View Full Version : Match Updates (NHC) todays games

16-04-2011, 11:53 AM
Motherwell 1 up against St Johnstone in the diddy cup semi final after 5 minutes.

Shocker by the keeper

16-04-2011, 11:54 AM
Celtic will hump Aberdeen tomorrow and Motherwell have a better chance of beating Celtic in the final, so hope they win.

16-04-2011, 11:58 AM
I was hearing the 'crowd' have been strategically placed to make it look busy for the telly cameras

16-04-2011, 11:58 AM
The crowd looks poor. Can't be more than 20k there:rolleyes:

16-04-2011, 12:00 PM
2-0

16-04-2011, 12:01 PM
What a hit 2-0 Murphy.

16-04-2011, 12:01 PM
Another goal for the steelmen 2-0 game pretty much over as we know Saints can't score to save themselves.

I reckon about 14000 at the game

16-04-2011, 12:04 PM
Talk yesterday was 12k

Well cruising it so far ..

16-04-2011, 12:08 PM
What a disgraceful support. Taking nothing away from those who made the trip, it's the 'supporters' of either side who will be watching either at home or in the boozer that need to have a look at themselves. No doubt they'll come crawling out the woodwork and find themselves embroiled in a scramble for tickets soon enough.

16-04-2011, 12:12 PM
What a disgraceful support. Taking nothing away from those who made the trip, it's the 'supporters' of either side who will be watching either at home or in the boozer that need to have a look at themselves. No doubt they'll come crawling out the woodwork and find themselves embroiled in a scramble for tickets soon enough.

Isn't our average home attendance more than 12k?

ozzie
16-04-2011, 12:25 PM

3-0 to Motherwell, time to go and get on with the garden

3-0

3-0 Sutton, game over

16-04-2011, 12:27 PM
3-0 to Motherwell, time to go and get on with the garden

I've been saying that for 4 weeks now...always tomorrow!

Saying that it does look a bit warmer tomorrow, may venture into the garage and see what a lawnmower looks like again :greengrin

16-04-2011, 12:59 PM

Not this again.

As if it isnt enough being an uberfan of Hibs you're now preeching to Motherwell and St Johnstone fans.

:applause::applause:

16-04-2011, 01:08 PM
Every time I see Randolph in Motherwell goals, he always impresses me, commands his area well

16-04-2011, 01:10 PM
To be fair, they have a combined core home support of around 5,000 so they've more than doubled that. If smaller English clubs from big towns get to play at Wembley, they take a fair percentage of the population along for the day out - doesn't happen here, especially not for a cup semi-final. Which starts at 12.45, thus ruining the day out element for non-regulars.

If we were playing either side in the same situation, we'd probably take far less than we might think.

16-04-2011, 01:10 PM
Im glad im not a fan of either team, talk about boring

16-04-2011, 01:11 PM
I can see Motherwell winning this 4-0.

Any manager losing by that score in a semi final of the Scottish Cup should be instantly sacked. :wink:

16-04-2011, 01:18 PM
Im glad im not a fan of either team, talk about boring

Aye, we'd never want to be in Motherwell's position right now.

16-04-2011, 01:20 PM
To be fair, they have a combined core home support of around 5,000 so they've more than doubled that. If smaller English clubs from big towns get to play at Wembley, they take a fair percentage of the population along for the day out - doesn't happen here, especially not for a cup semi-final. Which starts at 12.45, thus ruining the day out element for non-regulars.

If we were playing either side in the same situation, we'd probably take far less than we might think.

:agree: We only managed 25,000 against Dunfermline in 2007.

Based on today's crowd there's a very good argument for semi finals of the SC not featuring the OF, Hibs or Hearts to be played at Easter Road or Tynecastle.

16-04-2011, 01:30 PM
Aye, we'd never want to be in Motherwell's position right now.

Didnt say anything about not wanting to be in their position, its not as if they win 3-0 everyweek and if you would be happy watching this type of football then thats up to you

16-04-2011, 01:40 PM
Didnt say anything about not wanting to be in their position, its not as if they win 3-0 everyweek and if you would be happy watching this type of football then thats up to you

Motherwell killed the game off in the for half with a more than decent performance. The second half was always going to be dull in comparison.

16-04-2011, 01:40 PM
The venue is a large part of the issue IMHO - it is a hole, and a difficult one to get to.
The fking thing should have been rebuilt (so areas behind the goal were nearer the goal) and it was sited in the central belt eg Perf, Stirling etc.

16-04-2011, 01:41 PM
How comes hibs can't host the semi? Lovely stadium that would generate the atmosphere with the smaller crowd.

16-04-2011, 01:44 PM
Well, popped back in from the garden to catch the final 5 minutes, and it seems Motherwell didn't need to do much more in the second half. Poor Saints, they appear to have some kind of Scottish Cup hoodoo :wink:

127 years of failure :na na:

16-04-2011, 01:48 PM
How slow is Colin Samuel. Makes Nishie look like Usain Bolt.

16-04-2011, 01:49 PM
How slow is Colin Samuel. Makes Nishie look like Usain Bolt.

Tut tut . Nish bashing will get you in trouble!! :greengrin:

16-04-2011, 01:50 PM
Tut tut . Nish bashing will get you in trouble!! :greengrin:

Doesn't matter now that's he's on his way out.

16-04-2011, 01:51 PM

It's not as if we're thrill a minute and haven't been for some time. Given a lot of people on here would like the likes of Humphrey, Murphy and Sutton at Hibs, nowt wrong with Motherwell at all - crusing in a Scottish Cup semi final isn't really the time to judge.

16-04-2011, 01:51 PM
Next up is the Huns against St Mirren and the diet Huns up at Inverness. So I'll be back out to the garden, and get the tatties planted.

16-04-2011, 02:06 PM
It's not as if we're thrill a minute and haven't been for some time. Given a lot of people on here would like the likes of Humphrey, Murphy and Sutton at Hibs, nowt wrong with Motherwell at all - crusing in a Scottish Cup semi final isn't really the time to judge.

sorry you're right im wrong. I didnt even mention hibs in my post. Even in the first half they were both dire and craigan and mcall pretty much said as much, again if thats the type of football you think is decent then thats up to you. Ill stick with MY OPINION and think the game was murder

16-04-2011, 02:07 PM
ICT 1 Yams 0

16-04-2011, 02:08 PM
1-0 Inverness. :thumbsup:

Liverpool YT 6 v Man U YT 0 (Full Time) :thumbsup:

16-04-2011, 02:36 PM
Rangers 1-0 (and so far no wee flute driven ditties)

16-04-2011, 02:40 PM
Huns 1 St Midden 1

16-04-2011, 02:45 PM
West Ham 1 Aston Villa 1

Keane and Bent. :greengrin

16-04-2011, 03:07 PM
West Ham 1 Aston Villa 1

Keane and Bent. :greengrin

Who is?? :wink:

16-04-2011, 03:11 PM
2-1 Rangers (Whittaker, pen)

16-04-2011, 03:13 PM
:boo hoo:Clum equalised for Farts

16-04-2011, 04:00 PM
How comes hibs can't host the semi? Lovely stadium that would generate the atmosphere with the smaller crowd.

Makes you think in these hardened times apart from it will never be cheaper why folks like Aberdeen are looking to move and up their capacity. Seems to me it will they will be lobbying just as Hibs to host under 21s Semis and Scotland friendlies.
So we it wont be one way traffic to ER.

Other thing is concert venues.

Didn't read the thread on when well fill the east but its an interesting question with pricing an issue games on Sky and dodgy streams revenue sources will have to be complimented by other means...

16-04-2011, 04:21 PM
Game on.

Come on the City.

Hope FalkirkHibee managed to get a good seat at Wembley to see his beloved Man U. :greengrin

16-04-2011, 04:24 PM
Anyone else watching the M V St J game think the same as me ?
What a tosspot Ian Brines is !
No matter how trivial an offence it was there was always a "snarl" and gesticulating with the hands .
The man has no "people skills" whatsoever
A poor advert for Scottish refereeing :asshole:

16-04-2011, 04:30 PM
Good save by Hart.

16-04-2011, 04:32 PM
What a miss from Berbatov!

16-04-2011, 04:38 PM
How poor are Man City?

For a club thats spending over the last couple of seasons has run into the hundreds of millions they really are disappointingly dull.

United just look so much more composed on the ball and far more like a team that has been built and grown rather than thrown together thanks to wads of cash.

Newry Hibs
16-04-2011, 04:42 PM
What is this 'look at Rooney' every time there's a chance? ITV are seriously crap at football. More about reaction than action.

16-04-2011, 04:42 PM
How poor are Man City?

For a club thats spending over the last couple of seasons has run into the hundreds of millions they really are disappointingly dull.

United just look so much more composed on the ball and far more like a team that has been built and grown rather than thrown together thanks to wads of cash.

Too busy thinking about their bank balances, posh houses and big cars.

They've been extremely poor. They need to get their fingers oot their erses.

16-04-2011, 04:46 PM
:boo hoo:Clum equalised for Farts

No he didn't.

Dirkster23
16-04-2011, 05:02 PM
Anyone else watching the M V St J game think the same as me ?
What a tosspot Ian Brines is !
No matter how trivial an offence it was there was always a "snarl" and gesticulating with the hands .
The man has no "people skills" whatsoever
A poor advert for Scottish refereeing :asshole:

Noticed that myself, he was just as bad in the St Johnstone v Celtic game during the week too. Not sure how the refs can expect respect from the players when you see him snarling away and being aggressive towards the players. An absolute joke of a ref!

16-04-2011, 05:03 PM
I'm convinced Berbatov has a few quid on City winning this one.

16-04-2011, 05:26 PM
1-0 Man City :thumbsup:

16-04-2011, 05:27 PM
Yes:thumbsup:

Strangely we weren't treated to a glimpse of Rooney.

16-04-2011, 05:27 PM
1-0 Manchester City, Yaya Toure.

No problem, still 38 minutes left. :agree:

16-04-2011, 05:28 PM
Looks like Carrick has lumped a wedge on City as well.

United need to get Hernandez on the park if they want anything out of this.

16-04-2011, 05:29 PM
jeezo. carrick makes a pub team mistake on the biggest stage in the English game.

16-04-2011, 05:32 PM
1-0 Manchester City, Yaya Toure.

No problem, still 38 minutes left. :agree:

So you're able to get a signal on your phone. Thought you might have a problem with those thick Wembley walls. :greengrin

16-04-2011, 05:41 PM
What a save by Hart.

If City win this he's earned his bonus. 2 brilliant saves.

16-04-2011, 05:46 PM
Scholes sent off.

16-04-2011, 05:46 PM
Yes 10 men. Scholes off

16-04-2011, 05:47 PM
100% spot on by the ref.

Thought it was harsh at first but seeing the replay he had to go, wasn't intentional but was a bad tackle.

Horrid challenge. Deserving of a red.

Yes 10 men. Scholes off

That was a shocker, what an idiot.

16-04-2011, 05:48 PM
Paul''The best centre mid to ever walk the earth''Scholes sent off :faf::faf::faf::faf:

16-04-2011, 05:49 PM
Carricks pish.

16-04-2011, 05:49 PM

It was that bad that even Paul Scholes had his eyes shut.

16-04-2011, 05:50 PM
Falkirk Hibs will be crying into his chicken soup. Chin up lad.

16-04-2011, 05:50 PM

He's always had that streak in him.

One of the best midfielders i've ever seen but when the red mist comes down he's capable of total stupidity.

16-04-2011, 05:52 PM
Carricks pish.

I can only assume Fergie was on drugs when he sanctioned the new contract.

16-04-2011, 05:53 PM
City a goal up and playing against their derby rivals (who have a man sent off) with only 10 minutes to go.

What could possibly happen?

16-04-2011, 05:55 PM
City a goal up and playing against their derby rivals (who have a man sent off) with only 10 minutes to go.

If only United could put on maroon jerseys for the remainder of the game...

16-04-2011, 05:55 PM

2-2 final score then eh.

16-04-2011, 05:56 PM
Can't see Fergie being vey, vey pwoud of that Scholes assualt.

16-04-2011, 05:56 PM

Falkirkhibee appears with an excuse about why he can't do his forfeit?:confused:

16-04-2011, 05:58 PM
Falkirkhibee appears with an excuse about why he can't do his forfeit?:confused:

I was ready and willing but Andy's not been on here for yonks to confirm anything. Last time I spoke to him, I told him to have a think about it and let me know what he had decided on.

Pity but it's probably a bit late now to think about something with 5 minutes left.

16-04-2011, 05:59 PM
I was ready and willing but Andy's not been on here for yonks to confirm anything. Last time I spoke to him, I told him to have a think about it and let me know what he had decided on.

Pity but it's probably a bit late now to think about something with 5 minutes left.

Fair do's.

Andy's probably still trying to live down his comments about Ryan Giggs a couple of weeks back.

16-04-2011, 06:01 PM

:tsk tsk: Nothing in the :rules: about a forfeit having to be determined before the match finishes.

16-04-2011, 06:01 PM

Here we go. :rolleyes:

16-04-2011, 06:02 PM
Fair do's.

Andy's probably still trying to live down his comments about Ryan Giggs a couple of weeks back.

That's a good shout actually.

That comment was actually so embarrassing that if I had said it, I probably wouldn't be back for 6 months.

16-04-2011, 06:03 PM
That's a good shout actually.

That comment was actually so embarrassing that if I had said it, I probably wouldn't be back for 6 months.

What was your man u v man city post again

16-04-2011, 06:04 PM
:tsk tsk: Nothing in the :rules: about a forfeit having to be determined before the match finishes.

Here we go. :rolleyes:

You've had about FIVE weeks to think on something, it's hardly my fault! :wink:

16-04-2011, 06:05 PM
Five minutes of Fergie time. :thumbsup:

Where's Michael Owen? :greengrin

16-04-2011, 06:07 PM
You've had about FIVE weeks to think on something, it's hardly my fault! :wink:

I did.

Big chicken outfit. :agree:

16-04-2011, 06:07 PM
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. Man city have no chance of winning. Ha ha ha ha ha Woops falkirk lad.

16-04-2011, 06:10 PM
1-0, full time.

Well done City.

They might actually win something now for the first time in 35 years. :aok:

The Treble's over but I'm sure winning the league (for the 19th time) and Champions League (for the 4th time) would more than make up for losing today. :agree:

16-04-2011, 06:11 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Well at least the Man U fans won't have a long train or coach journey home. The ones that don't live in London can just hop on a plane to Dublin.

City deserved that.

They owe a huge debt to Joe Hart, 2 saves that won them that game.

'Mon Bolton or Stoke:wink:

Wonder what Ballotelli was up to that upset Ferdinand?

Mario Balotelli is an utter arsewipe.

Complete nutter of a man.

16-04-2011, 06:12 PM
1-0, full time.

Well done City.

The Treble's over but I'm sure winning the league (for the 19th time) and Champions League (for the 4th time) would more than make up for losing today. :agree:

:faf: Giruy

You're no unbeatable.

16-04-2011, 06:13 PM

What did he do, I didn't think it was shown on camera?

16-04-2011, 06:14 PM

Complete nutter of a man.How did you get back so soon??

16-04-2011, 06:18 PM

More so than Rooney, or Scholes, or Ferdinand, etc., etc?

16-04-2011, 06:18 PM
Get in there City....! :aok:
Silva, Johnson, Kompany and Yaya Toure were absolutely superb. :agree:

16-04-2011, 06:23 PM
****in' Man Ure :grr:

16-04-2011, 06:25 PM
1-0, full time.

Well done City.

Can I just take you back a few weeks to remind you what you said. :devil:

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?206221-FA-Cup-semi-final-draw&p=2758009&viewfull=1#post2758009

Now do the right thing and agree to a forfeit instead of backing out of it now. :wink:

16-04-2011, 06:27 PM

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?206221-FA-Cup-semi-final-draw&p=2758009&viewfull=1#post2758009

Now do the right thing and agree to a forfeit instead of backing out of it now. :wink:

:faf: if I'd posted that you wouldn't see me on here for at least 6 months :agree:

16-04-2011, 06:28 PM

:agree: Post 62 on that thread, to be precise :greengrin

16-04-2011, 06:29 PM
More so than Rooney, or Scholes, or Ferdinand, etc., etc?

Nope. Some of Rooney's behaviour is unacceptable and Scholes' tackle today was shocking and totally deserving of a red card.

He just seems to have a real problem, he clearly has a screw loose somewhere.

He is one of the huffiest, most temperamental football players I have ever seen. I don't think I've seen him smile once since he signed for Manchester City.

For a guy of 20 years old who probably earns about £5-6 million a year, he appears to have some amount of problems.

16-04-2011, 06:30 PM

Link's not working for me. :confused:

16-04-2011, 06:30 PM
the ref in the Manchester derby was a complete joke, He allowed City to foul constantly through out and gave every 50/50 decision Cities way. No wonder fergie complains

16-04-2011, 06:35 PM
the ref in the Manchester derby was a complete joke, He allowed City to foul constantly through out and gave every 50/50 decision Cities way. No wonder fergie complains

And poor wee Scholes was picked in too. :wink:

16-04-2011, 06:37 PM

:confused: I saw plenty of 50:50s going MU's way. I saw plenty MU fouls. I've listened to fergie complain nearly constantly for 30 years. If MU had taken their chances today they could have won, but they've no-one to blame for defeat but themselves. (I haven't heard fergie post match - is he actually complaining about anything today?)

16-04-2011, 06:38 PM

I feel really sorry for Sir Alex. There should be some sort of inquiry into the standard of refereeing Manchester United are continually subjected to. They never seem to get the breaks. Perhaps United need a more vocal coach, like Neil Lennon, who is prepared to go into bat against the footballing establishment, who really appear to have it in for this great club.

:agree: Post 63 on that thread, to be precise :greengrin

Or 62.

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?206221-FA-Cup-semi-final-draw&p=2758069&viewfull=1#post2758069

Are you going to name your forfeit or just bottle it instead? :thumbsup:

16-04-2011, 06:41 PM

But it does for EVERYBODY else.

Do you forget what you posted?

16-04-2011, 06:42 PM
But it does for EVERYBODY else.

Do you forget what you posted?

I think he is going to bottle it - showing all the hallmarks. :wink:

16-04-2011, 06:43 PM

It was

No danger that City will beat United.

You heard it here first. :aok:

16-04-2011, 06:44 PM
I think he is going to bottle it - showing all the hallmarks. :wink:

16-04-2011, 06:44 PM
Are you going to name your forfeit or just bottle it instead? :thumbsup:

It's surely not up to me to think of a forfeit for myself!

I had about five or six people offering to think of something at the time, where are they all now? :confused:

If it's to be a chicken outfit then fair enough, who's going to order it and get it delivered?

16-04-2011, 06:45 PM

I had about five or six people offering to think of something at the time, where are they all now? :confused:

If it's to be a chicken outfit then fair enough, who's going to order it and get it delivered?

mushy peas? :aok::greengrin

16-04-2011, 06:47 PM

Wheesht you! :shhhsh!:

16-04-2011, 06:48 PM

I'm here. :greengrin

I'll give Hearts a call to find out if they still have one of their chicken outfits left over from their 85/86 SPL title win.

If they do it's bound to be XXX size but don't worry I can get it taken out a wee bit for you. :greengrin

16-04-2011, 06:48 PM
I do hope there a couple of Man U-centric posters who feel like fannies for having made such arrogant, wild predictions b4 a ball was evn kicked, on this thread and the 'semi-final' thread!
Man City absolutely deserved that. Barry, Kompany, Kolarov and Toure in particular were outstanding..

16-04-2011, 06:49 PM

Good colour that. :thumbsup:

Peas for charidee it is then. :wink:

16-04-2011, 06:50 PM
Or 62.

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?206221-FA-Cup-semi-final-draw&p=2758069&viewfull=1#post2758069

Oops :clown:

Dirkster23
16-04-2011, 06:53 PM

Good to see your man enough to take the forfeit. Andy was quick enough to call you out, but bottled it like the gooners when you suggested he'd have to do one if United won :agree:

16-04-2011, 06:58 PM

TBF it looked like Ferdinand was the one causing the bother.

He just seems to have a real problem, he clearly has a screw loose somewhere.

He is one of the huffiest, most temperamental football players I have ever seen. I don't think I've seen him smile once since he signed for Manchester City.

I saw him smile at Rio at full-time. :na na:

16-04-2011, 11:40 PM

Chicken, to the bystander it looks as if your mouth (or keyboard) has dropped you in it.

Mushy peas sounds like a good idea. You like little peas don't you? And do it at a Hibs game so you don't 'miss' a Man Ure one. Maybe your mate Wotherspiniesta will open the tins for you.........:faf:

17-04-2011, 09:23 AM
Absolutley delighted Man u got beat!!! Utterly brilliant!!

FalkirkHibee maybe you shoudl keep yer trap shut son eh? Whats was it you said ?' No danger city will win'? GIFRUY!!!

And you have a cheek slating MB when you have your very own thug in Scholes, HE is an absolute arsewipe of an individual.

Once again GIFRUY..

17-04-2011, 10:07 AM
Chicken, to the bystander it looks as if your mouth (or keyboard) has dropped you in it.

Mushy peas sounds like a good idea. You like little peas don't you? And do it at a Hibs game so you don't 'miss' a Man Ure one. Maybe your mate Wotherspiniesta will open the tins for you.........:faf:

Nah, He's on his own on this one :greengrin

17-04-2011, 10:59 AM
Maybe your mate Wotherspiniesta will open the tins for you.........:faf:
He should be in the bath with him for the amount of rubbish he posts too :)

17-04-2011, 11:17 AM
He should be in the bath with him for the amount of rubbish he posts too :)
Well, this thread jst took a decidedly kinky turn...
:shocked:

17-04-2011, 12:04 PM
Watching Hearts new signing Zander Diamond against Celtic and he’s clearly hearts class-rank rotten

Stokes misses a spot kick :greengrin

17-04-2011, 01:18 PM
1-0, full time.

Well done City.

Will winning the league on its own make up for it, because the latter is HIGHLY unlikely.

Hibbie_Cameron
17-04-2011, 05:04 PM
I love Arsenal, i really do. They have zero bottle what so ever and that Wenger is a graceless idiot.

Hilarious

17-04-2011, 05:04 PM
GIRFUY Arsenal.

That was an extra special way of bottling it this week

:rotflmao::hilarious

17-04-2011, 05:06 PM
Kuyt :thumbsup:

17-04-2011, 05:06 PM
Said Kenny Dalglish to Arsene Wenger:-

"*iss off ------- it WAS a penalty!"

Hibbie_Cameron
17-04-2011, 05:09 PM

Wenger spends more time blaming refs over nothing rather than taking a look at himself and his team of bottlers. I would have rung Eboue's neck for giving away a pointless penalty instead of behaving like that

17-04-2011, 05:14 PM
From having Arsenal sympathies and thinking they deserve trophies for their play.... nah, no chance.

Never change Arsenal. Never change. Football needs idiocy.

17-04-2011, 05:25 PM
Wenger: " Time was over" :na na:

And the most blatant showings of denial...." It wasn't a penalty"

Fantastic. :hahaha:

Hibbie_Cameron
17-04-2011, 05:25 PM
Laughable interview from Whinger.

Hibbie_Cameron
17-04-2011, 05:34 PM
Wenger: " Time was over" :na na:

And the most blatant showings of denial...." It wasn't a penalty"

Fantastic. :hahaha:

The time was added on after Van Persie stripped off and ran over to the crowd.

I love watching Arsenal, i have seen them in the flesh on a few occasions but for years Wenger has over looked the problems in his team and has the gaul to blame everyone and their dog.

They will never win anything any time soon as they have zero bottle and he wont address long standing frailtes

17-04-2011, 05:43 PM

You can say piss:wink:

17-04-2011, 06:06 PM
The time was added on after Van Persie stripped off and ran over to the crowd.

I love watching Arsenal, i have seen them in the flesh on a few occasions but for years Wenger has over looked the problems in his team and has the gaul to blame everyone and their dog.

They will never win anything any time soon as they have zero bottle and he wont address long standing frailtes

I liked your accidental pun - it made me laugh!

I like watching Arsenal but the silver lining on day like this is watching the post match cartoon that Wenger invariably turns into.

17-04-2011, 06:56 PM
Will winning the league on its own make up for it, because the latter is HIGHLY unlikely.

After watching Barcelona's match last night, I wouldn't be too sure about that.

I would say they've peaked. :greengrin

17-04-2011, 06:57 PM
After watching Barcelona's match last night, I wouldn't be too sure about that.

I would say they've peaked. :greengrin

Is this you aiming for double or quits on your forfeit?

17-04-2011, 06:58 PM
Is this you aiming for double or quits on your forfeit?

That depends, what does the "double" constitute? :confused:

17-04-2011, 07:39 PM
Don't think Wenger can have any complaints - he's on the same par of classlessness as Sir Alex Ferguson when decisions don't go "the right way".

I enjoy watching Arsenal play football, as they are easily one of the better-on-the-eye teams in the Premiership, but they try to over-elaborate just about everything!

They were both penalties and the time added on was justified, as there was a substitute within the 8 minutes and then the time for sorting out the Arsenal penalty, the following Liverpool protests and Van Persie's celebration (did he get booked by the way - didn't see a card?).

Arsenal don't have the character to step up in big games, and they proved it yet again today - I won't be surprised whatsoever if Tottenham beat them at the Lane on Wednesday. That's what separates them from clubs like Man Utd - they might not pride themselves in lovely football all the time, but they know what it takes to get the job done, and more often than not, they step up when it's needed. They're certainly deserving champions this year when it finally happens.

I wouldn't quite say Barcelona have peaked yet FH - gruelling trip back from the Ukraine on Thursday, followed by a further flight from Barcelona to Madrid, and not much prep time in between. They still controlled the game yesterday, but lacked a clinical touch. Not bad for a team still fighting on the front of 3 competitions :wink:

17-04-2011, 07:48 PM

I took you saying that Barca have peaked as an expression of confidence that MU would win the EPL and the CL. Which I would think is unlikely.

17-04-2011, 07:52 PM
I took you saying that Barca have peaked as an expression of confidence that MU would win the EPL and the CL. Which I would think is unlikely.

I understand that. I just want to clarify what the terms of the "double or quits" deal would be.

Obviously quits means that the forfeit for City beating United yesterday would be off if United go on to win the league and Champions League. If they DON'T win both, how would the forfeit be doubled?

17-04-2011, 08:27 PM
I understand that. I just want to clarify what the terms of the "double or quits" deal would be.

Obviously quits means that the forfeit for City beating United yesterday would be off if United go on to win the league and Champions League. If they DON'T win both, how would the forfeit be doubled?

Two baths?

Beans & mushy peas?

17-04-2011, 08:38 PM
Two baths?

Beans & mushy peas?

Ahh right, think I'll pass! :greengrin

17-04-2011, 09:06 PM

If HibbyAndy decides that the single forfeit is sitting in mushy peas up to your shoulders for twenty minutes, then simply double the height of the mushy peas for the double forfeit. Don't see any problem with that. :agree:

17-04-2011, 09:08 PM

You're never allowed to mention Man Ure on the messageboard again? :dunno: