View Full Version : Players that didnt quite make it...

Liams
14-02-2011, 10:37 PM
Right just wondering if we could make a team of Ex-Hibs Players that didnt quite make it at Hibs but you liked the look of..

so far ive thought of ...

GK -
RB -
CB - Martin Canning
CB -
LB -
RM -
CM -
CM - Fabian Yantorno
LM -
ST -
ST - Mickael Antoine-Curier

Please ADD

14-02-2011, 10:39 PM
Right just wondering if we could make a team of Ex-Hibs Players that didnt quite make it at Hibs but you liked the look of..

GK -
RB -
CB - Martin Canning
CB -
LB -
RM -
CM -
CM - Fabian Yantorno
LM -
ST -

Please ADD

GK - Maka

:devil: :hide: :greengrin

14-02-2011, 10:40 PM
GK - Maka

:devil: :hide: :greengrin

:hilarious :greengrin

Add Graeme Love .

14-02-2011, 10:43 PM
Thierry Gathuessi

14-02-2011, 10:46 PM
Enoch Showumni.

14-02-2011, 10:47 PM
Paddy Cregg

7Hero
14-02-2011, 10:48 PM
i never liked the look of antoine courier, so i would take him off the list, was useless at hibs.

if going by your original question of "you liked the look of"

i would stick in that fanny with dyed hair that scored a goal and started typing on a keyboard, i liked the look of him at one point in time..Moirais...thats it..

Liked the look of Kerr too, after 1 Game :-)

does he count ??

14-02-2011, 10:52 PM
Clayton donaldson could have made it at hibs given a bit of time, he was a much better player than Courier was anyway

14-02-2011, 10:53 PM
Jamie McCluskey

7Hero
14-02-2011, 10:54 PM
Grant Brebner

7Hero
14-02-2011, 10:54 PM
Mark McGraw

14-02-2011, 10:55 PM
AOB just needed a bit more time :agree:

:devil:

Makaveli
14-02-2011, 10:56 PM
Jay Shields

14-02-2011, 10:59 PM
Paul Dalglish

pepe
14-02-2011, 11:07 PM
GK- Maka
RB- Gathussie
CB- Humphrey Rudge
CB- Canning
LB- ?
RM- Morais
CM- Cregg
CM- Bamba (really thought this was his position)
LM- ? (god, we have struggled down the left)
ST- Donaldson
ST- Courier

Say what you like about this bunch, but none of them gave less than 100% for Hibs. When they played that is.

14-02-2011, 11:08 PM
Martin McIntosh.

Kevvy1875
14-02-2011, 11:09 PM
Steven Dobbie

Kevvy1875
14-02-2011, 11:09 PM
Omar Konde?

14-02-2011, 11:27 PM
Jay Shields, Enoch Showunmi

14-02-2011, 11:28 PM
Enoch Showumni.

aah beat me to it:greengrin

14-02-2011, 11:29 PM
Alan Gow

Perspective
14-02-2011, 11:32 PM
Recently Maka, Donaldson and (tin hat on) Chisholm.

McKenzie
14-02-2011, 11:34 PM
does Lewis Stevenson count?

14-02-2011, 11:36 PM
does Lewis Stevenson count?

Eh, MoM in a cup final, and got a winners medal. Not in my opinion.

McKenzie
14-02-2011, 11:41 PM
Eh, MoM in a cup final, and got a winners medal. Not in my opinion.
not really progressed since then though, and looks to be on his way out

14-02-2011, 11:42 PM
HKT
MAC
AOB
Morais
Canning

14-02-2011, 11:47 PM
Eh, MoM in a cup final, and got a winners medal. Not in my opinion.Still living on the back of that,so yes imho or soon to be

El Gubbz
14-02-2011, 11:49 PM
Enoch Showumni.
Thomas Sowumni

Makaveli
14-02-2011, 11:50 PM
Alex Marinkov. Debuted on the same day as a certain Mr Sauzee IIRC.

Also Rab Shannon, Tonio Murray, Earl Jean :greengrin

14-02-2011, 11:51 PM

Why did you need to ask then :greengrin (edit: maybe cos he's not yet ex?)

And the OP wasn't about progression was it. If I'd played for the Hibees in a winning cup final team I'd think I'd done enough to have "made it" in the context of the question.

14-02-2011, 11:51 PM
Thomas Sowumni

Did he not play for Falkirk? :dunno:

14-02-2011, 11:54 PM
:agree: And Leeds.

14-02-2011, 11:58 PM
Paul Lovering and Jim Blair(never did like the look of him though)

15-02-2011, 12:00 AM

English born Nigerian striker..

15-02-2011, 12:03 AM
Allan Smart

jackhfc
15-02-2011, 12:10 AM
Alan O'brien, Steven Pinau, Yantorno, Zerabi, Grounds

tanfield
15-02-2011, 12:12 AM
Paul tosh
Lee power
Jamie mcquilken

Wait a mo. These guys were just gash anyway

15-02-2011, 12:16 AM
So many folk not getting the point and once again it going down the dull Sowumni way. BOOO NETTERS BOOO!

I'd have Fabrice Henry & Paul Lovering on my list, maybe Paul Hartley too :wink:

15-02-2011, 12:47 AM
Paul Hartley :fuming:

Darren Dods ? :confused: played 60 odd games for Hibs

Donaldson

Brebner played 123 games but was always decent - Thornhill reminds me of him now.

Stuart Lovell got better the longer he stayed then he was booted out due to the signing of De La Cruz and went onto win the cup for Livi.

Paul Wright - class forward who always scored against us.

15-02-2011, 12:53 AM
So many folk not getting the point and once again it going down the dull Sowumni way. BOOO NETTERS BOOO!

I'd have Fabrice Henry & Paul Lovering on my list, maybe Paul Hartley too :wink:

:agree: I was going to mention Henry.
First time I saw him I thought we had a player.
He then managed to become totally anonymous in the remainder of the games he played for us - go figure.

Lyndon Andrews kinda looked the part too, but it didn't happen for him either.

On the other side of the coin, my first thoughts on Thicot and De La Cruz were "oh dear".

Riordans Boots
15-02-2011, 01:01 AM
Jay Shields

And Sam Morrow :agree:

15-02-2011, 01:26 AM
Billy Kirkwood, his pal Stuart Beedie, Andy Watson and arguably Tam McManus

15-02-2011, 02:02 AM
:agree: I was going to mention Henry.
First time I saw him I thought we had a player.
He then managed to become totally anonymous in the remainder of the games he played for us - go figure.

Lyndon Andrews kinda looked the part too, but it didn't happen for him either.

On the other side of the coin, my first thoughts on Thicot and De La Cruz were "oh dear".

He didn't play that many for us and seemed to either come off at half time or be brought on. Wore his collar up like Cantona :aok:

15-02-2011, 03:38 AM
Lillian Martin Zambarnardi (sp)

TrickyNicky
15-02-2011, 04:38 AM

I suppose after MOM in a winning cup final team, the natural progression would be to take over the duties once held by Mother Theresa!

15-02-2011, 08:08 AM
There was a nice guy played CH in the mid to late 70s who left us and IIRC went to Canada, with his Canadian girlfriend to become a policeman, the Mounties, over there. Canny mind his name though.

Kevin Harper made it then lost it! (IMO)

15-02-2011, 08:23 AM
Stevie crawford. Barry lavety, chic charnley, jimmy boco, Marc libbra. Tony Rougier. On the flipside, we looked like we had a player in the shape of Rocastle then he left and barely heard of him again. Would didier agathe count?

15-02-2011, 08:25 AM
Goalkeepers Robin Rae and Jason Gardiner

15-02-2011, 08:26 AM
Andy dow? Dave beaumont?

15-02-2011, 09:04 AM
Paul Lovering :agree:

dont know why he didnt have a longer spell at hibs.

i thought he was brilliant when we were in the 1st division.... never stopped running.

how about Edwin De Graaf??

Then you have the Tynie Heros, Andy Dow & Brian Kerr.

al bundy
15-02-2011, 09:25 AM
david nicholls
justin skinner

15-02-2011, 09:44 AM

GK -
RB -
CB - Martin Canning
CB -
LB -
RM -
CM -
CM - Fabian Yantorno
LM -
ST -

Please ADD

Grzegorz
Szamotulski

Jonatan Johansson

Dénes Rósa

Abderaouf Zarabi

Damon Gray

Brian Kerr

Fabián Yantorno

HibSem
15-02-2011, 09:47 AM
Kevin Nicol

15-02-2011, 10:04 AM
Goalkeepers Robin Rae and Jason Gardiner

Aye. Robin Rae became a prolific striker in the juniors.

Also Chris Reid on the keeper front.

And some good young hopes who never made it with us;

Coco McDonald
Graham Donald

15-02-2011, 10:06 AM
Jim Scott and Graham Fyffe.:rolleyes: Joe Ward.

15-02-2011, 10:13 AM
Aye. Robin Rae became a prolific striker in the juniors.

Also Chris Reid on the keeper front.

And some good young hopes who never made it with us;

Coco McDonald
Graham Donald

Was he not quite a prolific forward until Miller put him to right back for some reason?

I seem to remember Paul Riley being in and around the hibs squad until he was relatively old without ever seeming to play, no idea if he was any good or not though

15-02-2011, 10:13 AM
Jim Scott

:shocked:

15-02-2011, 10:25 AM
Billy Findlay, IIRC he got a 5 year contract which was the longest Hibs had ever given to one of their own youngsters at that time. He never looked all that good a player to me and never really made the grade.

15-02-2011, 10:48 AM
Was he not quite a prolific forward until Miller put him to right back for some reason?

I seem to remember Paul Riley being in and around the hibs squad until he was relatively old without ever seeming to play, no idea if he was any good or not though

Graham Donald scored a few in his first few games when he was only 17 or something and big things were expected of him. It just never happened though. Paul Riley only played a handful of times and think he was released when he was about 20. Went on to play for a few lower league teams - with most of his games being played at Brechin I think.

15-02-2011, 10:55 AM
Was the boy Dempsey not meant to be a decent promising centre half then got injured.

Has anyone mentioned Mark McGraw?

ME!!! I won the Hibs Kids Skills competition when I was 14, infront of about 7k fans, last day of the season, we beat Partick Thistle 1-0. I showed promise there but never got the call about a contract!!

PETRIE!!! :grr::grr::grr:

15-02-2011, 10:59 AM
I thought Eduardo Hurtado would be the biz.........But unfortunately he played more like Nelly Furtado.

15-02-2011, 11:36 AM
Enoch Showumni.

TAM! :devil:

We had a centre-forward back int the seventies who promised a lot but never really 'made it' - a wee morbidly obese guy called Harper.

He was going to win us the league,according to Eddie Turnbull.

15-02-2011, 11:50 AM
Peter Guggi.

Kevin Harper, Now there was a lad with the world at his feet :boo hoo:

Bob Box Fish
15-02-2011, 11:57 AM
Liam Miller
That defender Lillian Martin?
Lyndon andrews

15-02-2011, 12:11 PM
Denes Rosa?

heidtheba
15-02-2011, 12:12 PM
Tony Rougier, any of Jim Dufffy's signings cos they must have had more to them than they showed,
Chic Charnley because his first half of the season was so much better than the rest of his year with us.

15-02-2011, 12:18 PM

TAM! SOWUMNI! :grr:

15-02-2011, 12:24 PM
Wee Tam McManus should've made it.

15-02-2011, 12:28 PM

15-02-2011, 12:29 PM
I remember thinking Zarabi looked alright during his debut against Gretna I think it was haha

15-02-2011, 12:30 PM
I remember thinking Zarabi looked alright during his debut against Gretna I think it was haha

Jesus no..I can honestly say he is the worst player i have EVER seen in my time at Easter rd.Treated the ball like a hot tattie, A truly woeful woeful player.

Franck is God
15-02-2011, 12:36 PM
I decided to stick with our own promising youngsters that showed potential but for one reason or another just didn't come through.

Jason Gardiner

Allan Dempsie---Mark Dempsie---Johnathan Baillie---Alan Reid

Billy Findlay--Jamie McCluskey

Tam McManus---Lee Bailey---Damon Gray---Graham Donald

Sorry about Alan Reid, was struggling to think of a promising left back that hasn't ended up doing quite well.

Franck is God
15-02-2011, 12:40 PM

I rated McManus as a better all round striker than Miller at the time and was happy to get £2m for KM with Tam coming through.

Always thought he had as much potential as Kenny so it must have been attitude that worked against him as KM has certainly made the most of all the talent he had.

15-02-2011, 12:55 PM
Forgot about Lee Bailey, saw him in the BP Cup Final at ER against Dundee Utd who had Dailly and Duncan Ferguson playing for them and Bailey had a great game. Like many Hibs youngsters unfortunately he was too wee!

15-02-2011, 12:58 PM
Hibs had a left-winger in the 70s called Willie Paterson who famously ran internationalist and hard man Danny McGrain ragged in a game at ER. He was a sensation for a short while.

Stats show he played 11 games and scored 2 goals then off to Falkirk to score 3 in 11 games. These modest achievements took place between 1975 and 1980 so there must have been an injury somewhere along the line.

15-02-2011, 01:09 PM
Freddie Arpinion. Looked a player but could never stay fit for more than 5 minutes at a time.

Jonathan Baillie. Highly rated as a youngster, good debut in a win v Celtic then injury forced him to retire.

I'd argue that Dean Shiels was never quite as good for us as he could have been given his potential although he remained a fans favourite despite so many anonymous performances. Tin hat well and truly on here though.

15-02-2011, 01:35 PM
Tony Rougier, any of Jim Dufffy's signings cos they must have had more to them than they showed,
Chic Charnley because his first half of the season was so much better than the rest of his year with us.

Naw..Duffy was just an idiot

15-02-2011, 01:36 PM
TAM! SOWUMNI! :grr:

hibbymark
15-02-2011, 01:53 PM
Paul Hartley

iainm
15-02-2011, 02:27 PM
There was a nice guy played CH in the mid to late 70s who left us and IIRC went to Canada, with his Canadian girlfriend to become a policeman, the Mounties, over there. Canny mind his name though.

Was that maybe Derek Spalding?

Other players:-

Willie Jamieson

Marc Libbra

Stew the Hibee
15-02-2011, 02:46 PM
Torben Joneleit

15-02-2011, 02:52 PM
Is this a thread about gash players or players who you liked the look of but didn't quite make it?

If it's the latter then I never liked the look of Findley, Farrell or Lennon.

Love, Donald and more recently Ross Campbell caught my eye.

The only other guy who I thought was going to be a hit was big Enoch Showumni at Palmerston when we beat QOS in the cup. Looked the business that day.

15-02-2011, 02:56 PM
Graham (Graeme?) Donald definitely. I remember him coming off the bench and scoring a few important goals, including a winner against the sheep IIRC.

I thought Scott Bannerman could have made it too - although he was obviously hampered by the fattytomaty gene in his family. :greengrin

15-02-2011, 02:56 PM
Alan O'brien, Steven Pinau, Yantorno, Zerabi, Grounds

You liked the look of Zarabi :confused: He actually would have made AOB look magic!

15-02-2011, 02:59 PM
Zarabi -

Mixu's worst signing I think :greengrin

15-02-2011, 03:12 PM
Steven Tweed looked like he was going to solve all our centre half problems for years to come when he broke through in the Hibs team of the mid-90s - then he went and naffed off to Greece on a Bosman - presumably to develop his suntan along with Craig Brewster.

Brewster went from strength to strength and came back looking if anything a more accomplished player - Tweedy didn't :rolleyes:

15-02-2011, 03:34 PM
Steven Tweed looked like he was going to solve all our centre half problems for years to come when he broke through in the Hibs team of the mid-90s - then he went and naffed off to Greece on a Bosman - presumably to develop his suntan along with Craig Brewster.

Brewster went from strength to strength and came back looking if anything a more accomplished player - Tweedy didn't :rolleyes:

Think you'll find Tweed probably made quite a few bob from the game. He played in Japan for a few years and was he not at Stoke for a while?

15-02-2011, 03:38 PM
Think you'll find Tweed probably made quite a few bob from the game. He played in Japan for a few years and was he not at Stoke for a while?

Really??? Good for him then - still wish he'd stayed at the Hibs at the time though.

15-02-2011, 03:40 PM
Enoch Showunmi has never played for Hibs.

15-02-2011, 03:45 PM
Really??? Good for him then - still wish he'd stayed at the Hibs at the time though.

Just looked up his record and he's been around a bit. Plenty cash in the bank I'd have thought ;

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steven_Tweed

15-02-2011, 03:45 PM

Thought he scored in the cup against QoS?

Then went to Falkirk where he seemed to kick on a bit.

Would probably take him back at Hibs. :agree:

15-02-2011, 04:07 PM

Wasn't that great, granted, but a bit harsh to say he "never played". A cup-tie winning goal's a cup-tie winning goal. Fact.

15-02-2011, 04:07 PM
Pat Carrol. Mid Seventies. Whatever happened to him?

al bundy
15-02-2011, 04:10 PM
jay shields
paul tosh
paul lovering

tanfield
15-02-2011, 04:13 PM
Thought paul lovering was excellent in our div 1 season. That was his level though.

Enoch did not play for hibs. Different showunmi

15-02-2011, 04:17 PM
Thought paul lovering was excellent in our div 1 season. That was his level though.

How many other pairs of brothers also played for us? I can only think of Gerry and Joe Baker; Jim and Alex Scott; and the Miller boys under Lexo.

15-02-2011, 04:18 PM
How many other pairs of brothers also played for us? I can only think of Gerry and Joe Baker; Jim and Alex Scott; and the Miller boys under Lexo.
The Showumniis:greengrin

15-02-2011, 04:19 PM
Jim Scott and Graham Fyffe.:rolleyes: Joe Ward.

Ally Scott, you mean? Jim did OK for us under Stein and Shankly.

15-02-2011, 04:20 PM

You're doing it deliberately. I know. :greengrin

15-02-2011, 04:22 PM
Is this a thread about gash players or players who you liked the look of but didn't quite make it?

If it's the latter then I never liked the look of Findley, Farrell or Lennon.

Love, Donald and more recently Ross Campbell caught my eye.

The only other guy who I thought was going to be a hit was big Enoch Showumni at Palmerston when we beat QOS in the cup. Looked the business that day.

You're just making a mockery of a poor old man now, you bad thing! :devil:

15-02-2011, 04:31 PM
Torben Joneleit

The Monegasque Magician? :greengrin

15-02-2011, 04:31 PM
Ally Scott, you mean? Jim did OK for us under Stein and Shankly.

Slip of the mind, yes Ally Scott.:greengrin Mike Franks was another, and that keeper who played in the friendly at Preston?:confused:

15-02-2011, 04:39 PM
Morten Hyldegard.......the next Schmeichal.............

15-02-2011, 04:46 PM

O my... dont think this will ever get old! :greengrin

15-02-2011, 04:48 PM
Ken Allison

Colin Grant

Davy Hogg

Johnny Frye

Willie Murray

Dennis Nelson

Malcolm Bogie

15-02-2011, 04:49 PM
Stevie Raynes and Paul McGovern.

15-02-2011, 04:56 PM
Enoch did not play for hibs. Different showunmiAye he did. The Showunmi you're thinking of is his brother Tam, who had a brief spell at Falkirk.

15-02-2011, 04:59 PM
Aye he did. The Showunmi you're thinking of is his brother Tam, who had a brief spell at Falkirk.

Think they're half-brothers, like Gerry (American) and Joe (English) Baker.

15-02-2011, 05:03 PM
Aye he did. The Showunmi you're thinking of is his brother Tam, who had a brief spell at Falkirk.

:agree: Just like Jackie and Bobby Charlton. FFS you'd think people would know this by now?:confused:

15-02-2011, 05:25 PM
dont think you can count the miller boys as played for us[took a wage yes but played no] Murder with a capital M :greengrin

15-02-2011, 05:27 PM
Jay Shields was a big disappointment for me. Thought he looked the part in his first few appearances.

15-02-2011, 05:29 PM
Morten Hyldegard.......the next Schmeichal.............
played in a pre season against sunderland i think[what a size of a guy] never really got much of a chance to be fair [ looked pretty decent in the pre season game but id had a few shandies tbh:greengrin

15-02-2011, 05:32 PM
Slip of the mind, yes Ally Scott.:greengrin Mike Franks was another, and that keeper who played in the friendly at Preston?:confused:

Easily done, mate.

Believe it or not, there are quite a few people who get confused between Enoch Showunmi and his close namesake Thomas Sowunmi.

Of course no one with any intelligence would make that mistake once it had been pointed out to them.

Unless they were being deliberately irritating... :devil:

15-02-2011, 05:33 PM
Easily done, mate.

Believe it or not, there are quite a few people who get confused between Enoch Showunmi and his close namesake Thomas Sowunmi.

Of course no one with any intelligence would make that mistake once it had been pointed out to them.

15-02-2011, 05:36 PM
Easily done, mate.

Never heard of either of them.

15-02-2011, 05:52 PM
GK - Chris Reid
RB - Lillian Martin
CB - Martin Mcintosh
CB - Yannick Zambernardi
LB Calum Milne
RM -Billy Findlay
CM - Peter Guggi
CM - Freddie Arpinon
LM - Mark Mcgraw
ST - Paul Wright
ST - Barry Lavety

15-02-2011, 05:57 PM
Remember Paul Wright signing from QPR as a young laddie delighted ...Saw his debut and he scored a screamer .... think we sold him on for Keith Keith ... wouldve loved to have seen the two playing together with Darren Jackson playing of them

15-02-2011, 06:02 PM
Ken Allison

Colin Grant

Davy Hogg

Johnny Frye

Willie Murray

Dennis Nelson

Malcolm Bogie

Now there's some names to conjur with :greengrin :agree:
Everyone of them had the potential as youngsters to be top class players

Allison,Grant and Nelson scored goals but generally flattered to deceive
John Frye I always felt "suffered " like Jim Souness and John Munro through being at ER at the same time as Gordon Smith - did well for St Mirren.
Malcolm " have ball will travel" Bogie was the subject of one of the best newspaper lines " .....Bogie's control of the ball at pace was such that on many an occasion if they had opened the Dunbar end gate he would have run right out still with the ball"
Remember seeing him "weaving his magic" for S & N in the old "Welfare League"

Thanks for that :thumbsup:

15-02-2011, 06:16 PM
Can remember when we brought in Paul Wright from Dundee. I was absolutely delighted about that. Real shame that we couldn't have held onto Keith Wright at the same time, who'd had a good season for us all things considered.

Went on to do alright for Aberdeen and Kilmarnock.

15-02-2011, 06:17 PM

Yeah, that lad Tam had some appetite on him as well, he was always Hungary.

15-02-2011, 07:20 PM
Can remember when we brought in Paul Wright from Dundee. I was absolutely delighted about that. Real shame that we couldn't have held onto Keith Wright at the same time, who'd had a good season for us all things considered.

Went on to do alright for Aberdeen and Kilmarnock.

(I'm gonnae regret this....)

We didn't sign Paul Wright from Dundee.

We signed KEITH Wright from Dundee.

PAUL Wright came to us from QPR. Moved on to St Johnstone, then Killie. he was at Aberdeen before he was at QPR.

Poor lad ended up at Larkhall Thistle, where he played no games and (unsurprisingly) scored no goals, giving himself a 100% scoring record (or possibly a 0% scoring record, depending on how you want to look at it.)

He was also quite ugly.

http://www.killiefc.com/DoYouRemember/PaulWright.htm

15-02-2011, 07:24 PM
Easily done, mate.

FFS, enoch is enoch! :wink:

15-02-2011, 07:26 PM
FFS, enoch is enoch! :wink:

And Thomas is Thomas. And he's Hungarian. :devil:

paulhfc88
15-02-2011, 07:33 PM
Craig James!

15-02-2011, 07:37 PM

... funny, I always thought Thomas's brother was Eduardo as they're both Tanks.

15-02-2011, 07:50 PM

PAUL Wright came to us from QPR. Moved on to St Johnstone, then Killie. he was at Aberdeen before he was at QPR.

Poor lad ended up at Larkhall Thistle, where he played no games and (unsurprisingly) scored no goals, giving himself a 100% scoring record (or possibly a 0% scoring record, depending on how you want to look at it.)

He was also quite ugly.

Jeez, that's a wright eye-opener. I didn't think any of us knew that - including the poster you replied to :wink:

Thnaks for putting us all straight on that one.

Can you now nail the mystery of the Showunmi - or is that Sowunmi - brothers? I wish the papers would spell his name right :wink:

15-02-2011, 10:44 PM
Maka. :wink:

15-02-2011, 11:45 PM

(ahem) .... FFS, enough is enough :wink: (enoch is enoch)

16-02-2011, 12:11 AM

He was also quite ugly.

Are you sure about this?

I remember the press conference to announce his signing when he was flanked by then manager Willie Miller and Chairman Dougie Donnelly.

16-02-2011, 03:55 AM
Are you sure about this?

I remember the press conference to announce his signing when he was flanked by then manager Willie Miller and Chairman Dougie Donnelly.

And we've not had many better right backs at the club since his son, also Willie, left (to become a gardener, I believe). Only other manager/player combination we had from a single family that I can think of was Jock Stein and his son Colin, but there may be more.

16-02-2011, 06:42 AM
Are you sure about this?

It was exciting times. The following season we signed Chris Jackson and they formed a JAW partnership.

Then the following season John O'Neil and some wee winger indirectly from chelsea nicknamed mars bar arrived that gave us real attacking zonal threat...

It was quite an exciting team built by Willie Miller despite having to shaft his assistant Kevin McCloud.

16-02-2011, 10:01 AM
Then the following season John O'Neil and some wee winger indirectly from chelsea nicknamed mars bar arrived that gave us real attacking zonal threat...

:agree: Ah, the boy Gary McAlister? I thought he was called Wispa though :confused:

WellingtonHibby
16-02-2011, 10:32 AM
Whatever happened to Jay Shields? He was really wee but completely ferocious! I remember him playing fullback against one of the old firm and absolutely savaging anyone who had the temerity to have the ball in his vicinity. I always felt sorry for him, that his height counted against him.

16-02-2011, 10:44 AM
Ken Allison

Colin Grant

Davy Hogg

Johnny Frye

Willie Murray

Dennis Nelson

Malcolm Bogie

Also from that era, Morris Stevenson, Johnny Grant ( rw ) Des Fox.

16-02-2011, 10:57 AM
David Fellinger
Michael Renwick
Greg Miller :wink:

Still think we under used Kevin Nicol too and his career never really took off after he left us...shame was a good prospect when we signed him :agree:

16-02-2011, 11:04 AM
It was exciting times. The following season we signed Chris Jackson and they formed a JAW partnership.

It was quite an exciting team built by Willie Miller despite having to shaft his assistant Kevin McCloud.

Sounds as bad as when our manager Patrick Duffy signed Chic Young to play in the middle of the park, even though he was a bit past it at that stage, and paid 400k for Joan Crawford, then added Paddy Power to the line up, you'd have put money on him to do well too...

16-02-2011, 11:51 AM
Sounds as bad as when our manager Patrick Duffy signed Chic Young to play in the middle of the park, even though he was a bit past it at that stage, and paid 400k for Joan Crawford, then added Paddy Power to the line up, you'd have put money on him to do well too...

You could throw Pauline Tosh in the mix.

sam armstrong
16-02-2011, 12:34 PM
Malcolm is a member of this board!

Now there's some names to conjur with :greengrin :agree:
Everyone of them had the potential as youngsters to be top class players

Allison,Grant and Nelson scored goals but generally flattered to deceive
John Frye I always felt "suffered " like Jim Souness and John Munro through being at ER at the same time as Gordon Smith - did well for St Mirren.
Malcolm " have ball will travel" Bogie was the subject of one of the best newspaper lines " .....Bogie's control of the ball at pace was such that on many an occasion if they had opened the Dunbar end gate he would have run right out still with the ball"
Remember seeing him "weaving his magic" for S & N in the old "Welfare League"

Thanks for that :thumbsup:

16-02-2011, 12:37 PM
Whatever happened to Jay Shields? He was really wee but completely ferocious! I remember him playing fullback against one of the old firm and absolutely savaging anyone who had the temerity to have the ball in his vicinity. I always felt sorry for him, that his height counted against him.

Now at Doncaster Rovers.

16-02-2011, 01:08 PM
Nice to see Enoch Showunmi on the scoresheet for Tranmere last night, real shame that he never set the heather alight during his short spell here.

Exiled Hibby
16-02-2011, 04:24 PM
Ken Allison

Colin Grant

Davy Hogg

Johnny Frye

Willie Murray

Dennis Nelson

Malcolm Bogie colin grant - alive and well and living in Ellon. met him a few times through local golf. still speaks fondly of his time at easter road. I remember him scoring winner in East Germany against Lokomotiv Leipzig in the Fairs cup around 1968-ish (at least I think I do !)

16-02-2011, 05:06 PM
Also from that era, Morris Stevenson, Johnny Grant ( rw ) Des Fox.

I'd forgotten about Johnny Grant-I remember he destroyed Falkirk at Brockville one New Year-he was smaller than the corner flag.

Fox scored a great goal at Tynie-surprised he didn't do more in the game.

A real disappointment was John Brogan who was a great goal scorer everywhere but us.

16-02-2011, 10:51 PM
Scott Bannerman had to be one of the ****test players we ever had....im he even got a medal when we won the first division. Theres a great clip of him getting his medal and Yogi saying "How did you get one"

16-02-2011, 10:55 PM
Nice to see Enoch Showunmi on the scoresheet for Tranmere last night, real shame that he never set the heather alight during his short spell here.

:agree: He showed promise up at Palmerston with that goal against Queen of the South but never really got going after that. Shame.

paulhfc88
17-02-2011, 01:22 AM
Am I missing something here?

Enoch Showunmi NEVER played for hibs!

Thomas Sowunmi was the one that played for hibs, scoring in the scottish cup game against QOS!

another player that never made it, Ross Campbell, scored for Forfar on tuesday night1

joebakerforever
17-02-2011, 01:42 AM
One that I remember having high hopes for was Pat Carroll who made his debut for us when aged c. 16/17 in the mid 70's.

I recall that just before he joined us he was a stand out in midfield for a Scottish Schoolboys team that beat their English counterparts at Wembley in a match that was televised live on a Saturday afternoon.

All the pundits were raving about his performance (including Jackie Charlton iirc).

Unfortunately when he made his first team debut he appeared to take stage fright, though he we was not helped by a vociferous mob of morons on the home terracing slagging him off, including catcalls that he needed his nappy changed :fuming:

IMO that destroyed any self confidence he had and he eventually moved on to Raith and then Falkirk.

17-02-2011, 02:02 AM
Damon Gray

17-02-2011, 02:08 AM
Roland Edge....

Just kidding :greengrin

17-02-2011, 02:31 AM
Now at Doncaster Rovers.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jay_Shields

This says otherwise?

17-02-2011, 02:37 AM

This says otherwise?

Whoooosh:greengrin

17-02-2011, 03:11 AM

Thomas Sowunmi was the one that played for hibs, scoring in the scottish cup game against QOS!

another player that never made it, Ross Campbell, scored for Forfar on tuesday night1

No, that was Kevin Campbell that used to play for us and scored for Forfar, Ross Campbell was the Arsenal striker who played up front with Ian Wright and moved to Forest... :agree::wink:

WellingtonHibby
17-02-2011, 05:10 AM
No, that was Kevin Campbell that used to play for us and scored for Forfar, Ross Campbell was the Arsenal striker who played up front with Ian Wright and moved to Forest... :agree::wink:

hang on...SOL campbell used to play for us...Big lad, scored the goal that put us in Europe under Mowbray. Now his legs have gone he's moved back into the Centre Half role at Newcastle....:na na:

17-02-2011, 07:58 AM
I thought Damon Gray and Sean Lynch would make the first eleven under Collins; Damon scoring a goal a game in the reserves and u19s and Lynch looked good in the mythical matty jack role. Never happened for either of them.

17-02-2011, 09:57 AM

This says otherwise?

Speedway was referring to Dene Shields, who went from Hibs to Falkirk with his brother Dean. One of them is now at Spartans. Neither of them played in the same Falkirk team as Tam Showumni.

17-02-2011, 10:18 AM

Pretty sure Enoch Showumni played for us around the same time that Scott Dobie was here.:confused::agree:

The Big No.9
17-02-2011, 10:20 AM
Barry Pendervillie a right back we had on loan from coventry and the french wonderkid Hakim Sar Tesmurey who spent more time in Busters/Massa getting smashed.

17-02-2011, 11:00 AM
hang on...SOL campbell used to play for us...Big lad, scored the goal that put us in Europe under Mowbray. Now his legs have gone he's moved back into the Centre Half role at Newcastle....:na na:

I'm still shocked that Big Eck got Willie Ormand out of retirement to play at right back, and who'd have thought he'd go on to play for Austria, and then sign Penelope Cruz to challange him for the right wing back role...

Danny Murphy was a great player for us at left back too :agree:

17-02-2011, 11:14 AM
He was but the classiest person I saw play for us in that position was John Parke, who took over the yoof coaching when he retired.

17-02-2011, 02:51 PM
He was but the classiest person I saw play for us in that position was John Parke, who took over the yoof coaching when he retired.

No you're confusing him with the Park that founded a coach firm.

17-02-2011, 03:14 PM
Whatever happened to yon wee laddie Scott Brown?

strummbo
17-02-2011, 04:07 PM
billy findlay

17-02-2011, 04:50 PM
I'm still shocked that Big Eck got Willie Ormand out of retirement to play at right back, and who'd have thought he'd go on to play for Austria, and then sign Penelope Cruz to challange him for the right wing back role...

Alan Thompson was good for us too.

17-02-2011, 05:12 PM
Danny Lennon.

ginger_rice
17-02-2011, 08:08 PM
One that I remember having high hopes for was Pat Carroll who made his debut for us when aged c. 16/17 in the mid 70's.

IMO that destroyed any self confidence he had and he eventually moved on to Raith and then Falkirk.

I knew Pat quite well around that time, IMHO it was all the numpties he ran around with from Tullibody which didn't help to further his career. Last time I met him he was in a pub in Falkirk years ago after a game at Brockville, I think he still tried to get to the occasional Hibs game then. Pat was a decent lad shame he never made it.

18-02-2011, 12:09 AM
Danny Lennon.

What, the Celtic manager?? :confused:

18-02-2011, 12:12 AM
Speedway was referring to Dene Shields, who went from Hibs to Falkirk with his brother Dean. One of them is now at Spartans. Neither of them played in the same Falkirk team as Tam Showumni.

This thread is a hoot! And I think there are maybe a few who are kind of missing the point. tremendous stuff!:aok:

18-02-2011, 12:14 AM

No, the Beatle.

18-02-2011, 12:16 AM
No, the Beatle.

I believe Paul McCartney was our manager many moons ago too :agree:

Sloppy
18-02-2011, 12:21 AM
joe keenan

18-02-2011, 12:22 AM
I thought Damon Gray and Sean Lynch would make the first eleven under Collins; Damon scoring a goal a game in the reserves and u19s and Lynch looked good in the mythical matty jack role. Never happened for either of them.

He also scored in his first team debut away to the Sheep, he seemed to go on loan to Partick Thistle and that was that!

18-02-2011, 12:24 AM
Originally Posted by Doddie
Danny Lennon.

I hear they have a tomb ready for him in Moscow.

18-02-2011, 12:58 AM
joe keenan

:agree: Did well as Newcastle manager.

18-02-2011, 01:10 AM
GK - Andy McNeil
RB - Thierry Gathuessi
CB - Mathias Doumbe
CB - Darren McCormack
LB - Paul Lovering
RM - Alen Orman
CM - Paul Hartley
CM - Paddy Cregg
LM - Fabian Yantorno
STR - Mickael Antoine-Curier
STR - Tam McManus

18-02-2011, 01:14 AM
:agree: Did well as Newcastle manager.

Does anyone know what happened to these guys when they left us, all info much appreciated:

Joan Collins
Rory Bremner
Colin Farrell
Rachel Hunter
Michelle McManus
Phil Mitchell
Maggie May

18-02-2011, 01:22 AM
Does anyone know what happened to these guys when they left us, all info much appreciated:

Joan Collins
Rory Bremner
Colin Farrell
Rachel Hunter
Michelle McManus
Phil Mitchell
Maggie May

Celtic
Aston Villa
Partick Thistle
Canberra Cosmos
Dundee
Falkirk
Brentford

Did Phil Mitchell get a testimonial whilst he was with us?

18-02-2011, 10:33 AM
Scott Bannerman had to be one of the ****test players we ever had....im he even got a medal when we won the first division. Theres a great clip of him getting his medal and Yogi saying "How did you get one"

Yogi showing he was developing his man-management skills even then!

Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 01:06 PM
Since the Transfer thread got hi-jacked the other day with talk of Greg and Graeme Miller and of Paul Riley, I thought that this one could be brought back up as there must be others since 2011 that could be added to the thread?

I reckon it’s far too early to add any of this seasons new signings yet but, Joe Newell doesn’t exactly look like he’s going to set the heather on fire, from what I’ve seen so far.

23-08-2019, 01:12 PM
Since the Transfer thread got hi-jacked the other day with talk of Greg and Graeme Miller and of Paul Riley, I thought that this one could be brought back up as there must be others since 2011 that could be added to the thread?

I reckon it’s far too early to add any of this seasons new signings yet but, Joe Newell doesn’t exactly look like he’s going to set the heather on fire, from what I’ve seen so far.

Sam Stanton. Best player in the team for a while then just faded.

Barman Stanton
23-08-2019, 01:23 PM
Some experts predicting Stevenson was on his way out back in 2011 :faf:

Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 01:44 PM
Sam Stanton. Best player in the team for a while then just faded.

I was torn on Sam.

At first I thought he got away with murder because of his surname, but soon realised he was really some player.

Come experts predicting Stevenson was on his way out back in 2011 :faf:

Yep, funny one. :greengrin

Experts indeed! :confused:

Everyone is a flamin’ genius until they are found out not to be!

23-08-2019, 02:20 PM
joe keenan

To me...he is up there in the top 10 worst players ever to get to wear the green

23-08-2019, 02:29 PM
Alex Harris is the obvious one for me of late

ginger_rice
23-08-2019, 07:53 PM
AOB just needed a bit more time :agree:

:devil:

About two decades

Kavinho
23-08-2019, 08:23 PM
Kurtis Byrne?

23-08-2019, 08:27 PM
Away from Hibs.

Kevin Thomson and Boozy should have had well better careers for the talent they both had. Both unlucky with injury.

At Hibs, Freddie Arpinon - again major unlucky with injuries.

Here’s Lucy!
23-08-2019, 10:14 PM
Away from Hibs.

Kevin Thomson and Boozy should have had well better careers for the talent they both had. Both unlucky with injury.

At Hibs, Freddie Arpinon - again major unlucky with injuries.

Paul Riley really deserved more of a chance than he got. Not the best player ever, but definitely not the worst.

Souter96Mac
23-08-2019, 10:31 PM
Not sure if already mentioned but I remember seeing a young lad David Crawford a few years back in a preseason game and thought he looked quite good, but never came through.

23-08-2019, 10:56 PM
Gary Lineker very famously didn’t make it and went on the pitch at a World Cup

24-08-2019, 12:20 AM
Jonathan Bailie was very unlucky not to establish himself.

madhibby70
24-08-2019, 12:32 AM

Jay Sheilds would put the *****rs up any modern day winger

JDT
24-08-2019, 01:29 AM
Darren McCormack

24-08-2019, 01:59 AM
Kevin McBride for me - looked like a great holding midfielder until he started being perpetually injured. Also partly wanted him to succeed because he had gotten pelters at Falkirk for sticking up for our then manager.

Joe Keenan was a massive success - two derby appearances, two wins!

24-08-2019, 08:27 AM
Paul Riley really deserved more of a chance than he got. Not the best player ever, but definitely not the worst.

always thought PR would make team more regular

24-08-2019, 08:35 AM
Eric Paton loads of natural skill

Willie Paterson signed from Burnley glorious diving header versus Hearts

24-08-2019, 08:46 AM
Graham Donald is the one that annoys me. I always thought he looked good up front so what does Alex Miller do? Plays him at centre half!

Surprised Alan Reid hasn’t been mentioned. Our best player in the 2004 LC Final v Livi in my opinion.

24-08-2019, 08:58 AM
Ross Chisholm ? Liked like he was going to break through...

Callum Booth ?

24-08-2019, 11:00 AM
Paul McGovern

Tony McGlynn

George McNeil.....the fastest man in the world at one time

24-08-2019, 12:35 PM

Good shout 👍

24-08-2019, 12:35 PM
Jonathan Bailie was very unlucky not to establish himself.

Another great shout. Played a blinder in a cup win over Celtic.

Here’s Lucy!
24-08-2019, 12:58 PM
always thought PR would make team more regular

Yeah, my thoughts too, I really liked him the times I saw him.

Good shout 👍

:aok: Cheers.

25-08-2019, 09:43 AM
Oli Shaw, I have a crystal ball.

25-08-2019, 10:33 AM
Thought Sean welsh looked something special, but never seemed to break through (jaw getting broken wasn’t a help either), and hasn’t pulled up any trees since he left