View Full Version : Brazil v Scotland in London

05-02-2011, 10:13 PM
http://m.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/feb/05/scotland-brazil-london?cat=football&type=article

Scotland prepare to head to London for friendly with Brazil
• Arsenal's Emirates Stadium set to host international in March
• Scotland fans' behaviour in the capital to come under scrutiny The Emirates Stadium could be the venue for Scotland's proposed friendly against Brazil next month. Photograph: Tony Marshall/Empics Ewan Murray The Observer, Sat 5 Feb 2011 20.48 GMT
Scotland are in advanced talks about playing Brazil in an international friendly in London on Sunday 27 March, with Arsenal's Emirates Stadium a potential venue.A visit to Dubai or Malaysia for a training camp was the original intention, but Scotland's preference now is to have a five-day spell in Spain before returning to play Brazil.The friendly was discussed by the Scottish Football Association's board last Thursday. A contract with the agency looking to bring Brazil to Britain could be finalised in the next few days.Argentina, then under the guidance of Diego Maradona, travelled to Hampden Park for a friendly in 2008. The Brazil encounter would be even more notable, though, by taking place in England.The behaviour of Scottish supporters would be of particular interest, with the FA keen to stage an England v Scotland friendly at Wembley in 2013.

Glad I booked flights this morning when I got wind of this :thumbsup:

05-02-2011, 10:34 PM
seems a bit daft. why not not play it at hampden instead of an empty emirates

05-02-2011, 10:50 PM

Brazil get the gate money and we get appearance money, it wont be empty either the last Brazil friendly there against Ireland had a crowd of over 40,000:wink:

05-02-2011, 10:59 PM

More daft as in what will it tell us about our team to see us line up 4 -6 - 0 and get pumped by Brazil...

Mili Tant
05-02-2011, 11:45 PM
Absolutely brilliant idea. Thousands of Scots will already be in London for the TUC demonstration against the cuts on 26th March! Shoorly there's a socialist within the ranks of the SFA!

06-02-2011, 08:26 AM
Absolutely brilliant idea. Thousands of Scots will already be in London for the TUC demonstration against the cuts on 26th March! Shoorly there's a socialist within the ranks of the SFA!

Not since we played that match in Chile in 1973.

moggie
06-02-2011, 08:38 AM
Another nail in potters coffin comin up :not worth

06-02-2011, 09:09 AM
Another nail in potters coffin comin up :not worth

No shame in losing to Brazil.

However not going to be the best prepartion for Litchy, Lithuania and the Czechs.

That said, I really want this to go ahead. 1hr20 on the train from Chippenham to Paddington. Easy polint.

Find it strange, thatg only the Guardian are reporting this.

Also cheeky ****s, saying that OUR behaviour will be watched.

sunshine1875
06-02-2011, 09:15 AM
The Brazil encounter would be even more notable, though, by taking place in England.The behaviour of Scottish supporters would be of particular interest, with the FA keen to stage an England v Scotland friendly at Wembley in 2013.

What, a meeting of the worlds best football supporters and they are worried about our behaviour.

:kettle:

06-02-2011, 09:18 AM
No shame in losing to Brazil.

However not going to be the best prepartion for Litchy, Lithuania and the Czechs.

That said, I really want this to go ahead. 1hr20 on the train from Chippenham to Paddington. Easy polint.

Find it strange, thatg only the Guardian are reporting this.

Also cheeky ****s, saying that OUR behaviour will be watched.

It has only been spoken about for a couple of day's I got wind of it yesterday morning and was told it was hush hush untill it was formally announced :greengrin

06-02-2011, 09:41 AM
It has only been spoken about for a couple of day's I got wind of it yesterday morning and was told it was hush hush untill it was formally announced :greengrin

Cool

06-02-2011, 09:47 AM
Specky yam prick will no doubt play a 7-3-0...

06-02-2011, 11:01 AM
would absolutely love this to be the case. An hour each way on the train - easy peasy!

06-02-2011, 12:12 PM
What, a meeting of the worlds best football supporters and they are worried about our behaviour.

:kettle:

I'm sure the Tartan Army's good old fashioned banter will go down well in London. I can't imagine them doing anything to insult the host city or its inhabitants, regardless of their race, religion, or sexuality.

Places like Elgin, Brechin and Dumfries are bastions of modern day thinking. Still, if there is a pagger, I'm sure our press will point to the true cause.

BigKev
06-02-2011, 12:37 PM
I'm sure the Tartan Army's good old fashioned banter will go down well in London. I can't imagine them doing anything to insult the host city or its inhabitants, regardless of their race, religion, or sexuality.

Places like Elgin, Brechin and Dumfries are bastions of modern day thinking. Still, if there is a pagger, I'm sure our press will point to the true cause.

Utter drivel.

Any chance to have a go at the guys who follow Scotland though eh? Easy targets.

suavegav
06-02-2011, 12:41 PM
http://m.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/feb/05/scotland-brazil-london?cat=football&type=article

Scotland prepare to head to London for friendly with Brazil
• Arsenal's Emirates Stadium set to host international in March
• Scotland fans' behaviour in the capital to come under scrutiny The Emirates Stadium could be the venue for Scotland's proposed friendly against Brazil next month. Photograph: Tony Marshall/Empics Ewan Murray The Observer, Sat 5 Feb 2011 20.48 GMT
Scotland are in advanced talks about playing Brazil in an international friendly in London on Sunday 27 March, with Arsenal's Emirates Stadium a potential venue.A visit to Dubai or Malaysia for a training camp was the original intention, but Scotland's preference now is to have a five-day spell in Spain before returning to play Brazil.The friendly was discussed by the Scottish Football Association's board last Thursday. A contract with the agency looking to bring Brazil to Britain could be finalised in the next few days.Argentina, then under the guidance of Diego Maradona, travelled to Hampden Park for a friendly in 2008. The Brazil encounter would be even more notable, though, by taking place in England.The behaviour of Scottish supporters would be of particular interest, with the FA keen to stage an England v Scotland friendly at Wembley in 2013.

Glad I booked flights this morning when I got wind of this :thumbsup:

Why is this game not at Hampden, or Murrayfield for that matter.

06-02-2011, 12:44 PM
Why is this game not at Hampden, or Murrayfield for that matter.

Because the SFA would need to pay Brazils £1million match fee, and probably make nothing from the game being at Hanpden.

Most of Brazils games are done through Sports agents who pay Brazils and a "lesser" teams thier fee, with the agent keeping gate and tv money.

Brazil have played a few games in London over the last few years :wink:

06-02-2011, 12:46 PM
Because the SFA would need to pay Brazils £1million match fee, and probably make nothing from the game being at Hanpden.

Most of Brazils games are done through Sports agents who pay Brazils and a "lesser" teams thier fee, with the agent keeping gate and tv money.

Just another example of how fan-unfriendly football has become really.

suavegav
06-02-2011, 12:50 PM

Id rather spend my money in Scotland. Our economy needs it more than Londons.

06-02-2011, 12:51 PM
Just another example of how fan-unfriendly football has become really.

WHY?

Sports agencies work with all the big teams to promote the brand all over the world as we saw when Barcelona played Hibs

06-02-2011, 12:56 PM

It's like the Harlem Globetrotters - Brazil get a chance to show off, and the numpties lined up for them to show off against get paid for their trouble.

Not a lot to do with sport. Waste of time. :rolleyes:

06-02-2011, 12:56 PM
WHY?

Sports agencies work with all the big teams to promote the brand all over the world as we saw when Barcelona played Hibs

In Edinburgh, where Hibs are based.

All about the money these clubs (countries) are going to make from games - never mind the cost to fans finding travel, accomodation and the undoubted inflated ticket prices.

I'm beginning to think you have some form of problem with me, as you're disagreeing with just about EVERY post I'm making lately :wink:

I mean seriously, which football fan would back corporate sporting agencies and designed for profit friendlies? :confused:

06-02-2011, 12:57 PM
Id rather spend my money in Scotland. Our economy needs it more than Londons.

Well feel free to go to a pub to watch it and help Scotland's economy, but don't drink foreign beers :greengrin

06-02-2011, 01:04 PM

All about the money these clubs (countries) are going to make from games - never mind the cost to fans finding travel, accomodation and the undoubted inflated ticket prices.

I'm beginning to think you have some form of problem with me, as you're disagreeing with just about EVERY post I'm making lately :wink:

I mean seriously, which football fan would back corporate sporting agencies and designed for profit friendlies? :confused:

I don't think anyone will be forced to go against their will!

06-02-2011, 01:05 PM

If you posted sensible well thought out ideas maybe more people would agree with you :wink:

What happens with the NFL when it comes to London? I didn't here people complain about that, or when the NHL played in Prague in October, the answer you would get is that they are taking the games to the fan's, Scotland played Argentina at Hampden 2 years ago in front of 32,000, Brazil have played at the Emirates 4 times and on each occasion the crowds have been more than that, So why should the SFA look to lose money when an agency can do that?

Scotland also have a lot of fans living down south I bet you dont here many of them complaining.

06-02-2011, 01:06 PM
I don't think anyone will be forced to go against their will!

Obviously not, but it makes it an unreachable friendly for quite a few Scotland fans I'd imagine and needlessly so.

Particularly at a time when the Carling Nations Cup is being played and more European Qualification games are upcoming.

suavegav
06-02-2011, 01:07 PM
Well feel free to go to a pub to watch it and help Scotland's economy, but don't drink foreign beers :greengrin

Belhaven Best, are you buying.

06-02-2011, 01:08 PM
I would go if this happens. :thumbsup:

06-02-2011, 01:10 PM
Belhaven Best, are you buying.

Sorry but I'll be in London at the game :saltireflag

06-02-2011, 01:12 PM
If you posted sensible well thought out ideas maybe more people would agree with you :wink:

What happens with the NFL when it comes to London? I didn't here people complain about that, or when the NHL played in Prague in October, the answer you would get is that they are taking the games to the fan's, Scotland played Argentina at Hampden 2 years ago in front of 32,000, Brazil have played at the Emirates 4 times and on each occasion the crowds have been more than that, So why should the SFA look to lose money when an agency can do that?

Scotland also have a lot of fans living down south I bet you dont here many of them complaining.

Why do Scotland need the friendly at all? They have plenty of upcoming competitive games (as per above post).

The NFL is a completely different scenario - 2 teams with fans all over the UK (without a concentrated base) come over and people will travel for a one-off game they might not otherwise get to see live (not that it compares to the actual product in any way, but I digress).

They're not "bringing it to the fans", when a very large % of them area based 400 odd miles North. I'm guessing it'll be a weekday evening game? Great fixture for those who have the money and time to piss away travelling down to London, but I'd imagine there'll be a lot of Scottish fans a little bit annoyed that they don't realistically have a chance of getting to be at the game.

Pfft - your thoughts? Sensible and well thought out - someone hacked your account R? Golf soon... :greengrin

06-02-2011, 01:15 PM
Why do Scotland need the friendly at all? They have plenty of upcoming competitive games (as per above post).

The NFL is a completely different scenario - 2 teams with fans all over the UK (without a concentrated base) come over and people will travel for a one-off game they might not otherwise get to see live (not that it compares to the actual product in any way, but I digress).

They're not "bringing it to the fans", when a very large % of them area based 400 odd miles North. I'm guessing it'll be a weekday evening game? Great fixture for those who have the money and time to piss away travelling down to London, but I'd imagine there'll be a lot of Scottish fans a little bit annoyed that they don't realistically have a chance of getting to be at the game.

Pfft - your thoughts? Sensible and well thought out - someone hacked your account R? Golf soon... :greengrin

Sunday afternoon actually :na na:

Brummie_Hibs
06-02-2011, 01:16 PM
30 mins walk from my flat!! :thumbsup:

06-02-2011, 01:17 PM
30 mins walk from my flat!! :thumbsup:

Great, free digs aswell :greengrin

06-02-2011, 01:18 PM
Brilliant if it happens. Nice wee weekend in London. Mates in north London so accommodation sorted. Excellent! Well done the SFA :stirrer:

Hibby D
06-02-2011, 01:18 PM
Obviously not, but it makes it an unreachable friendly for quite a few Scotland fans I'd imagine and needlessly so.

Particularly at a time when the Carling Nations Cup is being played and more European Qualification games are upcoming.

And makes it reachable for those Scots who live south of Newcastle or Manchester - hard core TA will travel as will footie fans who just want to see Brazil.

I honestly can't understand why it's attracting such criticism; especially from those who probably wouldn't go to watch our national team if they played in their neighbours back garden.

It's a bit of razzamatazz show biz, so what! You either go or you don't.

Relax :greengrin

06-02-2011, 01:21 PM
Brazil get the gate money and we get appearance money, it wont be empty either the last Brazil friendly there against Ireland had a crowd of over 40,000:wink:

Could they still not do that at Hampden though? Game would def be a 52,000 sell out if they had it here.
What about the potential for trouble? Sure our fans are great and the Brazilians are mighty fine :wink: but has no one stop to think some of the English firms will be out if there's 20,000 - 30,000 Scots kicking about London?

06-02-2011, 01:40 PM
Could they still not do that at Hampden though? Game would def be a 52,000 sell out if they had it here.
What about the potential for trouble? Sure our fans are great and the Brazilians are mighty fine :wink: but has no one stop to think some of the English firms will be out if there's 20,000 - 30,000 Scots kicking about London?

I think it will have more to do with Brazil's sponsorship with Nike who also sponsor Arsenal, :agree:

06-02-2011, 01:48 PM

I had nae interest in heading to Dublin for this weeks game, but, will be heading to this though.

06-02-2011, 03:14 PM
I had nae interest in heading to Dublin for this weeks game, but, will be heading to this though.

thats cause we dont like Temple Bar prices colin! Dread to think what they are these days....

06-02-2011, 03:18 PM
Utter drivel.

Any chance to have a go at the guys who follow Scotland though eh? Easy targets.

The stuff about homophobia and racism and being populated by small town red necks is probably unfair. However, are you seriously saying the Tartan Army won't do anything to wind up the people of London?

06-02-2011, 03:22 PM
The stuff about homophobia and racism and being populated by small town red necks is probably unfair. However, are you seriously saying the Tartan Army won't do anything to wind up the people of London?

When was the last time the Scottish fans wound up citizens of another country?

06-02-2011, 03:24 PM

I don't know but they often wind up some citizens of their own country though :agree:

06-02-2011, 03:28 PM
I don't know but they often wind up some citizens of their own country though :agree:

Care to elaborate ?

06-02-2011, 03:31 PM

This isn't any other country and you know it.

Care to elaborate ?

Well I'm wound up about it, I feel a stiff one coming on (letter that is).

06-02-2011, 03:37 PM
This isn't any other country and you know it.

Well I'm wound up about it, I feel a stiff one coming on (letter that is).

06-02-2011, 03:41 PM
Care to elaborate ?

Got you, and I believe that every single one of the Tartan Army won't wind up Londoners with references to Maradona's Hand of God goal. That's not what they are about.

06-02-2011, 03:47 PM
Got you, and I believe that every single one of the Tartan Army won't wind up Londoners with references to Maradona's Hand of God goal. That's not what they are about.

Not all Londoners are English or football fans so I don't get what you are suggesting :rolleyes:

06-02-2011, 03:51 PM
Care to elaborate ?

Loads of posts on here come international time slagging of the tartan army. Expect it's fairly common across the country. Taking a flight or being in the airport when Scotland fans are travelling can be embarrassing for some Scottish folk, never mind their antics in the host city.

06-02-2011, 03:56 PM
Not all Londoners are English or football fans so I don't get what you are suggesting :rolleyes:

I'm bored and I'm stirring. The game in London sounds exciting tbh, and I think it wlll be a great day out for anyone who goes.

Sometimes the TA can go too far with their banter, and some sections seem to equate supporting Scotland with being anti English. Given that perception you can't blame an English paper for wondering what their behaviour will be in London.

On a strictly personal note, I think some of the guys you see with all the regalia are a bit cringeworthy, but no harm is done.

06-02-2011, 03:56 PM
Loads of posts on here come international time slagging of the tartan army. Expect it's fairly common across the country. Taking a flight or being in the airport when Scotland fans are travelling can be embarrassing for some Scottish folk, never mind their antics in the host city.

Thats bollox have you ever travelled or witnesed it first hand? or are you just band wagon jumping like the rest of the Scotland fan bashers on here?

06-02-2011, 04:10 PM
Thats bollox have you ever travelled or witnesed it first hand? or are you just band wagon jumping like the rest of the Scotland fan bashers on here?

Are you allowed to say bollox on here :wink:

And it isn't. You only have to look at the posts on here.

Have I seen it, yes. Does it bother me, no.

I've been there and got the t-shirt. Old wembley, terraces, trafalgar square etc

06-02-2011, 04:50 PM
Technically we are the away team. Brazil are inviting us to play them at a ground of their choosing. They have chosen the Emirates.

Hampden is not on the cards.

Loving the thought of a day out in the Smoke.

06-02-2011, 06:14 PM
Will be definately trying to get down to that game if I can :saltireflag

06-02-2011, 07:26 PM
i wouldnt expect a top Brazil side to turn out. But any side they play would still cuff Scotland.

06-02-2011, 07:44 PM
Another nail in the coffin of International football as the footballing equivalent of the Harlem Globetrotters play any cannon fodder to generate cash.

06-02-2011, 07:48 PM
Another nail in the coffin of International football as the footballing equivalent of the Harlem Globetrotters play any cannon fodder to generate cash.

I said that 24 posts back! :devil:

06-02-2011, 07:54 PM
Simple solution for the detractors - dinnae go! I'm looking forward to a w-end in London, game included.

06-02-2011, 09:00 PM
I said that 24 posts back! :devil:

So you did. :agree: (I didn't read the whole thread as I was on my phone.)
Great minds or fools then?:greengrin

06-02-2011, 10:29 PM
Thats bollox ?

...expect 'problems connecting to server' messages for such language. Unless......

06-02-2011, 10:34 PM
...expect 'problems connecting to server' messages for such language. Unless......

:confused: unless what?????????

06-02-2011, 10:36 PM
Nearly 60 posts none of them relevant to Hibs but no NHC . Why don`t " we " ( Hibernian FC ! ) arrange a friendly that weekend since we don`t seem to have any home matches in March ?

06-02-2011, 10:36 PM
Unless it is as I suspected.

06-02-2011, 10:37 PM
:confused: unless what?????????

It's another wee dig at Admin. :agree:

06-02-2011, 10:38 PM

Sorry I thought it was aimed at me

06-02-2011, 10:38 PM
Hibs v Yogi select. Surely we could win against 6 men.

06-02-2011, 10:39 PM

You're awfy sensitive the day Ronnie :greengrin

06-02-2011, 10:40 PM
Nearly 60 posts none of them relevant to Hibs but no NHC . Why don`t " we " ( Hibernian FC ! ) arrange a friendly that weekend since we don`t seem to have any home matches in March ?

Sorry :rolleyes: but the thread title seems to be the give away. :agree:

06-02-2011, 10:40 PM

Ehhh? Your a tad sensitive are you not?? I was thinking it must have been Virgin Media afterall.

06-02-2011, 10:42 PM
You're awfy sensitive the day Ronnie :greengrin

b****x Just sticking up for my country :wink:

06-02-2011, 10:45 PM
b****x Just sticking up for my country :wink:

and mine :aok:

Do you wear one of those funny hats with the big feather :wink:

06-02-2011, 10:48 PM

It was, I don't know what M59's on about but Ray , take it you don't have Virgin as a provide? Reason is that I don't use that term since the last time I did I suddenly couldn't connect to the Hibs.net server. I had assumed someone in Admin was playing God but was assured that wasn't the case. Weird eh?

06-02-2011, 10:52 PM

I like those best of all the highland dress.

06-02-2011, 10:54 PM
and mine :aok:

no :rolleyes:

07-02-2011, 05:42 AM
Can we not have a sticky "lets all slag the Tartan Army" thread so that whenever a Scotland related thread is started we can actually discuss the matter in hand rather than have yet another boring anti-TA 6 pager?

Having said that, here's my take on the TA again. I have travelled aboroad with Hibs & Scotland many times. I can honestly say the behaviour of SOME Hibs fans has been much worse than Scotland fans. Yes, there are plenty of tubes who follow Scotland but the only time I have seen organised violence at a Scotland game has been at Wembely (twice) and Arnhem (Holland). Both times had Hibs casuals at the centre of it.

07-02-2011, 09:53 AM
no :rolleyes:

Serious question, what is on all those wee enamel badges that the TA wear, and what is wrong with your eyes - they've been rolling in every post, are you feeling well?

07-02-2011, 10:00 AM
Serious question, what is on all those wee enamel badges that the TA wear, and what is wrong with your eyes - they've been rolling in every post, are you feeling well?

The badges that some Scotland fans wear will be match badges similar to the ones that some, Hibs supporters wear, and if you think you see my eyes are rolling on every post I suggest you see an optician.

07-02-2011, 10:12 AM
The badges that some Scotland fans wear will be match badges similar to the ones that some, Hibs supporters wear, and if you think you see my eyes are rolling on every post I suggest you see an optician.

:agree: Been meaning to for some time. :greengrin