FW: Kenny Miller

How's the weather in London? :greengrin

Riordans Boots
27-03-2011, 09:19 AM
Around 30,000 Scots are expected to be there :thumbsup::saltireflag

http://sport.scotsman.com/sport/Scotland-v-Brazil-Scots-can.6741096.jp

thefamousfive
27-03-2011, 10:01 AM
Is the game on the box?? If it is, does anybody have a link to a website that gives listings for all football matches shown on what channel abroad?.........thanks

27-03-2011, 10:04 AM
Is the game on the box?? If it is, does anybody have a link to a website that gives listings for all football matches shown on what channel abroad?.........thanks

It's on STV, not sure if it's on ITV or not.

gackohibs
27-03-2011, 10:05 AM
its on ITV

gackohibs
27-03-2011, 10:06 AM
STV / ITV same difference...

thefamousfive
27-03-2011, 10:52 AM
Looked up an old thread and got this link - http://liveonsat.com/today.php

For any African expats Its on Supersport so happy days :agree:

27-03-2011, 11:17 AM
Haha, I can assure you, there is alot more of us than that figure!
Around 30,000 Scots are expected to be there :thumbsup::saltireflag

http://sport.scotsman.com/sport/Scotland-v-Brazil-Scots-can.6741096.jp

27-03-2011, 11:23 AM
Haha, I can assure you, there is alot more of us than that figure!

That was my thinking too. In the old days when Scotland regularly played England at Wembley there were normally 70,000 Scots and 30,000 English.

C'mon Scotland.

27-03-2011, 11:34 AM
I think 45000 Scots will be descending upon London :agree:

27-03-2011, 11:36 AM
What time is kick off?

27-03-2011, 11:37 AM
Scottish starting 11 to face Brazil:

GK: Allan McGregor

DF: Alan Hutton
DF: Christophe Berra
DF: Gary Caldwell
DF: Stephen Crainey

DMF: Charlie Adam

MF: Scott Brown
MF: James Morrison
MF: James McCarthur
MF: Steven Whittaker

FW: Kenny Miller

How's the weather in London? :greengrin

Only 4 ex-Hibees in the side - just not good enough. :devil:

27-03-2011, 11:38 AM
What time is kick off?

2pm (or 1pm, if you've forgotten to put your clock forward). :wink:

jakki
27-03-2011, 12:48 PM
This reminds me of my first trip to Hampden in 1966. That was a great game. Hopefully todays will be as exciting! (I doubt it will supercede my first hearing of the Hampden Roar):greengrin

WellingtonHibby
27-03-2011, 12:50 PM
Has anyone got a decent internet feed for us johhny foreigners.....any PMs would be lovely.

27-03-2011, 01:00 PM
The real Ronaldo has let himself go....

27-03-2011, 01:01 PM
http://www.itv.com/sport/football/news/brazil-v-scotland-watch-live-on-itv-41453/#src=home&area=CAR1&subarea=&show=Foot b#intcmp=793211_123_1

i dont know if people abroad can view though

CalgaryHibs
27-03-2011, 01:02 PM
Need up dates guys n gals no tv coverage here n Canada

jakki
27-03-2011, 01:08 PM
Free kick for Scotland just outside the penalty box. Taken by Charlie Adams.Hit the wall

27-03-2011, 01:16 PM
Elano crashes into McCarthur just about taking his wedding tackle oot.

27-03-2011, 01:18 PM
How come there is hardly any one in 2nd tier? That the expensive seats.

jakki
27-03-2011, 01:18 PM
Remes outjumps Sutton to head high over post

27-03-2011, 01:21 PM
Brazil playing some nice wee triangles in the middle of the park and we are closing down as quickly as possible. They have most of the ball at the moment.
Shot by brazil and McGregor spills it but we clear the ball.

jakki
27-03-2011, 01:21 PM
good save by mcgregor. lucky the rebound went to a Scot

27-03-2011, 01:22 PM
Leandro hits the bar with a header from a corner.

27-03-2011, 01:26 PM
Corner Brazil 23 minutes in, cleared by caldwell the next ball coming in and there were three brazil boys at the back post. We are looking dodgy at cross balls

jakki
27-03-2011, 01:27 PM
Corner to Brazil. Brazil playing sweeping football up the field but final ball letting them down. Scotland mostly hoof ball

27-03-2011, 01:29 PM
Hanging on a bit now, not creating anything in their half. Should have been 1 down there.

jakki
27-03-2011, 01:30 PM
wrong side of the post by Brazil

27-03-2011, 01:31 PM
Alves tries to play in Leandro but the ball goes out. And we got lucky when lucas put the ball into the box and it hits caldwell on the hand. No pen.:greengrin

jakki
27-03-2011, 01:32 PM
Nae names on the Brazillian shirts

27-03-2011, 01:33 PM
as an attacking force:rolleyes:We have been humpty.

jakki
27-03-2011, 01:35 PM
R7

I'll leave this reporting to you. Your'e far better so keep it up for our friends :greengrin

27-03-2011, 01:39 PM
Whittaker has a glancing header from a free kick and it goes just wide.

27-03-2011, 01:40 PM
R7

I'll leave this reporting to you. Your'e far better so keep it up for our friends :greengrin

I'm going to the Hospital to visit the mother in law J so over to you for the second half:thumbsup:

27-03-2011, 01:41 PM
Lovely wee give and go between Naimar and Santos. That's what we want to see.

jakki
27-03-2011, 01:42 PM
I'm going to the Hospital to visit the mother in law J so over to you for the second half:thumbsup:

anybody else? I only type with one finger so so slow

27-03-2011, 01:43 PM
Some lovely one two's from Brazil but just caught offside. Charlie Adam is not on the ball much and is forcing his passes but when they come off then we are looking not bad.

27-03-2011, 01:44 PM
Naimar 1-0 good goal.....It's been coming

jakki
Goal by brazil

1-0 Brazil. Good finish. :agree:

27-03-2011, 01:45 PM
1-0 Brazil

jakki
Neymar 42"

moredun
So easy, top marking from the scots against the best player on the park:rolleyes:

Acres of space

What chance of an attack have you when you only have the same player playing the same role as every game we play, Ray Charles would suss potter out

27-03-2011, 01:46 PM
We need to change things for the second half as we're chasing shadows at the moment.

27-03-2011, 01:47 PM
+2 added time...

27-03-2011, 01:48 PM
Wiz it no Naemark that scored?

moredun
27-03-2011, 01:49 PM
We need to change things for the second half as we're chasing shadows at the moment.

The last 40 moments me thinks

jakki
27-03-2011, 01:50 PM
Reminds me of the Hibs v Bohemian game . one team playing the ball around the park and the other trying to get the ball back

CapitalHibs
27-03-2011, 01:51 PM
Reminds me of the Hibs v Bohemian game . one team playing the ball around the park and the other trying to get the ball back

Yep... pretty embarrassing:rolleyes:

moredun
27-03-2011, 01:52 PM
I dont see the point of this game at all, we will learn all
We never do.

Only way to learn is to try new things:rolleyes:

But its Levein, all focus on defending, no forward thinking

Press press press, high balls to the back post. Brazils reputation for flair isnt deserved, they havent been samba-like since 1982.

Nike FC 1 Potter 0

jakki
but hey! its only a friendly!!:greengrin

27-03-2011, 01:54 PM
If this is Scotland "having a go", I'd hate to see them sitting back and soaking up pressure.

Well aware how good Brazil are, but they've been made to look ordinary in recent games when teams have a go at them.

They're not (can't?) doing that whatsoever.

27-03-2011, 01:55 PM
anyone notice the English coverage is miles better than the Scottish :greengrin

jakki
27-03-2011, 01:55 PM
Is it true that Scotland goes down 11 places in the international table when we lose this friendly?

woody47
27-03-2011, 01:56 PM
Just shows the vast gulf between us and the Brazilians. we are chasing shadows and I really cannot see that changing. They are chasing every ball down whilst we are just standing waiting for something to happen. The marking is atrocious and we just have no shape to the team at all.

27-03-2011, 01:57 PM
anyone notice the English coverage is miles better than the Scottish :greengrin

Aye, but Craig Burley is the co-commentator.

That's enough to make me opt for the "lesser quality" option.

27-03-2011, 02:01 PM
Atrocious performance by Scotland - Brown does nothing but niggle and foul while Adams gives the ball away most of the time, when he's not hiding; Whittacker is wasted on the park. Berra & co are not playing as a back four - the whole performance is one of sheer desperation on our part. Unable to make more than one pass. Miller made one super run early on all the way up the park only to find that when the support finally arrived (Adam I think) moved the ball all the way back to McGregor who then promptly pumped it out of the park!
Poor concentration levels all round, no organisation, no confidence. Stroll in the park for Brazil, and they're not really very good - IMO.

27-03-2011, 02:04 PM
A mere easy training session for Brazil.

We're a struggling nation that i can't see qualifying for any of the next 2, maybe 3 major tournaments.

oh well, sunny day & a couple of beers is still nice

jakki
27-03-2011, 02:05 PM
Is Berra playing??

27-03-2011, 02:06 PM
Is Berra playing??

He's on the park, but that doesn't answer your question J. :greengrin

CapitalHibs
27-03-2011, 02:07 PM
I shake ma heid!

27-03-2011, 02:09 PM
This "one up front" pish....honestly...at least get 2 up front and ask them some questions....what's the point in asking them to play and then going one up front ?......

moredun
27-03-2011, 02:12 PM
Atrocious performance by Scotland - Brown does nothing but niggle and foul while Adams gives the ball most of the time, when he's not hiding; Whittacker is wasted on the park. Berra & co are not playing as a back four - the whole performance is one of sheer desperation on our part. Unable to make more than one pass. Miller made one super run early on all the way up the park only to find that when the support finally arrived (Adam I think) moved the ball all the way back to McGregor who then promptly pumped it out of the park!
Poor concentration levels all round, no organisation, no confidence. Stroll in the park for Brazil, and they're not really very good - IMO.

A very fair assessment, Potter will/is taking us backwards years with his erm...................aye thats it, tactics:rolleyes:
Nothing changes in the team, cos he hasnt got his huddies to bully teams like in the spl, not that it would work in international fitba anyway.

IMO potter has no excuses, he has probably got the best choice of players we have had in years

jakki
27-03-2011, 02:12 PM
Nearly choked on my W&M when the commentator said "Nearly a second by Brazil. How hard would it be for Scotland to get back level". It'll be hard for Scotland to get back level from 1-0 :greengrin

moredun
27-03-2011, 02:13 PM
Charlie adam is garbage

27-03-2011, 02:13 PM
95% of this second half must have been played from the Brazil 40 yard line forward.

Kenny Miller is an enigma right now.

27-03-2011, 02:16 PM

Its just like watching Brazil. :greengrin

27-03-2011, 02:16 PM
Bannan on for McCarthur.

WarringtonHibee
27-03-2011, 02:17 PM
http://i54.tinypic.com/20hm1ye.jpg

Surely I'm not the only one to notice? It's shown on the link video everytime ITV go in and out of breaks. :greengrin

Twiglet
27-03-2011, 02:25 PM
Morisson's looking good.

27-03-2011, 02:33 PM
Bit of a better performance in the second half. Pressing Brazil a bit higher up the park and creating chances.

Not looking like taking any of them mind you...

jakki
27-03-2011, 02:33 PM
Morisson's looking good.
Yes but lets get another striker on. Lets give the fans some thing to cheer after they've paid a lot to be there.

27-03-2011, 02:37 PM
2-0

2-0 offs

Penalty

2-0 Brazil

27-03-2011, 02:38 PM
what an incredibly foolish penalty to give away deary me :bitchy:

27-03-2011, 02:39 PM
Charlie adam is garbage
Wrong.....

27-03-2011, 02:39 PM
Bit like the penalty Wales gave away yesterday.

Absolutely stupid.

27-03-2011, 02:40 PM
what an incredibly foolish penalty to give away deary me :bitchy:

Steady. The wee man's quick feet done him.

moredun
27-03-2011, 02:42 PM
Wrong.....

Ok, not very good then, he has been absolute garbage today, and a stupid pen to give away.

Not seen a lot of him with 'pool but he has been kak whenevr playing for Scotland.

Anyway, how can my opinion be wrong, it is after all my opinion, not yours:rolleyes:

hibsboy90
27-03-2011, 02:46 PM
Ok, not very good then, he has been absolute garbage today, and a stupid pen to give away.

Not seen a lot of him with 'pool but he has been kak whenevr playing for Scotland.

Anyway, how can my opinion be wrong, it is after all my opinion, not yours:rolleyes:
Your opinion may not be wrong, but misinformed. He's hardly played for Scotland, and when he played v Spain he was excellent.

And for Blackpool he has been outstanding.

HibbyDave
27-03-2011, 02:47 PM
Harry Potter found out at last.
What was the point in calling up the guy from england who just happens to have a scottish granny? No doubt he will get a cap with 2 mins to go so Harry Potter can say to himself I helped his career. The guy has scored four or five goals in his last three matches for England under 21's/Under 19's?

Craig Machail-Smith for Miller ....... sorry 4 mins to go!

CapitalHibs
27-03-2011, 02:47 PM

Thought Caldwell has played worse.

moredun
27-03-2011, 02:50 PM
Your opinion may not be wrong, but misinformed. He's hardly played for Scotland, and when he played v Spain he was excellent.

And for Blackpool he has been outstanding.

:dunno:Sorry mate, no-one told me that, it was my opinion

Maybe so, but today he done a great job of doing nothing, passing was garbage, i thought that was his "talent"

moredun
27-03-2011, 02:51 PM
Thought Caldwell has played worse.

I agree

moredun
27-03-2011, 02:52 PM
Harry Potter found out at last.
What was the point in calling up the guy from england who just happens to have a scottish granny? No doubt he will get a cap with 2 mins to go so Harry Potter can say to himself I helped his career. The guy has scored four or five goals in his last three matches for England under 21's/Under 19's?

Craig Machail-Smith for Miller ....... sorry 4 mins to go!

Potter will take us back twenty years, Spain game was a fluke, they dropped so many gears in that game.

Any team on a losing run, come play Scotland:agree:
We will help you out

27-03-2011, 02:58 PM

He didn't have his best game today, but your opinion is wildly off the mark.

Been Blackpool's best player by a country mile this season and was superb vs. Spain

How can you have an opinion on how good a player is when you've only seen him playing once or twice? :confused:

hibsboy90
27-03-2011, 02:58 PM
:dunno:Sorry mate, no-one told me that, it was my opinion

Maybe so, but today he done a great job of doing nothing, passing was garbage, i thought that was his "talent"
Yes today he has had a shocker as I've been saying to the folk I watched the game with.

But to say Adam is 'garbage' based on Scotland appearances is ridiculous. 2nd half v Spain he was outstanding, didn't play v Czechs or Liechenstein, played alright v Northern ireland.

Poor today, tried to force the issue, playing the hollywood passes that normally come off in the EPL.

27-03-2011, 03:01 PM
I was very cynical about the Brazil match last week but I have to say I have thoroughly enjoyed the game despite some poor finishing on occasion by the Sambas.

The crowd was obviously in good spirits in the sunshine and that's how things should be really!

Is it true that Neymar has a granny in Leith?

Just wondered. :cool2:

27-03-2011, 03:02 PM
2-0 going on 6 or 7 if Brazil had been bothered to up the pace.................

Did Scotland have a shot on target?

27-03-2011, 03:03 PM
I can't believe we can't even try to play for a win in a pointless friendly.

We really are a joke.

moredun
27-03-2011, 03:10 PM
He didn't have his best game today, but your opinion is wildly off the mark.

Been Blackpool's best player by a country mile this season and was superb vs. Spain

How can you have an opinion on how good a player is when you've only seen him playing once or twice? :confused:

Err how can you not, i said not seen much, but from what i have seen.

How can you not understand that:confused:

I may well be wrong, but thats an opinion on what i have seen.

From what i have read he is a great player, but i don't go on what other people tell me, i tell it like i see it.
Spain game was a fluke as they dropped down so many gears that day, but the game before that, cant remember who it was against, but he was murder in that game as well.

moredun
27-03-2011, 03:14 PM
Yes today he has had a shocker as I've been saying to the folk I watched the game with.

But to say Adam is 'garbage' based on Scotland appearances is ridiculous. 2nd half v Spain he was outstanding, didn't play v Czechs or Liechenstein, played alright v Northern ireland.

Poor today, tried to force the issue, playing the hollywood passes that normally come off in the EPL.

Fair do's mate, but as said, from what i have seen.
Garbage may be a bit strong.

But i have seen him play for Scotland twice and he has been rank, apart from when Spain thought the game was won as no-0ne from scotland turned up in the first half, so they dropped about 5 gears.

moredun
27-03-2011, 03:15 PM

We really are a joke.

Thats what bugs me, and the reason we are what we are

27-03-2011, 03:17 PM
Charlie Adam is probably the best player we have in the squad IMO.

moredun
27-03-2011, 03:26 PM

I'll take your word for it mate, after all he has been spoken highly of from all quarters, just not seen it myself.

I would like to see him play well, as with Scotland also:rolleyes:

Time will tell:wink:

hibsboy90
27-03-2011, 03:26 PM
Fair do's mate, but as said, from what i have seen.
Garbage may be a bit strong.

But i have seen him play for Scotland twice and he has been rank, apart from when Spain thought the game was won as no-one from scotland turned up in the first half, so they dropped about 5 gears.
Adam only came on at half time, but yes spain dropped through the gears, but he continued to dictate play.

27-03-2011, 04:05 PM
I was very cynical about the Brazil match last week but I have to say I have thoroughly enjoyed the game despite some poor finishing on occasion by the Sambas.

The crowd was obviously in good spirits in the sunshine and that's how things should be really!

Is it true that Neymar has a granny in Leith?

Just wondered. :cool2:

I canny believe any Scotland team could be more boring than Uncle Watties but Potter's Scotland are giving the traitor a run for his money.

Total boredum from start to finish from Scotland.

No embarrassing scoreline = mission accomplished for Potter sadly.

StarMan10
27-03-2011, 04:07 PM
Charlie Adam is a player who keeps the ball spreads the passes,can take set pieces and can dictate the play... today like every other scottish player he was made to run after brazil.. very harsh to judge him on that performance

27-03-2011, 04:25 PM

We really are a joke.

According to the BBC, losing the game will possibly have an impact on what pot we go into for the World Cup so, if true, it wasn't a pointless friendly and the SFA have put short-term cash before long-term prospects.

If the BBC are wrong, it was a pointless game but Potter has plenty of previous for being more concerned about not losing than winning.

From the BBC:
Having won their last two matches 3-0, confidence had been growing in the Scotland camp but the rankings slip likely to follow from this defeat may impact on which pot Craig Levein's men go into in the upcoming World Cup qualifying draw.

27-03-2011, 04:40 PM
Charlie Adam is a player who keeps the ball spreads the passes,can take set pieces and can dictate the play... today like every other scottish player he was made to run after brazil.. very harsh to judge him on that performance

Today was surely the day a player who is said to be a "class" player has to deliver: he didn't. What's the point of having a great game against NI or suchlike when you are rubbish against a good team, i.e. when it really matters? His problem today wasn't that he had to run after Brazil, he was hiding for most of the match and when he actually had the ball he gave it away, just like the penalty: awful performance - not just him though TBF.

27-03-2011, 04:53 PM
Potter will take us back twenty years, Spain game was a fluke, they dropped so many gears in that game.

Any team on a losing run, come play Scotland:agree:
We will help you out

Think somebody needs to have a wee lie down :rolleyes:

We were awful today but looking at the quality of our opposition and the fact that we've played some good stuff in our last 3 games means I'll not be losing any sleep over it.

27-03-2011, 05:14 PM
I'll take your word for it mate, after all he has been spoken highly of from all quarters, just not seen it myself.

I would like to see him play well, as with Scotland also:rolleyes:

Time will tell:wink:

Its not his open play thats too great. But from spot kick situations, he can be extremely dangerous. Too bad we just don't have the quality going forward that can attack the type of balls that he can create.

27-03-2011, 05:15 PM
According to the BBC, losing the game will possibly have an impact on what pot we go into for the World Cup so, if true, it wasn't a pointless friendly and the SFA have put short-term cash before long-term prospects.

If the BBC are wrong, it was a pointless game but Potter has plenty of previous for being more concerned about not losing than winning.

From the BBC:
Having won their last two matches 3-0, confidence had been growing in the Scotland camp but the rankings slip likely to follow from this defeat may impact on which pot Craig Levein's men go into in the upcoming World Cup qualifying draw.

Pointless or not, we need to be far more offensive. Even if we drew every game we played in, we still wouldn't get anywhere. But try telling that to the fud that runs our team.

moredun
27-03-2011, 05:41 PM
Think somebody needs to have a wee lie down :rolleyes:

We were awful today but looking at the quality of our opposition and the fact that we've played some good stuff in our last 3 games means I'll not be losing any sleep over it.

So because it was Brazil, who imo were not anywhere near the level they used to be, that excuses Adam for not being able to pass water today, ok then.
NI were more gash than us, Spain, dropped 5 gears in a second half, but still too good for us, albeit a nice bit of passion shown from Scotland.

Lose sleep over Scotland, don't make me laugh, Potter is the next Stein:greengrin

27-03-2011, 06:08 PM
I canny believe any Scotland team could be more boring than Uncle Watties but Potter's Scotland are giving the traitor a run for his money.

:top marksthe scoreline may not have been embarrassing but the performance was. Potter's an erchie!

27-03-2011, 06:25 PM
The reason we beat NI so easily was that they were full of players from the SPL while we weren't.

27-03-2011, 06:52 PM
So because it was Brazil, who imo were not anywhere near the level they used to be, that excuses Adam for not being able to pass water today, ok then.
NI were more gash than us, Spain, dropped 5 gears in a second half, but still too good for us, albeit a nice bit of passion shown from Scotland.

Lose sleep over Scotland, don't make me laugh, Potter is the next Stein:greengrin

No, I didn't say that.

I said "I think somebody needs a lie down" because your tone in replying to fellow hibbys has been pretty aggressive and uncalled for imho.

You're having a rant, which is fair enough, but don't be surprised when people challenege what you're saying as you are on a public forum.

Nae need for the cheek.

PapillonVert
27-03-2011, 07:18 PM
Just back and haven't read the comments. I thoroughly enjoyed the day out but thought Scotland were poor really.

Brazil seemed to be going at half-pace throughout. They found space easily - we seemed to be huffing and puffing to try and contain them. In the first half especially they just seemed to make space appear from nowhere. Surprised that it was only 1-0 at half-time.

Second half - Scotland seemed to have more urgency about them but really not much quality.

A good day out but, my God, Scotland are poor!

27-03-2011, 07:38 PM
Really think we have a Decent squad at moment but Harry Potter isnt the man

Love to see Walter Smith in charge

Levein is a prick :aok:

27-03-2011, 07:59 PM
Really think we have a Decent squad at moment but Harry Potter isnt the man

Love to see Walter Smith in charge

Levein is a prick :aok:

:agree: Also i don't get how Allan Mcgregor has warranted a game, he's been pish lately! Oh and has Neil Alexander retired? (sorry if mentioned already, haven't read the other pages of this thread)

27-03-2011, 09:27 PM
Reports of a banana thrown at the match, sad if true.

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/International-friendly-Scotland-0-2-Brazil-Neymar-complains-that-banana-was-thrown-at-him-article717728.html

27-03-2011, 09:39 PM

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/International-friendly-Scotland-0-2-Brazil-Neymar-complains-that-banana-was-thrown-at-him-article717728.html

How odd. I thought all that sort of thing was in the past.

Surely no one with any sense would behave like that nowadays except possibly at Ibrox.

27-03-2011, 10:20 PM

It was not thrown from the Scottish fans, as we were behind the goal, and it was thrown on at the side of the park.

I am just back and there was no hint of any racist remark's at all during the whole weekend.

27-03-2011, 10:25 PM
How odd. I thought all that sort of thing was in the past.

Surely no one with any sense would behave like that nowadays except possibly at Slimecastle or Ibrox.

Fixed that :aok:

27-03-2011, 10:31 PM
It was not thrown from the Scottish fans, as we were behind the goal, and it was thrown on at the side of the park.

I am just back and there was no hint of any racist remark's at all during the whole weekend.
Only racist thing i saw was a Brazil fans only pub. Asked the guy why the two Scots infront were allowed in and he said they were neutral...they had no colours on.

As we walked off one Scot said it right...that's why there's only seven ****ing people on the place pal!!

27-03-2011, 10:32 PM
While i'd agree we did not play well, and had no players we could say got more than a 7. We were playing a very good side, one we will never get near to being as good.

Worse teams than us will get beaten from that Brazilian team, and although i'm not a great Scotland fan, i do think they are getting better.

27-03-2011, 10:32 PM

For me Charlie Adam proved in 45 minutes why he should never ever be regarded as a £10 million pound footballer (reputedly), and Scott Brown proved why we totally ripped off Celtic for £4.4 million. Long ranging passes to no one, second touch a tackle, beaten for possession at the edge of his box........slow and not tracking back.......if Spurs want to splash cash on that, go for it.......utter waste of money IMHO. Brown ran about like a headless chicken.........Whitty a left midfielder.......give us a break :greengrin I was kinda hoping we got trounced so Levein would be found out once and for all........and zonal marking........helps if you have players that actually mark the zone they are covering Craigy Boy :agree:

Both players (Brown and Adam) plodded, didn't track runners, lost possession on the second touch and to be brutally honest, admittedly against top quality opposition, proved the level they are at.........average at best. Jogged back like it was a training excercise........for me I thought Scotland and the tactics were embarrassing.

Wonder if the Brazil coach let the players "have a few beers"................that for me is the difference between class, winning mentality and professionalism.......the very fact alcohol was a topic for media and debate (from Levein) proves the level we are at compared to the rest of Europe...........grim !

Brazil were admittedly a great footballing team........Scotland were an utter shambles and embarrassment IMHO.

27-03-2011, 10:36 PM
While i'd agree we did not play well, and had no players we could say got more than a 7. We were playing a very good side, one we will never get near to being as good.

Worse teams than us will get beaten from that Brazilian team, and although i'm not a great Scotland fan, i do think they are getting better.

And some better ones as well :wink:

27-03-2011, 10:47 PM
Boring. Spent most of the game in the concourse drinking beer. Over nine quid for a beer and a pizza though!

27-03-2011, 10:54 PM
And some better ones as well :wink:

28-03-2011, 12:37 AM
Am just dissapointed they didn't out 6 or 7 past us, sooner Potter gets the punt then I may take more of an interest in Scotland, at the moment I don't give a toss really! :agree:

28-03-2011, 10:40 AM
Thought it was ok, they had some great players to be honest and it was always going to be a backs to the wall performance. Personally would have had a defender just in front of back 4. First goal Brown was caught out completely not staying with the wide guys run and again not sprinting to pick up Neymar when Hutton had went wide, brilliantly taken though. Thought Morrison and Caldwell were Scotland's best players.

Amazed Miller stayed on for so long, that is the last 2 friendlys he has played almost the whole game, while I think he is at present the best pick for playing 1 up, seems completely stupid not to give anyone else a shot. MacKail Smith on for 5 mins, what is the point.

Potter should get on the phone to Fletch and patch up their differences and get him back involved.

rubber mal
28-03-2011, 11:20 AM

From the BBC:

I find this shocking. Does anyone know the facts - i.e. how much money the game generated for the SFA and how many ranking places we are likely to drop because of it?

28-03-2011, 11:28 AM
Am just dissapointed they didn't out 6 or 7 past us, sooner Potter gets the punt then I may take more of an interest in Scotland, at the moment I don't give a toss really! :agree:

My feelings exactly.

That was 2-0 going on 6 or 7, from what I saw of the second half. At one point the commentator said he felt that Brazil could easily have "gone up a gear" - in fact, they could have gone up 2 or t3 gears and still have had a bit to spare.

I didn't think any of the Scots played badly - they were just well out-classed. I've seen Scotland play Brazil 6 times - the 1-1 in 1966; a 1-0 defeat at Hampden in the early 70's, the 0-0 in 1974; the 4-1 when Narey scored the 'toe-poke', the 2-1 in Paris where Collins scored the penalty, and this. This was far and away the worst performance of the 6.

Potter and Houston seem to be about damage limitation only - keeping the score down and hoping for Kenny Miller to score one on the break. The only reason they didn't get a real hiding yesterday was that Brazil were doing what they usually do on one of these 'friendly' occasions - working out positions and moves, but not troubling themselves too much about the score. Looks OK in the record-books, but pretty pathetic on the field of play.

And I suspect that this was a rehearsal of exactly how they'll line the team up against Spain, though to be fair there are a few players who can come in to strengthen the team. The formation and approach will probably be the same though.

So here's hoping Spain didn't have anyone watching, hm? :rolleyes:

28-03-2011, 06:58 PM

Totally agree. we had no attacking ambition what so ever. The only reason we didn't get pumped was bad brazilian finishing, nothing to do with Potter's tactics.

We showed Brazil too much respect IMO. Obviously they're a better team than we are but that doesn't mean we shouldn't dare to attack them. I don't see any positives we can take from the game.

It was a great day out despite the result and performance.