View Full Version : How much do hibs influence you...

hibee_15
22-03-2011, 06:45 PM
Hi, I'm a uni student doing a essay on how groups in your life influence your purchase behaviour. I've had an ST for a number of years and decided to do the essay on hibs as i think they probably influence me in more than just obvious ways such as buying strips, pies at games (do you normally eat pies when not at the football?), using bookies at easter road etc. Things like buying green clothes, using a taxi comapny that sponser hibs etc show how hibs influence me even when i'm not at the football. So I was hoping to do a wee survey and get some views from other fans.

If you could answer these three questions would be great, cheers!

1)In general how much does the fact that a firm sponser Hibs enter your buying decisions when shopping for products?

2)Do you avoid brands/colours that you associate with opposition teams?

3)Are there any other ways Hibs affect your consumer purchasing behaviour?..

If you have any other thoughts on the idea feel free to share them :-)

Cheers for your help in advance

22-03-2011, 06:46 PM
Hi, I'm a uni student doing a essay on how groups in your life influence your purchase behaviour. I've had an ST for a number of years and decided to do the essay on hibs as i think they probably influence me in more than just obvious ways such as buying strips, pies at games (do you normally eat pies when not at the football?), using bookies at easter road etc. Things like buying green clothes, using a taxi comapny that sponser hibs etc show how hibs influence me even when i'm not at the football. So I was hoping to do a wee survey and get some views from other fans.

1)In general how much does the fact that a firm sponser Hibs enter your buying decisions when shopping for products?

Has someone had a word with you about your research methods?

22-03-2011, 07:19 PM
I got a puppy 3 weeks ago, I called her Cabbage. Hibs clearly influenced that.

KingFranck
22-03-2011, 07:32 PM
I've never owned anything maroon except my first car a rust bucket ford escort but never owned maroon clothes of any sort and avoided buying anything that sponsored Hearts Huns or Celtic eg mcewans lager and never owned a Mita photocopier cos they sponsored the jambos!

23-03-2011, 07:44 PM
My first son is called Hamish Ian Bryce.

H.I.B.

23-03-2011, 09:40 PM
Happy to help!

Hmmm at the moment not at all, as I'm not looking to sell a house! I do drink Carlsberg, I guess our previous association could be a factor. Don't really buy sports clothing outside of stuff for the gym, not needed anything since we signed up with Puma, but I would be more likely to consider them now.

Not really no, doesn't bother me in the slightest. Don't have anything maroon as I don't like the colour! That it is Hearts colour is of little consequence to me though.

I guess the whole 'only eating pies at the football' thing comes into play. Nothing much beyond that though.

Hope that's of some use.

Ernie Cobra
23-03-2011, 09:48 PM
could never wear or buy anything maroon, would never wear red white and blue, would never drink or buy strongbow..(still and forever more) my favourite no: is 07. favourite colour is green

cant think of anything else but my wife would tell you that every decision i make is based around hibs.....she drew the line at me calling one of our daughter hibernia, and the other daughters middke names being stanton sauzee

23-03-2011, 09:49 PM
1) In general how much does the fact that a firm sponsor Hibs enter your buying decisions when shopping for products?

I would chose them over a firm sponsoring a rival club but there would be a lot to consider before that. Like best or better value from other firms.

2) Do you avoid brands/colour’s that you associate with opposition teams?

I don't drink Strongbow and I no longer drink Tennents. A major loss to both companies :greengrin

3) Are there any other ways Hibs affect your consumer purchasing behavior?..

Don't think so.

IMO its about brand awareness and encouraging people to shift to that brand not a product. It wouldn’t matter what bookies sponsored which club I wouldn’t gamble, nor would I start drinking or smoking if Hibs had Smirnoff or Superkings emblazoned across their tops.

davidw
23-03-2011, 10:30 PM
1) No

2) No, not really ('though I vaguely remember avoiding particular Old Firm-sponsored lagers in the 1980s. However, I'm a lot older now and have realised that they taste crap anyway so it's not an issue)

3) No

Supporting Hibs (or any team) affects your behaviour - that's why I'm typing this nonsense rather than doing something more useful with my evening. But I don't think it impacts greatly on consumer decisions unless you're fundamentally a bit sad.

By the way, the earlier comment about your research methods is spot on.....

24-03-2011, 07:48 AM

1) In general, no. I have never bought double glazing, and am not daft enough to think that just because shysters sponsor Hibs that they will act any more ethically (you know who you are).

2) Only maroon, although it can get awkward when it comes to getting a bus.

3) Hibs often drive me to seek out the products of my local drug dealer.

joe_hfc
24-03-2011, 07:58 AM

If I was going to buy a product or service which which I had no experience of any particular brand, I'd buy the one that sponsors Hibs just because I know it (as long as it wasn't too pricey). I.e. when we were sponsored by whyte and mackay, i chose that as my first whisky as I had no experience of which whisky was good or not. However when our shirt sponsor was Le Coq Sportif, I bought Nike and Adidas over them because I had experience over buying them.

Definetly, I have never bought anything maroon.

Have quite a lot of Green clothes and trainers now I think about it, non are blue or red.

24-03-2011, 08:25 AM
Has someone had a word with you about your research methods?

In his defence, it is just an essay he's doing so I assume the methodology isn't that important!

As for the OP, answer to all three is 'no'. Hibs' sponsors have no effect on my purchases, I don't avoid any colours or brands (although I refuse to drink pish so nae luck Carling, Tennents and Strongbow) and Hibs don't affect purchases outside of football stuff in any other way.

24-03-2011, 08:28 AM
My car is maroon so I don't care if it gets vandalised.

I used to have a lucky maroon pair of underpants. Hibs won the Skol Cup because of them.

I don't like West ham, Burnley, Villa etc. Yup....maroon.

24-03-2011, 09:01 AM
happy to help

i do not and will not ever own anything maroon. hate the colour !

my house number is 7, the reg plate on my wifes car is 07,my favourite number,well you guessed it !

mf first waltz at my wedding was sunshine on leith and we all wore the hibs tartan

when buying clothes i do tend to lean towards a green colour if it fits the bill.

my caravan has green stipes and interior

and my grass is green also !!:thumbsup:

strummbo
24-03-2011, 04:39 PM

none whatsover

yes nothing maroon

i always buy stuff from the shop at ER. Even stuff I can get elsewhere like pens etc

24-03-2011, 05:53 PM
1st 1 / not really
2nd 1/ never have or will drink strongbow /never wear maroon/pink.[did drink skol lager for a few months after our cup win 91] pretty ganting but loved singing" skol skol skol skol skol skol skol skol skol "
and have forgot what the 3rd point was ? :greengrin

24-03-2011, 07:44 PM

1)In general how much does the fact that a firm sponser Hibs enter your buying decisions when shopping for products? Depends what the product, but Carlsberg and whyte and mackay were more often bought when they sponsered hibs

2)Do you avoid brands/colours that you associate with opposition teams? yes

3)Are there any other ways Hibs affect your consumer purchasing behaviour?.. i buy more green clothes than any other colour :greengrin

in the grand scheme of thing it doesnt affect me that much but there are loads of thing i own that hibs affected, the green iphone cover, green tops, and green and white trainers

HibeeEmma
25-03-2011, 08:44 AM

One part which would be interesting to look at which there has been a lot of literature produced on is the comparison between football and religion.
The aspects of religion which compare to the committment of football fans

25-03-2011, 08:49 AM
I only eat the green penguins

26-03-2011, 06:19 AM
I only eat the green penguins

26-03-2011, 06:50 AM
"Think not how the hibs can influence you but how you can influence the hibs"
What Kennedy really said...