View Full Version : Yams Jambos Royal Wedding flag

Fenriz
03-04-2011, 07:19 PM
Sat in the FF stand today, but my eagle eyes spotted a few "Kate and William" commemerative Union Jacks being waved around in the Hearts support today. Was some consolation to think that no matter how frustratingly Hibs play, no matter what sort of slavering eejits I'll sit next to in future, I'll never have to face the embarrassment of sitting next to fellow supporters sporting such ludicrously pathetic, tacky, reactionary rubbish at an SPL game. Must be a cringeworthy low, even for the mini Huns?

147lothian
03-04-2011, 07:29 PM
red white and blue, aint their colours are they? so how come the e:confused:jit next to the east terrance waving the flag with gorgie loyalists on it never got his colar felt?

jakki
03-04-2011, 07:30 PM
Thats an april fool!

Oops just realised we're the 3rd of April.Who in their right mind would fly a flag like that?

Omly a Jambo Hun !!

03-04-2011, 07:31 PM
A guy behind me got lobbed put for having (what looked like) a blue flag with White stars on it.

Any idea what that stands for?

03-04-2011, 07:34 PM
A guy behind me got lobbed put for having (what looked like) a blue flag with White stars on it.

A starry plough flag?

Irish Republican connotations.

03-04-2011, 07:39 PM
Thats an april fool!

Oops just realised we're the 3rd of April.Who in their right mind would fly a flag like that?

Omly a Jambo Hun !!

Or somebody British! ;-)

03-04-2011, 07:41 PM
A starry plough flag?

Not sure, all I saw was blue and stars. Didn't get a good look though

03-04-2011, 07:46 PM
A starry plough flag?

Just googled it.... It was the plough one

03-04-2011, 08:18 PM
Sat in the FF stand today, but my eagle eyes spotted a few "Kate and William" commemerative Union Jacks being waved around in the Hearts support today. Was some consolation to think that no matter how frustratingly Hibs play, no matter what sort of slavering eejits I'll sit next to in future, I'll never have to face the embarrassment of sitting next to fellow supporters sporting such ludicrously pathetic, tacky, reactionary rubbish at an SPL game. Must be a cringeworthy low, even for the mini Huns?

As is this :agree:
http://gorgieloyal.forumup.co.uk/?mforum=gorgieloyal

03-04-2011, 08:19 PM
Any idea why they had a European Union flag with them? I don't get why that would be seen as winding us up. :dunno:

03-04-2011, 08:42 PM
Oh dear it's flag time. Don't let them wind you up. Go to Glasgow if you get upset by that sort of nonsense.

CallumHibs07
03-04-2011, 08:45 PM
To be honest its no different from us having tricolours. No need to get wound up by it.

03-04-2011, 08:46 PM
Here we go again

03-04-2011, 08:54 PM
Union Flags? While I wouldn't wave one myself as it is the flag of GB and as most Scots vote for Unionist parties then it's up to them.

One with 'Gorgie Loyal 1690' written across it as the flag in the Hertz end today is a jump into hunland. Given the sectarian and anti Eire connotations this slogan has, one wonders what Steven Elliot makes of it :confused:

Thank goodness we seem to have moved much further along the road as a support. They, on the other hand, seem to be regressing.

03-04-2011, 09:29 PM
What's a plough flag?

03-04-2011, 09:34 PM
What's a plough flag?

The Starry Plough banner was originally used by the Irish Citizen Army, a socialist, Republican movement. James Connolly, co-founder of the Irish Citizen Army with Jack White, said the significance of the banner was that a free Ireland would control its own destiny from the plough to the stars.
This was flown by the Irish Citizen Army during the 1916 Easter Rising.
The flag depicts the constellation of Ursa Major, known as The Plough in Ireland and Britain, or in the US, the Big Dipper. Ursa Major (Latin: "Great Bear", originating from Greek "Μεγάλη Άρκτος") is one of the most prominent features of the night sky over Ireland throughout the year.

03-04-2011, 09:35 PM
Yes, once again that shower of low lifes showed their true colours. Loud and proud renditions of billy boys, FTP, surrender or you'll die, fenian blood etc etc. going down easter road on the way to the game and no shortage of it inside the groud either. They are a disgrace to our city and to Scotland as a whole. But, much like their big brothers over in the West, nothing will be done and it will be allowed to continue. Small minority? Was it hell!

Pathetic low lifes.

mentalhibee
03-04-2011, 09:52 PM
Seen the royal wedding flag aswell, sad like. They're worse than the huns.

03-04-2011, 09:53 PM
Whats Hearts and Northern Irelands connections?

03-04-2011, 09:55 PM

They could have paid full price for a decent flag but decided to go to a tacky gift shop and buy one for a quid. Classy. :greengrin

03-04-2011, 10:03 PM

I'm glad my eyesight is bad so I don't see half this pish. What a bunch of saddos.

03-04-2011, 11:24 PM
What's a plough flag?

The Starry Plough banner was originally used by the Irish Citizen Army, a socialist, Republican movement. James Connolly, co-founder of the Irish Citizen Army with Jack White, said the significance of the banner was that a free Ireland would control its own destiny from the plough to the stars.
The flag depicts the constellation of Ursa Major, known as The Plough in Ireland and Britain, or in the US, the Big Dipper. Ursa Major (Latin: "Great Bear", originating from Greek "Μεγάλη Άρκτος") is one of the most prominent features of the night sky over Ireland throughout the year.

Also like the state flag of Alaska

03-04-2011, 11:47 PM

Well blow me, G4S stewards (am assuming they executed the ejection) with History Degrees! Impressive! :greengrin

Fenriz
04-04-2011, 06:10 AM
Oh dear it's flag time. Don't let them wind you up. Go to Glasgow if you get upset by that sort of nonsense.

Not that I get wound up or upset by it. Just seems to be an unusually tacky and embarrassing artifact to be displaying, sums them up I suppose.

04-04-2011, 06:39 AM
They're worse than the huns.

It's certainly at the point where these days there's more Union Flags in the away end when Hertz come to ER than Rangers.

04-04-2011, 07:53 AM
As is this :agree:
http://gorgieloyal.forumup.co.uk/?mforum=gorgieloyal

There are 3 users online at the moment. 1 registered, 0 Hidden and 2 guests.

Do you think it will catch on?

And own up guys, which of you are the "2 Guests"?

04-04-2011, 08:22 AM
Whats Hearts and Northern Irelands connections?

Exactly the same connections as Rangers. Nothing, zero, zilch, zip.

Simple mindless sectarianism and bigotry by both. Hearts and Rangers tend to be the most unpleasant, vile, obnoxious and uneducated supporters in the country, nothing to do with Ireland in any shape or form.

04-04-2011, 08:31 AM
:faf:Royal Wedding Flags. I thought the only people getting excited about the royal wedding were elderly housewives in the 'home counties', but no, it seems that Gorgie Loyal are getting all misty eyed also. Maybe they could all get together bake a cake and have a right good old street party on the big day!:yamlaugh:

HibeeEmma
04-04-2011, 10:29 AM
I saw the flag and was cringing for them

04-04-2011, 10:38 AM

Simple mindless sectarianism and bigotry by both. Hearts and Rangers tend to be the most unpleasant, vile, obnoxious and uneducated supporters in the country, nothing to do with Ireland in any shape or form.

You forgot Celtic.

04-04-2011, 10:52 AM
:faf: Unreal how embarrassing that is.

04-04-2011, 11:16 AM
You forgot Celtic.

That goes without saying.

04-04-2011, 11:24 AM
****ing hell. They cannot outdo even themselves with a shoddy flag windup and make themselves look stupid. BiChrist, lest we forget:

1) Their owner featuring on Youtube, skelping their first team players in the boat and laughing about it in front of millions...
2) Their owner seriously aspiring to split the old firm regularly, dominate the SPL, move into the Champions League big money and all the while operating from a stadium which is TOO SMALL for European Competition
3) The chat aboot a 5* hotel under the bus shelter :faf:
4) The Brazilian World Cup stars who are STILL on-****ing-route to the bus shelter?
5) Picking teams by faxes, not paying yer players wages even though you OWN a bank and being booted of the cooncil pitch cause you couldnae get a whip roond to cover yer pitches for the day
6) The "beautiful people" advertising campaign
7) Stupid looking ****ing Russian hats
8) Sacking their best manager in years whilst top of the league then losing to an off-form Hibs at Easter Road soon after
9) 400,000 fans worldwide...
10)And whilst not recent, Albert Kidd. :na na:

The list is endless. :faf:

GLORY GLORY.

ENDOF

04-04-2011, 02:06 PM
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g7/the_liquidator_photos/royalwedding.jpg

04-04-2011, 02:08 PM
I've just taken a look as an anonymous member at the Gorgie Loyal forum, they're pretty much lowlife, lot's of Union flags, Northern Irish flags, they seem to think that since the club as founded by Catholics back in 1875, we must be like Celtic, and thus they must behave like a bunch of Rangers fans, as that sort of behaviour is what makes you a Jambo, and not a mini-Hun.

Here is a sample of the type of people who exist on such a forum - http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/3540/****s2.jpg (http://img269.imageshack.us/i/****s2.jpg/)

The thread this was taken from was about the Royal Wedding in case you are wondering.

04-04-2011, 02:11 PM

Was it a case of:

A) that was the only Union flag the wee fanny could find?

or

B) he actually thought that anyone else would give a **** about the Royal wedding?

Either way it's hilariously pitiful.

04-04-2011, 04:14 PM

Where Rangers not founded by 3 scots and an Ulster man though? I may be wrong.

04-04-2011, 05:09 PM
As flags go, there seemed to be a step up or down depending on your point of view of flags with political or religious connotations. It's a long time since I saw a Papal Flag and or a Starry Plough at ER, but both were present at the weekend. I haven't seen UDA or UVF flags in the hearts end, but would not be surprised to see them in the future. How long before rebel songs come back?

I wonder why the guy with the Starry Plough was escorted out. Anyone know if it was purely for the flag. Doubt too many folk in the hearts end would know what it was to be offended by it.

04-04-2011, 05:14 PM
I wonder why the guy with the Starry Plough was escorted out. Anyone know if it was purely for the flag. Doubt too many folk in the hearts end would know what it was to be offended by it.

And ours as well. I'd never heard of it till yesterday.

04-04-2011, 05:16 PM

:faf: only just seen that pic. What a total embarrassment for them.

04-04-2011, 05:35 PM
and an orange t-shirt as well haha

04-04-2011, 07:20 PM
As flags go, there seemed to be a step up or down depending on your point of view of flags with political or religious connotations. It's a long time since I saw a Papal Flag and or a Starry Plough at ER, but both were present at the weekend. I haven't seen UDA or UVF flags in the hearts end, but would not be surprised to see them in the future. How long before rebel songs come back?

Was the Vatican flag in the lower West Stand near to the Hearts end? I saw the yellow and white part of a flag that I thought was an Irish tricolour with a dodgy shade of orange and I just assumed that the green part was hidden.

I'm not bothered with what the Hearts fans do, that's their problem, but I really thought we were better than that. Absolutely no place for that kind of nonsense at Easter Road.

I was concerned about this kind of thing creeping back into our support, particularly during derbies. The Hearts support seem to be getting worse with regards to their songs and flags and I'm not surprised that some of our fans seem to be rising to the bait and reacting to it with songs and flags of our own.

I'm not in favour of banning national flags at Easter Road, and I believe that the flag of the Vatican City would fall into that category, but it's not something that I think is appropriate at Easter Road.

I would also have thought that genuine Roman Catholics would be annoyed that the Papal flag was being used in such a provocative manner to antagonise people.

04-04-2011, 07:24 PM
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g7/the_liquidator_photos/royalwedding.jpg:hilarious

what a plum

04-04-2011, 07:34 PM
They're not loyalists. No. I'm not believing it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nf3BQ4kGRE

WarringtonHibee
04-04-2011, 09:30 PM
http://i56.tinypic.com/jka6tl.png

http://i52.tinypic.com/2isv0q9.gif

Says it all, really.

Devon Hibee
04-04-2011, 09:50 PM
I think its lovely to see football fans celebrating the romance and excitement towards a jolly good wedding.

Since my Aunty Doris is getting married to 'soon to be Uncle' Keith (who is from the Isle of Man) I plan to wave the IofM national flag with their pictures on it at Celtic Park on Saturday.

Who says romance is dead at football? :aok:

04-04-2011, 09:54 PM

I wonder what the collective IQ in that room was? I'm guessing it wouldn't be troubling 3 figures.

04-04-2011, 09:55 PM
I'm guessing it wouldn't be troubling 3 figures.

There would have been more drumsticks than IQ points.

Pretty similar to the average home game at the bus shelter really.

04-04-2011, 10:32 PM
Was the Vatican flag in the lower West Stand near to the Hearts end? I saw the yellow and white part of a flag that I thought was an Irish tricolour with a dodgy shade of orange and I just assumed that the green part was hidden.

I'm not bothered with what the Hearts fans do, that's their problem, but I really thought we were better than that. Absolutely no place for that kind of nonsense at Easter Road.

I was concerned about this kind of thing creeping back into our support, particularly during derbies. The Hearts support seem to be getting worse with regards to their songs and flags and I'm not surprised that some of our fans seem to be rising to the bait and reacting to it with songs and flags of our own.

I'm not in favour of banning national flags at Easter Road, and I believe that the flag of the Vatican City would fall into that category, but it's not something that I think is appropriate at Easter Road.

I would also have thought that genuine Roman Catholics would be annoyed that the Papal flag was being used in such a provocative manner to antagonise people.

No justification for a Vatican flag in the Hibs support. Can't say I've ever seen one before either even in the days when certain songs were not unknown at ER.

There are a few Hibees who post on here you can DEFINITELY rule out as the ones with it though :wink:

04-04-2011, 10:39 PM
No justification for a Vatican flag in the Hibs support. Can't say I've ever seen one before either even in the days when certain songs were not unknown at ER.

There are a few Hibees who post on here you can DEFINITELY rule out as the ones with it though :wink:and one that's likely tae be marching along behind those bands :rolleyes: with the jakeys fae the blue carrier bag brigade

04-04-2011, 10:48 PM

There are a few Hibees who post on here you can DEFINITELY rule out as the ones with it though :wink:

Only time i remember seeing a Vatican flag in the Hibs support was at Hampden for the Scottish Cup semi final against Dundee Utd when there was a minutes silence after the Pope had died.

04-04-2011, 10:53 PM
No justification for a Vatican flag in the Hibs support.

How no like. We aw ken the Almighty IS a Hibby...thus, why can he no bring his flag, just like the yam radges :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

God is a Hibby mind. :thumbsup:

04-04-2011, 11:26 PM
They brought Union Jacks, we brought tri-colours. I'm always embarassed to see either being waved around at derbies. There's just no need for it at all. And before some smart erse posts "But Hibs have Irish origin"..... we don't usually bring tri-colours to ER, so why against these muppets?

Lets not have another flag debate. It's all a load of kack.

05-04-2011, 05:49 AM
Just caught the end of this thread, load of tosh all these flags n that. Ironically when I was at school I remember the Hibbies of Craigmount fighting the Jambos of St Augustines on Friday afternoons.
I think we should get a big Hibs atheist flag.

05-04-2011, 09:06 AM
Just caught the end of this thread, load of tosh all these flags n that. Ironically when I was at school I remember the Hibbies of Craigmount fighting the Jambos of St Augustines on Friday afternoons.
I think we should get a big Hibs atheist flag.

Yep seems like a contest by no doubt some young folk who have never had a bird before trying to outdo each other on how extreme they can get. Plonkers on both sides.

Hysterical that some knob takes a flag to a football game that only the Home Counties blue rinse brigade would ever consider buying. :faf:
Must have put his credibility through the roof.

05-04-2011, 09:14 AM
http://i56.tinypic.com/jka6tl.png

http://i52.tinypic.com/2isv0q9.gif

Says it all, really.

Why isn't he complaining about Janos Balogh, Dawid Kucharski, Eggert Jonsson, Ruben Palazuelos, Suso Santana, Stephen Elliott, David Obua, Ryan McGowan, Rudi Skacel, Ismael Bouzid, Marian Kello, Marius Zaliukas and Adrian Mrowiec - as his party puts it - "coming over here and stealing our jobs"?

Hypocrisy and bigotry - a match made in heaven. :rolleyes:

05-04-2011, 09:28 AM
What's a plough flag?

Its not the flag folk think it is. Its an Irish labour one. Tell me someone never got chucked out for this?! What next, thrown out for a union banner?

05-04-2011, 09:33 AM

Oh dear!

How embarrassing and how very gay! Must have bought it from the Tartan Tat shop, bottom of Canangate selling them. Why would you want to parade around witht that? Its so bad its actaully funny :greengrin Is this the new breed of Royalist Wedding Hearts Casuals? HAHAHA

05-04-2011, 09:42 AM
Quite funny this. Not often you still see royalists anywhere these days . Hope he enjoys his trip down dat London for the big day . This is just the kind of publicity the Royal family need to win the hearts of minds of the people

05-04-2011, 11:04 AM

:faf: They so want to be important. They want it so much!

05-04-2011, 12:22 PM

Don't be too sure. Any Orangeman would know it right away. It's an accepted and common Republican symbol in NI, which is probably why the guy who had it was escorted out of the ground.

Hibs play in green and white - so we fill the home stands with green and white. Not blue and white, not yellow and white, not flags with religious or political connotations, just football banners in the team colours.

Or is that too difficult for the morons to understand?

05-04-2011, 04:17 PM
As a life long Republican ( I dont mean Irish Republican ) I find this deeply offensive. This flag was obviously brought to ER to wind me up personally.

But having said that ....... What a tool :faf: :lolyam: :faf:

ginger_rice
06-04-2011, 05:43 PM

I don't believe I actually watched all of that...mind you I was hoping that the fat bald git on the drum was going to get bowled over into the rest of them and send them all toppling like dominos.

And what a pleasant little ditty they were playing, but it will only have been a minority of them playing it!

06-04-2011, 09:22 PM
The royal wedding flag is quite funny, in a really pathetic way. It's things like that which give people the (utterly false) impression that all Yams are irredeemably sad, lacking, wanting, miserable and completely insignificant self-hating, forelock-tugging imbeciles.

I say utterly false, as this commonly-held view totally misrepresents the host of vile bigots and paedophilles in their midst.

Sodje_18
09-04-2011, 10:59 PM
Was sent a link from an aberdonian mate, always love to see other teams bashing the yams :thumbsup:
http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=4&fid=27&sty=2&act=1&mid=2117870747

10-04-2011, 12:39 AM

I would love to know who that imbecile is..

10-04-2011, 12:41 AM
http://i55.tinypic.com/30mtqn7.jpg

10-04-2011, 02:27 AM
Julian Clary or Eddie Izzard?

Stanton
24-05-2011, 11:12 PM

It's the Starry Plough which was the Flag of James Connolly's Irish Citizen Army.
ICA were formed initially to fight back against the Police and Hired Muscle the bosses used during the " Dublin Lockout Strike " of 1913

25-05-2011, 01:17 AM
Very strange uppage!

Hadn't seen the photo of the funny Jambo though, thanks!

JackJones
25-05-2011, 02:30 AM
got insomnia so I made this....http://oi54.tinypic.com/15xl1lu.jpg

25-05-2011, 09:55 AM
got insomnia so I made this....http://oi54.tinypic.com/15xl1lu.jpg:hilarious

25-05-2011, 10:19 AM
Looks more like Alistair Campbell on the flag than Prince William..