29-03-2011, 07:40 AM
I smell something, it ****ing reeks

29-03-2011, 08:31 AM
Crabbies is bowf.

HNA11
29-03-2011, 08:31 AM
To be fair to the OP the Crabbies rumour was doing the rounds on here weeks ago.

Underdose
29-03-2011, 08:39 AM
Crabbies Ginger Beer bus parked between the west and south stand this morning as I walked past...:hmmm:

29-03-2011, 09:09 AM
I believe the OP's information to be correct.

HibeeB
29-03-2011, 09:11 AM
I believe the OP's information to be correct.

Crabbies Ginger Beer I hear.

HenryMonk
29-03-2011, 09:37 AM
last time i had crabbies i couldnt stop scratching,

must have been the ginger

29-03-2011, 10:02 AM
Today Hibs uncork three year sponsorship deal with historic Leith company. Full story in your Evening News today.

So says my evening news text, not on the en website and not on the fishy site.
Are crabbies from leith?

29-03-2011, 10:05 AM
Today Hibs uncork three year sponsorship deal with historic Leith company. Full story in your Evening News today.

Are crabbies from leith?

Just checked, apparently they were until they were sold to glenmorangie

Darth Hibbie
29-03-2011, 10:08 AM

Are crabbies from leith?

From the Crabbies Site

John Crabbie created his Original Scottish Green Ginger Wine in the ancient port of Leith in 1801. Over 200 years later, it is still one of Scotland’s favourites.

Calvin
29-03-2011, 10:18 AM
Back page of the Evening News is carrying the story, definitely Crabbies.

29-03-2011, 10:24 AM
last time i had crabbies i couldnt stop scratching,

must have been the ginger

What did you expect for the price, scampi?

29-03-2011, 10:33 AM
I hear we're re-signing Ray Wilkins. They're the ideal sponsor for him.

29-03-2011, 10:36 AM
Pleased I got myself one of those retro Hibs shirts from Toffs as there's no way I am having "Crabbies Ginger Beer" emblazoned across my chest.

Sweep
29-03-2011, 10:47 AM
Well done on the scoop to the op, looks like you proved the doubters wrong. I think they thought you were a yam lol. :thumbsup:

29-03-2011, 10:57 AM
Well done on the scoop to the op, looks like you proved the doubters wrong. I think they thought you were a yam lol. :thumbsup:

I assumed everyone already knew otherwise i would have claimed the scoop for myself ages ago:greengrin

In all seriousness, i think its a great sponsor (assuming the moneys right). Even though they dont produce on Great Jnct Street anymore it is still a product associated with the local area which is a good thing.

RSS Bot
29-03-2011, 11:00 AM
Hibs today uncorked a lucrative three-year sponsorship deal with historic Leith company Crabbie's.

More... (http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Hibs-unveil-threeyear-deal-with.6742319.jp)

29-03-2011, 11:06 AM
Good to be associated with a local company, hope it's a lucrative enough deal. Very fitting that one of their products is/was Green Ginger Wine! :wink:

29-03-2011, 11:09 AM
Quite a coup that, well done to all concerned (especially as it seems to be an increase on the McEwan Fraser deal?)

29-03-2011, 11:19 AM
Good to be associated with a local company, hope it's a lucrative enough deal. Very fitting that one of their products is/was Green Ginger Wine! :wink:

Meant to be.

Any news from anyone on this? :hibees

29-03-2011, 11:23 AM

:agree: Dark Rum and Green Ginger - just the job for a cold winter's night.

(Not that I'm speaking from personal experience, of course - just what I've been told... :rolleyes: )

29-03-2011, 11:31 AM
Can't beat a crabbies green ginger witth lemonade! Been drinking that for years :greengrin

29-03-2011, 11:50 AM
Can't beat a crabbies green ginger witth lemonade! Been drinking that for years :greengrin

i have never tried it, i have been tempted before but will definately give it a try now :agree:

Well Done Crabbies and Hibs :thumbsup:

29-03-2011, 11:54 AM
:agree: Dark Rum and Green Ginger - just the job for a cold winter's night.

(Not that I'm speaking from personal experience, of course - just what I've been told... :rolleyes: )

Never had it. Do you drink it or rub it on your chest?

delbert
29-03-2011, 11:57 AM
Maybe we should have hung on to Michael Stewart after all, cos he was a crabbit wee ginger !!....I'll get my coat......

29-03-2011, 11:57 AM
In an unique move, their name will be promoted in two different ways, the name Crabbie's to be displayed on the shirts worn by Hibs teams in the SPL while the John Crabbie's moniker, to reflect the non-alcoholic wing of the company, will be sported by the Under-19s and Ladies' teams.

Cos as we all know, Scottish ladies don't drink. They're far too respectable. :wink:

29-03-2011, 01:14 PM
Amazing things happen when you knock down an east stand and find a bottle.

29-03-2011, 01:14 PM
Barry Ferguson will captain us next season.

29-03-2011, 01:16 PM

So it is quite strong stuff then Bob?

Darth Hibbie
29-03-2011, 01:24 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110329/club-announce-new-sponsor_2262950_2326151

On the official site :thumbsup:

29-03-2011, 01:37 PM
Crabbies is bowf.

ma maw used to work in Crabbies :agree:

29-03-2011, 01:46 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110329/club-announce-new-sponsor_2262950_2326151

On the official site :thumbsup:

Is it just me or is anyone else not able to load that page at all?

I've tried clicking on the link provided above and I've also gone through the official site and clicked on it that way and I can't load the article. :confused:

29-03-2011, 01:47 PM

I've tried clicking on the link provided above and I've also gone through the official site and clicked on it that way and I can't load the article. :confused:

It was working when I tried it earlier, not now though.

29-03-2011, 01:50 PM
It was working when I tried it earlier, not now though.

Cheers, thought it was maybe just me. :aok:

29-03-2011, 02:15 PM
Just wondering what Logo or Wording will be on the front of the shirt next season?:confused:

29-03-2011, 03:09 PM

You should write a letter :agree:

29-03-2011, 03:21 PM
Just wondering what Logo or Wording will be on the front of the shirt next season?:confused: dont know about the shirt but its going to be Crabbies Nuts on the front of the shorts.

AndersonGGTTH
29-03-2011, 04:01 PM
Must admit a tohught the OP was reeking of Yam due to low post count but proved wrong :)

NeilOrrSquareBa
29-03-2011, 04:21 PM
Oh man memories! Ah had a bottle o' thon Ginger Wine once. Ah wiz reekin' for a week!!

KdyHby
29-03-2011, 04:30 PM

Dougie Bell returning too

29-03-2011, 04:35 PM
That'll look frickin dreadful across the shirt...

29-03-2011, 04:48 PM
Brilliant piece of Business by the sounds of it, in a difficult economic climate, so well done to the Hibs Board in brokering this deal......:thumbsup:

My only concern is getting all the crab jokes, and the headline in Evening News was "Ginger Cheer", which I can see being changed to "Ginger Queers", by those witty scamps down Gorgie way......:wink:

29-03-2011, 05:38 PM
Brilliant piece of Business by the sounds of it, in a difficult economic climate, so well done to the Hibs Board in brokering this deal......:thumbsup:

My only concern is getting all the crab jokes, and the headline in Evening News was "Ginger Cheer", which I can see being changed to "Ginger Queers", by those witty scamps down Gorgie way......:wink:
or Ukio Wankas :wink:

http://www.crabbiesgingerbeer.co.uk/news/2011/03/crabbies-announced-as-official-sponsor-of-hibernian-fc/

29-03-2011, 06:01 PM
I don't care how it looks, I'm a huge fan of the stuff so I'm delighted we have a sponsorship deal with them which is also an improvement on our current deal. Drink Crabbies and support the Hibs? I'll have two please, barkeep.

29-03-2011, 10:12 PM

i wont be buying any strips next season for sure, but my 80 notes is nothing to the sponsorship deal so hey ho!

29-03-2011, 10:43 PM
Would be ironic as we were first club based in Scotland to have shirt sponsorship but I suppose someone in club has considered marketing possibilities of having a shirt with no sponsor`s name on it ? I`d definitely have bought/would buy more shirts if there hadn`t been/wasn`t any sponsors name on it. This new deal is for 3 years - 2015 will be our 140th anniversary - perfect time to have a shirt with no sponsor and design like 1875 shirt .

30-03-2011, 09:03 AM
Would be ironic as we were first club based in Scotland to have shirt sponsorship but I suppose someone in club has considered marketing possibilities of having a shirt with no sponsor`s name on it ? I`d definitely have bought/would buy more shirts if there hadn`t been/wasn`t any sponsors name on it. This new deal is for 3 years - 2015 will be our 140th anniversary - perfect time to have a shirt with no sponsor and design like 1875 shirt .

And what is the style of 1875? Is that the one with the big HFC on the front?
Can't see it happening. Losing sponsorship, even for 1 season, would cost the club. (any ideas on the fee per year of the new deal?)
Better to leave the plain fronted shirt til the 150th anniversary - celebrate Hearts going out of business too:wink:.

30-03-2011, 10:20 AM

I don't care, as long as it makes the club money.

30-03-2011, 10:20 AM
From the general reaction in the media/press it would seem to be a great piece of business by the Club. The very fact that the Yams are spouting a load o' garbage regarding it makes me think they know deep down it's a good deal. :greengrin

Austinho
30-03-2011, 11:09 AM
You can see how the logo will probably look on the shirt here (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/9440227.stm).

Looks like it will just be the word 'Crabbie's' in a black background, as on Calderwood's shirt collar. I can deal with that!

DAVE1875
30-03-2011, 01:31 PM
This on the front of the shirt next season? :hmmm:

http://www.theculinaryguide.co.uk/promotions/2010/1210/2112/win-a-cookery-masterclass-with-michelin-starred-chef-atul-kochhar/crabbies-alcoholic-ginger-beer-logo.jpg

Would look good if we have a white away kit again :wink:

30-03-2011, 01:35 PM
This on the front of the shirt next season? :hmmm:

http://www.theculinaryguide.co.uk/promotions/2010/1210/2112/win-a-cookery-masterclass-with-michelin-starred-chef-atul-kochhar/crabbies-alcoholic-ginger-beer-logo.jpg

Would look good if we have a white away kit again :wink:

As far as I am led to believe, they're going to be advertising their Crabbie's Cloudy Ginger Beer product on the shirts - that way it's on the kids strips too since it's non-alcoholic.

Sweep
30-03-2011, 01:36 PM
Must admit a tohught the OP was reeking of Yam due to low post count but proved wrong :)

I Know him well. Big hibby. :agree:

_hucks_
30-03-2011, 01:39 PM
As far as I am led to believe, they're going to be advertising their Crabbie's Cloudy Ginger Beer product on the shirts - that way it's on the kids strips too since it's non-alcoholic.

I thought it was just the company name in general - not a specific product, that we were going to use, and because of the range of non-alcoholic products they have it skirts round the booze sponsorship regulations.

Disc O'Dave
30-03-2011, 01:48 PM
I thought it was just the company name in general - not a specific product, that we were going to use, and because of the range of non-alcoholic products they have it skirts round the booze sponsorship regulations.

It will be "Crabbie's" on the First Team shirts - with all the alcohol product implications, and "John Crabbie" on the ladies and youth team kits to reflect the non-alcoholic drinks in the range (the Cloudy Ginger Beer).

30-03-2011, 01:50 PM
It will be "Crabbie's" on the First Team shirts - with all the alcohol product implications, and "John Crabbie" on the ladies and youth team kits to reflect the non-alcoholic drinks in the range (the Cloudy Ginger Beer).

From the EEN

Producers of both alcoholic and non-alcoholic ginger beer, the Halewood International will be able to advertise their wares throughout all sections of the club, with the name Crabbie's adorning the first team strips, while all youth teams and ladies teams will promote the non-alcoholic drinks. That logo will also feature on all children's replica shirts sold by the club.

30-03-2011, 03:36 PM
You can see how the logo will probably look on the shirt here (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/9440227.stm).

Looks like it will just be the word 'Crabbie's' in a black background, as on Calderwood's shirt collar. I can deal with that!

Brando7
30-03-2011, 04:52 PM
Not keen on it tbh

Can imagine all the fan forums saying Dont' go to Easter Road next season you'll get crabs :greengrin

Good business nether the less

30-03-2011, 05:29 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/9440227.stm

interesting interviews with CC and Scott Lyndsay

30-03-2011, 05:41 PM
On the strength of this announcement I have bought a bottle (last bottle in Sainsburys, Filton BTW).

Never tried it before.

LeithBoozy
30-03-2011, 06:27 PM
It is an aquired taste Bristol, my wife loves their ginger beer. The older guys in the pub swear blind that if you have a sore throat, green ginger wine and dark rum will cure it quicker than anything else. So after cheering our 3-0 win on Sunday and leaving yourself hoarse, you now know what the cure is. :wink:

DAVE1875
30-03-2011, 06:37 PM
Apparently the ginger beer is a good cure for a hangover :dunno: Anyone able to confirm?

30-03-2011, 06:48 PM
Crabbies and whisky is delicious...makes even the mankiest blend (Bells, even) tasty.