PDA

View Full Version : London's Olympic Stadium (Post Olympics)

The_Exile
10-02-2011, 12:00 PM
Apologies if this has been mentioned, but find this whole shebang a bit of a stramash......

So it looks like West Ham have won the bid to get the stadium after the Olympics have buggered off. Which was to be expected as Tottenham planned to rip it down and start again without the running track etc (Championship Football from 100 yards, watch West Ham fill an 80,000 seater!)

The one thing that sickens me is that there has been absolutely NO coverage of the impact on Leyton Orient, this will more than likely force them out of Brisbane Road, or even worse, out of business! How can this be allowed to happen, doesn't it contravine certain rules and regulations?

I'm not an expert on the situation, hoping someone else knows a lot more, but I honestly can't believe the lack of coverage over what's happening. Probably most folk up here don't give a monkeys, but I have a soft spot for the O's and wanted to give my support for their cause!

number 27
10-02-2011, 12:14 PM
Excuse my ignorance but why will it hurt Orient so much?
are they right next door:dunno:

The_Exile
10-02-2011, 12:19 PM

Less than 2 miles away, the thought is that West Ham will struggle to fill the stadium, think it's 60,000 seats rather than 80,000 I had put in my OP. So they will give loads of free tickets to the local schools etc, therefore hitting the O's where it hurts, bums on seats.

There's talk of compensation to them as it's clearly against a rule in the FA regulations but that's all to be sorted out further down the line I think.

Gatecrasher
10-02-2011, 12:22 PM

If Man U built a new Stadium next to ER will it not hurt us?

I think the Leyton Orient fans are worried about their crowds dropping and the clubs future. I can see where they are coming from TBH

The_Exile
10-02-2011, 12:24 PM