View Full Version : Beggars

14-02-2011, 09:56 PM
Guy sits outside Tesco Express on Leith Walk most days begging, some mornings I see him speaking on his mobile phone. Am I being uncharitable by refusing to give money to a beggar as he can clearly afford to own and use a mobile phone? Sure he smokes as well so why should I pay for his phone and fags?

Is this being unreasonable?

14-02-2011, 10:01 PM
Guy sits outside Tesco Express on Leith Walk most days begging, some mornings I see him speaking on his mobile phone. Am I being uncharitable by refusing to give money to a beggar as he can clearly afford to own and use a mobile phone? Sure he smokes as well so why should I pay for his phone and fags?

Depends. Is it an iPhone?

Twa Cairpets
14-02-2011, 10:01 PM

Nope

14-02-2011, 10:04 PM

Choosing not to give to beggars is never unreasonable but i think your being unfair complaining about him smoking, smoking and drinking are both habits that aren't easy to kick so when your in there situation i'd guess thats the wrong environment to try and kick a habit.

With the phone, he probably got it for next to nowt if not pinched it and i'd be surprised if he was toppin git up a lot as i'd guess his money will go towards fags and bevy (big assumption there i know) so could be for incoming calls only.

I never give to beggars though, i am just a miserable ******* though but nobody needs to justify why there not giving money away they've earned.

14-02-2011, 10:45 PM
Guy sits outside Tesco Express on Leith Walk most days begging, some mornings I see him speaking on his mobile phone. Am I being uncharitable by refusing to give money to a beggar as he can clearly afford to own and use a mobile phone? Is this being unreasonable?

No. Furthermore, you'd be doing him a favour by taking it off him, so that he appears more credible to other potential donors.

14-02-2011, 10:50 PM

Is this being unreasonable?NO!

14-02-2011, 11:30 PM

Just a thought but assuming he is homeless he obviously wouldn't have a landline and therefore it would be very difficult to get out of his current situation without a mobile phone. (I doubt this but...) He may have been talking to someone about potential work or accomodation.

The short answer to your question is no, I don't think you are being unreasonable. However, it may be unfair to judge.

hibbill2002
15-02-2011, 06:18 AM
If you want to know if he really is homeless, tell him a "knock knock" joke,
if, after you say "knock knock", he says "who's there?", he obviously is'nt homeless.

15-02-2011, 07:28 AM
I don't give to the homeless, no. I may be generalising here, but the majority of them are homeless for a reason, and i'm not willing to put my hard-earned cash towards a bottle of spirits.

15-02-2011, 07:44 AM
I don't give to the homeless, no. I may be generalising here, but the majority of them are homeless for a reason, and i'm not willing to put my hard-earned cash towards a bottle of spirits.

This always makes me laugh, it's like that song that was out a few years ago but if the guys a homeless alcoholic which is probably why he is out there in the first place (like you i'm generalising), what do you expect the guy to do with his money? ....save up the 20p's he gets for rent or a mortgage?

I imagine for these folk it's all about getting by from day to day and if getting a cheap bottle of cider to last them the day helps them do that then they'll see that as money well spent instead of getting food that'll wear off and leave them hungry again in a couple of hours.

15-02-2011, 07:57 AM
But for a bit of bad luck or a few bad decisions go us all.

15-02-2011, 08:25 AM
I have given to homeless people in the past. I also give money to charity. however I dont think you can judge all people the same. Next time you pass this guy stop and talk to him. It wont take you long to suss if he is a chancer. Remember we all need help sometime

15-02-2011, 08:45 AM
I never give these people the time of day as far as I can see they're all professional beggars, using the blanket to cover their decent trainers/clothes etc and the give away being the pretty clean fingernails and face.

I was sitting in the cab outside The Living Room last week, there's a guy sitting begging at the ATM on the corner, up strolled his mate, said a few things to each other, took a blanket out of his rucksack and swapped over, in other words time for a shift change. :confused:

15-02-2011, 08:50 AM
I give the odd fag to a homeless person or sometimes money but only give money when I'm drunk!

I never give anything to the Roma gypsies though. I don't give to organised beggars although I must admit I bought a fake rose from one of them the other night.

I think it all depends on the beggar, the amount of beggars you see that have been kicking around for years is unreal.

There's only one beggar that annoyed me enough via made me want to hit them. He asked if I had money when I was going to the cash machine, I said no and he called me a prick. Told him not to let the suit fool him cos I'd take him apart. The reason I didn't give him anything was because he had a box of cheesy pasta I noticed under the cover. Where was he going to cook that!

khib70
15-02-2011, 08:56 AM
Never have much contact with beggars, since I don't really frequent the Celtc end at home games

15-02-2011, 11:31 AM
Depends. Is it an iPhone?

Will have a look next time, if its an iPhone or any type of smartphone then that is it, no money from me!

He is always clean shaven and seems well dressed. Does begging and homelessness go hand in hand, do people beg that have a roof over their head?

15-02-2011, 11:44 AM

Wheres he plugging his mobile in to charge it?

If he had a proper job he could plug it in at work and have someone else paying to charge it....free electricity. I think that's Easty 1-0 Homeless Guy.

15-02-2011, 11:57 AM
I give the odd fag to a homeless person or sometimes money but only give money when I'm drunk!

I never give anything to the Roma gypsies though. I don't give to organised beggars although I must admit I bought a fake rose from one of them the other night.

I think it all depends on the beggar, the amount of beggars you see that have been kicking around for years is unreal.

There's only one beggar that annoyed me enough via made me want to hit them. He asked if I had money when I was going to the cash machine, I said no and he called me a prick. Told him not to let the suit fool him cos I'd take him apart. The reason I didn't give him anything was because he had a box of cheesy pasta I noticed under the cover. Where was he going to cook that!

Wheres he plugging his mobile in to charge it?
If he had a proper job he could plug it in at work and have someone else paying to charge it....free electricity. I think that's Easty 1-0 Homeless Guy.

A shelter/hostel for the homeless?

15-02-2011, 11:57 AM
Its like any other business transaction. You can choose whether to buy the 'feeling good about yourself' product or just walk by.

Also, I would imagine beggars have to put up with more rudeness and aggression from non-beggars than the other way round.

15-02-2011, 12:01 PM
A shelter/hostel for the homeless?

Perhaps so but I recall this guy sitting at cash machines when I was 16/17 when I was going up town, this happened around two years ago when I was 23 and I still see him kicking around.

Clearly not interested in working. In all that time I'm sure one of many charities or council could have got him a property. I don't believe he is homeless.

15-02-2011, 12:20 PM
Its like any other business transaction. You can choose whether to buy the 'feeling good about yourself' product or just walk by.

Also, I would imagine beggars have to put up with more rudeness and aggression from non-beggars than the other way round.

Completely agree, there is nothing wrong with saying 'Sorry, no', politeness doesn't cost you anything. Most of them are actually surprised when I answer them

15-02-2011, 12:26 PM
If a beggar asks if youve got any change and you only have, say, 34p in change in your pocket.....is it insulting to give them so little? Would they generally be happy with whatever they are given?

I do give depending on if I actually have any change on me but, seeing as I use my card to pay for almost everything nowadays, that isn't very often. Also, it depends of the individual doing the begging. I know there might be a long story behind how they came to be where they are but I'm just not going to help an alcoholic to buy more drink, it's not helping the person at all.

15-02-2011, 12:26 PM
Interesting question.

Not a direct answer but I was once provided with free food vouchers which entitled the bearer to a proper square meal at a basic but effective eatery.

Over the next month or so I happened to pass a number of beggars..all asking for 'spare change'. As I was effectively armed with free food I stopped on most occasions and offered them the voucher instead. Out of the maybe 7 or 8 encounters I had absolutely none of them wanted the voucher...only money.

This taught me a lesson as to the average need of the average beggar on Edinburghs streets...if life was so hard that begging was the only option then free food should be gratefully accepted, it wasn't so I could only assume that they had a high enough living standard where they eat with reasonable comfort and only begged to raise exta money. Since that experience I have never given a beggar a penny.

I also have witnessed the 'shift change' in the city centre and I know for a fact that some beggars are actually low level dealers....Ok I'm sure that's hardly a shock to most but again it hardly encourages you to deposit further funds.

Of course there is genuine need out there but I believe this is best addressed by the charities and authorities that are aligned to help that need...any money given to beggars would be much better given to them instead.

15-02-2011, 12:28 PM
There's a lot of sullen looking women in headscarves begging these days. Are they from Eastern Europe and is there a gangmaster sitting round the corner collecting the money off them at the end of the day? I suspect there is.

I don't give to beggars if they have dogs. Do they need them for protection, or just company? It seems unfair on the dog who must have no concept of the joys of "walkies".

15-02-2011, 12:33 PM
If a beggar asks if youve got any change and you only have, say, 34p in change in your pocket.....is it insulting to give them so little? Would they generally be happy with whatever they are given?

If I gave a beggar a pound and someone else came along later and gave him/her 34p I'd be raging :agree:

15-02-2011, 12:35 PM
There's a lot of sullen looking women in headscarves begging these days. Are they from Eastern Europe and is there a gangmaster sitting round the corner collecting the money off them at the end of the day? I suspect there is.
I don't give to beggars if they have dogs. Do they need them for protection, or just company? It seems unfair on the dog who must have no concept of the joys of walkies.
I used to think that too. Still do to a certain extent. But if they are homeless or down on their luck, it must be nice to have a companion thats not gonna steal/beat you up surely. And if you feel sorry for the dog, do what I did and buy it a box of dog biscuits. Thats what I did to a homeless guy in Perth sitting outside Tesco asking for money to feed the dog. The dog was delighted, the boy wasn't too chuffed though.

15-02-2011, 01:03 PM
I used to think that too. Still do to a certain extent. But if they are homeless or down on their luck, it must be nice to have a companion thats not gonna steal/beat you up surely. And if you feel sorry for the dog, do what I did and buy it a box of dog biscuits. Thats what I did to a homeless guy in Perth sitting outside Tesco asking for money to feed the dog. The dog was delighted, the boy wasn't too chuffed though.

I think that pretty much sums it up.

The beggars that annoy me are the junkie looking types that ask everyone if they have 50p for the bus/train/phone. It's even worse when they give you some daft story about how they need to go through to Glasgow to go to their Mum's funeral, would that be the same funeral that you were at 2 weeks ago...?

15-02-2011, 01:36 PM
I don't give to beggars if they have dogs.

Exactly. If they were genuinely hard up they would already have eaten the dog.

15-02-2011, 01:37 PM
I've recently noticed the massive increase in eastern European people selling the Big Issue outside nearly all the Scotmid stores, now I thought the Big Issue was for homeless people to sell, they get 50p per magazine. So what are these people doing over here in the first place if they aren't contributing to our ecconomy and are homeless/begging, surely we should be aiding our own poverty stricken people first, I'm all for charity but sometimes as the saying goes, charity begins at home.

15-02-2011, 01:59 PM
I've recently noticed the massive increase in eastern European people selling the Big Issue outside nearly all the Scotmid stores, now I thought the Big Issue was for homeless people to sell, they get 50p per magazine. So what are these people doing over here in the first place if they aren't contributing to our ecconomy and are homeless/begging, surely we should be aiding our own poverty stricken people first, I'm all for charity but sometimes as the saying goes, charity begins at home.

I wonder if David Cameron gives money to beggars. Charity. Big Society.

Actually, he probably has a strategy already worked out in case there is an embarrassing photo-op one day.

15-02-2011, 02:08 PM

Depending on where these people are from they may be entitled to live here. That might not make it any better like.

15-02-2011, 04:18 PM

What about straight homeless people?

15-02-2011, 04:31 PM
What about straight homeless people?

Well my homosexual mates don't like it but at least someone has a good night.

Sometime I let the straight ones tickle my balls for a while. well worth a pound.

15-02-2011, 04:35 PM
Depending on where these people are from they may be entitled to live here. That might not make it any better like.

This is the thin edge.

By eu law people can stay here but where is the line? You can stay and beg here oryour homeland or come hereand work.

Hillsidehibby
15-02-2011, 05:05 PM

Oh no............ another seven page racism accusation alert.........

15-02-2011, 05:06 PM
Well my homosexual mates don't like it but at least someone has a good night.

Sometime I let the straight ones tickle my balls for a while. well worth a pound.

15-02-2011, 05:26 PM
I used to walk through Dundee en route to my part time job at the bank when I was an undergrad.

My route would take me past the bus station, where the same guy every night would proactively approach people with the "'scuse me pal, ye goat oany money ah kin yaise fur the bus?". I walked past him as usual one night and he asked the same question, receiving the usual "no, sorry" from me (I didn't carry money going into work - no need really).

Now, I always wore headphones walking into work and this night was no different - it was always quiet enough that I could hear what was going on around me though. This one night, he walked after me and said "you always f***ing walk past me - you must have something" before grabbing my shoulder.

I bet his jaw regretted such an action the next morning.

Well aware some of them are indeed down on their luck, but the genuine ones for the most part will seek help, be it through shelters, programmes or institutions such as the Salvation Army. My fiance used to work in their shelter in Dundee and made the observation after a period that the ones who tend to beg on the street, are for the most part, junkies or alcoholics, looking for money to feed their habit. Hardly revelationary, but this so-called "guilt" thing which is attached to beggars is completely false for the most part.

15-02-2011, 06:11 PM
Oh no............ another seven page racism accusation alert.........

Nothing racist in my post, these people are clearly from Eastern European background and are here selling Big Issues in the street, my point being this shouldn't be allowed no matter where they are from. Surely any monies being handed out for unemployed should be given initially to the unemployed of this country, people who have payed tax into the system should benefit, not people who jump on a bus from foreign parts, arrive at the dole office and start claiming and or selling mags for a £1 a time.

If they come here they should be adding /contributing to our country not bleeding it dry, the Poles for instance all come here to do the jobs that are ignored( cleaning/kitchen porters etc ) or skilled jobs like joiners/brickies etc and contribute quite a lot to the ecconomy.

15-02-2011, 06:25 PM
Ive never gave anything to beggers and I never will.

15-02-2011, 06:45 PM
Nothing racist in my post, these people are clearly from Eastern European background and are here selling Big Issues in the street, my point being this shouldn't be allowed no matter where they are from. Surely any monies being handed out for unemployed should be given initially to the unemployed of this country, people who have payed tax into the system should benefit, not people who jump on a bus from foreign parts, arrive at the dole office and start claiming and or selling mags for a £1 a time.

If they come here they should be adding /contributing to our country not bleeding it dry, the Poles for instance all come here to do the jobs that are ignored( cleaning/kitchen porters etc ) or skilled jobs like joiners/brickies etc and contribute quite a lot to the ecconomy.

Welcome to the EU :cool2:

Regarding beggars, no problem with them really, well the ones who just sit their with a sign and mind their own business, the ones who touch you and ask for a quid for the phone/bus/bairns bus etc gets told to GTF. I mind being reeking walking along Rose Street (Must've been Derby Day so an early start) about 10pm, probably in the Roseburn at 9am that morning so totally bevvied by this time and got a homeless boy a sausage supper from the chippy, sat down and had a blether for a few mins, he was delighted, gave one sausage to the dug and wolfed the rest :greengrin
I also mind offering a couple of homeless on George St a few years back a 4 pack of Bud bottles (Was going to the Hogmanay St party so no glass allowed), to which all 3 of them refused 'Cheer but we don't drink pal'.

Beggars I can tolerate. These 'chuggars' to my *** box in though. These fk'ers are actually being paid to beg and harass people!!! If there was a group of 10 folk in a 10m stretch on Princess Street asking (harassing) every person walking back, they'd be huckled. Stick them in a daft vest though and its acceptable...

15-02-2011, 06:52 PM
Welcome to the EU :cool2:

Regarding beggars, no problem with them really, well the ones who just sit their with a sign and mind their own business, the ones who touch you and ask for a quid for the phone/bus/bairns bus etc gets told to GTF. I mind being reeking walking along Rose Street (Must've been Derby Day so an early start) about 10pm, probably in the Roseburn at 9am that morning so totally bevvied by this time and got a homeless boy a sausage supper from the chippy, sat down and had a blether for a few mins, he was delighted, gave one sausage to the dug and wolfed the rest :greengrin
I also mind offering a couple of homeless on George St a few years back a 4 pack of Bud bottles (Was going to the Hogmanay St party so no glass allowed), to which all 3 of them refused 'Cheer but we don't drink pal'.

Beggars I can tolerate. These 'chuggars' to my *** box in though. These fk'ers are actually being paid to beg and harass people!!! If there was a group of 10 folk in a 10m stretch on Princess Street asking (harassing) every person walking back, they'd be huckled. Stick them in a daft vest though and its acceptable...

They annoy me too. If they actually cared for the cause that they claim is so important then they'd work for free. I am not fond of bag packers or people that come round pubs asking for donations either but I am under the impression they are giving up their time to do it so I feel like I should let them off.

15-02-2011, 07:19 PM
There was actually 2 of them sitting outside Tesco this morning. One sitting outside the shop, the other on the pavement next to the road. It was like some sort of begging tag team, if one does not get you the other will.

p.s. agree the 'chuggars' are just as bad, would love to have a killer one liner that would stop them dead in their tracks. Any suggestions?

15-02-2011, 07:56 PM
Hold their hand ank ask them what they are doing later on.

15-02-2011, 08:05 PM
There was actually 2 of them sitting outside Tesco this morning. One sitting outside the shop, the other on the pavement next to the road. It was like some sort of begging tag team, if one does not get you the other will.

p.s. agree the 'chuggars' are just as bad, would love to have a killer one liner that would stop them dead in their tracks. Any suggestions?

It's not a one liner but if you have time and you're really wanting to mess with them then wait until they approach you but before they can say anything ask for directions to a made up shop, when they seem clueless and don't know just say nevermind cheers for your help and walk on.

15-02-2011, 09:46 PM

This one only works if its a children's charity. Remember being stopped by someone from, I think, the NSPCC and asked if I would like to contribute on a monthly basis. Told them I hated kids, their face was a picture.

15-02-2011, 09:49 PM

The easy way to solve that issue is to speak to them. If they're Scottish, give them some money, if they have an accent, tell them to GTF. Sorted.

15-02-2011, 10:13 PM
The easy way to solve that issue is to speak to them. If they're Scottish, give them some money, if they have an accent, tell them to GTF. Sorted.

Yep. Why not give them a solid kick to the shin as well:rolleyes:

15-02-2011, 10:26 PM

Is this post not about bogus beggars, it makes no difference where they come from, it's still principle of it.

hibbytam
15-02-2011, 11:26 PM

Because it's beyond an honest Scot to be scamming for money.
And in the reverse, because they're foreign, they can't possibly be worthy candidates for charity.

Nice to know.

16-02-2011, 05:39 AM
Is this post not about bogus beggars, it makes no difference where they come from, it's still principle of it.

You are correct but perhaps you should read your last post again,

I was merely offering a lighthearted solution to your dilemma. maybe I should have put a smiley in my post.

16-02-2011, 05:40 AM
Because it's beyond an honest Scot to be scamming for money.
And in the reverse, because they're foreign, they can't possibly be worthy candidates for charity.

Nice to know.

See my post above

16-02-2011, 06:25 AM
Good to see you back Arab.:greengrin

I've said the same thing as Arab but in A more articulate way shall we say. The Roma are here as organised groups and giving will only encourage more of them to come and do the same.

I wonder if the old Roma about 80 has died. He just used to stand with his hand out cos he couldn't sit down. He stood outside mcd's.

16-02-2011, 07:35 AM
I’ve had a few encounters with people who work with down-and-outs, for want of a better phrase to cover them all and through them people who are genuinely at the bottom of the slippery slope. A sweeping generalisation here, but I don’t think any of them are that impressed by the beggar situation!

I suspect the possibility of finding a genuine beggar on the streets of Edinburgh is less than 1,000:1.

I suspect the possibility of finding a genuine homeless person on the streets of Edinburgh looking for money is about the same.

The beggars on our streets work the same way as the Africans on the Costas but at least you get a dud watch from them!

I suspect you’ve guessed I wouldn’t consider giving these thieves any money and TBH it makes me quite cross seeing people that do (there's a wee turning of the tables!) as, if no one did give money these wouldn’t be soiling our streets.

16-02-2011, 07:51 AM
Begging in the Town is an organised scam. The people who do it are neither hungry nor homeless.

16-02-2011, 08:31 AM
I think a distinction needs to be drawn here between Big Issue sellers and "other" beggars.

The BI situation is a genuine attempt to get homeless off the streets. As such, it contributes to society and, IMO, is a superb initiative. If it has been infiltrated by those with ulterior motives, that is sad, but I am sure that they have (or are working on) their procedures to ensure that only genuine homeless (British and others!) get on the scheme.

16-02-2011, 08:54 AM
You are correct but perhaps you should read your last post again, I was merely pointing out the fact there seems to be a lot more E European people begging or selling the Big Issue, obviously it's more profitable to beg here rather than on the streets of Bucharest.

I was merely offering a lighthearted solution to your dilemma. maybe I should have put a smiley in my post. I didn't have a dilemma, I don't give to beggars as it's impossible to tell who is genuine ( apart from the few at the foot of the Pleasance and Bristo St area ) re the ones in George St etc.I prefer to donate to a homeless charity, at least I know it's going to the genuine needy.

16-02-2011, 09:01 AM
I think a distinction needs to be drawn here between Big Issue sellers and "other" beggars.

The BI situation is a genuine attempt to get homeless off the streets. As such, it contributes to society and, IMO, is a superb initiative. If it has been infiltrated by those with ulterior motives, that is sad, but I am sure that they have (or are working on) their procedures to ensure that only genuine homeless (British and others!) get on the scheme.

I agree with you about the BI, but I think it has been infiltrated. I have been told by a long-time seller in Stirling that the Romanians who now monopolise the selling in the town physically took his vendor's badge and have a gangmaster who buys all the available supply of the magazine in the town so that no-one else can sell. Interestingly, they've all disapperared during the worst of the winter for the second year in a row.

I think it's an abuse of the intentions of the BI, but part of me wonders what sort of life they had in their own country that makes the life they come to here preferrable.

16-02-2011, 09:24 AM
How much money do you reckon these scammers make in a shift?

16-02-2011, 09:52 AM
They annoy me too. If they actually cared for the cause that they claim is so important then they'd work for free. I am not fond of bag packers or people that come round pubs asking for donations either but I am under the impression they are giving up their time to do it so I feel like I should let them off.

Don't agree with the part in bold regarding all charity workers. I work for a charity and care greatly about the cause, unfortunately i also care about trivial things like keeping a roof over my head, paying my bills, clothing myself and eating. I get paid to work 35 hours a wekk but often end up doing well over 50 without taking a penny extra and i never claim expenses. Charities need paid workers it's as simple as that, a volunteer giving 10 hours a wekk can't do anywhere near the same volume of work as someone like me doing 35-50. By the way i should point out my job doesn't involve hassling people for money.

The 'chuggars' are an entirely different kettle of fish. They don't work directly for any charity. They are employed by numerous companies, the largest being 'Gift'. They work on a commision basis and for every name they get they get £6 or something like that. The same people can in 1 month work for Unicef, NSPCC, Oxfam etc etc etc. The charity will see only around 20-25% of the money raised. The worst offenders for this are some of the better kinown and more respected charities particluarly Oxfam where as little as 15% of any donation can actually go towards it's charitable purpose.

I'm completely aware that i have gone way off topic here but charities are facing really tough times at the moment and the actions of the big 'corporate' charities are making hard for small charities like the one i work for to survive. There use of 'Chuggars' has made people suspcious of given to charity and that has a knock on effect all the way down. I no longer have a job after 30th March this year because the Tories have cut the funding that pays my salary, essentially our Edinburgh office is without a full time staff member now. It's a shame because we do great work and have an excellent team of volunteers but the current climate means we will be lucky to see out the year.

16-02-2011, 10:15 AM
How much money do you reckon these scammers make in a shift?I remember seeing 2 scruffy looking guys having a quiet pint in some pub in Rose St counting out loads of change. Once they'd finished tallying up all the change went across the bar in exchange for notes, away HOME with £80 each for a 7 hour shift.
Never given any beggar a penny as 99.9% of them are anything but homeless and hungry.

16-02-2011, 10:28 AM
I am not giving them money just to spend on drink. That's for sure.

I need it to spend on drink.

16-02-2011, 10:29 AM
I agree with you about the BI, but I think it has been infiltrated. I have been told by a long-time seller in Stirling that the Romanians who now monopolise the selling in the town physically took his vendor's badge and have a gangmaster who buys all the available supply of the magazine in the town so that no-one else can sell. Interestingly, they've all disapperared during the worst of the winter for the second year in a row.

I think it's an abuse of the intentions of the BI, but part of me wonders what sort of life they had in their own country that makes the life they come to here preferrable.

Agreed on that. Also wondering what, if anything, the BI are doing about the apparent abuses.

16-02-2011, 10:42 AM

You don't have to be homeless to sell the Big Issue.

16-02-2011, 02:45 PM

I was always under the impression that the Big Issue was for homeless people to earn a few extra bob. :confused:

16-02-2011, 02:54 PM
I was always under the impression that the Big Issue was for homeless people to earn a few extra bob. :confused:

The terms they use are homeless or vulnerably housed. That would include hostels, poor short term accomodation etc. Seems fair enough to me to include that group.

16-02-2011, 03:05 PM
I do not find beggars a problem to be honest if they look genuine and I have a spare pound or two in my pocket I give it to them. Sadly there is a few scam artists out there that make us look at the whole scenario of begging as being a scam rather than seeing there are genuine cases who despite their problems are needing our help. The guys who have dogs with them when begging are usually to my experience 100% genuine and you have to think a guy down on his luck prepared to give his time and love to a pet he can ill afford to look after has to be a human being worth giving something to even if just a few kind words. Maybe I am just naive but my values tell me to try help out people less fortunate than I am.

16-02-2011, 05:16 PM
Once had a beggar on Rose Street say to me "any spare change mate", "nah sorry pal, I havent but if you are still about when Im on my way back I might have" he actually said to me "No I wont be about Im away to put a deposit on a flat" then he up and left :faf::faf:

16-02-2011, 05:20 PM

Not like you to be so lazy in your postings

The Big Issue exists to offer homeless and vulnerably housed people the opportunity to earn a legitimate income by selling a magazine to the general public. We believe in offering ‘a hand up, not a hand out’ and in enabling individuals to take control of their lives.

In order to become a Big Issue vendor an individual must prove that they are homeless or vulnerably housed, undergo an induction process and sign up to the code of conduct. Once they have done so they are allocated a fixed pitch and issued with 5 free copies of the magazine (or 10 in London). Once they have sold these magazines they can purchase further copies, which they buy for £1 and sell for £2, thereby making £1 per copy.

'Vulnerably housed' people tend to be people who live in shelters (Salvation Army especially) or homeless hostels. These people may have accommodation, but they are still, by definition, homeless.

16-02-2011, 06:06 PM
I'm sure that the foreigners, or anyone, can quite easily claim one of them is homeless, buy up a batch and distribute them to others to sell.

However, I'm sure if there are large groups it becomes easier than an individual to work the system..

EH6 Hibby
16-02-2011, 06:09 PM
Not like you to be so lazy in your postings

'Vulnerably housed' people tend to be people who live in shelters (Salvation Army especially) or homeless hostels. These people may have accommodation, but they are still, by definition, homeless.

How do you go about proving that you are homeless? :confused:

16-02-2011, 06:11 PM
Don't agree with the part in bold regarding all charity workers. I work for a charity and care greatly about the cause, unfortunately i also care about trivial things like keeping a roof over my head, paying my bills, clothing myself and eating. I get paid to work 35 hours a wekk but often end up doing well over 50 without taking a penny extra and i never claim expenses. Charities need paid workers it's as simple as that, a volunteer giving 10 hours a wekk can't do anywhere near the same volume of work as someone like me doing 35-50. By the way i should point out my job doesn't involve hassling people for money.

The 'chuggars' are an entirely different kettle of fish. They don't work directly for any charity. They are employed by numerous companies, the largest being 'Gift'. They work on a commision basis and for every name they get they get £6 or something like that. The same people can in 1 month work for Unicef, NSPCC, Oxfam etc etc etc. The charity will see only around 20-25% of the money raised. The worst offenders for this are some of the better kinown and more respected charities particluarly Oxfam where as little as 15% of any donation can actually go towards it's charitable purpose.

I'm completely aware that i have gone way off topic here but charities are facing really tough times at the moment and the actions of the big 'corporate' charities are making hard for small charities like the one i work for to survive. There use of 'Chuggars' has made people suspcious of given to charity and that has a knock on effect all the way down. I no longer have a job after 30th March this year because the Tories have cut the funding that pays my salary, essentially our Edinburgh office is without a full time staff member now. It's a shame because we do great work and have an excellent team of volunteers but the current climate means we will be lucky to see out the year.

I do appreciate that and I understand that in order for charities to be as efficient as possible they need to be run as professionally as possible. This obviously requires skilled staff who will ultimately need to be paid.

However, my comment was mainly directed towards roles that are essentially sales based. To me most "chuggars" look like students who are working part-time to fund uni or whatever and I just don't believe that they care that much. Obviously some will care more than others but I think the majorty of them do it for the cash they are getting, not because they particularly want to raise money for the charity.

16-02-2011, 06:16 PM
Don't have much sympathy for beggars in all honesty. I know some of them are good people, but most of them are people who've landed themselves in their position due to their own mistakes/wrongdoings. I've got no interest in funding someone's drug habit out of my own pocket.

There's hostels that are available for the homeless to stay in, so living on the street isn't the answer. Unfortunately, most of these people would take a bag of heroin over a roof over their head.

16-02-2011, 06:53 PM
How do you go about proving that you are homeless? :confused:

Good question.

Fairly sure an electoral role search or quick check of tax/benefits/bills (or lack thereof) might be used?

Don't know to be honest!

19-04-2011, 08:19 AM
I saw in the metro this morning there is now stricter regulation on "Chuggers". No longer allowed to "impede" people and they have to tell everyone that is willing to make a donation that they get paid for their work.

Edit: The article made reference to Princes Street but I don't know if the rules apply generally or just on Princes Street.

19-04-2011, 09:55 AM
I saw in the metro this morning there is now stricter regulation on "Chuggers". No longer allowed to "impede" people and they have to tell everyone that is willing to make a donation that they get paid for their work.

Edit: The article made reference to Princes Street but I don't know if the rules apply generally or just on Princes Street.

Can I just be the 1st to say that rosy cheeked students, dressed up in "quirky" outfits, hassling workers on their way about their daily business, would be amongst the first in front of the firing squad in my ideal revolution.

19-04-2011, 09:56 AM
Saw that on the BBC website yesterday. I'm very rarely in the town these days but folk I know who are in and out of Waverley say they are a total pain when they are rushing for a train.

19-04-2011, 11:04 AM
The guy selling the Big Issue outside the Beady Eye gig at the Corn Exchange last night was the same guy selling the Big Issue outside the Barrowlands when I was there a couple of weeks ago for The View.

Just saying.

19-04-2011, 12:12 PM
The guy selling the Big Issue outside the Beady Eye gig at the Corn Exchange last night was the same guy selling the Big Issue outside the Barrowlands when I was there a couple of weeks ago for The View.

Just saying.

Very entrepreneurial imo :greengrin

I'm pretty sure Big Issue sellers are basically self employed and buy x number of big issues at a discounted price and then have to sell a certain number(to cover the cost of buyer them) to make any money. I may be wrong though.

19-04-2011, 01:02 PM

Here's hoping that it does extend past Princes Street coz the UNICEF ones that hang about the Omni Centre do my head in. I'm running out of witty remarks and will probably resort to telling them to pee off. They don't like it either when you question the fact they are getting paid money to collect money for charity.

19-04-2011, 01:16 PM
This one only works if its a children's charity. Remember being stopped by someone from, I think, the NSPCC and asked if I would like to contribute on a monthly basis. Told them I hated kids, their face was a picture.

Brilliant :greengrin

19-04-2011, 01:28 PM
Could very well be a made up story but i've heard from a couple of people that there are a few beggars that are basically being controlled by underground gangs, drug dealers etc. and that all the money they collect in a 'shift' is given straight into the hands of these people and in return the beggars are given extremely basic accomodation and scraps of food to survive on. Don't know how true this could be as i dont imagine there would be a huge amount of money in this but it's something im not really prepared to risk, would rather donate money to a charity where i can more or less guarantee that my money will be going towards a good cause.

19-04-2011, 02:01 PM
Here's hoping that it does extend past Princes Street coz the UNICEF ones that hang about the Omni Centre do my head in. I'm running out of witty remarks and will probably resort to telling them to pee off. They don't like it either when you question the fact they are getting paid money to collect money for charity.

That practice should be banned. Who apart from the trusting poor oldies would give their bank details to someone with a clipboard
On the street. Surely a data privacy issue for
Starters and even if they are kosher someone running about with your bank details on a sheet of paper is just wrong

19-04-2011, 09:45 PM
That practice should be banned. Who apart from the trusting poor oldies would give their bank details to someone with a clipboard
Starters and even if they are kosher someone running about with your bank details on a sheet of paper is just wrong

Good point, it really wouldn't be hard to steal their clipboard either.

19-04-2011, 10:19 PM
Good point, it really wouldn't be hard to steal their clipboard either.

You've not seen them recently then. They don't go about with clipboards, they must think it makes them more inconspicuous. They then proceed to dance about in front of you asking how your day has been. I've no idea how they now take details from folk who want to give, perhaps a hand held device.
I know what kind of hand held device I'd like to use on them

19-04-2011, 10:21 PM

Any idea which charities do this sort of thing? Never heard of this practice till recently and like you it does concern me as being a bit risky.

20-04-2011, 12:48 PM
Just got approached by charity folk from WWF (no it wasn't Hulk Hogan or the Ultimate Warrior) by the Meadows. First thing the boy said was "we're not looking to set up a direct debit, just asking you to send a text".

Is this the new method then? Now that they've realised hounding old grannies for their bank details isn't getting them anywhere?

20-04-2011, 09:13 PM
Just got approached by charity folk from WWF (no it wasn't Hulk Hogan or the Ultimate Warrior) by the Meadows. First thing the boy said was "we're not looking to set up a direct debit, just asking you to send a text".

Is this the new method then? Now that they've realised hounding old grannies for their bank details isn't getting them anywhere?

Sounds like it, send a text to sign up then they text you all the time and get charded £2.50 a time or something.

20-04-2011, 09:29 PM
Any idea which charities do this sort of thing? Never heard of this practice till recently and like you it does concern me as being a bit risky.
Its been a while (a few years) since I allowed one to entertain me long enough to get to the point of direct debit. It was a cancer research organisation - but not Cancer Research UK or the usual suspects. But the guy did have a clipboard.
Even if its a hand-held device Id imagine its not too difficult to blag your way.

21-04-2011, 12:31 PM

The ones that have accosted me outside the Omni are Unicef and Oxfam.

25-04-2011, 08:57 AM
Today I got stopped by 3 different charity collectors in the street.
By the time I got to the 3rd one, I said to them, 'do you people think I'm MADE of excuses?'