View Full Version : NHC Nani's injury

06-03-2011, 09:00 PM
http://img.mobypicture.com/21de0927afce7863fedde73237ae7d0d_view.jpg

How the **** Carragher din't get a red for that I have no idea. Dowd may not have seen the incident properly but when you see evidence like that surely he should have sent him off

06-03-2011, 09:05 PM

How the **** Carragher din't get a red for that I have no idea. Dowd may not have seen the incident properly but when you see evidence like that surely he should have sent him off

Correct me, but doesn't Wayne Roney play for the same team as Nani?

Ain't karma a real bitch? :devil:

06-03-2011, 09:08 PM
That photo confuses me, is that during the tackle, or after when being treated?

I suppose you could argue that Rafael could also have been sent off for his lunge on Lucas.

06-03-2011, 09:10 PM
Correct me, but doesn't Wayne Roney play for the same team as Nani?

Ain't karma a real bitch? :devil:

Should you be talking about karma in your line of work?

06-03-2011, 09:12 PM
Imho they should have both been red cards.

06-03-2011, 09:15 PM
That photo confuses me, is that during the tackle, or after when being treated?

I suppose you could argue that Rafael could also have been sent off for his lunge on Lucas.

I'm not a fan of either side but that Rafael pretty much missed which certainly cannot be said of Carragher

06-03-2011, 10:09 PM
I said this on the match update thread, Jamie Carragher gets away with absolute murder week after week. Everyone knows that Wayne Rooney got away with his elbow last week but what that has to do with Carragher putting in a potential leg breaker on Nani, I'm not exactly sure.

Shocking tackle and it's a joke that he can't get a retrospective sending off for that.

KiddA
06-03-2011, 10:09 PM

Shocking tackle, how he stayed on the park I will never know :rolleyes: Carragher is a animal. Kenny Dalglish's comments after being asked was Carragher lucky to stay on the pitch was "Carragher was lucky to be in a Liverpool jersey" what a grade A twat :bitchy:

06-03-2011, 10:18 PM
Shocking tackle, how he stayed on the park I will never know :rolleyes: Carragher is a animal. Kenny Dalglish's comments after being asked was Carragher lucky to stay on the pitch was "Carragher was lucky to be in a Liverpool jersey" what a grade A twat :bitchy:

:agree: Some of his comments since coming back as Liverpool manager have been very Strachan-esque.

He annoys me more and more with every passing day.

06-03-2011, 10:24 PM
Was he not wearing shin pads or did he just take them off in the picture?

06-03-2011, 10:29 PM
Nani cons referees week in, week out and a couple of times I've seen him lately, I've watched referees wave him to his feet - perhaps referees are becoming less willing to take his claims seriously?

I've no arguments that Carragher's tackle was awful, but maybe he's become a victim of his own "crying wolf" type antics and Dowd thought he made a meal of it (which in light of the gash, he clearly didn't).

I have to confess though, I found it bemusing that he got up, ran after the referee with no hint of a limp to show him the gash and then fell back to the ground and rolled around a bit more - puzzling

I do think it's stupid that the FA can't take retrospective action as there are many incidents which go unpunished or underpunished each week - there's only so much detail/evidence the human eye can capture.

KiddA
06-03-2011, 10:30 PM
:agree: Some of his comments since coming back as Liverpool manager have been very Strachan-esque.

Me too, it was a strange thing to say :confused:

KiddA
06-03-2011, 10:33 PM
Nani cons referees week in, week out and a couple of times I've seen him lately, I've watched referees wave him to his feet - perhaps referees are becoming less willing to take his claims seriously?

I've no arguments that Carragher's tackle was awful, but maybe he's become a victim of his own "crying wolf" type antics and Dowd thought he made a meal of it (which in light of the gash, he clearly didn't).

I have to confess though, I found it bemusing that he got up, ran after the referee with no hint of a limp to show him the gash and then fell back to the ground and rolled around a bit more - puzzling

I do think it's stupid that the FA can't take retrospective action as there are many incidents which go unpunished or underpunished each week - there's only so much detail/evidence the human eye can capture.

I don't think Nani realized either to be honest maybe a mixture of shock and what not.

06-03-2011, 10:35 PM
I don't think Nani realized either to be honest maybe a mixture of shock and what not.

Give the guy credit for running on it at all - I'd be howlin' like a bairn :greengrin

06-03-2011, 10:37 PM

Unlike the ever diplomatic Alex Ferguson who has even refused to talk to MUTV!

06-03-2011, 10:39 PM
Carragher. Animal who tries it on week in week out and generally gets away with it, in that he gets far fewer yellow cards than he deserves.
Nani. Fud who tries it on week in week out and generally gets away with it, in that he gets far fewer yellow cards than he deserves.

KiddA
06-03-2011, 10:41 PM
Give the guy credit for running on it at all - I'd be howlin' like a bairn :greengrin

:tee hee::thumbsup:

KiddA
06-03-2011, 10:42 PM

How long have you been State side?

06-03-2011, 10:45 PM
How long have you been State side?

I'm actually on Tay-side just now, but I'm originally from RI.

Back and forth throughout the year though - due back in May then off to Fla. in September :agree:

06-03-2011, 10:45 PM
Should you be talking about karma in your line of work?

Wouldn't want anyone to think I was narrow-minded.... greengrin

But I suppose I could refer to the b=verse in Matthew that tells us not to try to get a speck of sawdust out of the other guy's eye when we have a dirty great plank of wood in our own?

I don't recall a great deal of honesty from the Manure camp last week regarding Rooney's elbow into the side of McCarthy's head. Nor do I hear any embarrassed noises regarding Ferguson's monumentally hypocritical outburst over the referee at the Chelsea game. And as already pointed out, Nani tries it on week in, week out and may well have been a victim of his own dishonesty here.

So I don't think anyone in that camp is really in a position to complain about this challenge, bad as it was. What goes around, comes around.

I look forward to seeing what may be in store for a certain Hamilton centre-back from Tuesday evening....

KiddA
06-03-2011, 10:51 PM
I'm actually on Tay-side just now, but I'm originally from RI.

Back and forth throughout the year though - due back in May then off to Fla. in September :agree:

Thats great, I worked in Rhode Island a few years back for a couple of weeks nice place and nice people. I used to travel a lot with football. I am now settled and married and live in Jacksonville, Florida love it over here. Just got my Green card last week and looking forward to coming back to see the Leith San Siro soon to visit :wink:

06-03-2011, 11:00 PM
Carragher. Animal who tries it on week in week out and generally gets away with it, in that he gets far fewer yellow cards than he deserves.
Nani. Fud who tries it on week in week out and generally gets away with it, in that he gets far fewer yellow cards than he deserves.

But of course dangerous, potentially career-ending tackles are part of the game, whereas diving is sly, Continental cheating.

06-03-2011, 11:13 PM

Nani actually was crying.

I hope you realise this is all your fault. You monster!

06-03-2011, 11:24 PM
what am I meant to be looking at??

Actually is that a strip of his flesh hanging off exposing the muscle below??? Thats ****ing minging if that the case :sick:

06-03-2011, 11:25 PM
If im being honest, I think the ref done the right thing keeping them both on. Red cards ruin a game IMO. And I support Man Utd aswell. I was a bit puzzled that hwe got up, ran and then went down again. I dont think he realised it was that bad. Both late challenges but I wouldnt say intent on either, more just passion of the game and heat of the moment.

1875godsgift
06-03-2011, 11:25 PM
what am I meant to be looking at??

:agree: I thought it was a still from a porno? :confused:

WarringtonHibee
06-03-2011, 11:26 PM
Couldn't happen to a nicer guy, eh? :agree:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0XpEoCvW2Wo

06-03-2011, 11:44 PM
Carragher is an animal. He's like a good version of those centre back you see in amateur games up and down the country week in week out. Not that good at football but throws himself into challenges, bit of a bully, decent in the air and thats about it.

Not a fan of Nani either really but that tackle was pretty brutal, as was Rafales although thankfully he as good as missed.

06-03-2011, 11:56 PM
Both late challenges but I wouldnt say intent on either, more just passion of the game and heat of the moment.
I wouldn't say intent in the Carragher challenge, other than trying to break Nani's leg.

07-03-2011, 12:00 AM

That's laughable considering the comments that have come out of the Manchester United camp recently.

After the Wigan game they were saying the referee should be left alone to make decisions.

The next game they are moaning like hell about the refs decisions and questioning their integrity.

The next game they refuse to even speak to the press.

Ferguson is a great manager but he's an ersehole of the highest order.

07-03-2011, 12:03 AM
Carragher is an animal. He's like a good version of those centre back you see in amateur games up and down the country week in week out. Not that good at football but throws himself into challenges, bit of a bully, decent in the air and thats about it.

Not a fan of Nani either really but that tackle was pretty brutal, as was Rafales although thankfully he as good as missed.

I'm sorry but you don't play for a team like Liverpool for 12 years if that's all you have in your locker.

07-03-2011, 08:21 AM
funny how no one talks about the howler of the decision by the referee to deny Wolves the win yesterday. Hutton should have walked at the penalty and he disallowed a perfectly good goal after Gomes gaffed as usual.

however, all the talk as usual is about how Man Utd were hard done by (as if), while relegation threatened Wolves "deny spurs" (Sky Sports news).

07-03-2011, 08:34 AM
I wouldn't say intent in the Carragher challenge, other than trying to break Nani's leg.

So you think he tried to break Nani's leg :confused: I don't it was just a hard mistimed tackle :agree:

07-03-2011, 08:54 AM
So you think he tried to break Nani's leg :confused: I don't it was just a hard mistimed tackle :agree:

Perhaps just wanton and reckless rather than intentionally malicious. Don't buy all the 'mistimed' pish from 'puddle fans though, unless the whole pitch suddenly lowered itself by two feet between the time the tackle started and the time it hit the Portuguese girl's leg.

07-03-2011, 08:58 AM
Perhaps just wanton and reckless rather than intentionally malicious. Don't buy all the 'mistimed' pish from 'puddle fans though, unless the whole pitch suddenly lowered itself by two feet between the time the tackle started and the time it hit the Portuguese girl's leg.

And if Rafael had conected? he showed far more malice in his attempt than Carragher did, :agree:

07-03-2011, 09:24 AM
carragher should have walked no doubt, rafael probably as well, but maxi just before that was thigh high on him so the red mist must have descended.as for skirtle = hypocrite considering what his mate had just done.on a side note Saurez looks a class addition for Liverpool.

TonyStokeprano
07-03-2011, 10:27 AM

I take it you have never heard of adrenaline, I have seen a man get stabbed in the chest and get up and hit his attacker only to die 25 minutes later.

07-03-2011, 10:39 AM
And if Rafael had conected? he showed far more malice in his attempt than Carragher did, :agree:

Maybe he did. They should have both been off, and possibly also the 'puddle boy that 'mistimed' his boot into Rafael's thigh just before he launched himself.

Other thing I couldn't understand - and it happens regularly in EPL matches - was that when the ref was talking to the two captains, presumably to get them to calm things down after Carragher's mistimed challenge, Carragher himself continued to yap away in the ref's face, presumably about how Nani's leg had mistimed itself on to Carragher's studs rather than the other way about. Refs really need to get a grip on the pushing, manhandling and yapping - it's not in any way 'good telly': it's just pathetic, grown men behaving like six year olds.

scott7_0(Prague)
07-03-2011, 11:05 AM
I take it you have never heard of adrenaline, I have seen a man get stabbed in the chest and get up and hit his attacker only to die 25 minutes later.

I suppose it was that same adrenaline that helped him throw a punch at the St'Johns Ambulance staff trying to help him onto the stretcher??

class a dick is Nani.

07-03-2011, 11:24 AM
Maybe he did. They should have both been off, and possibly also the 'puddle boy that 'mistimed' his boot into Rafael's thigh just before he launched himself.

Other thing I couldn't understand - and it happens regularly in EPL matches - was that when the ref was talking to the two captains, presumably to get them to calm things down after Carragher's mistimed challenge, Carragher himself continued to yap away in the ref's face, presumably about how Nani's leg had mistimed itself on to Carragher's studs rather than the other way about. Refs really need to get a grip on the pushing, manhandling and yapping - it's not in any way 'good telly': it's just pathetic, grown men behaving like six year olds.

Yeah of course that's what he said, I don't think Carragher was the only non captain yapping at the ref, and I agree with what you say it should be captains only questioning the match officials, [one of the few things that the egg chaser's do that I would like introduced at fitba].

07-03-2011, 11:26 AM
I suppose it was that same adrenaline that helped him throw a punch at the St'Johns Ambulance staff trying to help him onto the stretcher??

class a dick is Nani.

I think it was a MU staff member that he threw his arm at.

He is a mediterraneo drama queen but that is the make up. Whatever the personality the tackle was a shocker, the injury caused terrible. And Carragher should have had a straight red.

07-03-2011, 12:00 PM
Imo Carragher gave Nani a sore one, the kind of tackle players like him years ago used to do to their immediate opponent, just to let them know they were there.

Today its a sending off, and he should have been. If Nani did not have the gash on his leg, and had carried on it would all have been forgotten.

For Fergie to moan about it, or even any Man United fan is just embarrassing. As usual they only see things through red glasses, and for every bad tackle they recieve, there's usually one they have given conveniently forgotten.

Only last week United called for us to just let the ref get on with his job after Rooneys forearm smash, whats changed this week fergie?

07-03-2011, 12:07 PM
Imo Carragher gave Nani a sore one, the kind of tackle players like him years ago used to do to their immediate opponent, just to let them know they were there.

Today its a sending off, and he should have been. If Nani did not have the gash on his leg, and had carried on it would all have been forgotten.

For Fergie to moan about it, or even any Man United fan is just embarrassing. As usual they only see things through red glasses, and for every bad tackle they recieve, there's usually one they have given conveniently forgotten.

Only last week United called for us to just let the ref get on with his job after Rooneys forearm smash, whats changed this week fergie?

Fergie's in the huff and no talking to anybody so we will never know :greengrin

07-03-2011, 12:21 PM
Fergie's in the huff and no talking to anybody so we will never know :greengrin

He's like a spoilt little bratt eh, what a phannie. :greengrin

07-03-2011, 01:16 PM
Couldn't happen to a nicer guy, eh? :agree:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0XpEoCvW2Wo

First time ive seen that video, What a complete and utter cheating barsteward!

07-03-2011, 01:58 PM
Carragher - not two footed, bad tackle and I think, really bad timing. Defo yellow. Some refs would give a red. Not a good tackle. He acknowledged that, hung around for Nani afterward the game, behind closed doors, to apologise in person and said sorry. Doesnt change it, but at least he's no being a dick aboot it. He acknowledged he got it wrong.

Rafael. Two footed. Intent WAS there. Rules state if intent is there, its a red for a 2 footed challenge. Gerrard (RIGHTLY) got sent off against Man U for the same thing...this was no different. He stayed on...2 wrongs dont make a right but they either both walked or they both stayed.

They both stayed. In the main, the ref done well yesterday. The fracas at the end of the first half could have seen many yellows and reds...it didnt.

As for comments on Dalglish and his interview...he may say and do things you dont like or agree with but one thing he will NEVER do is rip the pish out his own players, in public. Which is why, he gets respect. Which is why, with mostly Hodgsons team, he almost instantly got 100% more from them. The players wont always be in the right. He knows that. But he's no gonna turn roond to sky sports or any other press and rip the pish. He might do it behind closed doors where the opposition canny see it...he's done it before and sold players who dont fit the team anaw. You don't get to succeed at the top level in management by being everyones' pal but you also get nowhere if the players hate you. Ask Roy Hodgson. Anyway, Dalglish is the King, TTFN, ENDOF :devil: :greengrin

Forthview
07-03-2011, 04:05 PM
As reported on SSN by one of the cute blonde girlies, last Friday MUFC announced that they wouldnt speak to the media after yesterday's game. Some people here are claiming that Fergie is moaning etc about incidents in yesterday's game, I havent seen or heard it anywhere.
More importantly who is the gayboy who pulled Rafaels hair?
As for KennyDal, he has always been an erse like Strachan with the media.
Is it so long ago since the mighty reds were champions that KD and Souness etc playing for them, seems like the game down there has been dominated by quality teams like Arsenal, Chelsea And Man Utd over the last 20 years or so. Just a few observations, likes.:rolleyes:

07-03-2011, 08:26 PM

Carragher's a legend, Dalglish is a legend. Was at Carraghers testimonial this year, he's a great leader (unlucky not to be captain due to Gerrard).

Saying this, it was a terrible challenge and deserved a red, but so did Rafael imo.

@Forthview it was Suarez that pulled Rafael's hair, it was a bit weird but what a performance from him.

TonyStokeprano
08-03-2011, 10:06 AM

class a dick is Nani.

That punch into the ground ? clown

scott7_0(Prague)
08-03-2011, 10:26 AM
That punch into the ground ? clown

I will choose to ignore the CLOWN Remark just now, :rolleyes:

Here is a clip of the incident, at 2mins 16sec you can see Nani strike out, now unless Liverpool ground staff and messed up here and placed the ground near to the St.John's ambulance staff head then I feel you maybe should retract the CLOWN Remark.

Rgds Coco.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SD-FlKPopc

08-03-2011, 11:20 AM
As reported on SSN by one of the cute blonde girlies, last Friday MUFC announced that they wouldnt speak to the media after yesterday's game. Some people here are claiming that Fergie is moaning etc about incidents in yesterday's game, I havent seen or heard it anywhere.
More importantly who is the gayboy who pulled Rafaels hair?
As for KennyDal, he has always been an erse like Strachan with the media.
Is it so long ago since the mighty reds were champions that KD and Souness etc playing for them, seems like the game down there has been dominated by quality teams like Arsenal, Chelsea And Man Utd over the last 20 years or so. Just a few observations, likes.:rolleyes:

Suarez was the little girl pulling his hair, if i remember right Rafael got caught about waist height by Maxi immediately before he lunged for lucas. Probably should have just gone down instead got frustrated and tried to give Lucas a doing.

08-03-2011, 12:04 PM
**** it. I dont' give a **** who likes this but here's what happened.

Carragher horsed Nani. Fair dues. As I said, it was a defo yellow, some give a red, it was mistimed and wasn't two footed. Up to the ref.

Nani's reaction - he got up, he went down, he hit out, he had tears and he did take a swipe at the ambulance boys ... not disimilar to our very own Benji when he often (feigned) injury. Fair doo's, Nani's injury is genuine. But lets no have any bull**** here. The facts are just that. The camera doesny lie. Nani is renowned for his pish and his antics to the stretcher boys was bang out of order.

Some folk have great double standards. If it was Murray halfing some sheep player as he did last season, no eyelid batted yet all the Man U fans on here conveniently forget this, folk like big Matty Jack etc, this is cool but when their other team come a cropper, they immediately kick in with the double standards.

It was a bad tackle. Its over and done now. Its not a leg breaker. its not a career ender. Its a bad tackle. Simple as that. Rooney's forearm elbow smash acceptable? Naw. The Rafael lunge, two footed, mid-air connects, and we ARE Talking a broken leg - this is OK??

Balls. At least be consistent and honest. You either accept this **** happens or you dont. Ye canny have it both ways where one of yer teams is allowed to do it cause it suits you but when its done to your other team, its then the biggest crime of the century.

08-03-2011, 12:20 PM
**** it. I dont' give a **** who likes this but here's what happened.

Carragher horsed Nani. Fair dues. As I said, it was a defo yellow, some give a red, it was mistimed and wasn't two footed. Up to the ref.

Nani's reaction - he got up, he went down, he hit out, he had tears and he did take a swipe at the ambulance boys ... not disimilar to our very own Benji when he often (feigned) injury. Fair doo's, Nani's injury is genuine. But lets no have any bull**** here. The facts are just that. The camera doesny lie. Nani is renowned for his pish and his antics to the stretcher boys was bang out of order.

Some folk have great double standards. If it was Murray halfing some sheep player as he did last season, no eyelid batted yet all the Man U fans on here conveniently forget this, folk like big Matty Jack etc, this is cool but when their other team come a cropper, they immediately kick in with the double standards.

It was a bad tackle. Its over and done now. Its not a leg breaker. its not a career ender. Its a bad tackle. Simple as that. Rooney's forearm elbow smash acceptable? Naw. The Rafael lunge, two footed, mid-air connects, and we ARE Talking a broken leg - this is OK??

Balls. At least be consistent and honest. You either accept this **** happens or you dont. Ye canny have it both ways where one of yer teams is allowed to do it cause it suits you but when its done to your other team, its then the biggest crime of the century.

This would be the tackle that Ian Murray put in on Fraser Fyvie last season? The tackle that resulted in Murray actually winning the ball? :confused:

Yes Fyvie unfortunately ended up with a pretty bad injury but Murray's tackle was nothing but strong and fair. Murray didn't even get booked for it and if memory serves me correctly, I think a throw-in even got awarded, as opposed to a foul to Aberdeen!

To compare that with what Carragher did to Nani on Sunday is pretty ridiculous. IMO of course.

08-03-2011, 12:33 PM
That's laughable considering the comments that have come out of the Manchester United camp recently.

After the Wigan game they were saying the referee should be left alone to make decisions.

The next game they are moaning like hell about the refs decisions and questioning their integrity.

The next game they refuse to even speak to the press.

Ferguson is a great manager but he's an ersehole of the highest order.

It should have been a red - but the comments above are bang on IMHO Fergie is a pwick :agree:

08-03-2011, 12:42 PM
This would be the tackle that Ian Murray put in on Fraser Fyvie last season? The tackle that resulted in Murray actually winning the ball? :confused:

Yes Fyvie unfortunately ended up with a pretty bad injury but Murray's tackle was nothing but strong and fair. Murray didn't even get booked for it and if memory serves me correctly, I think a throw-in even got awarded, as opposed to a foul to Aberdeen!

To compare that with what Carragher did to Nani on Sunday is pretty ridiculous. IMO of course.

Exactly.

If you want to talk about double standards, I think calling Carraghers a "bad tackle" and calling Rafael's a "leg breaker" comes pretty close to the mark.

That Carragher tackle could easily have broken Nani's leg.

Oh and I notice that nothing has been said about Kuyt's reaction to the tackle. Looking at Nani down on the ground, screaming in his face. Didn't Diouf get hung, drawn and quartered from the media for doing the same thing?

08-03-2011, 01:44 PM
Oh and I notice that nothing has been said about Kuyt's reaction to the tackle. Looking at Nani down on the ground, screaming in his face. Didn't Diouf get hung, drawn and quartered from the media for doing the same thing?

Kuyt's behaviour was actually worse. Diouf only screams abuse at men lying on the ground; Kuyt was screaming at a wee lassie. What a dirk.

08-03-2011, 01:46 PM
Kuyt's behaviour was actually worse. Diouf only screams abuse at men lying on the ground; Kuyt was screaming at a wee lassie. What a dirk.

True. And, a lassie who was greeting anaw, no less :devil:

TonyStokeprano
08-03-2011, 03:16 PM
I will choose to ignore the CLOWN Remark just now, :rolleyes:

Here is a clip of the incident, at 2mins 16sec you can see Nani strike out, now unless Liverpool ground staff and messed up here and placed the ground near to the St.John's ambulance staff head then I feel you maybe should retract the CLOWN Remark.

Rgds Coco.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SD-FlKPopc

I can see nani pull his arm back and punch the ground actually, the medical staff is almost hit with the backswing, cheers for that

TonyStokeprano
08-03-2011, 03:19 PM
Nothing said about that dirty horrible scouse ******* steven gerrard for his part in it all, standing screaming looking at the cut on nani's leg telling him to get up, the same gerrard who was dismissed for a wild lunge on michael carrick last month. probably gutted that hel never win a premier league title and all these players have 3 or 4 each.

08-03-2011, 03:23 PM

I think Nani was crying at the sight of Kuyt's ugly mug.

Can't say I'm surprised.

08-03-2011, 10:11 PM
I think Nani was crying at the sight of Kuyt's ugly mug.

Can't say I'm surprised.

Tell ye what, there's no ***** denying that. Woooyacantye. That's a puss for above the fire and nae mistake. A face that'll haunt ye for sure (they tell me that very puss is haunting auld whisky puss as we speak, something aboot "three in one game" or something) :greengrin :aok: :thumbsup:

ENDOF