View Full Version : Well Done 12th Man

hibeeleicester
26-02-2011, 06:01 PM
I was hoping to come up for this game but unfortunately i was unable, however passed the 4 tickets to my Dad.

My dad doesnt really support anyone, Celtic are his "team" but he has a soft spot for hibs after having season tickets with me etc.

He has literally just come off the phone, BUZZING. He said to me "You would of loved it, they were singing from the moment the game started to the end"

He does like seeing hibs win but ive never heard him so buzzing about it. He also took his Partner and 2 kids. (who are "jambos")....He told me even they were joining in with the shoes off if you hate the hearts etc.

So well done to the 12th Man, this is exactly what today was about.

Hibs can count 2 new young hibbys (They are 6 and 12) and my Dad has said he will be attending more often.

Keep this up and no doubt we will have a full house VERY soon (Maybe for a certain game in early april? :wink:)
:cgwa:cgwa

26-02-2011, 06:30 PM
Just back and the atmosphere was fantastic...

A lot more positivity around the players and crowd now...

Well done CC for turning around...

:cgwa :cgwa :cgwa

26-02-2011, 06:34 PM
great atmosphere! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

SHOES OFF IF YOU HATE THE HEARTS! :cgwa:cgwa

Hibs12thMan
26-02-2011, 06:40 PM
Well Done HIBS 12th Man

Soooperb and well done to everyone. Thank you. :greengrin

:cgwa

I believe that Hibs will win :aok:

.Whitey.
26-02-2011, 06:45 PM
Great support today - yet again! It gets better every week :agree:

Can't wait till Tuesday!

I believe that hibs will win :aok:

26-02-2011, 06:46 PM
Well Done HIBS 12th Man

Soooperb and well done to everyone. Thank you. :greengrin

I believe that Hibs will win :aok:

Overheard couple of guys (who I think were returning Hibbys) at the bus stop on the way home saying what a terrific support it was and how impressed they were with the 12th man. Craig Reid (Proclaimers) didn't say much as he boarded the number 7 on the way to a meet. :agree:

26-02-2011, 06:50 PM
Great to see calderwood on the park at the end over at the east.

Can tell that the players are absolutely loving their football at ER.

New guys especially must be well pleased to be playing and winning in front of such a great support.

How many times would opposing teams have come back into it with 20 mins to go. If it wasn't for the support nerves may well have got the better of the team. The crowd showed that they were relaxed and confident, not edgy and nervy and that came across from the performance :top marks

can we have a 'shoes off' smiley? :devil:

26-02-2011, 06:59 PM
Good atmosphere today but why sing about hearts constantly? Also can we not have a song for Jimmy Scott he was my MOM today.

26-02-2011, 07:03 PM
Good atmosphere today but why sing about hearts constantly? Also can we not have a song for Jimmy Scott he was my MOM today.

We don't.

Seriously. Well impressed with Jimmy Scott. Excellent addition to the team.

Gus Fring
26-02-2011, 07:04 PM
First home game since the derby and it was superb. The atmosphere certainly seems to be every bit as good as the old east, both my shoes were well and truly off!

Can't wait to see Booths goal again. Looked a raker from where I was

26-02-2011, 07:12 PM
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff217/livi_hibee/IMG_0254.jpg
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff217/livi_hibee/IMG_0253.jpg
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff217/livi_hibee/IMG_0252.jpg
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff217/livi_hibee/IMG_0250.jpg
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff217/livi_hibee/IMG_0249.jpg
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff217/livi_hibee/IMG_0248.jpg
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff217/livi_hibee/IMG_0247.jpg
:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa

26-02-2011, 07:15 PM
Some of them could do with learning the words to Sunshine on Leith though :wink:

blairwallace
26-02-2011, 07:17 PM
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff217/livi_hibee/IMG_0254.jpg
:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa

is that the support from today gradually going to what it was a few weeks ago?

26-02-2011, 07:20 PM
http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff217/livi_hibee/IMG_0254.jpgSean get a haircut :wink:
:cgwa:cgwa

Good photies

26-02-2011, 07:26 PM
Top drawer today! :top marks

Not only did the rest of the fans take encouragement from the singing section, but the singing section seemed to take encouragement from their effect on the rest of the fans.

The Hibs players seemed motivated by the noise and ICT looked intimidated by it.

I had a free ticket today and was in the section next to the singing section. Definitely considering a season ticket in the singing section next season.

26-02-2011, 11:15 PM
The 12th man was once again incredible today.

woody47
26-02-2011, 11:22 PM
:greengrinThought we were brilliant today. I am actually hoarse from what seemed to be non-stop singing. It is also great fun especially some of the chants - "west stand, west stand give us a wave" to which there were hundreds of fans waving back, and the sit, down, stand up, shoes off, if you hate the jambos was really quite amusing. It certainly got the whole ground buzzing :greengrin:flag::agree:

Can I also say a big thanks to the guys who spent the time putting up all the flags before the game. Really looked impressive. :not worth:hibees:flag:

hibeenicol
26-02-2011, 11:29 PM
I thought the west stand done well today by taking their hands out their pockets and giving us a wave!!!!

hibeenicol
26-02-2011, 11:31 PM

Did you join in?

26-02-2011, 11:39 PM
I thought the west stand done well today by taking their hands out their pockets and giving us a wave!!!!

Especially as they were probably spending so much time admiring the real fans in the East. Some of those deluded West Standers actually think that they are part of the 12th man.

26-02-2011, 11:46 PM
The West started a few songs in the second half, i noticed. The 12th man is lifting the rest of the ground IMO, its good to see.

27-02-2011, 12:04 AM

They were taking their hands out of their pockets to cup their ears to hear all this fantastic singing and noise that the 12th man is supposedly making.

Don't get me wrong, I love an atmosphere at a match, and that is certainly improving at ER with each home game, but I think quite a number of people posting on here either stand in the singing section or very near it and the noise to you guys will sound phenomenal whereas in other parts of the ground, unless a big, big number in the East are singing, its just a bit of white noise.

I thought the atmosphere at the St Mirren game was great but that's because I was sitting near to all the singing, I don't know what it sounded like at the other end of the pitch.

Yes, we need to keep the momentum going and get the other stands to join in a lot lot more but I'm not sure if that will ever happen. Just please see it from another perspective.

Riordans Boots
27-02-2011, 12:35 AM
They were taking their hands out of their pockets to cup their ears to hear all this fantastic singing and noise that the 12th man is supposedly making.

Don't get me wrong, I love an atmosphere at a match, and that is certainly improving at ER with each home game, but I think quite a number of people posting on here either stand in the singing section or very near it and the noise to you guys will sound phenomenal whereas in other parts of the ground, unless a big, big number in the East are singing, its just a bit of white noise.

I thought the atmosphere at the St Mirren game was great but that's because I was sitting near to all the singing, I don't know what it sounded like at the other end of the pitch.

Yes, we need to keep the momentum going and get the other stands to join in a lot lot more but I'm not sure if that will ever happen. Just please see it from another perspective.

Sounded brilliant from where I was sitting in the FF :agree:

What game were you at today :confused:

27-02-2011, 12:36 AM

The players seemed to hear it fine watching the way the all headed towards the East at the end.

27-02-2011, 12:40 AM

How's about turning the volume up on your radio. :aok:

27-02-2011, 12:53 AM
Reply to the last 3 posts.
You're entitled to your opinion, as am I.
I know quite a number of folk who have been saying similar things to me, although I'm the only one who has the bottle to post it because of the reaction you get on here for daring to say anything against the 12th man.:rolleyes:

27-02-2011, 12:56 AM
The players seemed to hear it fine watching the way the all headed towards the East at the end.

Which is what they do at the end of each game at ER when we win.

Riordans Boots
I know quite a number of folk who have been saying similar things to me, although I'm the only one who has the bottle to post it because of the reaction you get on here for daring to say anything against the 12th man.:rolleyes:

Some folk just like a reaction though :rolleyes:

Greenblood70
How's about turning the volume up on your radio. :aok:

:greengrin:faf:

27-02-2011, 01:00 AM
Some folk just like a reaction though :rolleyes:

Sorry Susan, but you are very wrong. I'll agree that I've posted things previously, to perhaps get a reaction, as do a number of folk on here. This was not posted to get a reaction, it was posted because I wanted to post it, as its my point of view. Which is the whole point of a forum is it not?

27-02-2011, 01:01 AM

Welcome back eh.

Cant say this place missed your opinions much.

27-02-2011, 01:04 AM
Welcome back eh.

Thanks.:aok:

Riordans Boots
27-02-2011, 01:09 AM
Thanks.:aok:

But no thanks :agree:

27-02-2011, 01:12 AM
But no thanks :agree:

As I said, everyone's entitled to their opinion.

Riordans Boots
27-02-2011, 01:13 AM
As I said, everyone's entitled to their opinion.

I heard you the first time :agree:

27-02-2011, 01:14 AM
Sorry Susan, but you are very wrong. I'll agree that I've posted things previously, to perhaps get a reaction, as do a number of folk on here. This was not posted to get a reaction, it was posted because I wanted to post it, as its my point of view. Which is the whole point of a forum is it not?

Don't forget that the Hibs 12th Man is still a fairly new initiative and I can see it growing from strength to strength especially if we can build on our recent results. When you consider that we are in the bottom six, with IMHO only a very slim chance of breaking into the top six, playing against ICT in what you can't for one minute describe as a glamour fixture, I think most folk would agree that the atmosphere was very good. I would go a bit further and say that it is much better than the noise generated in the old east stand. Especially if you are sitting in one of the other three stands.

Anyway it certainly makes a refreshing change from the silence or booing and slating the players (and management) non stop when Yogi was in charge.

Long live the Hibs 12th Man :aok:

:hibees

27-02-2011, 01:15 AM
Hadn't been at a game for a while.

Thought the 12th man was great for 0-30 minutes
30 -45 was quite quiet.
45-80 was great
80-90 seemed to just be songs about hearts.

The atmosphere is definitely an improvement on last season.

I dont like to criticise but in terms of constructive criticism I think the 12th man need 2-4 new songs just so the same songs aren't repeated ad nauseum.

The callum booth song was top notch:cgwa

27-02-2011, 06:03 AM
Welcome back eh.

Cant say this place missed your opinions much.I think that's being kind

mickki40
27-02-2011, 08:38 AM
Hadn't been at a game for a while.

Thought the 12th man was great for 0-30 minutes
30 -45 was quite quiet.
45-80 was great
80-90 seemed to just be songs about hearts.

The atmosphere is definitely an improvement on last season.

I dont like to criticise but in terms of constructive criticism I think the 12th man need 2-4 new songs just so the same songs aren't repeated ad nauseum.

The callum booth song was top notch:cgwa

New songs are on the cards, but to get folks to latch onto them seems to be a bit harder. It will happen in time. Patience matey it will come.

mickki40
27-02-2011, 08:41 AM
Especially as they were probably spending so much time admiring the real fans in the East. Some of those deluded West Standers actually think that they are part of the 12th man.

They are part of Hibs 12th Man, some people are not part of the singing section...However, all fans of Hibs are " Hibs 12thMan"

27-02-2011, 08:54 AM
Welcome back eh.

LTAF..

So how's Chuckie still banned when he was/is about 75% less annoying than the confused Dundonian?!

Hibee Daz
27-02-2011, 08:57 AM
Magic atmosphere and result yersterday.:thumbsup:

Hail hail the Hibs are here awfy goals of glory now............

27-02-2011, 09:05 AM

I'm surprised you could hear the 12th man from New Douglas Park :wink: Seriously though, I was sitting in the West Lower and the atmosphere and noise from the East was fantastic.

Riordans Boots
27-02-2011, 09:07 AM
I'm surprised you could hear the 12th man from New Douglas Park :wink: Seriously though, I was sitting in the West Lower and the atmosphere and noise from the East was fantastic.

:agree: :cgwa

27-02-2011, 09:27 AM
I thought the 12th man were great after we scored the first goal. They were signing in small bursts before the first goal but there was only a low level noise from where I was in the FF other than the bursts I mentioned.

The noise did get a lot louder as the second half went on. I started to watch now and again and they seemed to have an infectious spirit because when they were clapping and signing you could see people more central and in front of them standing up and joining in.

225-EasterRd
27-02-2011, 09:31 AM
They are part of Hibs 12th Man, some people are not part of the singing section...However, all fans of Hibs are " Hibs 12thMan"
Correct.:cgwa We ALL have to play our part as the 12th man, and get All the stands at Easter rd singing.
Well done :top marksto all in the east today, for all the flags and great singing keep it up and it will spread around the ground to the other stands, it may take time but i can see a differance already and i am in the West.

27-02-2011, 09:50 AM

I know. :wink:

27-02-2011, 10:30 AM

No me. Ah cannae be bothered wi aw that nonsense. :wink:

27-02-2011, 10:32 AM

LTAF..

So how's Chuckie still banned when he was/is about 75% less annoying than the confused Dundonian?!

I think that's debatable.

27-02-2011, 10:40 AM
I thought the 12th man were great after we scored the first goal. They were signing in small bursts before the first goal but there was only a low level noise from where I was in the FF other than the bursts I mentioned.

The noise did get a lot louder as the second half went on. I started to watch now and again and they seemed to have an infectious spirit because when they were clapping and signing you could see people more central and in front of them standing up and joining in.

Your post is the point I am trying to get across. The 12th man is a great initiative and one that I want to succeed. But the way some folk post on here about them, you would think, if you weren't at the game, that it was wall to wall singing from kick-off to final whistle. It's probably some folks use of superlatives that irks me. But I guess it shouldn't surprise me, with the way the word 'legend' is bandied about on here.

27-02-2011, 11:24 AM
Yep, The 12thMan were good as always yesterday. The flag display looked pretty smart aswell :agree:

I've nothing against The 12th Man, but I also agree that there's no real need for congratulatory threads about them every week.

Danny_Hibee
27-02-2011, 11:40 AM

Do you realise that the 12th man is not the singing section and that you (assuming you are a Hibs fan and not a Dundee Utd fan :confused:) are also part of ther 12th man! If you arent happy with the atmosphere in the West stand then do something about it and sing, thats the only way the atmosphere is going to spread throughout ther whole stadium if people who dont think its loud enough join in and encourage those around them to join in as well.

27-02-2011, 11:44 AM
]Do you realise that the 12th man is not the singing section and that you (assuming you are a Hibs fan and not a Dundee Utd fan :confused:) are also part of ther 12th man![/B] If you arent happy with the atmosphere in the West stand then do something about it and sing, thats the only way the atmosphere is going to spread throughout ther whole stadium if people who dont think its loud enough join in and encourage those around them to join in as well.

To be fair to the Arab she would not be the only one on this thread making the same assumption.

Billy
27-02-2011, 11:47 AM
Do you realise that the 12th man is not the singing section and that you (assuming you are a Hibs fan and not a Dundee Utd fan :confused:) are also part of ther 12th man! If you arent happy with the atmosphere in the West stand then do something about it and sing, thats the only way the atmosphere is going to spread throughout ther whole stadium if people who dont think its loud enough join in and encourage those around them to join in as well.

The singing yesterday was excellent and loud. It certainly could be heard loudly on our Hibernian TV Highlights and these were picked up on our 2 mouthpiece mics at the back of the West stand. Our commentators even made comment a few times as to the excellent atmosphere.

Keep it up guys! :thumbsup: :cgwa

27-02-2011, 11:55 AM

Sorry Danny, but I'm afraid that is what I thought. The banner at the back of the East (as far as I can see) says "Hibs 12th man" with no reference to the singing section. So it's very easy to mistake them for one and the same thing. But now I know, I won't make that mistake again.

And for your information so you won't need to assume, I am not a Hibs fan, I am a Hibs supporter, having had a season ticket at Easter Road for the last 10 years, not that I should have to justify myself to you.

Edit: If you look at the Hibs 12th man page on Facebook, they don't even seem to know the difference:

"Thanks to CC And the team for coming over to the east today to give us a round of applause"

27-02-2011, 12:51 PM

The fact a St Mirren fan that night said on their website how good the Hibs support was, the fact Calderwood and commentators have mentioned the atmosphere before, the fact every Hibs player and the manager came right upto the singing section area of the East and applauded the fans, kinda proves that the noise does travel and that your on a fishing trip...

Granted the East is not quite Besiktas or Red Star Belgrade standards yet, but could you tell me another home support (or section of the home support) that would make that much noise and have that much a laugh/banter and singsong in Scotland for a league match home to ICT? (Except Celtic's Green Brigade corner)

EH6 Hibby
27-02-2011, 01:14 PM
Yep, The 12thMan were good as always yesterday. The flag display looked pretty smart aswell :agree:

I've nothing against The 12th Man, but I also agree that there's no real need for congratulatory threads about them every week.

I don't see the problem with the threads that mention how good the singing was, I think they highlight it to fans that were not at the game, and might just persuade a few more people to come along because they have been missing out. The atmosphere is as much a part of the experience as the game for me, I actually enjoyed the Rangers game a while back where we got beat, because the atmosphere was brilliant in the East, it helped make up for the defeat, so if there are any others that come along because of the threads they've read on here it can only be a good thing imo.

Ghaax
27-02-2011, 01:26 PM
Sorry Danny, but I'm afraid that is what I thought. The banner at the back of the East (as far as I can see) says "Hibs 12th man" with no reference to the singing section. So it's very easy to mistake them for one and the same thing. But now I know, I won't make that mistake again.

Sorry - you go on about making reasoned arguments and just putting over your opinion but this seems a bit contradictory?

The "12th man" is a well known phrase in any sport where the team consists of 11 players. So you would know that it refers to the fans, i.e. all fans (or supporters if you prefer, albeit the term "fan" has now come to mean supporter rather than fanatic so, IMO :wink:, you are making an unnecessary distinguishment here).
You point out yourself that the banner makes no reference to the singing section - it is there to promote that the crowd should be playing a part at every game.

Now we don't need to turn this into a "who's a better supporter" debate. However, if people in the singing section feel that they are doing more than most to show they are part of the 12th man then that is their opinion.

I take the point that some have made on this thread that they feel the self-congratulatory posts are OTT or too common now but it is obvious from the title of the thread what is going to follow so surely they should just ignore this thread. Personally I see no harm in threads that provide such a positive attitude, one that reflects the atmosphere during the games. Considering the dire fare we have been dealt over recent seasons it is incredible that such an attitude exists at all. Let's not bemoan it and allow the back-slapping to continue, even if you feel it is unnecessary.

There are plenty other posts/threads where more pertinent debates can be had...... :thumbsup:

27-02-2011, 01:48 PM
I really can't wait for the time when it becomes 'normal' for Hibs to have an amazing support who sing non-stop, there's colour and spectacle at every game, we all have a laugh and nobody takes themselves seriously at all

Then we won't need so many threads. I guess it's all part of establishing a new mentality of positive and active support for our wonderful club

27-02-2011, 07:53 PM
As someone who has gotten to know a few of the folk up in the Singing Section I don't think there are many of them posting on congratulatory threads saying how wonderful they are.

:cgwaI honestly wouldn’t see the problem even if they did. It is very noisy up there for most of the matches and I suspect there are others, like me, who have friends in the other stands who tell of the noise levels and what a difference the Singing Section has made. :cgwa

The positive contribution to the atmosphere at Easter Road by the Singing Section has been commented on by our Chairman, Rod Petrie, our Chief Executive, Scott Lindsay, our Manager, Colin Calderwood and the players.

There have also been positive mentions in radio reports and in the papers.

I have had a few friends who have been in the away stand who have said how good the noise is and there have been positive mentions on other fan forums, along with a couple of [dis]honourable mentions on JKB :na na:about the Singing Section and the Hibs 12th Man. :greengrin

I also think there are none (well there might be one or two) in the Singing Section who see themselves as any better than any other supporter / fan – just noisier and out to have laugh and a bit of fun.

All in all there's a lot for the Hibs 12th Man and the Singing Section to be pleased with. Any congratulations they get are well deserved and long may it continue – the singing and the congratulations! :agree:

27-02-2011, 08:12 PM
As someone who has gotten to know a few of the folk up in the Singing Section I don't think there are many of them posting on congratulatory threads saying how wonderful they are.

:cgwaI honestly wouldn’t see the problem even if they did. It is very noisy up there for most of the matches and I suspect there are others, like me, who have friends in the other stands who tell of the noise levels and what a difference the Singing Section has made. :cgwa

The positive contribution to the atmosphere at Easter Road by the Singing Section has been commented on by our Chairman, Rod Petrie, our Chief Executive, Scott Lindsay, our Manager, Colin Calderwood and the players.

There have also been positive mentions in radio reports and in the papers.

I have had a few friends who have been in the away stand who have said how good the noise is and there have been positive mentions on other fan forums, along with a couple of [dis]honourable mentions on JKB :na na:about the Singing Section and the Hibs 12th Man. :greengrin

I also think there are none (well there might be one or two) in the Singing Section who see themselves as any better than any other supporter / fan – just noisier and out to have laugh and a bit of fun.

All in all there's a lot for the Hibs 12th Man and the Singing Section to be pleased with. Any congratulations they get are well deserved and long may it continue – the singing and the congratulations! :agree:

I agree. Congratulations to all involved.:thumbsup:
There does seem to be some confusion though with several on this thread thinking the 12th man and the singing section are the same thing with the usual tired old jibes being thrown out at those who don't sit in the East. It would be a shame if it was to eventually become a badge worn by uber fans rather than something that included all fans. The East looked superb yesterday and the enthusiasm was infectious. Long may it continue but lets stay united.

27-02-2011, 08:12 PM
From the upper West, the noise was considerable from the East yesterday. :thumbsup: I usually sit in the East, and it is loud from within, but its just as good from around the other stands.
The singing section has grown pretty quick this season, and its now a far cry from only a few months back when all we got was booing and shouting abuse at our own players! :confused:
Its obvious that theres a few potential singers in the west, we had sporadic outbursts of chanting, it would be good if they could all be "kennelled" together similar to the east. Being allowed to stand makes a difference in my opinion. :greengrin

cad
27-02-2011, 08:53 PM
Great day yesterday , our 12th man was superb.

SunnyLeither
27-02-2011, 09:15 PM
The singing and general crowd noise that comes from the east is tremendous and has improved the general matchday experience for all fans. Unfortunately there are 1 or 2 who can't resist having uncalled for sly wee digs at fans who sit in other parts of the stadium who, for whatever reason, don't sing as much. Please leave out the divisive criticism as you are coming across as very sad anally retentive individuals.

Keep up the noise guys & gals, maybe us auld farts in the west may join in soon :thumbsup::thumbsup:

27-02-2011, 09:28 PM
It's easy to be a cynical deadbeat and make windup comments about this, but the 12th man initiative has been the success story in what's been an otherwise drab and disappointing season.

Instead of being the graveyard many predicted with the new East Stand, ER has been rocking all season. I'd like to thank everyone involved for bringing the atmosphere, fun and sense of involvement back to watching football at Hibs. I also think our crowds would have been a lot lower if we'd had to sit in dreary tomb our terrible run of form frankly deserved. I've lost count of the number of people who've admitted to me that they've kept going cause of the atmosphere.

As far as i'm concerned everybody associated with this can't be praised enough.

At The Edge
27-02-2011, 09:30 PM
just a question for the Westies,( or anyone else who may know) when Hibs score do Petrie and co in the directors bit go a bit daft or is it polite clapping?
i've always ment to look over but as usual i'm going daft myself.

apart from that, the home support (all) looked and sounded ace yesterday.

27-02-2011, 09:35 PM
just a question for the Westies,( or anyone else who may know) when Hibs score do Petrie and co in the directors bit go a bit daft or is it polite clapping?
i've always ment to look over but as usual i'm going daft myself.

apart from that, the home support (all) looked and sounded ace yesterday.

They go totally radge :agree:

steviecarnie
27-02-2011, 09:38 PM
We don't.

Seriously. Well impressed with Jimmy Scott. Excellent addition to the team.

i mentioned one the other day,

oh jimmy oh oh oh
he comes from livingston (prenounced stin of course)
he'll ****ing do u in

27-02-2011, 09:51 PM
They go totally radge :agree:

True. :agree:
Every time Scott Lindsay sits down Petrie starts a chorus of ''Stand up if you hate jam tarts.'' Hilarious to watch.
There was a bit of a scene in the directors box after the shoes off thing. Fife Hyland didn't have his name written inside his hand crafted Italian loafers (velcro fastened) and lost one. There were tears.

27-02-2011, 10:00 PM
Wasn't at the game yesterday -first one I have missed a for a few weeks so was delighted to hear the result and all the effort put into making it Green Day.

The flags looked great and added some character to the East - something I believe ER should be like more often - make it feel more like a real home :agree:

Well done to all those involved putting the flags up and I heard the noise in the stadium was loud and I am sure the players are buzzing off it and it's helping with the 4 game unbeaten run :thumbsup:

So whose up for a singing section in the West.........:wink:

Get some chants like this going from each side of the stadium

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RHGfJBQlsY :greengrin

27-02-2011, 10:02 PM
i mentioned one the other day,

oh jimmy oh oh oh
he comes from livingston (prenounced stin of course)
he'll ****ing do u in

To this tune :agree:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dENwD-l-z5g

27-02-2011, 10:02 PM

Great idea....................a challenge :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

27-02-2011, 10:03 PM
12th man = heroes.

Your doing your club proud guys and these YouTube videos make for great viewing. Can't wait to see the 12th man v hearts.

Keep it up guys fantastic effort.

27-02-2011, 10:05 PM
Wasn't at the game yesterday -first one I have missed a for a few weeks so was delighted to hear the result and all the effort put into making it Green Day.

The flags looked great and added some character to the East - something I believe ER should be like more often - make it feel more like a real home :agree:

Well done to all those involved putting the flags up and I heard the noise in the stadium was loud and I am sure the players are buzzing off it and it's helping with the 4 game unbeaten run :thumbsup:

Thats a great idea.

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

27-02-2011, 10:14 PM
Thats a great idea.

I think short term the aim should be to make the East as noisy and as colourful as possible which will help the rest of the stadium. This is constantly improving every week :agree:

Longer term you could easily try and start one lower Famous Five or Lower West Stand - Upper West Stand seems more like retired Hibees :stirrer::greengrin

Many European clubs have different supporters groups around the ground to increase the noise and colour (with flags etc) at games.

hibee316
27-02-2011, 10:38 PM
It's easy to be a cynical deadbeat and make windup comments about this, but the 12th man initiative has been the success story in what's been an otherwise drab and disappointing season.

Instead of being the graveyard many predicted with the new East Stand, ER has been rocking all season. I'd like to thank everyone involved for bringing the atmosphere, fun and sense of involvement back to watching football at Hibs. I also think our crowds would have been a lot lower if we'd had to sit in dreary tomb our terrible run of form frankly deserved. I've lost count of the number of people who've admitted to me that they've kept going cause of the atmosphere.

I would go as far to say that the are legends! Just those in the east stand so we are clear! :wink:

But seriously, I agree with desperate dan.
It is very easy to be negative about things.
I'm really not sure what arabhibby is trying to achieve. Finally, a group of fans are trying to get some atmosphere in the ground, yet he is intent on pointing out to everyone that's it's not that good!
We all know it's got a way to go but in my opinion arabhibbys points are about as useful as a chocolate teapot!

Cabbage1875
27-02-2011, 11:13 PM
I must say that after being a critic of the 'singing section' after they sang ludicrous songs at Fir Park, I must say now that they have won me over. Keep up the good work chaps, you are making a great difference to the atmosphere at Easter Road.

Less of the 'we're ***** and we know we are' though eh ;)

27-02-2011, 11:28 PM
Thats a great idea.

:agree: A singing section in the West would be great. If there's anything larger than the crowd that Inverness brought on Saturday, I'll hear them over whatever the singing section are belting out more often than not.

Would love some noise and singing to come out from the West, would certainly add to the atmosphere.:agree:

EH6 Hibby
27-02-2011, 11:57 PM
What about some synchronized sweetie wrapper rustling for the west standers until a singing section can be organised? :greengrin

28-02-2011, 12:07 AM
Jack understands moves are afoot to have a group of the Singing Section in the West and Famous Five for a match before the end of the season.

28-02-2011, 12:10 AM

Whats all this "real fans in the East" keek? I am 58 yrs of age and have been going to E/R [and away] since I was 5 and dont think of myself as anything other than a Hibs fan, same as each and every other individual who attends a game , [ whether it be their first or 1001st game] The fans that sit in any of the other three stands are just as much Hibbies as those that sit/stand in the East. So come on, knock off all this "East is best" keek.
Oh and for the record I am and have for some time been S/T in East, [ prior to that was regular member of the old "Shed" [some say Cave] which was behind goal at bottom of the slope. Most of the boys in the West have the tee-shirts,videos etc etc that the young bucks in the East are earning just now, We are ALL HIBBYS and dont deserve derision from within.

wee 162
28-02-2011, 01:00 AM
Whats all this "real fans in the East" keek? I am 58 yrs of age and have been going to E/R [and away] since I was 5 and dont think of myself as anything other than a Hibs fan, same as each and every other individual who attends a game , [ whether it be their first or 1001st game] The fans that sit in any of the other three stands are just as much Hibbies as those that sit/stand in the East. So come on, knock off all this "East is best" keek.
Oh and for the record I am and have for some time been S/T in East, [ prior to that was regular member of the old "Shed" [some say Cave] which was behind goal at bottom of the slope. Most of the boys in the West have the tee-shirts,videos etc etc that the young bucks in the East are earning just now, We are ALL HIBBYS and dont deserve derision from within.

I agree with you, but that's something which should be a two way street. There's plenty of the Hibbier than thou amongst the older support who direct a pretty decent amount derision at the young team and seem to feel are ripping the piss by actually wanting to enjoy themselves at the game.

I'd also add that there always seem to be plenty of people ready to go radge and tar everyone who wants to sing at the game about stuff which a tiny minority might be guilty of saying when it comes to "real fans". In fact I've seen that particular expression a lot more from people claiming it's a widespread attitude than I've seen people actually saying it.

28-02-2011, 01:18 AM
I agree with you, but that's something which should be a two way street. There's plenty of the Hibbier than thou amongst the older support who direct a pretty decent amount derision at the young team and seem to feel are ripping the piss by actually wanting to enjoy themselves at the game.

I'd also add that there always seem to be plenty of people ready to go radge and tar everyone who wants to sing at the game about stuff which a tiny minority might be guilty of saying when it comes to "real fans". In fact I've seen that particular expression a lot more from people claiming it's a widespread attitude than I've seen people actually saying it.

Get what you are saying bud, there is/will always be sections of the support, young and old, who, for whatever reason think they are part of the "ubber fans", I for one however am of the opinion that if you wear the scarf, attend the game, [ doesn't mean every game], and have the club at heart - then you'll do for me. It's just all this "East is Best" keek that annoys me, christ I sit in the East but only because when I was a wee boy ma dad stood there, when in my teens/early 20's I was with the dafties in the shed until they put in those stupid planks and called it seated and I returned to the main terracing [ now East stand].
Anyway, it's getting late and it's a school day so am off to ma scratcher, cheers.

28-02-2011, 07:14 AM

I guess the post that you responded to is proof positive that sarcasm is indeed the lowest form of wit. Especially when done badly. :greengrin

28-02-2011, 07:29 AM
Thought the atmosphere was good on Saturday!

Shame the stupid wee immature idiots standing in the back row, right infront of the 12th man banner spoiled it by thinking it's funny to chuck sweets and pies at people further down the stand.

There was a barrage of sweets getting flung and then the guy behind me got whacked in the head by a pie, which broke up and landed all over me and my mate.

Hope nobody that got hit were free ticket holders. They may be put off from coming again.

28-02-2011, 10:03 AM

Well said Eric

I'm smack bang in the middle of Section 43 and it's just like the old terracing. I'm 55 soon, the 2 guys beside me are 53 and 46 and along from me yesterday there were another pair of similar age and a boy about 70. We all stood and sung for the best part of 2 hours. 8 of the guys who were climbing the rigging at 1pm to put flags up were in the age range 40-60

It's guid for my soul to be back standing and singing. My mates in the West Stand used to do it week in week out in the 60's, 70's and 80's. Until Hibs built the new East Stand the West was a better sitting experience plus you got to watch the machinations in the dugoot. Now a lot of folk are switching back to the East. Maybe we just need a standing section in the West?:wink:

As for any "East is best" statements it's certainly not representative of the views of Singing Section or those active in the Hibs12thMan initiative. Maybe it's just the young team's first experience standing, singing, and ersing aboot at a game and one or two are getting carried away?

Fifty years on from my first ER experience - Hibs are still the love of my life. Whether we sit in the West, FF or East we will all feel the same.

We are ALL Hibernian's12thMan :flag:

mickki40
28-02-2011, 03:57 PM

And for your information so you won't need to assume, I am not a Hibs fan, I am a Hibs supporter, having had a season ticket at Easter Road for the last 10 years, not that I should have to justify myself to you.

Edit: If you look at the Hibs 12th man page on Facebook, they don't even seem to know the difference:

"Thanks to CC And the team for coming over to the east today to give us a round of applause"
Quote all of the fb comment please. Not just a selection.

28-02-2011, 04:59 PM
Quote all of the fb comment please. Not just a selection.

Even better, quote the Hibs 12th Man website :greengrin

Luna_Asylum
28-02-2011, 05:43 PM

Exactly - the singing section is awesome and if there was a new thread everyday praising them that would be just fine!

mickki40
01-03-2011, 06:01 AM
Even better, quote the Hibs 12th Man website :greengrin

Lol at Jack... I was referring to the very selective piece of qoute that was used, theres a lot more to that quote as well that he used. Very selective indeed.

01-03-2011, 01:12 PM
lovely, great to see the atmosphere returning, lets keep it up, its part of the matchday experience. Well done to everyone.

01-03-2011, 03:09 PM
I've just noticed this - nice wee complements from the Inverness fans who were there.......

http://caleythistleonline.com/3635-hibernian-v-inverness-ct-report-2

"It was a bright, dry day, and there was a big crowd and an unusually good atmosphere inside the ground, thanks to Hibs’ ‘green day’ promotion, which saw the club give away a free ticket to every season ticket holder. The East stand was packed, and on the occasions when the singing spread through the support from the hard core in the corner, it was quite an impressive noise."

http://community.caleythistleonline.com/topic/21518-hibernian-v-ict-matchday-thread/page__st__75

Post 62

"I actually thought the attendance was more than that...best atmosphere in Easter Road for a long, long time."

Post 77

"Have also to remark that it was the best Hibee Home support that I have witnessed in years and unfortunately we were like a home support for the majority of the time."