View Full Version : Team for Sunday!

billbee
15-02-2011, 02:43 PM
Any thoughts on the team formation for St Midden game, with Dicko and Mr Murray out ! Will Vic Pal drop back? any thoughts?

15-02-2011, 02:48 PM
Stack

Towell
Stephens
Hanlon
Booth

Palsson

Scott
Miller
Wotherspoon

Sodje
Riordan

15-02-2011, 02:53 PM
Stack

Towell
Stephens
Hanlon
Booth

Palsson

Scott
Miller
Wotherspoon

Sodje
Riordan

That.

To take Vic out of the midfield would be a bad move in my opinion. Keep him there and bring in Scott for the suspended Murray, and Stevens/Thicot in for Dickho. :thumbsup:

15-02-2011, 02:55 PM
Stack

Towell
Stephens
Hanlon
Booth

Palsson

Scott
Miller
Wotherspoon

Sodje
Riordan

i'd be happy with that you horrible little man :agree::aok:

15-02-2011, 02:55 PM
Stack

Towell
Thicot
Hanlon
Booth

Palsson

Scott
Thornhill
Wotherspoon

Riordan

Sodje

15-02-2011, 02:57 PM
Stack

Towell
Stephens
Hanlon
Booth

Palsson

Scott
Miller
Wotherspoon

Sodje
Riordan

:agree: Cannot see past that lineup - almost picks itself!

15-02-2011, 03:02 PM
Stack

Towell
Stephens
Hanlon
Booth

Palsson

Scott
Miller
Wotherspoon

Sodje
Riordan

I like it but there's no Thornhill?!

ancienthibby
15-02-2011, 03:06 PM
If you read what CC said in Monday's Scotsman, the first name he mentioned as cover for Dichov was in fact Palsson. CC said he had seen him play there a number of times (Liverpool reserves?) so I think that's most likely. Stephens just has not enough experience for the task against St Midden - that's a must win otherwise we could start going backwards again.

He'll then keep Murray in midfield and bring in Scott, most likely!:thumbsup:

Loopz
15-02-2011, 03:20 PM
Stack

Towell
Stephens
Hanlon
Booth

Palsson

Scott
Miller
Wotherspoon

Sodje
Riordan

I would also try Stephens. If Palsson was sitting on the bench and we applied the "We need more expience" logic, see what we would be missing. I also think Thornhill was one of our best players against Killie so Miller would again be on the bench for me.

15-02-2011, 03:22 PM
I wouldn't move Palsson to centre back. He's playing well where he is.

Stephens in for Dickoh and Scott in for Murray would be the 2 replacements for me. I have a feeling we've seen the last of Thicot.

15-02-2011, 03:24 PM
If you read what CC said in Monday's Scotsman, the first name he mentioned as cover for Dichov was in fact Palsson. CC said he had seen him play there a number of times (Liverpool reserves?) so I think that's most likely. Stephens just has not enough experience for the task against St Midden - that's a must win otherwise we could start going backwards again.

He'll then keep Murray in midfield and bring in Scott, most likely!:thumbsup:
I am willing to bet any amount of money you want that he doesnt.:greengrin

ancienthibby
15-02-2011, 03:27 PM
I am willing to bet any amount of money you want that he doesnt.:greengrin

Yep, my BAD!!

I forgot Murray was suspended.

So you win already.:greengrin

15-02-2011, 03:31 PM
Yep, my BAD!!

I forgot Murray was suspended.

So you win already.:greengrin
Damn :greengrin

15-02-2011, 04:28 PM
I'd restore Rankin and Nish as i'm missing the usual 'Rankin' and 'Nish' threads.

15-02-2011, 04:37 PM
Stack

Towell
Hanlon
Pallson
Booth

Wotherspoon
Miller
Scott
Thornhill

Sodje
Riordan

15-02-2011, 04:39 PM
______________Stack
Towell___Stephens___Hanlon___Booth

__________Scott___Palsson
_____________Miller
Wotherspoon_______________Riordan
______________Sodje

Titch
15-02-2011, 04:44 PM
are we not appealing the red card then???

Hibstrooper
15-02-2011, 04:44 PM
Stack

Towell
Hanlo
Pallson
Booth

Wotherspoon
Miller
Scott
Thornhill

Sodje
Riordan

Pretty sure this will be the team. CC won't bring Stephens in before Miller or Scott

Ken
15-02-2011, 09:01 PM
_____________Stack
___Towell Palsson Hanlon Booth

_____________Scott
Wotherspoon Thornhill Miller Riordan

____________Sodje

I'm pretty sure this will be the team assuming the above are all fit!

15-02-2011, 09:43 PM
Graham Stack

Richie Towell
Francis Dickoh
Paul Hanlon
Callum Booth

Victor Palsson

David Wotherspoon
Martin Scott
Matt Thornhill

Akpo Sodje
Derek Riordan

subs:
Jakub Divis
David Stephens
Lewis Stevenson
Liam Miller
Danny Galbraith
Colin Nish
Kurtis Byrne

:cgwa :flag:

15-02-2011, 10:19 PM
Stack

Towell / Palsson / Hanlon / Booth

Wotherspoon / Thornhill / Miller / Scott

Sodje / Riordan

15-02-2011, 10:22 PM
Stack

Towell
Stephens
Hanlon
Booth

Palsson

Scott
Miller
Wotherspoon

Sodje
Riordan

No Thornhill ? Why ? Remove Miller, insert Thornhill would be my team.

15-02-2011, 10:54 PM
It's 'settled-team-time' for the run in.
Minimum changes please (and previous posters seem to be in accord).
Plop subs in positions of players missing.
No position juggling required (or desired).
11.55pm - Goodnight :yawn:

15-02-2011, 11:02 PM
Stack

Towell palsson hanlon booth

Wspoon Miller thornhill Scott riordan

Sodje

15-02-2011, 11:34 PM
Stack

Towell Palsson Stephens Hanlon

Spoony Thornhill Scott Galbraith

Deeko Sodje

Subs:Divis, Booth, Thicot, Miller, Byrne, Duffy, Nish

16-02-2011, 12:57 PM
No Thornhill ? Why ? Remove Miller, insert Thornhill would be my team.

We've been lacking creativity in midfield and Thornhill looks to be very unfit/short of match sharpness where as Miller seems to have regained a bit hunger and effort in the last few games and he's a more creative..

16-02-2011, 01:02 PM
:agree: Cannot see past that lineup - almost picks itself!

It can't pick itself really as Thornhill has started the last couple, not Miller, and done well.

16-02-2011, 01:06 PM
_____________Stack
___Towell Palsson Hanlon Booth

_____________Scott
Wotherspoon Thornhill Miller Riordan

____________Sodje

I'm pretty sure this will be the team assuming the above are all fit!

Gets ma vote :agree:

16-02-2011, 01:07 PM
Stack

Towell
Palsson
Hanlon
Booth

Wotherspoon
Scott
Miller
Thornhill
Riordan

Sodje

16-02-2011, 02:35 PM
I take it cc didnt try to have the red card from saturday overturned as it didnt seem a clear cut decision at all.I doubt cc will go with a back four of teenagers so i suspect thicot will take over.From the highlights of the saintees game i think sodje will have a field day if we can get good crosses in but they look dangerous at setpeices which makes me a wee bit nervous.If we are as committed as we have been i think we will get a least a draw.A win mind you and things will be looking very bright indeed.One game at a time and all that.

16-02-2011, 03:04 PM
Stack

Towell Palsson Stephens Hanlon

Spoony Thornhill Scott Galbraith

Deeko Sodje

Subs:Divis, Booth, Thicot, Miller, Byrne, Duffy, Nish

You'd take out Booth a natural LB and put a young untried Stephens in at CB. :confused:

StarMan10
16-02-2011, 03:20 PM
are we not appealing the red card then???

no way it would get overturned because if it was a penalty it was a red card and they cant change the decision of the penalty

16-02-2011, 03:48 PM
Keep any changes to a minimum so it's Thicot for Dickoh and Scott for Murray.

No more faffing about required.

16-02-2011, 03:59 PM
Shelves

Beach
Mate's Boy
Han Solo
Photo

Ish
Prick Mountain
Windy
Fork

Rio
Naff Off

ancienthibby
16-02-2011, 04:32 PM
Shelves

Beach
Mate's Boy
Han Solo
Photo

Ish
Prick Mountain
Windy
Fork

Rio
Naff Off

OK, I'll bite!

That will be:

Stack;
Towell;
Hanlon;
Booth;

Nish (surely not!)
Thornhill;
Miller;
Got Me!

Deeks;
Sodje;

16-02-2011, 04:46 PM
Shelves

Beach
Mate's Boy
Han Solo
Photo

Ish
Prick Mountain
Windy
Fork

Rio
Naff Off

Lovin your work once again. :flag: Its been toolong Speedway:not worth

16-02-2011, 04:53 PM
OK, I'll bite!

That will be:

Stack;
Towell;
Hanlon;
Booth;

Nish (surely not!)
Thornhill;
Miller;
Got Me!

Deeks;
Sodje;

Ish = Scott(ish)

Fork = Wotherspoon(spoon)

:doh:

ancienthibby
16-02-2011, 04:59 PM
Ish = Scott(ish)

What a man!!

Kudos to you!!:not worth:not worth:not worth

16-02-2011, 06:22 PM
Ish = Scott(ish)

:agree::top marks

PerthHibee
16-02-2011, 06:51 PM
From the highlights of the saintees game i think sodje will have a field day if we can get good crosses in but they look dangerous at setpeices which makes me a wee bit nervous.

think for this reason Stephens should get a chance at Saints as he has the physical presence to deal with higdon. Palsson looks too crucial in midfield to move back while the idea of an arial duel between thicot and hidden makes my heart stop.
Team IMO should be
Stack
Towell. Stephens. Hanlon. Booth

Pallson
Wotherspoon. Thornhill. Scott

Sodje. Riordan

Would rather see miller than thornhill generally but with Murray already out think we need his solidity

joebakerforever
16-02-2011, 09:49 PM
think for this reason Stephens should get a chance at Saints as he has the physical presence to deal with higdon. Palsson looks too crucial in midfield to move back while the idea of an arial duel between thicot and hidden makes my heart stop.
Team IMO should be
Stack
Towell. Stephens. Hanlon. Booth

Pallson
Wotherspoon. Thornhill. Scott

Sodje. Riordan

Would rather see miller than thornhill generally but with Murray already out think we need his solidity

Looks the best options available.

Agree we need a tall physical presence to contain Higdon's aerial threat, which a Hanlon/Thicot combination in central defence would to toil to do.

Stephens is a big lad who has looked ok in his limited appearances and should be on from the start, with Thicot ready to step in if it doesn't work out.

17-02-2011, 12:44 PM
Maybe we should give Dickoh a chance at centre half.

billbee
17-02-2011, 01:36 PM
Dicko card overturned ! Same team players except Murray?

17-02-2011, 02:06 PM
no way it would get overturned because if it was a penalty it was a red card and they cant change the decision of the penalty

Aye, right enough Nostradamus.

007 Mickey Weir
17-02-2011, 02:15 PM
So Scott in for Murray and thats it!! simples!

ancienthibby
17-02-2011, 02:24 PM
So Scott in for Murray and thats it!! simples!

Would agree with that!

It will be a big boost for the back four particularly in that they can have another game as a unit, and that should give the rest of the team a confidence boost!!:agree:

17-02-2011, 03:46 PM
.......................Stack
...Towell....Dickot......Hanlon....Booth
..............Palsson....Scott
....Wotherspoon.Thornhill.Galbraith
......................Sodje

17-02-2011, 04:03 PM
.......................Stack
...Towell....Dickot......Hanlon....Booth
..............Palsson....Scott
....Wotherspoon.Thornhill.Galbraith
......................Sodje

Drop the Golden Child!!
You'll need this.

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT-2fIhCpwNbIgnkdRuuUJr_Bi7M-njIEUO6x8EEZDWRp87Ycds

Arch Stanton
18-02-2011, 09:10 AM
Drop the Golden Child!!
You'll need this.

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT-2fIhCpwNbIgnkdRuuUJr_Bi7M-njIEUO6x8EEZDWRp87Ycds

I think I might need one of those too as I have a feeling he wont start.

CC's priority might be not to lose so he could well play one up front and have Miller start for Riordan. :duck:

18-02-2011, 10:47 AM
Smith

Hart
Dickoh
Hanlon
Stevenson

Miller
McBride
Pallson
Rankin
Deeko

Nish

18-02-2011, 10:50 AM
Shelves

Beach
Mate's Boy
Han Solo
Photo

Ish
Prick Mountain
Windy
Fork

Rio
Naff Off

Quality.

Struggling with Mates Boy though

Wee Scottie Dug
18-02-2011, 11:16 AM
Smith

Hart
Dickoh
Hanlon
Stevenson

Miller
McBride
Pallson
Rankin
Deeko

Nish

Tee hee ..... I think you'll find McBride is suspended ....... tee hee

18-02-2011, 11:44 AM
Smith

Hart
Dickoh
Hanlon
Stevenson

Miller
McBride
Pallson
Rankin
Deeko

Nish

Presumably a wind up but just in case you are serious God help us.