View Full Version : Question Players who have scored hat-tricks while with Hibs

13-03-2011, 09:41 PM
The memory ain't what it used to be so I'll start off with an easy one.

Ivan Sproule against the huns at Ibrox.

I'll leave it to someone else to mention Colin Nish v Motherwell. :greengrin

13-03-2011, 09:42 PM
Even easier one - Mixu

13-03-2011, 09:44 PM
Keith Wright .

13-03-2011, 09:45 PM
Clayton donaldson

13-03-2011, 09:46 PM
Pat Quinn in 1967 V the manky mob. Before my time but I know it because it was the last one in a Derby before Mixu's

tanfield
13-03-2011, 09:48 PM
Joe harper - league cup final c. 75

tanfield
13-03-2011, 09:50 PM
Steve cowan v st mirren on a wednesday night iirc

Pat Quinn in 1967 V the manky mob. Before my time but I know it because it was the last one in a Derby before Mixu's

Lets be honest it was just before your time.

Haggis Hibby
Dobie in a cup game

13-03-2011, 09:51 PM
Dobie in a cup game

9-0 Montrose.

13-03-2011, 09:53 PM
Benny Brazil v Celtic (Friendly)

Sodje_18
13-03-2011, 09:55 PM
Deeko against Killie :greengrin

13-03-2011, 09:55 PM
Lets be honest it was just before your time.http://forums.our-place-online.net/public/style_emoticons/default/2.gif

13-03-2011, 09:56 PM
http://forums.our-place-online.net/public/style_emoticons/default/2.gif

13-03-2011, 09:56 PM
Pretty sure Gordon Durie got one against either Cowdenbeath or Motherwell in the League Cup 1985.

Edinburgh Green
13-03-2011, 09:57 PM
Riordan must of? Against livi?

13-03-2011, 09:58 PM
grant brebner - perfect hatrick against dundee united at tannadice in the scottish cup.

13-03-2011, 09:59 PM
grant brebner - perfect hatrick against dundee united at tannadice in the scottish cup.

:grr: Was just about to post that.

13-03-2011, 10:00 PM
Riordan must of? Against livi?

Killie.

millarco
13-03-2011, 10:00 PM
Dean Shiels in Mixu's first game in charge. Paul Hanlon's debut that day as well.

13-03-2011, 10:01 PM
:grr: Was just about to post that.

i typed it with one hand cos im lounging on the couch so you took your time :greengrin

13-03-2011, 10:01 PM
Joe Baker - hat trick of hat tricks against Peebles Rovers

13-03-2011, 10:03 PM

The same day Colin Samuel scored a hattrick for Falkirk in a 4-0 win over Hearts :top marks

13-03-2011, 10:08 PM
Steven Fletcher vs Gretna (February '08).

13-03-2011, 10:14 PM
Willie Irvine.

13-03-2011, 10:16 PM
Colin Stein away to East Stirlingshire in the SC January 1968. I remember it as if it was yesterday. I was behind the goals and so close to the pitch that if I overstretched I could touch the goalkeeper. :greengrin

http://ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=3019

13-03-2011, 10:16 PM
Gordon Durie against Morton Feb 85

Steve Cowan against Cowdenbeath August 85 and Gordon Durie against Motherwell the same month

13-03-2011, 10:17 PM
Joe Baker - hat trick of hat tricks against Peebles Roversnever to be equaled or surpassed methinks

13-03-2011, 10:20 PM
Stevie Crawford in the 1st div.

never to be equaled or surpassed methinks

His brother did just that ............ sadly he wasn't playing for Hibs at the time :greengrin

Gordon Durie against Morton Feb 85

Steve Cowan against Cowdenbeath August 85 and Gordon Durie against Motherwell the same monthdurie against Kille.....ER 8-1 ?not sure though

13-03-2011, 10:22 PM
All the "hat-trick heroes" for Hibs in the SPL (i.e. since 1999/00) have now been named so any future entries must have come before that. :agree:

13-03-2011, 10:24 PM
durie against Kille.....ER 8-1 ?not sure though

The 8-1 v Killie was before his time :agree:Scorers that day were Bobby Thomson (2), Willie Irvine (2), Arthur Duncan, Gordon Rae, Jackie McNamara and Pat McCurdy

13-03-2011, 10:36 PM
Joe McBride scored a hat-trick in the home leg of the Fairs Cup 1968/69 against Locomotive Leipzig. The first hat-trick scored by a Hibs player in European competition.

Hibbie_Cameron
13-03-2011, 10:38 PM

That was a fantastic day out that, one of my favourite away trips:agree:

13-03-2011, 10:43 PM
Joe McBride scored a hat-trick in the home leg of the Fairs Cup 1968/69 against Locomotive Leipzig. The first hat-trick scored by a Hibs player in European competition.

:agree: In only his second game for Hibs. That was on the Wednesday night and on the following Saturday he scored four against Morton. Joe was magic :greengrin

13-03-2011, 10:44 PM
:agree: In only his second game for Hibs. That was on the Wednesday night and on the following Saturday he scored four against Morton. Joe was magic :greengrin

:agree: Terrific player for Hibs.

13-03-2011, 10:53 PM
Neil Martin hatrick against the smellies at parkheid. Wedensday night in 1965?

13-03-2011, 11:15 PM
Neil Martin hatrick against the smellies at parkheid. Wedensday night in 1965?

Think I saw that. 4-2 was it? Don't remember any of the goals. :boo hoo:

13-03-2011, 11:21 PM
Think I saw that. 4-2 was it? Don't remember any of the goals. :boo hoo:

:agree: http://ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=2866

13-03-2011, 11:54 PM
:agree: http://ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=2866

:agree: Two other hattricks by Neilly M, 2 by Jim Scott and 1 by Peter Cormack earlier the same season!

And in the following season, Martin and Scott 4 each in an 11-2 win over Alloa; Martin another 4 against Falkirk; Eric Stevenson 3 in 11-1 against Hamilton.

Don't remember any of those goals, but do remember Alan Gilzean of Dundee scoring 4 at ER around about that time. :boo hoo:

confused
14-03-2011, 04:43 AM
One of my fav games ! thanks for reminding me :thumbsup:

14-03-2011, 05:42 AM
Jimmy O'Rourke - several, Sporting Lisbon included IIRC.

Alan Gordon, not as many as Jimmy but sure he got one against Ayr United in the 8-1 game.

Joe Harper. Seem to recall big win against SJ.

14-03-2011, 07:20 AM
Darren Jackson?

14-03-2011, 07:58 AM
Jimmy O'Rourke hat-tricks in consecutive Eufa-Cup matches.

Joe Baker a hat-trick plus one :hibees against the "greatest Hearts team of all time" in 1958.

14-03-2011, 08:49 AM
Gordon Smith on his debut against Hearts. :thumbsup:

14-03-2011, 09:08 AM
Jimmy O'Rourke scored TEN hat-tricks in his Hibs career. In the '72 / '73 season he scored FIVE between August and start of December, eventually finishing the season with six. He was the front-runner for the Golden Boot till the start of 1973 when Edwards started his ban and Brownlie broke his leg

supershotmo
14-03-2011, 09:09 AM
Clayton Donaldson against Kilmarnock

14-03-2011, 09:11 AM
Jimmy O'Rourke scored TEN hat-tricks in his Hibs career. In the '72 / '73 season he scored FIVE between August and start of December, eventually finishing the season with six. He was the front-runner for the Golden Boot till the start of 1973 when Edwards started his ban and Brownlie broke his leg

:agree::

You beat me to it by two minutes. Great minds think alike!

14-03-2011, 09:47 AM
Donaldson v Killie, Shiels v ICT and Fletcher v Gretna were all in the 2007-08 season, can't be too often that an SPL team has 3 different hat-trick scorers in one season.

Incidentally, Pele scored 97 hat-tricks in his career!

14-03-2011, 10:37 AM
A nice hat-trick against Malmo too. :greengrin

LeithBoozy
14-03-2011, 11:38 AM
Joe Baker, scored all four to knock Hearts out the cup at tynecastle. Legend :not worth

14-03-2011, 12:23 PM
Keith Keith Keith - canny mind who against but he defo scored one! Did Pat McGinley not get one as well at some point :confused:

14-03-2011, 12:25 PM
Keith Keith Keith - canny mind who against but he defo scored one! Did Pat McGinley not get one as well at some point :confused:

Keith Wright got all 3 in a 3-0 win in against Dundee utd in the mid 90's..Dont think Paddy ever did get a hattrick but got shed loads of doubles.

14-03-2011, 12:31 PM
I seem to remember Keith getting a hat trick on a beautiful sunny afternoon against Dundee Utd, think it may even have been the 1st game of the season and we won 5-1.

The game im on about was defo a midweek game away to utd.

Think the game you are referring to was a 5-0 win 1st game of the season at Easter rd round about 94/95ish..Not sure if he got a hattrick tho..Remember a young Kevin Harper taking the utter pish out of Gordan Petric tho :agree: May well have been his debut.

14-03-2011, 12:33 PM
The game im on about was defo a midweek game away to utd.

Think the game you are referring to was a 5-0 win 1st game of the season at Easter rd round about 94/95ish..Not sure if he got a hattrick tho..Remember a young Kevin Harper taking the utter pish out of Gordan Petric tho :agree: May well have been his debut.

Just checked, he didn't get a hat trick the game i was talking about.

It was Harpers debut that day, Darren jackson scored a couple for us.

14-03-2011, 12:36 PM
Just checked, he didn't get a hat trick the game i was talking about.

It was Harpers debut that day, Darren jackson scored a couple for us.

14-03-2011, 12:38 PM
Did Joe Harper not score five in a friendly with a Dutch team Nijmegan?

14-03-2011, 01:46 PM
Keef scored two hat tricks v dun utd. One at tannadice midweek and one at er, Hogmanay 94 I think.

14-03-2011, 03:16 PM
The 8-1 v Killie was before his time :agree:Scorers that day were Bobby Thomson (2), Willie Irvine (2), Arthur Duncan, Gordon Rae, Jackie McNamara and Pat McCurdy

I think Duncan would have been playing left back that day and his goal along with Rae's and McNamara's meant that three of the back four scored. I'm sure I recollect Alan Sneddon desperately trying to join then on the scoresheet but just not quite managing.

14-03-2011, 03:48 PM
Hat tricks Smith 10
or better
Johnstone 4

Reilly 18

Turnbull 8

Ormond 2

Combe 3

Baker 14

Enough to be going on with I think.

14-03-2011, 04:17 PM
The posts about Keef's hat-tricks reminded me that we seemed to go several seasons without anyone scoring one - between Stevie Cowan and then Keef in the mid-90s.

Have I got that right? If so it must be our longest run without a hat-trick surely?

14-03-2011, 04:22 PM
That was a fantastic day out that, one of my favourite away trips:agree:

aye and mind beating the pars at east end 4-1? big ralph and the wall. :greengrin

Hibbie_Cameron
14-03-2011, 05:18 PM
aye and mind beating the pars at east end 4-1? big ralph and the wall. :greengrin

Will never forget it:faf::faf::faf:

14-03-2011, 06:00 PM
the other willie irvine (prison warder hostage variety)...pre season friendly hat trick versus gordon duries chelsea

14-03-2011, 06:28 PM
Alan Gordon got a hat-trick in an epic 3-3 at ER v Dundee in the cup. I think Jocky Scott got one in return!

I also recall Alan getting all 4 in one game might've been at Airdrie?

14-03-2011, 07:02 PM
Akpo Sodje against Hearts. 4.4.11 :devil:

14-03-2011, 09:16 PM
I thought Iain Munro got a first half hatrick against Rosenburg in the 9-1 game? Stevie Cowan in the Skol Cup 85 or 86 against Celtic?

Since someone mentioned him, Sneddon he had 2 in one game against Alloa in the League cup

14-03-2011, 09:22 PM
Here's a wee tester for the younger fans :devil:

Which Hibs player scored a hat trick but didn't have them counted in his totals because the game he scored them in was abandoned?

14-03-2011, 09:39 PM
Here's a wee tester for the younger fans :devil:

Which Hibs player scored a hat trick but didn't have them counted in his totals because the game he scored them in was abandoned?

Bobby Johnstone vs QoS perchance?

14-03-2011, 09:39 PM
Bobby Johnstone vs QoS perchance?

Booooooooooooooo :greengrin

Smarty pants :wink:

14-03-2011, 09:42 PM
Booooooooooooooo :greengrin

Smarty pants :wink:

Blame Mr Google, he told me :greengrin Took some finding though :wink:

14-03-2011, 09:44 PM
Found this. Quite interesting :agree:

Hibernian, like most Scottish clubs, have had their fair share of abandoned matches. These usually result in re-arranged fixtures, but in August 1950 Hibs played in an abandoned match where the result was allowed to stand.
The 1950/51 League Cup campaign saw the Scottish Football League decide that an incomplete tie between Dundee and Hibernian needn’t be replayed. The reason was that Hibs were well ahead not just in the game but in the four club sectional group too. Having beaten Dundee (2-0), St Mirren (6-0) and Falkirk (5-4) it was likely that Hibs were going to win their group when, after just over an hour, they led Dundee 2-0 at Dens Park on August 26th. Confirmation came when Hibs won their remaining two games in the group and thus replaying the Dens Park game was meaningless and the league sensibly decided to let the result stand.
Other abandoned matches have usually resulted in a match being rescheduled for a later date.
Easily the most controversial of those was a match played in October 1975 between Celtic and Hibernian. The league clash at Parkhead had only seven minutes remaining when it was abandoned with Hibs winning 2-0 thanks to goals by Joe Harper and Des Bremner. Thick fog had descended on the East End of Glasgow, partially obscuring visibility. Stopping the match may have made sense but replaying it did not. Hibs ire was raised because Celtic fans had invaded the pitch earlier and without that stoppage the match would probably have been completed. Moreover, one fan had tried to attack Joe Harper and Hibernian couldn’t help but feel a sense of injustice. It seemed to most observers a rather harsh decision in this instance not to award the match to Hibs. The rescheduled fixture ended up being drawn 1-1.
In February 1984 an Easter Road meeting with Dundee was abandoned due to fog. Fourteen years earlier an early October clash with Morton at Cappielow Park was abandoned amidst heavy rain and a waterlogged pitch.
There was an element of the bizarre about the 1962 abandonment of a pre-season friendly match when Hibs were on tour in Czechoslovakia. Leading in a match against Vitkovic Ostrava 2-0 the players were stunned when officials marched onto the pitch to erect a stand for a cycle event due to take place later that day. Gerry Baker had scored both Hibs goals before the game was abandoned in what were by any standards peculiar circumstances.
In 1955 Hibs were leading Queen of the South 3-0 at Easter Road, with Bobby Johnstone having scored a hat-trick. Hibs were denied victory when the game was abandoned because heavy snow had obliterated the lines. This January clash is remembered by many supporters for one funny incident. Gordon Smith fired in a pile-driver which rattled the Queen’s snow-encrusted crossbar, to the extent that Queen’s goalie Henderson was showered in snow on his goal-line!
On February 2nd, 2003 Hibs’ game at Dundee’s Dens Park was abandoned after 26 minutes play. The Sunday fixture kicked off in bright sunshine but was hit by a blizzard which covered the pitch markings in snow. At the time Dundee were a goal to the good, the Dens Park stadium announcer showed good grace and humour despite his disappointment by playing ‘Let It Snow’ over the tannoy as fans filed out of the wintry stadium.
The first post-war league season saw Hibs game at Falkirk’s Brockville Park on April 5 abandoned. The match was notable for Hibernian supporters as big-money signing Leslie Johnstone made his ‘debut’ in this truncated fixture. One week later he made a complete debut against Celtic and scored in a 2-0 win.
There is, therefore, a long history of matches being abandoned and whilst weather is the usual reason in the modern era it was not always so. Celtic were founded in 1888 largely on the back of having poached Hibernian’s best players. Thus in the years immediately after this mass defection there was tension and trouble at matches between the two sides. A game in October 1888 suffered particularly badly from crowd invasions and, with the likelihood that Celtic players would be harmed on the conclusion of the match, the game was finished early with Celtic leading 3-0 and the players all within ‘dashing distance’ of the pavilion.

14-03-2011, 09:57 PM
nish last day of season v united?

did clayton donaldson not get 3 goals v kilmarnock?

14-03-2011, 10:28 PM

No , Two.

Yep and missed a pen tae.

14-03-2011, 10:41 PM
Neither a Hibby or a hattrick, Albert Kidd did get 2 for Dundee in May 1986.

14-03-2011, 10:46 PM

What game was that like?

14-03-2011, 10:48 PM

Against who?

That was before my time so you'll need to tell me all about it. :confused:

14-03-2011, 11:08 PM
Did Arthur Duncan score a hat-trick in a 6-0 win over Falkirk on the same day that his previous team Partick Thistle beat Celtic 4-1 in the League Cup final?

14-03-2011, 11:48 PM
Did Arthur Duncan score a hat-trick in a 6-0 win over Falkirk on the same day that his previous team Partick Thistle beat Celtic 4-1 in the League Cup final?

He scored 4 :greengrin

http://ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=3194

El Gubbz
15-03-2011, 12:14 AM

Against motherwell in 6-6

15-03-2011, 10:13 AM
Hat tricks Smith 10
or better
Johnstone 4

Reilly 18

Turnbull 8

Ormond 2

Combe 3

Baker 14

Enough to be going on with I think.

One of which was a four in an 8-1 trouncing of the Huns at ER in 1942 - Southern League Championship, I think, because of the war.

The Huns claim that they had a weakened team out that day, but they lie.

Jerry Dawson never had, and never would again, pick the ball out of the back of his net 8 times in one game.

Bobby also scored the winner in the return at Ibrox a few weeks later.

Under-rated player, IMO - partly at least because so much of his career fell into the war years.

IIRC Colin Stein had a hat-trick in a 3-3 draw against Kilmarnock at ER in the last game of the 67-68 season - the same day as Dunfermline beat Hearts 3-1 in the Scottish Cup Final.

craig1989
16-03-2011, 08:48 AM
I'm a fairly young fan, but for me after Mixu the most memorable hattrick was the hattrick that never was!

When Paco Luna missed a late chance against AEK which would have completed his hattrick! some night.

16-03-2011, 01:18 PM
I'm a fairly young fan, but for me after Mixu the most memorable hattrick was the hattrick that never was!

When Paco Luna missed a late chance against AEK which would have completed his hattrick! some night.

I can remember that game as if it was yesterday, Its safe to say if he buried that heider Easter rd would have went wild, So near yet so far.