View Full Version : NHC Why would any decent Hibs fan support......

17-03-2011, 07:47 PM
Man united? Other than they are a glory hunter. It makes me sick. Discuss.

17-03-2011, 07:48 PM
Why would any Hibs fan support any English team full stop?

Hibs are the only team I need.

17-03-2011, 07:49 PM

What English team do you support?

BurghHibby
17-03-2011, 07:51 PM

Did you ever see George Best in his heyday?
Now that's what you called a fitba player, throw in Denis Law and slapheid Charlton and they were exciting to watch.

The Big No.9
17-03-2011, 07:52 PM
Hate them, hate them, hate them.....they think they have a god given right to win everygame, biggest bunch of whingers and moaners i have ever seen.

And dont get me started on fergusson, if they are behind in games he wants 13 mins injury time and moans his ass off when they only get 6 mins

17-03-2011, 07:52 PM
You're just all bored cos there's no games on.

Can't wait to get back to matches actually being played and we can have threads slagging people off for sensible reasons, like Singing Sections, Prawn Sandwich Brigades, fans arriving late, fans arriving early, fans not turning up, fans turning up that you wish hadn't bothered, etc........

17-03-2011, 07:53 PM
You're just all bored cos there's no games on.

Can't wait to get back to matches actually being played and we can have threads slagging people off for sensible reasons, like Singing Sections, Prawn Sandwich Brigades, fans arriving late, fans arriving early, fans not turning up, fans turning up that you wish hadn't bothered, etc........

:agree: this is as bad as the close season

17-03-2011, 07:53 PM

They just do it to annoy you.

17-03-2011, 07:54 PM
There's a massive difference between supporting a team by looking out for their result on the scoreboard and keeping an eye out for them on MOTD compared to spending £80 on a ticket, £45 on a trip and £4.50 on a pukka pie! I can kind off understand and accept the first example.... In saying that any daftie that supports Chelsea and Man City need to get a grip!

17-03-2011, 07:55 PM
I tend to dislike all big, succesfull teams. I don't like seeing foreigners here buying OF tops so don't fancy going abroad and helping their glory hunting equivalents. Tried hard to buy a Real Mallorca top whilst their with no success but could have bought thousands of Barca and Real tops.

17-03-2011, 07:56 PM

I watch Halifax sometimes in the glue league. Standard is bad though. You?

17-03-2011, 07:57 PM
Maybe they admire the fact that a Scottish manager has dominated English football for the past 25 years.

Maybe they grew up admiring the likes of Beckham, Giggs, Scholes, (G & P) Neville, Keane etc.

Maybe those of the older generation grew up admiring the likes of Charlton, Law and Best.

Maybe they admire the football they play.

There's a whole host of reasons for why supporters of a club like Hibs would be a fan of a club like Manchester Utd. There's loads of people on here who go on about Liverpool, Manchester City, Arsenal and Barcelona.

Why not speak about them?

17-03-2011, 07:59 PM
:yawn: :yawn: :yawn:

Not as bad as *****y American sports though :agree:

17-03-2011, 08:01 PM
They don't make me sick.

17-03-2011, 08:02 PM

Would it surprise you to learn that HH supports.........Man City?

GIRUY John.:bye::na na:

17-03-2011, 08:03 PM
Maybe they admire the fact that a Scottish manager has dominated English football for the past 25 years.

Maybe they grew up admiring the likes of Beckham, Giggs, Scholes, (G & P) Neville, Keane etc.

Maybe those of the older generation grew up admiring the likes of Charlton, Law and Best.

There's a whole host of reasons for why supporters of a club like Hibs would be a fan of a club like Manchester Utd. There's loads of people on here who go on about Liverpool, Manchester City, Arsenal and Barcelona.

17-03-2011, 08:03 PM
It's not half good to see a Scot dominate the English leagues. They can't stand it, and it doesn't half make me chuckle when every Steve McLaren and Graham Taylor becomes the great white hope.....only to fall on thier arse.

17-03-2011, 08:04 PM
...because supporting a sporting franchise... sorry, I mean football team that rarely loses, makes up for a sense of disappointment in their lives? :dunno:

17-03-2011, 08:05 PM
Would it surprise you to learn that HH supports.........Man City?

GIRUY John.:bye::na na:
I will start supporting them when I can get on a ground tour. I went to city's ground once. England played and it was bad trust me.

17-03-2011, 08:05 PM
...because supporting a sporting franchise... sorry, I mean football team that rarely loses, makes up for a sense of disappointment in their lives? :dunno:

....or a small nob

17-03-2011, 08:07 PM
....or a small nob

...or both...

17-03-2011, 08:08 PM

Believe me, if Hibs lose to Hearts in a lunchtime kick off and Manchester Utd go on to beat Liverpool later on in the day, that wouldn't even come close to cheering me up.

17-03-2011, 08:09 PM
...or both...

Probably

17-03-2011, 08:09 PM
Christ who the hell cares? Why should anyone from Scotland support Liverpool? We seem to have more than a few.

I bet we all watch English football from time to time, I don't support any English team, but I like to see any with a Scottish influence do well, so at the moment I keep an eye on Wolves, Blackpool and the like, and yeah, Man Utd.

In any case, why ask people to quantify why they support a club, or feel you have any right to question that, may as well berate someone as to why they love their wife for Christ's sake!

17-03-2011, 08:11 PM
...may as well berate someone as to why they love their wife

She does the washing, ironing, makes my tea and has got big chebs. No brainer :agree:

17-03-2011, 08:11 PM
They don't make me sick.Well go and be sick somewhere else.

Honestly, the current .net Man United witch hunt, and the snide wee digs which are being directed at Falkirk Hibee, are tiresome, boring, repetive, unwarranted and there's no need whatsoever.

Everybody on here is a Hibs supporter. Some choose to follow an English side aswell. Wow. Get over yourself.

17-03-2011, 08:16 PM
God I agree with Sean here. I like the Leeds and an not to fond of Man U. But I aint gonna moan at anyone who does.

If you support the cabbage and ribs you can have a soft spot for the taliban for all I care.

17-03-2011, 08:22 PM

This thread has potential.

By the way, I don't have a wife, nor do I support the Taliban.

USA USA USA

c31
17-03-2011, 08:22 PM
I like watching Man U at least their fans never through bricks n bottles at Hibs fans like Liverpool fans did when we played them at anfield years ago. Every time I watch Liverpool on the telly I want them to get hammered because of that memory

17-03-2011, 08:24 PM

This thread has potential.

By the way, I don't have a wife, nor do I support the Taliban.

USA USA USA

:hmmm: see you didn't deny the small nob then :greengrin

17-03-2011, 08:27 PM
It doesn't really bother me to be honest.

I get far more pissed off with OF supporters from parts of Scotland as far away from Glasgow as you can possibly get. I used to live in Aberdeen where the buses used to pick people up to take them off to see Celtic or Rangers, while Pittodrie would be half empty.

17-03-2011, 08:29 PM

She wears a Norwich scarf to Hibs games :agree:

17-03-2011, 08:30 PM

She wears a Norwich scarf to Hibs games :agree:

17-03-2011, 08:31 PM
:hmmm: see you didn't deny the small nob then :greengrin

I did that just for you B. :greengrin

Feed McGraw
17-03-2011, 08:31 PM
I don`t give a flying one about any english team or any other team on the planet other than Hibs. I have never understood why anyone would care about any other club,other than their own. As far as I`m concerned you can only support one club and find it a bit odd that people can support multiple clubs.

17-03-2011, 08:33 PM
I did that just for you B. :greengrin

:shhhsh!:

17-03-2011, 08:33 PM
Watching english football as a neutral is far more enjoyable than I think it would be if watching it as the supporter of any team.

17-03-2011, 08:36 PM
Your having a shocker there. Deffo.

17-03-2011, 08:40 PM
Your having a shocker there. Deffo.

Green_one
17-03-2011, 08:41 PM
Not that I have to explain myself but its simple

I lived in the day of Best, Law and Charlton (exciting just to say those names)

I also lived in the day when there was almost no footie on TV and having an English team to watch on MOTD made sense. Still does. Watching games that have no bearing on yourself loses tension etc. I loath Italian football as I cannot get interested in any team. Man United always had a panache to them even when they were poor. And they had Munich. At the time Arsenal were boring, Leeds were thugs, and only Liverpool had any class to them.

As for glory hunting. I can assure you there was damned little Glory post the 60s. Despite that Man United were (and still are) the best supprted team in the UK. Even the 70s they were tops, the season they were relegated and the season in the lower division. Higher than Liverpool who were riding high at that point. United have something you either love or loath, but that applies to many clubs.

Yes I understand that a lot of people hate Man United but it verges on irrational most of the time. If you were a Liverpool fan then fair enough but a Hibs fan ???? I hate the OF but I have seen them up close too many times. I have been to loads of Scottish games where Hibs were not involved and I did not feel like a traitor. Going to see Man United (as with all the really big clubs) is a different level. You cannot sit with 10k fans watching third rate players in a game that means almost nothing, with no quality and think its not different. I have supported Hibs all my life and as the wife will tell you every saturday we lose its Castle Gloom in our house. Most of the time its not football its emotional purgatory.

Oh and if you think the 'we hate United' thing worries us then you are way out. Fergie has built his team ethos on it. He is still playing on it to this day. And whatever you say, its hard to disregard the success, the quality of play and players United have had. Yes there is arrogance at United but winners are. :greengrin. Ever spoken to a Real Madrid fan? Are there glory hunters in the ranks - of course but that is true of almost every big club (except City:devil:)

I finish on saying this post is a waste of time as you have made up your mind and are not really listening but sit in your little hole of prejudice. If your theory applies to United then it must also apply in at least some part to everyone who has a team beyond Hibs. No, its just United that are the devil in carnate :devil:
Yadda yadda yadda. Go on, do the Cockney Manchester thing, you know you want to. :na na: Anyway, must pop down the apples and pears and have my tea.
Glory Glory (works for both see)

17-03-2011, 08:43 PM
Why is there always one to spoil a serious thread.

17-03-2011, 08:45 PM
Hate Man U, Chelski, Arsenal, Liverpool etc.. I'm Hibs and West Ham always have been always will be.

Sergy Pie
17-03-2011, 08:46 PM
If you support the cabbage and ribs you can have a soft spot for the taliban for all I care.

What colour of strip do they play in? :hmmm:

17-03-2011, 08:47 PM
Not that I have to explain myself but its simple

I lived in the day of Best, Law and Charlton (exciting just to say those names)

I also lived in the day when there was almost no footie on TV and having an English team to watch on MOTD made sense. Still does. Watching games that have no bearing on yourself loses tension etc. I loath Italian football as I cannot get interested in any team. Man United always had a panache to them even when they were poor. And they had Munich. At the time Arsenal were boring, Leeds were thugs, and only Liverpool had any class to them.

As for glory hunting. I can assure you there was damned little Glory post the 60s. Despite that Man United were (and still are) the best supprted team in the UK. Even the 70s they were tops, the season they were relegated and the season in the lower division. Higher than Liverpool who were riding high at that point. United have something you either love or loath, but that applies to many clubs.

Yes I understand that a lot of people hate Man United but it verges on irrational most of the time. If you were a Liverpool fan then fair enough but a Hibs fan ???? I hate the OF but I have seen them up close too many times. I have been to loads of Scottish games where Hibs were not involved and I did not feel like a traitor. Going to see Man United (as with all the really big clubs) is a different level. You cannot sit with 10k fans watching third rate players in a game that means almost nothing, with no quality and think its not different. I have supported Hibs all my life and as the wife will tell you every saturday we lose its Castle Gloom in our house. Most of the time its not football its emotional purgatory.

Oh and if you think the 'we hate United' thing worries us then you are way out. Fergie has built his team ethos on it. He is still playing on it to this day. And whatever you say, its hard to disregard the success, the quality of play and players United have had. Yes there is arrogance at United but winners are. :greengrin. Ever spoken to a Real Madrid fan? Are there glory hunters in the ranks - of course but that is true of almost every big club (except City:devil:)

I finish on saying this post is a waste of time as you have made up your mind and are not really listening but sit in your little hole of prejudice. If your theory applies to United then it must also apply in at least some part to everyone who has a team beyond Hibs. No, its just United that are the devil in carnate :devil:
Yadda yadda yadda. Go on, do the Cockney Manchester thing, you know you want to. :na na: Anyway, must pop down the apples and pears and have my tea.
Glory Glory (works for both see)

Anyone that says WE when talking about man u is clearly not a hibs fan. Next.

17-03-2011, 08:48 PM
Why is there always one to spoil a serious thread.The Thread Police are out in force I see.

17-03-2011, 08:48 PM

:faf: life's to short.

Well unless you are a Man U fan :wink:

17-03-2011, 08:49 PM

I only support Hibs, however I do prefer Man Utd to any other English club.

Who should I 'support' then in England, afc Wimbledon? Bolton? Just to be a 'real' football fan.

17-03-2011, 08:49 PM
The Thread Police are out in force I see.

It's his thread :greengrin

17-03-2011, 08:50 PM

:faf: See, now you are having a laugh.

You ask people to justify why they are fans of Manchester United just because you can't stand them? And also inferring in your thread title that you cannot be a decent Hibs fan if you do follow Manchester United.

Deary me.

17-03-2011, 08:51 PM
:faf: See, now you are having a laugh.

You ask people to justify why they are fans of Manchester United just because you can't stand them? And also inferring in your thread title that you cannot be a decent Hibs fan if you do follow Manchester United.

Deary me.

Decent Hibs fans support the Gunners. FACT :agree:

17-03-2011, 08:53 PM
I only support Hibs, however I do prefer Man Utd to any other English club.

Who should I 'support' then in England, afc Wimbledon? Bolton? Just to be a 'real' football fan.

Wrexham, cardiff or swansea. Let me know who you pick.

17-03-2011, 08:58 PM

https://www.specialistauctions.com/cache/cache_500_1__httpwwwfootybitscoukimagespissingunit edarsenaljpg.img?6415

17-03-2011, 09:00 PM
Wrexham, cardiff or swansea. Let me know who you pick.Is this guy for real?

Surely 'real' fans wouldn't follow any sheep-****gin' Welsh outfit?

17-03-2011, 09:06 PM
There's a massive difference between supporting a team by looking out for their result on the scoreboard and keeping an eye out for them on MOTD compared to spending £80 on a ticket, £45 on a trip and £4.50 on a pukka pie! I can kind off understand and accept the first example.... In saying that any daftie that supports Chelsea and Man City need to get a grip!

My lads got a Man U season ticket as well as a Hibs one, cost £650. seat around the half way line and gets a Man U supporters bus from Dreghorn for £15 return. If you could afford it whether it's Man u/ Liverpool/ Spurs would you not think about it.

delbert
17-03-2011, 09:13 PM
Never had an English team, never will, could'nt care less about any team other than my team, Hibernian F.C., that's all the football I am ever gonna need !!

Hibstrooper
17-03-2011, 09:13 PM
I don't support man united as I have never given them a penny in my life. However I do like to see them do well and prefer them to any of the other big clubs in England.

The reason for this is simple - the Scottish connection through Fletch and Fergie. I always like to see teams with a Scottish player or two doing well as it's good for the national team.

Fletch has been established in the team for a long time now so I've started to get fond of the whole team as I've rooted for them to do well for a while.

Do I get upset when they lose, no. Am i happy when they score, yes. Do I cheer, not usually unless it is fletcher.

Ps - I do hate Liverpool though

17-03-2011, 09:14 PM
They don't make me sick.

Why not tell us all why that is the case and why the Man Utd fans do then so we can understand why you feel that way? :hmmm: :dunno:

17-03-2011, 09:19 PM
Why not tell us all why that is the case and why the Man Utd fans do then so we can understand why you feel that way? :hmmm: :dunno:

It's a family board so I'm not allowed.

NorthfieldHibee
17-03-2011, 09:21 PM
Come on you spuuuuuuuuuuuuuuurs !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

17-03-2011, 09:22 PM
Thank you for tonight's entertainment. Look out for tomorrow's topic. :)

Hibstrooper
17-03-2011, 09:26 PM

How about why would any decent Hibs fan have such an unhealthy hatred for Man United :wink:

17-03-2011, 09:27 PM

How about Where did Shteeve McLaren learn to speak so much pish?

17-03-2011, 09:29 PM
Thank you for tonight's entertainment. Look out for tomorrow's topic. :)What a fud this guy's been. Been on the bevvy?

Harpandcastle
17-03-2011, 09:33 PM
If I had to spend time in a ******** like Halifax I would probably harbour a grudge against life aswell. I drove through it once and was depressed for a fortnight. What a toilet of a town.

17-03-2011, 09:35 PM
While I'm no lover of Man Utd, Chelsea etc, it's fair enough for a supporter of a Scottish club to be a fan of an English one whatever club it is. Ha'way the Lads!

Far worse was living in Co Durham with 3 teams, Sunderland, Newcastle and 'Boro nearby and there will still Man Utd and Liverpool shirts dotted about. Not as many as OF shirts in Edinburgh though :grr:

17-03-2011, 09:41 PM

francobaresi
17-03-2011, 10:29 PM

I was born a mile and a half from Old Trafford, lived there for four years so support Man U. I started supporting Hibs when I came up here because my dad did when he was a lad. Glory hunter, no, my local team!
People hate Man U through nothing more than jealousy, if Fergie was a successful Hibs manager winning Champions Leagues & Scottish Cups every year then we would be the hated team.

Don't feel sick, just accept that success breads jealousy and Man U haven't always been successful :wink:

17-03-2011, 10:37 PM
Well go and be sick somewhere else.

Honestly, the current .net Man United witch hunt, and the snide wee digs which are being directed at Falkirk Hibee, are tiresome, boring, repetive, unwarranted and there's no need whatsoever.

Everybody on here is a Hibs supporter. Some choose to follow an English side aswell. Wow. Get over yourself.

Absolutely spot on.

Folk can 'support' whatever English team they like.

For what it's worth i liked Man Utd in the 90s and early 00s, they were brilliant to watch and had some players who were class acts. I admit i chose them as my English club because they won a lot, so what? I couldn't give a toss about Man Utd now really although i still look out for their result.

The only other team i 'support' is Barcelona because i lived their for a while and had a season ticket at Camp Nou and still go over once or twice a season.

The OPs post was pathetic, a 'decent Hibs fan' can't support Man Utd? What a load of pish, at the end of the day we are all Hibs fans, who gives a flying one what other teams folk like?

17-03-2011, 10:51 PM
Why would any decent Hibs fan start a thread having a go at other Hibs fans for supporting an English team?

18-03-2011, 06:56 AM

Gary, that post has hurt my feelings.

18-03-2011, 07:11 AM
My best mate is a Everton fan, so have been to 1 or 2 everton games every year for the last 4 or 5 seasons. I really do compare them to Hibs. Loyal support, perrennial underachievers, able to produce not bad teams on a shoestring. Used as a stepping stone to the big boys, and (unfortunately true) overshadowed by their City rivals. And we both sing "...for its a grand old team to play for" :thumbsup:

18-03-2011, 07:19 AM

What a load of keek

You obviously have an agenda against Man Utd, it's not natural for anybody on here that likes Man Utd to make you "sick"

Get over it and stop being a phanny

And for what it's worth I like Man Utd and always have done since I was growing up Denis Law has always been one of my all-time heroes, if that makes you "sick" well, tough titty :dummytit:

vanNISHtelroy
18-03-2011, 07:23 AM
I'm neither decent or a Hibs fan, so is it ok for me to support Man Utd?

Support them because my mum and granpa support Liverpool cos they lived down there and they don't mind Everton, but hate Man Utd and Beckham (who at the time I started supporting them was still with them).

I've never been to a game and would prefer Killie making the top six (or avoiding relegation as it was last year) to Man Utd winning the league. Does this make me a Killie fan? :confused:

18-03-2011, 07:29 AM
So from this thread we have established a few have reason to support Man United and the rest are glory hunters :greengrin

Thread closed..... roll on Monday :-)

18-03-2011, 07:35 AM

You'd consider this to be a serious thread??

18-03-2011, 07:41 AM
You'd consider this to be a serious thread??

:faf:What do you think? :greengrin

HenryMonk
18-03-2011, 08:19 AM
Hate Man U, Chelski, Arsenal, Liverpool etc.. I'm Hibs and West Ham always have been always will be.

i hate west ham, comon you spurs!! and i will be there on saturday!!:wink:

andudare2
18-03-2011, 08:45 AM
Man united? Other than they are a glory hunter. It makes me sick. Discuss.had soft spot for man u almost as long as ive supported hibs, 2nd strip i ever got as a bairn, 1963 cup final 1 i think it was, law man on front of the box, seen them relegated, travelled on man u bus from waterloo place, mostly hibs fans on this bus, so what gives you the right to call me a gloryhunter, think your letting the fergie years cloud your judgement, been a loose connection between hibs & unt for eon,s. suggest you read busby,s book etc, then make a judgement.

aberhibsfc
18-03-2011, 09:54 AM

However Scots footie fans have a natural draw to teams with Scottish connections, with Fergie being one of our best managers it stands to reason why some may have an affiliation with them. As they will with Liverpool, Leeds, Blackburn and so on.

Also as they tend not to be competing directly people wont neccessarily see this as affiliating with an opposition.

PS, if Hibby's were glory hunting the would probably most likely not follow Hibs.

18-03-2011, 09:55 AM

The real reason being so that they can come on here and say how well "Their team" are doing and that Arsenal, Chelsea, Man City and Liverpool etc are inferior. That despite them never been within a 200 mile radius of Old Trafford.

They know who they are. :agree:

18-03-2011, 10:05 AM
Christ who the hell cares? Why should anyone from Scotland support Liverpool? We seem to have more than a few.

I bet we all watch English football from time to time, I don't support any English team, but I like to see any with a Scottish influence do well, so at the moment I keep an eye on Wolves, Blackpool and the like, and yeah, Man Utd.

In any case, why ask people to quantify why they support a club, or feel you have any right to question that, may as well berate someone as to why they love their wife for Christ's sake!

Well said :thumbsup:
As the saying goes "To each his own"

18-03-2011, 10:08 AM
The real reason being so that they can come on here and say how well "Their team" are doing and that Arsenal, Chelsea, Man City and Liverpool etc are inferior. That despite them never been within a 200 mile radius of Old Trafford.

Do you have the same take on which political party people vote for ?
:wink::greengrin:devil:

18-03-2011, 10:16 AM

:blah::yawn:

18-03-2011, 10:21 AM
Do you have the same take on which political party people vote for ?
:wink::greengrin:devil:

I know nothing about politics but the quicker we vote Maggie out the better. Bloody poll tax.

Anyway back to the topic in hand. The word support needs to be used very carefully. I don't think it applies to someone who only sees "their team" on the telly or reads about them in the newspapers. Otherwise there would absent fathers out there declaring that they support their children when all they have done is looked out old photographs or videos of the kids and never once dipped their hands in their pockets.

As I have previously said, THEY KNOW WHO THEY ARE. :greengrin

7Hero
18-03-2011, 10:33 AM
i have long stated that people who support teams for non geographical reasons are making up in defficiencies in there own make up..

Simples.

As far as man u is considered this is the same as Celtic and Rangers and it is very very sad to see supporters flock to them.

Although the glory hunting Edinburgh Old Firm football fans really do my nut in, they are losers of the highest degree..

18-03-2011, 10:35 AM
Huns.

Love the Green
18-03-2011, 10:46 AM

Exactly easy to follow this type of team just like following the OF."

"Blue Moon since 1967
"Keep the Faith"

18-03-2011, 11:35 AM
I know nothing about politics but the quicker we vote Maggie out the better. Bloody poll tax.

Anyway back to the topic in hand. The word support needs to be used very carefully. I don't think it applies to someone who only sees "their team" on the telly or reads about them in the newspapers. Otherwise there would absent fathers out there declaring that they support their children when all they have done is looked out old photographs or videos of the kids and never once dipped their hands in their pockets.

As I have previously said, THEY KNOW WHO THEY ARE. :greengrin

You make a good point :thumbsup:
My father's cousin was Billy Liddel who played for Liverpool just after WW2 when I was a young lad .
My uncle played for the Hib's in the1920's and he took me to ER as an 8 year old - I was hooked !
Billy L invited us to Annfield on a number of occasions and I was hooked on Liverpool as well !
Can't see anything to get upset about at dong just that

18-03-2011, 11:40 AM
You make a good point :thumbsup:
My father's cousin was Billy Liddel who played for Liverpool just after WW2 when I was a young lad .
My uncle played for the Hib's in the1920's and he took me to ER as an 8 year old - I was hooked !
Billy L invited us to Annfield on a number of occasions and I was hooked on Liverpool as well !
Can't see anything to get upset about at dong just that

:aok: C'mon the Pool. Liverpool are my favourite English team but I wouldn't say I support them.

18-03-2011, 11:55 AM

Must be all the underachieving we're drawn to. :greengrin

18-03-2011, 12:52 PM
:aok: C'mon the Pool. Liverpool are my favourite English team but I wouldn't say I support them.

Exactly the same for me :agree:

18-03-2011, 12:56 PM

Decent Hibs fans concentrate their support solely on Hibs :wink::fishin::tee hee:

18-03-2011, 01:14 PM

exactly sums up my stance.

the only reason i started to support hibs is because my neighbour when i was 7 did. simple as that. :dunno:

that said, i have an irrational dislike for any team that plays in light blue, or blue in general for that matter (aside from everton, again not sure why, could be the scottish manager/former scottish players)

18-03-2011, 01:18 PM
our loyalties are usually formed at an early age...for a certain vintage of scotsman looking south, man utd were an unavoidable attraction...willie morgan,martin buchan,joe jordan,gordon mcqueen,denis law...how could you not support them?

18-03-2011, 02:15 PM

I remember the Man U team with Gordon McQueen, Joe Jordan, Lou Macari and others - all Scotland stalwarts who took us to World Cup Finals - and just about every Scottish kid had some sort of interest in them - of course that doesn't make ME personally a Man U fan, but would it be such a heinous crime if it did? I don't think so.

I can sympathise with any long suffering Hibs fan who enjoys following a slightly more successful side in another league - as long as they keep putting their ACTUAL hard earned through the turnstiles at Easter Road what's the problem???

HenryMonk
18-03-2011, 03:05 PM
If I had to spend time in a ******** like Halifax I would probably harbour a grudge against life aswell. I drove through it once and was depressed for a fortnight. What a toilet of a town.

Inbreds springs to mind!

MUPPET
18-03-2011, 03:45 PM
Why would any decent hibs supporter start this thread?

Hank Schrader
18-03-2011, 03:51 PM
Absolutely spot on.

Folk can 'support' whatever English team they like.

For what it's worth i liked Man Utd in the 90s and early 00s, they were brilliant to watch and had some players who were class acts. I admit i chose them as my English club because they won a lot, so what? I couldn't give a toss about Man Utd now really although i still look out for their result.

The only other team i 'support' is Barcelona because i lived their for a while and had a season ticket at Camp Nou and still go over once or twice a season.

The OPs post was pathetic, a 'decent Hibs fan' can't support Man Utd? What a load of pish, at the end of the day we are all Hibs fans, who gives a flying one what other teams folk like?

I can't better this post on any way PB, spot on :top marks

darwenhibby
18-03-2011, 04:52 PM
Got season tickets for bothe Hibs & Man U.

But would rather go to ER by train on a Saturday and support Hibs or rather eat my prawn sandwhich in the West Stand.

Tomorrow I will be at OT cheering on the REDS and hopefully taking one step closer to the 19th title.

:devil:We're Man United
We do what we want:devil:

18-03-2011, 05:23 PM
Did you ever see George Best in his heyday?
Now that's what you called a fitba player, throw in Denis Law and slapheid Charlton and they were exciting to watch.

That's what done it for me as well.

For the OP, I saw Best play against Scotland in the early seventies & I was hooked, I also saw him & Charlton play for an infirm select match against Scotland, in the Ibrox disaster benefit match, both were immense.

When I moved to England, I first lived in Manchester & two days after arriving, I met my new boss, who's brother played for United & he used to take me to matches on a regular basis & we always went in through the players entrance.

As for the glory hunter bit, I saw Hibs win a Trophy before I saw Man Utd win anything & I saw Man U relegated before I saw them win anything & they went down before Hibs did in 1980.

18-03-2011, 05:41 PM

Well said that man, my thoughts exactly. I do however however support a second team.............................................H ibs under 19s.

:hibees:hibees:hibees

18-03-2011, 06:06 PM
I don't see anything wrong with having a "second" team. I liked Man Utd in the 90s and was delighted when they won the Champions League in 1999. They are much less likeable now - too much arrogance, hardly any exciting signings (their current owners are a disgrace), the football isn't as good now either. I also hate the way commentators wet themselves every time Giggs, Rooney and Scholes kick the ball in a straight line.

To be honest, I would be bored rigid watching a game if I didn't CARE about either team. Does everybody who critiicizes folk for supprting Englsih teams never watch Englsih football? And if they do, do they just watch it completely neutral and impartial?

18-03-2011, 06:10 PM
I remember the Man U team with Gordon McQueen, Joe Jordan, Lou Macari and others - all Scotland stalwarts who took us to World Cup Finals - and just about every Scottish kid had some sort of interest in them - of course that doesn't make ME personally a Man U fan, but would it be such a heinous crime if it did? I don't think so.

I can sympathise with any long suffering Hibs fan who enjoys following a slightly more successful side in another league - as long as they keep putting their ACTUAL hard earned through the turnstiles at Easter Road what's the problem???

Spot on. I'd only have a problem if fans come along to Hibs games with, say, an Irish strip on, but that's another matter....

tooley
18-03-2011, 07:30 PM

:thumbsup::top marks

Tynie01011973
18-03-2011, 08:56 PM

Seriously, you need to remove that big chip off your shoulder. If you hate MU why feel the need to post in every single thread about Man U ?

Why would any non-OF Scottish Football supporter not want to watch or EVEN 'God Forbid' say that they 'support' an English team [obv priorities lie to the Cabbage] given that the standard between watching EPL v SPL is so big :dunno::dunno:

Your UserName suggests you come from some wee small Yoorkshire town - yet have this inane hatred of anything that is posted on this forum about Manchester United FC - War of the Roses stuff or just being a pr1ck ??
Funny how you have never posted what English Team it is that you support - given the Cheltenham Festival is on atm - my guess is you never backed the outsider 'HALIFAX TOWN; at 10,000-1

:na na::na na::na na:

Tynie01011973
18-03-2011, 09:12 PM
Sorry, does your hatred of 'Glory Hunters' also expand to supporters of other teams ???

Given the periods that English teams have been successful -
then anyone who chose to support Liverpool during the 1970-1980s is a 'Glory Hunter :dunno:
Anyone who chose to support Man U during the late 1990-to date are also 'Glory Hunters' :dunno:
Anyone who chose to support Chelski in the last 10 years ARE DEFINATELY Glory Hunters :greengrin:greengrin
Anyone who chose to support Arsenal in late 1990s -2005 - need to book a SPECSAVERS appointment with Arsene :devil:
Anyone who chose to support City - NEED TO SEE A SHRINK ASAP :devil:

capitals_finest
19-03-2011, 07:01 PM

Makes you sick? A hibs supporter that is a fan of another team - one of the best footballing teams over the last 20 years with a strong history of scottish managers/players - makes a 29 year old man sick?

I m a hibs supporter, followed the team all over the country, had season tickets for years, have a hibs tattoo and I m also a fan of Man United.... Do I make you sick?

19-03-2011, 08:23 PM
I really don't have any preference in English football, but I do like to watch their league. I do like to see the underdog win and thought it was great when Birmingham won the League Cup even though I appreciate the way Arsenal play, it was good to see a set of fans appreciate a win rather than those who just expect it, like Man Utd or Rantic fans.

19-03-2011, 08:28 PM
I have been a Hibs supporter for over 60 years and a football fan for all that time. Now because I enjoyed the football of Spurs in the early 60's Man u a few years later Leeds of the 70's , Man u and Arsenal in the 90's and 2000's , also all the teams that had Scots in them ie. Cloughies Notts Forest and Derby , Aston villa with Des Bremner , the romance always of Newcastle. Then there is the family connection with Everton and Man City. Also enjoyed the foreign teams like Archibalds Barca , Real Madrid in the 60's (when we could see them occasionally) , AC Milan with Gullit etc , Real Madrid with the Galacticos , and the current Barca (the best club side I can remember). I have been a FAN of all these sides and many more including Brazil of 1970 , does this mean I have not been a Hibs supporter while watching these other teams. I have also supported other teams like The Posh when I lived in Peterborough and obviously Bonnyrigg Rose. As a Hibs supporter we feel football should be played in a certain way and I love any team that plays THE HIBERNIAN WAY. The OP should get a life.:flag::flag:

Tynie01011973
19-03-2011, 09:16 PM
I have been a Hibs supporter for over 60 years and a football fan for all that time. Now because I enjoyed the football of Spurs in the early 60's Man u a few years later Leeds of the 70's , Man u and Arsenal in the 90's and 2000's , also all the teams that had Scots in them ie. Cloughies Notts Forest and Derby , Aston villa with Des Bremner , the romance always of Newcastle. Then there is the family connection with Everton and Man City. Also enjoyed the foreign teams like Archibalds Barca , Real Madrid in the 60's (when we could see them occasionally) , AC Milan with Gullit etc , Real Madrid with the Galacticos , and the current Barca (the best club side I can remember). I have been a FAN of all these sides and many more including Brazil of 1970 , does this mean I have not been a Hibs supporter while watching these other teams. I have also supported other teams like The Posh when I lived in Peterborough and obviously Bonnyrigg Rose. As a Hibs supporter we feel football should be played in a certain way and I love any team that plays THE HIBERNIAN WAY. The OP should get a life.:flag::flag:

Damn You is a MAJOR 'Glory Hunter' :greengrin:not worth

KiddA
20-03-2011, 02:28 AM

This one for me and been down to see a few games and enjoy watching them. I really don't care what anyone else thinks don't see what the big deal is to be honest who cares :rolleyes:

Hibeesb0unc3
20-03-2011, 09:43 AM
does it really matter, i have a season ticket at hibs and have done for about 8 years. So who does it matter who else i am a fan/supporter of so long as i am still giving money and supporting hibs. Btw i support west ham and watford:not worth

20-03-2011, 03:10 PM
include Chelsea and Liverpool and Arsenal then.

20-03-2011, 07:49 PM
Got season tickets for bothe Hibs & Man U.

But would rather go to ER by train on a Saturday and support Hibs or rather eat my prawn sandwhich in the West Stand.

Tomorrow I will be at OT cheering on the REDS and hopefully taking one step closer to the 19th title.

:devil:We're Man United
We do what we want:devil:

Lucky, Lucky win:wink:

Tynie01011973
20-03-2011, 09:31 PM
Lucky, Lucky win:wink:

It was without a doubt :agree:

If Matt Taylor had planted his free header either side of Ed VdeSar then the result would have been so much different.

But Man U ALWAYS seem to grind out results - probably why they have been so successful :wink:

20-03-2011, 09:35 PM
But Man U ALWAYS seem to grind out results - probably why they have been so successful :wink: :agree:

Very similar mindset to Arsenal under George Graham

SloopJB
20-03-2011, 09:58 PM
There are things you can do, try cuting down the amount of food you eat and try grilling instead of frying. There are many over the counter products available from your local pharmacy that mey help but if it continues for a prolonged period of time I would advise you to consult a doctor.