View Full Version : Walk up prices must be cut.

gazza88
02-02-2011, 04:16 PM
In the current situation I believe it is vital to cut prices and try our best to get bums on seats. I know this has been debated but theres nothing worse than a sea of empty seats. Anything that can be done needs to be done now.

dalkeith stu
02-02-2011, 04:19 PM
Do you think i could haggle with the guy at the turnstile tonight?
Take a tenner pal or am gon hame!!! :wink:

02-02-2011, 04:20 PM
In the current situation I believe it is vital to cut prices and try our best to get bums on seats. I know this has been debated but theres nothing worse than a sea of empty seats. Anything that can be done needs to be done now.

To be honest mate empty seats are the least of our problems right now.

Could be worse - we could be smelly Yams

02-02-2011, 04:22 PM

Fine with me as long as they give me a £100 voucher off next campaign's season's ticket. My season ticket costs me £20 per game.

02-02-2011, 04:23 PM

I honestly don't think prices have much effect on the crowds. You either want to go or you don't and it's been proven time and again that the main factor is not the price.

The Ayr game was £15!

We need to improve the team and the quality and to do that we can't take further hits on our income which is all this would lead to.

02-02-2011, 04:24 PM

What about the poor guys that have already forked out for a ST?

Give them a rebate :rolleyes:

NEVER gonna get cut prices at ER at this time of the season :agree: No matter what..

gazza88
02-02-2011, 04:24 PM
To be honest mate empty seats are the least of our problems right now.

Could be worse - we could be smelly Yams

I know but youd be amazed how much a bigger crowd can help everyone.

gazza88
02-02-2011, 04:28 PM
I go regardless. It is true that its not fair on ST's. I happen to think more people would go at 15 quid and 8 quid kids.

02-02-2011, 04:30 PM
What were our average grounds in div 1? 14k maybe? Doesn't matter if the product is fantastic or not we aren't going to get big crowds, price is irrelevant.

tanfield
02-02-2011, 06:12 PM
Not totally irrelevant. I agree that it hasn't made much of a difference in the past when prices have been reduced but personally if it was a tenner to get in tonight I would be going. (As if that's going to happen!)

All depends on your reasons for not going. Mine is definitely the price.

Sunny1875
02-02-2011, 07:36 PM
What were our average grounds in div 1? 14k maybe? Doesn't matter if the product is fantastic or not we aren't going to get big crowds, price is irrelevant.

Think you might find that average gate was down when we were in Div 1

02-02-2011, 08:35 PM
Not totally irrelevant. I agree that it hasn't made much of a difference in the past when prices have been reduced but personally if it was a tenner to get in tonight I would be going. (As if that's going to happen!)

All depends on your reasons for not going. Mine is definitely the price.

I agree.

02-02-2011, 08:49 PM
Think you might find that average gate was down when we were in Div 1

I thought they were up,
got s couple of stats?

02-02-2011, 10:02 PM
Fine with me as long as they give me a £100 voucher off next campaign's season's ticket. My season ticket costs me £20 per game.

What about the poor guys that have already forked out for a ST?

Give them a rebate :rolleyes:

NEVER gonna get cut prices at ER at this time of the season :agree: No matter what..

It's like the Christmas sales - you might have bought something in September for £100 but come Christmas when they can't shift them all they start punting them for £50. Would you go back in to the shop to complain or ask for £50 off your next purchase?

02-02-2011, 10:04 PM
It's like the Christmas sales - you might have bought something in September for £100 but come Christmas when they can't shift them all they start punting them for £50. Would you go back in to the shop to complain or ask for £50 off your next purchase?

Aye!

02-02-2011, 10:06 PM
I agree they could lower the prices a bit especially over this vital period coming up.

Calderwood was lavish (for him) in praise of the fans tonight so how about a wee pecuniary gesture of appreciation?

02-02-2011, 10:44 PM

You have used this comparison before, but it does not have anything to do with Christmas sales..... Why should you buy a season ticket, then find out games are being discounted? I think if that where to be the case, then season ticket holders may just think twice about renewing, which would blow a hole in the summer budget......The price has been set, no decreases in gate admission should occur IMO.....

02-02-2011, 10:49 PM
You have used this comparison before, but it does not have anything to do with Christmas sales..... Why should you buy a season ticket, then find out games are being discounted? I think if that where to be the case, then season ticket holders may just think twice about renewing, which would blow a hole in the summer budget......The price has been set, no decreases in gate admission should occur IMO.....

Gimmie 9500 fans like tonight with the greetin faced moaners absent and that will do me. Walk up prices now to remain the same for me.:cool2:

02-02-2011, 10:52 PM

You need a better comparison C because that one is pish and getting a bit boring.

I offered two kids ST's on here for tonight that could have been upgraded for probably a tenner each. How many pm's did I get.........................correct ZERO

Wish folk would stop moaning about prices. If you don't want to pay then don't but stop coming on here moaning about it. It's getting right on my tits :grr:

02-02-2011, 11:04 PM
You need a better comparison C because that one is pish and getting a bit boring.

I offered two kids ST's on here for tonight that could have been upgraded for probably a tenner each. How many pm's did I get.........................correct ZERO

Wish folk would stop moaning about prices. If you don't want to pay then don't but stop coming on here moaning about it. It's getting right on my tits :grr:

Stop sitting on the fence Billy :greengrin

Wakeyhibee
02-02-2011, 11:06 PM
I go regardless. It is true that its not fair on ST's. I happen to think more people would go at 15 quid and 8 quid kids.

Would it not be better to decrease ST's by say 20% to encourage more ST's. For that to happen with alot less walk ups than ST's, we could put walk up prices up accordingly to compensate for lost ST revenue. I think this would work out at around £75 for adults and £40 for concessions. At least then walk ups like myself I add would be tempted to get an ST instead.

Seriously though dropping the price may change the attendance slightly but not enough to justify that drop in the first place ie charge £15 and £8 and you would need full houses every week to cover the revenue lost, which we all know isn't gonna happen.

02-02-2011, 11:22 PM

Maybe that was because everyone on here knows that they're non transferable :greengrin:stirrer:

I agree that the christmas sales argument doesn't really work. It is not that people would expect a refund, it is more that people would be put off buying a product that they know is soon going to be reduced. Continuing with the xmas sales example, if you bought a pair of shoes for full price and they were then reduced in the sales then the following december you needed another pair of shoes it is much more likely that you will not buy them at full price because they are likely to be reduced in the sales.

If the prices were lower I'd be temped to go(e.g. last season I had a student season ticket and if I could've got one this year I would have) but I simply can't afford to pay full price. I'm not moaning, I'm just stating a fact and it shows that prices aren't irrelevant as some suggest.

02-02-2011, 11:25 PM
Maybe that was because everyone on here knows that they're non transferable :greengrin:stirrer:

Wrong. You can take my kids ST to the ticket office and pay to upgrade the seat to an adult

03-02-2011, 07:13 AM

The summer budget's already chopped because of the Direct Debit scheme and it's lower again because of the number of folk that don't bother paying full price and getting OAP or student tickets when they don't qualify.

I agree that the christmas sales argument doesn't really work. It is not that people would expect a refund, it is more that people would be put off buying a product that they know is soon going to be reduced. Continuing with the xmas sales example, if you bought a pair of shoes for full price and they were then reduced in the sales then the following december you needed another pair of shoes it is much more likely that you will not buy them at full price because they are likely to be reduced in the sales.

Why doesn't it work though - I keep hearing it doesn't but noone says why.

As for your example - you have the option not to buy and wait for the reduced ticket (if it was to happen). It makes sense to sell the 10000 empty seats at £10-£15 instead of leaving them empty at £0, surely?!

03-02-2011, 07:16 AM

At least I've provided one - I don't get anything in reply other than "no that's not right".

Folk are more concerned about "losing out" - if you think it's worth £400, pay it and don't worry about what everyone else is getting it for.

03-02-2011, 07:49 AM

So nobody is now allowed on here to complain, rightly, about ridiculous prices for what has been football of a quite shocking standard?

gazza88
03-02-2011, 10:08 AM
Well said Steve o . All I am saying is surely for a few games it is worth trying out its not a vase of moaning obviously not every 1 can afford over 20 quid a pop.

03-02-2011, 10:35 AM
Would it not be better to decrease ST's by say 20% to encourage more ST's. For that to happen with alot less walk ups than ST's, we could put walk up prices up accordingly to compensate for lost ST revenue. I think this would work out at around £75 for adults and £40 for concessions. At least then walk ups like myself I add would be tempted to get an ST instead.

Seriously though dropping the price may change the attendance slightly but not enough to justify that drop in the first place ie charge £15 and £8 and you would need full houses every week to cover the revenue lost, which we all know isn't gonna happen.

I think the problem with this is that if someone can't afford to pay walk ups at 25 quid they're unlikely to have the money in a lump sum to buy a ST.

03-02-2011, 10:50 AM

I could have sworn we had this conversation last week.:greengrin

As I pointed out then your analogy is flawed. Season ticket sales are offered on the basis that it is cheaper to attend Easter Road over the season if you pay up front. You don't get a guarantee like that with a pair of jeans do you?

Could we just copy and paste this when it comes up again next week?

Anyway, one thing above all else gets fans in to the ground, a winning team.

03-02-2011, 11:06 AM
Just shave £100 off season ticket prices versus walk up prices get the Seasons up to 13k+ and jobs a good un. Interest free monthly payments and there really should be few excuses.

archiebald
03-02-2011, 11:50 AM
Buy a season ticket-2007 prices is a great deal :agree:

aberhibsfc
03-02-2011, 11:59 AM

I understand the logic but it wouldn't be fair on season ticket holder.

Not sure how you could appease both to encourage a full house.

Perhaps season ticket holders could get some free grub at the kiosk's or something to balance things out.

03-02-2011, 12:30 PM
I could have sworn we had this conversation last week.:greengrin

As I pointed out then your analogy is flawed. Season ticket sales are offered on the basis that it is cheaper to attend Easter Road over the season if you pay up front. You don't get a guarantee like that with a pair of jeans do you?

Could we just copy and paste this when it comes up again next week?

Anyway, one thing above all else gets fans in to the ground, a winning team.

You're right it was mentioned last week and I disagreed with you then as well. :greengrin

When I had a ST I can't rememebr the selling point being that it'll be cheaper than if you pay at the gate.

03-02-2011, 12:35 PM
Wrong. You can take my kids ST to the ticket office and pay to upgrade the seat to an adult

I never knew that. :greengrin

Why doesn't it work though - I keep hearing it doesn't but noone says why.

As for your example - you have the option not to buy and wait for the reduced ticket (if it was to happen). It makes sense to sell the 10000 empty seats at £10-£15 instead of leaving them empty at £0, surely?!

If you do that then less people will buy season tickets next year, that's why the argument doesn't work.

The cost of a season ticket should be reduced anyway so that you save more money compared to paying at the gate every game. I may be wrong but last time I looked you were losing out if you missed a game or 2.

03-02-2011, 12:53 PM
Putting aside the season ticket issues.

Lets say you have 3,000 walk up supporters paying £20 and by dropping it down to £10 you attract a further 2,000 .. the club will actually lose around £10,000.

It's also been shown that reducing prices does not attract that many more supporters. I think it's basically a case of you either want to go to the football or you don't, price isn't that big a part of the decision making.

03-02-2011, 01:08 PM
I'm now thinking that prices should increase after that display last night, :agree: and that is just fir the mid-field display :greengrin..

As many are saying, IF, you don't want to pay the going rate then, "jog on" ...

03-02-2011, 01:31 PM
I may be wrong but last time I looked you were losing out if you missed a game or 2.

bobbyhibs1983
03-02-2011, 02:22 PM
this debate happens every now and then,:greengrin
As i ve said before i think it is an idea to cut prices both st and walk up prices.My sisters and brother and I after 4years of st's just could not afford them for the last 2 years.
I think everyone agrees prices, both walk up and st prices are way high and thee is gonna be a point when many will simple say , cant afford it,witch we did.

One idea i had if hibs did reduce walk up prices is for next season st prices if you had a season ticket this season you get X amount of,though i have no idea what x,in pounds would be

03-02-2011, 02:35 PM
I may be wrong but last time I looked you were losing out if you missed a game or 2.

That's true.

A season ticket is more than just a saving on the walk up price though, it guarantees you the same seat each week as well as saving you the hassle of purchasing tickets (and booking fees).

One advantage of having the same seat every week is you get to socialise with those around you and can often strike up a bit of banter. The downside is you may be sat next to some a**eh**e, but you've always the option of moving if it's the latter. :wink:

03-02-2011, 02:54 PM
You're right it was mentioned last week and I disagreed with you then as well. :greengrin

When I had a ST I can't rememebr the selling point being that it'll be cheaper than if you pay at the gate.

Not exactly, you said they should stop saying it.:greengrin

freddie m
03-02-2011, 03:42 PM
Supporters are always generous with the clubs money drop prices here spend a million on this player there.

The facts are that clubs charge these prices because they have players, management and staff to pay. And as we all know even average players get decent cash these days. Hibs run a tight budget where outside of the TV money season ticket holders are extremely important to the cash flow during the summer months. The season ticket holder carries more importance to the club than the guy who picks and chooses his games.
The prices should not be discounted as the Ayr game highlights the crowd did not increase, and the supporters that day were probably mostly season ticket holders anyway.

Glory glory

gazza88
03-02-2011, 05:22 PM
Look. Maybe there's a better way. Something must be able to be done though. I don't agree with the 'if you don't like the price jog on' sentiment. Enticing the next generation to ER in a time when unemployment is high and the cost of living going up. Like I've said before, not everyone can, not won't, pay the admission fee or an ST.

TowerHibs
03-02-2011, 05:24 PM
Think it's a difficult one. You can't lower prices as then the wage budget would have to come down....simple as that.

However at this current time, i cannot afford to go to the football and hopefully if i play my cards right with the lady i'm with, in years to come it will only get more difficult for me to go to ER. Have had numerous ST over the years, went to every home game and missed4 away games when Mixu was in charge and it was murder.

Hibs slowly dropped down my list of priorities and now it's difficult to commit my money to them. Sign of the times and what happens when women get involved :grr::grr::grr:

03-02-2011, 05:26 PM
Look. Maybe there's a better way. Something must be able to be done though. I don't agree with the 'if you don't like the price jog on' sentiment. Enticing the next generation to ER in a time when unemployment is high and the cost of living going up. Like I've said before, not everyone can, not won't, pay the admission fee or an ST.

Until wages go down across the board, no, not much can be done. Family pricing is already generous. The average punter it was said recently pays something daft like below £15 a game.

gazza88
03-02-2011, 05:30 PM
Until wages go down across the board, no, not much can be done. Family pricing is already generous. The average punter it was said recently pays something daft like below £15 a game.

True enough.
I just long for the day we can fill ER. :greengrin

03-02-2011, 05:31 PM
True enough.
I just long for the day we can fill ER. :greengrin

If the team goes on a winning run we will. That's the bottom line.

gazza88
03-02-2011, 05:36 PM
If the team goes on a winning run we will. That's the bottom line.

I hope your right. when we eventually d:flag:o it will be superb

NYHibby
03-02-2011, 06:21 PM
Wikipeidia economics lesson of the day: Football tickets are generally inelastic goods.

"When the price elasticity of demand for a good is relatively inelastic (- 1 < Ed < 0), the percentage change in quantity demanded is smaller than that in price. Hence, when the price is raised, the total revenue rises, and vice versa."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Price_elasticity_of_demand#Effect_on_total_revenue

As other posters have said above, when Hibs lower ticket prices, total revenue decreases.

jakki
03-02-2011, 08:12 PM
Rod wants "bums on seats" but he doesn't help the cause.

I can only go to ER when the weather is not so cold and my arthriritc knees and hips don't freeze up.I have to have a helper to help me up the stairs and so I need to buy 2 tickets. My helper is a good Hibee but as he's on a low wage and supporting a family, I buy his football ticket. Me, I am an OAP getting the basic, same as a male OAP but he gets in cheaper than me.

I will not go on about the problems I have had about securing of my mobility scooter at ER but I can say that for over a year, the problem has not been resolved. even though I brought up the subject in BTGs in September and he has my email address

Is this the actions of someone wanting bums on seats? There could be, ok only 2, more fans in the ground in the slightly better weather but Hibs policy does not allow it.

Joe Baker II
04-02-2011, 11:32 AM
That's true.

A season ticket is more than just a saving on the walk up price though, it guarantees you the same seat each week as well as saving you the hassle of purchasing tickets (and booking fees).

:

Problem is though the more people who buy season tickets it just encourages clubs to then arrange games at absurd times having then taken money from ST buyers - the main reason I gave mine up. And I have no desire whatsoever to have the same seat each game!!

And given I had no problem getting ticket for New Years Day at Tynecastle or Ibrox game, and ER has never been close to increased capacity (even in Mowbray era we never close to 17,000 fans in Hibs areas of ER at a home game, I think closest we got was 14,000 V Gretna and Dundee United) that removes another incentive to get one.

To the clubs credit the new stand makes paying at the gate much less hassle this season either - have never had to queue yet in 4 home games this season which was one reason for buying ST in old East Stand. Hope this does not give Petrie ideas!

04-02-2011, 02:57 PM
Problem is though the more people who buy season tickets it just encourages clubs to then arrange games at absurd times having then taken money from ST buyers - the main reason I gave mine up. And I have no desire whatsoever to have the same seat each game!!

And given I had no problem getting ticket for New Years Day at Tynecastle or Ibrox game, and ER has never been close to increased capacity (even in Mowbray era we never close to 17,000 fans in Hibs areas of ER at a home game, I think closest we got was 14,000 V Gretna and Dundee United) that removes another incentive to get one.

To the clubs credit the new stand makes paying at the gate much less hassle this season either - have never had to queue yet in 4 home games this season which was one reason for buying ST in old East Stand. Hope this does not give Petrie ideas!

You seriously think the clubs arrange game kick offs based on season ticket sales??
Tv companies dictate stupid kick off times. Clubs agree on the basis of the wonga the TV companies cough up to televise them. There is no other reason. Why would they change the time to stupid o'clock on a Sunday? Walk ups would just watch on the TV depriving the club of gate money.

04-02-2011, 03:19 PM
Watching football is getting more expensive without a doubt and everyone will have their own judgement as to what is affordable.

Hibs have a lot of "out of town supporters" and when you factor in things such as the ever rising cost of fuel then I'm not surprised that attendances are being hit.

04-02-2011, 03:21 PM

gazza88
04-02-2011, 05:52 PM
Watching football is getting more expensive without a doubt and everyone will have their own judgement as to what is affordable.

Hibs have a lot of "out of town supporters" and when you factor in things such as the ever rising cost of fuel then I'm not surprised that attendances are being hit.

I agree with you this is what I am getting at.

1875godsgift
04-02-2011, 06:01 PM
I think one of the best ways to get increase attendance without alienating ST holders is to offer tickets to local schools, youth groups, community organisations,charities etc.
Hopefully encourages people who might not otherwise get a chance to attend to come along and enjoy the experience, and come back again, with their family or friends.
Also may result in more life-long Hibbys if we get them young enough!

04-02-2011, 06:02 PM
I think we spend too much on football, but I don't think cheap admission necessarily leads to more people going to games.

NYHibby
04-02-2011, 07:31 PM
I think one of the best ways to get increase attendance without alienating ST holders is to offer tickets to local schools, youth groups, community organisations,charities etc.
Hopefully encourages people who might not otherwise get a chance to attend to come along and enjoy the experience, and come back again, with their family or friends.
Also may result in more life-long Hibbys if we get them young enough!

When I worked for a football (soccer) team in America, this was the kind of thing we did to attract new fans. Worked fairly well.

heidtheba
04-02-2011, 07:36 PM
Just to throw this into the mix, I'm a teacher and back in 99/00 (I think it was then) we had a bundle of promotional material come in from Sunderland FC which included cut price tickets, seriously cut price tickets...and that was to a school in Edinburgh.

I think now would be a great time to cut prices for tickets, not just to get more 'atmosphere' but consider this...I don't know of many people who went to a football match as a kid and then changed to 'supporting' another Scottish team. It seemed that once you went to a game then that was the team you supported, for better or worse. Maybe this is the time when you get new fans in who see just how they can lift a team and really be an interactive element in a way you can't get by sitting watching a match at home.

04-02-2011, 09:23 PM
Maybe not on this thread but on other similar ones here in recent years , it`s been said that reducing prices won`t mean crowds will go up with Motherwell always being used as proof - pretty sure Motherwell got crowds of about 6000 when they cut prices which was significantly more than they were getting before so argument was not realy settled . All over Europe , clubs have same problem when they have relegation threat or just want to get bigger crowds - how to raise crowds without STHs getting annoyed and usual solution is to offer STHs free or reduced price tickets for their friends ( and / or other benefits - cheap merchandise for example ) plus free / cheap tickets for kids , pensioners ... With so many seats in stadium , think it`s time for marketing department ( Do we have one ? ) to do more to fill stadium with walk up fans now and next season - regulars , locals , students , immigrants , overseas fans , school groups , overseas fans interested in our history , unemployed , clubs of other sports , tourists , etc etc

04-02-2011, 09:24 PM
... With so many seats in stadium , think it`s time for marketing department ( Do we have one ? ) to do more to fill stadium with walk up fans now and next season - regulars , locals , students , immigrants , overseas fans , school groups , overseas fans interested in our history , unemployed , clubs of other sports , tourists , etc etc

As long as they are on the database :wink:

04-02-2011, 09:35 PM
I think we spend too much on football, but I don't think cheap admission necessarily leads to more people going to games.

This exactly the point. If we charged £10 a game we'd be paying the same wages as Stirling Albion and Arbroath. They don't play in front of huge crowds for a reason.

1875godsgift
04-02-2011, 10:36 PM
Just to throw this into the mix, I'm a teacher and back in 99/00 (I think it was then) we had a bundle of promotional material come in from Sunderland FC which included cut price tickets, seriously cut price tickets...and that was to a school in Edinburgh.

I think now would be a great time to cut prices for tickets, not just to get more 'atmosphere' but consider this...I don't know of many people who went to a football match as a kid and then changed to 'supporting' another Scottish team. It seemed that once you went to a game then that was the team you supported, for better or worse. Maybe this is the time when you get new fans in who see just how they can lift a team and really be an interactive element in a way you can't get by sitting watching a match at home.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110204/family-fun-day_2262950_2285570

Good initiative here from Hibs, hopefully see a few more in!

:flag::flag::flag::flag:

EasterRoad94
04-02-2011, 11:47 PM

I definately agree with this!
there are people who want to go but simply cant afford to, if the prices were lowered then most definately more people would go and the atmosphere would be ten times better.Perhaps then the team might feel a little more motivated.
Yeah the quality of the team itself needs improved but they need to know that people can still come and support them!

04-02-2011, 11:57 PM
there are people who want to go but simply cant afford to, if the prices were lowered then most definately more people would go and the atmosphere would be ten times better.Perhaps then the team might feel a little more motivated.
Yeah the quality of the team itself needs improved but they need to know that people can still come and support them!

The stumbling block will always be that it's not fair on the folk who have purchased season tickets in advance. If Hibs start to reduce walk up prices it would make ST holders think twice about paying up front. With ER's increased capacity it's no longer a problem getting in for any matches including category A.

There's got to be a solution but I've no idea what it is.

gazza88
05-02-2011, 01:08 AM
I think the idea of schools and other locals has some substance. This really should be debated by the board. If they insist on a large ground then surely its their duty to help fill it? :flag:

05-02-2011, 06:49 AM

Lowering prices has not made a significant improvement in attendances elsewhere.
The atmosphere was pretty good the other night with a less than full house wasn't it?
So not really 'most definitely.'
If you want the quality of the team to improve it costs. Lowering incomes ain't going to help on that front

05-02-2011, 08:11 AM
£22 for an adult and two kids under 15 for the Killie game.

That's a cracking offer.

I'm expecting a sell out. :wink:

05-02-2011, 08:12 AM

It was only £15/£10 for the Ayr cup game.

Most definitely people still didn't turn up.

gazza88
15-02-2011, 03:39 PM
There was a better crowd at the Killie game. Think this was as a result of the adult and 2 under 15's deal?

15-02-2011, 05:13 PM
Better team on the park is THE way to drive up crowds but the fact remains that Hibs' support has been reasonably static over the years (although I believe the trend over time is largely positive).

Lowering ticket prices is not the answer as it has been proven to consistently fail to increase attendances enough to compensate.

A competitive team in a competitive league is the answer...however Hibs only have control over half of that (and canne even do that bit right most of the time!)