View Full Version : Who owns a Hibs flag then?

08-02-2011, 11:00 PM
It may be gathering dust on top of a wardrobe
.......Or fu' o mothballs stuffed away in a rucksack
.......Never seen the light of day in yonks
.......Or been up the back of the East in recent weeks

So who - out there in Hibbieland - either individual or branch - is the proud owner of a Hibs or Hibs-related flag?

Oh and I know size isn't everything - but how long and wide is it?

08-02-2011, 11:03 PM
5 by 3 foot Nigerian Sodjee flag!

08-02-2011, 11:08 PM
3 flags that are sown together ... Ireland-Hibs-Scotland

09-02-2011, 01:34 AM
5 by 3 foot Nigerian Sodjee flag!

Similar but 18' x 9'. Lives on the wall in the spare room!

Gala Foxes
09-02-2011, 04:51 AM
GALA HIBS ON TOUR,
LADHOPE INN
GALASHIELS

As draped over the barriers in Dnipro, Bolton, Blackburn, Carlisle, Ibrox Scottish Cup 3-0 game and soggy Maribor Away

McKenzie
09-02-2011, 06:13 AM
4 sewn together - erin go bragh, Scotland and 2 hibs ones

09-02-2011, 07:43 AM
I have about 3 flags but all pretty small and old. Why?

wazoo1875
09-02-2011, 08:12 AM
I've got the 10' x 5' green an White quartered one with the harp in the centre as seen in Maribor.

09-02-2011, 08:29 AM
FLAG DEBATE.....WOOOOOOO!!! ITS BEEN A WHILE...:flag::devil::devil:

09-02-2011, 08:50 AM
Ive got 9 flags sewn together. The typical sized flags (6' x 3'??)

St Andrews Cross
Lion Rampant
Green & White Checks
Erin go Bragh
Tricolour
4 Hibs flags

when unfurled its pretty huge!

09-02-2011, 09:22 AM
Im afraid I dont have a flag but think it would be brilliant to see as many as possible around the ground to complement the improvement in atmosphere brought by the 12th man singing section.:flag::flag::flag::flag:

persevere1875
09-02-2011, 09:58 AM
Ive got the tricolour with Hibernian FC/ Irish harp/ 1875 in the middle section, not sure what the dimensions are just a full size flag of proffesional flag pole standards

09-02-2011, 10:05 AM
Im afraid I dont have a flag but think it would be brilliant to see as many as possible around the ground to complement the improvement in atmosphere brought by the 12th man singing section.:flag::flag::flag::flag:

09-02-2011, 10:06 AM

St Andrews Cross
Lion Rampant
Green & White Checks
Erin go Bragh
Tricolour
4 Hibs flags

I had the same. Unfortunately my stitching isn't the best and it fell apart after a particularly rough outing at Tynecastle. Never got round to repairing it. It's currently ripped into 3 parts and gathering dust in a cupboard.

persevere1875
09-02-2011, 10:07 AM

I'd consider donating mine, It doesnt get to see the light of day too often

The Tubs
09-02-2011, 10:13 AM
I've got the 10' x 5' green an White quartered one with the harp in the centre as seen in Maribor.

Has it been getting an airing Wazoo? Remember it needs something along the top ever since "Mogga's Army" became inappropriate. I fancy going for the classic "Porty Bandits", what da reckon?

09-02-2011, 03:57 PM
I have about 3 flags but all pretty small and old. Why?

Imagine if they all came out to play at the same time?

Nae debate here son - move along :greengrin

St Andrews Cross
Lion Rampant
Green & White Checks
Erin go Bragh
Tricolour
4 Hibs flags

Paul - yours is 15' x 9' I would reckon - standard flag size 5x3
How close is your seat to the back of Section 41?

I had the same. Unfortunately my stitching isn't the best and it fell apart after a particularly rough outing at Tynecastle. Never got round to repairing it. It's currently ripped into 3 parts and gathering dust in a cupboard.

I'd consider donating mine, It doesnt get to see the light of day too often

Guys - you have a pm

09-02-2011, 04:59 PM
I've got this one (http://img714.imageshack.us/img714/4563/pic4yh.jpg) that I painted myself. Measures 10.5ft x 3.5ft.

Would love to see it in the East every game but its the transportation to and from the ground that is a pain in the erse (Very rarely go home after games and don't want to be lumping a banner around town with me every 2nd Saturday night). Be good if Hibs could allow flags/banners to be put up at the start of the season and collected at the end. I know thats what Man U do with the Stretford End...

09-02-2011, 06:15 PM
Ive got the tricolour with Hibernian FC/ Irish harp/ 1875 in the middle section, not sure what the dimensions are just a full size flag of proffesional flag pole standards

if thats the flag you can see in the photo of fletcher celebrating infront of the east? Think its from a derby. Has to be one of my favorite hibs photos.

NYHibby
09-02-2011, 08:06 PM
if thats the flag you can see in the photo of fletcher celebrating infront of the east? Think its from a derby. Has to be one of my favorite hibs photos.

You mean the one I uploaded in this thread? http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?176246-The-Steven-Fletcher-Hibees-Reunited-banner-wtih-the-East-Stand&p=2370203&viewfull=1

09-02-2011, 10:26 PM

Nae debate here son - move along :greengrin

Paul - yours is 15' x 9' I would reckon - standard flag size 5x3
How close is your seat to the back of Section 41?

Guys - you have a pm

I'm in row BB so pretty darn close.

wazoo1875
09-02-2011, 11:11 PM
Has it been getting an airing Wazoo? Remember it needs something along the top ever since "Mogga's Army" became inappropriate. I fancy going for the classic "Porty Bandits", what da reckon?

Nah mate its not been out the bag since july, i reckon we could have somethin stitched on it for the Hearts game in april.

09-02-2011, 11:31 PM
could the club not help by providing somewhere to store these flags ??? that way people who find them difficult to transport could take them once and just leave them at the club after every game..... bound to be a spare cupboard somewhere in the stadium

TamHibs
10-02-2011, 07:12 AM
You mean the one I uploaded in this thread? http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?176246-The-Steven-Fletcher-Hibees-Reunited-banner-wtih-the-East-Stand&p=2370203&viewfull=1

I'm in that pic lol

berwickhibee
10-02-2011, 09:54 AM
i have a flag as you can see:wink:

10-02-2011, 10:33 AM
could the club not help by providing somewhere to store these flags ??? that way people who find them difficult to transport could take them once and just leave them at the club after every game..... bound to be a spare cupboard somewhere in the stadium

Hibs12thMan has been in dialogue with the club and with the new East just being seats, loos and catering at the moment, the answer is there are no cupboards. However the club are still considering this request - there are other stands although this is less convenient than the East

But it's a catch 22. They don't see many flags so don't see the requirement. If we could prove there's dozens of flags out there and give them a mass airing before the end of the season, this would make the directors sit up and notice

The business case for flag storage would increase considerably

Green_one
10-02-2011, 10:42 AM
I have a smallish one (life is cruel:greengrin) which I bought for the Scottish Cup Final 10 years ago. Obviously not had an airing since. I might adapt it by covering the SC bit.

Would generally like to see all sorts and sizes of flags out each week. They add colour and fun. (Did I just say fun at Easter Road? - Nurse!!!!!)

10-02-2011, 10:49 AM
We are in the process of having a union flag made with lancashire hibs across it. It will look fantastic. :top marks

10-02-2011, 10:59 AM
We are in the process of having a flag made with lancashire hibs across it. It will look fantastic. :top marks

What size Gary, just out of interest? The sections at the back of the East can accomodate a 15 foot x 6 fairly easily. Anything longer or higher would have to hang above the TV stanchions

Reaper
10-02-2011, 11:09 AM
Myself and hibsforeurope have a large Sauzee 'Le God' Flag. Green, with his face on the front. I forget the size. 10x5 I think. Due for an airing soon.

10-02-2011, 04:03 PM
Anybody ken who owns the branch or district flags? I've seen a Liverppol One, A Clerrie One,etc

I'm sure there's others even if they're just used on supporters buses?

WarringtonHibee
10-02-2011, 04:14 PM
There's BoltonHibee's flag too, which I'm currently in possession of, probably been seen around and it's been hung at the back of the new east this season.

http://www.lancashirehibs.co.uk/img/gallery/4919921.jpg

I'm looking into the idea of making some flags homemade, or printed in Poland as it seems cost effective, tall and thin flags to go on poles (if possible...:rolleyes:), much like you see in The Kop. :thumbsup:

aberhibsfc
10-02-2011, 04:47 PM
I've an old one which has travelled on a parcel shelf or two on the way to Hampden.

It's in amongst all my old sports gear. I'll need to dig it out and have a look. Should be atop my graham group? adidas, mcbean, calor gas, carlsburg etc Hibs tops. I gave one or two away in my time. But I managed to hold onto quite a few time and I am so glad I did.

Anyone else got some golden oldies Hibs tops in their wardrobes?

10-02-2011, 04:57 PM
There's BoltonHibee's flag too, which I'm currently in possession of, probably been seen around and it's been hung at the back of the new east this season.

I'm looking into the idea of making some flags homemade, or printed in Poland as it seems cost effective, tall and thin flags to go on poles (if possible...:rolleyes:), much like you see in The Kop. :thumbsup:

Mark - Gary wis saying you might also have the Lancashire Hibs one as well?

What are the dimensions of these two? Hopefully you have something in your gaff to measure them with!

10-02-2011, 04:57 PM

Yeah my question was daft :greengrin Would be really smart with loads of flags. Even if laid on the seats at either side of the East/West?FF where the empty seats are.

10-02-2011, 05:12 PM
i used to have a massive green white and purple banner around the time of the purple bukta t.v. strip.....it stank of supporters buses and it got lost/stolen during/after one of the scottish cup final games in the 79/80 season...i remember not being too bothered that it never made it back to the bus after the game as the purple kept being mistaken for maroon...admitedly it wasn't the most authentic purple in the world but its all john lewis had in stock at the time..

WarringtonHibee
10-02-2011, 05:13 PM
Mark - Gary wis saying you might also have the Lancashire Hibs one as well?

I do, it's the one pictured on the floor, I've got just the LH flag.

I'm sure it's around 20x15ft, we've had it at the back of the new East, requires some climbing. :greengrin

10-02-2011, 06:10 PM

Would be cracking to see lots of those in the East, even just for the 'big' games.

http://img98.imageshack.us/i/41216004.jpg/
http://www.fotos-kirsche.de/gallery/photos/126/48596858/IMG_0158.jpg
http://img832.imageshack.us/img832/8007/fckolnbayern3600x378.jpg
:cool2:

Can be done cheap as **** aswell. Flagpoles here (http://www.skyblueleisure.co.uk/acatalog/Telescopic_Poles.html), material here (http://www.efabrics.co.uk/).

Pretty common for clubs in the continent to allow the fans to have huge storage containers in the vacinity of the stadium, be good for Hibs to give the fans a cupboard or to have a few lockers installed.

10-02-2011, 06:37 PM
My brother has the Hibs sign that was on the notice board outside Vetra Vilnius stadium to show who was playing!

reservoir hibee
10-02-2011, 06:55 PM

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

10-02-2011, 07:07 PM
I do, it's the one pictured on the floor, I've got just the LH flag.

I'm sure it's around 20x15ft, we've had it at the back of the new East, requires some climbing. :greengrin

Gary tells me that Moray's coming up to the Inversneckie game - may he could bring them both up?

10-02-2011, 07:18 PM
Maybe with the anticipated big crowd that should be our target flag game.

persevere1875
10-02-2011, 07:36 PM

Is that picture taken outside one of the boozers in Preston at the pre season friendly a couple of seasons ago ??

pogo
10-02-2011, 07:37 PM
I still have one from the late 80's which I painted myself, had the old crest with the ball and crown, with hibernian written in the script text style used on the old programme.
I also did one which I lost track of for Edinburgh University Hibs Supporters Club. Had the Guinness harp, with EUHSC and Pure Genius, completely robbed from the ads!
Love to know what happened to it.
Also did a sign for the bus for the East Coast Supporters bus which left from Portobello. (Pub/club opposite the St. Andrews chipper, can't remember the name?)

WarringtonHibee
10-02-2011, 08:16 PM
Is that picture taken outside one of the boozers in Preston at the pre season friendly a couple of seasons ago ??

Bolton :agree:

I fancy making some tall flags which will have two poles, with some Hibernian legends on them, knocked out a few designs on PS today.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/168648_195953833765005_130395583654164_698357_7464 924_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/182425_195932013767187_130395583654164_698187_3872 708_n.jpg

Sort of like this:
http://www.lfchistory.net/images/paisley.bob/flagxa4.jpg

10-02-2011, 08:27 PM
Bolton :agree:

I fancy making some tall flags which will have two poles, with some Hibernian legends on them, knocked out a few designs on PS today.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/168648_195953833765005_130395583654164_698357_7464 924_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/182425_195932013767187_130395583654164_698187_3872 708_n.jpg

Sort of like this:
http://www.lfchistory.net/images/paisley.bob/flagxa4.jpg

That would be quality mate, i think the two poled flags are the bollocks.:aok:

10-02-2011, 08:47 PM

That's in Bolton

Hibeesb0unc3
10-02-2011, 09:09 PM
i have quite a small one with a hibs badge in the middle and a pic of the cis cup on each side

10-02-2011, 09:19 PM
I'm meeting with the Club tomorrow. I'll ask about extended poles but I dont hold out much hope, be positive though - no one ever thought we'd get free tickets before!

10-02-2011, 09:35 PM
We are in the process of having a union flag made with lancashire hibs across it. It will look fantastic. :top marks
Sounds quality :agree:

jakki
10-02-2011, 09:39 PM
Maybe they should declare the ICT game also flag day and encourage everyone to bring a flag if they have one

Loopz
10-02-2011, 10:34 PM
My 5 year old son is taking his Hibs flag & season ticket into his Primary 1 show & tell on Fri morning.

Torontohibee
10-02-2011, 10:41 PM
Canadian Hibs Supporters Flag

9ft x 5ft I think

WarringtonHibee
10-02-2011, 10:45 PM
I'm meeting with the Club tomorrow. I'll ask about extended poles but I dont hold out much hope, be positive though - no one ever thought we'd get free tickets before!

Worth a shot, I know on the Kop and I imagine elsewhere the poles used are dismantled into shorter parts, easier to take in and out I imagine.

10-02-2011, 11:19 PM
I have a pretty tatty and faded one from the League Cup Final of 1972....

somewhere..

10-02-2011, 11:33 PM
I have one. 15ft x 8ft Green and White St Andrews Cross with Hibs 1875 On Tour on it. Gathering dust just now though.It was with me at the away game in Maribor and theres a picture of it in the home game program against them.

Needs a good clean too

RMG_82
11-02-2011, 06:25 AM
I've got a white flag that Chris Hogg used to raise every game.

11-02-2011, 06:38 AM
I've got a white flag that Chris Hogg used to raise every game.
You never saw him play then? You may doubt his ability but surely not his commitment to Hibs whilst he was with us.

11-02-2011, 08:46 AM

Maybe you could ask about a container. If the club are worried about access to the stadium building, could they position a green container at the back of the East and we could keep the keys?

11-02-2011, 09:02 AM
Maybe you could ask about a container. If the club are worried about access to the stadium building, could they position a green container at the back of the East and we could keep the keys?

With the lancashirehibs flag being so big, karting it up and down is probably the one reason it does not get many appearances?

If there was a container we could leave it in at the east stand, we'd show it most weeks. I think there would be a lot more flags if there was somewhere to store them?

11-02-2011, 09:59 AM

It surely would be low cost for the fans or club to supply a few lockers -similar to this

http://www.storage-solutions.com/images/C/lockers.jpg

If they want to make it a family home and encourage atmosphere and colour then this would be great for the East and add to the 12 Man / match experience.

I've always thought they should allow the flags should be allowed to stay in the East like the Stretford End at Man U

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3162/2836104559_2b73730faf.jpg

11-02-2011, 10:02 AM

With the lancashirehibs flag being so big, karting it up and down is probably the one reason it does not get many appearances?

If there was a container we could leave it in at the east stand, we'd show it most weeks. I think there would be a lot more flags if there was somewhere to store them?

The club are actively looking at the cost and other implications of providing some sort of storage facilities for flags / banners.

BigKev
11-02-2011, 10:53 AM
I've got two 15' x 8' which say Liberton Inn Hibernian FC on them. The one below and the other is a green and white saltire.

11-02-2011, 10:59 AM
The club are actively looking at the cost and other implications of providing some sort of storage facilities for flags / banners.

:top marks Great news. :flag::flag:

11-02-2011, 11:12 AM

Are you and Joe making that one yersel's?

You just can't help yourself can you:greengrin

11-02-2011, 11:14 AM
I've got two 15' x 8' which say Liberton Inn Hibernian FC on them. The one below and the other is a green and white saltire.

Good flag :thumbsup:

13-02-2011, 09:50 PM
Guys - thanks very much for your contributions

We now have a list of 21 flag owners and a total of 24 LARGE flags - ten foot up to 20 foot long (not including the Hibs.Net and HibeesBounce monsters)

There are 18 sections at the back of the East Stand. If 3/4 of the flag holders brought their flag/banner to the same game and were allocated a section each - we would cover the entire 100 yards of the back of the East.

How awesome would that look?

14-02-2011, 09:59 AM
If I could take it to one game and leave it up all season, i'd be delighted to knock something like this (http://img413.imageshack.us/i/bannermy.gif/) up for one of the sections.

14-02-2011, 10:57 AM
Guys - thanks very much for your contributions

We now have a list of 21 flag owners and a total of 24 LARGE flags - ten foot up to 20 foot long (not including the Hibs.Net and HibeesBounce monsters)

There are 18 sections at the back of the East Stand. If 3/4 of the flag holders brought their flag/banner to the same game and were allocated a section each - we would cover the entire 100 yards of the back of the East.

How awesome would that look?

You should aim for GREEN DAY in the East to get as many flags as possible on show :agree:

Bohemian_Hibee
14-02-2011, 07:00 PM
I own the one below, thinks it's approx 10ftx5th

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1975/123/90/757388275/n757388275_1381364_18940.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1975/123/90/757388275/n757388275_1381358_1832066.jpg

14-02-2011, 07:14 PM
Is there no chance they can be tied up at the very back of the stand and be kept there? I see absolutely no reason why not - I can't see any problems it would pose. Doing this would save the club buying lockers and save the flag owners unfurling their flag, tying it up and taking it down every time there is a home match.

14-02-2011, 07:22 PM
Is there no chance they can be tied up at the very back of the stand and be kept there? I see absolutely no reason why not - I can't see any problems it would pose. Doing this would save the club buying lockers and save the flag owners unfurling their flag, tying it up and taking it down every time there is a home match.

If you can show that your flag is made of fire ******ant material it will be OK :rolleyes:

15-02-2011, 11:54 AM
Do you think my flag will be too big for hanging at the back.

Im pretty much in line with the big concrete block at the back of the stand (TV bit) of section 41. (left of the middle Section in this photo http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/hibs-2v3-maribor28agg-3a-2-6-29/p32489-1st-training-session-on-the-new-pitch.html )

Will the stewards be erses and ask me to take it down or are HFC going to tell them to allow for this to happen

15-02-2011, 12:41 PM
Do you think my flag will be too big for hanging at the back.

Im pretty much in line with the big concrete block at the back of the stand (TV bit) of section 41. (left of the middle Section in this photo http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/hibs-2v3-maribor28agg-3a-2-6-29/p32489-1st-training-session-on-the-new-pitch.html )

Will the stewards be erses and ask me to take it down or are HFC going to tell them to allow for this to happen

It's nae problem hanging your flag Paul - there's usually 2 or 2 hung every game behind the Singing Section. The best place for a really big flag is on one of the concrete block sections but we will need to make sure Hibs are aware we will be using those sections as well. Can't see it being a problem.

What we do is throw our top corner ropes over the green pipe at the top of each section. Then it's a skoosh to tie back to the columns. Your top ropes have to be a minimum of 3 metres.

Are you a defo to bring it on the 26th?

15-02-2011, 01:24 PM
It's nae problem hanging your flag Paul - there's usually 2 or 2 hung every game behind the Singing Section. The best place for a really big flag is on one of the concrete block sections but we will need to make sure Hibs are aware we will be using those sections as well. Can't see it being a problem.

What we do is throw our top corner ropes over the green pipe at the top of each section. Then it's a skoosh to tie back to the columns. Your top ropes have to be a minimum of 3 metres.

Are you a defo to bring it on the 26th?

Yeah I'll be bringing it, but unfortunately i don't have ties on it. I'll see if i can get some on it before next week

15-02-2011, 01:29 PM
Flag pic as promised gogs

15-02-2011, 01:56 PM

How did that meeting go ?

billbee
15-02-2011, 02:38 PM
Flags - Who thinks the Sheeps idea of flag waving as the players come out on to the pitch from the trackside looks good! IMO, think this would be good and intimidating to any opposition, the club would have to get flags tho! Anything to up the anti in our new home! :wink:

15-02-2011, 03:31 PM
How did that meeting go ?

It went well. Extended poles are a distinct possibility. Just waiting for an official reply to all the points raised before spilling the beans - I'm a Hibby just like my club!

mickki40
20-02-2011, 07:44 AM

Will speak with Moray at ICT Game. if he left it up here with Me I would ensure it was flown most games. The Lancs flag is well known at E.R. a guy asked me in the Office what had become of it.

20-02-2011, 08:36 AM
Cmon Hibs how costly can a locked container be?!

Would look brilliant and sort of ultra-esque if everyone in the east singing had flags.

21-02-2011, 07:08 PM
This video from Friday nights game is a good example of the work that German fans put in with the clubs co-operation to try and improve the match day experience

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NCMZiyx5uQ&feature=player_embedded

Also shows a terracing with fold away seats which can convert to a seated section when necessary

Watered down bevvy only at this game tho so its not all rosy in Deutschland - they were concerned the away fans might get a bit rowdy - didnt work http://www.ultras-frankfurt.de/galerie/1011/23_nuernberg/03.jpg
another fine coming shortly.

21-02-2011, 07:23 PM
I own the one below, thinks it's approx 10ftx5th

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v1975/123/90/757388275/n757388275_1381358_1832066.jpg

Does the flag come with the 2 blondes?

21-02-2011, 07:48 PM
Will speak with Moray at ICT Game. if he left it up here with Me I would ensure it was flown most games. The Lancs flag is well known at E.R. a guy asked me in the Office what had become of it.

Spoken to WarringtonHibs, he has the flag and is now coming to the game. He is bringing it up with him

M

21-02-2011, 07:52 PM

Spoke with WarringtonHibs, he is now coming to the game on Saturday and will bring the flag up with him.

M

21-02-2011, 09:46 PM
This video from Friday nights game is a good example of the work that German fans put in with the clubs co-operation to try and improve the match day experience

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NCMZiyx5uQ&feature=player_embedded

Also shows a terracing with fold away seats which can convert to a seated section when necessary

Watered down bevvy only at this game tho so its not all rosy in Deutschland - they were concerned the away fans might get a bit rowdy - didnt work http://www.ultras-frankfurt.de/galerie/1011/23_nuernberg/03.jpg
another fine coming shortly.

Anyone know if that was a special game?

Mick and I have been speaking about something much more basic (Petrieesque :rolleyes: and in line with Hibs frugal content :na na:) and still I'd estimate that display to come in at between 1 or 2 grand for a couple of minutes!

We are still talking to our Club about this type of thing. Anyone want to sell a football card! :greengrin

21-02-2011, 09:57 PM
Spoke with WarringtonHibs, he is now coming to the game on Saturday and will bring the flag up with him.

M

Thanks Moray for the lend of the Lancashire Hibs flag :flag:

So far we have 15 large flags 10 feet up to 20 feet, a banner, the Hibs.Net flag and hopefully the Bounce flag as well.

We have a growing group of Hibs12thMan volunteers in the flag crew for Saturday but need assistance from the club with early entry. Waiting to hear back by mid-week

Watch this space :greengrin

Kevvy1875
21-02-2011, 11:07 PM
Good work guys....think this is gonna look really good if you can get all the flags!:thumbsup:

mickki40
22-02-2011, 05:06 AM
Are you and Joe making that one yersel's?

You just can't help yourself can you:greengrin

:greengrin funny as, Ain't seen Joe all season.

mickki40
22-02-2011, 05:21 AM

Mick and I have been speaking about something much more basic (Petrieesque :rolleyes: and in line with Hibs frugal content :na na:) and still I'd estimate that display to come in at between 1 or 2 grand for a couple of minutes!

We are still talking to our Club about this type of thing. Anyone want to sell a football card! :greengrin
To be fair, German clubs have been at this for 10-15 years now, whereas, we have just started. The German Ultras usually have 1 representative on the Board of the club. Can you imagine at this stage asking hibs to allow us pitchside, and to be able to put all the flags out pre-match? It will not Happen unless Hibs send a board member to places like Germany to see for themselves what can be achieved with a bit of co - operation with supporters groups. I know we get some support at this time from the club, However we need someone at Board level to be able to say yes to Basic ideas. The Balloon idea was the very basic idea we could possibly do under 40 quid, and the club were horrified. C'mon, It's at times like this that we should be giving the board guarantees that 1000 balloons won't be on the pitch with stewards and Hibs 12th Man members it can be avoided. Especially if we advertised it enough and everyone was asked to burst their balloon as the referee blows his whistle for Kick off. I still think that A meeting with Fife to give guarantees and it will look great. A good taster for things to come next season

22-02-2011, 06:06 AM

It was a normal league game but I notice that Nuernberg seem to do this more regularly than most.

Ultras Frankfurt collect money at every home game to raise funds for the cost of these things and seem to be well received by other fans.

Ultras and official fan representatives - who liase with the club - are two different things as the relationship between the Ultras and the club can be seriously strained at times which is no surprise with Eintracht being fined regularly due to Ultras misbehaviour.

12th man have got the right idea though and are moving in the right direction.

22-02-2011, 07:30 AM
I like the idea that, as supporters, we behave like our club. Hibernian FC build carefully, ensuring they lay down secure foundations. E.g. Clear Debt then Build Training then Build Stand

Recent supporter activity has also been a careful build:-

March 2010 - Paul McBeath (HFC_1875) and John Pryde (MisterP) start Singing Section Campaign
April 2010 - Club designate Singing Section (Sections 42-45)
June 2010 - Fans Forum, Hibs Club, Meeting at HFC - Hibs12thMan created
First 2 months - Awareness campaign and flyers, engagement and support from Hibs.Net and HibeesBounce (Thanks Mikey and Jamie :thumbsup:)
Aug 2010 - Hibs12thMan focus on Section 43 and encourage seat moves
Winter 2010 - expansion of singing, Facebook page, own website, forum activity, membership and liason with HSA/Hibs Club
Dec 2010 - Banner in East Stand
Jan 2010 - Surfing flags display
Feb 2010 - Green Day, Improved flag display at ICT

It took some other groups years to get to where they are but our representatives are working quietly and effectively, building relationships with club management, earning trust and gaining more commitment. These other ideas will come - it's not a sprint - it's a mid-distance race.

It's the Hibs way :agree:

22-02-2011, 10:30 AM
:greengrin funny as, Ain't seen Joe all season.

He travels with Gary most of the time. They attend lodge meetings together and if Hibs are away they can both be seen waving their flags with the Blue Order at Ibrox:greengrin