View Full Version : a little help please

hibeemarley
25-03-2011, 05:59 PM
A smelly tim in my work has been doing my nut in this week banging on about celtic and how ***** it must be being a hibs supporter blah blah blah.

I told him it was all worth it for days like the cup final in 2007 when 40,000 hibees were singing sunshine on leith with old boys crying around me and that unbelieveable feeling that day brought and that he would never feel anything like that. Guys an erse basically... however my point is I'm trying to find a newspaper report or something to prove that we had 40,000 hibees there that day. He was trying to bring me down saying there was no chance we could ever have that size of support. I'm having trouble finding something.

So was wondering if anyone had a link I can have so I can stick it right up him.

25-03-2011, 06:01 PM
A smelly tim in my work has been doing my nut in this week banging on about celtic and how ***** it must be being a hibs supporter blah blah blah.

I told him it was all worth it for days like the cup final in 2007 when 40,000 hibees were singing sunshine on leith with old boys crying around me and that unbelieveable feeling that day brought and that he would never feel anything like that. Guys an erse basically... however my point is I'm trying to find a newspaper report or something to prove that we had 40,000 hibees there that day. He was trying to bring me down saying there was no chance we could ever have that size of support. I'm having trouble finding something.

So was wondering if anyone had a link I can have so I can stick it right up him.

30,000. :agree:

Although we had about 38,000 (see attached) at the Livi final. Anyway tell the tim to shove it.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/2374764/Livingston-aim-to-raise-all-expectations.html

25-03-2011, 06:03 PM

Well Kilmarnock had 20,000, so unless we were playing at Celtic Park, 40,000 Hibbies weren't there. IIRC Benji even says "in front of thirty thousand Hibbies" in the clip of "SoL"

We DID however have 40,000 odd at the 2004 LC final against Livingston, but I wouldn't necessarily go bringing THAT day up in any debate :boo hoo:

EH6 Hibby
25-03-2011, 06:04 PM
I think the 40,000 crowd was against Livingston in 2004.

hibeemarley
25-03-2011, 06:09 PM
awww man. Disaster. I should stop drinking so much and pay attention.

25-03-2011, 06:10 PM
Well Kilmarnock had 20,000, so unless we were playing at Celtic Park, 40,000 Hibbies weren't there. IIRC Benji even says "in front of thirty thousand Hibbies" in the clip of "SoL"

We DID however have 40,000 odd at the 2004 LC final against Livingston, but I wouldn't necessarily go bringing THAT day up in any debate :boo hoo:

I thought he was saying 50,000 in the BBC video on Youtube.

Feed McGraw
25-03-2011, 06:22 PM
It was Murphy that said " 30,000 " Hibees fans, or something similar, on the BBC SOL video.

25-03-2011, 06:45 PM
It was closer to 40,000 than 30,000 in 07. Most of the hospitality, complimentaries etc was taken up by Hibees. My recollection was that it was 4/5ths full of green and white that day and no way did Killie have 20,000 there.

25-03-2011, 06:50 PM
It was closer to 40,000 than 30,000 in 07. Most of the hospitality, complimentaries etc was taken up by Hibees. My recollection was that it was 4/5ths full of green and white that day and no way did Killie have 20,000 there.

No way there was 80% Hibs and 20% Killie.

25-03-2011, 06:50 PM

Or just tell the bam to f*** off.......just throwing that one out there likesay :wink:

25-03-2011, 07:12 PM
No way there was 80% Hibs and 20% Killie.
My recollections are a bit hazy but I think Killie had less than the whole Rangers end. This would be about 15,000. Most of the hospitality in the BT stand were Hibs, therefor my point stands even though my fractions may not be the best that there was somehwere towards 35,000 plus Hibees there that day.

crash
25-03-2011, 07:47 PM
We had 40,000 in '91 against Dunfermline, and there were thousands of Hibbies locked out.

25-03-2011, 09:30 PM
We had 40,000 in '91 against Dunfermline, and there were thousands of Hibbies locked out.

:agree: Seemed like that, certainly one of the biggest Hibs crowds I have been in since the 1 - 6 SC final against Celtc, my impression is we got damn close to 40k against Livi in 04

25-03-2011, 10:40 PM

No worries - if he's a typical Tim, just say "you're a jakey bawbag, supporting a paranoid, copycat, sing-when-you're-winning, delusional, self-flagellating, bandwagon-riding, engrained victim mentality possesing and generally cringeworthy bunch of thieves"

If he's got his O-Level English and knows what all those words actually mean I'll be amazed, but he'll be fair scunnered for a comeback.