View Full Version : Stokes wants out of Celtc

HNA8
20-03-2011, 11:22 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/3480164/Final-snub-has-Stokes-eyeing-exit.html

Didn't take long

His old man (and agent) was in the news last week as well

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12765791

20-03-2011, 11:29 PM
"Anthony should go somewhere where they appreciate him."

Prick :agree:

21-03-2011, 12:00 AM
Bellend

21-03-2011, 12:09 AM
Last line made me sick.He is a prick and deserves everything he gets.

21-03-2011, 12:53 AM
Romanov'll be all over this like a rash.

21-03-2011, 12:56 AM
What a surprise :rolleyes: Have to admit though I wondered how he never got shot from how crap Samaras is.

21-03-2011, 06:22 AM
Stokes is a troll, granted, and he and his pop could act with more decorum.

However, he's got a really good point.

Imagine we were 2-1 down in a final with Deek on the bench and we never brought him on. I'd expect him to be raging too.

Celtc could well have nicked it if they replaced Samaras with Stokes. Stokes and Hooper had made a good partnership as rightly quoted by Stokes senior.

To be fair though, I couldn't give a monkeys and Stokes has probably done something bellendish to merit the splinters in his erse.

21-03-2011, 06:32 AM

Prick :agree:

He was "somewhere where they appreciate him" about 6 months ago, and like many before him, decided he was bigger than the club. Shame he's fallen on his arse ;-)

21-03-2011, 07:19 AM
I can see it now.. JJ want's Stokes at the Yams. Either on loan and asking the mad one to stump up the cash.

duffers
21-03-2011, 07:23 AM
I'd bet all of the above would take him back at hibs....?

21-03-2011, 07:32 AM
My heart bleeds...

21-03-2011, 07:42 AM

I never said i wouldn't. I'd love to see him back, but is it worth bringing back someone who caused unrest in the dressing room? For his goals yes but only if he had the right attitude as well.

21-03-2011, 07:54 AM
He's probably not playing any more as Lennon has realised how fond Stokes is of a flutter, and how much of a bevvy merchant he is.

Waster.

Joe
21-03-2011, 08:15 AM
Such a shame that someone with so much talent seems so intent on ruining his career with his childish behaviour.

Would have him back at Hibs in a second but the boys got to learn to just shut up, something his dad should also consider.

Mark79
21-03-2011, 08:34 AM
This doesn't surprise me. Heard from a few folk that the NOTW have something on him and it's been waiting to get published for ages. Would be quite believable if he wanted to get a fresh start somewhere else.

On a side note he was at some paddies day gig on Thursday my mate was at so may have got himself blootered and out of Jenkins plans for yesterday as a consequence.

All hearsay and guessing but he looks to cause his own problems. Now he wants sympathy for not getting a game.

21-03-2011, 08:50 AM
Actually, I wouldn't have him back at Hibs! Great at scoring goals but ... for the first time in ages we appear to have a team that looks comfortable together. I think Stokes would ruin that.

21-03-2011, 08:51 AM
He was "somewhere where they appreciate him" about 6 months ago, and like many before him, decided he was bigger than the club. Shame he's fallen on his arse ;-)

Wasnt he 'moved on' by the club? I don't think that it was your classic hibs player to OF kick in the baws.

21-03-2011, 09:00 AM
Whils his Dad is a t!t for coming out with statements like that in the press, I find it completely understandable that he would be raging at being top scorer and not getting off the bench when Celtic were chasing the game and desperate for a goal - especially when Gary Hooper was having such a poor game, but even more so because Paddy McCourt got a game ahead of him.

21-03-2011, 09:06 AM
We punted him for his off field nonsense and it would appear he's still up to the same crap at Celtic.

Boys had many chances, good player or not I wouldn't take him back.

21-03-2011, 09:07 AM
If....and I'm purely speculating here, he's going on the bevvy before games, missing training due to illness yet going out on the town for 3 nights on the trot, borrowing money from youth players etc, he can't be suprised and being left out the team regardless of his ability. No manager worth his salt would put up with such unprofessional and disruptive behaviour, would they Mr Hughes? :wink:

Stokes can rot in "Paradise" for all I care....and no, I wouldn't take him back!

dalkeith stu
21-03-2011, 09:10 AM
my hearts bleedin piss water!!!

21-03-2011, 09:12 AM

I'm not one of those above but I wouldn't take him back, however more importantly I don't believe Rodders or CC would take him back either.

I believe there is a good work ethic at EM and the departure of the likes of Stokes, Benji, Zouma and Bamba has a lot to do with it.

Good players yes but not that great they can get away with murder.

21-03-2011, 09:27 AM
I'm not one of those above but I wouldn't take him back, however more importantly I don't believe Rodders or CC would take him back either.

I believe there is a good work ethic at EM and the departure of the likes of Stokes, Benji, Zouma and Bamba has a lot to do with it.

21-03-2011, 09:28 AM
No danger would I take him back at ER...it's clear the boy is trouble with a capital T and clearly the wee ginger prick has now come to realise that also...

No doubting his talent but we are better off without his disruptive influence in the dressing room

GGTTH :cgwa

21-03-2011, 09:45 AM
No danger would I take him back at ER...it's clear the boy is trouble with a capital T and clearly the wee ginger prick has now come to realise that also...

No doubting his talent but we are better off without his disruptive influence in the dressing room

GGTTH :cgwa

Given how many people on here know so much about his off field lifestyle, surely it wouldn't take much effort for Lennon to do his homework and find this out. If Stokes is what many on here say he is, Lennon would know about it before he signed him.

Mangers sometimes sign players despite these things - Fergie signed Eric Cantona despite his reputation for being a trouble maker (in fact the Leeds Utd board ever came out in the press after he was charged for assaulting the fan, saying it justified their selling him). When Cantona retired, Fergie signed Teddy Sheringham despite his bevvying and smoking being very publicly outed in the media couple of years before (which was surprising given the drinking culture that he fought so hard to nulify when he first arrived at Old Trafford).

Some managers clearly believe that such issues are worth putting up with, and given that Lennon was managed for practically his whole career by Martin O'Neill, who played in a Nottingham Forest team who were apparently encouraged to bevvy before some games, it's perfectly possible that he subscribes to that view.

I'm by no means saying that Stokes is anywhere close to the same standard as Cantona or Sheringham, but his scoring record in Scotland is phenomenal, and guys who can guarantee you 20 goals a season will always appeal to managers, especially those under pressure to guarantee success.

Lennon may be odious in a million different ways, but he is certainly not an idiot, and he must've known what he was getting into.

21-03-2011, 10:04 AM
it was a stupid decision leaving your 17 goal top scorer on the bench in a cup final, especially when samaras was absolutely **** and spent half the match on his arse. stokes is a top class striker and should be playing every week .....40 goals so far since returning to the spl ???? .........the father reminds me of byrnes dad last season and certainly wont help his career. Id love him back at hibs ....imagine having riordan on the left with sodje and stokes up front and vaz te on the right?

inglisavhibs
21-03-2011, 10:40 AM
it was a stupid decision leaving your 17 goal top scorer on the bench in a cup final, especially when samaras was absolutely **** and spent half the match on his arse. stokes is a top class striker and should be playing every week .....40 goals so far since returning to the spl ???? .........the father reminds me of byrnes dad last season and certainly wont help his career. Id love him back at hibs ....imagine having riordan on the left with sodje and stokes up front and vaz te on the right?

He wasn't just left out for the final, he has not been a regular for a while now in the Celtic team. Although Stokes is a proven goalscorer, the rest of his game leaves a lot to be desired. Did not really enjoy watching him at Hibs as his lack of control and awareness was frustrating. He was part of a team at Hibs who latterly failed to win many games and I am not surprised that he has struggled to play regularly for Celtic.

21-03-2011, 10:46 AM
Anthony Stokes is a good goalscorer but I'm noticing a trend developing here where he's concerned.

Roy Keane fell out with him at Sunderland. He then left under a cloud at Hibs where it would appear that the Hibs board were pushing for his exit, which was extraordinary when you consider that he was one of the best goalscorers for Hibs in recent history.

And now it would seem that Neil Lennon doesn't fancy him much either as he has barely played a full match for Celtic this season, that's despite the fact that he has managed to score 17 goals in 20 starts for them this season.

For someone who is so prolific in front of goal to be missing so many games, there must be another reason for it and it would seem that the lifestyle he leads is questionable to say the least.

It's really stupid of him if that is the case because he is coming up for 23 years of age and he is playing for the team he's always supported. Roy Keane made the comment when he was Stokes' manager at Sunderland about 4 years ago that his career could easily go one of two ways. He said that Stokes had the ability to go right to the very top of the game but that his attitude and mentality was in such a bad state that he could quite easily be playing non-league football within 5 years.

The way things seem to be going, Keane might not be far wrong in his assessment.

21-03-2011, 10:56 AM
Anthony Stokes is a good goalscorer but I'm noticing a trend developing here where he's concerned.

Roy Keane fell out with him at Sunderland. He then left under a cloud at Hibs where it would appear that the Hibs board were pushing for his exit, which was extraordinary when you consider that he was one of the best goalscorers for Hibs in recent history.

And now it would seem that Neil Lennon doesn't fancy him much either as he has barely played a full match for Celtic this season, that's despite the fact that he has managed to score 17 goals in 20 starts for them this season.

For someone who is so prolific in front of goal to be missing so many games, there must be another reason for it and it would seem that the lifestyle he leads is questionable to say the least.

It's really stupid of him if that is the case because he is coming up for 23 years of age and he is playing for the team he's always supported. Roy Keane made the comment when he was Stokes' manager at Sunderland about 4 years ago that his career could easily go one of two ways. He said that Stokes had the ability to go right to the very top of the game but that his attitude and mentality was in such a bad state that he could quite easily be playing non-league football within 5 years.

The way things seem to be going, Keane might not be far wrong in his assessment.

He's suffering in the same way that Kris Boyd suffered at Rangers and Scotland, in that in the biggest games he is seen not to contribute enough to the team to warrant a start. That's fine, but much like Boyd after the Norway game (altough he manifested his annoyance in the wrong way), I can understand why Stokes would be annoyed not to get on when his team is desperate for a goal in such a massive game, and he is their best goalscorer.

Again here, surely his lifestyle/off field antics can't be the issue - if Lennon truly was punishing him for misdemeanours and had no intention of playing him, surely he wouldn't be on the bench at all. I think Stokes not getting a game from the start is completely understandable, and not getting a game off the bench is purely down to bad management on Lennon's part.

21-03-2011, 11:00 AM
I can't understand why we let him go, I really can't.

Purehibee_MYB
21-03-2011, 11:19 AM
I would take him back but he's a massive fud

big-mo
21-03-2011, 11:55 AM

Would that be William Hills or Ladbrokes? :confused:

21-03-2011, 12:31 PM
I think a lot of it is down to the arrogance of the manager thinking that no matter how bad the players behaviour is they will be able to change it and sometimes they can.

Obviously Roy Keane didn’t or couldn’t be bothered to try and Yogi and the ned didn’t and cant change Stokes either.

Self destruct button seemingly already pushed before he came to Hibs. Another good piece of business from Uncle Rod getting anything at all for him.

21-03-2011, 01:16 PM
Lennon doesn't fancy him. Perhaps if he's dons a long greasy wig and grows a beard he'll stand a chance.

I wouldn't want him back at Hibs and have to say that Rodders did well to get £1.2 million for him. Despite his goals and I was never a big fan of Stokes.

Definitely not Hibs Class.

21-03-2011, 01:35 PM
I would take him back but he's a massive fud

I would have him back problem is he will believe he has re-built his reputation already and that is the only reason he came to us in the first place

moredun
21-03-2011, 03:05 PM
Would that be William Hills or Ladbrokes? :confused:

Nice Avatar.

That will be the bust that St Pauls raised money for eh, our very own Canon Hannan.

Well done St Pauls and now they are organising one for Michael Whelahan, they had a fundraiser last week and went well:not worth

21-03-2011, 04:27 PM
Stokes the player I would take back in a heartbeat...Stokes the person is a different story. :agree:

21-03-2011, 04:32 PM
Stokes the player I would take back in a heartbeat...Stokes the person is a different story. :agree:

:agree: On this board i think we'd all agree that. On the holy ground he's just a little understood, and needs help. :wink:

Ernie Cobra
21-03-2011, 06:28 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/3480164/Final-snub-has-Stokes-eyeing-exit.html

Didn't take long

His old man (and agent) was in the news last week as well

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-12765791

Heres his auld mans latest attempt.......bearing in mind this guy was in court this week for haveing a 30 ft "the queen is banned from my pub" banner. Also a pub where the ira apparently shot 3 people only a few months back, doesnt seem like the type of person i would pay too much attention to. Like his laddie a tad unstable perhaps?

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/anthony-is-happy-at-celtic-2587414.html

Ernie Cobra
21-03-2011, 06:31 PM
Lennon doesn't fancy him. Perhaps if he's dons a long greasy wig and grows a beard he'll stand a chance.

I wouldn't want him back at Hibs and have to say that Rodders did well to get £1.2 million for him. Despite his goals and I was never a big fan of Stokes.

Definitely not Hibs Class. - he's a classless bawbag, who is one betting slip away from an asbo, community service order, jailterm or severe slapping. **** him!

21-03-2011, 06:38 PM
He has his ups and downs, but CC will know this and if he still wanted to pursue the player then I would trust his judgement completely.

21-03-2011, 06:43 PM
What a surprise :rolleyes: Have to admit though I wondered how he never got shot from how crap Samaras is.

And to think, the've given that Greek donkey a 3 year deal :faf::faf::faf:.

Stokes is a troll, granted, and he and his pop could act with more decorum.

However, he's got a really good point.

Imagine we were 2-1 down in a final with Deek on the bench and we never brought him on. I'd expect him to be raging too.

Celtc could well have nicked it if they replaced Samaras with Stokes. Stokes and Hooper had made a good partnership as rightly quoted by Stokes senior.

Nah mate. It's worse than that. Imagine we had Deeks on the bench but decide to throw Paddy McCort on instead :hilarious:rotflmao:.

21-03-2011, 06:54 PM

:agree: Yup CC's sorting Yogi's mess and the last thing we need is a wee scrotum like Stokes back in the mix. Good riddance.

since90plustwo
21-03-2011, 08:24 PM
would take him back if we got him cheap, caused unrest, but hey? maybee CC can sort him out. wouldnt mind having a goal scorer in the team. sodje and deeks are great, but we need a poacher

21-03-2011, 08:51 PM
would take him back if we got him cheap, caused unrest, but hey? maybee CC can sort him out. wouldnt mind having a goal scorer in the team. sodje and deeks are great, but we need a poacher

You'll find a lot of people who need 'sorted' won't change. He's not worth the gamble (and we could never, ever afford him now).

21-03-2011, 08:58 PM
I can almost smell the cuban smoke as the Tache reclines in his leather chair with a 'i told you to beleive me' smile breaking across his face......

21-03-2011, 10:21 PM
i was told a few months ago stokes was on his way out of celtic....

apparently celtic paid off all his gambling debts when he signed and paid for some kind of gambling treatment. Few months down line he had run up more huge debt and decided the treatment was not for him

only a few weeks agoone of my mates saw him lose a decent amount of cash at the casino

21-03-2011, 10:35 PM
:agree: On this board i think we'd all agree that. On the holy ground he's just a little understood, and needs help. :wink:

... he does present some challenging behaviour which can almost certainly be blamed on the ruling capitalist hegemony. :greengrin

But I would actually be disappointed to see him back at ER. Like many of the names being bandied around just now, he's yesterday's man and that's where we should leave him.

PS: by the sounds of this (http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/celtic/237632-stokes-father-denies-advising-player-to-quit-celtic/), we should be thinking about how his relationship with his father might be a factor in all of this

I'm off back to the Holy Ground - it's too intense on this board.

22-03-2011, 06:10 AM
Heres his auld mans latest attempt.......bearing in mind this guy was in court this week for haveing a 30 ft "the queen is banned from my pub" banner. Also a pub where the ira apparently shot 3 people only a few months back, doesnt seem like the type of person i would pay too much attention to. Like his laddie a tad unstable perhaps?

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/anthony-is-happy-at-celtic-2587414.html

Sounds a bit like a conspiracy to me?

:agree: Yup CC's sorting Yogi's mess and the last thing we need is a wee scrotum like Stokes back in the mix. Good riddance.

Totally agree. If Roy Keane cant scare some sense into him then there's not much chance of anybody else doing it. As Neil Lennon is finding out, allegedly of course.

Brads Laing
22-03-2011, 07:19 PM
Like a shot!

22-03-2011, 07:32 PM
I read today that he doesn't want to leave Celtic at all.

23-03-2011, 01:37 PM
I read today that he doesn't want to leave Celtic at all.

Yep, seemingly his lovely dad was misqouted by the nasty reporter from that rag, and what he really said was that his son wants to stay at celtc for many years to come and is happy to sit on the bench if that is the manager's wishes. :greengrin :rolleyes:

23-03-2011, 01:57 PM
Yep, seemingly his lovely dad was misqouted by the nasty reporter from that rag, and what he really said was that his son wants to stay at celtc for many years to come and is happy to sit on the bench if that is the manager's wishes. :greengrin :rolleyes:

The cynic in me also thinks that Mr Stokes snr is also in a very nice position as agent to profit from any move (which will happen)......the money that he must have made from his transfers will certainly keep his wee Dublin boozer ticking over.

Top scorer for Celtic means that if he does get a move (or is moved) there will be no shortage of takers and a big fee involved. AS is exactly the type of player that a manager like Neil Warnock could easily handle IMHO. In fact, if they get promoted, I would wager Stokes being a target for QPR.

moredun
23-03-2011, 02:09 PM
The cynic in me also thinks that Mr Stokes snr is also in a very nice position as agent to profit from any move (which will happen)......the money that he must have made from his transfers will certainly keep his wee Dublin boozer ticking over.

Top scorer for Celtic means that if he does get a move (or is moved) there will be no shortage of takers and a big fee involved. AS is exactly the type of player that a manager like Neil Warnock could easily handle IMHO. In fact, if they get promoted, I would wager Stokes being a target for QPR.

Stokes Dad is not his agent, hasn't been for 4 years now

23-03-2011, 02:18 PM
This is a non-story. Why would Stokes bite the hand of the only club willing to pay him megabucks at this stage in his career? His dad's a moron who's lost the plot.

23-03-2011, 02:30 PM
"We are all Celtic Supporters" Happy to see Anthony in the hoops" "the Queen and her family are not welcome in this pub" Next it'll be something to do with the IRA! What a sorry state of affairs it must be to be a Celtic fan. You would expect, given the history, that any Irish parent would be delighted for their son to play for Hibs considering we are the real deal.