View Full Version : Match Updates Barca v Arsenal

08-03-2011, 07:27 PM
Should be a cracker tonight hopefully.

Van Persie starts for the Gooners.

Busquets at 25/1 first goalscorer looks good value.

08-03-2011, 07:46 PM
the goners to get humped big time

3 or 4-0 Barca

08-03-2011, 08:17 PM
Take it theres been no goals yet?

08-03-2011, 08:19 PM
Take it theres been no goals yet?

Still 0-0, but it's one way traffic.

Renfrew_Hibby
08-03-2011, 08:22 PM
Any links to a live stream?

08-03-2011, 08:23 PM
If Barca get one they'll get four or five. They are all over the Arsenal.

08-03-2011, 08:26 PM
So far, this is one of the most one-sided 0-0's you'll ever see.

Not too many clear cut chances for Barcelona yet though. Arsenal have defended well.

08-03-2011, 08:31 PM
Still 0-0, but it's one way traffic.

If Barca get one they'll get four or five. They are all over the Arsenal.

Oh dear :worried:

Cheers for the update anyway.

Any links to a live stream?

Don't think it's entirley legal without paying, so.............no.

If really you wanted to view a free stream then use some sort of site advisor add-on with your web browser (I use WOT) and search for the stream in google, only clicking onto those sites with a decent rating - it's obviously not a virus free guarantee but it's one of the more sensible methods when looking for streams imo.

08-03-2011, 08:32 PM
What time is the peace summit for this game?

Messi 1 up peach bad defending from Arsenal

08-03-2011, 08:34 PM
1-0 Barca

Unbelievably quick feet by Iniesta to set it up

1-0 Barca, Messi.

1-0 Barca :thumbsup:

08-03-2011, 08:35 PM
Wonderful touch from Messi

08-03-2011, 08:36 PM
Superb goal. They are so clever around the box.

08-03-2011, 08:36 PM
Half time 1-0

08-03-2011, 08:37 PM
Fabregas, oh dear.

wazoo1875
08-03-2011, 08:39 PM
Brilliant link up play from Fabregas and Iniesta to set up Messi, what a flick over the keeper. The boy's a genius

08-03-2011, 08:41 PM
Fabregas GTF. Was ***** in the first leg and is ***** again. Infact he's been ***** for ages. Just stay in Barca you idiot. On the other hand, Alves is a fairy. Game over. Happy Cesc?

08-03-2011, 08:43 PM
Cesc can stay in London meeko-he'd just warm the bench at the Camp Nou.

08-03-2011, 08:49 PM
Fabregas GTF. Was ***** in the first leg and is ***** again. Infact he's been ***** for ages. Just stay in Barca you idiot. On the other hand, Alves is a fairy. Game over. Happy Cesc?

How we doing overreaction? :greengrin

08-03-2011, 08:53 PM
Ewan Moyes scores for Brechin :thumbsup:

08-03-2011, 09:02 PM
1-1. Gets interesting now! :greengrin

08-03-2011, 09:02 PM
One each, Busquets OG.

Game on.

08-03-2011, 09:03 PM
Gift. Mon Arsenal you can do it!

Goal Arsenal, Buskets own goal

1-1 No more please, thats the score I put my fiver on earlier :pray:

SloopJB
08-03-2011, 09:04 PM
Get in

08-03-2011, 09:04 PM
Should have been 2-1, Villa's not going to get a much better chance than that.

08-03-2011, 09:05 PM
van Persie sent off, two yellows.

Very harsh.

08-03-2011, 09:05 PM
Van Persie off, second yellow for kicking the ball away

08-03-2011, 09:06 PM
Van Persie sent off, ffs, that is an unusual red card :greengrin

If I didn't laugh i'd cry.

08-03-2011, 09:06 PM
Wow - what a soft red card that is!

08-03-2011, 09:07 PM
Wow - what a soft red card that is!

Very harsh

08-03-2011, 09:07 PM
Ridiculous decision.

08-03-2011, 09:09 PM
Terrible red. Officials have been up Barca's arse all night.

08-03-2011, 09:09 PM
You can be fairly certain that wenger will have seen that one!

08-03-2011, 09:10 PM
That really is a disgraceful decision.

I hope that referee is suspended from Champions League duties for the rest of this season.

08-03-2011, 09:11 PM

I hope that referee is suspended from Champions League duties for the rest of this season.

08-03-2011, 09:12 PM

Missed what happened, did he kick the ball away and delay re-start?

08-03-2011, 09:12 PM

Wow - 1 second between the whistle being sounded and Van Persie walking.

Shocking decision. You could hardly hear the whistle with multiple microphones around the ground - V.Persie doesn't even have that luxury.

08-03-2011, 09:13 PM
The offside law seems to have been temporarily suspended! I still think it's just a matter of time before Barca get a couple.

08-03-2011, 09:13 PM

Apart from the pretty much stick on penalty they should have had in the first half :wink:

08-03-2011, 09:16 PM
Missed what happened, did he kick the ball away and delay re-start?

He had been booked already and was running through on goal but the referee blew his whistle and ONE SECOND LATER van Persie shoots towards goal.

Result=Second yellow card and a sending off.

Shocking. You could see that van Persie genuinely had not heard any whistle from the referee by the way he shot and also with his reaction to being sent off.

08-03-2011, 09:17 PM
Barca player fairy dives = freekick Barca.

08-03-2011, 09:18 PM
2-1 Barca, Xavi.

Xavi :not worth

Iniesta sets it up again

2-1 :thumbsup:

They'll get a penalty for sure. Could be another red card for Arsenal too.

That was always gonna happen.

08-03-2011, 09:19 PM
What a fantastic goal, reminded me of the tornadoes at their best. :wink:

08-03-2011, 09:19 PM
Yes! Superb.

08-03-2011, 09:20 PM
Penalty to Barcelona. :rolleyes:

3-1, Messi.

Game, set and match.

Goodnight, Arsenal.

08-03-2011, 09:20 PM
They'll get a penalty for sure

Do you know Saturday's lottery numbers by any chance? :greengrin

3-1 Messi

08-03-2011, 09:21 PM
3-1 penalty.

What a beauty go on Barca

Knew as soon as a Barca player would go down in the box there would be a pen. Tbf it was a pen.

Penalty............another goal to barca :boo hoo:

08-03-2011, 09:22 PM
How many goals is that for Messi for the season?

Sensational footballer.

08-03-2011, 09:23 PM
Cast Iron penalty and Van Persie was lucky to stay on in !st. half

08-03-2011, 09:23 PM
With arsenal needing a goal, this will open up very nicely for barca. They could score one or two more.

08-03-2011, 09:24 PM
Wengers face is excellent. GIRUy etc etc.

08-03-2011, 09:25 PM
How many goals is that for Messi for the season?

He had 45 goals in 40 starts before tonight. :not worth

08-03-2011, 09:26 PM
how's the Shaktars doin? got them in the pub sweep.....................c'mon the Donetskies:greengrin

08-03-2011, 09:28 PM
how's the Shaktars doin? got them in the pub sweep.....................c'mon the Donetskies:greengrin

2-0 Shakhtar.

5-2 on aggregate.

08-03-2011, 09:28 PM

2-0 up and safe for the next round

08-03-2011, 09:31 PM
How well has Almunia played? :top marks

08-03-2011, 09:32 PM
How well has Almunia played? :top marks

Candidate for MOTM

08-03-2011, 09:34 PM
Only 6 minutes left for arsenal to manage their first shot at goal!

08-03-2011, 09:34 PM
Loved Rafa Benitez's comment at half time when asked if Barca can keep pressing for 90 minutes he said yes as they only play in 1 half of park THE OPPOSITIONS!!!!!

08-03-2011, 09:36 PM
Zemmama goal for boro, now 2-1 up against Derby.

Dirkster23
08-03-2011, 09:36 PM
Zemmama score for boro!

08-03-2011, 09:37 PM
Unbelievable one-twos on the edge of the box and they have so much space on the right.

Hard to remember Arsenal only need one goal.

08-03-2011, 09:37 PM
Great covering from Mascherano or that would have been 3-2

08-03-2011, 09:41 PM
2-0 Shakhtar.

5-2 on aggregate.that's braw. had winners and finalists over the last 2 years, netting me 160 quid in the pub. winner this year gets 100, loser 60, Shakter for the final would dae me:thumbsup:

08-03-2011, 09:42 PM
Great covering from Mascherano or that would have been 3-2

It was good but it was more down to Bendtner's pishness that Arsenal didn't score.

08-03-2011, 09:43 PM
It was good but it was more down to Bendtner's pishness that Arsenal didn't score.

08-03-2011, 09:46 PM
Zemmama score for boro!

Mowbray needed that. Winner with two minutes to go struggling with relegation.

08-03-2011, 09:47 PM
Bendtner is a waste of space and his continued employment at Arsenal is testament to the stubbornness of Wenger.

08-03-2011, 09:48 PM
Martin Tyler missing his old mucker Gray but not managing to hide his continued dislike of the Gunners.

Barcelona are amazing but we seen another side to them tonight against 8 Arsenal men and two empty jerseys in Fabregas and Rosicky.

Wenger will rage about the sending off and this time he will be right to. I can imagine the outrage were it Mourinho, Ferguson or either of those ex-managerial muppets in the Studio.

08-03-2011, 09:50 PM
Jeff Stelling's just reported that he's heard that Arsene Wenger has been involved in a "furious bust-up" with the referee in the tunnel.

08-03-2011, 09:51 PM
Messi now has 132 goals in 145 starts for Barca over the last three seasons

08-03-2011, 09:53 PM
Jeff Stelling's just reported that he's heard that Arsene Wenger has been involved in a "furious bust-up" with the referee in the tunnel.

Wenger in 'not losing with good grace' shocker. The man is a plum.

08-03-2011, 09:55 PM
Jamie Redknapp: "Barcelona done to Arsenal what Arsenal do to 99% of Premiership teams"

Any mathematicians out there know what 99% of 19 is? :greengrin

Arsenal were too scared of Barca tonight. I know its easy to say that, because Barca are the best team in the world. But Arsenals strength lies in their attacking ability and they've missed a massive chance tonight to put pressure on a make shift centre back pairing. They sat far too deep and basically never looked like scoring. So while inidivdual mistakes cost them the carling cup final, Arsene Wenger's tactics cost them a chance to progress tonight.

08-03-2011, 09:56 PM
Martin Tyler missing his old mucker Gray but not managing to hide his continued dislike of the Gunners.

Barcelona are amazing but we seen another side to them tonight against 8 Arsenal men and two empty jerseys in Fabregas and Rosicky.

Wenger will rage about the sending off and this time he will be right to. I can imagine the outrage were it Mourinho, Ferguson or either of those ex-managerial muppets in the Studio.

Van Persie should have been sent off in the first half. Halfed Messi - wasn't booked. Slapped Alves in the face - violent conduct - only booked.

08-03-2011, 09:57 PM
Van Persie should have been sent off in the first half. Halfed Messi - wasn't booked. Slapped Alves in the face - violent conduct - only booked.

Koscielny could easily have seen a second yellow for giving the penalty away too.

08-03-2011, 09:58 PM

Apart from not giving them a stonewall penalty, you mean.

08-03-2011, 09:58 PM

Do you think David Cameron will hold a summit with representatives from Arsenal to discuss this?

08-03-2011, 09:59 PM
How can anyone describe Arsenal as unlucky when they've scored a goal without having a shot at goal in the whole game? 6-0 would have been a fairer reflection.

08-03-2011, 10:00 PM
Sky sorts saying that barca had 19 shots
Arsenal had 0
When was the last time that happened
Barca 64%
arsenal 36%

08-03-2011, 10:00 PM

Apart from not giving them a stonewall penalty, you mean.

Every single time a Barca player went down, he blew his whistle. Granted, most of them actually were fouls, but there were some that weren't.

08-03-2011, 10:05 PM
Jamie Redknapp: "Barcelona done to Arsenal what Arsenal do to 99% of Premiership teams"

Any mathematicians out there know what 99% of 19 is? :greengrin

Arsenal were too scared of Barca tonight. I know its easy to say that, because Barca are the best team in the world. But Arsenals strength lies in their attacking ability and they've missed a massive chance tonight to put pressure on a make shift centre back pairing. They sat far too deep and basically never looked like scoring. So while inidivdual mistakes cost them the carling cup final, Arsene Wenger's tactics cost them a chance to progress tonight.

:greengrin I made the exact same point out loud when I heard him say that.

It's an arithmetical impossibility for Arsenal to play the way that Barcelona did tonight against 99% of the other 19 teams in the Premiership.

08-03-2011, 10:08 PM
Wenger convinced arsenal would have won if it had stayed 11 v 11!

08-03-2011, 10:13 PM
:greengrin I made the exact same point out loud when I heard him say that.

It's an arithmetical impossibility for Arsenal to play the way that Barcelona did tonight against 99% of the other 19 teams in the Premiership.

Maybe so, but 99% of 19 is in fact 18.81 :greengrin

A Pedant. :aok:

wazoo1875
08-03-2011, 10:14 PM

One of the best ones I've heard in ages!

Ok arsene, just what difference was that moaning statue actually gonna make to that game ?

Robin van Persie = prick

Newhaven
08-03-2011, 10:15 PM

We'll never know though will we :wink:

Gunners were playing well until the joke decision to send off RVP. Then it was one way traffic sadly.

Seeing the game being officiated tonight was just like going to Parkhead or Ibrox and watching the cabbage not getting a 50-50 decision.

At the end though they even had a chance to get through but Bendtner lived up to his 'hype' :rolleyes:

Messi is simply frightening and on a different planet to anyone else, Maradona is my hero but Messi has the potential and time on his side to be even better :not worth

All he needs is to get a mental streak and start calling the Pope a liar etc :faf:

What planet is that boy on:confused:

Their goal was probably the epitome of the phrase 'against the run of play'

Even worse than the goal Hertz scored against AEK at Murrayfield but at least Hertz scored that goal

08-03-2011, 10:17 PM

Gunners were playing well until the joke decision to send off RVP. Then it was one way traffic sadly.

Seeing the game being officiated tonight was just like going to Parkhead or Ibrox and watching the cabbage not getting a 50-50 decision.

At the end though they even had a chance to get through but Bendtner lived up to his 'hype' :rolleyes:

Were they? They looked like they were gettin ****in battered to me:confused:

The decision to send him off was wrong but what difference does it make if he was a spectator on the halfway line or in the dugout?

08-03-2011, 10:17 PM
Messi is simply frightening and on a different planet to anyone else, Maradona is my hero but Messi has the potential and time on his side to be even better :not worth

All he needs is to get a mental streak and start calling the Pope a liar etc :faf:

THAT'S AS MAY BE SO..........never Hibs class though :devil: :greengrin :flag:

08-03-2011, 10:18 PM

Seriously? :confused:

As I said, Arsene's stand-off negative tactics cost them a chance of progressing IMO.

08-03-2011, 10:19 PM
THAT'S AS MAY BE SO..........never Hibs class though :devil: :greengrin :flag:

Nah his website is gash, he has a dodgy hairdo and Hanlon had him in his pocket when we played them:agree:

08-03-2011, 10:24 PM

As I said, Arsene's stand-off negative tactics cost them a chance of progressing IMO.

I don't think they were standing off, just chasing shadows

08-03-2011, 10:26 PM
Nah his website is gash, he has a dodgy hairdo and Hanlon had him in his pocket when we played them:agree:

Furthermore, he's named after a ropey singer from the Commodores (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lionel_Richie) who were named after a shonky 80's computermabob :greengrin

Nae good at aw. Nae good.

Newhaven
08-03-2011, 10:26 PM
Were they? They looked like they were gettin ****in battered to me:confused:

The decision to send him off was wrong but what difference does it make if he was a spectator on the halfway line or in the dugout?

Well aye - game was 1-1 with them going through until RVP got sent off then the self destruct button got pressed.

Even with all the possession that Barca had if Bendtner had grabbed his big chance we would have all the Man U lovers on saying how unfair it was that Barca were out and crying themselves to sleep.

No disgrace in going out to Barca - just a shame that it wasn't 11 v 11 at the end

08-03-2011, 10:28 PM

If you only get one scoring chance in a whole 90 mins of fitba, you'd want that chance to fall to Van Persie, a top quality striker, rather than Bendtner, a huddy. Van Persie's staying on till the end could certainly have made a difference to the outcome.

08-03-2011, 10:31 PM
I don't think they were standing off, just chasing shadows

When do you ever see Arsenal sit back like they did tonight? They never pressed the ball until Barca were 30 yards from goal. Wilshere was about the only one trying to press a little higher up.

That was the difference between the two sides tonight. As soon as Arsenal got the ball, the Barca players were right in their faces. Their workrate was phenomenal.

08-03-2011, 10:34 PM
Well aye - game was 1-1 with them going through until RVP got sent off then the self destruct button got pressed.

Even with all the possession that Barca had if Bendtner had grabbed his big chance we would have all the Man U lovers on saying how unfair it was that Barca were out and crying themselves to sleep.

No disgrace in going out to Barca - just a shame that it wasn't 11 v 11 at the end

Here's this Man U love-in pish again. :dummytit:

What's Man Utd got to do with anything here?

08-03-2011, 10:44 PM
Beaten by the best team on the planet, No shame whatsover there.

Concentrate going for the title now :agree:

08-03-2011, 10:46 PM
Beaten by the best team on the planet, No shame whatsover there.

Concentrate going for the title now :agree:UTD for the title :agree:

08-03-2011, 10:46 PM

I honestly don't think his sending off made much difference. When arse won their corner it was probably the only time they crossed the halfway line all half.

Admittedly Bendtner should have scored but then so should Barca with the 15 other sitters they missed.

I agree with what Souness said in that they probably got a bigger chasing tonight than they did last year

08-03-2011, 10:47 PM
UTD for the title :agree:

Utd for Barca in the next round please :agree:

Hibbie_Cameron
08-03-2011, 10:50 PM
Every single time a Barca player went down, he blew his whistle. Granted, most of them actually were fouls, but there were some that weren't.

Just like what Arsenal get most weeks, when Messers Fabregas, Walcott and Van Persie trip over thin air.

I was laughing watching that tonight, sending off or not it would not have mattered imo (TBF Kosceilny could and prob should have walked too). Arsenal could not string two passes together and if not for Almunia it could easily have been 5,6,7 or goodness knows what.

The funniest thing was Wenger bemoans the likes of Wolves, Blackburn, Bolton, Wigan, Stoke and Sunderland for sitting back and playing anti-football when thats all he done with his team tonight. Double standards or what.

Barca were a class act and deserved to go through and probably would have won if Arsenal had 12 men on the park let alone 10 or 11

Newhaven
Here's this Man U love-in pish again. :dummytit:

What's Man Utd got to do with anything here?

They played Barca in the 2009 final :confused:

Utd for Barca in the next round please :agree:that's no really the reaction I wis looking for :greengrin

08-03-2011, 10:51 PM
When do you ever see Arsenal sit back like they did tonight? They never pressed the ball until Barca were 30 yards from goal. Wilshere was about the only one trying to press a little higher up.

That was the difference between the two sides tonight. As soon as Arsenal got the ball, the Barca players were right in their faces. Their workrate was phenomenal.

I don't think they were sitting back. Barca chose to have the ball in Arsenals half and Arsenal couldn't get it back

08-03-2011, 10:53 PM
that's no really the reaction I wis looking for :greengrin

Exactly :greengrin

You just have to sit back and admire when you watch football on show like that tonight :agree:

Barca will do that to every single team they play against, Including Man u etc.

08-03-2011, 10:54 PM
They played Barca in the 2009 final :confused:

Aye, ok :dunno:

Newhaven
08-03-2011, 10:58 PM
Aye, ok :dunno:

08-03-2011, 11:00 PM
I don't think they were sitting back. Barca chose to have the ball in Arsenals half and Arsenal couldn't get it back

Thats all very well, but I honestly believe that if Arsenal had pushed higher up and closed the Barca players higher up the field, they would have had a lot more success. Mascherano's not brilliant with the ball at his feet. Stop them building from the back and you can stem the tide of their attacks. They're not unbeatable. Teams are just too scared of them.

gunnerhibee
08-03-2011, 11:01 PM
Utd for Barca in the next round please :agree:

The so called ´best team in the world´ really didn´t do very much against a second rate Premier League team - hopefully some ´wee team´will stuff them cos, really, they aint that good...VAMOS any other team than Barcelona (mucho rico barstewards)...

08-03-2011, 11:02 PM
Van persie should not have been sent off, would it have made any difference, we will never know? What we can safely say is it didnt help them.

gunnerhibee
08-03-2011, 11:24 PM
So you think Fabby, Van Persie et al dive every week - what a strange world you live in...do you ever watch the Premier League. OK, Arsenal weren´t very good tonight but when you´re playing away you´ve got to play safe which Arsenal really can´t do...In any case, I take it you ain´t no Arsenal fan....Great that you´re supporting a Spanish team which doesn´t happen over here....

09-03-2011, 12:37 AM
All arsenal needed was the bit of luck inter got last year. They were totally out played but got a little lucky and went on to win the european cup.

Sending off was a joke as was motta's last year away vs barca but as i said inter got the little luck and thats all it was.

09-03-2011, 12:59 AM
I don't agree with the rule and it is a shame Van Persie got sent off but at the end of the day rules are rules!!

09-03-2011, 01:22 AM
I don't agree with the rule and it is a shame Van Persie got sent off but at the end of the day rules are rules!!You do know there was one second between the ref blowing and RVP hitting the shot. Joke sending off.

09-03-2011, 07:17 AM

:confused: :faf:

That has to be the sentence of the year on the board

09-03-2011, 08:40 AM
I heard Wenger this morning on the sportsnews and I almost fell off my chair 'I am convinced we would have won without the sending off'.

He's beyond parody.

Newhaven
09-03-2011, 08:55 AM
:confused: :faf:

That has to be the sentence of the year on the board

You dont get on here much then do you?

09-03-2011, 09:18 AM
You do know there was one second between the ref blowing and RVP hitting the shot. Joke sending off.

I don't care how long there was, he knew the whistle had gone, you can see it.

He is lying about not hearing it, no doubt about that.

Footballers react to all sorts of things in less than a second.

A harsh sending off, perhaps, but he hit the ball when he knew he shouldn't and unfortunately that's a booking.

09-03-2011, 09:24 AM
The so called ´best team in the world´ really didn´t do very much against a second rate Premier League team - hopefully some ´wee team´will stuff them cos, really, they aint that good...VAMOS any other team than Barcelona (mucho rico barstewards)...

:eek:

09-03-2011, 10:40 AM
You dont get on here much then do you?

Your having a laugh surely :confused:

So your definition of playing well is not being able to put three passes together and playing the game in your own half while the other team swarm all over you :rolleyes:

09-03-2011, 10:46 AM

A harsh sending off, perhaps, but he hit the ball when he knew he shouldn't and unfortunately that's a booking.

Completely agree. The linesman was on the side of the pitch he collected the ball and he IMO would have clearly seen the flag and knew he was offside anyway and deliberately shot. If he thought he was onside he would IMO have taken the ball on and shot with his stonger foot. He was stupid and at it with the melodramatic pointing at the stands. Correct decision IMO.

It would also have been a complete travesty if Arsenal won given the almost complete domination of Barca over the 2 legs.

09-03-2011, 10:57 AM
Completely agree. The linesman was on the side of the pitch he collected the ball and he IMO would have clearly seen the flag and knew he was offside anyway and deliberately shot. If he thought he was onside he would IMO have taken the ball on and shot with his stonger foot. He was stupid and at it with the melodramatic pointing at the stands. Correct decision IMO.

Don't see what all the hassle is myself: he was lucky to stay on the pitch in the first half after deliberately hitting his opponent in the face and getting only a yellow - Van Persie knew he couldn't afford another yellow, but he stupidly risked it - if I was Wenger I know who I'd be annoyed with, but the ref's the easier option. Killed the game though, so I was sorry to see the idiot go off.

09-03-2011, 11:01 AM
Don't see what all the hassle is myself: he was lucky to stay on the pitch in the first half after deliberately hitting his opponent in the face and getting only a yellow - Van Persie knew he couldn't afford another yellow, but he stupidly risked it - if I was Wenger I know who I'd be annoyed with, but the ref's the easier option. Killed the game though, so I was sorry to see the idiot go off.

Yep, and if he wasn't reacting to just having heard the whistle I'd love to know what he was doing taking that shot with his wrong foot in that position. He'd never have done it without hearing the whistle.

09-03-2011, 11:05 AM
Yep, and if he wasn't reacting to just having heard the whistle I'd love to know what he was doing taking that shot with his wrong foot in that position. He'd never have done it without hearing the whistle.

Yep he would have been gagging to get the ball onto his left leg if he knew he wasnt offside.

THFC6061
09-03-2011, 11:28 AM
Well Arsenal made Champions League history last night.

They are the only team not to have had a single shot on target, yet they still scored a goal.

And as for RvP, perhaps he has an intermittent hearing problem, as he didn't hear the girl say 'no' either.

09-03-2011, 12:13 PM
Van Persie's at it all the time. On this occasion he got done.

09-03-2011, 12:39 PM
Arsenal obviously went with a plan to sit back, and try get forward when possible. If they pushed up a bit more they would have got mauled even more IMO. They done well until Barca scored, even then, what was Cesc thinking :rolleyes:

09-03-2011, 01:30 PM
Guardiola:

"They didn't string three passes together. If they believe they lost because of [Robin] Van Persie's sending-off they won't go very far and will always remain on the outside looking in."

09-03-2011, 01:37 PM

Oddly enough there were two other offside decisions later in the game - one against Arsenal, one against Barca, and both players involved stopped immediately as soon as the whistle blew.

Van Persie was lucky to stay on the field in the first half - I'd have red-carded him then. All the fuss about the sending-off is just sour grapes from Arsenal and the English media.

Someone needs to do a health and safety check of the Emirates Stadium - Wenger keeps getting these intermittent attacks of selective blindness; now Van Persie's hearing's going.

And a few more find it very difficult to stand upright at times - keep falling over....

09-03-2011, 02:05 PM

No way did he not hear that whistle or see the flag. But yet again it's easier for a manager to blame a referee rather than the stupidity of his own player.

At the end of the day Barca destroyed Arsenal last night with what was essentially a weakened team. How Arsenal thought they could sit in for 90 minutes is beyond me. I know Inter beat Barca by doing that last year but i think it's fair to say Inter are slightly more blessed defensively and in the defensive midfield positions than Arsenal, they also had a better manager.

09-03-2011, 03:19 PM

No way did he not hear that whistle or see the flag. But yet again it's easier for a manager to blame a referee rather than the stupidity of his own player.

At the end of the day Barca destroyed Arsenal last night with what was essentially a weakened team. How Arsenal thought they could sit in for 90 minutes is beyond me. I know Inter beat Barca by doing that last year but i think it's fair to say Inter are slightly more blessed defensively and in the defensive midfield positions than Arsenal, they also had a better manager.Arsenal had no Walcott no Song no Vermaelen and half fit RVP and Fabregas.Also Szczesny got injured after 10 mins.

09-03-2011, 03:24 PM
Arsenal had no Walcott no Song no Vermaelen and half fit RVP and Fabregas.Also Szczesny got injured after 10 mins.

Granted, but Barca were without their first choice central defence pairing of Puyol and Pique.

Sending off was poor, but him staying on would not have made one iota of difference to the final result. Mr Wenger again shows his gracelessness in defeat with his after match statements