View Full Version : Who has been Hibs best goalkeeper

19-02-2011, 08:30 AM
Stolen from other thread I thought I would have a poll on it.

19-02-2011, 10:13 AM
I'm with big Jim leighton

19-02-2011, 11:06 AM
right who's the smarty pants

Matty_Jack04
19-02-2011, 11:20 AM
jim leighton for me

Reaper
I'm with Goram, but Leighton was great too. Also I'm always dissapointed that Daniel Anderson didn't stay longer and get a real chance.

Havent seen the older ones but Goram was miles ahead of the others.

19-02-2011, 11:40 AM
Alan Rough, by a distance. He was the best Scottish 'keeper of his time and during that time he played for us. He kept us in the league, almost single handed at times. Well remember the night he broke his ankle when East Fife turned us over.

19-02-2011, 11:44 AM
Can't remember ever seeing Goram....so based on that, i've opted for Daniel Andersson out of all the keepers I can remember for Hibs

bournehibby
19-02-2011, 11:48 AM
Where's the Willie Wilson option :confused:

bh

19-02-2011, 11:50 AM

bh

And Tam Younger :greengrin

19-02-2011, 11:51 AM
David Grof has just been on the phone asking where the option to pick himself is.

Chibs
19-02-2011, 12:17 PM
For me of all the goalkeepers I have seen Goram is the best but that may be because on his debut we beat the ****bos and I ended up on the pitch at full time and wrapped my scarf round his neck.

Special mention to Ronnie Simpson as he was the only Hibs goalkeeper to win a european cup winners medal.

And also special mention to Tommy Younger who I used to caddy for on a Sunday every week at Longniddry Golf Club when I was a boy.

19-02-2011, 12:22 PM
For me of all the goalkeepers I have seen Goram is the best but that may be because on his debut we beat the ****bos and I ended up on the pitch at full time and wrapped my scarf round his neck.

Special mention to Ronnie Simpson as he was the only Hibs goalkeeper to win a european cup winners medal.

And also special mention to Tommy Younger who I used to caddy for on a Sunday every week at Longniddry Golf Club when I was a boy.

Would have been his First Derby. His debut was against Dunfermline at Easter Road. I vaguely remember Derby tickets being sold at the back of the East terracing that day.

19-02-2011, 12:27 PM
1 vote for Maka? Regulators been on the thread then.:greengrin

Hibee Daz
19-02-2011, 12:35 PM
Goram for me, I remember him scoring doon the slope against Morton, it was a kick oot that that bounced right over their goalies heed, as he was stood in the D on the edge of his 18 yarder!
It was just a shame that he went on to play for those *****.

Franck is God
19-02-2011, 12:38 PM
I was lucky enough to see Alan Rough, Andy Goram and Jim Leighton play for the Hibees, probably three of the best keepers Scotland has ever produced.

I went for Roughy, he was an amazing all round keeper and as others have said on this thread kept us in the Premier League when we really were not a good side.

Chibs
19-02-2011, 12:40 PM
Would have been his First Derby. His debut was against Dunfermline at Easter Road. I vaguely remember Derby tickets being sold at the back of the East terracing that day.

yup old age and alchol has taken its hold, but it was still a great day.

Think it was Kano who scored that day but I am sure you will correct me if I am wrong.

Hibee till I die

19-02-2011, 12:45 PM
amazed tommy younger is not included, and zibi, graeme smith included :rolleyes: although not quite old enough to have saw younger play he was a pretty reasonable keeper by all accounts, so please at least gtf with the zibi inclusion :grr:

anyway, andy goram for me(closely followed by leighton) :agree:

19-02-2011, 01:05 PM
amazed tommy younger is not included, and zibi, graeme smith included :rolleyes: although not quite old enough to have saw younger play he was a pretty reasonable keeper by all accounts, so please at least gtf with the zibi inclusion :grr:

anyway, andy goram for me(closely followed by leighton) :agree:

How far back do you want me to go? I have went back 45 years, not many posters on here would have watched Wilson or Younger play :greengrin

19-02-2011, 01:12 PM
Think it was Kano who scored that day but I am sure you will correct me if I am wrong.

No I won't, that's me done being a smartarse for the day.:greengrin

19-02-2011, 01:15 PM
I'll go for goram, just pipping jimbo and roughy, although he is a first class tool.

Hibbie-Welsh
19-02-2011, 01:16 PM
Yves Makalamby and Sol Bamba the only two good black players ever to play for Hibs. (Zemmama was not black)

19-02-2011, 01:16 PM
Since I've been going to ER.... Leighton

19-02-2011, 01:18 PM
Yves Makalamby and Sol Bamba the only two good black players ever to play for Hibs. (Zemmama was not black)

whats the colour of someones skin got to do with this ??? :confused:

bournehibby
How far back do you want me to go? I have went back 45 years, not many posters on here would have watched Wilson or Younger play :greengrin
If they were old enough to see Ronnie Simpson, they probably would have seen WW :dunno: Agree with you about TY tho' :wink:

bh

I'm with Goram, but Leighton was great too. Also I'm always dissapointed that Daniel Anderson didn't stay longer and get a real chance.

Indeed, there was also that one season that Nick Colgan was outstanding...

Since Anderson left I'd say our best is Mark Brown.

19-02-2011, 01:19 PM

What a completely baffling first post!! :confused:

I'm guessing latapy also just had a fortnight in benidorm before signing for us..... Super tan!!

19-02-2011, 01:20 PM
whats the colour of someones skin got to do with this ??? :confused:

That's what I was thinking!! :confused:

19-02-2011, 01:22 PM

bh

He was murder! :rolleyes:

Hibbie-Welsh
19-02-2011, 01:23 PM

I'm guessing latapy also just had a fortnight in benidorm before signing for us..... Super tan!!

Thats racist. Why are you bringing race into this forum. I must say I am most dissapionted by some Hibs fans. I thought we were a club open to all not racist.

You sir are a racist.

19-02-2011, 01:24 PM

Agree though, bizarre post. Who could possibly think MaKalambay was a good player?

19-02-2011, 01:27 PM
Thats racist. Why are you bringing race into this forum. I must say I am most dissapionted by some Hibs fans. I thought we were a club open to all not racist.

You sir are a racist.

:not worth you are a complete tool!!!

Let me be first to say...

Ltyf!!!

Hibbie-Welsh
19-02-2011, 01:28 PM

Agree though, bizarre post. Who could possibly think MaKalambay was a good player?

You sir are also a racist How many more racists does the club have?

Hibbie-Welsh
19-02-2011, 01:29 PM
:not worth you are a complete tool!!!

Let me be first to say...

Ltyf!!!

One could argue that I am a tool but atleast I am not a racist like you. I have heard about that time when you and your friends jumped a black man then later that SAME night jumped a asain. You make me sick.

19-02-2011, 01:31 PM

I'm sorry how am i a racist?

You were the one who made a compltely idiotic statement that Bamba and Maka were the only 2 good black players to play for Hibs. First of all this is absolute nonsense. Secondly i tend to judge players on how good they are in general terms, not how good they are in relation to others of the same or different races.

You sir are a racist.

One could argue that I am a tool but atleast I am not a racist like you. I have heard about that time when you and your friends jumped a black man then later that SAME night jumped a asain. You make me sick.

:bye::bye::bye::bye::bye:

Hahahahahahahaha!!!

Asain??? Who's he???

19-02-2011, 01:32 PM
I'm sorry how am i a racist?

You were the one who made a compltely idiotic statement that Bamba and Maka were the only 2 good black players to play for Hibs. First of all this is absolute nonsense. Secondly i tend to judge players on how good they are in general tersm, not how good they are in relation to others of the same or different races.

Don't bite mate, he's a yam

HNA11
19-02-2011, 01:35 PM
Don't bite mate, he's a yam

A particularly stupid one at that.

19-02-2011, 01:42 PM
Has to be the worst undercover yam of the year so far. :greengrin

19-02-2011, 01:44 PM
This poll is a bit like the SPL, a two horse race at best with a few also rans and a whole load of complete tosh floundering around the relegation zone!

Mac
19-02-2011, 01:55 PM
i have Gary Smith's and Mark Venus's when he played his last game and signed by the entire squad.

bournehibby
19-02-2011, 02:13 PM
I'm using my phone to post at the moment and my point re Wilson wearing all black looked like it tagged on to the black Hib's players thing.
It was purely coincidental.I remember Wilson wearing an all-black kit :agree:

Don't seem to remember the all black kit, I picture him in yellow jersey/white shorts.
That said, he might not have been a "legend", but IIRC was a very solid keeper in na very talented team.
bh

19-02-2011, 02:56 PM
i have Gary Smith's and Mark Venus's when he played his last game and signed by the entire squad.

More of a fish and chips man myself. Plenty salt and sauce.

Anyone else randomly posted in this thread, be it about racialists or signed tops or that?

Goram, btw.:agree:

19-02-2011, 03:00 PM
Jim Leighton.

Would never vote for Goram with regard to anything. He is a complete embarrassment to the human race.

:bitchy:

19-02-2011, 07:21 PM
Goram

Leslie

Younger

CallumHibs07
19-02-2011, 07:25 PM
Right. Who the ****** voted Zibi? :greengrin

19-02-2011, 07:28 PM
Willie Wilson was Hib's goalie when I first went to a game. Remember he was in all black?

Yeah I think so, he was in mourning for the fans who had to watch him :rolleyes:

19-02-2011, 07:43 PM
Don't seem to remember the all black kit, I picture him in yellow jersey/white shorts.
That said, he might not have been a "legend", but IIRC was a very solid keeper in na very talented team.
bh

Yes, generally yellow and white, though I think he may have worn all black on occasion. Jim Herriot certainly wore black a lot, and I remember seeing a more recent goalie than Younger or Wilson, also scandalously omitted from the poll, in all black - Thomson Allan.

19-02-2011, 10:02 PM
1. Goram
2. Leighton
3. Rough

And pretty much a fag paper between them. All very different but to have 3 consecutive Scottish International keepers says a great deal about our club. Spolied for choice in the Rough-Burridge era.

20-02-2011, 12:18 AM
Voted for Andy Goram but nae mention of Tommy Younger??????????:grr:

20-02-2011, 12:34 AM
In my time, the top 3 would be:

1. Leslie
2. Goram
3. Simpson

20-02-2011, 01:29 AM

Ask your youth players and your hero Mackay, jambo twat.

blairwallace
20-02-2011, 03:19 AM
whoever put zibi has to be a yam!