View Full Version : The Masters

31-03-2011, 09:27 AM
Does Council telly have any of it this year or have Sky got exclusive rights?
I don't mind that Sky could have it but they take their feeds from American TV and the frequency of Ad breaks grinds after an hour or so.
I like BBCs coverage from Augusta and when the Americans go to Ads we usually get Ken Brown showing particular shots from parts of the course that the pros get caught out by. Sad if council telly hadn't got any if it.

31-03-2011, 10:04 AM
I don't mind that Sky could have it but they take their feeds from American TV and the frequency of Ad breaks grinds after an hour or so.
I like BBCs coverage from Augusta and when the Americans go to Ads we usually get Ken Brown showing particular shots from parts of the course that the pros get caught out by. Sad if council telly hadn't got any if it.

Fairly sure the BBC still have some of it, but I don't think It's anywhere near as extensive as previous years.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/golf/6103550.stm

Live coverage only on Saturday and Sunday, with highlights of Thursday and Friday.

HNA11
31-03-2011, 10:19 AM
The BBC always used to have coverage from Amen Corner all day on the red button, not sure if thats still the case though.

southfieldhibby
01-04-2011, 08:36 AM
Sky's golf coverage is so much better than BBC's imo.Better panel,better commentators ( Alliss should have retired years ago) and it's in 3D!Whilst Sky get pro's and coaches,BBC get Hazel Irvine ( who's not bad actually)Gary Linekar and Chris Evans!

The only saving grace BBC have is Ken on the course, that's magic.

Expect to see Sam Torrance rock up on SKY now BBC have told him to bolt.

01-04-2011, 08:54 AM
Sky are also showing the par 3 comp on Wednesday :thumbsup:

01-04-2011, 09:25 AM
Cue Tiger Woods, Phil Mickleson, Antony Kim on +10 getting shown every 2 minutes while G Mac, Westwood, Kaymer etc being shown every now and again despite leading by 3!!!:rolleyes:

01-04-2011, 12:40 PM
Can't say I'm too chuffed about this offer. The Company would have been better marketing one of our own players rather than Woods.

http://mxm.mxmfb.com/rsps/wlnk/c/1023/r/530051/e/1596

01-04-2011, 12:45 PM
Sky's golf coverage is so much better than BBC's imo.Better panel,better commentators ( Alliss should have retired years ago) and it's in 3D!Whilst Sky get pro's and coaches,BBC get Hazel Irvine ( who's not bad actually)Gary Linekar and Chris Evans!

The only saving grace BBC have is Ken on the course, that's magic.

Expect to see Sam Torrance rock up on SKY now BBC have told him to bolt.

Ah but there is more chance of uninterrupted coverage on the Beeb. OK they'll have to fill in time during the US advertising intervals but I can handle that.

I don't think the Beeb have made a bad job of covering the Masters in recent years to be honest.

01-04-2011, 01:02 PM
Can't say I'm too chuffed about this offer. The Company would have been better marketing one of our own players rather than Woods.

Risk and reward :wink: They think Tiger won't be anywhere near winning it there for they wont have to fork out :greengrin

01-04-2011, 02:36 PM
Who's betting on who???

I fancy Mickelson, Kaymer, Mahan and McIlroy (this week :greengrin)

01-04-2011, 02:50 PM
Who's betting on who???

I've backed the two Molinari brothers each way at 80/1 and 125/1

NYHibby
02-04-2011, 11:34 AM

The frequency of the ad breaks? The Masters has less commercials per hour than any other golf tournament (on American TV).

02-04-2011, 07:35 PM
Who's betting on who???

I have £5 e/w on the following.
Dustin Johnson 25/1
Luke Donald 25/1
Matt Kutcher 40/1
Steve Stricker 50/1
Adam Scott 66/1

03-04-2011, 10:48 PM
Ah but there is more chance of uninterrupted coverage on the Beeb. OK they'll have to fill in time during the US advertising intervals but I can handle that.

I don't think the Beeb have made a bad job of covering the Masters in recent years to be honest.

:agree: I like watching the Masters on the Beeb, its like an institution.:greengrin
BBC live coverage starts on Saturday but there will be highlights for the first 2 days. Pretty sure its the same as this every year with them.

southfieldhibby
04-04-2011, 08:49 AM
I know nowt about betting, but got lucky @ cheltenham and had £60 in the pp account, here's who wont be winning this week :rolleyes::greengrin

Rickie Fowler £4 e/w 50/1
Kaymer £2 e/w 18/1
F Molinari £4 e/w 66/1
Laird £2 e/w 50/1
Ogilvy £2 e/w 66/1
GMac £4 e/w 33/1
Bubba £4 e/w 33/1
Luuuuke £4 e/w 25/1
Westy £4 e/w 12/1

Hank Schrader
05-04-2011, 11:56 AM
Dunno if this interests anyone but Steve Marino has been in good form this year. Couple of second places, made 6 cuts out of 8 and sits 14th on the Fed Ex money list. Has never won on the US Tour so far but with odds of 125/1 (Paddy Power) he could be a decent e/w bet.

Finished tied 14th last year.

Calvin
05-04-2011, 03:40 PM
I budgeted myself a tenner.

£2 Kaymer win - 23/1
£1 Baddeley e/w - 55/1
£1 Allenby e/w - 110/1
£1 E Molinari e/w - 140/1
£1 Hoffman e/w - 225/1

05-04-2011, 04:17 PM
Some tasty 3 ball's :agree:

MASTERS FIRST-ROUND TEE TIMES (US unless stated)

13:45 BST - Jonathan Byrd, Ross Fisher (Eng), Sean O'Hair

13:56 - Sandy Lyle (Sco), Alex Cejka (Ger), David Chung

14:07 - Jerry Kelly, Camilo Villegas (Col), Jeff Overton

14:18 - Ben Crenshaw, Brandt Snedeker, Kevin Na

14:29 - Mark O'Meara, Anders Hansen (Den), Heath Slocum

14:40 - Dustin Johnson, Adam Scott (Aus), Nick Watney

14:51 - Vijay Singh (Fij), Tim Clark (SA), Aaron Baddeley (Aus)

15:02 - Gregory Havret (Fra), Carl Pettersson (Swe), Ryan Palmer

15:13 - Martin Laird (Sco), Mark Wilson, Bo Van Pelt

15:24 - Rory McIlroy (NI), Rickie Fowler, Jason Day (Aus)

15:35 - Mike Weir (Can), Hiroyuki Fujita (Jpn), Retief Goosen (SA)

15:57 - Padraig Harrington (Ire), Ryo Ishikawa (Jpn), Bill Haas

16:08 - Larry Mize, Rory Sabbatini (SA), Jeong Jin (Kor)

16:19 - Martin Kaymer (Ger), Lee Westwood (Eng), Matt Kuchar

16:30 - Hunter Mahan, Ernie Els (SA), Francesco Molinari (Ita)

16:41 - Tiger Woods, Graeme McDowell (NI), Robert Allenby (Aus)

16:52 - Arjun Atwal (Ind), Sergio Garcia (Spa), Robert Karlsson (Swe)

17:03 - Charl Schwartzel (SA), Stuart Appleby (Aus), Charley Hoffman

17:14 - Ian Woosnam (Wal), DA Points, Ben Crane

17:25 - Craig Stadler, Kevin Streelman, Nathan Smith

17:36 - Peter Hanson (Swe), Kim Kyung-Tae (Kor), Ryan Moore

17:47 - Angel Cabrera (Arg), Ian Poulter (Eng), David Toms

18:09 - Trevor Immelman (SA), Lucas Glover, Hideki Matsuyama (Jpn)

18:20 - Zach Johnson, Yang Yong-Eun (Kor), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa)

18:31 - Jose Maria Olazabal (Spa), Davis Love, Lion Kim

18:42 - Tom Watson, Ricky Barnes, John Bohn

18:53 - Fred Couples, Luke Donald (Eng), Steve Stricker

19:04 - Anthony Kim, Henrik Stenson (Swe), Steve Marino

19:15 - Bubba Watson, Paul Casey (Eng), Edoardo Molinari (Ita)

19:26 - Stewart Cink, Jim Furyk, Yuta Ikeda (Jpn)

19:37 - Justin Rose (Eng), KJ Choi (Kor), Louis Oosthuizen (SA)

19:48 - Phil Miclkelson, Geoff Ogilvy (Aus), Peter Uihlein

19:59 - Jhonattan Vegas (Ven), Gary Woodland, Alvaro Quiros (Spa)

05-04-2011, 04:27 PM
My number 1 bet this year will be Nick Watney (18/1). He's having a good year and I've a feeling he could come up with the goods this time.

I've also had a wee wager on:-

Lee Westwood (16/1)
Hunter Mahan (29/1)

And the ever steady Luke Donald (28/1)

LALthehibeeGAL
06-04-2011, 10:26 PM
i leep changing my mind but stuck to three e/w bets

bubba
stricker
and don't know why but fancy geoff ogilvy to be in the mix
just cos well - just cos

there are loads of others but enough is enough the grand national is this weekend too!!

I honestly believe big Phil will win but he is not worth betting unless you want to wager loads to win really

anyway good luck all - especially me!!!!!!!:agree:

Lal:wink:

MountcastleHibs
06-04-2011, 11:41 PM
My number 1 bet this year will be Nick Watney (18/1). He's having a good year and I've a feeling he could come up with the goods this time.

I've also had a wee wager on:-

Lee Westwood (16/1)
Hunter Mahan (29/1)

And the ever steady Luke Donald (28/1)

He's just won the Par 3 tournament, and going by the person winning that never winning the Masters, he's got no chance now!!

Butch Harmon picked Nick Watney, Phil Mickelson, or Dustin Johnson.

For me, I have a feeling it'll be a European.

07-04-2011, 01:20 AM
He's just won the Par 3 tournament, and going by the person winning that never winning the Masters, he's got no chance now!!

For me, I have a feeling it'll be a European.
WTF was he thinking about. I backed him too.
Did you see Monty tonight admitting throwing the par 3 competition when he was winning it? Always thought he was not right in the head. In fact he has went even lower in my estimations if that was possible.

07-04-2011, 11:08 AM
Three each way bets for me. KJ Choi, Aaron Baddeley and Bubba Watson.

Looking forward to this.:thumbsup:

Hank Schrader
07-04-2011, 11:18 AM

Thats because he coaches all three! Wouldn't be shocked if those three were contending come Sunday afternoon, all three are class acts and Butch Harmon is a great coach.

I went for;

Nick Watney £3 e/w @ 16/1
Martin Laird £2 e/w @ 70/1
Hunter Mahan £3 e/w @ 25/1
Steve Marino £1 e/w @125/1
Tiger Woods £2 to win @ 12/1 (I would never count Tiger out)

Hank Schrader
07-04-2011, 11:20 AM
WTF was he thinking about. I backed him too.
Did you see Monty tonight admitting throwing the par 3 competition when he was winning it? Always thought he was not right in the head. In fact he has went even lower in my estimations if that was possible.

:agree: I always thought Montgomeries failure at major championship level was more psychological than being down to back luck or anything else.

07-04-2011, 12:14 PM
Well, that's my bets on.

E Molinari
F Molinari
L Donald
S Marino
R McIlroy
I Poulter
E Els

Mon the Europeans!! :thumbsup:

07-04-2011, 12:24 PM
Three each way bets for me. KJ Choi, Aaron Baddeley and Bubba Watson.

Looking forward to this.:thumbsup:

I actually went for

£3 e/w Aaron Baddeley @ 50/1
£3 e/w KJ Choi @ 66/1
£1 e/w Tim Clark @ 125/1
£1 e/w Rory Sabbatini @ 100/1
£1 e/w Ricky Barnes @ 150/1

07-04-2011, 12:41 PM
Is there any online coverage throughout today?

07-04-2011, 12:43 PM
Rickie Fowler and Adam Scott £5e/w for me.

Coverage starts at 2.45 on the red button on Sky.

07-04-2011, 02:16 PM
are there any websites showing todays round live? :confused:

could do with it on one of my screens at work.

TheGreenMan
07-04-2011, 07:59 PM
Forgot to post up my bets.

Done them after a few holes had been played earlier.

Spread out my picks to keep the interest over the weekend :thumbsup:

Mickleson £2.50 e/w @ 7/1
Jiminez £2.50 e/w @ 175/1
Casey £2.50 e/w @ 35/1
*Rose £2.50 e/w @ 33/1
*E.Molinari £1.00 e/w @ 100/1
*G.Ogilvy £1.00 e/w @ 75/1
*K.J Choi £1.00 to win @ 60/1

*These four were bet on Victor Chandler who are paying you as a winner if your player makes a hole in one during the tournament :greengrin

07-04-2011, 08:03 PM
For anyone else that only has cooncil telly - I've got a cracking feed bookmarked now :greengrin

07-04-2011, 08:12 PM
For anyone else that only has cooncil telly - I've got a cracking feed bookmarked now :greengrin

pm please sir.

07-04-2011, 08:52 PM

Well, spread the love via PM then :greengrin

07-04-2011, 09:03 PM
pm please sir.

Well, spread the love via PM then :greengrin

But if I do that it will get worse :wink:

Stewboy
07-04-2011, 10:01 PM
Not a bad start all for my bets

Kucher, fowler and immelman all safely in

Cool hand luke showing his class now

Just need dustin johnson to get his finger out!

07-04-2011, 10:09 PM
Who's betting on who???

So one of ma picks shoots 65! and I decide to lay off the bets until tomorrow! FFS! :grr: Might wait til Saturday now.

08-04-2011, 06:23 AM

PM please BH. I want to watch it at work today

skyehibee
08-04-2011, 10:28 AM
PM please BH. I want to watch it at work today

Same here please! :greengrin

08-04-2011, 12:03 PM
The official site broadcasts live action at selected holes.

It seems to work better in Opera than it does in IE8.

http://www.masters.com/en_US/

derekHFC
08-04-2011, 02:14 PM
That link would be grand

08-04-2011, 05:16 PM
Everyone that asked for a link has a PM, can even upgrade to HD have you've the right graphics card. :thumbsup:

08-04-2011, 07:23 PM
What happens with each way betting at The Masters? Apparently it's the top 5, although seeing as people can be joint 3rd, 4th etc does that mean the bookies could be paying out on 10 or so different golfers? :confused:

08-04-2011, 07:43 PM
I actually went for

£3 e/w Aaron Baddeley @ 50/1
£3 e/w KJ Choi @ 66/1
£1 e/w Tim Clark @ 125/1
£1 e/w Rory Sabbatini @ 100/1
£1 e/w Ricky Barnes @ 150/1

Decent so far for me. 3 on the cusp of making the cut. Choi and Barnes playing well.:thumbsup:

08-04-2011, 09:26 PM
Decent so far for me. 3 on the cusp of making the cut. Choi and Barnes playing well.:thumbsup:

Same for me, Scott safely to the weekend at 2 under and Fowler looking good to join.

Getting tempted to stick a few pounds on Woods and Westwood, if they can get to 4 or 5 under by close of play tonight they will be right in there.

08-04-2011, 10:15 PM
I have £5 e/w on the following.
Dustin Johnson 25/1
Luke Donald 25/1
Matt Kutcher 40/1
Steve Stricker 50/1
Adam Scott 66/1

All my picks current top 20 with Kucher 2 to play but going backwards. Bring on the weekend.

08-04-2011, 10:46 PM
I chose mcdowell, cink, goosen and furyk! I think they all forgot to bring their clubs!!

MountcastleHibs
08-04-2011, 10:59 PM
Looks like the real Tiger is back. Anyone that took him at 11-1 might find themselves in a bit of dosh here.

08-04-2011, 11:11 PM
Looks like the real Tiger is back. Anyone that took him at 11-1 might find themselves in a bit of dosh here.

TW was as much as 14s after day 1 too!

09-04-2011, 12:22 AM
all my bets made the cut

ive got

Rory
Tiger 15/2
Westwood
Bubba
Overton
Fisher

09-04-2011, 03:41 AM
What happens with each way betting at The Masters? Apparently it's the top 5, although seeing as people can be joint 3rd, 4th etc does that mean the bookies could be paying out on 10 or so different golfers? :confused:

Same as a dead heat with horses; If 4 tie for second place the bookies will out on normal e/w odds, (If they're paying top 5) ie they've finnished 2nd,3rd,4th & 5th.

If 3 tie for 2nd they pay out on a place for them then go down to 3rd place, if there's only one in 3rd (5th really) they pay out on that but if there's more than one (joint 5th) dead heat rules start applying ie 1/2 your stake if it's 2 tied, 1/3 your stake if there's 3 tied and so on.

Hope this makes sense as I'm a wee bit feked on pain killers. :greengrin

09-04-2011, 06:11 AM
Woods has put together runs like this over the last sixteen months or so but failed to put together four rounds. This is Augusta so might be different but I have a suspicion he will not do it over the weekend.

09-04-2011, 06:26 AM
Woods has put together runs like this over the last sixteen months or so but failed to put together four rounds. This is Augusta so might be different but I have a suspicion he will not do it over the weekend.

I agree Lex - there's a couple of 6s/7s in him IMHO. Rory Mc has better swing, ball striking and will win IMO. Latest odds fae Ladbrokes are:

3/1 R McIlroy, T Woods
12/1 L Westwood, J Day, K J Choi
14/1 G Ogilvy
16/1 L Donald
25/1 P Mickelson, A Quiros
33/1 Y-E Yang, Rickie Fowler
40/1 J Furyk, S Garcia, C Schwartzel
50/1 D Johnson, F Couples, R Barnes, R Fisher

I'm off to bet on Rory, and e/w on Choi, Yang and Donald.

09-04-2011, 07:12 AM

I'm rapidly becoming "anti Woods" - mainly because of the over the top adulation that is continually showered on him by all aspects of the media.

He played some magnificent golf on the back nine yesterday, but as ever, he had some outrageous luck which never seems to happen to us mere mortals.

Time will tell whether yesterday's form was yet another false dawn.

09-04-2011, 08:38 AM
Same as a dead heat with horses; If 4 tie for second place the bookies will out on normal e/w odds, (If they're paying top 5) ie they've finnished 2nd,3rd,4th & 5th.

If 3 tie for 2nd they pay out on a place for them then go down to 3rd place, if there's only one in 3rd (5th really) they pay out on that but if there's more than one (joint 5th) dead heat rules start applying ie 1/2 your stake if it's 2 tied, 1/3 your stake if there's 3 tied and so on.

Hope this makes sense as I'm a wee bit feked on pain killers. :greengrin
Think that makes sense. :greengrin Cheers.

LALthehibeeGAL
09-04-2011, 01:58 PM
all my bets made the cut

ive got

Rory
Tiger 15/2
Westwood
Bubba
Overton
Fisher

so did mine Bubba, Stricker and Ogilvy (one to watch me thinks!!)

Lal

09-04-2011, 02:39 PM

Took him at 19/1 on betfair last night:agree:

Also took him for a top 5 finish at the start at 5/1.

Even after the 1st round, you could still get 11/10 for a top 10 finish which, I felt, was buying money.

He's found his swing again and has remembered that he doesn't have to hit driver all the time to set up birdie chances. He looked, for the first time in years, that he was happy last night and was fantastic to watch rather that spitting everywhere. He looked like he remembered how good he was and how he done it when he was world number 1 for all these years. Welcome back Tiger!!! An absolute joy to watch.

09-04-2011, 07:39 PM
Had a wee fiver each way on Rory @4's and a ten spot on Martin Laird finishing as top Scot :thumbsup:

09-04-2011, 08:14 PM
Had a wee fiver each way on Rory @4's and a ten spot on Martin Laird finishing as top Scot :thumbsup:
What price did you get on the Laird bet Ronnie? That was like stealing money. Two Scots in the field a 50? year old has been and a guy on form.:greengrin

09-04-2011, 08:43 PM
Took him at 19/1 on betfair last night:agree:

Also took him for a top 5 finish at the start at 5/1.

Even after the 1st round, you could still get 11/10 for a top 10 finish which, I felt, was buying money.

He's found his swing again and has remembered that he doesn't have to hit driver all the time to set up birdie chances. He looked, for the first time in years, that he was happy last night and was fantastic to watch rather that spitting everywhere. He looked like he remembered how good he was and how he done it when he was world number 1 for all these years. Welcome back Tiger!!! An absolute joy to watch.

Putting is poor tho, L.

McIlroy is the purest golfer there IMO.

09-04-2011, 11:04 PM
Rory 4 shot lead going into the last round after a great last 6 holes, Tiger has blown it :agree:

10-04-2011, 09:25 AM
I chose to watch the the Masters on the Beeb rather than Sky and I think I made the right decision.

Reasonable continuity, interesting articles and no over the top remarks from the on and off course commentators.

Rory McIlroy is playing with a high degree of confidence and if he starts well tonight then I think he'll go on and win.

I think Adam Scott could emerge from the closing pack and prove to be the biggest threat to young Rory.

10-04-2011, 09:36 AM
Putting is poor tho, L.

McIlroy is the purest golfer there IMO.

:agree:Very poor round yesterday has taken him right out of it now. Cant believe that he's still trying to make the method putter work:confused:.

McIlroy's swing is one that every junior needs to try and replicate. So balanced throughout.

10-04-2011, 09:44 AM
Just had a cheeky fiver each way on Luke @14's first 5 paid 1/4 the odd's :wink:

10-04-2011, 09:53 AM
Just had a cheeky fiver each way on Luke @14's first 5 paid 1/4 the odd's :wink:

Who was that with Ronnie?

10-04-2011, 10:27 AM
I chose to watch the the Masters on the Beeb rather than Sky and I think I made the right decision.

Reasonable continuity, interesting articles and no over the top remarks from the on and off course commentators.

Rory McIlroy is playing with a high degree of confidence and if he starts well tonight then I think he'll go on and win.

I think Adam Scott could emerge from the closing pack and prove to be the biggest threat to young Rory.

BBC rules. Did you see Ken Brown doing the peice on the speed of the greens when he blew the ball to get it started and it rolled about 30ft? Quality :thumbsup:

10-04-2011, 10:37 AM
Who was that with Ronnie?

Mcbookie :thumbsup:

Opened an account with them yesterday before the national then backed the winner @18/1 with 2,50 ew :wink:

10-04-2011, 03:07 PM

Not a bad shout IMHO. Betfair has some good odds still for winner without McIlroy. Adam Scott currently at 13/1 and playing with a fellow Aussie who's been shooting brilliantly this week too.:agree:

10-04-2011, 04:23 PM
Martin Laird will be playing with Tiger.

It will be interesting to see how he copes with that and at least we're now assured of some decent TV coverage of his round.

'Mon the Lairdie!

:saltireflag

10-04-2011, 06:23 PM
Just managed to get woods without Mcilroy at 4/1 before he holed the birdie at 3.

10-04-2011, 07:15 PM
Schwartzel.......GET IN!!!!!!!

Got him at 34/1 on thursday :thumbsup:

10-04-2011, 07:32 PM
McIlroy's playing like a 15 handicapper.

Got to up his game!

10-04-2011, 07:32 PM
Tiger is on the prowl :boo hoo:

HibeeSince85
10-04-2011, 07:33 PM
What a 2nd shot to make eagle, Tigers flying

HibeeSince85
10-04-2011, 07:36 PM
And then does that

10-04-2011, 07:42 PM
Martin Laird will be playing with Tiger.

It will be interesting to see how he copes with that and at least we're now assured of some decent TV coverage of his round.

'Mon the Lairdie!

:saltireflag

Tiger seems to be handling the pressure OK:wink:. You wouldn't think ML was playing though:rolleyes:

10-04-2011, 07:55 PM

I bet they're totally s******g themselves now :tee hee:

10-04-2011, 07:55 PM
Woods co-leader .. Unbelieveable!

10-04-2011, 08:03 PM
Rory 4 shot lead going into the last round after a great last 6 holes, Tiger has blown it :agree:

10-04-2011, 08:18 PM
Woods co-leader .. Unbelieveable!

He has had that look in his eye since the second hole. Eye of the Tiger if you like. :greengrin

10-04-2011, 08:29 PM
He has had that look in his eye since the second hole. Eye of the Tiger if you like. :greengrin

3 putt at 12 though :greengrin

10-04-2011, 08:38 PM
3 putt at 12 though :greengrin

Work cut out at 13 too.

10-04-2011, 08:41 PM
What sort of shot was that from Tiger :confused:

10-04-2011, 08:42 PM
I'm backing KJ Choi.:wink:

10-04-2011, 08:57 PM
In all my years of watching the masters I have never seen anyone where Rory was off the tenth tee.

10-04-2011, 09:01 PM
McIlroy imploding on 10!!

10-04-2011, 09:02 PM
This is quite painful to watch - McIlroy looks destined to follow in the footsteps of Monty, in being "one of the best to never win a major". His "choking" is becoming somewhat of a habit :agree:

10-04-2011, 09:07 PM
Game over Rory :bitchy:

10-04-2011, 09:08 PM
Game on Tiger :agree:

10-04-2011, 09:09 PM
Mr Woods in the House :agree:

Putt for the outright lead after a superb shot.

10-04-2011, 09:13 PM
McIlroy gone - real shame.

Some finish in store.

Choi my last chance but I fancy Cabrera now.

10-04-2011, 09:14 PM
Mr Woods in the House :agree:

Putt for the outright lead after a superb shot.

Can't believe he missed that.....

10-04-2011, 09:18 PM
I smell play off. About a six way one.

10-04-2011, 09:22 PM
I smell play off. About a six way one.

I've got work tomorrow!

10-04-2011, 09:27 PM
Rory 3 putted 11

Game over

10-04-2011, 09:29 PM
Rory totally gone at 12 as well as 11. Sad.

10-04-2011, 09:30 PM
4 putts on 12

10-04-2011, 09:31 PM
What a cruel ******* of a game as most of us know.:(

10-04-2011, 09:31 PM
This is quite painful to watch - McIlroy looks destined to follow in the footsteps of Monty, in being "one of the best to never win a major". His "choking" is becoming somewhat of a habit :agree:

Steady, the lad's only twenty bloody one!!!!!!

10-04-2011, 09:33 PM

Speak for yourself....there's sod-all wrong with my putting :greengrin

10-04-2011, 09:33 PM

Aye - will be interesting to see the impact this has on Rory.

Monster hook on 13 - he's looking at 80s

10-04-2011, 09:41 PM
Steady, the lad's only twenty bloody one!!!!!!

Aye, true - it takes an exceptionally strong mind to come back from it once and he's chocked dramatically on 2 major occasions now - he has time on his side though.

I'd love to be wrong, as he's a very composed and highly talented young man - he's just smacked the self destruct button today sadly :agree:

10-04-2011, 09:49 PM
So did anyone follow my example and stick a wedge on Adam Scott each way?

10-04-2011, 09:53 PM
Almost looking at a 6-way playoff here.

Woods, Cabrera, Choi, Donald and Schwarzel are all at -10 and Scott is in trouble on 14.

10-04-2011, 09:55 PM
Could do with Woods missing here - has clubhouse lead at -10

10-04-2011, 09:55 PM
Almost looking at a 6-way playoff here.

Woods, Cabrera, Choi, Donald and Schwarzel are all at -10 and Scott is in trouble on 14.

You'd reckon on at least one getting to -11 and staying there.

10-04-2011, 09:58 PM
So did anyone follow my example and stick a wedge on Adam Scott each way?
Aye at 66/1 but he is making a rickets of 15. :(

10-04-2011, 10:01 PM

Beautiful putt for par. I've got £5 each way on him so looking at over £400 if he wins. First Aussie to win the Masters as well if he does it, some acheivement.

10-04-2011, 10:03 PM

Looking good again A :greengrin

10-04-2011, 10:04 PM
Beautiful putt for par. I've got £5 each way on him so looking at over £400 if he wins. First Aussie to win the Masters as well if he does it, some acheivement.
I'm a fiver each way too. (where's that fingers crossed smiley)
Woo hoo what a shot at 16. :greengrin

10-04-2011, 10:04 PM
What a shot at 16, thought it was an ace for a couple of seconds.

His to lose now.

10-04-2011, 10:05 PM
have £20 on him @11/5 he is now odds on 1/2 :wink:

10-04-2011, 10:07 PM

Snap - always set £10 aside for the Masters - my other £5 e/w was for Tiger, so I'm hoping for no change by the end :greengrin

10-04-2011, 10:20 PM
have £20 on him @11/5 he is now odds on 1/2 :wink:

Guess those odds may have moved a little again?

10-04-2011, 10:21 PM
How many has Choi missed on low side??? Twit! :grr:

10-04-2011, 10:23 PM
That chip from Luke might have just won our syndicate a wee wedge :greengrin

10-04-2011, 10:23 PM
Scottsdale throwing it away. I also have Donald fiver each way @ 25/1 so getti g a run for my money.
Damn you Swarzel!!!!!

10-04-2011, 10:27 PM
Scott just saved par with a great ten footer :thumbsup:

10-04-2011, 10:32 PM
Scott just saved par with a great ten footer :thumbsup:

Good drive at 18 too, Schwartzel with a decent shout at birdie at 17 though. It's going to the wire i think.

10-04-2011, 10:35 PM
Schwartzel gets the birdie, Scott with a decent chance at 18 though.

'Mon the Aussie.

10-04-2011, 10:35 PM
Schwartzel birdies 17

Every leader today has lost it so far :agree: :devil:

10-04-2011, 10:43 PM
Day birdies 18, Scott pars.

It's in Schwartzels hands, a par wins it, anything less and it's a play off.

Cracking day of golf, one of the best final rounds i can remember at Augusta, genuinely exciting with 8 or 9 players playing absolutely fantastic golf.

10-04-2011, 10:43 PM
Day birdies 18, Scott pars.

It's in Schwartzels hands, a par wins it, anything less and it's a play off.

Cracking day of golf, one of the best final rounds i can remember at Augusta, genuinely exciting with 8 or 9 players playing absolutely fantastic golf.

10-04-2011, 10:44 PM
Schwartzel birdies 17

Every leader today has lost it so far :agree: :devil:

2 putts to win from around 20 feet.

Game over.

10-04-2011, 10:44 PM
Got to be Schwartzel now ...

10-04-2011, 10:45 PM
Looks lije Schwartzel's now. Great last day.

10-04-2011, 10:48 PM
What goes putt putt putt putt putt?
Rory McIlroy at the Masters.

10-04-2011, 10:48 PM
That's the way to win it :thumbsup:

10-04-2011, 10:49 PM
Done and dusted, great putt.

Fully deserved, still a decent wee return on Scott too so not overly disappointed.

10-04-2011, 10:49 PM
Fantastic absolutely fantastic. You goofy rat faced South African twat. Fantastic.

JE89
10-04-2011, 11:09 PM
Absolutely brilliant day of golf today. Well done Schwartzel, worthy winner. Rory Mc took his defeat like a pro, I'm sure he'll be back. Great watching tonight

10-04-2011, 11:28 PM

Eh??

The boy is 21 years old!! Monty is about 45 now, probably older!!!

Wait til McIlroy is 37 and never won a major before you start saying stuff like that! That tag at the moment should be used for Garcia or Westwood surely!

LALthehibeeGAL
11-04-2011, 12:35 AM
Eh??

The boy is 21 years old!! Monty is about 45 now, probably older!!!

Wait til McIlroy is 37 and never won a major before you start saying stuff like that! That tag at the moment should be used for Garcia or Westwood surely!

exactly he is just a laddie and up until the tenth hole looked great - geez gie the laddie a break - i think he will win big and soon - swartzel was awesome - oh and he was much more gracious in defeat than Tiger (check out the applause and praise I am getting) Woods - so glad Tiger didn't win. Well done all the young yins - it was a great masters - and i get money me thinks for £1 e/w on Ogilvy @ 70/1 woo hoo :wink:

11-04-2011, 12:36 PM
What a fantastic night's viewing and this year's tournament must be one of the best ever.

The winning aggregate of minus 14 is about right for a Major imo - the course was set up with a fair degree of difficulty but not ridiculously impossible.

Schwartzel must have felt it could be his day after the outrageous chip in at the first then holing out for an eagle two at the third. To finish with four consecutive birdies was no mean feat and is the stuff that champions are made of.

Sods law ---------- I backed him to win it last year but not this time around.

However my brother backed him at 70/1 - purely because he remembered my advice from last year!

:grr::greengrin

Calvin
13-04-2011, 02:19 AM
I budgeted myself a tenner.

£2 Kaymer win - 23/1
£1 Baddeley e/w - 55/1
£1 Allenby e/w - 110/1
£1 E Molinari e/w - 140/1
£1 Hoffman e/w - 225/1

It always seems to be my long shots that do the best. Eduardo wasn't far off and even though Charley Hoffman was a way off in the end, I was quite pleased that I spotted him as a 225/1 shot, he played some good stuff and far outperformed a lot of big names, down to 40s next week though.

I'm quite tempted to take Rory for Malaysia this week, but only 10/1 so haven't quite been convinced.

19-06-2011, 11:36 PM

:whistle:

20-06-2011, 08:30 AM
:whistle:

I never really believed that - I was just annoyed he blew it!

Lee Westwood on the other hand...

20-06-2011, 08:57 AM
I never really believed that - I was just annoyed he blew it!

Lee Westwood on the other hand...

Thats it, i'm getting a fiver on Westwood for The Open!!

20-06-2011, 10:04 AM
Thats it, i'm getting a fiver on Westwood for The Open!!

I'd put a wedge on him winning by a record breaking margin to boot :greengrin