View Full Version : Bowls - Bring on the .Net

16-02-2011, 07:24 AM
Ok folks, I know it's only mid Feb, but I was talking to our matches secy this morning and he was asking if I had a defo date for when we hand out the hammering to the :hnet: lambs. He has pencilled in Saturday 4th June for us but never gave me any alternatives, although I would imagine there will be some available during the summer.

Is there anybody who defo CAN'T make this date or who would prefer another if possible, or is it still a bit too early for everybody?

16-02-2011, 07:43 AM
When Mike says hammered he obviously means :hnet: hammering Northern again..the score up to now is Northern hibbies 1 :hnet: 2

Bring it on...:thumbsup:

Ps- We know a good few bowlers read these threads & havent taken part, it aint a closed shop ..if ye can make the date above then yer more than welcome to come along & add to the Northern misery...:thumbsup:

If you are up for it please pm me or Tanfield

16-02-2011, 09:51 AM
When Mike says hammered he obviously means :hnet: hammering Northern again..the score up to now is Northern hibbies 1 :hnet: 2

Bring it on...:thumbsup:

Ps- We know a good few bowlers read these threads & havent taken part, it aint a closed shop ..if ye can make the date above then yer more than welcome to come along & add to the Northern misery...:thumbsup:

If you are up for it please pm me or Tanfield

They will all be running scared of the Northern Hibbies Kenny, especially since Lee is joining our ranks (hopefully). :wink: :greengrin

This is a totally informal afternoon of bowling, no dress codes (well shorts are not allowed) and there are plenty refreshments to be had, before during and after.

As Kenny said, if any fellow Hibby bowlers fancy it, please let the guys know, it really is a good day out.

BarneyBreslin
16-02-2011, 11:58 AM
4th June is fine by me. Looking forward to my annual outing on the green.

Am I right in saying we're going for the Hat Trick this year?

16-02-2011, 02:07 PM

Going for it, just got no hope of getting it :greengrin

GGTTNH

Lmc2105
16-02-2011, 02:15 PM
Well i was wondering when this thread was going to start!!:greengrin

Well i have to say the last 2 years have been fantastic for me as the net have one twice however times change and will be happy enough trying to take the down the Good Players from .net .. even though it really woont be much of a problem :greengrin

CAN'T WAIT TO GET REVENGE ON THE .NETTERS!!

GGTTNH:flag:

tanfield
16-02-2011, 04:30 PM
Try being the operative word Lee. can't fault the effort of the northern guys - what they lack in the way of skill is made up in effort. :greengrin

Better get my victory speech ready (again!):na na:

16-02-2011, 10:50 PM
Just read your PM Andy.

Not sure if I can make it or not, I'll have to see nearer the time. I'll let the :hnet: selection committee know in plenty time.

P.S. Any idea when you've got the trial pencilled in for? :greengrin

17-02-2011, 11:32 AM
Dear tanfield

Thank you for the personal message to take part in this competition. :thumbsup:

As I have only ever played once before in my life I can only assume you have looked into the crystal bowls and seen a great player. :rolleyes: If that’s the case I will gladly accept, otherwise I will just stick to what I do best. Belhaven Best that is or preferably 80/-:cheers:

With best wishes for a great day.

PS that one game I had was against my darling wife who is a super bowler, an Ayr regular :cup: Having taken 4 off her at the first end as a result of the initial shock it took her 10 ends to claw that back to beat me by one with her last bowl – BRING IT ON :na na:

Lmc2105
17-02-2011, 11:59 AM
Dear tanfield

As I have only ever played once before in my life I can only assume you have looked into the crystal bowls and seen a great player. :rolleyes: If that’s the case I will gladly accept, otherwise I will just stick to what I do best. Belhaven Best that is or preferably 80/-:cheers:

PS that one game I had was against my darling wife who is a super bowler, an Ayr regular :cup: Having taken 4 off her at the first end as a result of the initial shock it took her 10 ends to claw that back to beat me by one with her last bowl – BRING IT ON :na na:

I want to be paired up Against Jack!! it's personal :wink:

17-02-2011, 01:31 PM
Dear tanfield

There is always plenty Belhaven Best on the go that day Jack. I would imagine you might get a call up as you sound better than the normal :hnet: 'bowlers' ?

17-02-2011, 02:20 PM
I want to be paired up Against Jack!! it's personal :wink:

Do you do it in pairs too? :confused:

This is going to be a steep learning curve :greengrin

If anyone mentions a two ball threesome I'm outta here :panic::offski:

tanfield
17-02-2011, 06:46 PM
Team update. Railfan, part of the victorious side 2 years ago has confirmed to me.

Jack - consider yourself part of the team!

Team shaping up nicely. The northern boys better get practising :)

tanfield
17-02-2011, 07:16 PM
:hnet:

Yes indeed Scott. Going for a memorable hat trick!

17-02-2011, 07:43 PM
Team update. Railfan, part of the victorious side 2 years ago has confirmed to me.

Jack - consider yourself part of the team!

Team shaping up nicely. The northern boys better get practising :)Good stuff ..:thumbsup:

tanfield
18-02-2011, 12:19 PM
Gismo has provisionally confirmed now. Better make sure I can make it!!

tanfield
19-02-2011, 01:48 PM
:hnet:Geo-1875 has confirmed availability. looking good

tanfield
19-02-2011, 07:03 PM
Just keeping the thread up to date - Scouse Hibee has provisionally accepted. I pity the Northern guys this year :)

20-02-2011, 06:41 PM
Just keeping the thread up to date - Scouse Hibee has provisionally accepted. I pity the Northern guys this year :)

I pity us as well, its our green you're coming down to (dis)grace! Every year we have to put up with your nonsense and shenanigans!

Northern > HNet! :slipper:

28-04-2011, 11:26 PM
bump just because I've been talking about it :-)

29-04-2011, 10:59 AM
bump just because I've been talking about it :-)

Just 5 weeks away now before the Northern Hibees hand out a pasting to the :hnet: hibbies :thumbsup:

HNA6
29-04-2011, 11:20 AM
Just 5 weeks away now before the Northern Hibees hand out a pasting to the :hnet: hibbies :thumbsup:Then ye woke up ..:greengrin

29-04-2011, 11:56 AM
Just 5 weeks away now before the Northern Hibees hand out a pasting to the :hnet: hibbies :thumbsup:Check yer pm's Mike ..:aok:

Lmc2105
01-05-2011, 06:20 PM
What a pasting the Northern is going to serve up :thumbsup::greengrin

HNA6
02-05-2011, 12:54 AM
What a pasting the Northern is going to serve up :thumbsup::greengrinOh ma sides ..your a funny guy Lee ..:faf::faf:

12-05-2011, 12:11 PM
:flag: This is going to be one hell of a tanking for the .Net!! They are clearly cacking themselves as they've been so quiet! None of the bravado from recent years!!

How is your sorry bunch of jokers, sorry, Squad, coming along anyway??

I've managed to get you another recruit. He's a Burns though so might be a wee spy in the camp for the Northern Burns' contingent!

:greengrin:greengrin

13-05-2011, 07:17 AM
How is your team coming along?
I need to have an idea of numbers so that I can organise the Northern Hibees team that is going to give you lot a pasting this year

GGTTNH

13-05-2011, 07:27 AM
How is your team coming along?
I need to have an idea of numbers so that I can organise the Northern Hibees team that is going to give you lot a pasting this year

GGTTNH

You should be able to put out the second string against this mob and have plenty to spare! Give the first team a rest for the harder games coming up! :-D

13-05-2011, 11:09 AM
You should be able to put out the second string against this mob and have plenty to spare! Give the first team a rest for the harder games coming up! :-D

Just heard that :hnet: might be bottling out of it this year due to the fear factor with their team. It seems some .netters promise a lot but maybe not able to quite produce the goods on the day by turning up for this most enjoyable gathering of fellow Hibernian bowlers.

Pity, as this has been a great day out for everyone for a few years now.

Lmc2105
13-05-2011, 01:02 PM
Just heard that :hnet: might be bottling out of it this year due to the fear factor with their team. It seems some .netters promise a lot but maybe not able to quite produce the goods on the day by turning up for this most enjoyable gathering of fellow Hibernian bowlers.

Pity, as this has been a great day out for everyone for a few years now.

If need be .. i will play for .net

trying to get Kevin back from 2 years ago though

13-05-2011, 02:07 PM

Pity, as this has been a great day out for everyone for a few years now.Yep ..plenty bowlers but struggling to muster a decent number this year for whatever reason..

Ive spoken to Andy (Tanfield) via pm & I have suggested to him that if we cant get 10 or over this year then I would rather we pull out ..we currently sit at 9 but we know that nearer the time the numbers are likely to drop again ..fingers crossed we have a few more faces soon ..:agree:

13-05-2011, 03:51 PM
If need be .. i will play for .net

trying to get Kevin back from 2 years ago though

Awe naw! :rolleyes:

We could have my wife as a reserve for the Hibs.net team, she dabbles a bit with bowls! :wink:

I’ll ask her when she gets home.

Bowling widower!

Fat Stu
13-05-2011, 04:55 PM
Btw if .net are still looking for players, count me in.:hnet:

tanfield
13-05-2011, 05:02 PM
Count yourself counted in stewart! Cheers

13-05-2011, 05:30 PM
Btw if .net are still looking for players, count me in.:hnet:Good tae have ye back Stu ..:aok:

13-05-2011, 05:35 PM
Still looking for bowlers..great day oot folks ..:aok:

Help :hnet: to a 3RD win on the trot v Northern hibbies ...:greengrin

Lmc2105
13-05-2011, 06:43 PM
Still looking for bowlers..great day oot folks ..:aok:

Help :hnet: to a 3RD win on the trot v Northern hibbies ...:greengrin

That will come to an end as am now a Northern Lad :wink:

Kenny am looking forward to that pint!:greengrin

13-05-2011, 07:04 PM
[/B]

That will come to an end as am now a Northern Lad :wink:

Kenny am looking forward to that pint!:greengrinYour the new whipping boy Lee, enjoy yer :slipper:.....fi :hnet: ....:greengrin

13-05-2011, 10:01 PM
Btw if .net are still looking for players, count me in.:hnet:

Welcome back Stu, it will be good to see you again.
I'm bring the slipper along as I dearly want to see Lee give Kenny a spanking :thumbsup:

14-05-2011, 03:24 PM
Like I said in an earlier post I can get someone for Hibs.net. Its my cousin and he said he'd play you...

HNA6
14-05-2011, 03:26 PM
Like I said in an earlier post I can get someone for Hibs.net. Its my cousin and he said he'd play you...Good enough Mike ..:agree:

Lmc2105
16-05-2011, 04:23 PM
Got another 3 for .net .. My friends Kevin Matty & Chris for el coop in tranent 3 very good bowlers kev and matty have played before

16-05-2011, 04:42 PM
Got another 3 for .net .. My friends Kevin Matty & Chris for el coop in tranent 3 very good bowlers kev and matty have played beforeYeah I remember them ..cheers Lee ..:aok:

tanfield
16-05-2011, 04:52 PM
Yeah I remember them ..cheers Lee ..:aok:

Cheers Lee, good stuff mate. As things stand the .net team has 13 players

16-05-2011, 05:05 PM
Cheers Lee, good stuff mate. As things stand the .net team has 13 playersLucky 13 ...:paranoid:

18-05-2011, 11:13 AM
Cheers Lee, good stuff mate. As things stand the .net team has 13 players

As it stands, the Northern have Four, need to get my finger out the dark place and start getting a team together, especially if Lee is bringing in ringers for the opposition :confused: :boo hoo:

18-05-2011, 02:00 PM
As it stands, the Northern have Four, need to get my finger out the dark place and start getting a team together, especially if Lee is bringing in ringers for the opposition :confused: :boo hoo:

TBF they're balanced by the novice :agree:

HNA6
18-05-2011, 03:02 PM
As it stands, the Northern have Four, need to get my finger out the dark place and start getting a team together, especially if Lee is bringing in ringers for the opposition :confused: :boo hoo:Oh aye ..those "ringers" that helped :hnet: pump you's in the second game ...I sense Mike is getting scared at the thought of a third pumping on the trot .....:worried:

Also remember we didnae need those "ringers" last year when we beat you ..:hibees......:greengrin

tanfield
18-05-2011, 10:31 PM
Oh aye ..those "ringers" that helped :hnet: pump you's in the second game ...I sense Mike is getting scared at the thought of a third pumping on the trot .....:worried:

Also remember we didnae need those "ringers" last year when we beat you ..:hibees......:greengrin

MB just managed to avoid a stay on my mantelpiece last year. Will he be as lucky again? :)

19-05-2011, 07:27 AM
Oh aye ..those "ringers" that helped :hnet: pump you's in the second game ...I sense Mike is getting scared at the thought of a third pumping on the trot .....:worried:

I'm more concerned about getting a team than worried about your lot of imposters. Seriously, although I have only just started asking around, the response from my lads has been poor. Will keep you updated.

Lmc2105
19-05-2011, 07:27 AM
Few people were asking about it last night mike maybe put a sign up mate?

19-05-2011, 07:28 AM
MB just managed to avoid a stay on my mantelpiece last year. Will he be as lucky again? :)

Andrew, are in the Tanfield SBA fours this year?
Could I be going for 2 in a row against you at the Berry on Tuesday? :wink: :thumbsup:

HNA6
19-05-2011, 08:37 AM
I'm more concerned about getting a team than worried about your lot of imposters. Seriously, although I have only just started asking around, the response from my lads has been poor. Will keep you updated.Ach ..maybe they are just kacking themselves Mike ..cannae really blame them eh ..?

Anyway ..hope you get things sorted ..I have confidence in you ..:aok:

22-05-2011, 11:40 AM
Few people were asking about it last night mike maybe put a sign up mate?

Got a few more names from yesterday and now up to eleven, with a more to come hopefully.

26-05-2011, 06:05 AM
How are things going lads ..?

26-05-2011, 07:47 AM
How are things going lads ..?

I have been that busy bowling Kenny, I've not had much time to think about our game. However, I have asked and I reckon I should have a team for next, if everybody remembers to turn up (I'll remind them on Monday & Wednesday night.

Have you defo got 13?

tanfield
28-05-2011, 09:31 PM
I have been that busy bowling Kenny, I've not had much time to think about our game. However, I have asked and I reckon I should have a team for next, if everybody remembers to turn up (I'll remind them on Monday & Wednesday night.

Have you defo got 13?

Last I heard Mike we had 13 names. Will let you know if this changes.

29-05-2011, 08:44 AM
How many balls do I need? I can do up to 10 black ones and 1 wee white one although that might be a pool bowl!

And is there a dress code? I've got a nice wee black number I've not worn for a while although they heels might stick into the pitch.

And sorry to be a pain but will the club restaurant be open?

29-05-2011, 01:03 PM
How many balls do I need? I can do up to 10 black ones and 1 wee white one although that might be a pool bowl!

And is there a dress code? I've got a nice wee black number I've not worn for a while although they heels might stick into the pitch.

And sorry to be a pain but will the club restaurant be open?Bring 2 3 0r 4 bowls ..wear a pink tutu..restaurant opens after the game ..winners get luncheon vouchers, the ostrich burgers were great last year ..

31-05-2011, 07:14 AM
I have no idea who or how many guys are either turning up or are able to turn up but I now have a feeling I am going to have TOO MANY players. However, what I have said is anybody that turns up will get a game, so we will just have to play things by ear on Saturday.

31-05-2011, 09:22 AM
I have no idea who or how many guys are either turning up or are able to turn up but I now have a feeling I am going to have TOO MANY players. However, what I have said is anybody that turns up will get a game, so we will just have to play things by ear on Saturday.Cannae beat a bit o organised chaos Mike eh ...:thumbsup:

See ye Sat mate ..:hnet:

31-05-2011, 09:31 AM
A quick run through the thread suggests a kick off time hasn’t been mentioned.

Would anyone like to mention a kick off time? :greengrin

31-05-2011, 09:49 AM
A quick run through the thread suggests a kick off time hasn’t been mentioned.

Would anyone like to mention a kick off time? :greengrinThink ...pretty sure its one O'clock Jack ..be there for one ...:aok:

31-05-2011, 07:04 PM
Think ...pretty sure its one O'clock Jack ..be there for one ...:aok:

Starting time on the Green is 2.00pm but if folk can get there a good bit earlier e.g. no later than 1.30pm then it will give us an idea as to who is turning up and a chance to pick teams.

tanfield
01-06-2011, 12:04 PM
Starting time on the Green is 2.00pm but if folk can get there a good bit earlier e.g. no later than 1.30pm then it will give us an idea as to who is turning up and a chance to pick teams.

Good call Mike:thumbsup:

Lmc2105
01-06-2011, 12:12 PM

al be there about 1.35pm

gives kenny time to get the pints in :greengrin

01-06-2011, 01:58 PM
Stags Head at 11?

01-06-2011, 02:51 PM
al be there about 1.35pm

You're hoping for a bit much there Lee, more chance of Hibs winning the Scottish Cup. I suppose we can live in hope for both events :wink: :greengrin

01-06-2011, 04:34 PM
al be there about 1.35pm

You're hoping for a bit much there Lee, more chance of Hibs winning the Scottish Cup. I suppose we can live in hope for both events :wink: :greengrinOi ...:greengrin ..at least I will have money in my pocket this time ..last year was an absolute mare ...car breaking down when Wife was on her way tae pick up my cash card..tapping a pint fi young Mike ...& winning the 50p's at the end tae muster enough for another pint ...:greengrin

Things can only get better ...:hnet:

02-06-2011, 09:33 AM
Lads,

Because of a tournament on Sunday, I have a few extra bods looking for a game on Saturday and have told them it will be ok to come along. I reckon we could now be possibly looking at 4 full rinks between us, so it would be good to get there earlier so we can get teams sorted out.

From being in a mild panic about not having teams, it now looks like it could be our best ever turn out :thumbsup:

GGTTNH

02-06-2011, 09:44 AM
Oi ...:greengrin ..at least I will have money in my pocket this time ..last year was an absolute mare ...car breaking down when Wife was on her way tae pick up my cash card..tapping a pint fi young Mike ...& winning the 50p's at the end tae muster enough for another pint ...:greengrin

Things can only get better ...:hnet:

My recollection was 8 pints!! Wasn't going to take any money this year... :greengrin:greengrin

Also, its no longer "Mike" and "young Mike"...

MJB or Mike J Burns = Me :agree:

VMB or "Vintage" Mike Burns = MB62 :greengrin

tanfield
02-06-2011, 09:59 AM
Excellent stuff Mike. Looking forward to it!

May the best team win or something like that anyway.

02-06-2011, 10:41 AM

May the best team win or something like that anyway.

Well thats not exactly happened the last couple of years has it... :grr:

02-06-2011, 03:32 PM
My recollection was 8 pints!! Wasn't going to take any money this year... :greengrin:greengrin

Also, its no longer "Mike" and "young Mike"...

MJB or Mike J Burns = Me :agree:

VMB or "Vintage" Mike Burns = MB62 :greengrinJeez..that first pint must have been strong ..cant remember the other 07 ..:greengrin

May the best team win or something like that anyway.Anyone any idea what bus I can get tae Northern from York place/Broughton st ..?

02-06-2011, 04:14 PM
Just walk. It's all downhill from there!!!

02-06-2011, 04:49 PM
Just walk. It's all downhill from there!!!I know its downhill from there ..but im trying to minimise the injuries I have, carrying my bowls may aggravate my shoulder injury & walking from York place to Northern may make my damaged knee ..damaged back & damaged ankle flare up ..:greengrin

Im trying for a painkiller free day so I can have a few pints ..:wink:

02-06-2011, 05:43 PM
I know its downhill from there ..but im trying to minimise the injuries I have, carrying my bowls may aggravate my shoulder injury & walking from York place to Northern may make my damaged knee ..damaged back & damaged ankle flare up ..:greengrin

Im trying for a painkiller free day so I can have a few pints ..:wink:

Number 8 from broughton street!

or 23 or 27 from hanover street

02-06-2011, 05:49 PM
Number 8 from broughton street!

or 23 or 27 from hanover streetCheers M ..number 8 sounds good ..see ye Sat ..:aok:

tanfield
02-06-2011, 10:56 PM
Well thats not exactly happened the last couple of years has it... :grr:

Well Mike, if I have to state the bleeding obvious I will.

Bring it on!

03-06-2011, 08:45 AM
Cheers M ..number 8 sounds good ..see ye Sat ..:aok:

Just in case anybody else that is playing doesn't know where the FAMOUS NORTHERN BOWLING CLUB is, it is in Warriston Crescent, Canonmills, or visit

www.northernbowlingclub.co.uk

there is a map to the club on there with hopefully all other info that might be required.

Be there time is 1.30pm ready for a 2.00pm START on the green

GGTTNH

03-06-2011, 08:51 AM
Just in case anybody else that is playing doesn't know where the FAMOUS NORTHERN BOWLING CLUB is, it is in Warriston Crescent, Canonmills, or visit

www.northernbowlingclub.co.uk

there is a map to the club on there with hopefully all other info that might be required.

Be there time is 1.30pm ready for a 2.00pm START on the green

GGTTNH:thumbsup:

Lmc2105
03-06-2011, 11:47 AM
whats the dress code chaps?

tanfield
03-06-2011, 12:55 PM
whats the dress code chaps?

I'm assuming casual dress Lee

03-06-2011, 02:46 PM
whats the dress code chaps?Your usual Sat night garb Lee ..bright & flowery...:greengrin

Seriously though Lee ...how many times have you played v Northern ..? ..& ye cannae remember what ye wore !!!!....:greengrin

03-06-2011, 05:37 PM
I've never played there so I don't know!

How many bowls? My coach is telling me if it's full rings then I'll only need 2 and as I'm bussing it would a much lighter bag I'd be humping about.

03-06-2011, 08:27 PM
I've never played there so I don't know!

How many bowls? My coach is telling me if it's full rings then I'll only need 2 and as I'm bussing it would a much lighter bag I'd be humping about.Best to bring 4 bowls ..not sure yet if we are going with triples or rinks ..or both ..

tanfield
03-06-2011, 09:03 PM
Got another guy for the .net team. Possible another one as well. Shaping up to be a good squad!

03-06-2011, 09:48 PM
Got another guy for the .net team. Possible another one as well. Shaping up to be a good squad!

rinkers?

04-06-2011, 08:01 AM
Mon the .net ..lets get intae thum today !! :hnet:....:greengrin

04-06-2011, 05:01 PM
Early reports are hinting at a resounding Northern win!! Apparently the crucial transfer of Lee is what swung the game!

04-06-2011, 06:38 PM
Early reports are hinting at a resounding Northern win!! Apparently the crucial transfer of Lee is what swung the game!:greengrin

Bad day at the office ...pains me to say it but well done Northern hibbies ...:aok:

Cracking day out again guy's..result aside excellent numbers & from what I saw & heard plenty banter ..:agree:

Cheers Burnsie (MB85yo:greengrin) & Wife for club/scran/photo organisation...:top marks & the hard worked barman...:top marks...& to :hnet: Captain Andy Sneddon for bringing players in & picking the teams ..:thumbsup:

Cheers all who turned up today ..hope for more of the same next year ..:aok:

tanfield
04-06-2011, 09:40 PM
Not much more I can add Kenny. Great day again and thanks for all the guys for their support.

Deserved win for the Northern guys (choke choke!).

Thanks again to Mike for organising and Lesley for organising the food. Great banter and hospitality and looking forward to next years event.

Jack / George - hope you enjoyed the game.

05-06-2011, 12:38 AM
Yes I did thank you, and thanks to everyone else. I'll see you next year for my third game!

05-06-2011, 04:27 PM
Good day. Nice to put a face to some of the names. Looking forward to next time.

05-06-2011, 05:12 PM
Delighted at the turn out, especially as only a few weeks ago it looked we might end up having to cancel due to lack of numbers.
Great win for the Northern Hibernian, the transfer fee paid for El Presidente was obviously well worth it :wink: :greengrin

2-2 in the series now and I can't see :hnet: Captain Andrew Sneddon ever getting his hands back on the trophy.

Thanks again to EVERYBODY who came along and I'm sure everybody had a great day and enjoyed it, it certainly sounded like it as Kenny said, the banter was brilliant as always.

GGTTNH :thumbsup: