View Full Version : Dickoh cements place in St Mirren's history

pozbaird
23-02-2011, 02:26 PM
Hi guys,

I'm a St Mirren fan (long suffering) who was at the game last week where you guys came away with a 1-0 win. Boo! Anyway, back to the point - not sure if you know it, but in scoring the only goal of the game, Francis Dickoh will go down in our club's history as being the player who scored the 100th goal at our new stadium. Kevin Kyle (then of Kilmarnock), scored the first ever goal on the opening day at the new place (31/1/09). The first St Mirren goal was scored by Dennis Wyness when he equalised in the same fixture.... Dickoh's heider' was the 100th competitive goal at our new home.

Congratulations to Mr. Dickoh I suppose. (Boo!) :wink:

All the best for the rest of the season guys, hope to see you again in the SPL next season... the way Accies are going, we might just manage it too!

Cheers!

23-02-2011, 02:38 PM
Cheers for that mate :aok:

23-02-2011, 02:41 PM
Hi guys,

I'm a St Mirren fan (long suffering) who was at the game last week where you guys came away with a 1-0 win. Boo! Anyway, back to the point - not sure if you know it, but in scoring the only goal of the game, Francis Dickoh will go down in our club's history as being the player who scored the 100th goal at our new stadium. Kevin Kyle (then of Kilmarnock), scored the first ever goal on the opening day at the new place (31/1/09). The first St Mirren goal was scored by Dennis Wyness when he equalised in the same fixture.... Dickoh's heider' was the 100th competitive goal at our new home.

All the best for the rest of the season guys, hope to see you again in the SPL next season... the way Accies are going, we might just manage it too!

Cheers!

Seeing as you are such a 'statto':wink: here's a harder one for you. (I don't know the answers by the way!!)

1, Who was the last Hibs player prior to Dickoh to score for Hibs in a wn at St Mirren?

2. Who was the last St Mirren player to score at ER in a win against Hibs?

ShanksSaidNo
23-02-2011, 02:49 PM
Hi guys,

Cheers!
Sleeping's certainly not going to be an issue tonight.

23-02-2011, 02:51 PM
Hi guys,

Cheers!

I've got a question too:

When was the last time "celebrity Buddies Fan" Chick Young sat in the Home end of St Mirren Park?

When was the last time he sat in the Away end of St Mirren Park and who were your opposition?

Last Minute
23-02-2011, 02:51 PM
Seeing as you are such a 'statto':wink: here's a harder one for you. (I don't know the answers by the way!!)

1, Who was the last Hibs player prior to Dickoh to score for Hibs in a wn at St Mirren?

Hartley :agree:

23-02-2011, 03:05 PM

Billy Mehmet.

I remember it well, that was just about the worst goal I've ever seen. :grr:

pozbaird
23-02-2011, 03:07 PM
Sleeping's certainly not going to be an issue tonight.

Sorry for boring you...

I'm no statto, but I do happen to know the last time Hibs won in Paisley on league business was in 1999, when Hartley and Paatelainen scored in a 2-1 Hibs win. The only reason I know this is because at last week's game I had the radio on, and the BBC Sportsound team mentioned it.
The last time we scored and won at Easter Road was probably over a hundred years ago, who knows?

'Celebrity fan' Chick Young! Help ma' Boab, a Hibee having a go at me about celebrity fans! You guys have celebrity fans coming out yer' ears, gimme' a break!

On reflection, we've got Wee Chick, Bill Leckie, Dougie Vipond, Shereen Nanjiani, Christopher Brookmyre, and, erm, maybe one or two press jockeys.

Gie's a shout when that Grand Slam choker fan of yours wins a tennis tourney, eh?

23-02-2011, 03:19 PM
Sorry for boring you...

I'm no statto, but I do happen to know the last time Hibs won in Paisley on league business was in 1999, when Hartley and Paatelainen scored in a 2-1 Hibs win. The only reason I know this is because at last week's game I had the radio on, and the BBC Sportsound team mentioned it.
The last time we scored and won at Easter Road was probably over a hundred years ago, who knows?

'Celebrity fan' Chick Young! Help ma' Boab, a Hibee having a go at me about celebrity fans! You guys have celebrity fans coming out yer' ears, gimme' a break!

On reflection, we've got Wee Chick, Bill Leckie, Dougie Vipond, Shereen Nanjiani, Christopher Brookmyre, and, erm, maybe one or two press jockeys.

Gie's a shout when that Grand Slam choker fan of yours wins a tennis tourney, eh?

Q What's the difference between a St Mirren striker and Andy Murray
A Andy Murray finds the net now and again !!

:greengrin:wink::aok:

23-02-2011, 03:23 PM
Sorry for boring you...

pozbaird
23-02-2011, 03:35 PM
Q What's the difference between a St Mirren striker and Andy Murray
A Andy Murray finds the net now and again !!

:greengrin:wink::aok:

What's a 'striker'? Last one I remember was Dougie Somner or Frank McAvennie.

23-02-2011, 03:39 PM
What's a 'striker'? Last one I remember was Dougie Somner or Frank McAvennie.

two words.... "Barry Lavety" :not worth

23-02-2011, 03:41 PM
Sorry for boring you...

Aye steady on - we're east coasters here - I wasn't having a go :wink:... I just don't believe Chick Young is a Buddies fan. I think he prefers his football a wee bit further along the road, perhaps down Ibrox way....

I'd be interested if you think he genuinely is a St Mirren fan! But if you're going to go pure radge about it...

ANDY McGEECHAN
23-02-2011, 03:53 PM
Sorry for boring you...

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin

Kevvy1875
23-02-2011, 03:56 PM

Answer to no.1 is Mixu:not worth

Answer 2?....canny mind:greengrin

pozbaird
23-02-2011, 04:08 PM
Aye steady on - we're east coasters here - I wasn't having a go :wink:... I just don't believe Chick Young is a Buddies fan. I think he prefers his football a wee bit further along the road, perhaps down Ibrox way....

I'd be interested if you think he genuinely is a St Mirren fan! But if you're going to go pure radge about it...

Go radge? What on earth does that mean? Next thing you know, you'll be offering me salt 'n' sauce on ma' chips. You're weird across in the exotic East!

Only joshing mate - Wee Chick is actually for real. He's a fan alright, as is the journo' Bill Leckie. Both do a lot for the club when asked - for player's testimonials, speaking at dinners, whatever. When we moved from Love Street I actually designed and worked on the club's commemorative book to mark the end of 115 years at Love Street, and Chick supplied us with a good interview for the book. The whole thing about him being a Rangers fan has been perpetrated by Jonathan Watson using it for 'Only an Excuse' and getting year, after year, after year of material out of it. Publicly, Chick takes it as banter - but see if a St Mirren fan has a pop at him in person, he doesn't take kindly to it. He's probably scunnered having someone mention it to him, or do his 'Jonathan Watson laugh' to him every day. Fair do's.

Your celebrity fans are generally a decent calibre mind you. To be fair, you've got some good sports stars, musicians and actors as Hibees.

Ours are kinda' rubbish. All the new 'star' Paisley Buddies are aligned to one of the two ugly sisters up the road in Weegieland. Paolo Nutini being a prime part-time celebrity Tim sympathiser... just like some of our players. Ahem. Cough. :greengrin

23-02-2011, 05:04 PM
Go radge? What on earth does that mean? Next thing you know, you'll be offering me salt 'n' sauce on ma' chips. You're weird across in the exotic East!

Only joshing mate - Wee Chick is actually for real. He's a fan alright, as is the journo' Bill Leckie. Both do a lot for the club when asked - for player's testimonials, speaking at dinners, whatever. When we moved from Love Street I actually designed and worked on the club's commemorative book to mark the end of 115 years at Love Street, and Chick supplied us with a good interview for the book. The whole thing about him being a Rangers fan has been perpetrated by Jonathan Watson using it for 'Only an Excuse' and getting year, after year, after year of material out of it. Publicly, Chick takes it as banter - but see if a St Mirren fan has a pop at him in person, he doesn't take kindly to it. He's probably scunnered having someone mention it to him, or do his 'Jonathan Watson laugh' to him every day. Fair do's.

Your celebrity fans are generally a decent calibre mind you. To be fair, you've got some good sports stars, musicians and actors as Hibees.

Ours are kinda' rubbish. All the new 'star' Paisley Buddies are aligned to one of the two ugly sisters up the road in Weegieland. Paolo Nutini being a prime part-time celebrity Tim sympathiser... just like some of our players. Ahem. Cough. :greengrin

Carry this on a bit longer, mate, and you'll have me feeling sorry for Mr Young.

What else would you put on chips? Mind you, the sauce has to be broon sauce (preferably your actual HP in my view). Vinegar just makes the batter on the black pudding go squidgy.

"Radge" is, I believe, originally a Romany word meaning, well, radge. We use it quite a lot because as the slum-dwellers at the other end of town will tell you, we're a bunch of peg-selling, caravan-dwelling, drug-taking Hobos. How they can tell, mired in their own filth as they are, I cannot say. "Going radge" is what a Weegie might term "going mental" - only in a particularly wild and uncontrollable fashion. Don't worry about it - you have to be born here.

We also have a very select band of Historical Celebrity Fans (as opposed to Hysterical ones like wee Chick). These HCFs include, among others, James Connolly, the great Socialist and Irish republican executed after the 1916 Easter Rising, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, the creator of Sherlock Holmes. Sir ACD also played in goal for Bournemouth FC - not a lot of people know that.

23-02-2011, 05:16 PM
Hi guys,

Cheers!

Was a pretty turgid match, but an important 3 points for Hibs. I wonder if Mr Dickoh knows about his part in Buddie history?

23-02-2011, 05:35 PM
Carry this on a bit longer, mate, and you'll have me feeling sorry for Mr Young.

What else would you put on chips? Mind you, the sauce has to be broon sauce (preferably your actual HP in my view). Vinegar just makes the batter on the black pudding go squidgy.

"Radge" is, I believe, originally a Romany word meaning, well, radge. We use it quite a lot because as the slum-dwellers at the other end of town will tell you, we're a bunch of peg-selling, caravan-dwelling, drug-taking Hobos. How they can tell, mired in their own filth as they are, I cannot say. "Going radge" is what a Weegie might term "going mental" - only in a particularly wild and uncontrollable fashion. Don't worry about it - you have to be born here.

We also have a very select band of Historical Celebrity Fans (as opposed to Hysterical ones like wee Chick). These HCFs include, among others, James Connolly, the great Socialist and Irish republican executed after the 1916 Easter Rising, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, the creator of Sherlock Holmes. Sir ACD also played in goal for Bournemouth FC - not a lot of people know that.

Is 'radge' not used on the west coast as well? The geordies say radge, (or more commonly radgie) ; maybe its an east coast thang.

pozbaird
23-02-2011, 05:40 PM
Was a pretty turgid match, but an important 3 points for Hibs. I wonder if Mr Dickoh knows about his part in Buddie history?

At least Riordan never smashed one into our net from 30 yards - he usually does. :agree:

Aye, it wasn't a brilliant match - the best one we've had recently was the 3-3 draw with ICT. The very fact that St Mirren and ICT managed 6 goals in the one game nearly gave me a heart attack as I choked on my Bovril.

Looks like you guys have turned the corner a wee bit - with results if not performances anyway. Helped in no small part by beating us twice recently. Groan... you were struggling for form and goals - then we rack up at Easter Road and it's happy days are here again.

Damn you. :wink:

big-mo
23-02-2011, 05:47 PM
Answer to no.1 is Mixu:not worth

Answer 2?....canny mind:greengrin

The Buddies last win at ER was 27th Oct 2007, 0-1, don't know who scored.:confused:
Prior to that 13th Jan 1990, 0-1,Guğmundur "Gunni" Torfason
13th Sept 1986, 0-1
24th Aug 1985, 2-3 (Paul Kane and Joe McBride for Hibs)

23-02-2011, 05:47 PM
Is 'radge' not used on the west coast as well? The geordies say radge, (or more commonly radgie) ; maybe its an east coast thang.

I choose not to be aware of west coast usages, hb. They are below me.

I can remember us using it in East Lothian when I was at school a long time ago, and I was told then it was a travellers' word.

EH6 Hibby
23-02-2011, 05:53 PM
At least Riordan never smashed one into our net from 30 yards - he usually does. :agree:

Aye, it wasn't a brilliant match - the best one we've had recently was the 3-3 draw with ICT. The very fact that St Mirren and ICT managed 6 goals in the one game nearly gave me a heart attack as I choked on my Bovril.

Looks like you guys have turned the corner a wee bit - with results if not performances anyway. Helped in no small part by beating us twice recently. Groan... you were struggling for form and goals - then we rack up at Easter Road and it's happy days are here again.

Damn you. :wink:

I think St Mirren will be safe, I can't see Hamilton picking up many points now.

I've never spoken to a St Mirren fan I don't think, but I've always wondered, did you actually lie down to Celtc in 1986, or is that a Hearts myth? :faf:

pozbaird
23-02-2011, 06:08 PM
I think St Mirren will be safe, I can't see Hamilton picking up many points now.

I've never spoken to a St Mirren fan I don't think, but I've always wondered, did you actually lie down to Celtc in 1986, or is that a Hearts myth? :faf:

Ah, Hearts 1986...

They are a wee bit bitter about that, eh? Lost the league on goal difference... because they keeched their drawers up at Dens and lost 2-0 when they only needed a draw. You've got to laugh - the Jambos aim their bitterness at us because we were humped 5-0 by Celtic, putting aside their own brown-trousered capitulation at the hands of Dundee - who were in the bottom half of the league. The funny thing is, the second match of that season, we absolutely horsed the Jambos 6-2 at Love Street, having been 1-0 down too. No mention from them of THAT game hammering the goal difference situation. In goal that day (the final day 5-0 to Celtic game) we had Jim Stewart - ex Rangers, and a Rangers fan. There were other blue noses in our team. Did we lie down? Nope - we just got humped by a team on fire. I've seen my team lose 7-0 and 7-1 to the Old Firm a few times. It's not nice, but it happens. Look at this season - Celtic gubbed Muttley's hapless sheep 9-Zip. It happens.

The Jambos hate us because they can use us as a deflection from their own team's shortcomings that day, plus the fact we gubbed them in the 1987 Scottish Cup semi final, and in last season's League Cup semi final.

What can you do? They've got it into their heads we lay down - basically because Frank McGarvey was a gobby idiot in a few interviews and started spouting that he never tried against Celtic. He's since retracted the claim, and said he was just mouthing off. It works both ways - Frank McAvennie once said he never tried a leg, and deliberately missed a penalty in a game against us when he was with Celtic - because we were in relegation trouble and he didn't want to help put us down. McGarvey and Macca 'where's the burdz' McAvennie... great players, but maybe not the sharpest tools in the box and should have kept their gobs zipped.

Anyway - I'm just glad the Hearts team of 1986 won hee-haw. A bunch of hatchet men and thugs. Kenny Black, Wee Doddie McDonald, Sandy Clark... etc. etc. A motely crew of thuggery if ever there was one.

As I'm sure you guys will readily agree. :greengrin

23-02-2011, 06:11 PM
Ah, Hearts 1986...

They are a wee bit bitter about that, eh? Lost the league on goal difference... because they keeched their drawers up at Dens and lost 2-0 when they only needed a draw. You've got to laugh - the Jambos aim their bitterness at us because we were humped 5-0 by Celtic, putting aside their own brown-trousered capitulation at the hands of Dundee - who were in the bottom half of the league. The funny thing is, the second match of that season, we absolutely horsed the Jambos 6-2 at Love Street, having been 1-0 down too. No mention from them of THAT game hammering the goal difference situation. In goal that day we had Jim Stewart - ex Rangers, and a Rangers fan. There were other blue noses in our team. Did we lie down? Nope - we just got humped by a team on fire. I've seen my team lose 7-0 and 7-1 to the Old Firm a few times. It's not nice, but it happens. Look at this season - Celtic gubbed Muttley's hapless sheep 9-Zip. It happens.

The Jambos hate us because they can use us as a deflection from their own team's shortcomings that day, plus the fact we gubbed them in the 1987 Scottish Cup semi final, and in last season's League Cup semi final.

What can you do? They've got it into their heads we lay down - basically because Frank McGarvey was a gobby in a few interviews and started spouting that he never tried against Celtic. It works both ways - Frank McAvennie once said he never tried a leg, and deliberately missed a penalty in a game against us when he was with Celtic - because we were in relegation trouble and he didn't want to help put us down. McGarvey and Macca 'where's the burdz' McAvennie... great players, but maybe not the sharpest tools in the box and should have kept their gobs zipped.

Anyway - I'm just glad the Hearts team of 1986 won hee-haw. A bunch of hatchet men and thugs. Kenny Black, Wee Doddie McDonald, Sandy Clark... etc. etc. A motely crew of thuggery if ever their was one.

:agree: great post. You can stay :thumbsup:

23-02-2011, 06:16 PM
Ah, Hearts 1986...

They are a wee bit bitter about that, eh? Lost the league on goal difference... because they keeched their drawers up at Dens and lost 2-0 when they only needed a draw. You've got to laugh - the Jambos aim their bitterness at us because we were humped 5-0 by Celtic, putting aside their own brown-trousered capitulation at the hands of Dundee - who were in the bottom half of the league. The funny thing is, the second match of that season, we absolutely horsed the Jambos 6-2 at Love Street, having been 1-0 down too. No mention from them of THAT game hammering the goal difference situation. In goal that day (the final day 5-0 to Celtic game) we had Jim Stewart - ex Rangers, and a Rangers fan. There were other blue noses in our team. Did we lie down? Nope - we just got humped by a team on fire. I've seen my team lose 7-0 and 7-1 to the Old Firm a few times. It's not nice, but it happens. Look at this season - Celtic gubbed Muttley's hapless sheep 9-Zip. It happens.

What can you do? They've got it into their heads we lay down - basically because Frank McGarvey was a gobby idiot in a few interviews and started spouting that he never tried against Celtic. He's since retracted the claim, and said he was just mouthing off. It works both ways - Frank McAvennie once said he never tried a leg, and deliberately missed a penalty in a game against us when he was with Celtic - because we were in relegation trouble and he didn't want to help put us down. McGarvey and Macca 'where's the burdz' McAvennie... great players, but maybe not the sharpest tools in the box and should have kept their gobs zipped.

Anyway - I'm just glad the Hearts team of 1986 won hee-haw. A bunch of hatchet men and thugs. Kenny Black, Wee Doddie McDonald, Sandy Clark... etc. etc. A motely crew of thuggery if ever there was one.

I like the cut of your jib, buddy. :wink:

See what I did there? :greengrin

pozbaird
23-02-2011, 06:23 PM
:agree: great post. You can stay :thumbsup:

Thanks for that. If anyone wants to have a pop at me or my team, no worries. It's your forum and I'm the outsider. I'll take it on the chin and have a pop back. I will never be disrespectful to Hibernian or Hibernian supporters though - not my style.

I've got a soft spot for Hibs anyway, got no grouse with Hibs at all. Basically because I honestly don't think you've had any players I love to hate, or there's been a Hibs team that were full of hatchet men, or, or. Hibs TRY to play good football.... or at least you have done at many times in your history. Bit of a struggle this season, but hey, you're not alone.

No honestly, the Hearts team of 1986 I couldn't abide - Apart from the thuggery, it was like a Rangers reunion of has-beens. Sandy Jardine and Co. Names like Roddie McDonald, Kenny Black, Neil Berry, John 'Polaris' Colquhoun, Sandy Clark, Jimmy Sandison... nah, not my cup of tea.

23-02-2011, 06:26 PM
Hi guys,

Cheers!

Nice one.

Well done Francis!

i see sky done their home work on bringing that one up during the game or even in the pre or post game discussions (probably kissing OF ass)

all the best in the relegation dog fight, im just glad we are pulling away from it :aok:

23-02-2011, 06:29 PM
[QUOTE=Doddie;2742670]I choose not to be aware of west coast usages, hb. They are below me.

I can remember us using it in East Lothian when I was at school a long time ago, and I was told then it was a travellers' word QUOTE]

:agree: Radge, and Gadgie, are both Romany words. They are/were used commonly in the Haddington area where there was a fair amount of Romany travellers years ago.
Do I get a Badge? :wink:

Kaiser_Sauzee
23-02-2011, 06:39 PM
Admin folk - think we need a wee "Resident Buddy" under this chap's username! :agree:

23-02-2011, 06:52 PM
Ah, Hearts 1986...

As I'm sure you guys will readily agree. :greengrinEverytime I see that this video has tae be posted It was on another recent thread but hey ho here it is agian :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCjEsN4E85s

and welcome :thumbsup:

EH6 Hibby
23-02-2011, 06:53 PM
Ah, Hearts 1986...

You'll fit in well on here, you sure you weren't a Hibby in a past life? :greengrin

23-02-2011, 06:54 PM

Billy Mehmet.

I remember it well, that was just about the worst goal I've ever seen. :grr:

IIRC, a defender (it might even have been Jones) and Makalamby messed it up between them and Mehmet rolled it into an empty net. Was really early in the game, the atmosphere died and someone (Shiels possibly) got sent off in the 2nd half. I remember thinking that Shiels (if it was him) was the victim of a bad challenge and must have kicked out, but there was nothing in it in the TV replay.

Top bloke! Met him once and he spoke very passionately about St Mirren. His books are pretty good too!

HibeeSince85
23-02-2011, 07:26 PM
It's good to have fans from other clubs around to have a bit of banter with, welcome!

You should stay up this year aswell, Hamilton are doomed.

Tougher ask next season possibly.

23-02-2011, 07:28 PM
Ah, Hearts 1986...

1000% :top markslike your style neebur

23-02-2011, 07:40 PM
Great to see the Buddies 6-2 win over the Yams mentioned. That was there last defeat before taking off on that great which ended so sadly and tragically at Dens in May.

So the buddies bookend Los Yambolinos nightmare seaon perfectly. Most Yams I know detest them for that nine goal swing mire than they do Dundee and Bertie for that late brace.

23-02-2011, 08:43 PM

Nope.

If one were to opine 'that's well shan, ya radge' to a Strathclyde native, they'd have nary a clue what you were on about.

23-02-2011, 08:46 PM
Ah, Hearts 1986...

Entertaining, informative and educational. One of the best pieces I've read with regards to that season. Guid stuff. :thumbsup:

BS44
23-02-2011, 08:46 PM
Thanks for that. If anyone wants to have a pop at me or my team, no worries. It's your forum and I'm the outsider. I'll take it on the chin and have a pop back. I will never be disrespectful to Hibernian or Hibernian supporters though - not my style.

I've got a soft spot for Hibs anyway, got no grouse with Hibs at all. Basically because I honestly don't think you've had any players I love to hate, or there's been a Hibs team that were full of hatchet men, or, or. Hibs TRY to play good football.... or at least you have done at many times in your history. Bit of a struggle this season, but hey, you're not alone.

No honestly, the Hearts team of 1986 I couldn't abide - Apart from the thuggery, it was like a Rangers reunion of has-beens. Sandy Jardine and Co. Names like Roddie McDonald, Kenny Black, Neil Berry, John 'Polaris' Colquhoun, Sandy Clark, Jimmy Sandison... nah, not my cup of tea.

Don't think a fan of a team who played a part in Hearts not winning the league would ever be considered a outsider on this forum. The enemy of my enemy is my friend.

How is Lennon doing as manager? Seems to me that your still in the same position league wise as you were when McPherson was in charge. Are you happy enough with Lennon and has the way you are playing improved compared to McPherson's team?

23-02-2011, 08:48 PM
Ah, Hearts 1986...

Mate that post is superb. The thing is the whole of scottish football knows they shat it bar that mob over the road. I hope you boys stay up and think you will. Hamilton are poor and won't pick many points up between now and the end of the season. defo be playing yous again next season. :agree:

23-02-2011, 08:53 PM
Nope.

If one were to opine 'that's well shan, ya radge' to a Strathclyde native, they'd have nary a clue what you were on about.

'shan'...theres another one. Geordies also say that.

23-02-2011, 08:57 PM

I'm not even as far away from Edinburgh as Paisley is and even I hadn't heard the word "radge" until I started posting on here.

Initially, I actually thought that it was just an internet term, in a similar way that "yam" is (don't think anyone actually refers to Hearts in those terms in real life) but I have actually heard several people at games using the word "radge". :agree:

Ah, Hearts 1986...

What is this 1986 event you speak of?

Having not been born until 1988, I don't think I have ever heard of this story before. :confused:

If some of the older posters could please fill me in on some of the details, I would be most grateful! :aok:

23-02-2011, 08:58 PM
I'm not even as far away from Edinburgh as Paisley is and even I hadn't heard the word "radge" until I started posting on here.

Initially, I actually thought that it was just an internet term, in a similar way that "yam" is (don't think anyone actually refers to Hearts in those terms in real life) but I have actually heard several people at games using the word "radge". :agree:

What is this 1986 event you speak of?

Having not been born until 1988, I don't think I have ever heard of this story before. :confused:

If someone of the older posters could please fill me in on some of the details, I would be most grateful! :aok:

Don't ask, it was the year Hertz won the double. :bitchy:

23-02-2011, 09:02 PM
Radge, shan, scran, barry, gadgie and many others are Gypsy words. Many of them settled in East Lothian and Northumberland, hence the use of those words in Embra and Newkassel.

The King of the Gypsies lives in (?) Yetholm, in the Borders. His official title is the Barry Gadgie.

23-02-2011, 09:04 PM
Don't ask, it was the year Hertz won the double. :bitchy:

Oh you're joking, I take it there's an annual commemoration at Tynecastle to remember this special team?

Any statues of the manager or captain outside the Wheatfield Stand for example etc? :confused:

Since this year is the 25th anniversary, I'm guessing Hearts will be celebrating this historic achievement in some way? :dunno:

23-02-2011, 09:06 PM
Radge, shan, scran, barry, gadgie and many others are Gypsy words. Many of them settled in East Lothian and Northumberland, hence the use of those words in Embra and Newkassel.

The King of the Gypsies lives in (?) Yetholm, in the Borders. His official title is the Barry Gadgie.

Kirk Yetholm?

23-02-2011, 09:12 PM
Oh you're joking, I take it there's an annual commemoration at Tynecastle to remember this special team?

Any statues of the manager or captain outside the Wheatfield Stand for example etc? :confused:

Since this year is the 25th anniversary, I'm guessing Hearts will be celebrating this historic achievement in some way? :dunno:

Oddly, the only mention of the 85/86 season I've heard from our esteemed city neighbours this year was to sling mud at the good name of a Paisley based football team. No idea why - the afore-mentioned team did hump Hertz early in that season, but I would have thought that the euphoria of romping the league and picking up the Scottish Cup as a bonus would have more than erased the memory of a single defeat. Perhaps someone else has a more illuminating angle on the Yam psyche. :dunno:

23-02-2011, 09:15 PM

I never knew that...cheers :)

23-02-2011, 09:16 PM
Ah, Hearts 1986...

Top ****ing drawer :aok:

Welcome aboard ma man

stevenhibs
23-02-2011, 09:36 PM
This is the best post I think I have ever read.... And you my friend, are my new favorite member!!!

Ah, Hearts 1986...

23-02-2011, 09:41 PM
1000% :top markslike your style neebur

Neebur

Is that a fifer word?
Also heard 'neebs' from a fife work mate before.

sadtom
23-02-2011, 09:56 PM

Thats what i'm led to believe. Although i've been told that the 'route' of the word is from the French word for Rabies - la rage.
Makes sense anyway.

p.s. welcome to the Paisley Buddy.

23-02-2011, 10:05 PM
Ah, Hearts 1986...

:top marks Can someone copy, paste and launch this on Kickback.

23-02-2011, 10:17 PM
Ah, Hearts 1986...

I like your style, sir. :top marks

Fantic
23-02-2011, 10:25 PM
Could someone clarify what actually happened in 1986

Hibby D
23-02-2011, 10:28 PM

I like you :greengrin

munchar
23-02-2011, 10:40 PM
[QUOTE=Doddie;2742670]I choose not to be aware of west coast usages, hb. They are below me.

I can remember us using it in East Lothian when I was at school a long time ago, and I was told then it was a travellers' word QUOTE]

:agree: Radge, and Gadgie, are both Romany words. The are/were used commonly in the Haddington area where there was a fair amount of Romany travellers years ago.
Do I get a Badge? :wink:

Aye, a shreriffs badge! :greengrin

Mixu62
23-02-2011, 10:57 PM

:faf: I like this fella!

pozbaird
24-02-2011, 08:16 AM
Thanks guys for the recent 'Welcome to our forum' type posts, and my assessment of the Hearts 1986 situation seems to have gone down well. I honestly wasn't posting it for effect, or to try and sook up to you guys! No, really. I've been a Saints fan since 1976, and I genuinely don't like the Hearts team of that era one little bit. I was at a game between Hearts and St Mirren around about 1985/6 where Colquhoun and Robertson had goes at booting our keeper Campbell Money in the face - and Money was stretchered off with blood, snotters, and teeth everywhere. No sub' keepers back in the day. One of our defenders goes between the sticks, Colquhoun and Robbo are smirking and winking 'job done' and... well, I still cannae' stand that team. Even the name 'Jimmy Sandison' gives me the shakes 25 years later.

I'll stick my head in here from time to time if that's OK with you lot. Maybe when we're playing each other, I'll drop by again and see what the craic is.

All the best guys, we're on your tail again after last night's 1-0 win on the Fir Park potato field!

Never mind, we usually blow up after a good result, so Killie this weekend will be rubbing their hands in glee...

See you soon. :aok:

Green_one
24-02-2011, 11:48 AM
I think you will find that the Jambos do indeed mention the 6-2 result in 1986. They think that just adds to the St Mirren conspiracy. :greengrin

We try not to mention 1986 on this forum as it has brought so much pain to the Big Team.

So I can mention that I was 'there' in 1987 , at the final and also the semi against Hearts. Enjoyed the Hearts games better as (1) Hearts lost (2)the final was boring. Not for you guys though. Good St Mirren team at that period

Cheers ya radge :wink:

24-02-2011, 12:23 PM
The Jambos hate us because they can use us as a deflection from their own team's shortcomings that day, plus the fact we gubbed them in the 1987 Scottish Cup semi final,

IMO this is what makes the Hearts '86 story all the better.

Having absolutely shat themselves in May 1986, they had the chance to go to another cup final the very next season....only this time, they shat it against the very team they blamed for their own bottle crashing a year earlier.

Magic.

Top posting Mr Buddy. :aok:

24-02-2011, 02:28 PM

And I think the Bari Gadgie's wench is known as the Bari Manushi. Or something like that.

Not sure if they are related to Roy Barry though.

24-02-2011, 02:42 PM

And I think the Bari Gadgie's wench is known as the Bari Manushi. Or something like that.

I think we should get a statue of Bari Gadgie outside of the east stand.

Sergio sledge
24-02-2011, 02:44 PM

Kirk Yetholm?

The Non shiny fish is correct, it is Kirk Yetholm that the gypsy palace (http://www.gypsypalace.co.uk/) is in. Self Catering cottage now though.....

My mates girlfriend was the Bari Manushi last year, don't think she's related to Roy Barry though. She could be related to Barry Chuckle though.....:greengrin

24-02-2011, 02:44 PM

That would be just barry.

Exiled Hibby
24-02-2011, 03:50 PM
Could someone clarify what actually happened in 1986

not sure so I just watched the youtube clip from earlier but sound not working on my pc and as far as I can gather Hertz lost 2-0 to Dundee with the goals both being scored by Bobby "rock-on-tommy" Ball. think it must have been some comic relief type thing as all the hertz players were wearing hot pants and the pitch was covered in greetin Bay City Roller imitators at the end:flag:

24-02-2011, 08:22 PM
Sorry for boring you...

Great posts & great author, although IMO his early books were best. Of course as mentioned in a previous post we have our own literary connections with Irvine Welsh being the most recent outstanding example. The 2 crime writers, Ian Rankin & Quintin Jardine are not Hibbies, though Ian has a very soft spot for us but both of them regularly make affectionate references to Hibs in their books. In Jardine's latest, Lithuanian gangsters are running amok in Auld Reekie :wink:. At one stage a stolid Edinburgh polis batters a Lithuanian with a baton saying words to the effect of " take that ya Jambo B, I'm a Hibby" Great stuff!!
Superb result for Saints last night, good luck!

24-02-2011, 09:03 PM
Neebur

Is that a fifer word?
Also heard 'neebs' from a fife work mate before.
down the pit slang neebur :wink:

pozbaird
25-02-2011, 08:23 AM
Great posts & great author, although IMO his early books were best. Of course as mentioned in a previous post we have our own literary connections with Irvine Welsh being the most recent outstanding example. The 2 crime writers, Ian Rankin & Quintin Jardine are not Hibbies, though Ian has a very soft spot for us but both of them regularly make affectionate references to Hibs in their books. In Jardine's latest, Lithuanian gangsters are running amok in Auld Reekie :wink:. At one stage a stolid Edinburgh polis batters a Lithuanian with a baton saying words to the effect of " take that ya Jambo B, I'm a Hibby" Great stuff!!
Superb result for Saints last night, good luck!

Cheers mate, thanks for the kind words, along with the other Hibees on here who have made me feel welcome on your forum - appreciate it.

Will drop by from time to time to annoy you with my inane brand of forum daftness... :greengrin

25-02-2011, 08:28 AM
Cheers mate, thanks for the kind words, along with the other Hibees on here who have made me feel welcome on your forum - appreciate it.

Will drop by from time to time to annoy you with my inane brand of forum daftness... :greengrinThere are other topics of discussion apart from just hibs & the tramps ..feel free tae get wired in ..:thumbsup:

Aubenas
25-02-2011, 09:52 AM
Do I get a Badge?

Nah - ye get a Radgie!!!!:greengrin

25-02-2011, 11:33 AM
down the pit slang neebur :wink:

Another one ive just remembered from my childhood is 'chore' to steal, from the Romany, still used in North East England and Edinburgh/Lothians.

The thread hi-jacking here has been appalling:greengrin

25-02-2011, 12:18 PM

Or even of Radgie Gadgie?

Another one ive just remembered from my childhood is 'chore' to steal, from the Romany, still used in North East England and Edinburgh/Lothians.

The thread hi-jacking here has been appalling:greengrin

No, the thread hi-jacking here has been absolutely first-class. Can't remember a better example of a hi-jack for a long, long time. :devil:

25-02-2011, 12:24 PM
Or even of Radgie Gadgie?

No, the thread hi-jacking here has been absolutely first-class. Can't remember a better example of a hi-jack for a long, long time. :devil:

What were we talking about again? Season 85/86, wasn't it??

http://files.stv.tv/img/articles/204102-no-forgiving-or-forgetting-as-an-old-foe-visits-tynecastle-410x230.jpg

25-02-2011, 12:35 PM

It's used down here - although not as much as it used to be - then again I've heard folk down here saying things like "Aw that was pure, mad, mental by the way"

Not sure what this actually suggests to be honest other than some people are just fannies:faf:

25-02-2011, 01:12 PM
Thanks to our resident Buddy for clearing up all this May 86 stuff for us. I have to confess I'd completely forgotten about all that.

So THAT'S why they get so upset!

No wonder, eh?