View Full Version : Sodje - A temporary signing?

10-04-2011, 08:10 AM
The number of times i've heard Sodje being referred to as a stop-gap signing, and not what we're looking for after the end of the season. Yet the guy has made an obvious impression in holding the ball up for us, and is scoring goals at a rate on par with Riordan in some of his better seasons.

Can't we accept a decent player despite his moments of awkwardness, and those instances where he looks like a donkey when his goal return and his physical contribution is so good? Many fans will make - IMO - much more damaging concessions for the likes of Riordan and Benji's workrate? It seems to me to be a case of style over substance with some people.

Sodje looks like the sort of frontman who can play upfront with anyone, and his partner will benefit, and Sodje himself may well score goals. And he's clearly looked after himself well enough to play well into his thirties.

Thoughts?

10-04-2011, 08:25 AM
The number of times i've heard Sodje being referred to as a stop-gap signing, and not what we're looking for after the end of the season. Yet the guy has made an obvious impression in holding the ball up for us, and is scoring goals at a rate on par with Riordan in some of his better seasons.

Can't we accept a decent player despite his moments of awkwardness, and those instances where he looks like a donkey when his goal return and his physical contribution is so good? Many fans will make - IMO - much more damaging concessions for the likes of Riordan and Benji's workrate? It seems to me to be a case of style over substance with some people.

Sodje looks like the sort of frontman who can play upfront with anyone, and his partner will benefit, and Sodje himself may well score goals. And he's clearly looked after himself well enough to play well into his thirties.

Thoughts?

Agree with much of what you say but i think his awkwardness with the ball will always lead to him getting a bit stick.

I think he will be a stop gap signing though as next season he may be our only striker here from this season so CC will be looking to bring in a group of forwards and he's going to be looking for better than whats already here, he won't be signing players who he thinks are worse than Sodje.

Mark79
10-04-2011, 08:28 AM
He has to be temporary. I agree he has maybe scored the odd goal and is someone who can hold the ball up using his strength but that's about it. He wins next to no headers and I would imagine he gets a goal every 20 attempts. He was brought into a struggling team to take the pressure of our weak midfield and forwards and has done that job and helped us clear relegation. He is not the answer longer than end of this season IMHO. When the team starts to improve during the summer I think he won't be required.

10-04-2011, 08:30 AM

Thoughts?

Agreed, thought Sodje was outstanding yesterday, apart from his miss at the start of the second half.

It's no coinincidence that since he's joined we've gone on a good run. Also i always used to think with Yogi that we had no plan B, all we could do was pass it about but with Sodje if the passing isn't working out we can play long balls and someone will actually win the ball.

10-04-2011, 08:31 AM
He has to be temporary. I agree he has maybe scored the odd goal and is someone who can hold the ball up using his strength but that's about it. He wins next to no headers and I would imagine he gets a goal every 20 attempts. He was brought into a struggling team to take the pressure of our weak midfield and forwards and has done that job and helped us clear relegation. He is not the answer longer than end of this season IMHO. When the team starts to improve during the summer I think he won't be required.

Again agree with a lot of what you say as well but not the bit i've highlighted, i think he's a terrific player to have in the squad as cover, not wanting to use this thead to bash the current players but i'd far rather him coming off the bench if we're struggling than Duffy, Trakys, Byrne or Nish.

Franck is God
10-04-2011, 08:40 AM
Sodje was the right player to take us out of a relegation battle but he is not the player to get or keep us in the top six and challenge for a European place. I am very happy that we have him as a squad player as I don't think if called upon will let us down.

His goal yesterday was a great finish and he did have a very effective game but that was against Aberdeen, last week against Hearts he won nothing in the air and I barely noticed him on the pitch.

10-04-2011, 08:42 AM

Are you serious?
The game against hearts wasnt the best regarding winning headers, but apart from that, he has won a LOT of headers. The amount of flick ons he has got that have helped us create a chance is pretty high, and he has stopped the ball coming right back at us constantly.

I watched the game on Alba with a Dons fan last night and he thought Sodje was our best player and was delighted when he was taken off.

I think he will be an important squad player next year. Yes he looks clumsy at times, but he has also had a lot of good touches, and although some of his finishing has been poor, he doesnt get fazed by this and just keeps trying.

10-04-2011, 08:49 AM
Confused now. Is it Thornhill or Sodje that we're currently grooming for next season's scapegoat role?

10-04-2011, 08:52 AM
Confused now. Is it Thornhill or Sodje that we're currently grooming for next season's scapegoat role?

You need to have a backup :agree:

We've had Rankin, Hogg, and nish tho, so maybe we need to add 1 more. We should just pick one of the new summer signings out of a hat.

Hibby D
10-04-2011, 08:55 AM
Coo's erse and barn door at the derby; which would have been funny had it not been so frustrating :greengrin and then a wonderful goal yesterday.

His deperation to score in front of the home crowd last week got in the way of his performance (as it did with Deek). Yesterday he had no time to think and it had goal written all over it before it left his foot.

I suspect, given time, he'll settle into a more effective role and we'll see less of the bombscare attempts at goal and a more confident striker emerge. He's definitely got something and it's up to CC to develop that.

I'd like to see him stay on :agree:

10-04-2011, 08:59 AM

Thoughts?

Sodje has added an extra bite to the team that was badly needed. For quite a while we've lacked a ball winner up front....Sodje's changed that!

As well as scoring 3 in 8...he's also set up numerous goals and he got Zaliaukas all wound up in the Derby.

He'll have a big part to play next season :agree:

10-04-2011, 08:59 AM
For such a big bruiser, Sodje is also, a surprisingly intelligent player. He is regularly in good positions and follows up on other peoples shots. His shooting has been wayward but his 3 goals in 9 games so far is a good return. Id keep him without a doubt.

10-04-2011, 09:34 AM
I keep hearing references to the 'new' team we are going to have next season and how we will leave all thoughts of this season's relegation scraps behind us. Calderwood has to ring the changes because of our mediocrity and the situation with out of contract players but I think next season will be one of major transition and not necessarily one where we will be shooting for the stars in the top six. We've got a very long way to go before we can go out expecting to beat the better teams inthe league.

Hibby D
10-04-2011, 10:16 AM
I keep hearing references to the 'new' team we are going to have next season and how we will leave all thoughts of this season's relegation scraps behind us. Calderwood has to ring the changes because of our mediocrity and the situation with out of contract players but I think next season will be one of major transition and not necessarily one where we will be shooting for the stars in the top six. We've got a very long way to go before we can go out expecting to beat the better teams inthe league.

Nobody's saying that though, are they? :dunno:

10-04-2011, 10:17 AM
I like Sodje, he is big, strong, holds ball up well, and has nice lay offs and touches. Not been impressed with his shooting to date but he took the goal yesterday extremely well. Hopefully his shooting will improve as the rest of his game is decent IMO....

10-04-2011, 10:54 AM
He has shown up well against teams in the lower half of the league but I think he was found wanting against Hearts. But....he is the type of player that we need up front, and he took his goal really well yesterday. It is up to him to prove his worth and as with all players, if he can do what CC tells him to do then he will play week for week despite what we think.

10-04-2011, 10:56 AM
Nobody's saying that though, are they? :dunno:

Sorry to contradict, Hibby D, but a lot of the people I speak to and a lot of the comments on this board give the impression that it's a foregone conclusion that we will be a much better team next season. All I'm saying is that this is not necessarily the case. We could be faced with another year in the doldrums with Calderwood's 'work in progress'.

leithsansiro
10-04-2011, 11:02 AM
I reckon that Sodje is actually doing the role that Nish should have been doing. CN ought to have been a bit of a physical presence, but wasn't for whatever reason. Hopefully Sodje won't go the same way.

Is he substance over style? I think I'd be more than happy to take Sodje's effort, workrate and ability to bring others into play. Every team needs someone who is able to do the things that need done. He may not be the flair player that Riordan is (or can be), and that's why he will get away with far fewer mistakes. I think that too many fans are too forgiving of players simply because they have a bit of flair, occasional skill or are "one of us".

BryanV
10-04-2011, 11:10 AM
Sorry to contradict, Hibby D, but a lot of the people I speak to and a lot of the comments on this board give the impression that it's a foregone conclusion that we will be a much better team next season. All I'm saying is that this is not necessarily the case. We could be faced with another year in the doldrums with Calderwood's 'work in progress'.

Whilst not taking anything for granted, I would expect Hibs to be a better team next season. It will still perhaps be a work in progress but we will be further along in that progress. That is not to say we will be where we want to be, but I don't anticipate us being in the 'doldrums' and would be very dissapointed if that was the case.

10-04-2011, 11:33 AM
Stop gap signing for me. I dont personally rate him but I am happy he has scored a few goals, he clearly loves the hibs ill give him that. I dont think he is one for the future but I'll support him all the time he is here.

Hibby D
10-04-2011, 12:23 PM

We could be but I don't think it will be anywhere near as bad as this season (:pray:)

We need to go back to the Blobby era to get anywhere near as pishy a season as this last one has been and I simply don't think that's going to happen again (so soon :greengrin)

I've personally not read or heard anyone bashing on about beating the best of the top 6 next season and if they have I've treated them with the contempt thoughts like that deserve; I've ignored them :wink:

One thing we've all experienced this season is a wake up call as to how fragile we are. In all reality losing only one in 8 isn't something I believe we can sustain (yet) but who knows what lies ahead. We're Hibs - and therefore unpredictable but I have a quiet confidence that the next few years could bring about some entertaining times :agree:

Sodje_18
10-04-2011, 12:30 PM
I don't see why he's came under this much criticism, I've liked what I've seen, as you can see by my username :greengrin He wins headers upfront and holds the ball up well, when did we last have that? Mixu? I honestly don't see the problem, think some people are being to critical, if we have a midfield (which we do finnally!) we need a hard striker to allow the midfield to come into attack :wink:

10-04-2011, 02:31 PM
Are you serious?
The game against hearts wasnt the best regarding winning headers, but apart from that, he has won a LOT of headers. The amount of flick ons he has got that have helped us create a chance is pretty high, and he has stopped the ball coming right back at us constantly.

I watched the game on Alba with a Dons fan last night and he thought Sodje was our best player and was delighted when he was taken off.

I think he will be an important squad player next year. Yes he looks clumsy at times, but he has also had a lot of good touches, and although some of his finishing has been poor, he doesnt get fazed by this and just keeps trying.

Exactly. The Hearts game was by far his worst for us yet he did still set up Deeks with one of his many great chances. He wasn't great against St. Mirren but I'd say in every other game he's played he's been in with a MOTM shout. I've not seen a Hibs player win the ball as much in the air for us. Closest would be Mixu, Pornstar or Brewster but I think Akpo wins far more.

Oh and he won us that pen against Hearts.

At the moment he's our best striker and that doesn't show any signs of changing just yet.

Dirkster23
10-04-2011, 06:50 PM
Stop gap signing for me. I dont personally rate him but I am happy he has scored a few goals, he clearly loves the hibs ill give him that. I dont think he is one for the future but I'll support him all the time he is here.

Sums it up for me. CC knew he needed a physical forward who could keep the ball in and bring others into the game. Don't think Sodje was his first choice but he had to get someone in Januray who could play that role.

The big guys done what was asked of him, but i'd hope we'd bring better in over the summer.

sixtwo
10-04-2011, 08:17 PM
He's done a job. he has been a decent addition to our team and a far better option than nish but for those who posted earlier that he won headers against hearts, i must disagree. I thought he was poor against hearts and for the time that zaliukas was on, he had him in his pocket.

Sodje has been ideal for our current situation and i'll be happy to see him with us next season but i think we will also sign another more proven goalscorer to add to the competition for places.

Duffy, byrne, Trakys and nish out. Two proven strikers in

10-04-2011, 08:17 PM

Sums it up for me. CC knew he needed a physical forward who could keep the ball in and bring others into the game. Don't think Sodje was his first choice but he had to get someone in January who could play that role.

The big guys done what was asked of him, but i'd hope we'd bring better in over the summer.

These comments sum it up for me. I'll be looking for a lot more pace and mobility from any forward signings next season than Sodje has as well as the strength aspect. Helped the team turn things around but we'll need better for a top 6 (at least) finish next season.

If CC decides to keep him then he'll get my support when he plays of course.

hibbytam
10-04-2011, 08:26 PM
Aren't all signings temporary?

10-04-2011, 08:29 PM
Exactly. The Hearts game was by far his worst for us yet he did still set up Deeks with one of his many great chances. He wasn't great against St. Mirren but I'd say in every other game he's played he's been in with a MOTM shout. I've not seen a Hibs player win the ball as much in the air for us. Closest would be Mixu, Pornstar or Brewster but I think Akpo wins far more.

Oh and he won us that pen against Hearts.

At the moment he's our best striker and that doesn't show any signs of changing just yet.

He's actually been incredibly productive for us and for that he deserves credit but that really needs to continue and his previous journeyman record would suggest he's maybe over-achieving at present.

I'm the same as many on here- he has my support but I'm desperately hoping for a lot better for next season. Sodje should be seen as a useful squad player.

As for your comments about his headers, and those of a few others- I am absolutely gob-smacked if you believe that. I've never seen a big guy win less and to say he wins more than the likes of Mixu did is frankly embarrassing.

10-04-2011, 08:39 PM
He's doing the job IMO.

Waaaaaay better than Nish physically, and scores more.

Perhaps he is temporary but another decent addition by CC :agree:

jax67
10-04-2011, 09:03 PM
I reckon that Sodje is actually doing the role that Nish should have been doing. CN ought to have been a bit of a physical presence, but wasn't for whatever reason. Hopefully Sodje won't go the same way.

Is he substance over style? I think I'd be more than happy to take Sodje's effort, workrate and ability to bring others into play. Every team needs someone who is able to do the things that need done. He may not be the flair player that Riordan is (or can be), and that's why he will get away with far fewer mistakes. I think that too many fans are too forgiving of players simply because they have a bit of flair, occasional skill or are "one of us".

Spot on mate, Nish was only ever a presence playing against us.:agree:

10-04-2011, 10:22 PM
It's tucked in is sock which is all that matters!

Nish, Duffy et al canny get it past their Y's!

:devil:

Therefore I say keep him!

10-04-2011, 10:53 PM
He's better than Nish, but not as good as Stokes. We needed a target man, as we did not have one on the books. He'd done a good job, but i'd like better. If he's back up fine, but for me i'd like better.

10-04-2011, 11:32 PM
He is a skinny Nade.

11-04-2011, 06:04 AM
He is a skinny Nade.

3 goals in 8? Nade could only dream of that kinda return.

11-04-2011, 09:06 AM
I've not seen a Hibs player win the ball as much in the air for us. Closest would be Mixu, Pornstar or Brewster but I think Akpo wins far more.

No danger Sodje is in the same league as Mixu or Brewster - however, he has been a decent addition. I would like to think that we would have a better option for next season, but wouldn't be too upset if he was still in the starting eleven, especially if partnered with an out and out centre forward, poacher type.

Arch Stanton
11-04-2011, 09:50 AM
Sodje was the right player to take us out of a relegation battle but he is not the player to get or keep us in the top six and challenge for a European place. I am very happy that we have him as a squad player as I don't think if called upon will let us down.

His goal yesterday was a great finish and he did have a very effective game but that was against Aberdeen, last week against Hearts he won nothing in the air and I barely noticed him on the pitch.

Ah hem, you clearly noticed enough of him to see that we wasn't getting to these high balls! :greengrin

And since these high balls were nodded comfortably back to the centre circle I do wonder in what respect you think he should have been 'winning' them.

Just because a ball goes flying over his general vicinity doesn't make it winnable in my view - against Hearts the service to him was rubbish.

Useful long-term player I reckon.

11-04-2011, 10:08 AM
He's better than Nish, but not as good as Stokes. We needed a target man, as we did not have one on the books. He'd done a good job, but i'd like better. If he's back up fine, but for me i'd like better.

I agree he will do a job and personally would like him more as back up however he has been a decent signing and would be very useful as a sub impact squad player.

11-04-2011, 11:46 AM
He's actually been incredibly productive for us and for that he deserves credit but that really needs to continue and his previous journeyman record would suggest he's maybe over-achieving at present.

I'm the same as many on here- he has my support but I'm desperately hoping for a lot better for next season. Sodje should be seen as a useful squad player.

As for your comments about his headers, and those of a few others- I am absolutely gob-smacked if you believe that. I've never seen a big guy win less and to say he wins more than the likes of Mixu did is frankly embarrassing.

I'm with you there.

Sodje has done a job. He is clearly a more physical character than Nish and he works hard, playing with a bit passion and committment. His touch is a bit clumsy and his shooting is generally appalling. I would like to see better players at ER.

Hakim Sar
11-04-2011, 12:24 PM
Keep sodje. He's like a young Shaun Goater.

Edwin de Graaf is rubbish, on the other hand.

11-04-2011, 01:35 PM
I like Sodje and think he'll do a job for us.

I remember in the derby a radge sitting a couple of seats along gave Sodje dogs abuse for the whole of the 1st half.... funnily enough, he failed to return for the 2nd. :wink:

11-04-2011, 01:54 PM

In his debut against St. Mirren and the following game against Kilmarnock he won pretty much every header and held the ball up well when it was played in to him. Against Hearts in the first half he didn't seem the same player I agree. Wasn't at his best away to St. Mirren either but those two games he did far better than I've ever seen Mixu do and I still don't rate Brewster through his time at Hibs.

About half the long balls that went up to Mixu resulted in a foul against. Sodje is still yet to be booked.

11-04-2011, 02:07 PM
In his debut against St. Mirren and the following game against Kilmarnock he won pretty much every header and held the ball up well when it was played in to him. Against Hearts in the first half he didn't seem the same player I agree. Wasn't at his best away to St. Mirren either but those two games he did far better than I've ever seen Mixu do and I still don't rate Brewster through his time at Hibs.

About half the long balls that went up to Mixu resulted in a foul against. Sodje is still yet to be booked.

I am absolutely gobsmacked at those comments.

11-04-2011, 02:17 PM
I am absolutely gobsmacked at those comments.

The youth of today eh. :agree: :wink:

11-04-2011, 02:57 PM
Fair play to guy, he's only been here for five minutes and has made a decent initial impact, maybe give it another five minutes to impose a more circumspect evaluation...?

11-04-2011, 03:56 PM

You've gob-smacked me beyond belief. I'm feeling cyber punch drunk!

Sodje has never been booked because quite frankly he isnae very physical for such a brute of a man. There have been NO games that he has won anywhere near enough headers and there's no subtlety (ala Brewster and Mixu) when he does. He just continually gets outjumped by guys of a similar size.

He's done ok- I dont want to slate him, but you cannot put him in the same bracket as Mixu and Brewster. You just can't!! This is cult-heroism gone mad.

Arch Stanton
11-04-2011, 04:17 PM

Sodje has never been booked because quite frankly he isnae very physical for such a brute of a man. There have been NO games that he has won anywhere near enough headers and there's no subtlety (ala Brewster and Mixu) when he does. He just continually gets outjumped by guys of a similar size.

He's done ok- I dont want to slate him, but you cannot put him in the same bracket as Mixu and Brewster. You just can't!! This is cult-heroism gone mad.

Personally I agree that he isn't as good as Brewster who I really rated. But you cannot say he is worse than Mixu - you just can't!! This is cult-heroism gone mad. :greengrin

IMO Mixu's best contributions came when he controlled the ball by deadening it with his ample body fat - maybe Sodje is just too slim and fit to be able to do that. :agree:

11-04-2011, 05:20 PM

Did you see the aberdeen game on saturday?
I watched it with an aberdeen fan who said how well sodje held the ball up, and I dont remember him missing very many headers he went for.

Some people just see what they want to tho :confused:

11-04-2011, 05:24 PM

Yir having a laugh, although Mixu did foul a lot ill give ye that one. When Brewster left we missed him big time, and he also scored a few goals against us for the pars

11-04-2011, 05:36 PM
Did you see the aberdeen game on saturday?
I watched it with an aberdeen fan who said how well sodje held the ball up, and I dont remember him missing very many headers he went for.

Do you think that CC was impressed by Sodje on Saturday?

11-04-2011, 06:59 PM
Do you think that CC was impressed by Sodje on Saturday?

It would seem not but both the don supporting friend and I were shocked to see him off. My friend was much happier than me to see him replaced by nish

11-04-2011, 07:06 PM
Sodje has been ideal for our current situation and i'll be happy to see him with us next season but i think we will also sign another more proven goalscorer to add to the competition for places.

Duffy, byrne, Trakys and nish out. Two proven strikers in

:agree: I'd agree with all of that. We desperately needed a decent target man, and although Sodje isn't perfect, he has shown just how important a target man can be to us. I think we need to sign someone who can do his job and a bit more, but even if we do, I would keep Sodje as back up.

11-04-2011, 07:20 PM
It would seem not but both the don supporting friend and I were shocked to see him off. My friend was much happier than me to see him replaced by nish

I didn't think so either, I think CC was equally pissed off with Sodje and Vaz Te.

I also thought Lewis was poor. When I heard the team I thought here's a chance to earn yourself a contract as I think CC is undecided on him. If that was the case then I don't think he has done himself any favours.

I should also add IMO CC went a bit OTT in his criticism on Saturday.

11-04-2011, 07:23 PM
Personally I agree that he isn't as good as Brewster who I really rated. But you cannot say he is worse than Mixu - you just can't!! This is cult-heroism gone mad. :greengrin

IMO Mixu's best contributions came when he controlled the ball by deadening it with his ample body fat - maybe Sodje is just too slim and fit to be able to do that. :agree:

I'd disagree with you about both players. Brewster missed far too many sitters when he was with us. In fact, Sodje has already matched his goal tally. BUT, to be fair, he was starting to develop a good partnership with O'Connor, and we let go of him too soon looking at how he did with Dunfermline afterwards.

As for Mixu, he was painfully slow, but he had a magnetic attraction to the ball - the main quality I'd look for in a target man. I'd rather have a young Mixu in our team than the other two.

11-04-2011, 08:06 PM

Maybe they do but I judge players on their merits. Unlike some folk, I want all Hibs players to do well. I won't however be looking through rose glasses either and I genuinely think Sodje is a cult figure waiting to happen amongst a section of our support which is getting him higher ratings than he merits.

Very arrogant to say 'people seeing what they want to see' because you have a different OPINION.

11-04-2011, 08:12 PM
Brewster IMHO was one of the most technically gifted target men we have had at the club. Older posters will no doubt be able to give better examples.

11-04-2011, 08:20 PM
Brewster IMHO was one of the most technically gifted target men we have had at the club. Older posters will no doubt be able to give better examples.

I thought brewster was excellent when with us. He was one of those players who you appreciated a lot more when watching week in week out than when you only saw him infrequently. He also caused us a lot of damage when he returned to ER with ICT and Aberdeen.

11-04-2011, 08:34 PM
Maybe they do but I judge players on their merits. Unlike some folk, I want all Hibs players to do well. I won't however be looking through rose glasses either and I genuinely think Sodje is a cult figure waiting to happen amongst a section of our support which is getting him higher ratings than he merits.

Very arrogant to say 'people seeing what they want to see' because you have a different OPINION.

I just think some people want to find things to have a go at players for. Ok some of his shooting has been poor, but the guy is good in the air, holds the ball up well, has scored 3 goals in 8 games as well as a couple of assists, and we've only lost 1 of those 8 games. He also gives his all.

I read some people on this board saying either before he'd played a game or after his first game that he wouldn't score before the end of the season!!!! Talk about writing a player off!!

11-04-2011, 08:38 PM
I just think some people want to find things to have a go at players for. Ok some of his shooting has been poor, but the guy is good in the air, holds the ball up well, has scored 3 goals in 8 games as well as a couple of assists, and we've only lost 1 of those 8 games. He also gives his all.

I read some people on this board saying either before he'd played a game or after his first game that he wouldn't score before the end of the season!!!! Talk about writing a player off!!

I think the biggest indicator as to what Sodje brings to the side is to compare our performance away to Dundee Utd (with Palsson etc in the side, but no Sodje),to our next game at home to St Mirren (with all of them in the side).

In one game, attack after attack fell down because of the limitations of Nish, in the next we were able to mount lots of attacks because Sodje helped keep the ball at that end of the park.

He's got a decent goal return so far, in fact, the woeful finisher has scored more goals since he arrived at the club than Deek, who is 'the best natural finisher in Scotland etc' has over the same period.

12-04-2011, 03:38 AM
He's definitely cult and his erratic finishing is certainly testing on the fans and maybe I am looking through Sodje tinted glasses but as CL points out the stats back him up. We're vastly better with him. Is there somewhere that we can see the amount of headers or 50/50s he's won. There's no doubt in my mind that he won nearly every header in his debut and again the majority against Kilmarnock.

I didn't like Brewster at Hibs, 3 goals in 25 is only half the reason. I don't think he gave it his all for us which seemed even more apparent when he moved to Dunfermline getting 20 in 77 and linked up so well with Crawford.

12-04-2011, 09:16 AM

I think the biggest indicator as to what Sodje brings to the side is to compare our performance away to Dundee Utd (with Palsson etc in the side, but no Sodje),to our next game at home to St Mirren (with all of them in the side).

In one game, attack after attack fell down because of the limitations of Nish, in the next we were able to mount lots of attacks because Sodje helped keep the ball at that end of the park.

He's got a decent goal return so far, in fact, the woeful finisher has scored more goals since he arrived at the club than Deek, who is 'the best natural finisher in Scotland etc' has over the same period.

Ah yeah- of course, the fact that his name is not Colin Nish is automatic brownie points for a lot of fans. Wonder how Sodje will perform if he's here long enough for 2 years of dogs abuse?

I don't think anyone would dispute he's 'done a job'. The key is can he help us to another level? I have serious doubts based on what I see, and his past record. Nothing against the guy, who undoubtedly has been productive, except that I'm not going to elevate his performance based on perceptions about the possible length of his manhood or anything like that. I'm also not going to say he wins headers when he doesn't because he looks like a guy who would.

CC made a good decision bringing Sodje in at the particular time he did (although I'm guessing he wasn't first choice) and he's done pretty well. I'm just hoping he's 'an option' next season and not a fixture.

mickeythehibbee
12-04-2011, 09:32 AM
Ah yeah- of course, the fact that his name is not Colin Nish is automatic brownie points for a lot of fans. Wonder how Sodje will perform if he's here long enough for 2 years of dogs abuse?

I don't think anyone would dispute he's 'done a job'. The key is can he help us to another level? I have serious doubts based on what I see, and his past record. Nothing against the guy, who undoubtedly has been productive, except that I'm not going to elevate his performance based on perceptions about the possible length of his manhood or anything like that. I'm also not going to say he wins headers when he doesn't because he looks like a guy who would.

CC made a good decision bringing Sodje in at the particular time he did (although I'm guessing he wasn't first choice) and he's done pretty well. I'm just hoping he's 'an option' next season and not a fixture.

Whilst your correct in saying your not elevating his performances based on a cult following you do seem to be writing off his contributions based on his previous clubs. Surely you should just make a decision based on what's put in front of you?

Either way i think Sodje adds something to the team. He makes contributions in areas we've previously lacked and even when we do sign other strikers in the summer i would like to see Sodje stay as he adds a different dynamic to any of our other strikers. If he were to continue to perform at the level he has i see no reason he couldn't still be a very useful squad member.

12-04-2011, 09:45 AM
Whilst your correct in saying your not elevating his performances based on a cult following you do seem to be writing off his contributions based on his previous clubs. Surely you should just make a decision based on what's put in front of you?

Either way i think Sodje adds something to the team. He makes contributions in areas we've previously lacked and even when we do sign other strikers in the summer i would like to see Sodje stay as he adds a different dynamic to any of our other strikers. If he were to continue to perform at the level he has i see no reason he couldn't still be a very useful squad member.
I've already said my assessment is based on what I've seen, as well as his previous record. You'd surely agree though it would be unusual for a guy to suddenly start scoring goals regularly at 30 when he hasn't done throughout his career?

I agree he's a decent squad player and have said that already as well. I just hope he's not an automatic starter as he's very limited. I keep saying, I've nothing against him, but I'm not going overboard like others.

12-04-2011, 11:05 AM
I didn't like Brewster at Hibs, 3 goals in 25 is only half the reason. I don't think he gave it his all for us which seemed even more apparent when he moved to Dunfermline getting 20 in 77 and linked up so well with Crawford.

I truly cannot understand how anyone couldn't see Brewster's class at Hibs - it didn't matter who he played up front with (McManus, Luna, O'Connor, Crawford), he brought out the best in them. The reason that we came close to relegation trouble the season he was there (and the reason Sauzee lost his job) was because we went 17 league games without a win - Brewster missed 13 of them with a shoulder injury.

The reason that we finished where we did that season was due to the points we amassed at the beginning and end of the season when Brewster was a regular - I can't think how his importance to the team could be any better exemplified. His goals return (5 in 26 starts) doesn't look that impressive, but as a target man he was unbelievable, his partners must have loved playing alongside him - he kick started Garry O'Connor's career (he was ridiculously prolific alongside Brewster in the final few games of that season), and Stevie Crawford only truly looked like a dangerous forward when he played alongside CB.

In fact, the 2 of them absolutely destroyed us in a 5-1 defeat at ER the following season, in what was a very painful reminder of what we still could've had if Brewster had stayed. CB was actually applauded off the pitch by the home support - hardly the kind of reception dished out to someone who wasn't a very good player for us. The only issue I ever had with Brewster was when he had to be taken off before he got sent off in the derby at ER that season when DLC put us 2 up - we would have hammered them had he stayed on the park.

12-04-2011, 11:07 AM
I truly cannot understand how anyone couldn't see Brewster's class at Hibs - it didn't matter who he played up front with (McManus, Luna, O'Connor, Crawford), he brought out the best in them. The reason that we came close to relegation trouble the season he was there (and the reason Sauzee lost his job) was because we went 17 league games without a win - Brewster missed 13 of them with a shoulder injury.

The reason that we finished where we did that season was due to the points we amassed at the beginning and end of the season when Brewster was a regular - I can't think how his importance to the team could be any better exemplified. His goals return (5 in 26 starts) doesn't look that impressive, but as a target man he was unbelievable, his partners must have loved playing alongside him - he kick started Garry O'Connor's career (he was ridiculously prolific alongside Brewster in the final few games of that season), and Stevie Crawford only truly looked like a dangerous forward when he played alongside CB.

In fact, the 2 of them absolutely destroyed us in a 5-1 defeat at ER the following season, in what was a very painful reminder of what we still could've had if Brewster had stayed. CB was actually applauded off the pitch by the home support - hardly the kind of reception dished out to someone who wasn't a very good player for us. The only issue I ever had with Brewster was when he had to be taken off before he got sent off in the derby at ER that season when DLC put us 2 up - we would have hammered them had he stayed on the park.

12-04-2011, 11:16 AM
I truly cannot understand how anyone couldn't see Brewster's class at Hibs

Agree Stevie, Brewster was brilliant for Hibs in the short time he was here.

Am I not right in saying the reason he left for Dunfermline was because Petrie was stalling on contract talks and Brewster wanted a bit of security?

Came back to haunt us time and again at Dunfermline, Inverness and then Aberdeen.

12-04-2011, 11:25 AM

Am I not right in saying the reason he left for Dunfermline was because Petrie was stalling on contract talks and Brewster wanted a bit of security?

Came back to haunt us time and again at Dunfermline, Inverness and then Aberdeen.

He loved his time at hibs and was devastated to leave. It's probably unfair to blame Petrie as I think Blobby had a say too. It was the period when the cost-cutting started and Brewster's age and injury problems (dodgy shoulder) probably had something to do with it.

12-04-2011, 11:30 AM

He loved his time at hibs and was devastated to leave. It's probably unfair to blame Petrie as I think Blobby had a say too. It was the period when the cost-cutting started and Brewster's age and injury problems (dodgy shoulder) probably had something to do with it.

Aye, we offered him a one year and Dunfermline gave him two, on much better terms. Can't really blame anyone, we desperately needed to sort ourselves out and Dunfermline ended up in administration shortly after, thanks to signings like Brewster.

Arch Stanton
12-04-2011, 11:37 AM

I thought that perhaps the reason Blobby got sacked was because he had promised budget cuts AS WELL AS success, and as we all know he didn't do too well with the latter.

I thought at the time, and still do obviously, that Brewster was a budget cut too far, not least because of the influence he had on the young players around him, O'Connor especially.

thefifer1959
12-04-2011, 11:37 AM
Agree with much of what you say but i think his awkwardness with the ball will always lead to him getting a bit stick.

I think he will be a stop gap signing though as next season he may be our only striker here from this season so CC will be looking to bring in a group of forwards and he's going to be looking for better than whats already here, he won't be signing players who he thinks are worse than Sodje.

I dont think we will see much in way of trnsfers this seasons end, why should we. Have any of you saw the talent in the under21s and 19s.

My insight into my Assumption for this diagnosis is simple

Ritchie Towell (ok transfer), David Stephens and Callum Booth plus Paul Hanlon.
Are just some of the examples that Hibs have to bring through. my bet over the remainder of this season is that we will see even more youngsters coming into the team Youngsters who do not know any thing about reps. watch this space and hold on to your hats as we begin or rebuilding, without spending much.

Remember O'conner, Whity and all the others we had a few years back God did that lot have us sitting up and taking notice.

So come on give credit where credit is due Sodje is what he is a bull of a man with bullocks to match, how many of the players who played in his position had the same type of balls. not many over the last few years.

12-04-2011, 01:01 PM

If he's a fixture, I hope it's in place of one of the away trips to ICT.

12-04-2011, 04:00 PM
Sodje was brought to the team to bring a physical presence we havent had for a long time possibly even back to mixus time.He holds the ball up and brings others into play as well as giving others chances with layoffs for instance deeks goal againt st mirren.He has been instrumental in getting us away from the bottom and has scored 3 times in 9 which for a january buy is not bad.He seems a bubbly confident player and while he isnt the greatest player he surely is a good option to have at er next season.
He has been more productive than every striker bar riordan in the last year and while cant be looked upon as the main striker im sure a 3rd choice would suit both parties.He obviously likes it at hibs,is signed for another year and if we have a better season next season,as we are all expecting it to be,its a no brainer for the player and the club he stays for the next couple of seasons and helps bring any young strikers along.He has his faults and is a bit of a cult hero but cc will base his decision on what happens on the pitch and right now he deserves to be at er.

12-04-2011, 05:53 PM
I don't doubt that Brewster probably played a part in bringing along O'Connor and perhaps McManus & Riordan but ultimately it was going to be GOC & Deeks up front so there wouldn't have been a spot for CB. And like so many on here seem to say when Deeks is brought up strikers are based on goals and Brewster passed up so many opportunities. O'Connor had to get goals because Brewster didn't seem capable in a Hibs shirt.

He was also particularly poor when we played Dundee United.

12-04-2011, 06:09 PM
I don't doubt that Brewster probably played a part in bringing along O'Connor and perhaps McManus & Riordan but ultimately it was going to be GOC & Deeks up front so there wouldn't have been a spot for CB. And like so many on here seem to say when Deeks is brought up strikers are based on goals and Brewster passed up so many opportunities. O'Connor had to get goals because Brewster didn't seem capable in a Hibs shirt.

Why bring back Mixu then?

Arch Stanton
12-04-2011, 07:38 PM

So that he and GOC could compete for the same ball?

13-04-2011, 06:57 AM
I thought that perhaps the reason Blobby got sacked was because he had promised budget cuts AS WELL AS success, and as we all know he didn't do too well with the latter.

I thought at the time, and still do obviously, that Brewster was a budget cut too far, not least because of the influence he had on the young players around him, O'Connor especially.
Williamson wasn't sacked. He went to Plymouth Argyle. IIRC we got compensation fir losing his services.

13-04-2011, 07:00 AM
Williamson wasn't sacked. He went to Plymouth Argyle. IIRC we got compensation fir losing his services.

ISTR that Petrie was happy to let him go for nowt. And he was working his notice, anyway, so would have been out at the end of that season if Argyle hadn't come in first.

13-04-2011, 08:29 AM

Couldn't disagree more, tbh. Astonishing.

Arch Stanton
13-04-2011, 10:34 AM

So it appears. :agree:

I only remembered Jim Traynor going on and on about how disgracefully the board had treated him - I just assumed he had been pushed.

13-04-2011, 12:45 PM

If Nish had the same attributes as Sodje he wouldn't get anywhere near the abuse he gets (not from me, by the way).

When I look at our games pre-Sodje, though (and I struggle to see how anyone could dispute this), I see one of the key issues as being having nobody up front that could hold the ball up and let the midfield come into play.

Nish, with the best will in the world, was one of the key contributors to moves breaking down and possession being lost time and time again when we attacked.

Look at the reaction after we beat Motherwell (IIRC) when Trakys played. Again, we had a focal point up front that was actually effective, and we won the game, playing well in the process.

Against Dundee Utd (in the game I referred to in my post which you quoted) we won the midfield battle, made bad mistakes in defence, but crucially offered nothing going forward. Nish was guilty of a couple of misses that he should have tucked away, and while Sodje has also been guilty of this, he's scored more and created more since he came to the team than Nish has this season.

I'm not out to belittle Nish, but there's a direct comparison that can be made between him and Sodje, and Sodje wins hands-down, IMHO.

13-04-2011, 01:32 PM
If Nish had the same attributes as Sodje he wouldn't get anywhere near the abuse he gets (not from me, by the way).

When I look at our games pre-Sodje, though (and I struggle to see how anyone could dispute this), I see one of the key issues as being having nobody up front that could hold the ball up and let the midfield come into play.

Nish, with the best will in the world, was one of the key contributors to moves breaking down and possession being lost time and time again when we attacked.

Look at the reaction after we beat Motherwell (IIRC) when Trakys played. Again, we had a focal point up front that was actually effective, and we won the game, playing well in the process.

Against Dundee Utd (in the game I referred to in my post which you quoted) we won the midfield battle, made bad mistakes in defence, but crucially offered nothing going forward. Nish was guilty of a couple of misses that he should have tucked away, and while Sodje has also been guilty of this, he's scored more and created more since he came to the team than Nish has this season.

I'm not out to belittle Nish, but there's a direct comparison that can be made between him and Sodje, and Sodje wins hands-down, IMHO.

Spot on Matty, and yet i hear regularly on this board how we played him in the wrong position. What bloody position was his correct position?:confused:

Forwards like him should be able to get in front of the ball and hold it up, then lay it off. Basically let the midfield and defence support the forwards. That rarely happened with him in the team.

13-04-2011, 01:54 PM

To be honest, I couldn't care less how he compares to Colin Nish- that's the bottom line.

Nish latterly was absolutely ineffective due at least partly to the abuse from the stands-when on his day he could actually offer something, but that wasnt going to be allowed to happen. He was a different type of player to Sodje- both have strengths and weaknesses and yes CN should have been able to hold the ball up better etc etc., but I dont find it relevant to the original question, i.e. is Sodje a potential first team regular or not?

I dont know what happened to Trakys (does anyone?) but what I do know is that for 2 games (Motherwell and Rangers), he did the holding the ball up role considerably better than Sodje has. THAT is what we need on a regular basis.

You're right that we need someone who can hold the ball up, because Riordan cant/wont. The question is- is Sodje doing that better than Nish really a glowing reference or an indicator that he is the man to lead the line in a successful Hibs team? If you think he's that good we agree to differ, (I'll repeat- folk saying he wins a lot in the air are deluding themselves) and you can also put 3 goals in 8 games into it anytime you want and I wont think it's important either. His finishing is generally woeful and his 5-7 goal ratio a season down South over many years is to me a better indicator as it's a bigger sample size.

13-04-2011, 03:15 PM

That was the season of Deeks stepping up and getting more and more appearances until the following season when he and GOC were our main strike force.

Mixu in his 2nd spell wasn't special but he still got a few more than Brewster did.

13-04-2011, 03:20 PM
To be honest, I couldn't care less how he compares to Colin Nish- that's the bottom line.

Nish latterly was absolutely ineffective due at least partly to the abuse from the stands-when on his day he could actually offer something, but that wasnt going to be allowed to happen. He was a different type of player to Sodje- both have strengths and weaknesses and yes CN should have been able to hold the ball up better etc etc., but I dont find it relevant to the original question, i.e. is Sodje a potential first team regular or not?

I dont know what happened to Trakys (does anyone?) but what I do know is that for 2 games (Motherwell and Rangers), he did the holding the ball up role considerably better than Sodje has. THAT is what we need on a regular basis.

You're right that we need someone who can hold the ball up, because Riordan cant/wont. The question is- is Sodje doing that better than Nish really a glowing reference or an indicator that he is the man to lead the line in a successful Hibs team? If you think he's that good we agree to differ, (I'll repeat- folk saying he wins a lot in the air are deluding themselves) and you can also put 3 goals in 8 games into it anytime you want and I wont think it's important either. His finishing is generally woeful and his 5-7 goal ratio a season down South over many years is to me a better indicator as it's a bigger sample size.

Both Trakys and Sodje had their poorest games against Hearts. Sodje was hands down far superior than Trakys was on the derby by supplying one key pass and winning a penalty where as Trakys did hee haw. I don't think Trakys won a single header in that game while Sodje won at least a couple and held the ball up better in the 2nd half.

Trakys was never the answer.

13-04-2011, 03:23 PM
Couldn't disagree more, tbh. Astonishing.

With what part? Brewster against Dundee Utd being particularly poor is my opinion which is fair to disagree with. But it was these games where I thought it looked like he almost didn't want to win that hold most of my dislike of Brewster at Hibs. The other part about not scoring many goals for us is fact and the missing chances bit is down to memory but I remember being fed up with his finishing many a time. One in particular at Starks Park, perhaps the game that got called off, still haunts me.

13-04-2011, 03:31 PM
He was a different type of player to Sodje- both have strengths and weaknesses and yes CN should have been able to hold the ball up better etc etc., but I dont find it relevant to the original question, i.e. is Sodje a potential first team regular or not?

Since he arrived he has been our best striker both in terms of overall play, bringing others into the game, most assists & most importantly most goals.

He might be a bit clumsy at times but he's been our best striker and to replace him from the first team means we need to bring in at least 2 that are better than he is which I think is unlikely although GOC may be one.

Or the more likely and the one I hope doesn't happen; Akpo has a drop in form.

13-04-2011, 03:33 PM
I thought brewster was excellent when with us. He was one of those players who you appreciated a lot more when watching week in week out than when you only saw him infrequently. He also caused us a lot of damage when he returned to ER with ICT and Aberdeen.

Brewster was never appreciated here. I don't think we realised how much he did at bringing other players in, O'Connor I think mainly, until he had gone.

We then saw at Dunfermline what he provided for Steve Crawford.

Mixu, other than the hat trick v the yams I was never that convinced to be honest.

13-04-2011, 03:40 PM
Trakys was never the answer.

Read the post-never said he was.

The level he played at for 2 games was what we need week in, week out from SOMEONE. He obviously wasnt able to maintain that form and Sodje i dont think has ever reached that level.

I'll reiterate- if you're happy with him as a first choice striker thats fine. We agree to differ-it's not a problem.

13-04-2011, 05:23 PM
Read the post-never said he was.

The level he played at for 2 games was what we need week in, week out from SOMEONE. He obviously wasnt able to maintain that form and Sodje i dont think has ever reached that level.

I'll reiterate- if you're happy with him as a first choice striker thats fine. We agree to differ-it's not a problem.

The way he's played so far he is first choice until we bring in better or Vaz Te becomes a star and Deeks gets it back.

And while I've not seen much of the Motherwell game (did Trakys not miss a great chance?) I did see all of the Rangers game and I don't think he was particularly special. Everything just clicked for us that day.

Let's hope for more goals whoever scores em :hibees

ChicoM1875
14-04-2011, 04:55 PM
Don't know if it's been mentioned, but just watching the Soccer Am best bits on Sky Anytime and Sodje has just been on the showboat megging some hapless jambo.......

25-04-2011, 09:01 PM
5 goals in 10 starts now.

25-04-2011, 09:03 PM
5 goals in 10 starts now.

Short term, hes been a success. End of story. The next test will be how he plays with the new striker signing this summer.

25-04-2011, 09:09 PM
A bit of humble pie for me here- although I'm delighted to admit it.

Sodje in the past 2/3 games has done a lot more of what we've been debating- winning headers, holding the ball up etc. He's also score goals so long may it continue. He's been a very good signing, even if he does nothing next season. He came here at a difficult time and gave us what we needed.

26-04-2011, 10:01 AM
A bit of humble pie for me here- although I'm delighted to admit it.

Sodje in the past 2/3 games has done a lot more of what we've been debating- winning headers, holding the ball up etc. He's also score goals so long may it continue. He's been a very good signing, even if he does nothing next season. He came here at a difficult time and gave us what we needed.

Nah, he's a muppet and waste of space. :wink:

Would've loved that volley to go in off the post.

Purehibee_MYB
26-04-2011, 11:51 AM
He's been vital to us in all honesty... no one else is really scoring goals so why should he be temporary? He's got stuff to prove next season but he's enjoying his football at hibs and we should embrace that...for all we know he could become a legend!

01-05-2011, 09:40 AM
6 goals in 11 games. Lost foothold on game as soon as he went off.

Sorry, if anyone's not convinced he's going to be a big player for us next season, then I don't know what you expect really.

01-05-2011, 09:46 AM
What was the goal like? I'm so pleased for him really because I thought he looked radge from the start....but he's doing what he's paid to do so how can I complain?

01-05-2011, 09:46 AM
6 goals in 11 games. Lost foothold on game as soon as he went off.

Sorry, if anyone's not convinced he's going to be a big player for us next season, then I don't know what you expect really.

Agree 100%
the guy works hard and has scored regularly since arriving. And yes, the ball wouldn't stick up front once he went off yesterday

01-05-2011, 09:53 AM
Agree 100%
the guy works hard and has scored regularly since arriving. And yes, the ball wouldn't stick up front once he went off yesterday

We lost all our shape and our forward focal point as soon as Sodje went off. We all know he has some limitations, but his goal record since coming is probably up there with Stokes' while he was here, and better than Riordan's over the period that Sodje's been here.

Add in his hold up play and his harassing of defenders and he brings a lot to the team.

01-05-2011, 10:58 AM
As a follow on from my humble pie post, I'd even suggest that Sodje could arguably be Hibs player of the year now.

That speaks volumes about the current squad and how bad we've been this season- the fact a guy has done more in a third of a season than most of the rest of them.

I actually do still believe he's going through a purple patch that he'll find hard to keep going but time will tell. He's done well.

01-05-2011, 11:29 AM
Sodje is one of these players who is probably more appreciated by his fellow players and his manager than he ever will be by fans. I hesitate to use the word unseen work but he works hard for the the team in a way that some supporters might not always realise. After he went off yesterday we had absolutely no outlet, the ball just wouldn't stick in the St Johnstone half and the St Js defenders had far too much time on the ball.

Sodje definitely brings something to the team and if he can keep scoring goals all the better, he is certainly no Konte as some would have us believe. If he got another year i'd have no complants.