View Full Version : Bowls 2011 Season
James Connolly
27-03-2011, 08:53 AM
Less than 2 weeks till opening day at Dalkeith B.C. it's been a long winter!
When's the rest of your greens opening?
Less than 2 weeks till opening day at Dalkeith B.C. it's been a long winter!
When's the rest of your greens opening?9th April ..on holiday the week after, got a knacked left shoulder so im really struggling ..gonna use that week of work to try & throw some bowls ..:agree:
tanfield
27-03-2011, 10:06 PM
Whitehouse & Grange and Tanfield both open on the 16th.
As does the Northern, 16th for us too :thumbsup:
Craigyno1
28-03-2011, 07:19 AM
The league champs unfurl the Division 1 winners flags on the 16th as well! :greengrin
James Connolly
28-03-2011, 10:31 AM
I think most greens in Midlothian are opening on the 9th April, due to the Esk League starting on Friday 22nd April (too early in the season IMO).
I think most greens in Midlothian are opening on the 9th April, due to the Esk League starting on Friday 22nd April (too early in the season IMO).Im sure there was one year we opened the Jewel green on the Sat & played our first league game the following Friday ..cant remember the reason..either we opened a week later or there were more teams in the league..whatever reason that was crap as we had no time to get used to our green ..:agree:
Still think we won the league that year though .:greengrin
Hope the bloody weather improves before Sat ..:rolleyes:
fiolex1
09-04-2011, 12:24 PM
Loanhead Private opening today, always opens the weekend of the national, looks like sun, bowls and drink today.
Loanhead Private opening today, always opens the weekend of the national, looks like sun, bowls and drink today.Jewel opened yest, great weather ..great drinking ..great turnout ..Wauchope trophy next Friday between Niddrie bc & Jewel but sadly I wont make that ..:rolleyes:
Jewel opened yest, great weather ..great drinking ..great turnout ..Wauchope trophy next Friday between Niddrie bc & Jewel but sadly I wont make that ..:rolleyes:
I think you have knocked it off with opening on Saturday there Kenny. Forecast for this weekend has changed from light showers to RAIN :boo hoo: :boo hoo: :boo hoo:
I think you have knocked it off with opening on Saturday there Kenny. Forecast for this weekend has changed from light showers to RAIN :boo hoo: :boo hoo: :boo hoo:Think you got it good Mike ..hope ye had a cracking day ..:thumbsup:
James Connolly
17-04-2011, 05:59 AM
Started the season off well yesterday, winning the Dryborough handicap held over from last year...beating a Jambo in the final!! :greengrin
Think you got it good Mike ..hope ye had a cracking day ..:thumbsup:
Had a good day Kenny, and not a bad turnout either. Delighted to see the latest member of the Northern Hibees making his debut at the club and hope he enjoyed himself.
I can't say I was looking forward to the bowling season this year but after Saturday (and yesterday's result with the Hibees) I'm beginning to get more interested again.
James Connolly
22-04-2011, 10:22 AM
1st games in the Esk League tonight;
Dalkeith 1 v Gorebridge (Div 2)
Dalkeith 2 v Inveresk (Div 2)
Gorebridge 2 v Dalkeith 3 (Div 4)
Here's hoping for a decent season!! :aok:
James Connolly
23-04-2011, 05:02 AM
1st games in the Esk League tonight;
Dalkeith 1 v Gorebridge (Div 2)
Dalkeith 2 v Inveresk (Div 2)
Gorebridge 2 v Dalkeith 3 (Div 4)
Here's hoping for a decent season!! :aok:
Team 1 won 5-3
Team 2 won 6-2
Team 3 won 7-1
Team 1 won 5-3
Team 2 won 6-2
Team 3 won 7-1Good start mate..:aok:..not sure who the Jewel were playing last night ..I was working ..think it will be another tough season ahead anyhoo ..:agree:
gilliecabbage
25-04-2011, 12:13 AM
division 1
gilmerton (2) 1-7 gilmerton (1)
division 3
gilmerton mw 8-0 gilmerton (3)
25-04-2011, 10:37 PM
East Lothian league's kick off this friday..
As defending champions we (castlepark) kick off at home to tranent and then under 25's kick off on sunday as well :greengrin
James Connolly
28-04-2011, 08:37 PM
Esk League Fixtures Week 2;
Dalkeith (1) v Buccleuch - Div 2
Gorebridge v Dalkeith (2) - Div 2
Dalkeith (3) v West Linton - Div 4
28-04-2011, 08:52 PM
East Lothian league's kick off this friday..
As defending champions we (castlepark) kick off at home to tranent and then under 25's kick off on sunday as well :greengrin
Has your sand pit of a green got any better yet? :greengrin
Good to hear you're in the u25 team this year, did you's lose many players from last year? We're playing you in the last game this year, more than likely will be the decider for the section.
Dalkeith (3) v West Linton - Div 4Jewel V Musselburgh private at home tonight in Div 3..Jewel won 6-2 last week v Eskmills so hopefully build on that result tonight ..
James Connolly
29-04-2011, 11:47 PM
Dalkeith (3) v West Linton - Div 4
Team 1 won 6-2
Team 2 won 6-2
Team 3 lost 6-2
Jewel 6 v Musselburgh private 2
Good solid team this year with 25 players signed up, good considering we went from the 5th div to the 2nd div with no more than 14/15 players ..
Tough game v Rosslyn away next Friday ..
30-04-2011, 08:21 PM
Good start for defending champions :greengrin Currie last night, 7-2 win at home to Fountain. My rink two shots down with one end to play and we nicked a three to win it! We were just holding on all game so felt we stole victory really but hey ho that's bowls for you :greengrin
James Connolly
01-05-2011, 05:29 AM
Jewel 6 v Musselburgh private 2
Good solid team this year with 25 players signed up, good considering we went from the 5th div to the 2nd div with no more than 14/15 players ..
Tough game v Rosslyn away next Friday ..
Good to hear you've got a bigger squad this season; keep up the good start. :thumbsup:
Good to hear you've got a bigger squad this season; keep up the good start. :thumbsup:Cheers mate, gonna be a tough season though but fingers crossed we can get back up to the 2nd div ..im gutted I cant play this year, I really miss the banter etc..went along tae Jewel tae watch them on Friday & really wanted tae be out there ..im a bad spectator ..:greengrin
02-05-2011, 02:03 AM
Has your sand pit of a green got any better yet? :greengrin
Good to hear you're in the u25 team this year, did you's lose many players from last year? We're playing you in the last game this year, more than likely will be the decider for the section.
its 100x better than last year bud still a million miles away from being good though :agree:
problem is i still couldn't get in the u25 team :greengrin i mean district champion and quarter finals at ayr seems to count for nothing in east lothian haha! they won by 20ish shots today and im in the team for next weekend..
midlothian i fancy will play a big part in the section this term!
James Connolly
02-05-2011, 09:19 AM
Esk League Fixtures - Week 3;
Dalkeith 1 v Easthouses
Dalkeith 2 v Buccleuch
Deantown v Dalkeith 3
02-05-2011, 10:03 AM
its 100x better than last year bud still a million miles away from being good though :agree:
problem is i still couldn't get in the u25 team :greengrin i mean district champion and quarter finals at ayr seems to count for nothing in east lothian haha! they won by 20ish shots today and im in the team for next weekend..
midlothian i fancy will play a big part in the section this term!
Aye, I heard that last night. Good to hear you're in for next weekend.
I don't think they will, they've not got the quality at back end imo. Take it you play mid next week? We won by about 40 yesterday, my rink was 1 up but I don't know how because we all played terrible.
Played my first tie of the season today .... 2 bowl single hand ..struggled in the heat (thats my excuse) tit for tat early doors as my opponent went from 14-5 to 17-8....a good few ends later it was 20-19 to my opponent, he needed the single to win & I needed the pair ..
So I drew a pair to win 21-20 ..PHEW !!! :greengrin
Played my first tie of the season today .... 2 bowl single hand ..struggled in the heat (thats my excuse) tit for tat early doors as my opponent went from 14-5 to 17-8....a good few ends later it was 20-19 to my opponent, he needed the single to win & I needed the pair ..
So I drew a pair to win 21-20 ..PHEW !!! :greengrin
Well done Kenny.
Northern opened with a fine 5-4 win at home against Tanfield.
2nd XVI went down 4-5 away to Tanfield but still a good result for us, will take both these results all season.
Lmc2105
05-05-2011, 11:51 AM
Played my first Game for the Northern last night at Tanfield,
Cracking green have to say and a thought i played Reasonably well at 2nd,
We lost 4-5 overall but learned quite a lot,
on another day it could have been so different,
James Connolly
07-05-2011, 10:12 AM
Esk League Fixtures - Week 3;
Dalkeith 1 v Easthouses
Dalkeith 2 v Buccleuch
Deantown v Dalkeith 3
Dalkeith (1) 6 v 2 Easthouses
Dalkeith (2) 0 v 8 Buccleuch
Deantown 8 v 0 Dalkeith (3)
Played my first Game for the Northern last night at Tanfield,
Cracking green have to say and a thought i played Reasonably well at 2nd,
We lost 4-5 overall but learned quite a lot,
on another day it could have been so different,
Have you told any of the selectors about your fine performance Lee, I heard they are a very hard bunch to please :wink:
Jewel won 6-2 away at Rosslyn ..thats three wins out of three ..all 6-2 wins ..:thumbsup:
Lmc2105
09-05-2011, 09:05 PM
Have you told any of the selectors about your fine performance Lee, I heard they are a very hard bunch to please :wink:
I was hoping my Skip would :greengrin
He may have mentioned something :wink:
Northern lost 2-7 at Parkside last night, and our 2nd XVI lost by the same score at home to the same club.
We were involved in a very good game and it took the last bowl by the opposition skip to save the day for them in our game.
Sunny Leith
12-05-2011, 02:18 PM
Goldenacre defeat Tanfield away 5-4 with yours truly beating hibs.net legend Tanfield - Not that i'm bragging or anything :greengrin
12-05-2011, 10:02 PM
Goldenacre defeat Tanfield away 5-4 with yours truly beating hibs.net legend Tanfield - Not that i'm bragging or anything :greengrin
Ach, thats old news, we regularly pump him down at the Northern on the Northern Hibs v Hibs.net game.
We're always on the look out for fresh meat as well!
James Connolly
13-05-2011, 10:58 AM
Esk League Week 4 Fixtures - 13/05/11
EL Co-Op v Dalkeith (1) - Div 2
Easthouses v Dalkeith (2) - Div 2
Dalkeith (3) v Easthouses (2) - Div 4
James Connolly
14-05-2011, 06:52 AM
Esk League Week 4 Fixtures - 13/05/11
EL Co-Op v Dalkeith (1) - Div 2
Easthouses v Dalkeith (2) - Div 2
Dalkeith (3) v Easthouses (2) - Div 4
Team 1 won 7-1
Team 2 lost 0-8
Team 3 won 6-2
Team 1 won 7-1
Team 2 lost 0-8
Team 3 won 6-2What team are you wi mate ..1..2..or 3 ..?
James Connolly
16-05-2011, 02:43 PM
What team are you wi mate ..1..2..or 3 ..?
Been playing with team 1 so far; we've had a good start, winning 4 out of 4.
Been playing with team 1 so far; we've had a good start, winning 4 out of 4.Good stuff mate ..excellent start ..keep it up ..:aok:
Are any of the Morrison's playing this year in the Esk ..Scott or Wullie ..?..spoke to Scott the last time I was down playing (getting ****ed :rolleyes:) at your green ..:greengrin
James Connolly
17-05-2011, 06:34 AM
Good stuff mate ..excellent start ..keep it up ..:aok:
Are any of the Morrison's playing this year in the Esk ..Scott or Wullie ..?..spoke to Scott the last time I was down playing (getting ****ed :rolleyes:) at your green ..:greengrin
Wullie usually plays for team 3; he's a better pool player than a booler!! :greengrin
James Connolly
17-05-2011, 06:39 AM
Esk League fixtures week 5 - 20/05/11
Arniston v Dalkeith (1) - Div 2
Dalkeith (2) v EL Co-op - Div 2
Dalkeith (3) v Shottstown - Div 4
Wullie usually plays for team 3; he's a better pool player than a booler!! :greengrinDinnae mention pool ..I beat him a few years back in Blackpool & he stormed off in a huff ..bless him ..:greengrin
tanfield
18-05-2011, 10:27 PM
Surprise 7-2 away win tonight for Tanfield at Parkside. Hopefully we can kick on from here.
I even managed a win at skip!
Lmc2105
19-05-2011, 07:29 AM
Aye we heard your result last night andy belter of a win like!
Northern 1st team won 5-4 away to leith
Northern 2nd team won 5-4 home to postal
2 very good wins for us,
James Connolly
21-05-2011, 07:17 AM
Esk League fixtures week 5 - 20/05/11
Arniston v Dalkeith (1) - Div 2
Dalkeith (2) v EL Co-op - Div 2
Dalkeith (3) v Shottstown - Div 4
Team 1 beat 6-2 (1st defeat of the season)
Team 2 won 6-2
Team 3 drew 4-4
Jewel keeping up good start ..beat Gilmerton W away 6-2 & drew with Penicuik 2 away ..4-4
Danderhall 2 up next at home on Friday night ..
James Connolly
25-05-2011, 08:20 PM
Esk League Week 6 Fixtures - Friday 27th May
Dalkeith 1 v Dalkeith 2 - Div 2
Musselburgh Mun v Dalkeith 3 - Div 4
Disaster for the Northern last night against Queensberry. Going in to the last end, it looked a 7-2 win for us. After the last night it turned in to a 3-6 defeat :boo hoo: :boo hoo: :grr:
Not as bad as Tanfield though who got turned over 1-8 by the bottom of the league Leith (who are now no longer bottom of the league.
27-05-2011, 09:35 AM
Got my 1 game a year in early July in Germany, can't wait.........but do miss playing on a regular basis :boo hoo:
27-05-2011, 12:56 PM
Myself and MB62 got papped out the ELBA Pairs last night at Tanfield against Blackhall. A right sickener!! Not that we need luck to win but any wee rubs or or flicks on the jack, anything, went against us. Lost at the last end after going into it at 12-12.
Rink we were playing on as well was murder. Was quick enough but just played terrible.
This week has consisted of:
Last bowl loss in the Scottish Fours qualifiers (we were lying the match)
Last End capitulation by Northern against Queensberry. 7-2 playing the last end, worst situation really was a 5-4 win. Somehow managed to turn that into a 3-6 defeat.
Last end loss last night in the ELBA Pairs.
Got my first round championship tie tonight, playing one of the best players in the club, no doubt get papped out that too just to round off a crap week!!
PETRIE!!!!!!!!!!!! :grr::grr:
James Connolly
28-05-2011, 06:27 AM
Team (1) 6 v 2 Team (2) :aok:
Musselburgh Mun 6 v 2 Dalkeith (3)
Jewel 8 v Danderhall 0..cracking result last night..
Earlier yesterday I played my second game of the season in the Scottish 4 bowl singles..got off to a flyer on the lightening fast Jewel green picking up a 4 2 2 1 in the first four ends & finished with a comfortable 21-4 win in 15 ends ..
Next up for me is the Scottish pairs on Monday night ..
tanfield
28-05-2011, 09:38 PM
Myself and MB62 got papped out the ELBA Pairs last night at Tanfield against Blackhall. A right sickener!! Not that we need luck to win but any wee rubs or or flicks on the jack, anything, went against us. Lost at the last end after going into it at 12-12.
Rink we were playing on as well was murder. Was quick enough but just played terrible.
This week has consisted of:
Last bowl loss in the Scottish Fours qualifiers (we were lying the match)
Last End capitulation by Northern against Queensberry. 7-2 playing the last end, worst situation really was a 5-4 win. Somehow managed to turn that into a 3-6 defeat.
Last end loss last night in the ELBA Pairs.
Got my first round championship tie tonight, playing one of the best players in the club, no doubt get papped out that too just to round off a crap week!!
PETRIE!!!!!!!!!!!! :grr::grr:
Aye, the game can go like that at times. How did you get on in the championship?
29-05-2011, 11:51 AM
Aye, the game can go like that at times. How did you get on in the championship?
LOL
lost.
21-20
Somehow managed to hang in there but was always just a wee bit too far away then at 20-14 i've picked up a 4 then a 2. Last end i've trailed the jack a wee bit then in a exact replica of what happened on Tuesday he's come up and knocked my bowl out the way and just lay on top of the jack himself. I had one bowl to knock it out but messed it up.
i'm actually sick!!
tanfield
29-05-2011, 06:50 PM
Nae luck Mike. Great fightback though. Got to take heart from that.
Won 21-5 in the Scottish pairs tonight ...so far this season ..played 3 ..won 3 ..
2 bowl single hand tomorrow morn then 2 bowl Hope pairs next Wed ..
James Connolly
31-05-2011, 05:51 AM
Won 21-5 in the Scottish pairs tonight ...so far this season ..played 3 ..won 3 ..
2 bowl single hand tomorrow morn then 2 bowl Hope pairs next Wed ..
Good start to the season; stick in! :aok:
James Connolly
31-05-2011, 05:56 AM
Esk League Fixtures (Week 7) - Friday 3rd June
Polton v Dalkeith (1)
Arniston v Dalkeith (2)
Dalkeith (3) v Kirkhill
Good start to the season; stick in! :aok:Cheers mate ..opponent couldnt make yest so I was given the tie ..
3rd round of championship ..3rd round of 2 bowl single hand ..QF of 2 bowl pairs & QF of Scottish pairs ...gave handicap away ..still to play triples & rinks..
Ready for the imminent implosion...:greengrin
Lmc2105
02-06-2011, 07:47 AM
We had a great results for the 2nds last night with a 5-4 victory over craigintiny, great result for us!
However the 1st team went down 9-0 away to same opposition, things can only get better!!
tanfield
02-06-2011, 10:59 PM
We had a great results for the 2nds last night with a 5-4 victory over craigintiny, great result for us!
However the 1st team went down 9-0 away to same opposition, things can only get better!!
Great result Lee. Craigie are very strong throughout all their teams.
Tanfield beat our young hopeful in the District 11 Scottish Singles semi-final last night on his own patch. It was a good 21-13 win for Andrew, who manage to pull away in the later stages after being 7-10 down. A bit lucky with his last bowl to win the game (still must have had that lucky smelly stuff on his shoes that was there on Saturday against the mighty Northern Hibees :wink: :greengrin) but it was a deserved win.
Congratulations Andrew, I will be along at Wardie on Friday giving you my support and good luck on the night.
08-06-2011, 08:25 AM
Tanfield beat our young hopeful in the District 11 Scottish Singles semi-final last night on his own patch. It was a good 21-13 win for Andrew, who manage to pull away in the later stages after being 7-10 down. A bit lucky with his last bowl to win the game (still must have had that lucky smelly stuff on his shoes that was there on Saturday against the mighty Northern Hibees :wink: :greengrin) but it was a deserved win.
Congratulations Andrew, I will be along at Wardie on Friday giving you my support and good luck on the night.
Ah well done Captain Sneddon. You've clearly learned a lot and picked up many tips from those world class players that gave you a roasting on Saturday. You keep watching those guys and learning from them and you'll go far in the game!! :greengrin
I'm planning on going along as well on Friday to support the 2 Northern rinks and now yourself of course!
Any idea on who you are playing?
sg7nil
08-06-2011, 02:58 PM
The finals on Friday at Wardie are:
Singles
Grant Walker (Blackhall) v Andy Sneddon (Tanfield)
Junior Singles
Josh Spalding (Craigentinny) v Jamie McIntosh (Tanfield)
Pairs
Wardie v Leith
Triples
Craigentinny v Northern
Fours
Queensberry v Maitland
Senior Fours
Craigentinny v Northern
Conceded all my ties tonight ..thinking of giving up the game altogether now ..
Was going great guns but all bar one of my next round ties have to be played by the next 3 weeks ..im on holiday as is my bowling partner...absolutley gutted but work & family come first ..
The dates are utter bollox too with all or most QTR finals to be played between 3rd or 5th July..
The green doesnae shut till ****ing September !!!
Got 2 sets o size fives, a set o 7 1/2's & a bowling bag if anyone is interested ..
****ing scunnered !!!
Go on your holidays, come back refreshed & relaxed Kenny, move house during the winter to the canonmills area and join the NORTHERN, all your problems will be solved mate.
Don't give up Kenny, :hnet: need your skills :wink: :greengrin
Conceded all my ties tonight ..thinking of giving up the game altogether now ..
Was going great guns but all bar one of my next round ties have to be played by the next 3 weeks ..im on holiday as is my bowling partner...absolutley gutted but work & family come first ..
The dates are utter bollox too with all or most QTR finals to be played between 3rd or 5th July..
The green doesnae shut till ****ing September !!!
Got 2 sets o size fives, a set o 7 1/2's & a bowling bag if anyone is interested ..
****ing scunnered !!!
Go on your holidays, come back refreshed & relaxed Kenny, move house during the winter to the canonmills area and join the NORTHERN, all your problems will be solved mate.
Don't give up Kenny, :hnet: need your skills :wink: :greengrinI have tae say to the Wife that we have to change the date of future holidays ...they are bang on the wrong bloody times !!...:greengrin
The club could have stretched the pairs in to early August though to at least give folk a chance ..when I was along last night there was 5 ties given away by others too with more to come ..the guy's doing the draws are gonna have to re-think things to avoid the same chaos next year ..:agree:
James Connolly
10-06-2011, 04:36 AM
Esk League Fixtures (Week 7) - Friday 3rd June
Polton v Dalkeith (1)
Arniston v Dalkeith (2)
Dalkeith (3) v Kirkhill
Team 1 won 6-2
Team 2 drew 4-4
Team 3 beat 2-6
James Connolly
10-06-2011, 04:36 AM
Esk League Week 8 Fixtures - Friday 10th June
Dalkeith (1) v Rosewell - Div 2
Dalkeith (2) v Polton - Div 2
Loanhead W (2) v Dalkeith (3) - Div 4
10-06-2011, 09:03 PM
The finals on Friday at Wardie are:
Singles
Andy Sneddon (Tanfield)
Junior Singles
Josh Spalding (Craigentinny)
Pairs
Leith
Triples
Craigentinny
Fours
Queensberry
Senior Fours
Craigentinny
The winners above. Leith and craigentinny triples won by a fair bit. Close in the junior singles. Senior 4's won by 1 shot and our very own Hibs.net champion won 21-17 I think. Was a fair bit ahead then grant from blackhall came right back into it!
Well done Andy!!
tanfield
10-06-2011, 11:08 PM
The winners above. Leith and craigentinny triples won by a fair bit. Close in the junior singles. Senior 4's won by 1 shot and our very own Hibs.net champion won 21-17 I think. Was a fair bit ahead then grant from blackhall came right back into it!
Well done Andy!!
Cheers Mike. It's just as well I built up a lead at the start as Grant came right back into it. Delighted to get through to Ayr again!
James Connolly
12-06-2011, 07:12 AM
Esk League Week 8 Fixtures - Friday 10th June
Dalkeith (1) v Rosewell - Div 2
Dalkeith (2) v Polton - Div 2
Loanhead W (2) v Dalkeith (3) - Div 4
Team 1 won 8-0
Team 2 won 7-1
Team 3 lost 2-6
Cheers Mike. It's just as well I built up a lead at the start as Grant came right back into it. Delighted to get through to Ayr again!Well done Andy ..fantastic stuff Captain ..:thumbsup:
Team 1 won 8-0
Team 2 won 7-1
Team 3 lost 2-6Loanhead Welfare ..not been up there for a while ..:agree:
Keep up the good work ..:aok:
Jewel lost for the first time last week away to Gilmerton private 6-2 ..hopefully they bounced back Friday night .. :agree:
12-06-2011, 09:53 AM
Well done Andy!!
Well done Andy.
The bit in bold has got me thinking though, maybe we could have our own championship. Everyone enters at the start of the season, the draw is made and whoever is drawn out first is "home" and plays their opponent on their own green.
What does everyone think of that?
tanfield
12-06-2011, 02:51 PM
Well done Andy.
The bit in bold has got me thinking though, maybe we could have our own championship. Everyone enters at the start of the season, the draw is made and whoever is drawn out first is "home" and plays their opponent on their own green.
Great idea Dean. If it could be slotted in with other ties I see no reason why we couldn't do something like this.
Could either be a round robin or knockout basis.
If fitting it in with other ties is problematic could hold a one day event perhaps in late Aug early Sept once the outdoor season calms down.
Certainly enough good bowlers on .net.
12-06-2011, 03:36 PM
I would definitely be up for that. I think a one day thing at a specified club would be the best way to go. It would save on hassle of travelling god knows where on a thursday night or something. It would make it more of an occasion as well if everyone is together in the same place.
12-06-2011, 09:12 PM
Great idea Dean. If it could be slotted in with other ties I see no reason why we couldn't do something like this.
If fitting it in with other ties is problematic could hold a one day event perhaps in late Aug early Sept once the outdoor season calms down.
I would definitely be up for that. I think a one day thing at a specified club would be the best way to go. It would save on hassle of travelling god knows where on a thursday night or something. It would make it more of an occasion as well if everyone is together in the same place.
Good points, I reckon a one day thing would definitely be better if there was a club willing to host it.
sg7nil
13-06-2011, 07:46 AM
Sounds like a decent idea, but the main issue when organising singles tournaments is finding markers for the ties.
Best to state at the start that the loser of the previous tie HAS to mark the next tie on, otherwise it's not very good having to run around setting your own jack etc. :wink:
Sounds like a decent idea, but the main issue when organising singles tournaments is finding markers for the ties.
Best to state at the start that the loser of the previous tie HAS to mark the next tie on, otherwise it's not very good having to run around setting your own jack etc. :wink:
Plus some people might not turn up for it when they have said they will :wink:
Good points, I reckon a one day thing would definitely be better if there was a club willing to host it.
I'm sure I could find a Saturday or Sunday free at the Northern towards the end of the season, if everybody was up for it.
Having a quick look at our fixture card, the weekend of Sat/Sun Sept 24/25 is a possibility. This would have to depend on the football fixtures of course as MOST of us will DESPERATE to get back to ER to watch all C.C's new signings.
13-06-2011, 11:07 AM
Well if we were to do it on a groups then knockout basis you could just say for example that groups A & B play first, players in groups C have to mark group A games and group D players have to mark group B games and vice versa when Groups C & D are playing. It doesnt even have to be as organised as that. Just anyone who isn't playing is obligied to mark. As long as everyone takes their fair share it'll all be fine.
I think we have to see if there's a worthwhile number of players interested first then get a venue.
James Connolly
13-06-2011, 03:33 PM
Esk League Week 9 Fixtures - Friday 17th June
Inveresk v Dalkeith (1)
Rosewell v Dalkeith (2)
Dalkeith (3) v Bilston
I'm sure I could find a Saturday or Sunday free at the Northern towards the end of the season, if everybody was up for it.
Having a quick look at our fixture card, the weekend of Sat/Sun Sept 24/25 is a possibility. This would have to depend on the football fixtures of course as MOST of us will DESPERATE to get back to ER to watch all C.C's new signings.
Okay gents, now that the fixtures have been released for the new season, I have had a look at what is available for the Northern and at the moment, Saturday 10th September looks an ideal date, the Hibees play the sheep on the Sunday and our green is free on the Saturday.
If people could indicate their interest on this and give us an idea of numbers, we can start the ball rolling here and now.
Okay gents, now that the fixtures have been released for the new season, I have had a look at what is available for the Northern and at the moment, Saturday 10th September looks an ideal date, the Hibees play the sheep on the Sunday and our green is free on the Saturday.
If people could indicate their interest on this and give us an idea of numbers, we can start the ball rolling here and now.Im quite keen on this ..shifts depending though ..:agree:
Also ..if im drawn against one o the hot-shots (I dinnae mean you Mike:greengrin)..then I want a handicap of at least ..10 shots ..:wink:
Well done Andy.
This slightly different to what I was thinking about, i.e. play it all off on one day in a round robin format, with semi-finalists and then a final.
Ideally 24 would be a great number to work with, we could maybe even have a pairs competition too, but that would have to be another day so let's just see who is interested in a HIBS.NET CHAMPIONSHIP.
17-06-2011, 12:46 PM
Put me down for it!
Hopefully we can get this off the ground this season as waiting a whole year is too long!!
Even if we start small, it'll grow year on year, like the Hibs.net game! The most important thing is just to get it off the ground! :thumbsup:
17-06-2011, 01:07 PM
This slightly different to what I was thinking about, i.e. play it all off on one day in a round robin format, with semi-finalists and then a final.
Ideally 24 would be a great number to work with, we could maybe even have a pairs competition too, but that would have to be another day so let's just see who is interested in a HIBS.NET CHAMPIONSHIP.
Aye, as discussed above my initial idea is slightly off and a one day competition is better for a few reasons.
Off the top of my head the 10th of September is fine with me.
James Connolly
24-06-2011, 04:52 AM
Esk League Week 9 Fixtures - Friday 24th June
Gorebridge v Dalkeith (1)
Inveresk v Dalkeith (2)
Dalkeith (3) v Gorebridge (2)
Hoping to get back to winning ways, after all 3 teams got humped last Friday!
tanfield
24-06-2011, 10:03 AM
Should be ok for the 10th September.
Lmc2105
24-06-2011, 10:56 AM
We have out supporters Race Night that night, plus am giving up Bowling atm,
Think my dad is keen though Andy
24-06-2011, 02:38 PM
That'll be like 2 weeks in a row you could possibly be playing at the Northern Andy...
Almost becoming like a home green for you... (hint hint) :greengrin
tanfield
24-06-2011, 02:49 PM
That'll be like 2 weeks in a row you could possibly be playing at the Northern Andy...
Almost becoming like a home green for you... (hint hint) :greengrin
As long as I don't have to play on Rink 5 again!!!
We have out supporters Race Night that night, plus am giving up Bowling atm,
Think my dad is keen though Andy
Me Too, sick of all the C Rap that goes with trying to enjoy myself.:boo hoo:
24-06-2011, 06:24 PM
How's everyones season going anyway?
I had a horrible start with Scottish, fleming and U25 team. I also had to pull out the triples(couldn't get a team) and got beat in the first round of the fours but I'm in the semi's of my championship so still got something to play for
tanfield
24-06-2011, 10:50 PM
Can't complain how my seasons going. Through to Ayr but out of the championship. Oh well......can't win them all!
24-06-2011, 11:05 PM
Can't complain how my seasons going. Through to Ayr but out of the championship. Oh well......can't win them all!
Well done getting through to Ayr.
I see you're playing against the England team this week, looks a very good team.
tanfield
24-06-2011, 11:22 PM
Well done getting through to Ayr.
I see you're playing against the England team this week, looks a very good team.
Thanks Dean.
Yes quite fortunate to be picked and it does look a good side. Hope we can give them a good game.
H18Y GW
24-06-2011, 11:32 PM
Thanks Dean.
Yes quite fortunate to be picked and it does look a good side. Hope we can give them a good game.
Is this at sighthill ??
tanfield
25-06-2011, 11:16 AM
Is this at sighthill ??
At Parkside on Thursday night. Home internationals at Sighthill
H18Y GW
27-06-2011, 06:51 PM
At Parkside on Thursday night. Home internationals at Sighthill
Cheers going to watch a few games at sighthill.
tanfield
27-06-2011, 09:28 PM
British Isles championships play Thursday and Friday with the internationals starting on Saturday.
02-07-2011, 08:38 PM
Played at Gorgie Mills last night, the game was held up while we waited for the Police to arrive and deal with the junkie ****s who were throwing stuff onto the green.....batteries,cd's, a lighter and a lump of masonry all landed on the green! WTF only in Gorgie eh!
03-07-2011, 02:24 PM
Played at Gorgie Mills last night, the game was held up while we waited for the Police to arrive and deal with the junkie ****s who were throwing stuff onto the green.....batteries,cd's, a lighter and a lump of masonry all landed on the green! WTF only in Gorgie eh!
I heard about that. We used to get that all the time but that's the first time in a few years.
We had a few drunken yahoos with an outdoor karioake in Warriston playing fields, throwing a couple of becks bottles over the hedge, one hitting one of the guys from Leith on the arm.
Police were called, and to be fair, this time they actually came reasonably quickly, although the nobs were away by that time.
tanfield
07-07-2011, 08:53 PM
Tanfield through 5 - 0 in Top Five against Lutton Place.
Well done Andrew.
In the worst most unenjoyable season I have ever had since I started playing bowls as a young teenager 5 years ago or so, I am now out of everything and not even all that unhappy about it.
Roll on the new fitba season with the new manager in place.
tanfield
08-07-2011, 11:37 PM
Well done Andrew.
In the worst most unenjoyable season I have ever had since I started playing bowls as a young teenager 5 years ago or so, I am now out of everything and not even all that unhappy about it.
Pretty sad to hear Mike. What would you say has been the cause of it?
tanfield
08-07-2011, 11:39 PM
Tanfield through on shots against Willowbrae in the Edinburgh cup. Play Summerside next week in the semi final.
Lmc2105
10-07-2011, 12:57 AM
Well done Andrew.
am exactly the same. to much has happened this year it's just been hard to concentrate. my dad has asked me to play in the white house invitation pairs but after that that's me done finished.
Tanfield through on shots against Willowbrae in the Edinburgh cup. Play Summerside next week in the semi final.
Probably taking too much on Andrew. Doing the club website (which I do enjoy doing) being on the selection committee (that probably more than anything else has destroyed my concentration levels on the green) and all the many other smaller things, actually playing bowls has become difficult to enjoy.
Going to solve at least one problem next season as I am packing in the selection committee, let some other mug, eh, I mean member, take that job on.
am exactly the same. to much has happened this year it's just been hard to concentrate. my dad has asked me to play in the white house invitation pairs but after that that's me done finished.
Why don't you invite your Dad down to the Northern invitation pairs Lee, it's one of the more enjoyable days of the season IMO.
tanfield
11-07-2011, 04:07 PM
Probably taking too much on Andrew. Doing the club website (which I do enjoy doing) being on the selection committee (that probably more than anything else has destroyed my concentration levels on the green) and all the many other smaller things, actually playing bowls has become difficult to enjoy.
Going to solve at least one problem next season as I am packing in the selection committee, let some other mug, eh, I mean member, take that job on.
Totally thankless task Mike. One of the most demanding jobs in any club. You are better off out of it.
12-07-2011, 10:28 PM
Got through to the final of the Gorgie championship tonight.
(Just in case Stewart Meikle is reading) I won 21-20 in a '26 end thriller', was 15-6, 19-13 & 20-16 down, saved the game 4 times with my last bowl and burnt 3 ends - including with my last bowl when my opponent had a back toucher at 20-20.
I'm honestly knackered but delighted at the same time :thumbsup:
(Just in case Stewart Meikle is reading) I won 21-20 in a '26 end thriller', was 15-6, 19-13 & 20-16 down, saved the game 4 times with my last bowl and burnt 3 ends - including with my last bowl when my opponent had a back toucher at 20-20.
Well done 'Rooster' that showed True Grit to do that :thumbsup:
tanfield
14-07-2011, 09:19 PM
Well done Dean - great stuff!!
All the best in the final. Who do you play?
14-07-2011, 10:36 PM
Well done Dean - great stuff!!
All the best in the final. Who do you play?
Cheers Andy.
I play Brian Dingle in the final. Will be a very tough game but it could go either way.
tanfield
16-07-2011, 12:31 AM
Cheers Andy.
I play Brian Dingle in the final. Will be a very tough game but it could go either way.
Stick in Dean.
tanfield
16-07-2011, 12:34 AM
Tanfield through against Summerside in cup. 6-0 but a few games that could have gone either way.
Play Craigie in final on 20th August at Mayfield I believe
H18Y GW
16-07-2011, 04:06 AM
Tanfield through against Summerside in cup. 6-0 but a few games that could have gone either way.
Play Craigie in final on 20th August at Mayfield I believe
Be glad it's a set date or they may have done a "beechwood" on you, ask there guysfor an explanation ,not me as I would obviously have picked it up wrong, I'm a sighthill member so not directly involved,only. Passing on what's circulating, maybe Deano knows more ??
H18Y GW
16-07-2011, 04:07 AM
Who did you beat ??
16-07-2011, 04:32 PM
Be glad it's a set date or they may have done a "beechwood" on you, ask there guysfor an explanation ,not me as I would obviously have picked it up wrong, I'm a sighthill member so not directly involved,only. Passing on what's circulating, maybe Deano knows more ??
No idea :confused:
Who did you beat ??
Hendo
21-07-2011, 10:56 PM
Won 21-15 tonight against Brian.
I'm absolutely delighted, it was a close game and I owe a lot to Brian for bringing me through the juniors.
I didn't realise this until a few guys were talking after the game but apparently I'm the second youngest player to win it, behind Tattie who won it at 18.
tanfield
21-07-2011, 11:09 PM
I'm absolutely delighted, it was a close game and I owe a lot to Brian for bringing me through the juniors.
I didn't realise this until a few guys were talking after the game but apparently I'm the second youngest player to win it, behind Tattie who won it at 18.
Well done Dean. Great stuff!
21-07-2011, 11:35 PM
Well done Dean. Great stuff!
Cheers Andy.
Were you playing in the top 10 on Tuesday? How did you get on?
tanfield
22-07-2011, 10:09 PM
Cheers Andy.
Were you playing in the top 10 on Tuesday? How did you get on?
No, we got a bye into the first round proper. I'm in the singles at LRF against Scott Macintosh. Never played there before.
You playing in the singles as well?
23-07-2011, 10:18 AM
No, we got a bye into the first round proper. I'm in the singles at LRF against Scott Macintosh. Never played there before.
Stick in, it'll be a tough game against Scott at his own green but I'm sure you're up to the task :thumbsup:
Na. Alan Brown is in the singles for us. I'm skipping the pairs, almost got dropped after losing by 13 shots up at Liberton :greengrin.
tanfield
23-07-2011, 03:30 PM
Stick in, it'll be a tough game against Scott at his own green but I'm sure you're up to the task :thumbsup:
Na. Alan Brown is in the singles for us. I'm skipping the pairs, almost got dropped after losing by 13 shots up at Liberton :greengrin.
Easy to lose by a few there! Team game!
sg7nil
25-07-2011, 09:42 AM
Never played there before Andy! :confused:
Scott is one of the few who can master Rink 2 (in the match direction, which is playing away from their clubhouse) at LRF... pray that you don't get put on there!...
That rink is a nightmare, and generally a home banker for them in league matches. Normally a rink as quirky (quirky = *****) on a green would be an end one, but they've managed to get one that's in the middle.
Good luck! :wink:
tanfield
27-07-2011, 06:23 PM
Got put on Rink 4 and Scott was through in Ayr watching his laddie in the SYBA finals so glad I never had to play him. Tanfield got through on shots
Got put on Rink 4 and Scott was through in Ayr watching his laddie in the SYBA finals so glad I never had to play him. Tanfield got through on shotsGood luck Andy ..bring it home mate ..:thumbsup:
tanfield
29-07-2011, 08:47 PM
Cheers Kenny but I got papped this afternoon in the 2nd game. I got 12 and that flattered me!
Struggled throughout trying to find my line or weight. People watching were probably wondering whether it was my first game ever!
Just sorry for the folk that came through supporting me. They didn't deserve that kind of performance.
nellyedinburgh
30-07-2011, 01:03 PM
I didn't realise this until a few guys were talking after the game but apparently I'm the second youngest player to win it, behind Tattie who won it at 18. well done dean i used to play with u in the juniors (am john nelson ) with craig dingle as well glad to see you are doing well i have just got back playing after about 9 years out al tho it dosent take long to get the hang of again lol hope to catch up with you one day all the best in the tait dean
31-07-2011, 06:56 PM
well done dean i used to play with u in the juniors (am john nelson ) with craig dingle as well glad to see you are doing well i have just got back playing after about 9 years out al tho it dosent take long to get the hang of again lol hope to catch up with you one day all the best in the tait dean
Cheers mate, aye I remember you.
Good to hear you're getting back into it, what club are you playing at now?
Final league games of the season (and big div 1 relegation battle for the Northern) look like being a wash out tonight (hopefully, I hate playing in the rain)
Both Northern First and 2nd XVI managed to get the required results last night in the rain, despite both losing to Hillside 3-6 & 4-5 respectively. Those results were just enough to keep us in the top division. :thumbsup:
13-08-2011, 07:49 PM
I may be a doubt for our game on the 10th, it looks like i could be moving house that weekend. It's still to be confirmed though so hopefully i'll be available
I believe Goldenacre are to finish off their last game against Leith on Wednesday night. I think three rinks had completed 11 ends but one only managed 10 ends. I am assuming that the game starts from the where they left off last Wednesday, currently in a position of 5-4 Leith who need to win 7-2 to survive the drop.
I might just pop along and see how it goes.
I may be a doubt for our game on the 10th, it looks like i could be moving house that weekend. It's still to be confirmed though so hopefully i'll be available
I had forgotten all about this and not done anything about it re booking the green.
Is there still interest in this?
16-08-2011, 12:25 AM
I had forgotten all about this and not done anything about it re booking the green.
Is there still interest in this?
To be on the safe side I'd say I'm a no until further notice. As I said, that weekend is pencilled in for moving house unfortunately.