View Full Version : Match Updates ST.Mirren vs Hibs

CalgaryHibs
20-02-2011, 03:01 AM
Hibs today put there 2 game winning streak on the line can the HI-BEES make it three ?

Any team news yet ?

Whats the weather like today ?

:hnet::flag:

SaudiHibby
20-02-2011, 05:14 AM
Come on the re-invented Hibees :agree::flag:

Russ
20-02-2011, 05:56 AM
:
Hibs today put there 2 game winning streak on the line can the HI-BEES make it three ?

Any team news yet ?

Damn cold and the teams still in bed:wink: GGTTH :flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag

20-02-2011, 08:16 AM
Good luck to the Hibs today - keep foccussed. :flag:

thefamousfive
20-02-2011, 08:38 AM
Im on a sub saharan hangover that could do with a pick me up. Is the game on the telly?

20-02-2011, 08:45 AM
Im on a sub saharan hangover that could do with a pick me up. Is the game on the telly?

Sky sports 1 after the forces of darkness game

Hibs to win 3 games on the bounce :thumbsup:

20-02-2011, 08:52 AM
My guess: stack towell dickoh hanlon booth miller scott palsson wotherspoon sodje riordan

20-02-2011, 08:53 AM
My guess: stack towell dickoh hanlon booth miller scott palsson wotherspoon sodje riordan

Change miller for thornhill and that's going to be the team imo. Be happy with either of those starting though however.

20-02-2011, 09:08 AM

Would be happy enough with that team.

Change miller for thornhill and that's going to be the team imo. Be happy with either of those starting though however.

:agree: Happy with this set up also.

'Mon the Hibs!

20-02-2011, 09:09 AM
Thornhill to score today.

20-02-2011, 09:15 AM
Thornhill to score today.
Doubt it.

20-02-2011, 09:17 AM
Doubt it.

Not playing?

20-02-2011, 09:32 AM
I've got a feeling today's game could be "competitive" judging from some of the remarks made by Jim Goodwin who I believe is their bald midfielder.

Look at these quotes:-

Goodwin on Palsson:- "I like the look of of Palsson, the lad they got from Liverpool. He's energetic and leaves his foot in but he's also not too bad on the ball"

Palsson on Goodwin following the last game at Easter Road :- "He said to me after the game that he was going to get me in the next game - we'll see." Palsson added:- "He was pretty angry so we'll see what happens. It doesn't bother me. That's just the way I play. If they want to tackle me then I'll get them afterwards, that's how it is"

Just didnae get sent off Victor and I hope today's ref has taken note of Goodwin's comments.

:cgwa

thefamousfive
20-02-2011, 09:59 AM
Any expats in Africa that know if the game is going to be shown on Supersport? Funnily enough Hibs.net is the only website I can load at the moment....

20-02-2011, 10:17 AM
I've got a feeling today's game could be "competitive" judging from some of the remarks made by Jim Goodwin who I believe is their bald midfielder.

Goodwin on Palsson:- "I like the look of of Palsson, the lad they got from Liverpool. He's energetic and leaves his foot in but he's also not too bad on the ball"

Palsson on Goodwin following the last game at Easter Road :- "He said to me after the game that he was going to get me in the next game - we'll see." Palsson added:- "He was pretty angry so we'll see what happens. It doesn't bother me. That's just the way I play. If they want to tackle me then I'll get them afterwards, that's how it is"

Just didnae get sent off Victor and I hope today's ref has taken note of Goodwin's comments.

I posted on the PM board that it would be worth looking for odds on a red card today. IMHO,we bullied St Mirren at Easter Road and they'll be looking to put that right today.

Going by Palsson's comments though, I think he'll stay on the right side of the ref (touch wood!).

For a bottom 6 game against St Mirren, I'm fairly excited about this afternoon already. Hope it's worth it!:greengrin

20-02-2011, 10:26 AM

Class! Dont see enough of that now, players having proper battles on the pitch. Obv not talking about them trying to injury each other, but its good to see we have a player who wont shy away if he gets booted, but will boot the player right back.

El Gubbz
20-02-2011, 10:34 AM
Where's best for parking through there?

20-02-2011, 10:35 AM
In Paisley at the moment, it's dry but fairly cloudy. Seems to brightening up although no doubt get some drizzle at some point today.

Was through for a stag doo last night and stayed over in Paisley. What do you think are the chances of getting a seat on a bus to head back after the game?

(anything on the travel forum seems to be full)

20-02-2011, 10:43 AM

car park at the ground isnt there?

20-02-2011, 10:58 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/9399880.stm

:flag: :cgwa

guess: stack towell dickoh hanlon booth wotherspoon thornhill scott palsson sodje riordan... :not worth

20-02-2011, 11:13 AM
Anywhere east or south of the stadium. Dont go west.

El Gubbz
20-02-2011, 11:15 AM
Anywhere east or south of the stadium. Dont go west.

Cheers I'l remember to bring my compass :greengrin

20-02-2011, 11:22 AM

Look up St James avenue on google maps.

It's a decent area to park, really close and hand for getting off to a flier and back onto the motorway.

20-02-2011, 11:32 AM
3-1 Hibs today.

Fancy us strongly.

20-02-2011, 11:33 AM
At Braehead shopping with the wife before the short trip to St Mirren Park. M8 quiet so no problems for the travelling fans. Disappointing to see so many Edinburgh and east coast buses filled with glory hunters heading to the Old Firm though. Dry, bright, not too cold, perfect conditions for football.

20-02-2011, 11:35 AM
3-1 Hibs today.

Fancy us strongly.
Thats it ****ed now!!!:grr::grr::grr::greengrin

20-02-2011, 11:37 AM
3-1 Hibs today.

Fancy us strongly.oh no :bitchy:

20-02-2011, 11:39 AM
Thats it ****ed now!!!:grr::grr::grr::greengrin

oh no :bitchy:

Sorry guys..Ive even tooken us oan the fitba coupon :boo hoo:

:cb :cb

It will be fine :greengrin

20-02-2011, 11:46 AM

Any team news yet ?

Welcome back to starting the 'match updates' thread, glory hunter :wink:

nicer day here in Perthshire than yesterday. dry and overcast rather than cold wet, sleet, snow, rain. might get into the garden for a couple of hours before going to pub to watch the game.

20-02-2011, 11:52 AM
st mirren 2 hibs 0. You seen it here first.

1875godsgift
20-02-2011, 11:58 AM
I posted on the PM board that it would be worth looking for odds on a red card today. IMHO,we bullied St Mirren at Easter Road and they'll be looking to put that right today.

Going by Palsson's comments though, I think he'll stay on the right side of the ref (touch wood!).

For a bottom 6 game against St Mirren, I'm fairly excited about this afternoon already. Hope it's worth it!:greengrin

10/3 with ladbrokes on a red being shown.

cammy1969
20-02-2011, 12:06 PM

ladbrokes go 100/30 for a red card

20-02-2011, 12:42 PM
st mirren 2 hibs 0. You seen it here first.

Such a yam comment.

20-02-2011, 12:48 PM
I'll put my neck on the line and say I honestly can't see us losing :flag:

20-02-2011, 12:52 PM
We are going to lose now. Everyone's getting rather cocky. :greengrin

hibbybrian
20-02-2011, 01:01 PM
Any expats in Africa that know if the game is going to be shown on Supersport? Funnily enough Hibs.net is the only website I can load at the moment....

check on here

http://liveonsat.com/today.php

20-02-2011, 01:03 PM
We are going to lose now. Everyone's getting rather cocky. :greengrin

And yet you 'yam' the guy who's trying to redress the balance?

2-0 Saints. All this optimism has doomed us. :paranoid:

20-02-2011, 01:06 PM
I have a good feeling about today.

0-2. Riordan and Sodje

20-02-2011, 01:31 PM
Such a yam comment.

yeah your right im a yam:rolleyes:

Riordans Boots
20-02-2011, 01:31 PM
I'll put my neck on the line and say I honestly can't see us losing :flag:

:aok: :agree::flag:

20-02-2011, 01:35 PM
yeah your right im a yam:rolleyes:

I missed out the safety wink in that post, my apologies. :wink:

20-02-2011, 01:38 PM
3-1 Hibs today.

Fancy us strongly.

Ah, FFS! The Bookies' Best Buddy at it again!!

Purehibee_MYB
20-02-2011, 01:47 PM
Any news on what the team is for today?

HNA6
20-02-2011, 02:00 PM
Guys/gals ..here's a link to I-Spy should anyone prefer to use it ..:aok:

http://www.hibs.net/vaispy.php

20-02-2011, 02:04 PM
Any news on what the team is for today?

Two probable changes from last week by the looks of it. Murray suspended plus an injury in midfield.

sunshine1875
20-02-2011, 02:06 PM
Two probable changes from last week by the looks of it. Murray suspended plus an injury in midfield.

From the Bounce - Stacky in goals. Same back 4. Midfield of palsson miller Scott and wotherspoon. Sodge and deeks up top. Thornhill has a hammy!

20-02-2011, 02:13 PM
From the Bounce - Stacky in goals. Same back 4. Midfield of palsson miller Scott and wotherspoon. Sodge and deeks up top. Thornhill has a hammy!

From my post at 830am on this thread you mean.

20-02-2011, 02:18 PM

Any team news yet ?

What have you done with PedanticHibs?

We're doomed. :agree:

20-02-2011, 02:24 PM
My son (3) was doing well but then blew it at the end...

How many goals will Hibs score?
Will they come from old players or the new players?
The old players.
And 2 from the new players. There will be 4.

Then he started to go off tangent about Rugby.

Not quite ready to take over the mantle from that Octopus that went tentacles up then.... :greengrin

thefamousfive
20-02-2011, 02:24 PM
check on here

http://liveonsat.com/today.php

Thanks!

TamHibs
20-02-2011, 02:29 PM
Team confirmed as:

Stack
Towell
Dickoh
Hanlon
Booth
Scott
Palsson
Miller
Wotherspoon
Riordan
Sodje

20-02-2011, 02:37 PM
Suprise suprise, our coverage is advertised as starting at 2:30, yet its all the OF rubbish.

20-02-2011, 02:37 PM
5 SPL homes so far .. Should we be worried???

hibsboy90
20-02-2011, 02:38 PM
Are Hibs playing today sky? Or is the KO delayed for a full preview of Hibs match.

20-02-2011, 02:41 PM
Suprise suprise, our coverage is advertised as starting at 2:30, yet its all the OF rubbish.

Radio Scotland all about our game...turn the TV down and radio wireless up.

20-02-2011, 02:41 PM
C'mon Hibs!:cgwa

20-02-2011, 02:46 PM
hanlon is captain :thumbsup:

20-02-2011, 02:51 PM
Maybe Palsson can win the ball for Miller today. Looks like Saints are 4-3-3?

20-02-2011, 02:56 PM
Good clearance by Hanlon

20-02-2011, 02:58 PM
Saints seem to be on top so far, come on Hibees, get into it!

20-02-2011, 03:00 PM
We look at bit ropey at the back. Firing it into the air a bit quickly as well.

20-02-2011, 03:00 PM
Wotherspoon excellent cross and Scott header off the post

vanNISHtelroy
20-02-2011, 03:01 PM
Supporting St Midden today as wee Dargo is playing and Nish isn't :wink:

20-02-2011, 03:05 PM
Sodje takes a sore one in the nuts and has to receive treatment at the sideline.

20-02-2011, 03:06 PM
Classic look on Sodje's coupon after taking the ball in the nads. :greengrin

20-02-2011, 03:09 PM
Showed better baw control than Nishy's done for months :greengrin

20-02-2011, 03:09 PM
standard problem in midfield, Miller can't win a thing.

Unfortunately not for a lack of trying, he's just not up to it.

20-02-2011, 03:10 PM

Miller just isn't good enough.

20-02-2011, 03:10 PM

Difference is obvious so far, we are missing Murray & Thornhill already IMO.

ionahibby
20-02-2011, 03:11 PM

I like miller but he is def the weak link just now!

hibeeliam
20-02-2011, 03:11 PM
good take by stack!

20-02-2011, 03:12 PM
Good play by Scott

20-02-2011, 03:12 PM
so do i!!

Choice quotes so far...

"Miller dispossessed......."
"Miller loses out to...."

Play him out wide and let Scott battle in the midfield rather than make Miller look like a sheeeeite baaag.

hibeeliam
20-02-2011, 03:14 PM
good cross by spoony, layed off by miller, riordan shoots just over

20-02-2011, 03:14 PM
Good build up play ending with a difficult, snatched half volley from Deek over the bar.

20-02-2011, 03:19 PM
Miller is doing ok. Palsson was been quiet

20-02-2011, 03:22 PM
too much hoofball for my liking

Bob Box Fish
20-02-2011, 03:23 PM
This is a dire match.

Hot tattie fitbaw.

20-02-2011, 03:25 PM
I don't care if we hoof it out constantly as long as we win.

20-02-2011, 03:26 PM
Someone seems to have swapped Sodje's heid wi a 50p piece

20-02-2011, 03:26 PM
This is a dire match.

Hot tattie fitbaw.

Aye - no risks been taken. Both sides will know a draw ain't a bad result with the Accies losing again yesterday.

20-02-2011, 03:28 PM
This is dire. Seen better play between primary school teams.

20-02-2011, 03:34 PM
Well done to all those who managed to stay awake :greengrin

al bundy
who cares how we play as long as we win

Scott has been the pick of our team in the first half.

20-02-2011, 03:35 PM
close there. Nobody seems to want to take responsibility, slow it down, look for the intellegent pass. IMHO of course

20-02-2011, 03:35 PM
Worst first half of "football" ever. Awful. :yawn:

20-02-2011, 03:36 PM
A game of such poor quality.

Looks like both teams happy to lay off each other so hopefully we can lift things and make a go of it in the 2nd half.

20-02-2011, 03:36 PM
I dont mind scapping to the end of season to to stay up but this style off football is what is killing football. I would amazed if anyone other than Hibs and St Mirren fans are actually watching this dross

20-02-2011, 03:38 PM
Miller never does well in these physical games with a packed midfield; he might come onto a game second half when theres more space. Some of the critics of him above are a bit OTT in my opinion...

20-02-2011, 03:40 PM
Get scott in the middle and miller out wide. Palsson has been unable to get into the game as he has barley had the ball.

We need better Hibs cmon!!!

20-02-2011, 03:40 PM
Miller never does well in these physical games with a packed midfield; he might come onto a game second half when theres more space. Some of the critics of him above are a bit OTT in my opinion...

My main issue with Miller is that he is too slow, wants far too much time on the ball and so he ends up losing it. He has been here long enough to learn that you don't get time on the ball in the spl.

20-02-2011, 03:41 PM
This is putrid!Not for me I'm afraid..

Not saying I want to watch this style either but until we are safe I will suffer this but not going to watch this week in week out

vanNISHtelroy
I'll maybe go back to it after the Manc City game is over, your game hasn't been great, but not getting to see much footy the now!

This is putrid!Not for me I'm afraid..

It's worse than putrid. Dire, boring guff.

Matty_Jack04
20-02-2011, 03:44 PM
set up for just grit i think galbraith for miller and putting scott in the centre with palsson could give us more of an attacking threat

20-02-2011, 03:45 PM
Dire game so far. You know those games where you sit and
watch like a zombie and nothing happens to move you from your stopor?

This is one of those games.

EasterRoad4Ever
20-02-2011, 03:46 PM

Miller is easily the weakest link in our midfield, and I'm struggling to remember the last time he had a decent game - sometime back in 2009. Every time he's on Sky these days, the comments are the same... Miller is ex-Celtic, ManU and is better than this... invariably just after/before he's misplaced a another pass or lost possession to some part time or less than average hoofballer. I didn't think it was possible for Miller to get any worse than he was say a couple of months ago, but I was wrong.

tony
20-02-2011, 03:48 PM
.....there was I enjoying a good sleep about ten minutes into the game, then one of the kids woke me up and the 22 on the pitch were still running around in headless circles. Time to creosote the cat..........

20-02-2011, 03:49 PM
Absolutely brutal game, two teams trying tae avoid losing and getting nearer the drop. IMO games like this will become even more common place in a 10 team league that has two chances of relegation. :bitchy:

EasterRoad4Ever
20-02-2011, 03:49 PM
Dire game so far. You know those games where you sit and
watch like a zombie and nothing happens to move you from your stopor?

This is one of those games.

Like the last game between these sides at St Midden Park..... then Dargo scored and it was game over :fuming: Hibs need to grow a pair, grab the game by the scruff and go win this match.

20-02-2011, 03:50 PM
My main issue with Miller is that he is too slow, wants far too much time on the ball and so he ends up losing it. He has been here long enough to learn that you don't get time on the ball in the spl.

I'm aware hes got weaknesses, i wouldnt single him out in that 45 minutes as being particularly awful though.

20-02-2011, 03:55 PM
at least we have 2 strikers on the bench capable of sneaking a win:wink:

20-02-2011, 03:56 PM
i think that was a penalty. Been played back yet?

20-02-2011, 03:58 PM
Can we just bring Nish on now to provide at least some form of entertainment

20-02-2011, 04:01 PM
i think that was a penalty. Been played back yet?

His arms were down but the ball travelled a long way before it hit him.
It could have been given.

vanNISHtelroy
20-02-2011, 04:01 PM
Bring Nishy on and I'll start wanting yous to win as well :greengrin

20-02-2011, 04:03 PM
Unlucky Deek.

20-02-2011, 04:08 PM
Both side trying not to lose rather than win. Boring as ****

20-02-2011, 04:09 PM
Can we just bring Nish on now to provide at least some form of entertainment<br />
<br />
You want entertainment, go to the cinema, I believe True Grit is good

20-02-2011, 04:10 PM
You want entertainment, go to the cinema, I believe True Grit is good

Seen it on Tuesday, was an enjoyable flicker show.

TheMentalHibees
20-02-2011, 04:11 PM
Unable to get to a telly, but going by the posts on here I'm guessing I'm not missing much.

20-02-2011, 04:12 PM
The St Mirren keeper was walking about holding the ball for about 10-15 seconds there. What's the rule these days?

20-02-2011, 04:13 PM
Unable to get to a telly, but going by the posts on here I'm guessing I'm not missing much.

Good cure for insomnia - nowt else mate!

20-02-2011, 04:15 PM
The St Mirren keeper was walking about holding the ball for about 10-15 seconds there. What's the rule these days?

Always thought it was 5 seconds, apparently not.

Here comes Lewis. At least it's no Rankin

Stevenson coming on for miller

20-02-2011, 04:16 PM
God almighty.

Does anyone else think scott looks like deeks?

Probably not a good thing :wink:

20-02-2011, 04:16 PM

At the moment they'll be struggling to get 5 minutes of highlights for sportscene online

20-02-2011, 04:17 PM
Jesus! This is mince.

20-02-2011, 04:19 PM
Lucky - Higdon was on!

Goal ruled offside for Saints I think.

JoeTortolanoFanClub

6 seconds.

20-02-2011, 04:20 PM
Here's Nishy ..

20-02-2011, 04:20 PM
Nish preparing to come on.

20-02-2011, 04:21 PM
Looks like nish is coming on.

Oh no.

It's coming on.

Lord Colin of Nish.

20-02-2011, 04:22 PM
Stevenson booked

20-02-2011, 04:23 PM
Tasty tackle there from Stevenson, yellow card for his trouble

20-02-2011, 04:23 PM
Looks like Nish for Sodje. Sodje has been terrible

tanfield
20-02-2011, 04:24 PM
How long to go? Not at a telly or radio

Nish giving away a foul after 5 seconds of being on the pitch...

Come on Nish..............Give us a goal!!

20-02-2011, 04:25 PM
Nish's first conrtribution .. A shove! FFS.

what a pish game !!!

How long to go? Not at a telly or radio

Ten minutes

Nish on less than 10 seconds and gives away a foul. He is murder

Settle for a point I think...........................:hnet:

20-02-2011, 04:26 PM
Gotta be the best game of football in history surely :thumbsup:

20-02-2011, 04:26 PM
Nish wins a corner

20-02-2011, 04:27 PM
Bit of a goal line stramash, dickoh with shot

20-02-2011, 04:27 PM
Nish wins a corner

Who for?

20-02-2011, 04:28 PM
What a game! I'm on the edge of my seat!

Thank god for sky plus letting me record Barca-Arsenal :greengrin:

20-02-2011, 04:28 PM
I reckon we could let them play until next Saturday and they wouldnt score a goal.
Sadly i poor advert of Scottish football, exciting old firm game followed by lower league SPL that is reminiscent of Sunday pub league.

20-02-2011, 04:30 PM
HIBS Corner

20-02-2011, 04:31 PM
Goal hibs dickoh

Goal Dickoh

Yes, Dickoh goal, knocked on well initially by Hanlon :thumbsup:

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Dickoh :thumbsup:

Get in! :thumbsup:

oldbiker
20-02-2011, 04:32 PM
Get in there:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Three in a row:agree:

JoeTortolanoFanClub
Gotta be the best game of football in history surely :thumbsup:

It is now..Dickoh 1-0. :cgwa

Zorro
YESSSSSS!! Hold firm Hibs!

Yassssssssssssssssssssssssss

GGGGGGOOOOOAAAAAALLLLLL! :thumbsup:

Well done Francis Dickoh! :agree:

Excellent leap by Hanlon

Gotta keep it tight now, mon the Hibees!

i take that back, still rank though!!!!

GET IN

Rankin coming on

20-02-2011, 04:33 PM
***** game but we will take it if we hold on.

Come on Hibbies................:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa

I'll be honest. I never expected that :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

20-02-2011, 04:34 PM
Rankin for Deeks

We've been the better of two ****y teams. Worrying that Stevenson, Nish and Rankin getting a game

oldbiker
cmon hibs stay tight

corner for hibs

Zorro
20-02-2011, 04:36 PM
keep the ball, 2 mins to go...

20-02-2011, 04:37 PM
YA BEAUTY>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa

banchoryhibs
20-02-2011, 04:38 PM
Yesssssssssssssss FT 0-1:flag:

Fugg me - a win with Nishy and Rankin on the park! :thumbsup:

Three in a row! :thumbsup:

Well done the CC! :agree:

MOM Martin Scott.

Zorro
Full time!! GGTTH!!!

3 wins in a row

Full time, 3 wins in a row. Well done CC and the boys! :flag: :cgwa

discman
onwards and upwards :flag::flag::flag:

Ggtth!

Deserved to win. Three in a row.

20-02-2011, 04:39 PM
NISH NISH SUPER NISH. changed the game:-)

Riordans Boots
Well done Hibs :thumbsup::flag:

11 points ahead of Hamilton, 6 ahead of St Mirren and only 1 behind Aberdeen :thumbsup:

Good to see Dickoh taking the time to applaud the fans at the end :thumbsup:

20-02-2011, 04:40 PM
**** yes!!!

shamo9
20-02-2011, 04:40 PM
That's what we needed; worry about relegation no more:thumbsup::flag:

20-02-2011, 04:41 PM
crap game, didn't play very well at all but a win is a win, thought we lost out in midfield today.

20-02-2011, 04:42 PM
Here's to breaking some more poor records - winless in Paisley since - 99?!
Well done Colin and the lads - Hanlon more please!

great tae get the points :flag: but what I dire game. Only see more games like that ahead in a 10 team league with two chances of relegation. :agree:

That was like watching a dog get kicked to death, only for the dog to bite the kicker in the balls just before it passes away to raise a smile.

Not the best game to look at, clearly both teams played it safe as they would not want to concede a goal with Hamilton losing the other day.

Yet we still got the win, good to see us Scoring and winning. Onwards and Upwards

:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa:cgwa

Greenblood70
20-02-2011, 04:45 PM
3 points, onwards and upwards.

Not a game I enjoyed watching but I certainly enjoy us pulling away from the relegation zone, scoring away from home, winning away from home, keepin a clean sheet and not being bullied in a game like that.

ginger_rice
20-02-2011, 04:46 PM
CC did say there would be some terrible 1-0 wins, IMHO if we need to endure a few more of those to get back up the table in the short term so be it :flag:

20-02-2011, 04:46 PM
A Win is a Win, in a place like Paisley winning while looking flashy was never going to be an option. Will gladly take 3 points, now I might just be able to overcome my hangover early next Saturday in time to make it to the game.

20-02-2011, 04:51 PM
Ironic how a Yogi signing won us the game :wink::thumbsup:

20-02-2011, 04:52 PM
That was like watching a dog get kicked to death, only for the dog to bite the kicker in the balls just before it passes away to raise a smile.

Hear hear. Fine bit of last-gasp ball biting it was too.

Thoroughly chuffed today.

Ground it out. A clean sheet and won the battles.

Don't care how we win, we look a lot more solid recently.

mrdependable
a horrible game and a long 90 mins but the result was everything today :thumbsup:

20-02-2011, 04:57 PM

Damn mate, sorry. Never saw this. Game is always on Setanta Africa. Hope you got it.

20-02-2011, 04:57 PM
We've been the better of two ****y teams. Worrying that Stevenson, Nish and Rankin getting a game

:violin::yawn:

20-02-2011, 04:58 PM
Great result very poor game 3 points who cares. :thumbsup:

Beat ICT and we have an outside chance of sneaking into top 6.

20-02-2011, 05:03 PM
Assuming we're safe I'd like to see Lennon keep SM up. He looked really down in his after match interview. It would be a shame if his first shot at SPL management ended in relegation.

20-02-2011, 05:06 PM
The game was poor but it was never going to be anything special. A relegation battle away to St Mirren is always going to be about who has more desire and fight, and in the end that was us (along with a bit more quality).

Apart from a few bits of dodgy defending in the first half, dont think we were particularly troubled by them either, and on another day we could have scored a few with the chances we had.

Anyway, a wins a win, and thats 3 in a row from the 2 other teams who are stuck down at the bottom with us which is vital. It doesnt matter how we play, as long as we are picking up the points!

20-02-2011, 05:07 PM
Assuming we're safe I'd like to see Lennon keep SM up. He looked really down in his after match interview. It would be a shame if his first shot at SPL management ended in relegation.

Personally I find him rather irritating. Can never give credit to any other team

West Stand View
20-02-2011, 05:13 PM
No classic but thought we had the best of the second half. Didn't think the goal was going to come. Critical win to keep pressure on clubs below.

20-02-2011, 05:25 PM
Soo happy. Murder to watch but I echo what has been said on here.

A wins a win.

Bring on ICT, looking for a birthday win for my Old Man.

20-02-2011, 05:29 PM
Soo happy. Murder to watch but I echo what has been said on here.

A wins a win.

Bring on ICT, looking for a birthday win for my Old Man.

Anyone know when was the last time we won 4 on the trot in the league?

Russ
20-02-2011, 05:30 PM
set up for just grit i think galbraith for miller and putting scott in the centre with palsson could give us more of an attacking threat

Galbraith wasn't on the bench, obviously injured because anyone has got to be better than Miller, the sooner he goes the better. On a brighter note we won:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:,roll on Caley on Saturday, minus Miller I hope, we can't afford passengers.

20-02-2011, 05:31 PM
Huge win. Many hibs teams of late and in the past would have lost that today. But there's a new found determination, added to fresh faces, a more settle side (particuarly in defence) we're heading in the right direction, at least short-term. That's all we needed and wanted.

Flying to the US next Saturday for 2 weeks, so good to know we're much safer and I can relax a little on the next result or two.

Well done the boys today :flag:

20-02-2011, 05:32 PM
Febuary is always our worst month so this also makes a nice change:flag:

20-02-2011, 05:33 PM
Anyone know when was the last time we won 4 on the trot in the league?2007/8

Gretna (H), Sheep (H), ICT (H), Falkirk (A)

20-02-2011, 05:41 PM
Absolutely crucial 3 points today and the team's confidence gets stronger by the game. Dug in, not pretty at times, but kept going. Forcing corners and free kicks in the last 20 minutes shows a real determination not only to not lose but more importantly go for the win.

Palsson won most of his tackles without really getting into the mix going forward. Scott quietly effective at closing down space. Miller I thought had so many opportunities to get forward quickly yet could never get beyond his man. Riordan was poor today, and him and Sodje played a wee bit too far apart for my liking.

Defensively the full backs were tremendous. Towell and Booth cleared their lines, touch was good, and won headers. More importantly they were always looking to get the ball forward, not sideways.

The way I see it now is that we are only 11 points off 4th spot. That is the target for me and for the team. I genuinely think we can do it if we keep the same gritty determination and can add maybe a player out of contract who is an "impact" player.

The luck is turning too. Hamilton's games mounting up so we will get them a wee bit laboured, St Johnstone not on the best of form, and I think we can beat Caley if we get our noses in front again. Terrific 3 points today.....well deserved IMHO :agree:

ginger_rice
20-02-2011, 06:24 PM
Febuary is always our worst month so this also makes a nice change:flag:

That is so true we nearly always fall apart at this time of year even happened to the tornados

Russ
20-02-2011, 07:12 PM
Absolutely crucial 3 points today and the team's confidence gets stronger by the game. Dug in, not pretty at times, but kept going. Forcing corners and free kicks in the last 20 minutes shows a real determination not only to not lose but more importantly go for the win.

Palsson won most of his tackles without really getting into the mix going forward. Scott quietly effective at closing down space. Miller I thought had so many opportunities to get forward quickly yet could never get beyond his man. Riordan was poor today, and him and Sodje played a wee bit too far apart for my liking.

Defensively the full backs were tremendous. Towell and Booth cleared their lines, touch was good, and won headers. More importantly they were always looking to get the ball forward, not sideways.

The way I see it now is that we are only 11 points off 4th spot. That is the target for me and for the team. I genuinely think we can do it if we keep the same gritty determination and can add maybe a player out of contract who is an "impact" player.

The luck is turning too. Hamilton's games mounting up so we will get them a wee bit laboured, St Johnstone not on the best of form, and I think we can beat Caley if we get our noses in front again. Terrific 3 points today.....well deserved IMHO :agree:
I admire your optimism, but if we finish 4th i will donate my house to Barnardos. If we make the top 6 it will be an accomplishment let's not get carried away and take each game as it comes.

The midfield was shown up to be severely lacking today again, Miller needs to be shown the door, we can't afford any passengers. I hope Thornhill is fit for Saturday.

delbert
20-02-2011, 10:12 PM
A really poor game, but for me lots of encouraging signs, and a shedload more organization from CC, I reckon under Yogi we would probably have lost this game. As I said not the best game, but we had more possession, more shots and more shots on target, and all at a ground where we have'nt had a great deal of luck. Little things too, like running the ball into the corners at the end to waste time once we had our noses in front, not pretty but effective, and other teams get praised for doing this stuff when trying to grind out a win, so why not us.

Still cannot believe how awful we are from our own throw-ins, we can never retain possession, but I will settle for a gradual improvement in the coming months, and if a few ugly wins along the way is what it takes to keep us safe till the next transfer window then so be it, well done to the guys today.