View Full Version : Football Years - 1986 - Fri 2100 STV

03-03-2011, 07:01 PM
Cannae remember if anything of interest happened that year. Anyone able to remember?

03-03-2011, 07:05 PM
Dashing Bob S is your man for the answer to this one. An expert on this particular year:greengrin

03-03-2011, 07:12 PM
Cannae remember if anything of interest happened that year. Anyone able to remember?

I hope they show that infamous day in Dundee:agree:

03-03-2011, 07:16 PM
Wasn't that when the Yams did their famous double? It's certainly what the flags and T shirts of the time said. I can't bear to watch, I hope someone tells me its not true, or what really happened.

03-03-2011, 07:18 PM
Cannae remember if anything of interest happened that year. Anyone able to remember?Sure it was something tae do with a team from Edinburgh :hmmm: runs in my mind that it was a BIG team :hmmm: can anybody help out with the name? :dunno:

03-03-2011, 07:20 PM
No danger am I gonna sit and watch those mutants win the double. That's what happened eh?

03-03-2011, 07:22 PM
No danger am I gonna sit and watch those mutants win the double. That's what happened eh?Yep, my Daddy was telling me Walter Kidd scored a late double and the league championship went to Tynecastle. The week later at Hampden they romped to a 3 goal win and lifted the Scottish Cup.

03-03-2011, 07:25 PM
Aye, they done the double. I committed suicide shortly after.

03-03-2011, 07:25 PM
Dashing Bob S is your man for the answer to this one. An expert on this particular year:greengrin

Would love to help but my memory is shot - must be all the gin I've been drinking.

I'm going to take it easy in the future and stop knocking back those doubles at closing time.

hmmm:

03-03-2011, 07:27 PM
Yep, my Daddy was telling me Walter Kidd scored a late double and the league championship went to Tynecastle. The week later at Hampden they romped to a 3 goal win and lifted the Scottish Cup.

I was at the Cup Final in the Sheep end. A friend was an Aberdeen fan.
Never seen so many broken hearts that day!

03-03-2011, 07:29 PM
Yep, my Daddy was telling me Walter Kidd scored a late double and the league championship went to Tynecastle. The week later at Hampden they romped to a 3 goal win and lifted the Scottish Cup.

Funny how they are too modest to talk about it.

They prefer to bang on about the time they beat a now defunct, then 3rd division team on penalties, when most of us were too busy rolling about laughing at their utterly pitiful performance that day to actually give a monkey's.

03-03-2011, 07:30 PM
I will be interested to see if that fat wee Yam from Drylaw makes an appearance sitting crying on the steps. It must have been an emotional day, winning the league with the prospect of a double the next Saturday. I'm sure it would knock the stuffing out of most of us.

03-03-2011, 07:37 PM
Sure it was something tae do with a team from Edinburgh :hmmm: runs in my mind that it was a BIG team :hmmm: can anybody help out with the name? :dunno:I was right :agree: it did involve a BIG team, just came tae me in a flash :idea:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCjEsN4E85s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pGkVGGMFEs

sorry if I've spoiled it :greengrin

GhostofBolivar
03-03-2011, 07:37 PM
Don't forget this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbbsytHDp2o&feature=related)

03-03-2011, 07:44 PM
Don't forget this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbbsytHDp2o&feature=related)

or this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvdesakrwn0

03-03-2011, 07:45 PM
I will be interested to see if that fat wee Yam from Drylaw makes an appearance sitting crying on the steps. It must have been an emotional day, winning the league with the prospect of a double the next Saturday. I'm sure it would knock the stuffing out of most of us.

:agree: I'd have been so overcome I'd have got a mullet to mark the occasion

JoeTortolanoFanClub
03-03-2011, 07:47 PM
I think I remember what happened in 1986. But not 1966. Was there something about a goal being disallowed for not crossing the line ?

03-03-2011, 07:51 PM
I think I remember what happened in 1986. But not 1966. Was there something about a goal being disallowed for not crossing the line ?

Did the big team no win the World Cup that year?, wasnae that long after they won the war so I hear.

03-03-2011, 07:54 PM
Sir Albert's second that day always reminds me wee Russell's in the 6-2 raping of the mutants.

03-03-2011, 07:56 PM
I was right :agree: it did involve a BIG team, just came tae me in a flash :idea:

That was good but I take it Hearts must have won the replay/2nd leg?

TrinityHibs
03-03-2011, 08:04 PM
Was that Graham Souness playing for Dundee?

The Baldmans Comb
03-03-2011, 09:24 PM
That quite mingin grey away top just adds to their misery.:greengrin

03-03-2011, 09:31 PM
Mita.

Haha!

Mita.

03-03-2011, 09:54 PM
or this

Watch this video round about 22 seconds, Super Ally giving Mark Fulton a sly 1 from behind.
Sleekit *******.

itchy07
03-03-2011, 10:33 PM
Was that Graham Souness playing for Dundee?

I thought it was Bobby Ball

03-03-2011, 10:43 PM
Cheers folks, I could vaguely remember a couple of these events.

03-03-2011, 10:49 PM
or this

That wasn't cheeky chappie, good for a laugh, salt of the earth, couldn't meet a nicer guy soooooper Alistair McCoist giving Mark Fulton a punch in the back of the head was it?

Surely not, my eyes deceive me.

cheltenhamhibee
03-03-2011, 11:46 PM
That wasn't cheeky chappie, good for a laugh, salt of the earth, couldn't meet a nicer guy soooooper Alistair McCoist giving Mark Fulton a punch in the back of the head was it?

i think you could be right, he would nae have the baws to try and do it from the front, cowardly wee p****

wazoo1875
03-03-2011, 11:54 PM
Sure it was something tae do with a team from Edinburgh :hmmm: runs in my mind that it was a BIG team :hmmm: can anybody help out with the name? :dunno:

Hurt of Midlothian ;-))

See what I did there :-0

04-03-2011, 12:04 AM

What soooper butter wouldnae melt in his mouth loved by everyone and no one has a bad word to say about mr loveable cheeky chappy nice guy McCoist?

You better believe it was, Sneaky little pratt faced rodent!!!

04-03-2011, 08:33 AM
That quite mingin grey away top just adds to their misery.:greengrin

It wasn't grey, it was silver!:agree:

04-03-2011, 08:52 AM
Nobody tell me the score I'm gonna watch it as if its live!:faf::brokenyam:

EskbankHibby
04-03-2011, 09:26 AM
I was right :agree: it did involve a BIG team, just came tae me in a flash :idea:

Tomfoolery and joshing aside how bad is Levein in that Aberdeen game? Look at his attempt to 'close down' Hewitt for the 1st and is it not him who loses his man for the 2nd?

04-03-2011, 09:30 AM

Can't get the sound on but why are Hearts wearing blue in the first game for the league win and red in the secod game for the cup victory? :confused:

04-03-2011, 09:35 AM
Possibly my favourite ever episode of cannon and ball! :agree:

Twa Cairpets
04-03-2011, 09:43 AM
You know, no matter how many times the question of 1986 is raised amongst the collective amenesiacs, the jogging of the memory never fails to bring a wee smile.

04-03-2011, 10:38 AM
Was there no a wee 'Chunky Chicken' ditty that year too. Wasn't this released to commemorate the 'Champions' of that year ? :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

roondheid
04-03-2011, 01:12 PM
Was Fergie still the sheep boss for that cup final, or was he at Man U?

04-03-2011, 01:17 PM
Was Fergie still the sheep boss for that cup final, or was he at Man U?

Yes, didn't move south until the autumn.

Ants
04-03-2011, 08:04 PM
Game on.
Came home early for this.

04-03-2011, 08:07 PM
I think the yams are going to win the title. They just need a point after all.

04-03-2011, 08:07 PM
I know what happened this year as my dad always likes to describe it. :greengrin But as younger fan i am finding it very interesting, mayhem in the stands with all the hooligansim, just cannae wait until Albert Kidd makes an appearance. :thumbsup:

04-03-2011, 08:14 PM
... just cannae wait until Albert Kidd makes an appearance. :thumbsup:

Why? What happens when he comes along?

04-03-2011, 08:15 PM
I know what happened this year as my dad always likes to describe it. :greengrin But as younger fan i am finding it very interesting, mayhem in the stands with all the hooligansim, just cannae wait until Albert Kidd makes an appearance. :thumbsup:

Please nobody tell me how this finishes.

Somebody ruined Titanic by telling me the ending.

04-03-2011, 08:15 PM
What a vile bunch those Hun fans were, nothing changes.

04-03-2011, 08:17 PM
Here we go! :na na:

How many yams were at the game?

EDIT: Never a pen!

HNA8
04-03-2011, 08:18 PM
Yams moaning about the referee, plus ca change?

04-03-2011, 08:19 PM
Never a pen!

Woody70x2
04-03-2011, 08:19 PM
NEVER A PENALTY :greengrin

04-03-2011, 08:21 PM
Goooooaaaaaalllllll!!!!!!!

Ants
04-03-2011, 08:21 PM
Here comes the man

04-03-2011, 08:22 PM
Albert Kidd :not worth

What a goal!

Were we playing? Were our fans going crazy i take it? :thumbsup:

"Utterly cruel"

Ants
My tears are drying...sorrow

HNA8
04-03-2011, 08:23 PM
Aye, Celtic were good that day, but I think anyone would look good playing against a team relaxing on their li-los.

Please nobody tell me how this finishes.

Somebody ruined Titanic by telling me the ending.

It's a bugger when that happens!

GIRUY ya Yam pricks!

04-03-2011, 08:24 PM
Jim White with a mullet and tache!!

Oh, ma sides!!
:faf::faf:

Curly1875
Yeeeeeeeeessss!!!!!:na na:

mrdependable
youd have to have a heart of stone not to laugh

04-03-2011, 08:25 PM
Oh I am getting Goosebumps in my body now!!! :thumbsup:
SIR ALBERT KIDD is more than a LEGEND!!!

Ants
04-03-2011, 08:25 PM
What a goal!

Were we playing? Were our fans going crazy i take it? :thumbsup:

Dundee united
Let me guess? I'm sure we lost a goal round about the time Sak scored...

04-03-2011, 08:26 PM
:hilarious :rotflmao:

04-03-2011, 08:27 PM
brought a tear to my eye....... can't believe our neighbours were that close to a superb double, first time i've heard that story to be fair........feel so bad for them!!

:na na::na na::na na::na na::na na:

04-03-2011, 08:27 PM
:faf::faf:

Fantic
04-03-2011, 08:28 PM
Am on to my 2nd box of kleenex :greengrin

04-03-2011, 08:29 PM
Oh dear, the Scottish Cup as well. :faf:

04-03-2011, 08:29 PM
Willie Miller - "That was one of the easier cup finals"

04-03-2011, 08:30 PM
The best tv ever. The tears in sandy clarks eye. The heads in hands. The melodrama. Better than the sopranos. Thank you yams.

Right then, bring on Souness and der Hun :take that

:hilarious:hilarious

Celtic won the league and we knocked them out of both cups that season.

04-03-2011, 08:32 PM
Only downside - forgot about Jock Stein :boo hoo:

04-03-2011, 08:33 PM
Shame about Jock Stein though. :rolleyes:

04-03-2011, 08:33 PM
Don't forget guys you can watch this again on the STV player tonight as well. Oh it keeps getting better and better!!! :thumbsup:.
"THERE IS ONLY ONE SIR ALBERT KIDD!!!" :flag:

04-03-2011, 08:35 PM
A few years back, I remember someone telling me a Hibby and Yam had been having a discussion about that season. The Yam had said that Hearts took 7 points out of 8 that season against Hibs, so he had to reason to slag them off. The Hibby replied, "aye, but if you'd taken 8 you'd have won the league", think it shut him up. :greengrin

HNA8
04-03-2011, 08:36 PM

It's always a pain when these poor wee diddy teams get to cup finals.

Part-time fans crawling out of the woodwork, nobody knows the songs, humped 3-0.

04-03-2011, 08:37 PM
A few years back, I remember someone telling me a Hibby and Yam had been having a discussion about that season. The Yam had said that Hearts took 7 points out of 8 that season against Hibs, so he had to reason to slag them off. The Hibby replied, "aye, but if you'd taken 8 you'd have won the league", think it shut him up. :greengrin

:not worth

04-03-2011, 08:37 PM
Ive still got one of those 'bonnie scotland' flags from circa 1986:)

Edinburgh Green
04-03-2011, 08:43 PM
Btw how could the yams claim that was a stonewall pen in the first min?? :confused::confused:

04-03-2011, 08:44 PM
Now to watch that thug Souness assault George McCluskey.

04-03-2011, 08:46 PM

and that welt McCoist :bitchy:

04-03-2011, 08:48 PM

Aye, at least Souness didn't try and hide it.

04-03-2011, 08:48 PM
I missed who was called the **** of football, who was called it?

04-03-2011, 08:49 PM

:agree: At least it shows everyone that they've been 'at it' for at least 25 years :rolleyes:

04-03-2011, 08:49 PM
http://i44.tinypic.com/309twuo.jpg

04-03-2011, 08:52 PM
Get in there Hibs. :thumbsup:

Anyone at the game, was it mayhem and was there any trouble among fans, certainly were between players!?

04-03-2011, 08:53 PM

Anyone at the game, was it mayhem and was there any trouble among fans, certainly were between players!?

I was in the East :thumbsup:

I remember the huns climbing over the fences and charging us

04-03-2011, 08:53 PM

Quality! :top marks
I remember I was walking past a pub in Bonnyrigg with my Hibs top on and all of a sudden a random guy who looked in his mid 20's shouts out "4-4, remember the name Graeme Weir". I looked at him and just burst out laughing and totally left him speechless by replying "MAY 1986 AT DENS PARK, DUNDEE, REMEMBER THE NAME SIR ALBERT KIDD"!!! That yam didn't reply and just walked on with his head down.

04-03-2011, 08:54 PM
was it mayhem

Absolutely bonkers :agree:

GIRFUY Sourpuss :greengrin

04-03-2011, 08:56 PM
I missed who was called the **** of football, who was called it?

The Uruguayans when Scotland were knocked out of the World Cup in '86.

04-03-2011, 08:57 PM
Terry Butcher. What a proper hun he turned out to be. Those years in Norfolk must've been so tough, so far away from the people he loves.

04-03-2011, 08:58 PM
:agree: At least it shows everyone that they've been 'at it' for at least 25 years :rolleyes::agree:

Great atmosphere at games like that though :agree: nothing like it now.

04-03-2011, 08:58 PM
Cheers for the responses, i must say, i wish i could have experienced the crowds etc at Easter Road in those days.....

04-03-2011, 09:00 PM

:agree: Some great memories of Easter Road there

...............and Sir Albert :not worth

04-03-2011, 09:00 PM
Graeme Speirs, Jim Traynor, Chick Young....still turning stomachs 25 years on. What have we learned? **** all.

04-03-2011, 09:01 PM
Graeme Speirs, Jim Traynor, Chick Young....still turning stomachs 25 years on. What have we learned? **** all.

And Jim White. Hun bassa.

04-03-2011, 09:03 PM

And Jim White. Hun bassa.

He looked a proper, proper welt in that Mexico '86 clip though. Dearie me.

04-03-2011, 09:04 PM

:agree: Some great memories of Easter Road there

...............and Sir Albert :not worth

Was in the old enclosure. Beautiful day (in more ways than one :greengrin) and will always remember the Mexican wave and the terracing erupting when THE news broke from Dens :faf: :hyper:

HNA8
04-03-2011, 09:06 PM
He looked a proper, proper welt in that Mexico '86 clip though. Dearie me.

Trying and grotesquely failing to look like his hero du jour Souness.

04-03-2011, 09:09 PM
Cheers for the responses, i must say, i wish i could have experienced the crowds etc at Easter Road in those days.....

there was nothing like it in a big game when Hibs scored and you found yourself 6 rows down in a couple of seconds...all seater stadia stopped all that.

04-03-2011, 09:09 PM

I don't think you can recreate the same atmosphere within an all seated stadium tbh. Standing on the terracing when something like that happens brings a different reaction than sitting in an all seated stadium.

As the programme at the start suggested, there was a different atmosphere at games in the 80's/early 90's as there is now, there were always incidents of crowd trouble at the big games.

04-03-2011, 09:10 PM
there was nothing like it in a big game when Hibs scored and you found yourself 6 rows down in a couple of seconds...all seater stadia stopped all that.

And cuddling somebody you didn't know :greengrin

04-03-2011, 09:10 PM

Alex Miller eventually did a pretty good job of stopping it too....

04-03-2011, 09:11 PM

The games kicks off again and your looking round to see where your mates are. :greengrin

04-03-2011, 09:13 PM

I can't believe they blew the league and the cup...who knew?!

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 09:13 PM
Easter road was magic back in the days of 20k+ attendances, the sways and the surges when the ball hit the net were magic. It's such a shame its gone forever, one of my only gripes in life is that I wasn't just a couple of years older. Happy days, GIRFUY souness

04-03-2011, 09:16 PM
Easter road was magic back in the days of 20k+ attendances, the sways and the surges when the ball hit the net were magic. It's such a shame its gone forever, one of my only gripes in life is that I wasn't just a couple of years older. Happy days, GIRFUY souness

Steady now. I get dewy eyed about those days too but it was never 20k+ anytime near 1986..................

04-03-2011, 09:16 PM
Quality! :top marks
I remember I was walking past a pub in Bonnyrigg with my Hibs top on and all of a sudden a random guy who looked in his mid 20's shouts out "4-4, remember the name Graeme Weir". I looked at him and just burst out laughing and totally left him speechless by replying "MAY 1986 AT DENS PARK, DUNDEE, REMEMBER THE NAME SIR ALBERT KIDD"!!! That yam didn't reply and just walked on with his head down.

Yam at work said ages ago (surprisingly going on about Hibs' Scottish Cup record) 'well, I've seen us win two big cups in my lifetime', and I said 'and I've seen two Albert Kidd goals in mine.':greengrin

04-03-2011, 09:18 PM
God damn you all, each comment makes me more jealous i never experienced all the big crowds and goal mayhem back then. :rolleyes:

Never-the-less, the Hibs 12th Man is making games funner every match.

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 09:19 PM
Steady now. I get dewy eyed about those days too but it was never 20k+ anytime near 1986..................
Pretty sure there were more than 20k at that rangers game and definitely at the derbies in the 80s

Edit: 21674 at the souness game, maybe old age is playing with your memory ;-)

04-03-2011, 09:21 PM
God damn you all, each comment makes me more jealous i never experienced all the big crowds and goal mayhem back then. :rolleyes:

I experienced a lot of the games in the 80's, but Hibs were really p!sh during most of that time. :rolleyes: :greengrin

Personally, I'd wish I could have went back to the 50's or early 70s to a time when Hibs had some really decent teams. :wink:

04-03-2011, 09:25 PM
there was nothing like it in a big game when Hibs scored and you found yourself 6 rows down in a couple of seconds...all seater stadia stopped all that.:agree: :boo hoo:

The games kicks off again and your looking round to see where your mates are. :greengrin:agree:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/totale2.gif

04-03-2011, 09:26 PM
Never-the-less, the Hibs 12th Man is making games funner every match.

No doubt; the 12th man initiative has been fantastic. This season has been the best atmosphere for ages...gaun the young 'uns :-)

04-03-2011, 09:28 PM
Pretty sure there were more than 20k at that rangers game and definitely at the derbies in the 80s

Don't think so on either count. The capacity was well below 20k as soon as the shed appeared on the East as I recall.

04-03-2011, 09:30 PM

22,000 for Bests home debut in 1979; cant remember another home crowd like that since...maybe someone can enlighten me?

04-03-2011, 09:30 PM
Don't think so on either count. The capacity was well below 20k as soon as the shed appeared on the East as I recall.

21,674 at that Huns game

http://www.ihibs.co.uk/game.php?gameid=3910

04-03-2011, 09:34 PM
No doubt; the 12th man initiative has been fantastic. This season has been the best atmosphere for ages...gaun the young 'uns :-)

I would agree. Hopefully the 12th man can try and recreate some of the atmosphere we had at ER years ago. :agree:

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 09:35 PM
22,000 for Bests home debut in 1979; cant remember another home crowd like that since...maybe someone can enlighten me?

1-0 Vs Heart of Midlothian in Scottish League (04/01/1989)
Competition Scottish League (Premier / 22)
Date 04/01/1989 (Season: 1988/1989)
Attendance 27219
Manager Miller, Alex
Referee Unknown
Venue Home

Plenty crowds over 20k in the 80s this was probably my favourite derby, we hadn't beaten them for donks and eddie may got the winner 27.5k ;-)

04-03-2011, 09:36 PM
21,674 at that Huns game

That amazes me. And I never missed a game home or away right through the 80s.
I stand corrected.
But that attendance is definitely the exception and the average attendances on the ihibs site would tend to confirm this.

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 09:38 PM

First game I was taken to by my old man, he later told me that I'd asked him if it was like this at every game!

04-03-2011, 09:40 PM

That game is in ma top 3 ever at ER. Blazin hot day, every Hibs player baw deep for the jersey, remember bein absolutely goosed after the game with all the swayin & bouncin. Proceeded to get boats for one of the first times in ma puff after.
SUPERB :greengrin

04-03-2011, 09:42 PM

Scottish League (Premier / 29)
Date 25/03/1989 (Season: 1988/1989)
Attendance 23321
Hibs 0 v Rangers 1

04-03-2011, 09:45 PM
Attendance 27219
Manager Miller, Alex
Referee Unknown
Venue Home

Plenty crowds over 20k in the 80s this was probably my favourite derby, we hadn't beaten them for donks and eddie may got the winner 27.5k ;-)

Naw. Where has this stat come from? Remember the game well and was pished upside down in the Tommy Younger Bar after it. Where has the crowd come from when we don't know who the ref was? There was NEVER 27,000 at ER that night. Never.
ihibs can say what they like.
And less of the ageist cracks!

04-03-2011, 09:47 PM
In the early/mid 80's clubs had very few season ticket holders, even the OF only had 3-4,000 ST's, so attendances fluctuated every week. Hibs would get 27,000 v Yams one week, but only 3-4,000 v the likes of St Johnstone the following week.

The OF would be the same, 45,000 at Ibrox v Celtic, then 15,000 the following week against any of the other teams, Souness era changed this and they suddenly had sell outs every week.

04-03-2011, 09:48 PM
Attendance 27219
Manager Miller, Alex
Referee Unknown
Venue Home

And age might be getting the better of me, but you'll find we had beaten them in the derby immediately before this one too. Remember?

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 09:48 PM
Naw. Where has this stat come from? Remember the game well and was pished upside down in the Tommy Younger Bar after it. Where has the crowd come from when we don't know who the ref was? There was NEVER 27,000 at ER that night. Never.

Aw come on, am only kidding, I cannae see yer age I'm on my phone and I've got the lite version on. :-)
Easter road was rammed that night, biggest crowd I've ever seen in there. I've defo been in plenty 20k plus crowds at ER and I wasnae pished ;-)

04-03-2011, 09:50 PM
remember that goal like it was yesterday,great game :greengrin

04-03-2011, 09:51 PM
Aw come on, am only kidding, I cannae see yer age I'm on my phone and I've got the lite version on. :-)
Easter road was rammed that night, biggest crowd I've ever seen in there. I've defo been in plenty 20k plus crowds at ER and I wasnae pished ;-)

You must've been if you've forgotten the derby before it!

04-03-2011, 09:51 PM
27,022, I would not argue with the guys at hibs log, they know there stuff. :wink:

http://users.quista.net/fraserp/Season88-89/hearts040189.htm

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 09:55 PM
And age might be getting the better of me, but you'll find we had beaten them in the derby immediately before this one too. Remember?
My bad, was that the Archie goal game?

04-03-2011, 09:55 PM

Ref was none other than K J Hope. :aok:

http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/198901041.html

04-03-2011, 09:56 PM
27,022, I would not argue with the guys at hibs log, they know there stuff. :wink:

Can't recall the crowd being that size and that's thinking about before the game, at the game and the aftermatch usualness.....like I said. I'm amazed if it's right.....if it's right.

04-03-2011, 09:57 PM
My bad, was that the Archie goal game?

Certainly was. And I'm not taking offence at the age crack, mucker. I'm really enjoying this!

04-03-2011, 09:58 PM
And less of the ageist cracks!I've just dug out my programme for the next home game after that V smeltic on the 21st jan. Hibs have the attendance printed as 27,500

04-03-2011, 09:58 PM
If anyone's interested, the Sports Centre on STV just now is about to cover 1986 again.:faf:

04-03-2011, 09:59 PM
Ref was none other than K J Hope. :aok:

http://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/198901041.html

Londonh****z? **** do they know? :greengrin

04-03-2011, 10:04 PM

Edit: 21674 at the souness game, maybe old age is playing with your memory ;-)

21,674 at that Huns game

Attendance 27219
Manager Miller, Alex
Referee Unknown
Venue Home

Scottish League (Premier / 29)
Date 25/03/1989 (Season: 1988/1989)
Attendance 23321
Hibs 0 v Rangers 1

I've just dug out my programme for the next home game after that V smeltic on the 21st jan. Hibs have the attendance printed as 27,500

Seems that ihibs, Londonh***z, Wikipedia and the Match Programme are all full of ***** :greengrin
I remain amazed and begin to wonder if I was there after all!

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 10:05 PM
Certainly was. And I'm not taking offence at the age crack, mucker. I'm really enjoying this!
Good man, cannae believe I forgot the Archie goal :-0
The only reason I remember the big crowds is because the rest of the time it was always 5000.
Though I'm sure someone was at it as there was always an exact amount in attendance.
This has got me all hibs daft this thread and I'm raging I've got to miss the game tomorrow for work :-(

04-03-2011, 10:07 PM
Can't recall the crowd being that size and that's thinking about before the game, at the game and the aftermatch usualness.....like I said. I'm amazed if it's right.....if it's right.

I see no reason why it would be wrong. That was the capacity of ER at the time, pre Taylor Report. New Year derby, no TV coverage, it would be our best attendance of the season.

The only thing that was a bit dodgy at the time, was attendances at ER were generally always rounded up to the nearest 500, it was 7000 one week, 9500 the next week, 19,000 the following week and so on, this happened throughout the 80's IIRC, we always had crowds which were either exactly on the thousand mark or the 500 mark. :hmmm:

But I have no doubt there were crowds that were that big in the 80's. Hertz and the OF would fill the Dunbar end and the south enclosure in the main stand, which would probably hold 10,000 +.

04-03-2011, 10:11 PM
Evans crossed for Eddie May and he sidefooted it home IIRC.

Nae idea what the crowd was but i was there :agree:

04-03-2011, 10:13 PM

It was 27,000 are thereabouts. :greengrin

04-03-2011, 10:14 PM

04-03-2011, 10:15 PM

Can still mind the goal. I was in the old North stand, upper. Row C (cannae mind the seat number!). Think we hit the post with a similar move to the goal, too IIRC.

04-03-2011, 10:16 PM

Are you sure. Any proof to back it up. :greengrin

04-03-2011, 10:17 PM
Can still mind the goal. I was in the old North stand, upper. Row C (cannae mind the seat number!). Think we hit the post with a similar move to the goal, too IIRC.

We were just wee laddies tae Matty :greengrin

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 10:18 PM

Tell Hamilton Handling that, he was pished and he's no that auld :not worth

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 10:20 PM

I was below you in the old enclosure, did you see me ? Dinnae worry if you didnae it was packed :devil:

04-03-2011, 10:23 PM
I remember it well, I was a strapping young blade with a floppy fringe hanging moodily over my eyes, this proud mane flicked back to enjoy the Hibernian goals from my vantage point on the East.

04-03-2011, 10:24 PM
I see no reason why it would be wrong. That was the capacity of ER at the time, pre Taylor Report. New Year derby, no TV coverage, it would be our best attendance of the season.

The only thing that was a bit dodgy at the time, was attendances at ER were generally always rounded up to the nearest 500, it was 7000 one week, 9500 the next week, 19,000 the following week and so on, this happened throughout the 80's IIRC, we always had crowds which were either exactly on the thousand mark or the 500 mark. :hmmm:

But I have no doubt there were crowds that were that big in the 80's. Hertz and the OF would fill the Dunbar end and the south enclosure in the main stand, which would probably hold 10,000 +.

I've acknowledged that I could be wrong. But the last time I recall ER being rammed was at the Holland U-23 game in 1976. This was maybe with 30,000+ and was well before the main terracing was castrated. I am not sure if the attendance at this game was ever certified.
I remain unsure that the crowds were the size quoted in the mid-late '80s, but you recall 27,000 ish being the capacity.
I don't.
And if we are talking of referees being 'unknown' just over 20 years ago why would these attendances quoted be guaranteed accurate? Just a thought....

04-03-2011, 10:32 PM
I've acknowledged that I could be wrong. But the last time I recall ER being rammed was at the Holland U-23 game in 1976. This was maybe with 30,000+ and was well before the main terracing was castrated. I am not sure if the attendance at this game was ever certified.
I remain unsure that the crowds were the size quoted in the mid-late '80s, but you recall 27,000 ish being the capacity.
I don't.
And if we are talking of referees being 'unknown' just over 20 years ago why would these attendances quoted be guaranteed accurate? Just a thought....

As I said, I always thought it was a bit dodgy that all our attendances were rounded up figures, but the official (according to the Hibs programme) attendance of the New Year derby at ER in 1985 was 27,500, this is from the programme at the time.

http://users.quista.net/fraserp/Season85-86/stats.htm

04-03-2011, 10:35 PM
As I said, I always thought it was a bit dodgy that all our attendances were rounded up figures, but the official (according to the Hibs programme) attendance of the New Year derby at ER in 1985 was 27,500, this is from the programme at the time.

http://users.quista.net/fraserp/Season85-86/stats.htmMaybe a bit dodgy with the round numbers but I dinnae think they were adding thousands on tae the gates. I think there's a team that does that but it isnae Hibs

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 10:38 PM
Maybe a bit dodgy with the round numbers but I dinnae think they were adding thousands on tae the gates. I think there's a team that does that but it isnae Hibs
I'm thinking they may have been taking the odd 1000 off them :wink:

04-03-2011, 10:40 PM
Maybe a bit dodgy with the round numbers but I dinnae think they were adding thousands on tae the gates. I think there's a team that does that but it isnae Hibs

It's easy for Hearts to count people who aren't at the game, as they only really owe money to themselves and therefore don't lose any revenue by fabricating extra numbers.

I believe them when they say they've 400,000 at every game. Lucky for them the Inland Revenue, for some reason, only seem to count around 8,000 full paying customers.

04-03-2011, 10:40 PM

The derby in your link is at Tynecastle not ER.

04-03-2011, 10:42 PM

I don't think they were adding thousands, 7234 just make it 7000, let's just call it selective accountancy. :wink:

04-03-2011, 10:44 PM
I don't think they were adding thousands, 7234 just make it 7000, let's just call it selective accountancy. :wink:

Or call it unreliable data.

04-03-2011, 10:44 PM

Even as a 9 year old i can remember being to loads of games in that fixture list you just showed :agree:

Cowdenbeath 6-0

Motherwell 6-1

Huns 2-0 hame cup

Huns away lost 1-0 through 2-1

celtic easter rd 4-4

Cup final Aberdeen 0-3

Thats just some :greengrin

God was that 26 years ago :rolleyes:

04-03-2011, 10:45 PM
I don't think they were adding thousands, 7234 just make it 7000, let's just call it selective accountancy. :wink: so there were actually more than 27,500 at that game in 1989 then :greengrin

04-03-2011, 10:50 PM
Even as a 9 year old i can remember being to loads of games in that fixture list you just showed :agree:

Cowdenbeath 6-0

Motherwell 6-1

Huns 2-0 hame cup

Huns away lost 1-0 through 2-1

celtic easter rd 4-4

Cup final Aberdeen 0-3

Thats just some :greengrin

God was that 26 years ago :rolleyes:

There does not appear to be a home gate above the mysterious 20,000 figure in the link though?

04-03-2011, 10:52 PM
The derby in your link is at Tynecastle not ER.

Touché. :greengrin

Your right, the derby the following season 1986/87 which was at ER was only 24,500. Still reckon the one in 1989 would have been more due to Hibs playing better at the time, but have no proof other than what has already been shown. :wink:

04-03-2011, 10:54 PM
There does not appear to be a home gate above the mysterious 20,000 figure in the link though?

True. But 2 games against the Yams and yin against Celtic bang on 20k isnae bad.

Purple & Green
04-03-2011, 10:57 PM
Naw. Where has this stat come from? !

It's taken from the official returns to the SFL ie not from a newspaper or programme.

04-03-2011, 10:57 PM
True. But 2 games against the Yams and yin against Celtic bang on 20k isnae bad.

I would agree with the bang on bit

wazoo1875
04-03-2011, 10:59 PM

I'm pretty sure that season was the only one in the 80's according to i-hibs that there wasn't an attendance above the 20k mark :agree:

04-03-2011, 11:00 PM
It's taken from the official returns to the SFL ie not from a newspaper or programme.

Really? How does anyone get there hands on that?

(PS - nae offence - your site is marvellous btw)

Purple & Green
04-03-2011, 11:23 PM
Really? How does anyone get there hands on that?

(PS - nae offence - your site is marvellous btw)

Really indeed. The attendance information for ihibs was kindly supplied by David Ross author of 'roar of the crowd' which is an excellent book on attendances. He had access to official records from 1961 onwards to compile his records as I understand.

05-03-2011, 12:03 AM
the stats for the 85 - 86 season are amazing - we lost our first six league games yet destroyed everyone in the cup in between:dunno: crazy stuff.

also remember there being plenty of games in the 80's over the 20 k mark at easter road - its not even remotely far fetched either given that the away end held about 10000.

05-03-2011, 06:50 AM
I have written a letter of complaint about last nights programme. My nine year old lad had never seen the Dens Park footage before and nearly laughed himself sick. I may be wrong but I don't think there was a warning about this before the show was broadcast.

05-03-2011, 01:11 PM
What a complete hoot that was last night :hilarious..All they needed to get was a draw:greengrin

By the way i never kent the ref in that game was a well known Hearts fan!! WTF is that all about??? A jambo fan refereeing his teams title decider :confused: Scandelous...As it happens tho he failed to award a stick on penalty for that big ugly freak Sandy Clark worrying he might be seen as biased :hilarious

Ive recorded it oan skyplus..Will watch that over and over again..What a bunch of bottle merchants :agree:

05-03-2011, 01:36 PM
What a complete hoot that was last night :hilarious..All they needed to get was a draw:greengrin

By the way i never kent the ref in that game was a well known Hearts fan!! WTF is that all about??? A jambo fan refereeing his teams title decider :confused: Scandelous...As it happens tho he failed to award a stick on penalty for that big ugly freak Sandy Clark worrying he might be seen as biased :hilarious

Ive recorded it oan skyplus..Will watch that over and over again..What a bunch of bottle merchants :agree:

Sandy Clark was top value. He took it hard, bless his pinky-brown heart. Quality TV.

05-03-2011, 05:37 PM
Comedy gold viewing....Always love seeing the yam balloons greeting on the terraces, after they had blown it....The can moan all they want about Celtic result, they only needed a draw and made a shop front of it....

05-03-2011, 05:51 PM

I'd heard about the penalty that wasn't given so watched with interest last night. I thought it was a marvellous tackle by the defender, the way in which he extended his leg and somehow managed to wrap his foot around the ball. Would have been generous if given (bearing in mind the laws in 1986 allowed more robust tackling).

05-03-2011, 07:10 PM

I just watch it again with the bairns. "That's way more entertaining than Ant & Dec" they said :faf:

Then "Dad, can we watch the cup final bit as well", "Mum, they never won that either"

:faf: :faf: :faf:

:brokenyam:

05-03-2011, 08:08 PM
"Mum, they never won that either"

06-03-2011, 09:02 AM
"Mum, they never won that either"

What a great T shirt or poster slogan that would make.

Kevvy1875
06-03-2011, 09:35 AM
I just watch it again with the bairns. "That's way more entertaining than Ant & Dec" they said :faf:

Then "Dad, can we watch the cup final bit as well", "Mum, they never won that either"

S******......:na na:

06-03-2011, 10:25 AM

Qaulity mate :greengrin

As Baldy Foghorn sais..They kin moan all they want about Celtc winning 5-0 but it was in THERE hands and they bottled it.

Ill watch it again later.:agree:

Purple & Green
07-03-2011, 06:57 AM
5 11 1983 League H Heart of Midlothian D 1 1 21281
8 3 1986 Cup H Celtic W 4 3 20000
22 3 1986 League H Heart of Midlothian L 1 2 20756
9 8 1986 League H Rangers W 2 1 21674
30 8 1986 League H Heart of Midlothian L 1 3 20714
6 1 1987 League H Heart of Midlothian D 2 2 22928
12 8 1987 League H Rangers W 1 0 20404
17 10 1987 League H Heart of Midlothian W 2 1 23390
28 11 1987 League H Celtic L 0 1 23055
23 2 1988 Cup H Celtic L 0 1 24000
19 3 1988 League H Heart of Midlothian D 0 0 20870
27 8 1988 League H Heart of Midlothian D 0 0 23760
1 10 1988 League H Celtic W 3 1 22808
12 10 1988 League H Rangers L 0 1 25692
4 1 1989 League H Heart of Midlothian W 1 0 27219
21 1 1989 League H Celtic L 1 3 23106
25 3 1989 League H Rangers L 0 1 23321
19 8 1989 League H Rangers W 2 0 20943
2 1 1993 League H Heart of Midlothian D 0 0 21657
20 2 1994 Cup H Heart of Midlothian L 1 2 20953

The ones that are questionable are the ones ending in 000, but I've never come across more reliable figures.

Also, the busiest I ever remember ER was for the tear gas game in 1987 - I'd wonder if it was really that low as it wasn't all ticket.

07-03-2011, 12:13 PM
Was just speaking to a Hearts supporter who was recollecting these great days. He mentioned that as far as he could remember Celtic had a game in hand against Motherwell in the week leading up to Albert Kidd Day.

He and all his friends wanted Celtic to win as they didn't want to win the league "by default" and it to ruin their day out in Dundee.

If ever a case of be careful what you wish for!

(I didn't manage to keep a straight face)

07-03-2011, 12:37 PM
Was just speaking to a Hearts supporter who was recollecting these great days. He mentioned that as far as he could remember Celtic had a game in hand against Motherwell in the week leading up to Albert Kidd Day.

He and all his friends wanted Celtic to win as they didn't want to win the league "by default" and it to ruin their day out in Dundee.

If ever a case of be careful what you wish for!

(I didn't manage to keep a straight face)

:faf: That just makes it even funnier.