View Full Version : Question Worst football stadium you have ever visited

18-03-2011, 03:28 PM
For me it would probably have to be Central Park, Cowdenbeath.

It was 40 years ago mind you and it was one hell hole of a place then and it sticks in my memory for that reason only. Stamford Bridge in the mid 80's runs it a close second. Mind you they were playing Wimbledon that day and got cuffed 3-0. Wasn't very pleasant standing in the old shed with those Chelsea nutters.

Go on fill yer boots. :aok:

DAVE1875
18-03-2011, 03:31 PM
Would have to be either Harlaw Park, home of Inverurie Loco Works or Allan Park, home to Cove Rangers

MUPPET
18-03-2011, 03:42 PM
Tynecastle on New Years day - 1 pisher open to the whole away end (although the whole place is a ****in
toilet!)

18-03-2011, 03:47 PM
Dnipro's stadium wasn't the best. The woman's toilets were awful. You had to sit down in front of other women and do your business with them right beside you. Glad I was a bit pissed at the time and didn't care who I was peeing in front of :greengrin

18-03-2011, 03:51 PM
I was at an Arbroath game around this time last year. Gayfield I think it's called. Not the nicest of places.

Celtic Park runs it a close second. An absolute dump, the surrounding area looks like Chernobyl. Pitiful view from the away end and you can just tell the place was rebuilt on the cheap.

Stonewall
18-03-2011, 04:06 PM
Boness Utd

18-03-2011, 04:09 PM
Boness Utd

Lith'gae Rose.

:take that

18-03-2011, 04:10 PM
Arniston Rangers.

deekster
18-03-2011, 04:30 PM
Dumbartons Boghead ground was crap. Toilet water running down the terracing to meet you.

18-03-2011, 04:40 PM
Albion rovers stadium is a hole

18-03-2011, 04:42 PM
Tynecastle on New Years day - 1 pisher open to the whole away end (although the whole place is a ****in
toilet!)

Was going to go for this, but have to admit there was something special about the old Tynecastle. I thought that toilet in our end (I'm sure we used to call it the Black Hole of Calcutta) was as bad as it could get.

Then we got their end at a semi final, and it just summed the Yams up. It was Dickensian. (Incidentally, if you are ever unfortunate enough to visit the Merchiston Hearts Supporters Club, they have lovingly recreated this toilet, right down to the authentic smell. It's on a par with the Jorvik Centre as a living museum.)

Dumbartons Boghead ground was crap. Toilet water running down the terracing to meet you.

As I say, it was going to be Tynie, but Boghead was a very appropriate name for that "stadium".

18-03-2011, 04:47 PM
Brockville...without a doubt one of the worst stadiums. Was there in 1999 when Le God made his debut and it was peeing it down. the bog was tiny as well.

O and the PBS is a dump as well...what ever happened to their 22,000 £51 million pound main stand with Hotel and Casino??

18-03-2011, 04:59 PM
Tynie for me. ****hole of a place. One game it rained quite heavy and the place started to fall down. I mean, who built something in Scotland that falls down when it rains? ****n genius.

And when the foundations were laid bare it did actually appear to be a dump full of builders rubble. Absolute toilet of a place.

Brockville...without a doubt one of the worst stadiums. Was there in 1999 when Le God made his debut and it was peeing it down. the bog was tiny as well.

O and the PBS is a dump as well...what ever happened to their 22,000 £51 million pound main stand with Hotel and Casino??

18-03-2011, 05:26 PM

:top marks, Yip that's the one I'd go for.

Not sure why but I always liked going to Brockville. Always seemed to have a good day out.

18-03-2011, 05:42 PM
Easter road. Seriously, only been to old trafford and the nou camp.:greengrin

Edit, can I change to Celtic park, i went when I was about ten. Been to hampden as well.

howdenthehibby
18-03-2011, 05:59 PM
I would have to agree with that:sick:

wazoo1875
18-03-2011, 06:05 PM
Cappielow and Boghead for me. Pittodrie is up there now, an absolute toilet of a place, Dens is a ******hole too.

Loved the old Brockville tho it wasnae really nice to look at :greengrin

18-03-2011, 06:05 PM

That's the one for me.

Was there for a League Cup tie a few years ago, 2-0 win with possibly McGinlay and Wright scoring.

18-03-2011, 06:09 PM
Alloa horrific even on a nice spring evening

Hakim Sar
18-03-2011, 06:16 PM
Somerset park. A shambles. A terrace with a chippy van. Wide open spaces with a few hundred part time Ayr / full time Rangers fans. Terrible stadium. The whole experience in the main stand is uncomfortable. Rotting wooden seats etc.

I really think that most Scottish stadiums are poor. Let's face it Easter road pre- 1994 was a toilet. We shouldn't point fingers now we have the new one.

18-03-2011, 06:21 PM
Hamilton is diabolical. Two strange looking daft stands with a view from the away end (the only end..) out to a bleak landscape of various scaffolded contraptions and a gazebo on the two sides with no stands.

The only highlight of the trip to Ayr earlier this season was watching a game in a good old fashioned Scottish ground. Nice and compact, decent atmosphere, character. Folk have mentioned Brockville. I`d rather watch a game in the atmospheric old Brockville than the soulless Falkirk "Stadium" any day.

18-03-2011, 06:23 PM
Roots Hall - Southend....it has a death trap of a wooden stand that should be closed to the public.

The main stand at Vicarage Road, Watford is rightly 'out-of-action' and for good reason.

Tannadice must be worth a mention, too, simply for the lack of leg-room.

18-03-2011, 06:26 PM
I'd have to say Millwall's old Cold Blow Lane ground. I went to see them v Everton in the old English First Div sometime in the mid 80s. A ground about the size of Starks Park, but licenced for 20,000 and with one narrow (about 12ft wide) exit for the entire main terracing. I wasn't scared by the fans - but I did fear for my life leaving.

In Scotland I don't think anything can compare with Boghead for grotiness (although Brockville ran it close).

Wakeyhibee
18-03-2011, 06:35 PM
Plenty to choose from

For an SPL match it has to be Kilbowie, absolutely pitiful stadium if you could call it that.

In England Sincil Bank (Lincoln City) old away terrace section held around 1500 and had 2 toilets, one burger van & the terracing was that shallow unless you were 6ft you had no chance of seeing anything, about the same size as the east terrace was but half as high.

For expectations 1st Hampden visit pre redevelopement in the 70's and recently Tannadice old main stand should be re-named the DVT stand

18-03-2011, 06:35 PM
Stair Park was a bit grim - though I had flu and we drew 0-0 which might have had an effect.

Tannadice for so many reasons.

At The Edge
18-03-2011, 06:44 PM
Roots Hall - Southend....it has a death trap of a wooden stand that should be closed to the public.

The main stand at Vicarage Road, Watford is rightly 'out-of-action' and for good reason.

Tannadice must be worth a mention, too, simply for the lack of leg-room.

don't know if thats a H+S issue or a S+M issue:wink:
did Dundee have a massive Hobbit population at some point?

i think 20 years ago most scottish stadiums were bungholes, but some of those bungholes were magic to go to:agree:

Frogga
18-03-2011, 06:55 PM
St Mirren's ground for being a soulless and uninteresting stadium set in an industrial estate.

I'd rather a ****hole than one of these showhome stadiums any day as at least they have character.

18-03-2011, 07:09 PM
halifax...shay stadium...i went to a midweek match versus blackpool in feb 1992...the place was pitiful, it reminded me of powderhall when it was on its last legs.

18-03-2011, 07:13 PM
Penicuik Athletic

18-03-2011, 07:23 PM
Albion Rovers Cliftonhill "Stadium" by a country mile !
Built 1919
Capacity 1249 ( seated 489)

18-03-2011, 07:24 PM
Boghead and Brockvile are the worst two I have been at. Brockvile was a decent day out though, with a decent atmosphere.

18-03-2011, 07:26 PM
Another vote for Albion Rover's Cliftonhill ground.....
.............what a tip.

18-03-2011, 07:30 PM
Pittodrie a windswept dump with crap seating

18-03-2011, 07:37 PM
Rebuilt Parkhead for me. Total disgrace for an away support.

therealgavmac
18-03-2011, 08:10 PM
Early 1980's - Gay Meadow - Shrewsbury Town - there with West Ham - only place in my life I ever got my head kicked in.......

18-03-2011, 08:43 PM
The San Siro.

I had a bad case of the squits, honestly the toilets were that bad that people were pissing from the concourse into them.

I had no option but to use the trap.

One of the worst experiances of my life.

18-03-2011, 08:45 PM
I didnt mind going to brockville, the toilets were rank, not that you could call it a toilet but if you were in next to the metal gate/fence next to the home support it was a good laugh

Twa Cairpets
18-03-2011, 08:46 PM
Dnipro's stadium wasn't the best. The woman's toilets were awful. You had to sit down in front of other women and do your business with them right beside you. Glad I was a bit pissed at the time and didn't care who I was peeing in front of :greengrin

The gents at Meteor Stadium was the single most unhygenic place I have been in in my life.

Ernie Cobra
18-03-2011, 08:51 PM
Tynie - Because of the stench of bile and hatred, and the rat infested surroundings

Ibrox - Because of the stench of bile and hatred and the rat infested surroundings

Sellick Park - Becasue of the stench of bile and hatred and the rat infested surroundings

Glentoran - Because of the stench of bile and hatred and rat infested surroundings

Wembley - Becuause!

18-03-2011, 08:57 PM
Perhaps I'm a little biased, but Tynecastle not only looks and smells like a ******ing hole full of diseased rats, it's also stuffed with ******ed, slavering jakey's who's idea of a 'mixed marriage' is to tie the knot with somebody from their extended family, rather than a sibling or parent. Not that they tend bother that much with such indulgences.

That place desperately needs nuked, the bulldozers would make no difference to the fallow, contagion-ridden 'land' it sits on.

joebakerforever
18-03-2011, 08:59 PM
For the worst view I would put Loftus Road as the winner when I went there about February 1978 to see a Cup tie against Forest.

Ended up in the home top tier behind the goal and all you saw was the top half of the players anywhere near the goal.

Gala Foxes
18-03-2011, 09:01 PM
Grimsby Town - twice with Leicester

down the slope
18-03-2011, 09:08 PM
The old hampden must take some beating, if the pee wisnae running in rivulets then it was the clouds of dust when Celtic scored against us-usually six clouds of dust when i was there.

18-03-2011, 09:12 PM
Rebuilt Parkhead for me. Total disgrace for an away support.

can only agree here. An architectural disgrace, in an area that progress most definitely forgot

hibernian36
18-03-2011, 09:44 PM
tynecastle - an absolute hovel.:wink:

18-03-2011, 10:08 PM
I like some of the old, wee grounds that have been mentioned - nothing wrong with a bit of character.

One ground I detest is the dangleberry excelsior or whatever it's called now. A soulless dump caused by the SPL's ridiculous original stadium criteria.

18-03-2011, 10:18 PM
Gotta be kilbowie, shighthole.

18-03-2011, 10:36 PM
For me it would probably have to be Central Park, Cowdenbeath.

It was 40 years ago mind you and it was one hell hole of a place then and it sticks in my memory for that reason only.

Was it the day that it was pouring of rain & everybody was crowded in the rickety old stand, with Kenny Davidson a stand out, in a 4-1 win for the cabbage?

18-03-2011, 10:46 PM
Was it the day that it was pouring of rain & everybody was crowded in the rickety old stand, with Kenny Davidson a stand out, in a 4-1 win for the cabbage?

That was the one. Goals from Joe McBride, Alex Cropley (2) and Johnny Hamilton. Shoddy old stand and miles from the pitch.

(((Fergus)))
18-03-2011, 10:55 PM

:agree: they were sponsored by a demolition company for a few years, might still be, so they could probably get favourable rates

18-03-2011, 11:02 PM
:agree: they were sponsored by a demolition company for a few years, might still be, so they could probably get favourable rates

Means nothing. Hearts are sponsored by a bank but they're skint. :wink:

18-03-2011, 11:15 PM
Means nothing. Hearts are sponsored by a bank but they're skint. :wink:nae problem there though, they can always just borrow more and owe it tae themselves. :agree:

back on topic.

Boghead
Central park
Cliftonhill

18-03-2011, 11:56 PM
I like some of the old, wee grounds that have been mentioned - nothing wrong with a bit of character.

:agree: and at most of them that still exist in their original form you can still stand at and actually see the pitch.

Which takes me back to Parkhead :bitchy:

How much do they charge again for a restricted view?

Restricted view!!! How the hell is that even allowed these days :confused:

Give me the old, wee grounds anyday before being treated like an animal in that East end of Glasgow excuse for a stadium.

KiddA
19-03-2011, 12:01 AM
Somerset Park when we were last in the 1st division. It felt like I just walked into a building site :agree:

19-03-2011, 12:25 AM
Ibrox, without a shadow of a doubt. Full of easy targets.

However, R.I.P. Jean Ayton.

not all huns are bad.

19-03-2011, 12:29 AM
Hampden - an absolute hole of a place, miles away from the pitch, and in Glasgow. Fail.:rolleyes:

19-03-2011, 01:26 PM
For me it would probably have to be Central Park, Cowdenbeath

:agree: Barely fit for cattle.

19-03-2011, 01:50 PM
I went to an Albion Rovers v Buckie Thistle cup tie in the late seventies. You had to walk across the pitch to get to the space where the Buckie fans had congregated. When people from Buckie are describing somewhere as a dump you know you are in a real hovel.

19-03-2011, 02:32 PM
I was at an Arbroath game around this time last year. Gayfield I think it's called. Not the nicest of places.

Celtic Park runs it a close second. An absolute dump, the surrounding area looks like Chernobyl. Pitiful view from the away end and you can just tell the place was rebuilt on the cheap.

Dishonourable mentions for Arniston Rangers, the old City Park, Boghead, Stair Park, Tynecastle and Central Park.

19-03-2011, 02:34 PM

Every time I went to Brockville they seemed to have taped off more of the terrace behind the goal on safety grounds.

Some rank grounds I have been to include:

Brisbane Road, Leyton (before redevelopment)

Boghead (aptly named)

Edgeley Park, Stockport (rusting stands and crumbling terraces)

Burnden Park, Bolton (half of th area behind one goal had be sold to a supermarket)

19-03-2011, 02:35 PM
Most of the grounds mentioned hardly merit being called a stadium. The 2 worst places to watch a game were the old celtic park and Hampden bad views and so far away you just about needed binoculars from behind the goals.

19-03-2011, 03:56 PM
Broomfield Airdrie

Old Hampden 1972 SF v Rangers - oceans of p*ss to walk thru

Tynecastle all been said

Not been to Bo'ness United since 1970 so I presume what was once a tidy little ground has had no work done since

19-03-2011, 04:02 PM
Broomfield Airdrie

Old Hampden 1972 SF v Rangers - oceans of p*ss to walk thru

Tynecastle all been said

Not been to Bo'ness United since 1970 so I presume what was once a tidy little ground has had no work done since

I liked Broomfield. Especially that wee hoose in the corner behind one of the goals.

19-03-2011, 04:40 PM
I liked Broomfield. Especially that wee hoose in the corner behind one of the goals.

I like most of the wee old grounds folks are girning about here.

The times I've been at Gayfield I've wrapped up warm and been fine. All you need is a set of skins, three layers of thermals and one of those bright orange survival suits. And a catheter and leg-bag in case you need to go pee. Can't see the problem.

Pittodrie's just as cold, and far more of a dump. And the Caley Stadium's Arctic in winter and built of Lego. And the Main Stand (:faf:) looks directly into the setting sun - great idea that was.

And Cliftonhill isn't the worst ground in Lanarkshire by any means - not as long as Fir Park's still standing. Same applies to New Broomfield - drab and out in the sticks, right enough, but at least the pitch is reasonable and you can actually see the game. Not a patch on the old ground, though.

The worst ground in Scotland has to be Tynecastle - shabby, smelly, full of unpleasant people, old stand falling down, 'new' stands eyesores.

No competition that I can see.

19-03-2011, 04:49 PM

And it was always good for a snow ball fight :greengrin. Broomfield, Firhill, Brockville were all dumps but were always a good day out. Another place that was a right keek whole was the old rugby park.

Eaststand
19-03-2011, 04:52 PM
Dumbarton and Cowdenbeath were grim stadiums, but what about the FC Leige ground...I seem to remember that ground was a dump

jax67
19-03-2011, 04:52 PM
the pink palace for me, worst filthiest stadium in the world, you can smell it from the top of Leith walk on a hot day:greengrin:cgwa

19-03-2011, 05:00 PM
Dumbarton and Cowdenbeath were grim stadiums, but what about the FC Leige ground...even though it was in Brussels I seem to remember that ground was a dump

Why would FC Liege have a stadium in Brussels?

Eaststand
19-03-2011, 05:05 PM
Why would FC Liege have a stadium in Brussels?

We stayed in a hotel in Brussels centre before the game and took a Brussels underground to the game, so unless I had too many cheap beers, I think thats where it was ??

19-03-2011, 05:25 PM
We stayed in a hotel in Brussels centre before the game and took a Brussels underground to the game, so unless I had too many cheap beers, I think thats where it was ??

Have we played Liege????? Anderlecht game was Brussels :greengrin.

19-03-2011, 05:25 PM

Are you sure it was not F C Lierse?

19-03-2011, 05:31 PM

I was at the FC Leige game and the Anderlecht games.

Both times I stayed in Brussels.

No way did anybody get an underground train from Brussels to Leige, although it was dark!!!!!!!

19-03-2011, 05:35 PM

Yup. Drew 0-0 at ER; lost 1-0 in ET to a wonder strike from about 40 yards out. November 1989.

We've also played Anderlecht and Lierse. Anderlecht are in Brussels and Lierse is in the Antwerp area.

RFC Liege played at the Stade Vélodrome de Rocourt in Liege up to 1994, when they went bankrupt and the stadium was sold. They've been 'homeless' ever since - played in a number of different grounds. They're no longer in the top division.

19-03-2011, 05:47 PM
Tynecastle, *****hole of a place. Stinks to high heaven and is inhabited most weeks with the dross of the planet.

19-03-2011, 06:32 PM
I was at the FC Leige game and the Anderlecht games.

Both times I stayed in Brussels.

No way did anybody get an underground train from Brussels to Leige, although it was dark!!!!!!!

Liege is 90km from Brussels deep in the Walloon Region.

The Lierse stadium is not far from Brussels.

19-03-2011, 07:15 PM
Liege is 90km from Brussels deep in the Walloon Region.

The Lierse stadium is not far from Brussels.

That is why I said there was no way he got an underground train from Brussels to Leige.

What we have to establish was it the Liege game in the UEFA Cup I'm talking about or some other time when we supposedly played Lierse.

19-03-2011, 08:46 PM

Yes I was there , a tip no doubt , also agree with another poster even for a junior ground Arniston was a tip also went to the Baseball Ground for Derby Man U in the early 70's that was a very poor ground for English top flight.

St.Kristopher
19-03-2011, 09:56 PM
Don't know about worst but I kicked a hole in Summerst Park. I was trying to drum up a song at the back on the rusty corrugated iron wall - Di Di Di (crap my foot has just kicked a chunk out of the stand - took 3 fellow Hibees to pull me out.)

Wee Russell's first game if I remember rightly 3-3 with a John Hughes double and a goal from Mixu.

19-03-2011, 10:20 PM
Central Park, Cowdenbeath, 1993. ****** hole :agree:

magpie1892
19-03-2011, 10:35 PM
Central Park, Cowdenbeath, 1993. ****** hole :agree:

I was there last month and it's not changed at all except for a sort of social club/mini-stand that was being built when Hibs played there in the 1993 Cup game.

Desperate ground for football. Probably ideal for stock car racing.

20-03-2011, 12:15 AM
Don't know about worst but I kicked a hole in Summerst Park. I was trying to drum up a song at the back on the rusty corrugated iron wall - Di Di Di (crap my foot has just kicked a chunk out of the stand - took 3 fellow Hibees to pull me out.)

Wee Russell's first game if I remember rightly 3-3 with a John Hughes double and a goal from Mixu.

Aye, Hibs were 3-1 down and pulled it back with two late goals and nearly got a winner after Hughes headed the equalizer.

GORDONSMITH7
20-03-2011, 12:58 AM
The 'stadium' in the village of Roxborough in Tobago in 2000.

2-1 for Hibs Vs Tobago Select. Dirk the porn star sent off.

Just remembered that one in Vilnius, Lithuania was pretty grim too. The scabby red,white or blue plastic seats were all carted across there when the old stand at Ibrox was knocked down a local guy told me at the match.

BIG G

francobaresi
20-03-2011, 07:02 AM
Ibrox & White Heart Lane, the atmosphere at both these grounds in the 80's was trully poisonous for away fans. Dread going to Ibrox even now. I'd rather go to Tynecastle...:wink:

20-03-2011, 07:30 AM
Brockville was a tip, never liked that place ..:agree:

20-03-2011, 08:53 AM
Ibrox & White Heart Lane, the atmosphere at both these grounds in the 80's was trully poisonous for away fans. Dread going to Ibrox even now. I'd rather go to Tynecastle...:wink:

To be fair, I think you'd get the same response from opposing fans regarding visits to ER in the 80s!

Bothwell Bridge anyone?

20-03-2011, 09:13 AM
Daugavpils ground wasnae up to much!

20-03-2011, 10:33 AM

Is that the one Joe McBride scored pretty much from the kick off?

20-03-2011, 12:14 PM

That comment is out of order. Having visited Chernobyl and Prypiat I can assure you it is far less run down than Parkhead!

20-03-2011, 12:15 PM
That comment is out of order. Having visited Chernobyl and Prypiat I can assure you it is far less run down than Parkhead!

Eaststand
20-03-2011, 12:53 PM
That is why I said there was no way he got an underground train from Brussels to Leige.

What we have to establish was it the Liege game in the UEFA Cup I'm talking about or some other time when we supposedly played Lierse.

I was also at the Anderlecht game a couple of years after we had played FC Liege and a crowd of us stayed in the same hotel as we'd stayed in for the Liege game... I think it was called the Palace Hotel and it was right beside a railway bridge that led into the red light district... ahem

The Anderlecht stadium was a cracker, but my crap stadium comment was aimed at the FC Liege stadium...... I actually thought it was in Brussels and we'd got an underground train from Brussels centre out to the ground.
That Belgian beer was strong though..............:cheers:

20-03-2011, 01:01 PM
Cold Blow Lane, Milwall.

Would have said Cowdenbeath but went and didn't make it all the way to the stadium. Bl**dy Polis! :rolleyes:

20-03-2011, 01:30 PM
Ibrox IMO

20-03-2011, 03:05 PM
I was also at the Anderlecht game a couple of years after we had played FC Liege and a crowd of us stayed in the same hotel as we'd stayed in for the Liege game... I think it was called the Palace Hotel and it was right beside a railway bridge that led into the red light district... ahem

The Anderlecht stadium was a cracker, but my crap stadium comment was aimed at the FC Liege stadium...... I actually thought it was in Brussels and we'd got an underground train from Brussels centre out to the ground.
That Belgian beer was strong though..............:cheers:

At the time we played them they were rapidly going bankrupt - I think they had to sell that stadium a couple of years later just to pay off their debts.

So no wonder it wasn't quite up to SPL standards...

20-03-2011, 03:20 PM
Worst stadium i've been too has to be Falkirks. Not so much the stadium (even although it is a complete s***ehole) But more to do with the location of it and its inhabitants. :agree:

No offence FH... :greengrin

21-03-2011, 12:22 PM
Tynecastle.

21-03-2011, 12:43 PM
Tynecastle.

Heavens Andy, what a surprise to see you come back with that response :greengrin

Tynecastle is indeed a tip, in a pish part of town, but Porkheid is streets ahead even of Tynecastle IMO

21-03-2011, 12:46 PM
Heavens Andy, what a surprise to see you come back with that response :greengrin

Tynecastle is indeed a tip, in a pish part of town, but Porkheid is streets ahead even of Tynecastle IMO

That main stand at Tiny is an absolute eyesore :agree:

Ill throw in Bogheid tae..Pish running doon the terraces just efter half time :hilarious

Hibiza
21-03-2011, 01:31 PM
kilbowie

Gingertosser
21-03-2011, 03:33 PM
Zalgiris Stadium in Vilnius, Lithuania.....was truly awful, how it got clearance to host a UEFA licensed match is mind boggling.

21-03-2011, 03:35 PM
kilbowie

Now THAT really was an absolute ***** hole :agree:

22-03-2011, 11:34 AM
Worst stadium i've been too has to be Falkirks. Not so much the stadium (even although it is a complete s***ehole) But more to do with the location of it and its inhabitants. :agree:

:rotflmao: And that from someone living in Dunfermline:na na:

Worst for me??? Dunno really. Kinda agree that a lot of these old parks at least had a bit of atmosphere about them. Muirton, Firs Park, Ochilview, Brockville. All rubbish stadiums but OK in my opinion. I think a toss up between Celtc Park (purely for the build quality) and Swiney for obvious reasons would be my choices.

22-03-2011, 06:01 PM

The old stadium was in a cracking location. Right next to the station with plenty of pubs around about.

22-03-2011, 06:04 PM
The old stadium was in a cracking location. Right next to the station with plenty of pubs around about.

I liked Brockville as a trip.

The Drookit Duck and a wee snooker club was our usual haunts before the game.

22-03-2011, 06:55 PM
:rotflmao: And that from someone living in Dunfermline:na na:

Worst for me??? Dunno really. Kinda agree that a lot of these old parks at least had a bit of atmosphere about them. Muirton, Firs Park, Ochilview, Brockville. All rubbish stadiums but OK in my opinion. I think a toss up between Celtc Park (purely for the build quality) and Swiney for obvious reasons would be my choices.

:agree: I miss grounds like Brockville. Hardly any atmosphere in most modern stadia.

CabbageBoy
22-03-2011, 08:40 PM
At the time we played them they were rapidly going bankrupt - I think they had to sell that stadium a couple of years later just to pay off their debts.

So no wonder it wasn't quite up to SPL standards...

That will be down to one Jean Marc Bosman; it was RFC Liege that he sued to leave in the court case that won freedom of contract.

Their ground was OK; IIRC it was used as the model for the FF and South stands (or that was the chat at the time)

CabbageBoy
22-03-2011, 08:42 PM
Worst place I've ever watched a game in; miles up, miles away, surrounded by corporate shills (Coke I think), and had paid about £100 (in 98) to see Scotland lose to Brazil.

Best trip with the TA though

vanNISHtelroy
22-03-2011, 08:45 PM
In my totally unbiased opinion it's Summerset Park.

Apart from the obvious flaws with it...haven't seen us win there and first time I went it was bouncing down with rain and Andy Walker scored a treble!

richard_pitts
22-03-2011, 09:09 PM
The old Wembley for me in 1990 - Charity Shield Man U v Liverpool. Corking game, but the stadium was a tip. P*sh running down the stairs at half-time, food was well dodgy, crap seats and the public transport was a death trap. :bitchy: Should have been pulled down long before.

delbert
22-03-2011, 09:18 PM
Have to say that Cliftonhill in the 80's took a bit of beating, an absolute dump of the highest order, and its not all that much better now. I remember being told by a referee mate of mine about a particular joy waiting for me in the referees changing room, and I thought he was on the wind up, but on my first visit there I found out he was telling me the truth. There was an open drain which ran through the referees room, and basically when the guys in the home team took a piss, it ran right through the referees room, it was like being in a time warp. Mind you if they thought you had a particularly piss match, it was a nice eay way to make the comment without getting into trouble !! Health and safety at work eh ??

JoeTortolanoFanClub
22-03-2011, 09:35 PM
Zalgiris Stadium in Vilnius, Lithuania.....was truly awful, how it got clearance to host a UEFA licensed match is mind boggling.

I played there for the Tartan Army Select in September 2006. If you think the facilities for the spectators were bad, believe me the changing rooms were even worse. As for the pitch, well if it was a golf course I think I would be opting to take a drop the grass was so long ! Still a great experience, though.

Whos-the-poster
22-03-2011, 10:08 PM
going to have to say the withdean(Brighton),to see them against plymouth. temporary tiny block stands made up from wobbly scaffolding and a stupid running track which makes the pitch seem miles away. brilliant football i must say.

22-03-2011, 10:37 PM
Growing up following Livingston with my dad, we seen nearly every stadium there was in the lower leagues, right through to the SPL and a couple of European stadiums when Livi made the UEFA Cup.

Stadia like Cliftonhill, Central Park and the old Boghead ground were utterly deplorable. I was at Cliftonhill last season, and it's not improved any.

Another 2 I'd give a "nod" to are Recreation Park and Hampden. I went along to Recreation with an Aberdeen supporting mate, last year in the Scottish Cup and I've never been as wet as I was when the final whistle went. If you're not a ST holder in the main stand, you get wet and boy, did it chuck it down!

The other is Hampden, not as an overall stadium (though it's not great), but specifically when it's host to Queens Park matches - I went along to watch them host Livingston last year and having a few hundred people watching a game in such a vast stadium is such a dour experience.

22-03-2011, 10:51 PM

None taken.

I don't actually stay in Falkirk proper anyway. I come from the leafy suburbs, a couple of miles outside Falkirk town centre.

Don't agree with you that Falkirk's stadium is the worst though. It's not ideal that it only has 3 stands at the moment but I think it was one of the better grounds in the SPL before Falkirk were relegated.

Much more pleasing on the eye than Fir Park for a start. :agree:

sparkiehibs
22-03-2011, 11:51 PM
Hamilton