order.

Every opportunity to slag Hibs he jumped at....nonce.

17-04-2011, 01:39 PM
Just back.

On another day we would have won that game BUT what it shows again and what most on here know, is that we need 6 new players of a higher standard than the ones we have.

Dickoh is an honest trier but not good enough and Vaz Te didn't do enough to secure a new contract. If Sodje is to get a contract it'd be a 1 year as he'd hopefully only be a squad player. Spoony and Riordan are totally out of sorts. Stevenson brings nothing to the team really and I'd get rid as I'm sure we can find better.

Pass marks to Brown, who had nothing to do really, Booth esp 1st half, Towell, Hanlon and Miller who I thought was MoM. Polson anonymous and deserved to be hooked at half time.

Back to reality after a decent run. Players with PACE for next season please CC especially up front.

Wasn't that impressed by vaz te. He thinks he is cleverer than he actually is.
Sodje has another year on his contract. Which I don't mind as he now has 4 goals in 9 games.

I think Stephens deserves a run of games now. If dickoh is away there's no point playing him.

17-04-2011, 01:55 PM
I thought we were awful all over the pitch today. Slow build up, no zip, no pace. Easily gave Hamilton time to regroup.

The fact that little Hasselbaink got an ovation from the home support says it all. Best player on the park first time around at ER, and today he chased, harried, jumped and dribbled......ran our centre halfs ragged......that for me is the worry and what we need to learn from.

The formation didn't work today. I personally don't want Riordan to stay. He offers little now and his touch, vision and mood has been awful. We need real pace and someone who gets beyond the man......Derek seems to have lost a hell of a lot these days. DW and Dickoh were poor too, as was Towell today.

Passmarks for Booth, Miller and Sodje today, and Scott for his urgency.

If I were CC I would be raging at that performance today. It was played in slow motion. Simply not acceptable IMHO.

17-04-2011, 02:10 PM
Plenty of graft but very little craft.

A very disappointing performance which confirms that much work is still required both on and off the park.

Hibees07
17-04-2011, 02:22 PM
Really need 2 new centre backs, Hanlon & Dickho are not strong enough or aggresive enough to cope in the Premier league.

No pace or guile up front which makes defending against us far too easy.

On a more positive note I took up my new seat in the East Stand today (switched from the West Lower) and the view was fantastic:thumbsup:.

Roll on the transfer window. :agree:

17-04-2011, 02:45 PM
I thought we were awful all over the pitch today. Slow build up, no zip, no pace. Easily gave Hamilton time to regroup.

The fact that little Hasselbaink got an ovation from the home support says it all. Best player on the park first time around at ER, and today he chased, harried, jumped and dribbled......ran our centre halfs ragged......that for me is the worry and what we need to learn from.

The formation didn't work today. I personally don't want Riordan to stay. He offers little now and his touch, vision and mood has been awful. We need real pace and someone who gets beyond the man......Derek seems to have lost a hell of a lot these days. DW and Dickoh were poor too, as was Towell today.

Passmarks for Booth, Miller and Sodje today, and Scott for his urgency.

If I were CC I would be raging at that performance today. It was played in slow motion. Simply not acceptable IMHO.

Just back home and can't argue with most of that! :confused:

Hopefully CC sees what is fairly obvious all over the park and makes the necessary adjustments to personnel over the summer so that next season we have a team that might just achieve something positive especially against teams that we really should be beating, often very easily! :agree:

17-04-2011, 02:52 PM

Easily pleased ? We were DIRE today. We played at snails pace and created next to nothing against a team who are detached at the foot of the league and had won only 2 games before today. Hibs are MILES away from being a decent team. If it had been 5 - 2 at Ht we could not have complained.

P.S. Miller is scared of his own shadow will he ever put his foot or even compete for 60 -40 balls in his favour?

17-04-2011, 03:06 PM
Easily pleased ? We were DIRE today. We played at snails pace and created next to nothing against a team who are detached at the foot of the league and had won only 2 games before today. Hibs are MILES away from being a decent team. If it had been 5 - 2 at Ht we could not have complained.

P.S. Miller is scared of his own shadow will he ever put his foot or even compete for 60 -40 balls in his favour?

Totally agree.

The lack of speed in our play (so clearly evident against Hearts) is alarming and has to be addressed ASAP.

17-04-2011, 03:08 PM

We weren't dire. Plenty chances created but a lack of ability/luck in the box plus some good saves/defending. Dickoh was dire in his pathetic attempt to deal with the ordinary Hasselbaink for the 1st goal.

What is a decent team? Dundee Utd? Liverpool? Barca? Serious question. If it's Utd then we are not MILES away, merely a few good signings in the summer e.g. strong CH alongside Hanlon, pacey wide player to challenge either Spoony or Galbraith, 2 decent forwards with more mobility and pace than we have. I don't see this as impossible. M'well have managed it.

I thought Miller was our best player as did my mates. Opinions eh!

17-04-2011, 03:31 PM
We weren't dire. Plenty chances created but a lack of ability/luck in the box plus some good saves/defending. Dickoh was dire in his pathetic attempt to deal with the ordinary Hasselbaink for the 1st goal.

What is a decent team? Dundee Utd? Liverpool? Barca? Serious question. If it's Utd then we are not MILES away, merely a few good signings in the summer e.g. strong CH alongside Hanlon, pacey wide player to challenge either Spoony or Galbraith, 2 decent forwards with more mobility and pace than we have. I don't see this as impossible. M'well have managed it.

A decent team in Scotland is one that will compete for 3rd or 4th and get to finals every 3 or 4 years. We are MILES away from that.

Spoony is one of our worst players and has not progressed as we all hoped, Galbraith offers very very little when considering his final ball. Palsson looked a star but recent performances suggest he is "okay" and has lots to do to get the move up he craves. Dicoh is a tryer not good enough, Sodje see Dicoh comment, Thornhill jury out, Jimmy Scott adds bite but wont ever be a star you could go through the whole team and we are Average in ALL area's. Booth is the only player with Real potential.

Miller did have an okay game but he IS scared of his shadow and competes for nothing, he must have the ball at his feet. I think Deek has more heart than Miller and that is a damning statement.

17-04-2011, 03:49 PM

What's happened to Galbraith btw? :confused:

17-04-2011, 03:52 PM
What's happened to Galbraith btw? :confused:

He's been injured for a while now and that seems to be part and parcel with his career to date.

17-04-2011, 04:30 PM
What was todays attendance?

fife hfc
17-04-2011, 04:33 PM
I thought Hibs had enough chances to win the game in the second half and with a bit of luck and a decent ref (definite penalty late on) we would have. The first half defending was dire and we were lucky to still be in the game at half time. This was due to attitude and not ability imho, the players played like it was an end of season match and came up against a team knowing that to stay up they need a miracle and were prepared to fight for it.

Hamiltons first goal was poor defending by Dickoh and Palsson. palsson tracked the Accies player back to the edge of the box then let him go! Lazy attitude today from him. Dickoh should have put the ball and Hasselbank in the stand. The second goal was a tad unlucky and in similar situations in the second half hamilton got the luck and the breaks.

I feel CC also got the formation wrong to accomodate Vaz Te, Deek and Sodjie. Drop Deek and get Scott into midfield as we lacked energy and urgency. We are a work in progress and CC saw the problems in the team in January and sorted them enough to get us safe. I sure he knows the problems now and will fix them in the summer.

17-04-2011, 04:51 PM
We had similar problems today as we've had in the last few games, lots of possession and chances to score, but we take so long in building up each attack that the opposition manages to get most of thier players behind the ball making it very difficult for us to break them down.

There is improvement - most notably in the midfield - but the defence need a calm and organised head amongst them (Dickoh isn't it for me) and our strikers simply need to do better. I've been reasonably impressed with Sodje and Vaz Te but they have more to offer and if they want a regular starting place (and a longer contract) they'll need to start showing it.

Deeks hasn't been great for a while now but there isn't really anything I can say which hasn't already been said before.

We're playing much better than we were in the first half of the season but we're still missing something - hopefully CC knows what it is.

17-04-2011, 04:59 PM
What was todays attendance?

8,173 according to the Beeb.

17-04-2011, 05:32 PM

Cheers for that.

17-04-2011, 07:22 PM
defending was poor didnt get dickoh coming back when we had a clean sheet last week. Out of who played today would punt deek, brown, dickoh and probably lewis and jury is out on vaz te.

Have seen worse and thought some of the football was good and think Miller is our best player at the moment but slack at the back and deek vaz te and sodje doesnt work.

17-04-2011, 08:04 PM
Totally agree.

The lack of speed in our play (so clearly evident against Hearts) is alarming and has to be addressed ASAP.
One quality I thought our friend, Vaz Te, possessed.

Apparently not!

17-04-2011, 08:09 PM
I didn't go today, because it was sunny and sitting in the garden seemed more rewarding. Bad, i know.

But according to the stats, we had 15 shots on target to their 1, and 16 corners to their 2. Sounds better than im reading on here, even considering stats dont tell you everything?

17-04-2011, 08:20 PM
I didn't go today, because it was sunny and sitting in the garden seemed more rewarding. Bad, i know.

But according to the stats, we had 15 shots on target to their 1, and 16 corners to their 2. Sounds better than im reading on here, even considering stats dont tell you everything?

They scored 2 :greengrin
And should have had at least 5

17-04-2011, 08:21 PM
They scored 2 :greengrin
And should have had at least 5

Aye but one was an OG.

17-04-2011, 08:26 PM

I was at a loose end last night and to pass the time I went on the Hibs site to check seat availability for the Hamilton match. Well it was either that or having to endure more repeats on the telly.

According to TM last night we had sold

2943 seats in the FF
4616 seats in the East
3662 seats in the West

Total 11221. I didn't include any seats sold in the corporate/hospitality area in both the West and the FF.

Either the online booking sales on TM are a load of tosh or there were at least 3,000 season ticket holders who didn't attend today. Can't blame them if that's the case because it was after all a pretty meaningless match and the weather was lovely.

17-04-2011, 09:02 PM

While it is nice to watch the ball being pushed around , the way we did it today was suicidal !
Time and time again , in the first half at least ,there was little or no running off the ball and everything was done at walking pace - ala a bounce game ar EM.
Things did brighten up after the interval and Hamilton rode their luck :rolleyes:
As to the goals .
For the first Dicoh had two chances to clear the ball and then after losing it could still have put it behind for a corner .
At the second was not quite sure what Miller was trying to do !
Thought he was poor today in his reading of the game and does not appear keen to compete for even 60/40 balls as you say .

Booth is going to be a real star if he keeps on developing the way he has in the past weeks - very impressive

The worrying thing for me was while the stats say they had one shot on target ( other than the goals ) they passed up at least five guilt edged chances .
In the second half Hamilton rode their luck , as I said, plus a little composure in front of goal could have paid off :rolleyes:

This game must have given CC some food for thought :greengrin

Dirkster23
17-04-2011, 09:10 PM
While it is nice to watch the ball being pushed around , the way we did it today was suicidal !
Time and time again , in the first half at least ,there was little or no running off the ball and everything was done at walking pace - ala a bounce game ar EM.
Things did brighten up after the interval and Hamilton rode their luck :rolleyes:
As to the goals .
For the first Dicoh had two chances to clear the ball and then after losing it could still have put it behind for a corner .
At the second was not quite sure what Miller was trying to do !
Thought he was poor today in his reading of the game and does not appear keen to compete for even 60/40 balls as you say .

Booth is going to be a real star if he keeps on developing the way he has in the past weeks - very impressive

The worrying thing for me was while the stats say they had one shot on target ( other than the goals ) they passed up at least five guilt edged chances .
In the second half Hamilton rode their luck , as I said, plus a little composure in front of goal could have paid off :rolleyes:

This game must have given CC some food for thought :greengrin

Not sure what Miller could have done, Sodje headered the ball straight at him :confused:

17-04-2011, 09:14 PM
Not sure what Miller could have done, Sodje headered the ball straight at him :confused:

:agree: doesn't matter who it had been, nobody could have avoided that one. I don't blame miller for the og.

17-04-2011, 09:20 PM
I imagine the rest of this season will feature games like today's. Bumpy pitches, misplaced passes and lack of concentration are the order of the day.

Where to start when considering what needs to be done?

Hibs have to find some money and get some proper players in. The guys today will do no better next season than they have this time.

Item one: Get a playmaker. Liam Miller doesn't do it.

17-04-2011, 09:28 PM

My point was I wasn't quite sure was why he was where he was at that time :greengrin
Will wait and see the replay on TV :wink:

17-04-2011, 09:49 PM
Dont really agree with this "dire" chat. I do think for he first 30 mins we were all over the place at the back, especially the so called man of the match Booth. During that time we controlled the ball well, unfortunatly Palsson seems to just be taking up numbers / slowing everything down to a stop.

Once we sorted ourselves we had them pinned in there half, and easily deserved another goal. But by that time we were two down and hamilton probably just decided to see out the half and put everything behind the ball.

My main concern is that we are starting to see some of these signings for what they may be.

17-04-2011, 10:16 PM
Dont really agree with this "dire" chat. I do think for he first 30 mins we were all over the place at the back, especially the so called man of the match Booth. During that time we controlled the ball well, unfortunatly Palsson seems to just be taking up numbers / slowing everything down to a stop.

Once we sorted ourselves we had them pinned in there half, and easily deserved another goal. But by that time we were two down and hamilton probably just decided to see out the half and put everything behind the ball.

My main concern is that we are starting to see some of these signings for what they may be.

The bit in bold is a great point. I have real concerns how far off we are being a team challenging for 3rd.

However I do think we were dire, we were playing a team that had won only 2 games before today, if they had scored 5 in 1st half we could have had little complaint if that aint dire I am not sure what is?

18-04-2011, 08:13 AM

Agree with what you say except for the highlighted quote.
Booth got absolutely no cover from midfield with Miller almost anonymous and seemingly unwilling to commit to even 60/40 tackles
Noticed too the midfield four were bunched in the middle of the park ( and in the first half anyway almost moving at walking pace )while pushing the ball wide - good ploy if you are prepared to cover when a move breaks down

18-04-2011, 09:00 AM
Agree with what you say except for the highlighted quote.
Booth got absolutely no cover from midfield with Miller almost anonymous and seemingly unwilling to commit to even 60/40 tackles
Noticed too the midfield four were bunched in the middle of the park ( and in the first half anyway almost moving at walking pace )while pushing the ball wide - good ploy if you are prepared to cover when a move breaks down

Always enlightening to read what the wannabe managers see at a game. As an average punter I thought Miller was pretty industrious- is there anything else you want to blame him for?

:flag: :flag:

18-04-2011, 09:36 AM
whit freekin time is it! ahve justlogged in an we stuffed by the worst team in the frikkin lot3 i have totally lost it wi HI and the SPL fann***. CC better get a grip this reminds me o' hughes in the semi @ if the guys canie lift the game fur the semi o' the scottish then whit can they be lifteid fur, and if we cannie beat the lowest o' the low whit the ***** are we dain. Whit time is it anyways???????????????????? should the game no be strartin th noooooooo:confused:
The underlined part....
He has took us away from relegation.
At one point that's all we wanted to achieve this season.
OK, We have been beat by a team we shouldn't have and we were off the pace.
There 2 goals were 2 mistakes courtesy of Dickoh and Sodje.
Sodje should have just flicked that away from goal but he went up the park and scored a very composed finish, Dickoh on the other hand missed a sitter.
We didn't turn up and that's why we lost to a must-win Hamilton side.
How you can just say that CC has to get a grip is beyond me.
The guy has only lost 2 out of the last 10 Hibs matches.
Come on, Let's not criticise them just get behind them for the Saints next week.

:cgwa :flag: :cgwa :flag:

18-04-2011, 12:29 PM
Always enlightening to read what the wannabe managers see at a game. As an average punter I thought Miller was pretty industrious- is there anything else you want to blame him for?

:flag: :flag:

What's with the "wanabee manager " ?
I expressed an opinion which I surely am entitled to do
This is exactly what you are doing and which I respect .
I saw it one way you saw it another - end of
Anything wrong in that ?

Try writing something constructive for a change :greengrin:wink:

18-04-2011, 01:01 PM
What's with the "wanabee manager " ?
I expressed an opinion which I surely am entitled to do
This is exactly what you are doing and which I respect .
I saw it one way you saw it another - end of
Anything wrong in that ?

Try writing something constructive for a change :greengrin:wink:

C'mon JD- I was being ironic. The 'wannabe manager' is YOUR trademark response when you disagree with an opinion. I'm just kidding you on- don't be so sensitive.

I was being constructive anyway- Miller was industrious yesterday.

18-04-2011, 01:11 PM
C'mon JD- I was being ironic. The 'wannabe manager' is YOUR trademark response when you disagree with an opinion. I'm just kidding you on- don't be so sensitive.

I was being constructive anyway- Miller was industrious yesterday.

Once more I accept your right to an opinion and exercise my right to disagree :not worth
If you want to be "ironic " add a :greengrin:wink: as I did
I never ridicule people for their opinions only have a wee dig at their "managerial skills " which I find very entertaining :greengrin