View Full Version : Match Updates Arsenal V Barca

hibs4eve
16-02-2011, 06:41 PM
Emirates K.O 7.45
Teams
Arsenal: Szczesny, Eboue, Koscielny, Djourou, Clichy, Song, Wilshere, Walcott, Fabregas, Nasri, van Persie. Subs: Almunia, Rosicky, Denilson, Squillaci, Arshavin, Gibbs, Bendtner.

Barcelona: Valdes, Dani Alves, Pique, Abidal, Maxwell, Xavi, Busquets, Iniesta, Pedro, Messi, Villa. Subs: Pinto, Bojan, Mascherano, Keita, Milito, Afellay, Adriano Correia.

16-02-2011, 06:54 PM
Arsenal are out-Barca-ing Barca just now.

Good start from the Gunners - Nasri, Fabergas and Walcott are really getting to the Barca back line with good success.

16-02-2011, 07:10 PM
Alex Song is about 1 or 2 fouls away from being sent off.

Good end to end game so far.

16-02-2011, 07:11 PM
Arsenal 0-1 Barcelona - David Villa, with a sublime slip through from Messi.

16-02-2011, 07:11 PM
Great game so far - first legs are normally dull but Arsenal need to take something to the Nou Camp.

Villa......1-0

16-02-2011, 07:14 PM
Should have been 0-2.

Great flick from Pedro, well saved.

16-02-2011, 07:16 PM
I predict at least 3 for Barca and Song red card. Toying with them.

16-02-2011, 07:19 PM
Barca are in the groove now. The gunners will have to dig deep.

16-02-2011, 07:21 PM
How many more before he sends Song off?

He's pish, and can't handle Xavi, Iniesta or Busquets, so is resorting to kicking them!

Dirty canoot.

16-02-2011, 07:23 PM
Edit: Nah, it was offside.

16-02-2011, 07:24 PM
How many more before he sends Song off?

He's pish, and can't handle Xavi, Iniesta or Busquets, so is resorting to kicking them!

Dirty canoot.Don't talk *****,just because he is getting overun does not mean he is pish.

16-02-2011, 07:27 PM
Don't talk *****,just because he is getting overun does not mean he is pish.

He is pish.

He can pass a ball, granted, but he can't tackle, has no pace and is a thug to boot.

16-02-2011, 07:29 PM
How good is Wilshere?

Wouldn't look out of place in that Barca midfield.

19 year old? Scary!

16-02-2011, 07:31 PM
He is pish.

He can pass a ball, granted, but he can't tackle, has no pace and is a thug to boot.You have clearly never seen him play before tonight because that is bull****.

16-02-2011, 07:33 PM
You have clearly never seen him play before tonight because that is bull****.

Can you make a point without swearing :wink:

I've seen him play quite regularly (had him in my fantasy team last year actually) and the amount of times he picked up bookings/got sent off or lost possession in vital areas of the field just wasn't funny.

Arsenal need someone LIKE him, but much better...

16-02-2011, 07:36 PM
Can you make a point without swearing :wink:

I've seen him play quite regularly (had him in my fantasy team last year actually) and the amount of times he picked up bookings/got sent off or lost possession in vital areas of the field just wasn't funny.

Arsenal need someone LIKE him, but much better...
I think we need to agree to disagree as i rate him highly and think he does a great job.

On a sidenote Shakhtar are beating Roma 3-1 in Italy at HT

16-02-2011, 07:40 PM
I think we need to agree to disagree as i rate him highly and think he does a great job.

On a sidenote Shakhtar are beating Roma 3-1 in Italy at HT

Each to their own and fine :greengrin

He still should be off the park already :wink:

16-02-2011, 07:42 PM
Song is pish.

He still should be off the park already :wink:I actualy agree:greengrin

Calvin

He still should be off the park already :wink:

I thought he was mince until this season when I started paying close attention to Arsenal and watching them often. He plays his role generally very well and I struggle to think of anyone much much better that Arsenal could get.

patlowe
16-02-2011, 07:44 PM
Have to say that Wilshere looks an unbelievable prospect; brilliant touch, awareness and composure. Is making Fabregas and his "destiny" to end up at Barca look a bit silly tonight.

16-02-2011, 07:46 PM
Have to say that Wilshere looks an unbelievable prospect; brilliant touch, awareness and composure. Is making Fabregas and his "destiny" to end up at Barca look a bit silly tonight.

He might feel it's his "destiny", but I don't see where he fits into the current Barca team :greengrin

16-02-2011, 07:46 PM
Have to say that Wilshere looks an unbelievable prospect; brilliant touch, awareness and composure. Is making Fabregas and his "destiny" to end up at Barca look a bit silly tonight.Agree but hopefully he doesn't jump at first sign of money like Ashely Cole.

16-02-2011, 07:48 PM
How good is Barcas passing/movement? immense!

16-02-2011, 07:49 PM
Agree but hopefully he doesn't jump at first sign of money like Ashely Cole.

How far is young Aaron Ramsey from a comeback?

He's another player who looks a cracking young prospect.

16-02-2011, 07:50 PM
How far is young Aaron Ramsey from a comeback?

He's another player who looks a cracking young prospect.He is back but he is on loan at cardiff to get his match sharpness back.

16-02-2011, 07:51 PM
Song is pish.

What were they singing?

16-02-2011, 07:59 PM
How that wasn't a penalty, I'll never know.

The officials are making some very questionable decisions here (in both directions)

16-02-2011, 08:00 PM
How that wasn't a penalty, I'll never know.

what tune does that go to :confused:

16-02-2011, 08:01 PM
what tune does that go to :confused:

"Oh I'll never know...
Oh I'll never knooowwww
How that wasn't a penalty,
Oh I'll never know..."

16-02-2011, 08:01 PM
"Oh I'll never know...
Oh I'll never knooowwww
How that wasn't a penalty,
Oh I'll never know..."

darwenhibby
16-02-2011, 08:05 PM
Its like watching Hibs in that mint strip under Yogi

16-02-2011, 08:06 PM
If Song is pish, what does that make every player in the SPL? IMO Song is a good player, who most weeks gives a 7 or 8 out of 10 performance. Just because he's not running the show against Barca, doesn't make him pish.:rolleyes:

16-02-2011, 08:07 PM
If Song is pish, what does that make every player in the SPL? IMO Song is a good player, who most weeks gives a 7 or 8 out of 10 performance. Just because he's not running the show against Barca, doesn't make him pish.:rolleyes:

Christ, if we're comparing him to an SPL player, then aye, he's a footballing God.

Andy Townsend is a plum :agree:

16-02-2011, 08:08 PM
He is pish.

He can pass a ball, granted, but he can't tackle, has no pace and is a thug to boot.

And you are talking pish.

Emanuel Eboue on the other hand................

16-02-2011, 08:09 PM
5th official gets the one decision he has to make all game wrong.

16-02-2011, 08:11 PM

Your no talking about that corner decision are you?

Despite what those two halfwit commentators say that was clearly a corner and the 5th official got it right

Emanuel Eboue on the other hand................

I love that nobody on here can have opinions anymore without being labelled as "pish" :agree:

He's lucky he was still eligible to be taken off - contributed nothing tonight other than kicking Xavi and Iniesta.

HibeeSince85
He's no scored yet but just how unbelievable is wee Messi?

16-02-2011, 08:12 PM

He got it right.

Anyway, how is he the 5th official? Would his mate up the other hand no be a bit miffed at that?

16-02-2011, 08:12 PM

Despite what those two halfwit commentators say that was clearly a corner and the 5th official got it right

16-02-2011, 08:13 PM

Wit? It was a goal kick.

Skyplus. Just watched it over and over. Comes off Villa's right foot every time.

These officials are pointless and apparently useless aswell.

16-02-2011, 08:13 PM

Emanuel Eboue on the other hand........................Is the best backup right back in the prem.

16-02-2011, 08:14 PM
Wit? It was a goal kick.

Nope.:wink:

I love that nobody on here can have opinions anymore without being labelled as "pish" :agree:

He's lucky he was still eligible to be taken off - contributed nothing tonight other than kicking Xavi and Iniesta.
Pish!! :greengrin

Wit? It was a goal kick.

If your watching it on sky+ have another look, it was clearly a corner and he got it right

Wit? It was a goal kick.

Stonewall corner.

More pish.

16-02-2011, 08:15 PM
More pish.

Monkey see, monkey do.

16-02-2011, 08:16 PM
If your watching it on sky+ have another look, it was clearly a corner and he got it right

I think you should have another look! :aok:

16-02-2011, 08:17 PM
If Barca want to stay on top they just have to sign Wilshere in the next year or two. He would fit into their midfield when either Xavi or Iniesta start to falter.

16-02-2011, 08:18 PM
Monkey see, monkey do.

Name calling now. Oh dear.
Use of the noun 'pish' is exclusive to you then?

You Yanks eh?.................................

HibeeSince85
16-02-2011, 08:19 PM
Barca's been the better team but go on Arsenal

Arsenal 1-1 Barca - fantastic finish from Van Persie :agree:

What a finish by RvP

1-1 Van Persie FFS :grr:

Well done the gooners! :thumbsup:

16-02-2011, 08:20 PM
Valdes caught napping.

Christ, if we're comparing him to an SPL player, then aye, he's a footballing God.

Andy Townsend is a plum :agree:

Who are you comparing him to? I dont think he's pish, i think your opinion of him is though. :wink: Song is a good player, never in a million years can you say he's pish.

A regular in the team 2nd in the EPL, somehow i dont think anyone who's pish would keep a place in that side.

You could always use it as a verb or an adjective. :wink:

Arsenal 1-1 Barca - fantastic finish from Van Persie :agree:

What a finish by RvP

There I go again. Someone chuck me a banana.

Well done the gooners! :thumbsup:

16-02-2011, 08:21 PM
Who are you comparing him to? I dont think he's pish, i think your opinion of him is though. :wink: Song is a good player, never in a million years can you say he's pish.

A regular in the team 2nd in the EPL, somehow i dont think anyone who's pish would keep a place in that side.

That Messi's pish though - ****** is costing me 10000 buttons after missing all those chances :greengrin

16-02-2011, 08:21 PM
Bloody Spaniards!!!! I have all my Buttons on them.:rolleyes:

16-02-2011, 08:22 PM

Arsenal scored. Well done to them :agree:

16-02-2011, 08:23 PM
That Messi's pish though - ****** is costing me 10000 buttons after missing all those chances :greengrin

:agree: Me too. :grr:

16-02-2011, 08:24 PM
2-1 Arsenal

Arsenal 2-1 Barcelona

Arshavin.

Ffs barca.

HibeeSince85
Brilliant

Arsenal lead Barcelona!

Fantastic counter attack from the gooners.!!!! Bassa's:greengrin

Unbelievable.

Arsenal scored. Well done to them :agree:

You can't claim to be a Man Utd fan and cheer on Arsenal scoring.

Wash your mouth out :greengrin

This is why I never gamble :greengrin

cam75
16-02-2011, 08:25 PM
What a goal

You could always use it as a verb or an adjective. :wink:

You mean like the Gunners are now pishing it?

Jack Wilshere is Pishing all over them?

Alex Song is pishing himself laughing at The Story So Far?

You can't claim to be a Man Utd fan and cheer on Arsenal scoring.

Wash your mouth out :greengrin

Don't be mad since your precious Barcelona are losing! :na na:

16-02-2011, 08:26 PM
Fantastic goal.

:singing: Who are you :singing:

16-02-2011, 08:26 PM
You mean like the Gunners are now pishing it?

Jack Wilshere is Pishing all over them?

Alex Song is pishing himself laughing at The Story So Far?

Different team since he went off :greengrin

16-02-2011, 08:27 PM
Barca losing to a load of pish, imagine that? :greengrin

16-02-2011, 08:27 PM
Arsenal corner, Come on the Gunners

16-02-2011, 08:28 PM
Barca losing to a load of pish, imagine that? :greengrin
Barca are pish. FACT.:agree:

16-02-2011, 08:29 PM
Barca are pish. FACT.:agree:

:agree: End of.

16-02-2011, 08:32 PM
Shot of Wenger on his tod there! Wonder if Pat Rice has had to nip down for a pish?

16-02-2011, 08:34 PM
FT

FT: Arsenal 2-1 Barcelona

Great performance from Arsenal in the end :agree:

My buttons were for the whole tie though eh - its only half time. :agree:

Ft 2-1

GIRUY BARCA

16-02-2011, 08:35 PM
At last Arsenal get to do what Hibs have done. :thumbsup:

16-02-2011, 08:35 PM
HT 2-1

GIRUY BARCA

I fixed that for you. :rolleyes:

16-02-2011, 08:38 PM
I fixed that for you. :rolleyes:

Barca should have won by miles - doubt they'll have another off night in the Nou Camp.

Well done Arsenal though for sticking at it.

billbee
16-02-2011, 08:41 PM
Cracking Goal !

16-02-2011, 08:44 PM
19 year old Jack Wilshere was the best player on that pitch tonight by a mile...In the middle mixing it with Iniesta, Xavi etc..What a player he will be for years to come

Barca got played at there own game in the 2nd half..Arsenal dominated.

16-02-2011, 08:44 PM
Brilliant match, beautiful possession football from Barcelona, brilliant counter attacks from Arsenal.

This could really make Arsenals season, the mental boost from beating one of, if not the greatest club side ever could spur them on to winning some of the 4 titles they are after!

16-02-2011, 08:45 PM

Barca should have won by miles - doubt they'll have another off night in the Nou Camp.

Well done Arsenal though for sticking at it.

I wouldnt say they had an off night?..Arsenal never let them play in the 2nd half..And deservedly take a 2-1 lead to the Nou camp imo.

16-02-2011, 08:50 PM
I wouldnt say they had an off night?..Arsenal never let them play in the 2nd half..And deservedly take a 2-1 lead to the Nou camp imo.

They had an off night in front of goal - Messi could have had 4.

Don't forget the offside goal that was wrongly chopped off.

16-02-2011, 08:53 PM
They had an off night in front of goal - Messi could have had 4.

Don't forget the offside goal that was wrongly chopped off.

Doubt it :greengrin

2 clear cut chances he defo should have buried tho :agree:

Lets be brutally honest here, Arsenal were up against the best football side in the world and came back from a goal down to win 2-1, Not very often you see that against Barca.

RVP also had 2 decent chances to score aswell to counter Messi's goal chances, Albeit not as clear cut but nevertheless 2 good goalscoring chances.

16-02-2011, 08:54 PM
Didn't see the first half but based on the second half display, Arsenal deserved that result.

The fact that Barcelona scored tonight though probably means that the tie will be beyond Arsenal as I can't see Barcelona not winning at Camp Nou and it'll probably be by a couple of goals at least.

16-02-2011, 08:55 PM
Didn't see the first half but based on the second half display, Arsenal deserved that result.

The fact that Barcelona scored tonight though probably means that the tie will be beyond Arsenal as I can't see Barcelona not winning at Camp Nou and it'll probably be by a couple of goals at least.

Id concur with that :agree:

16-02-2011, 09:24 PM
19 year old Jack Wilshere was the best player on that pitch tonight by a mile...In the middle mixing it with Iniesta, Xavi etc..What a player he will be for years to come

Barca should tell Cesc to F off and sign Wilshere instead....

Newhaven
16-02-2011, 09:49 PM

Great result for the Pride of London.

Wilshere, Fabregas and Arshavin (when he came on) were excellent.

All to play for over in Barca and a wee away goal would make things very interesting..

16-02-2011, 10:13 PM
I think Arsenal made the mistake of trying to play like Barca in the first half, and also showed too much respect to them.

In the second half, Arsenal played like Arsenal and took the game to Barca, and deserved the win from the second half showing.

I think they got caught up in the comparisons between their style of football and that of Barca's. Their styles are similar, but not the same. Arsenal couldn't compete when they tried to go toe to toe with Barca at Barca's game, but when they focussed on playing like they do every week, Barca didn't have an answer.

16-02-2011, 10:19 PM

Great result for the Pride of London.

Wilshere, Fabregas and Arshavin (when he came on) were excellent.

All to play for over in Barca and a wee away goal would make things very interesting..

Man of the Match by a country mile. Barca should sign him and forget Fabregas :greengrin

16-02-2011, 10:51 PM
Fantastic game and a great result for Arsenal.

Arsenal's first goal was amazing though the keeper should have had his near post covered. Reminded me a little of a goal at ER though much better.

I believe it was when Rangers scored from a similar position and Maka was being slated for not having his near post covered. :wink:

16-02-2011, 10:53 PM
Fantastic game and a great result for Arsenal.

Arsenal's first goal was amazing though the keeper should have had his near post covered. Reminded me a little of a goal at ER though much better.

I believe it was when Rangers scored from a similar position and Maka was being slated for not having his near post covered. :wink:

That's exactly what went through my head but I didn't want to start another Maka debate :greengrin

16-02-2011, 11:04 PM
I'm glad it wasn't just me that picked up on that! :greengrin

17-02-2011, 10:02 AM
From what I've read and heard aren't Barca supposed to be the best football team there's ever been, ever?:confused:

And aren't Xavi and the other chap Iniesta supposed to be two of the greatest players ever to have played the game ever? :dunno:

Sure they don't get beat often, but we all love football's ability to be no respecter of form, or reputation. Well done to Arsenal last night, a great game to watch as a neutral.

17-02-2011, 10:59 AM
From what I've read and heard aren't Barca supposed to be the best football team there's ever been, ever?:confused:

And aren't Xavi and the other chap Iniesta supposed to be two of the greatest players ever to have played the game ever? :dunno:

Sure they don't get beat often, but we all love football's ability to be no respecter of form, or reputation. Well done to Arsenal last night, a great game to watch as a neutral.

I watch Barca nearly every week and last night they were below their best.

At the weekend they drew 1v1 and looked a bit off.

Last night the game changed when they started to change the players - taking Villa off etc.

They are missing Puyol and will be missing Pique now for the 2nd leg.

However Barca are a far more confident team at home and the 2nd leg is going to be fascinating.

I think Barca will go through :agree:

Arsenal played well last night and Wilshere is the best young player in England.