View Full Version : The golf has started

Pages : 1 [2]

17-08-2011, 02:47 PM
This weekend should be interesting. My first competitive game of golf in nearly a year, having not played at all in the last 2 months due to a broken finger.

Thankfully, it's only a silloth...

sg7nil
17-08-2011, 04:26 PM
Been quite disappointed with my year so far, first full year as a member at Kingsknowe and really expected to have seen some signs of improvement. Playing off 19 but means nothing, I've had 2 really good rounds but apart from that I've been shocking.

My driving and putting are both pretty good, unfortunately it's everything in between that ruins me!

Got a wee trip away this weekend to Murrayshall, hopefully can put in a good round and kick start my season! Has anyone played Murrayshall before? any tips?

Chris, I'm playing Murrayshall on Saturday!.. may see you up there... not playing in the Calvados Cup are you?

Godsahibby
17-08-2011, 05:15 PM
Chris, I'm playing Murrayshall on Saturday!.. may see you up there... not playing in the Calvados Cup are you?

I am indeed mate, should be a great day out. Good to see another friendly face as well.

sg7nil
17-08-2011, 06:41 PM
I am indeed mate, should be a great day out. Good to see another friendly face as well.

Seems a later start this year, he bus isn't leaving till 11:00 so I assume the tee must be booked from about 12:30... Been told the shirts are green this year too!:thumbsup:

17-08-2011, 07:07 PM
This weekend should be interesting. My first competitive game of golf in nearly a year, having not played at all in the last 2 months due to a broken finger.

Thankfully, it's only a silloth...
You up the road with your auld man Scott?
Played the Rosebowl final today. It really is in tremendous condition.:agree:

Godsahibby
17-08-2011, 08:09 PM
Seems a later start this year, he bus isn't leaving till 11:00 so I assume the tee must be booked from about 12:30... Been told the shirts are green this year too!:thumbsup:

This is the first year I've played in it so not sure of the script for the day. I think the tee is booked from 1

17-08-2011, 08:17 PM
You up the road with your auld man Scott?
Played the Rosebowl final today. It really is in tremendous condition.:agree:

Aye, playing on the Sunday afternoon. Quite looking forward to seeing how the new course additions have bedded in to be honest.

17-08-2011, 08:25 PM
Aye, playing on the Sunday afternoon. Quite looking forward to seeing how the new course additions have bedded in to be honest.
I'm Sunday too. Me and Radge. :thumbsup: We will try and leave you some prizes. :greengrin

17-08-2011, 08:48 PM
I'm Sunday too. Me and Radge. :thumbsup: We will try and leave you some prizes. :greengrin

Time are you both off? We're around the 1:50pm mark I think - I'll pop over and say hello if I see you.

17-08-2011, 09:55 PM
11.50 but Ill be arou d till the death for sure.

17-08-2011, 10:03 PM
Its ok Houchy. Reasonably flat. Gentle two opening holes with OOB on the left. 4 iron wedge for both. Easy par 4 next followed by a straightforward par 5. 5th a bassa. Most in the middle straightforward enough. 17 OOB down left and trouble down bioth sides to finish with a tight fairway. Could be a bit soggy.

Cheers Lexo:thumbsup:

My bad shot just now is blocking it right but it's not deadly right. Maybe a 5 yard push so hopefully i'll be able to keep away from OOB.

17-08-2011, 10:12 PM
Cheers Lexo:thumbsup:My bad shot just now is blocking it right but it's not deadly right. Maybe a 5 yard push so hopefully i'll be able to keep away from OOB. 5th holes the only other with OOB right. Cannae mind if the 4th does but they both have plenty room left. Guy I was playing with today played their Silloth last weekend and said the course looked a bit rough and scruffy. Good luck anyway.

sg7nil
18-08-2011, 05:48 AM
This is the first year I've played in it so not sure of the script for the day. I think the tee is booked from 1

I've never played at murrayshall either, but at Kinross it was a good day. The car for the hole-in-one was at a very long par 3 (into the wind generally) which I couldnt reach. Hope it's on an easier hole this year!

Godsahibby
17-09-2011, 09:15 PM
Heading up north tomorrow got a couple of rounds tomorrow and Monday at Spey Valley, heard it's a cracking course I just hope it's not a total washout, weather doesn't look the best!

18-09-2011, 06:57 AM
Mate I'm in aviemore now and would say you could be struggling. Played kingussie 2times on Friday and once yesterday walked off with 2 to go as greens flooded. Has stopped raining now but there was a lot between 6pm and 2am last night. Not sure how spey valley takes the rain pm me if its bad as I can get you on kingussie for guest rates tomorrow (monday)

18-09-2011, 07:36 AM
Heading up north tomorrow got a couple of rounds tomorrow and Monday at Spey Valley, heard it's a cracking course I just hope it's not a total washout, weather doesn't look the best!

Spey Valley is a cracking course although quite long.

Watch out for the walk from the first green to the second tee :rolleyes:

23-09-2011, 09:06 PM
Played the Kintyre at Turnberry today. Boy was it windy.:agree: Never been in so many bunkers in one round in my life. I was in three on the last hole alone.:greengrin Still better than working. :agree: One solitary Birdie and one eagle. The rest was pants.:rolleyes:

23-09-2011, 11:13 PM
After a horrific year that has seen my handicap go from 8 to 11, i finally had a good round. A 6 over 76 got me back down to 10. I moved up North so tomorrow i have a medal at Nairn Dunbar, so hopefully it goes well. Par 72, SS 74 so a good chance to shoot well.

24-09-2011, 01:41 PM
Last medal of tbe year at Harburn this morning. A game of two balves. 43 out 36 back to scrape buffer. Roll on April.:)

24-09-2011, 01:56 PM
Second last medal today

50 out was enough to convince me to head to the game :greengrin

24-09-2011, 07:57 PM
Second last medal today

50 out was enough to convince me to head to the game :greengrin

do you play one of the new fandangled 27 hole courses :devil:

25-09-2011, 10:01 PM
The great thing about Nairn is the competitions do not stop, they are all the way through the winter too. :thumbsup:

27-09-2011, 08:40 PM
I am over in fifedom this weekend with a squad of us from Harburn. Ladybank and Crail Sat and Sun.:thumbsup: haven't played either but looking forward to it.:agree:

27-09-2011, 10:18 PM
Well on Saturday i hit the ball horribly off the tea, but virtually all were straight and i was never in danger of losing any balls. My irons were quite good bar the odd pull that meant i missed the green. My putting stroke felt good but, unusually for Nairn, the greens were awfully slow. I managed to avoid 3 putting until the last hole though where i poofed the first one. :boo hoo:

Shot 83 (+11) and it is a SS 74 so i got cut 0.2 but although i did not hit the ball wall, i could easily have been better with a few lipouts of leaving putts just short.

Getting better though so hoping to improve on that this Saturday. :thumbsup:

28-09-2011, 09:39 AM
Been offered membership at West Lothian GC till end of December for £80, would only have to play 3 rounds to make that pay.

I'm torn between WL & Pumpherston - Pumpherston is more expensive, at least initially to join.

:confused: choices....

28-09-2011, 11:09 AM
I've now been given a good deal to join Pumpherston... sometimes I hate having a choice!!! :-)

So WL or Pumphy?

Anyone played both?

29-09-2011, 01:29 PM
I've now been given a good deal to join Pumpherston... sometimes I hate having a choice!!! :-)So WL or Pumphy?Anyone played both? I would opt or Pumphy. Its possibly longer but is much flatter for an auld git like me. Having said that the views at WL are fantastic.Decisions decisions. Hang on!!!! I dont need to choose. I am already at the best club/course in West Lothian.

30-09-2011, 12:18 PM
I would opt or Pumphy. Its possibly longer but is much flatter for an auld git like me. Having said that the views at WL are fantastic.Decisions decisions. Hang on!!!! I dont need to choose. I am already at the best club/course in West Lothian.

Here we go... :greengrin

Think I'm going to opt for WL, at least for a year! Went up there for a look around yesterday and sample the 19th...:top marks

Liked the place and they all seemed friendly enough, I liked the look of the course and i've had good feedback on it!!

Thanks for info though!!

If Harburn is that good, I'm going to wait till I improve before giving it a go!!!

30-09-2011, 08:22 PM
Here we go... :greengrin

Think I'm going to opt for WL, at least for a year! Went up there for a look around yesterday and sample the 19th...:top marks

Liked the place and they all seemed friendly enough, I liked the look of the course and i've had good feedback on it!!

Thanks for info though!!

If Harburn is that good, I'm going to wait till I improve before giving it a go!!!

One of the goodthings about west Lothian clubs is they are all members of the Linlithgowshire Golf Association. Every year there is a Spring Handicap, a County Championship and an Autumn handicap and the Clubs ake turns at hosting them. It cost about 4 or 5 quid to play and it's excellent value for money.

30-09-2011, 08:25 PM
I am over in fifedom this weekend with a squad of us from Harburn. Ladybank and Crail Sat and Sun.:thumbsup: haven't played either but looking forward to it.:agree:

Found out tonight it's Downfield and not Ladybank tomorrow. Just as well I checked and didn't just rock up to Ladybank for a bacon roll at nine .:greengrin
Gonna nip over to St Andrews for a keek at the dunhill tourney in the afternoon. :thumbsup:

30-09-2011, 08:47 PM
Found out tonight it's Downfield and not Ladybank tomorrow. Just as well I checked and didn't just rock up to Ladybank for a bacon roll at nine .:greengrinor
Gonna nip over to St Andrews for a keek at the dunhill tourney in the afternoon. :thumbsup:

You'll enjoy Downfield. It's one of the best parkland courses in
Scotland.

30-09-2011, 08:51 PM
You'll enjoy Downfield. It's one of the best parkland courses in
Scotland.

Hope the driver behaves and stays relatively straight. I had a quick shifty at the course guide on their website. There's a lot of trees:greengrin looks a bit like Blairgowrie and I love playing up there.:agree:

30-09-2011, 09:12 PM
Pumpherston - Great
West Lothian - Horrible

Easy choice anyway :wink:

Came 10th in the medal last week, 2 off the leader, and quite frankly i hit the ball ****. So unless my sore neck causes bother tomorrow, i am aiming to drop a few shots on last week. :agree:

01-10-2011, 01:15 PM
Pumpherston - Great
West Lothian - Horrible:

I've got my free round next weekend to try out WLGC - what didn't you like about WL?

01-10-2011, 04:44 PM
I've got my free round next weekend to try out WLGC - what didn't you like about WL?

I don't really know. I have played it twice a year for the last few years and each time i hate it more and more. There was just numerous holes that i did not like or were similar/uninteresting. Plus this year was when i really realised i disliked it as it was very poor condition, although i have heard it has improved recently.

01-10-2011, 06:11 PM
Arrived at Downfield in plenty time for a bacon buttie and a coffee before a we blether with the boys before playing. I went to the pro shop to get the code for the door to the clubhouse and told the nice young chap I was a visitor with the Harburn contingent could he please give me the code. He told me they don't do visitors on a Saturday!!!!!! Checked my text message andread it properly. I should have been at Crail today and Downfield tomorrow.:doh: What a trumpet.
A Nash down the road to Crail via Dundee, St Michaels, Leuchars St Andrews and Kingsbarns saw me there in time to peg it up but missed out on my butte:boo hoo:
Played as poor as I have all year and had one solitary birdie all round.
Roll on tomorrow.

01-10-2011, 07:02 PM
Arrived at Downfield in plenty time for a bacon buttie and a coffee before a we blether with the boys before playing. I went to the pro shop to get the code for the door to the clubhouse and told the nice young chap I was a visitor with the Harburn contingent could he please give me the code. He told me they don't do visitors on a Saturday!!!!!! Checked my text message andread it properly. I should have been at Crail today and Downfield tomorrow.:doh: What a trumpet.
A Nash down the road to Crail via Dundee, St Michaels, Leuchars St Andrews and Kingsbarns saw me there in time to peg it up but missed out on my butte:boo hoo:
Roll on tomorrow.

This wouldn't have been half as funny if it hadn't been for this... :greengrin

Found out tonight it's Downfield and not Ladybank tomorrow. Just as well I checked and didn't just rock up to Ladybank for a bacon roll at nine .:greengrin

01-10-2011, 07:21 PM
Roll on tomorrow.

Some Mothers do have them!

I'm typing this afer more than a few nippy sweeties so apologies for any wee spellin errors.:greengrin Anyway for the first time for more than a good "few" years my handicapo went up to 3.5 (4) for today's competion but I managed to reach the turn in a two under par 33 but truly *hit in the back nine by coming back in a three over par 38. But who realloy cares a monkey's tosser as the crack was guid and I'm now officially back doonn to 3 again.

:bevvied!:

01-10-2011, 07:22 PM
Last medal of the year and couldn't even get a par never mind a birdie.

My game has fell to bits the last few weeks. :confused:

01-10-2011, 07:46 PM

Ah well - there's always next season to look forward to.

Such is the nature of the game of golf then who knows what's in store for the future?

New season fresh hopes spring eternal.

:cheers:

01-10-2011, 08:29 PM

I think I struggled to make a par today too. There was certainly three double in there.:rolleyes:

02-10-2011, 02:32 PM
Well my optimism about yesterdays medal was short lived. I slept in, so got to the course just in time, but no time for a warm-up or a few putts. It was bucketing it down and i was pulling out of every shot which i reckon is due to my neck. So yeah, an 8 on the first, par on the second and then i shanked one on the 3rd so i just decided to walk in.

I hate N/Ring and i usually just go to the end even if on an embaressing score, but yesterday just wasn't a good idea and i am glad i never carried on.

02-10-2011, 09:11 PM
Downfield. Great track. Very soggy but thoroughly enjoyed it. Plenty pars today and a couple of birds. First one on Stroke index 1:smug: only 28 Stableford points but didn't score at all on 4 holes.

Played with my Son both days and enjoyed it immensely. We had a four ball competition running over the weekend semi final yesterday and final today and we partnered each other. We won but mainly due to his skills. He was one under the card today with a stinking hangover. I don't get to golf with him much but enjoyed it this weekend.
Plan to get 50 balls each week at Kingsacre on the way home from work over the winter but
other than Greenburn next Sat and that should be it till March on the golf front as far as playing goes

03-10-2011, 04:33 PM
My playing partner and I won our clubs pairs competition final on Friday so are unbeaten this season having also won our winter gteensomes. Now to sort out my own game lol

03-10-2011, 06:59 PM
Downfield. Great track. Very soggy but thoroughly enjoyed it. Plenty pars today and a couple of birds. First one on Stroke index 1:smug: only 28 Stableford points but didn't score at all on 4 holes.

Played with my Son both days and enjoyed it immensely. We had a four ball competition running over the weekend semi final yesterday and final today and we partnered each other. We won but mainly due to his skills. He was one under the card today with a stinking hangover. I don't get to golf with him much but enjoyed it this weekend.
Plan to get 50 balls each week at Kingsacre on the way home from work over the winter but
other than Greenburn next Sat and that should be it till March on the golf front as far as playing goes

Was your son in the junior team this year? Or playing in the junior open?

03-10-2011, 07:11 PM
Was your son in the junior team this year? Or playing in the junior open? No Fraze he plays with the big boys. :greengrin

03-10-2011, 11:26 PM
No Fraze he plays with the big boys. :greengrin

Oh right, it's just i thought you were still mid twenties yourself. :greengrin :wink:

04-10-2011, 02:24 AM
Oh right, it's just i thought you were still mid twenties yourself. :greengrin :wink: In my mind Fraze. In my mind. :greengrin

04-10-2011, 08:09 AM
Oh right, it's just i thought you were still mid twenties yourself. :greengrin :wink:

:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:rotflmao::rotflmao: :rotflmao:

04-10-2011, 01:46 PM
:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:rotflmao::rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Oi!!!!!!!:grr::grr::grr: :greengrin

04-10-2011, 03:44 PM
Ah well that's another gowf season just about bit the dust. I've a Texas Scramble on Saturday then I'm playing at Whitekirk the following week in an invitation Tri-Am. (I'll still have time to hit ER in the afternoon though)

Thereafter there are a couple of re-arranged fixtures to fit in before the end of October but I'll probably give them a miss as our hooligan greenkeepers are about to hollow tine and sand the greens as part of the winter program so they'll be in a bit of a mess for the next 4 weeks or so.

13-10-2011, 08:22 PM
I was lucky enough to be invited for a game at Gullane number 1 today. What a brilliant course in great nick. Not a trace of mud to be found anywhere despite the recent weather. Simply class!

13-10-2011, 08:43 PM
I was lucky enough to be invited for a game at Gullane number 1 today. What a brilliant course in great nick. Not a trace of mud to be found anywhere despite the recent weather. Simply class!

Jammy Bugga. Mate at work announced he has just joined Craigielaw on some sort of corporate deal for a little over £600. Full 7day membership. He better get the invites rolled out over the winter. Between him and my laddie who is also at Dunbar as well as Harburn I might actually get a game or two over the winter.:greengrin

Godsahibby
20-10-2011, 05:06 PM
Probably got my last away trip of the season tomorrow, fortunate to have been invited to play Kingsbarns, really looking forward to it mind you doesnt look like its going to be the best day for links golf!

21-10-2011, 07:35 AM

Magnificent :agree:

Probably got my last away trip of the season tomorrow, fortunate to have been invited to play Kingsbarns, really looking forward to it mind you doesnt look like its going to be the best day for links golf!

THE Best :agree:

21-10-2011, 01:00 PM
Does Kingsbarns still shut over the winter?

21-10-2011, 03:11 PM
Does Kingsbarns still shut over the winter?

I can't be certain but I think I recollect reading something about that they're due to close mid November until 31/3/2012. I've had a quick look at their website and you can see from their webcam that the course is open today. Some unfortunate gowfer can clearly be seen howkin his ball back out of the burn.:greengrin

Kingsbarns is my favourite out of all the courses in St Andrews --------- *loody expensive mind you!

Godsahibby
21-10-2011, 08:45 PM
What a cracking day today at Kingsbarns, course really is something special. Most of these courses you can pick out a few holes that are pretty special, well at Kingbarns you could pick out nearly every hole being like that. You then get holes like 12 and 15 that are extra special!

It would normally be very expensive to play, £185 I think, I was lucky to get to play for free so can't complain about the price :greengrin

22-10-2011, 10:25 AM
What a cracking day today at Kingsbarns, course really is something special. Most of these courses you can pick out a few holes that are pretty special, well at Kingbarns you could pick out nearly every hole being like that. You then get holes like 12 and 15 that are extra special!

It would normally be very expensive to play, £185 I think, I was lucky to get to play for free so can't complain about the price :greengrin

If you are affiliated to a Scottish club, then you can get a game courtesy of the Scottish Golf Union scheme for £88 a head. Hardly a bargain but a big improvement on £185.

Hoever it is a real quality golf course - no doubt about that.

22-10-2011, 03:47 PM

And your scorecard read what? :wink:

27-10-2011, 08:31 PM
Dunbar tomorrow. Weathers to be reasonable. Looking firward to it.

28-10-2011, 07:03 PM
After getting to the 14th tee two over after bogeys at the first and fourth the wheels came off as they say. Doubled 14 from a fairway bunker. Back to back bogeys at 15 & 16. Solid par at 17 and another double down the last that included a Lucy Locket. Didnt break 80 and slightly cheesed off. Hit the ball very solid too. Roll on April.:greengrin

28-10-2011, 11:37 PM
Yesterday was the first time i had hit a ball in 3 weeks, and it was pretty poor. Today was much better so range for the 3rd day tomorrow and then hopefully get it consistently good rather than the odd bad one.

29-10-2011, 01:58 PM
After getting to the 14th tee two over after bogeys at the first and fourth the wheels came off as they say. Doubled 14 from a fairway bunker. Back to back bogeys at 15 & 16. Solid par at 17 and another double down the last that included a Lucy Locket. Didnt break 80 and slightly cheesed off. Hit the ball very solid too. Roll on April.:greengrin

The last hole can be a bit of a bassa. I'm sure that wall up the right hand side was built on castors as it invariably makes its way to the middle of the fairway.

29-10-2011, 02:29 PM
The last hole can be a bit of a bassa. I'm sure that wall up the right hand side was built on castors as it invariably makes its way to the middle of the fairway.

Short with my second from the middle of said fairway and the lucy put the ball up against te wall to the right of the green. Bloody thing.:agree:

29-10-2011, 10:54 PM
Well i went to the range again as i said i would in the quote below, and it was a big improvement. I think the 3 week break has refreshed me a bit as my swing feels much better. Today i planned on hitting about 25 balls then leaving as it wasn't the best of days wind wise, but i was hitting it great so stayed for ages hitting ball after ball, and i really was striking them well.

Just going to keep going and hitting my 7 iron like this, until i have the confidence of going on the course and doing it. :)

Yesterday was the first time i had hit a ball in 3 weeks, and it was pretty poor. Today was much better so range for the 3rd day tomorrow and then hopefully get it consistently good rather than the odd bad one.