View Full Version : Match Updates Wednesday games

CalgaryHibs
15-03-2011, 03:41 PM
Awrite looking for updates on the games tonight please

Green forever
15-03-2011, 04:14 PM
Awrite looking for updates on the games tonight please

I'm also looking for an update, can't find it anywhere but who do the yams have ?

15-03-2011, 04:39 PM
Will the glory hunters be out in force tonight? Mon the French.

15-03-2011, 04:49 PM

:sauzee:

15-03-2011, 05:01 PM
'mon United, got them on the coupon.

15-03-2011, 05:02 PM

Paranoid much? :na na:

15-03-2011, 05:08 PM
Cmon united, get set about these frenchies.

15-03-2011, 05:09 PM
Come on Marseille! :agree:

15-03-2011, 05:33 PM
Viva united

15-03-2011, 06:13 PM
Nothing to do with Man You...OM have always been my french team.

Vive OM!

CalgaryHibs
15-03-2011, 06:17 PM
I would like the french side to win but I would love to see Man U v Real n the next round. So mon the french

15-03-2011, 06:25 PM
Taiwo is a class fullback...him vs Nani will be a key battle.

15-03-2011, 06:33 PM
I'd want Marseille to win but i have Man.U on my coupon so i'll have to back them.

15-03-2011, 06:35 PM
Nothing to do with Man You...OM have always been my french team.

Vive OM!

For a change, me too - I love to see Man Utd lose (as with any "big" English club), but Marseille are my French team also - went to Disneyland Paris when I was in my first year of high school and ended up buying an OM top (the white away top with the light blue cross).

It's a silly reason, but I've kept my eye on them since.

Wasn't expecting much, but it'll be interesting to see how United cope without Vidic.

15-03-2011, 06:54 PM
What a start by MU and love him or hate him the pass and desire of Rooney there was world class.

15-03-2011, 06:54 PM
Chicharito :thumbsup::thumbsup:

15-03-2011, 06:58 PM
0 1 Inter, Etoo

15-03-2011, 07:02 PM
Chicharito :thumbsup::thumbsup:
Good response by the French. Well on top now. :)

15-03-2011, 07:04 PM
1-1 would be enough for OM. Not over yet.

15-03-2011, 07:09 PM
1 1 Inter, Gomes, looks like Inters keeper has backed Bayern!

15-03-2011, 07:24 PM
2 1 Bayern

15-03-2011, 07:24 PM
Marseille have missed 2 glorious chances now.

Still 1-0 with both teams quite well matched.

O'Shea off injured.

15-03-2011, 07:34 PM
45 minutes away from the 1/4 finals! :partyhibb

That Chicharito's no' half bad for an average player, eh! :greengrin

15-03-2011, 07:38 PM
Marseille have missed 2 glorious chances now.

Still 1-0 with both teams quite well matched.

O'Shea off injured.

Just hope they take one chance second half.

15-03-2011, 07:38 PM

He's certainly flourishing into a very good player. Good natural finisher of the ball too :agree:

Like Nani though, he goes down FAR too easily on occasion - his "penalty" shout a prime example.

15-03-2011, 07:41 PM
Bayern - Inter is a cracking game :greengrin

15-03-2011, 07:42 PM

I see the Manure fans are making as much noice as there was when you went on your ground tour. :rolleyes:

USA USA USA

15-03-2011, 07:51 PM
I see the Manure fans are making as much noice as there was when you went on your ground tour. :rolleyes:

USA USA USA

I don't understand why Falkirk"Hibee" gets so excited over Man Ure when he is meant to be a Hibs fan?? It gives me the boak seeing someone wetting their pants over another team that aren't Hibs.

15-03-2011, 07:52 PM

USA USA USA

There's more noise at Old Trafford than there is at The Emirates and Anfield this evening, put it that way. :wink:

15-03-2011, 07:53 PM
I don't understand why Falkirk"Hibee" gets so excited over Man Ure when he is meant to be a Hibs fan?? It gives me the boak seeing someone wetting their pants over another team that aren't Hibs.

How would you know, I thought you had me on ignore? :confused:

15-03-2011, 07:58 PM

He winnae reply cause he wont see your post :greengrin

15-03-2011, 07:58 PM
There's more noise at Old Trafford than there is at The Emirates and Anfield this evening, put it that way. :wink:

How come there is more Norwich scalfs in Old Trafford tonight then Manure red ones?

USA.

15-03-2011, 08:00 PM
He winnae reply cause he wont see your post :greengrin

He will now as he'll see my post that you've quoted.

Unless you've upset him in the past as well and you're on ignore too! :greengrin

15-03-2011, 08:04 PM
She winnae reply cause she wont see your post :greengrin

:greengrin Unfortunately the ignore button function doesn't work completely, when someone quotes one of his posts I still see them

15-03-2011, 08:07 PM
Never understood people using the ignore button.

Christ, there's a lot of posters on here (myself included, before anyone else says it :greengrin) who post utter drivel on here at times, but this IS a discussion forum, and not all opinions will agree (it would be dull otherwise).

I've always managed to avoid reading or just not rise to posts/posters I consistently disagree with, without resorting to "hiding" them.

15-03-2011, 08:08 PM
All we need now is a French goal :greengrin:greengrin:aok:

15-03-2011, 08:09 PM
2 2 Inter

15-03-2011, 08:10 PM
Never understood people using the ignore button.

Christ, there's a lot of posters on here (myself included, before anyone else says it :greengrin) who post utter drivel on here at times, but this IS a discussion forum, and not all opinions will agree (it would be dull otherwise).

I've always managed to avoid reading or just not rise to posts/posters I consistently disagree with, without resorting to "hiding" them.

My thoughts exactly. Why do you think I hardly ever reply to your posts? :greengrin

15-03-2011, 08:14 PM

My thoughts exactly. Why do you think I hardly ever reply to your posts? :greengrin

Oooft - Bitch :greengrin

15-03-2011, 08:17 PM
Chicharito!!!!!!!!!!!!! :partyhibb

2-0, game over.

Bring on the quarter finals! :thumbsup:

15-03-2011, 08:17 PM
Game over.

United in the last 8.:thumbsup::thumbsup:

15-03-2011, 08:19 PM
Please draw Barca :pray:

15-03-2011, 08:21 PM
Did Nani go off injured?

15-03-2011, 08:21 PM
Game over.

United in the last 8.:thumbsup::thumbsup:

It might be about time to resurrect that "Champions of England, Champions of Europe..." song that the United fans sung a couple of years ago! :greengrin

Before you ask, no I wouldn't perform a forfeit if Barca beat United. :greengrin

15-03-2011, 08:24 PM

Are Barca through? :wink:

15-03-2011, 08:25 PM
Goal for Marseille.

Nervy final 8 minutes. :bitchy:

15-03-2011, 08:26 PM
Biggest goal in Manchester tonight

Altrincham 2-1 Forest Green, well done Alty. :agree:

No Norwich scalfs in sight. USA.

15-03-2011, 08:26 PM
Because I'm watching it on the Sky Player, there was a huge delay, so your post told me before I saw it!

Another one please :greengrin

15-03-2011, 08:32 PM
2-3 to inter.

15-03-2011, 08:32 PM
Inter score!

15-03-2011, 08:33 PM
OM have done themselves proud on 10% of man yoos budget.

15-03-2011, 08:39 PM
Final score; Manchester Utd 2-1 Marseille.

Will take Inter Milan in the quarter finals. :agree:

15-03-2011, 08:41 PM
My prediction :greengrin

Barcelona vs Inter Milan
Spurs vs Shalke
Chelsea vs Real Madrid
Shaktar Donetsk vs Man United

Therein is why I don't gamble :greengrin

15-03-2011, 08:51 PM
Decided to watch the Bayern Inter game and credit to Inter for not giving up and being rewarded for that but the game should have been dead and berried by HT, the amount of chances that went begging for Bayern in the 1st half was incredible.

15-03-2011, 08:52 PM

I PM'd them.

15-03-2011, 09:20 PM
I'd like to see Man Utd get drawn against someone likely to actually challenge them - Shaktar, Chelsea or Real Madrid.

I'd love to see them draw Barcelona obviously, but I've a sneaky feeling that Barca will be drawn against Inter :agree:

Barcelona vs Inter Milan
Spurs vs Shalke
Chelsea vs Real Madrid

My sliding scale on who I would Manchester Utd to get in the quarter finals. (I'm assuming that Chelsea and Real Madrid will go through tomorrow);

Inter Milan
Tottenham
Schalke
Shakhtar Donetsk
Chelsea
Real Madrid
Barcelona

To be honest, I would fancy United to beat any of the top four teams listed. I would just like to see them avoid Chelsea, Real Madrid and Barcelona.

Hibbie_Cameron
15-03-2011, 09:41 PM
I thought i was watching Man Utd Tv listening to Wilkins. 3 teams he shouted what a pass and it went straight to the Marsielle defence :greengrin

I actually thought OM played very well. Budget and player wise, Man Utd should beat them easy, which imo was not the case

15-03-2011, 11:11 PM
My sliding scale on who I would Manchester Utd to get in the quarter finals. (I'm assuming that Chelsea and Real Madrid will go through tomorrow);

Inter Milan
Tottenham
Schalke
Shakhtar Donetsk
Chelsea
Real Madrid
Barcelona

To be honest, I would fancy United to beat any of the top four teams listed. I would just like to see them avoid Chelsea, Real Madrid and Barcelona.

I wouldn't underrate Donetsk, tho you've probably got them in the right place on your list, they look a quality side to me. Everyone will be hoping for Schalke methinks.

15-03-2011, 11:59 PM
I wouldn't underrate Donetsk, tho you've probably got them in the right place on your list, they look a quality side to me. Everyone will be hoping for Schalke methinks.

I was thinking of putting Schalke at the top to be honest as they're having a pretty awful season in the Bundesliga. I didn't realise that they were as low down as they are.

However, they did get a pretty good victory over Valencia in the last 16 and I wouldn't rule out any side that has Raul and Klaas-Jan Huntelaar as their strikers.

One of the reasons why I put Inter Milan at the top of the list is that they were beaten easily by Tottenham at White Hart Lane in the group stages and almost lost a four goal lead against them at the San Siro as well. I also don't rate Italian football at the moment and I think Manchester Utd would beat them. They certainly have a good record against them in previous meetings. I know they won the Champions League last season but they had something then that they don't have now - a certain Mr Mourinho.

Inter's also the only side left that didn't win their group (assuming that Chelsea and Real Madrid go through tomorrow).

I would put Tottenham up there as well because I think United would be well suited to playing against them.

Shakhtar Donetsk are certainly the dark horses of the tournament and I don't suppose that any side that's left would really relish a long journey to Ukraine for the away leg. They're also the only side that managed to win both legs in the last 16 so I wouldn't dismiss them.

16-03-2011, 05:33 AM
I'd like to see Man Utd get drawn against someone likely to actually challenge them - Shaktar, Chelsea or Real Madrid.

I'd love to see them draw Barcelona obviously, but I've a sneaky feeling that Barca will be drawn against Inter :agree:

Barcelona vs Inter Milan
Spurs vs Shalke
Chelsea vs Real Madrid

Considering their reputation as European powerhouses and their ongoing quest to be Kings of the Continent over the last 5 or 6 years, it does look very strange when Hearts are missing from the Quarter Final draw.

16-03-2011, 06:33 AM
Man Utd to get Barca then to get royally pumped just to get it up some on here would be a fantastic draw :greengrin

Green_one
16-03-2011, 07:41 AM

Barcelona vs Inter Milan
Spurs vs Shalke
Chelsea vs Real Madrid

Still hope that Real will get beaten. Not impossible. No easy ties though.

16-03-2011, 11:42 AM
Considering their reputation as European powerhouses and their ongoing quest to be Kings of the Continent over the last 5 or 6 years, it does look very strange when Hearts are missing from the Quarter Final draw.

I think really big clubs like Hearts get a bye to the semis. :agree:

CalgaryHibs
16-03-2011, 06:08 PM
Mon Lyon!!!

Do Barca a fav win tonite:)

CalgaryHibs
16-03-2011, 06:10 PM
Mon the Hag!! Aye right :)

16-03-2011, 06:14 PM
How vile is Lille's strip?

16-03-2011, 07:16 PM
How vile is Lille's strip?

Lyon?

Have you seen the Danish one? :)

16-03-2011, 07:29 PM
Madrid one up through Marcelo, second 'goal' has just been chopped off correctly for offside

forthhibby
16-03-2011, 07:33 PM
ICT 1 -0 celtic :thumbsup:

16-03-2011, 07:34 PM
Inverness Caley 1 Celtc 0 (Rooney pen 44mins)

ICT 1 -0 celtic :thumbsup::hilarious

forthhibby
ICT 1 - 1 Celtic

16-03-2011, 07:35 PM
Inverness Caley 1 Celtc 0 (Rooney pen 44mins)penalty against the smellies! conspiracy :agree:

16-03-2011, 07:36 PM
1-1 (Ledley 45+2)

Baws!

16-03-2011, 07:36 PM
ICT 1 - 1 CelticDamn :grr: I've go them in a bet but I wouldnae mind losing if they got stuffed

16-03-2011, 07:39 PM
penalty against the smellies! conspiracy :agree:

:agree: Aye, if the Victims go on to lose, we'll be hearing all about the dodgy masonic linesman making the decision after the ref waved play-on. Celtc TV commentators no chuffed.

16-03-2011, 08:15 PM
2-0 Madrid, 2-1 Sellick

16-03-2011, 08:27 PM
Get in, 1-0 United :thumbsup:

16-03-2011, 08:28 PM
Get in, 1-0 United :thumbsup::greengrin

16-03-2011, 08:37 PM
:greengrin2-0 :thumbsup:

16-03-2011, 08:39 PM
Big team 2 down :greengrin

16-03-2011, 08:40 PM
Ha ha, Mon Utd

16-03-2011, 08:58 PM
Big team 2 down :greengrin

Is this the season they are going to win the league, it's just that they were going on about that a while back but I just saw the league table and they're miles off.:confused: In fact, I'd fancy Utd to catch them for third.

16-03-2011, 08:59 PM
Is this the season they are going to win the league, it's just that they were going on about that a while back but I just saw the league table and they're miles off.:confused: In fact, I'd fancy Utd to catch them for third.

How many points off hertz are united?

16-03-2011, 09:02 PM
How many points off hertz are united?

12 with a game in hand, canna see it happening sadly.

16-03-2011, 09:05 PM
15 with a game in hand, canna see it happening sadly.

12 points behind now after their win tonight, with a game in hand as well.

I can't see Hearts losing their lead though. The way folk are going on, you'd think Hearts have a history of stuffing things up against teams from the City of Discovery!

16-03-2011, 09:09 PM
12 points behind now after their win tonight, with a game in hand as well.

I can't see Hearts losing their lead though. The way folk are going on, you'd think Hearts have a history of stuffing things up against teams from the City of Discovery!

So potentially 9 points behind them, we pump them in the derby could be 6 points with united still to play them after the split.

If i was a dumbo, considering there recent form and record in Dundee i'd be a little bit concerned.

Thankfully i'm not though so i can just sit back and hope for the best :greengrin

sunshine1875
16-03-2011, 09:22 PM
Can we call then 'Hertz Nil' yet? No three games without a goal!

16-03-2011, 09:54 PM
Can we call then 'Hertz Nil' yet? No three games without a goal!

Whilst they remain 23 points ahead of us, I don't think it's too appropriate to being taking the mickey out of them.

I would probably wet myself if Dundee Utd ended up in 3rd place though. :agree:

16-03-2011, 10:09 PM
Whilst they remain 23 points ahead of us, I don't think it's too appropriate to being taking the mickey out of them.

16-03-2011, 10:37 PM

Have you seen their season ticket banter? It has something along the lines of "follow the team in europe" if United did pap them into 4th would they no be without a european spot next year seeing as one of the champions league spots has been taken away??

16-03-2011, 10:41 PM
Have you seen their season ticket banter? It has something along the lines of "follow the team in europe" if United did pap them into 4th would they no be without a european spot next year seeing as one of the champions league spots has been taken away??

I think 4th place would get a European spot, only if Rangers win the SPL title and Celtic win the Scottish Cup (or Dundee Utd, if they also finish 3rd).

I think that's right but not 100% sure, hopefully someone else could confirm.

16-03-2011, 10:50 PM

I think 4th place would get a European spot, only if Rangers win the SPL title and Celtic win the Scottish Cup (or Dundee Utd, if they also finish 3rd).

So tiresome coming on here and finding Hibbies fervently hoping that Hertz might drop down a place to finish behind United.

What the **** is the matter with you people that you want them to drop down to fourth?

It's perfectly possible for United and Killiemarnock to catch them, making them fifth and definitely out of Europe. That's the kind of discussion we should be aspiring to here. :panic:

17-03-2011, 07:43 AM

You've got it the wrong way round.

If Celtic won the league and the Scottish Cup, the beaten finalist would get a place. The only problem with that is that Dundee Utd are in the other half of the draw from Celtc. If Celtc finished second in the SPL and won the cup, the beaten finalist wouldn't get a place.

The other option would be for a diddy team to win the Scottish Cup (ie Motherwell, St Johnstone or Aberdeen), which would also take a European place away from the SPL.

17-03-2011, 12:53 PM
You've got it the wrong way round.

If Celtic won the league and the Scottish Cup, the beaten finalist would get a place. The only problem with that is that Dundee Utd are in the other half of the draw from Celtc. If Celtc finished second in the SPL and won the cup, the beaten finalist wouldn't get a place.

The other option would be for a diddy team to win the Scottish Cup (ie Motherwell, St Johnstone or Aberdeen), which would also take a European place away from the SPL.

Is that not what I said!? :wink:

I said that if Rangers win the league (so therefore Celtic would finish in 2nd place and be in a Europa League position) and Celtic win the cup, then the 4th placed side in the SPL would qualify for Europe.

4th place would also qualify if Dundee Utd win the cup and also ended up 3rd, which is how Motherwell managed to qualify for Europe last season at the expense of Ross County who were runners-up in the cup.

That seems to go along with what you're saying. No? :dunno:

I'm confused. :confused: