31-01-2011, 09:51 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110131/striker-signs_2262950_2281436

phew, least one striker in, now another would be sweet

31-01-2011, 09:54 PM
Fingers crossed on this guy...

Niffy
No updates for most of the night then a special "Striker Signs" one.

I think the club's out to pacify us.

Welcome anyway gadgey.

Welcome .............. Sodje:thumbsup:

More please Rodders .............................. :agree:

fife hfc
31-01-2011, 09:56 PM
Wow totally underwhelmed! But good luck.

31-01-2011, 09:56 PM
Hmmm, hope he turns out to be a great signing, 14 goals in one season, I wonder what the rest of the seasons were like.

31-01-2011, 09:57 PM
Welcome and good luck, Akpo :aok:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110131/striker-signs_2262950_2281436

phew, least one striker in, now another would be sweet

TBH i'm quite pleased, i wanted someone experienced and i wanted someone with a more physical side to there game, think i also read earlier that he was quite quick as well.

I'm not about to start claiming he'll be the next big thing but they are attributes that i think we've been missing so while although he's not scored a huge amount of goals, hopefully he'll be able to hold the ball up better and bring the midfield and riordan into the game.

If we can get a defender as well i'll be delighted with this transfer window.

I'm sure he'll be thrilled if he's reading the comments.

SneakersO'Toole
31-01-2011, 09:58 PM
Give the guy a chance FFS.

Guarentee he'll be 10x better than Nish

31-01-2011, 09:58 PM
Hmmm, hope he turns out to be a great signing, 14 goals in one season, I wonder what the rest of the seasons were like.

Yea, thought that myself when I read the article on fishy site.

Really hope he turns out to be good. :pray:

31-01-2011, 09:59 PM
Welcome .............. Sodje:thumbsup:

More please Rodders .............................. :agree:

Hope I.m wrong but think that's us done now, CC stated he hoped one more to sign and since then we have signed Divas [keeper - on loan] and now this striker. Really cant see anyone else coming, just need a few [ Rankin, Nish to name a few] to go and keep a hold of Deek.

31-01-2011, 09:59 PM
If he stays on his feet, the ball sticks and can fight his way out a wet paper bag he will do for me.

TBH i'm quite pleased, i wanted someone experienced and i wanted someone with a more physical side to there game, think i also read earlier that he was quite quick as well.

I'm not about to start claiming he'll be the next big thing but they are attributes that i think we've been missing so while although he's not scored a huge amount of goals, hopefully he'll be able to hold the ball up better and bring the midfield and riordan into the game.

If we can get a defender as well i'll be delighted with this transfer window.

Cheshire Hibee
31-01-2011, 10:00 PM
Not convinced but i'll wait to see!! If we get another striker alongside i'll be happy.:thumbsup:

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=7757548209

sunshine1875

Goals record in this link:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akpo_Sodje

Bob Box Fish
31-01-2011, 10:01 PM
Cant say i'm thrilled but cant be any worse than Nish . . .

E10 Rifle
:boo hoo: Utter gash

Hope I.m wrong but think that's done now, CC stated he hoped one more to sign and since then we have signed Divas [keeper - on loan] and now this striker. Really cant see anyone else coming, just need a few [ Rankin, Nish to name a few] to go and keep a hold of Deek.

I still think we will release a goalie.

31-01-2011, 10:02 PM
Hmmm the Charlton fans seem to be quite pleased about this...fingers crossed they are as daft as us!!!:wink:

Good Luck big man!

31-01-2011, 10:03 PM
What is encouraging about this is that it looks like the signing of a player that CC has wanted so it can be vuewed as asked for and got.

steviecarnie
31-01-2011, 10:04 PM

he makes collins six pack look like a podge
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=20484671084&set=o.7757548209

mr mojo risin
31-01-2011, 10:05 PM
Happy with the signing, bit of an unknown name. 30 years old (experienced) 6ft 2 CF is what we have been crying out for. Another couple of signings would do nicely

Greenblood70
I've been pleased wi the quality of our other signings so far but I'm afraid I'm underwhelmed by this. Reeks of our bottom of the barrel scraping again.

Hibee_Lisa

:eek: :thumbsup:

blindsummit
31-01-2011, 10:06 PM
is this perhaps a Plan B signing, as our Plan A striker bid didn't make it?

31-01-2011, 10:08 PM

See the pics of him in there!!

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?op=1&view=all&subj=7757548209&aid=-1&pid=887355&id=717610147&oid=7757548209

****in hell!

31-01-2011, 10:08 PM
Welcome aboard Sodje :aok:..Please get the goals and get us out this mess.

Im away to watch Gary tank commander now.

31-01-2011, 10:09 PM
Was doing well at Sheff Wed by all accounts and quite well rated before injury. Never worked out for him at Charlton but I am cautiously optimistic.

31-01-2011, 10:09 PM
He's turned 32 today. I'm sure he's had better birthdays.......

Welcome to Hibernian, Sodje.

As for you, Petrie, sod ye.

More required.

31-01-2011, 10:10 PM
he'll be better than Nish..welcome to the Hibees!

Not sure he'll be our answer for scoring goals but he might be the battering RAM we need to create goals for the other players in the team.

Now all we need is a 6ft 4 centrehalf and maybe another striker and we're off on the charge for top 6....
30pts to play for before the break... 27pts of them easily winable (not sure we'd get much change at Celtic)

31-01-2011, 10:11 PM
http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/comments.php?DiscussionID=39420&page=2

not strictly true that none of the charlton fans rate him, would say the majority on there thought he was worth keeping.

Also pleased to hear he's the sort of player that'll run himself into the ground and that most people only had positive things to say about his attitude, thats exactly what the clubs been crying out for.

31-01-2011, 10:12 PM
is this perhaps a Plan B signing, as our Plan A striker bid didn't make it?more like plan D or E

I've been quite pleased with the other signings, think this one comes from nearer the bottom of the barrel TBH.

I guess we'll find out soon enough.

Welcome..

Score goals and we will love you...

Simple..

p.s - if you are a wage thief - you will get booed :greengrin

He seems to be our 4th choice after Rooney, Bogdanovic and Griffiths.

However, if he does the things a 6ft+ stiker is required to do, such as challenge effectively in the air, head the ball on for a fellow player several times, and not fall over at the slightest touch, along with have a relatively good scoring rate when clean through on goal, we're onto a winner. Or at least have a better player than Nish. :cool2:

Highland Hibee
A bit of info on him from the ever reliable Wikipedia:

LINK ALREADY POSTED, THINGS ARE MOVING QUICK TODAY ;)

http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/comments.php?DiscussionID=39420&page=2

not strictly true that none of the charlton fans rate him, would say the majority on there thought he was worth keeping.

Also pleased to hear he's the sort of player that'll run himself into the ground and that most people only had positive things to say about his attitude, thats exactly what the clubs been crying out for.

31-01-2011, 10:15 PM
Welcome to the Hibbies Big man, prepared to give the guy a chance to impress before leaping in, might be what we need, but would like to have seen a few more going the other way to fund at least another striker and CH. I know a Charlton ST holder and a couple of other fans through work, will go info gathering tomorrow.

31-01-2011, 10:16 PM
"A journeyman player, his two years at Sheffield Wednesday is the longest he has spent at one club."

Good luck mate but dont think he will be here next season 7 well spread out goals in vital games will do.

erskine-hibby
31-01-2011, 10:16 PM
Welcome to Hibernian Sodje

No matter what happens we will still Sodjer on:offski:

31-01-2011, 10:21 PM
Sick of this website, these days.

Welcome big yin.

31-01-2011, 10:21 PM
This taken from charlton fans website

LargeAddick CommentTime3 days ago # 54
look I'll admit he's always given 100% and admire him for that and wish him all the best elsewhere BUT he's still crap.

looks like he is a trier but not much else.

31-01-2011, 10:25 PM
Welcome tae the Hibs mate. 2 Goals on Wednesday to start with please:greengrin

Bob Box Fish
31-01-2011, 10:26 PM
Text my mate who's a sheff wed season ticket holder and he says he's a big strong player and if fit should do awrite in Scotland. Apparently was injured a lot at sw.

31-01-2011, 10:30 PM

look I'll admit he's always given 100% and admire him for that and wish him all the best elsewhere BUT he's still crap.

Plenty on the Charlton site who disagree with at least the sentiment of that post.

If the guy does give 100% then he will do for me in the current situation. Better a tryer scoring a goal every 4 games than a lanky waste of space who couldnae hit a coos erse with a banjo and is bloody slower than me.

Twiglet
31-01-2011, 10:31 PM
Welcome to Hibs Sodje, and happy 30th birthday. Hope signing for us was an ok way spend your birthday.

31-01-2011, 10:32 PM
Plenty on the Charlton site who disagree with at least the sentiment of that post.

If the guy does give 100% then he will do for me in the current situation. Better a tryer scoring a goal every 4 games than a lanky waste of space who couldnae hit a coos erse with a banjo and is bloody slower than me.

Plus from looking at his Facebook page i'd be absolutely amazed if he gets chucked aboot like Nish does.

31-01-2011, 10:32 PM
Boom Boom Boom let me hear you say Sodje, Sodje :greengrin

Written off already, deary me :na na:

Gie the fellie a chance

31-01-2011, 10:33 PM

He looks like an athlete anyway :greengrin

31-01-2011, 10:34 PM
Welcome :thumbsup:

houston1875
31-01-2011, 10:36 PM
Dundee Utd look to Europe and Ajax youth's,so why can't we search Europe ,there scouting network must be a busy bunch,what are ours up too?? I mean we found zouma,benji etc not the normal kind of players you'd find in spl?

Plus is it true,we can't even compete with the financial clout of clubs in the Conference leagues down in England? I'm no asking for drogba but surely hfc can attract better than this?

31-01-2011, 10:39 PM
Player of the Year 2007 at Port Vale. Great!

He sounds like a bit of a character. He's certainly been the rounds.

31-01-2011, 10:40 PM
Player of the Year 2007 at Port Vale. Great!

He sounds like a bit of a character. He's certainly been the rounds.

I guess we've been crying out for a target man type and he looks pretty well equipped to fit the bill :thumbsup:

31-01-2011, 10:41 PM
Welcome big guy :aok:

nortonhibby
31-01-2011, 10:43 PM

so we got a crap trier:confused: in CC We trust, this is all going to go wrong RP is to blame for this mess why did we not get Paw Broon ?

31-01-2011, 10:49 PM
Dear Sodje,

Welcome to Hibs, I am sure you are what we have been crying out for, rest assured you will have the support of the vast majority of fans from the off - please excuse some of the muppets on here writting off a player none of them had even heard of before this morning. There second, third choice chat is borne out of the fact they are not only living on another planet but also dont seem to realise it is hibs they are supporting.

On a positive note, some of you can just look away now, if the comments from other sites are correct then we look like we have a striker that is decent in the air, can strike a ball from outside of the box ensuring it finds its way between the sticks, and even more rare for a current hibs striker, they will actually chase the ball into the corner make a bit of space for the rest of the team.

I think this is very good news and I am looking forward to wednesday even more now.

Hibstrooper
31-01-2011, 10:54 PM
He's got a better record and pedigree than Courier and a lot of people would have happily taken him back. Sounds a fairly similar player too - big guy who gives 100% every game. I think he'll do alright:aok:

31-01-2011, 10:56 PM
if its his birthday, i might head up george st and buy him a mineral water:wink:

31-01-2011, 10:58 PM
Any Hibs related Facebook statues?

31-01-2011, 11:06 PM
Dear Sodje,

Welcome to Hibs, I am sure you are what we have been crying out for, rest assured you will have the support of the vast majority of fans from the off - please excuse some of the muppets on here writting off a player none of them had even heard of before this morning. There second, third choice chat is borne out of the fact they are not only living on another planet but also dont seem to realise it is hibs they are supporting.

On a positive note, some of you can just look away now, if the comments from other sites are correct then we look like we have a striker that is decent in the air, can strike a ball from outside of the box ensuring it finds its way between the sticks, and even more rare for a current hibs striker, they will actually chase the ball into the corner make a bit of space for the rest of the team.

I think this is very good news and I am looking forward to wednesday even more now.

You are the biggest one.

London Hibee
31-01-2011, 11:11 PM
........and we already have a classic song for him. A reworking of the Hollies classic

"He's not Efe, ........he's his brother" :cool2:

31-01-2011, 11:12 PM

Don't forget the 18 he scored in just 21 appearances for Erith & Belvedere in the Southern League Division One East in 2003-04. :greengrin

So we become the 12th club in Sodje's varied career - good luck to the lad at Easter Road, he'll need it!

31-01-2011, 11:16 PM
He looks like an athlete anyway :greengrin

Athlete? Built like a brick whotsit, more like.

He's got muscles on his muscles.

Collins wouldn't have been showing off his six-pack if this bloke had been at ER.

He seems to be a handy big guy who looks after himself (nobody gets abs like that chasing the bevvy); he seems to be one who gives 100% and can hold up the ball.

And a worker - so maybe he can persuade some of the slackers to put their backs into their work.

Not first choice, maybe, but sounds a handy citizen to have on the premises.

Welcome aboard, big yin! :devil:

31-01-2011, 11:24 PM
He might not be the most prolific but at least it sounds like he'll put a shift in which is more than can be said for nish, might work well with deek :dunno:

http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/comments.php?DiscussionID=39420&page=1

31-01-2011, 11:25 PM
You are the biggest one.

Yet another educated debate started by you.

If you have no interest in what I say dont bother your erse to reply, believe me it will be no skin of my nose, there is never an ounce of substance to what you say anyway.

Scurry along.

Wakeyhibee
31-01-2011, 11:26 PM
Didn't turn pro until late in his career. Looking at his record at Huddersfield, to be fair to him he wouldn't have got a look in whilst Andy Booth and Pawell Abbot were there both of which were fans favorites established goalscorers when he landed.

On what hibs are prepared to pay I think he can do a job for us with his strength something we don't have up front.

Welcome to Hibs Akpo.

BTW if his brother Efe had been a few years younger I'd have taken him as well unfortunately best days behind him now.

31-01-2011, 11:51 PM
he should be fine as long as he doesnt get left up front on his own all the time. Could be deeks ideal partner...welcome to hibs ye big sod je

31-01-2011, 11:56 PM
more like plan D or E

I've been quite pleased with the other signings, think this one comes from nearer the bottom of the barrel TBH.

I guess we'll find out soon enough.he does wear a nice wristband though:wink:

01-02-2011, 12:02 AM
What is encouraging about this is that it looks like the signing of a player that CC has wanted so it can be vuewed as asked for and got.

Are you serious:confused:

Last minute desperation more like.

01-02-2011, 12:05 AM
I'm happy enough with this signing. It was starting to look like we wouldn't sign anybody else. We've been in desperate need of a target man for years and although he might not be the long term answer, hopefully he can do the simple things well. If he can hold the ball up and win a few headers he will already be a lot more useful than Nish at the moment.

I disagree with folk saying we needed to sign another striker though - if Sodje can do his job then Riordan will start scoring again, and maybe Duffy, Nish and the midfield will as well.

Now let's hope there is a good out of contract CB that we can get hold of very soon as well. The Scandavian season is over at the moment so I wonder if anybody decent is available from up there?

01-02-2011, 12:07 AM
Didn't turn pro until late in his career. Looking at his record at Huddersfield, to be fair to him he wouldn't have got a look in whilst Andy Booth and Pawell Abbot were there both of which were fans favorites established goalscorers when he landed.

On what hibs are prepared to pay I think he can do a job for us with his strength something we don't have up front.

Welcome to Hibs Akpo.

BTW if his brother Efe had been a few years younger I'd have taken him as well unfortunately best days behind him now.

We were linked with him around about 2005 I think. I wanted us to sign him - good hair as well!

01-02-2011, 12:10 AM
getting ridiculous on this site now, everyone was coomplaining we hadn't signed a striker then when we do actually get one people are complaining about him when chances are theyve never seen a game hes played before? unbelievable.:rolleyes:

01-02-2011, 12:14 AM
........and we already have a classic song for him. A reworking of the Hollies classic

"He's not Efe, ........he's his brother" :cool2:or, there was a sodje, a Hibee sodje,he scores goals far away:singing: well,if he get's one on Wednesday that will do for a start. he looks just what's required at the mo,tae get f/kin stuck in! take nae prisoners Sodjer

01-02-2011, 12:50 AM
so we got a crap trier:confused: in CC We trust, this is all going to go wrong RP is to blame for this mess why did we not get Paw Broon ?

Awe, frig that for a gemme o' Sodjes

01-02-2011, 01:17 AM
Welcome :thumbsup:

calumb
01-02-2011, 01:25 AM
Although he does not appear to be the inspirational signing we all hoped for, he may be the answer to all our problems as 2 of our best performances of the season were the 3-0 game at ibrox and the following game against motherwell. These were the games that we managed to get Trakys fit for, so maybe all we need is to have a big strong forward causing chaos with the opposing defense and we are sorted. Judging by what the Charlton fans are saying thats exactly what we've just got.
I live in hope anyway.

7 Up
01-02-2011, 01:28 AM
Having read the comments from some Charlton fans, it seems he's somewhat limited and not exactly what you would call a finesse player. Despite that, most have good things to say about his work ethic and general attitude.

Let's wait and see what he has to offer.

01-02-2011, 01:52 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=viyvM4whlbw

Scores the 1st goal here :greengrin

calumb
01-02-2011, 01:56 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=viyvM4whlbw

Scores the 1st goal here :greengrin

The keeper was doing a fair Simon Brown impression for that goal

RMG_82
01-02-2011, 03:51 AM
Un-inspiring signing. He's had more clubs than tiger woods so he's either a trouble maker or likes a signing on fee.

The whole point of being called a striker is that you strike goals.... something hibs havent done enough of this season.

He's got a crap goals to game ratio playing for crap teams. Another donkey like Donaldson.

A panic buy. He wont be at hibs in a years time.

Petrie you're a ballbag

01-02-2011, 04:00 AM
People wanted Kevin Kyle before the Yams Signed Him. His goal scoring record is no worse than his at a similar level. Everyone had written off Kyle before he came back to Scotland. So maybe this guy just needs the right blend of players around him and who's to say we don't have that. I also think Deek will be really pleased to have a more mobile physical presence around him.:flag::flag: GGTTH Keep the Faith

01-02-2011, 07:54 AM

Do you really have to cut and paste one of the negative comments :rolleyes:

Why not give one the the good few decent posts about him a go :bitchy:

01-02-2011, 07:57 AM
Un-inspiring signing. He's had more clubs than tiger woods so he's either a trouble maker or likes a signing on fee.

The whole point of being called a striker is that you strike goals.... something hibs havent done enough of this season.

He's got a crap goals to game ratio playing for crap teams. Another donkey like Donaldson.

A panic buy. He wont be at hibs in a years time.

Petrie you're a ballbag

Ah, gie it a rest ya plank :bitchy:

Dr Jimmy
01-02-2011, 09:17 AM
Spoken to a few guys at work who know him, Port Vale fan, Bristol Rovers fan, Norwich fan.

Their quotes ranged from;

1. "he's a big unit"
2. "he doesn't half put himself about"
3. "couldn't hit a barn door with a shovel"
4. "he's getting on a bit, but should do a job for you"
5. "it's other players around him that benefit from his work"
6. "he's one of these (Heskey type) forwards that doesn't score goals"
Some positives, some negatives, but their words not mine.

We have a problem with the ball going forward and coming straight back again, hopefully he will help it stick up front and bring Riordan and other into the game.

By the way, they raved about Nathan Tyson and said he would have been a great signing.

01-02-2011, 09:53 AM
After reading some of the Charlton fan's comments about him, they vary from good/honest/workhorse/important goals/etc.

So ok, he may not be the 20+ scorer we all wanted but remember guyswe already have a 20+ goalscorer in the team, his name is Derek Riordan. What this team has been crying out for has been a big strong target man, who could hold the ball up and bring other into play around him. If at the same time he can get a few goals into the bargain all the better but surely we need someone to do the donkey work for Riordan and Duffy, not like Nish who's either offside/on his erse/fouling/moaning. Trakys was obviously brought in by Yogi to do the job but is always injured or just another crap signing, Sodje has a proven track record in Championship and League 1 level( remember guys League 1 in England is probably better than 7/10 clubs in the SPL )

Here's some positive Charlton fans comments

CommentAuthorOff_it (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/account.php?u=122)
CommentTime3 days ago
# 51 (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/?CommentID=865407)
He was absolutely fantastic against Swindon when we were down to 9 men. Chased his own flick ons and single handedly kept the whole of their back four occupied for the second half.

But hey, let's slag off another of our own again.

Good luck to the fella. I've watched plenty of strikers seemingly not give a **** over the years whilst pocketing our hard earned (Marcus Bent anyone?) but Akpo has never given any less than 100%. For that reason alone he's alright by me.

Oggy Red (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/account.php?u=135)
CommentTime3 days ago
# 53 (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/?CommentID=865411)
Agreed. Never really got a fair chance.
Whatever his limitations, he's always tried to play to his strengths. And bust a gut doing so.

For that reason he's alright by me, too.

CommentAuthorsam3110 (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/account.php?u=2566)
CommentTime3 days ago

# 58 (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/?CommentID=865571) I liked Sodje, his willingness to run, and his amazing ability to take about 6 strides for every man's 20 will stick in my mind. People seem to forget he has scored a couple of game winning goals since being here, and though he's not the most natural footballer I'd rather have one Akpo Sodje than 3 Marcus Bents.

DartfordAddick (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/account.php?u=2723)
CommentTime3 days ago # 61 (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/?CommentID=865739) As long as a player gives 100% as often as possible, (as others have said) it's fine by me.
Maybe not the most talented, but he did give 100% more often than not, scored some great important goals for us and nearly scored 2 at spurs.
Good luck Akpo, personally I'll miss ya, but much better for you to be playing more I guess.

01-02-2011, 10:00 AM
Yet another educated debate started by you.

If you have no interest in what I say dont bother your erse to reply, believe me it will be no skin of my nose, there is never an ounce of substance to what you say anyway.

Scurry along.

Calling some of our fans muppet, just because you disagree with them. Now that's not very educated now is it?:kettle:

01-02-2011, 10:06 AM
Calling some of our fans muppet, just because you disagree with them. Now that's not very educated now is it?:kettle:

G, this guy's a knob, he argues with almost everyone on this forum, don't give him the time of day. Do what I do now, read his posts, then have a good chuckle to myself knowing the fact that he's a knob end, that gets me through the rest of the day.:greengrin

John_the_angus_hibby
01-02-2011, 10:08 AM
After reading some of the Charlton fan's comments about him, they vary from good/honest/workhorse/important goals/etc.

So ok, he may not be the 20+ scorer we all wanted but remember guyswe already have a 20+ goalscorer in the team, his name is Derek Riordan. What this team has been crying out for has been a big strong target man, who could hold the ball up and bring other into play around him. If at the same time he can get a few goals into the bargain all the better but surely we need someone to do the donkey work for Riordan and Duffy, not like Nish who's either offside/on his erse/fouling/moaning. Trakys was obviously brought in by Yogi to do the job but is always injured or just another crap signing, Sodje has a proven track record in Championship and League 1 level( remember guys League 1 in England is probably better than 7/10 clubs in the SPL )

Here's some positive Charlton fans comments

CommentAuthorOff_it (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/account.php?u=122)
CommentTime3 days ago
# 51 (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/?CommentID=865407)
He was absolutely fantastic against Swindon when we were down to 9 men. Chased his own flick ons and single handedly kept the whole of their back four occupied for the second half.

But hey, let's slag off another of our own again.

Good luck to the fella. I've watched plenty of strikers seemingly not give a **** over the years whilst pocketing our hard earned (Marcus Bent anyone?) but Akpo has never given any less than 100%. For that reason alone he's alright by me.

Oggy Red (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/account.php?u=135)
CommentTime3 days ago
# 53 (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/?CommentID=865411)
Agreed. Never really got a fair chance.
Whatever his limitations, he's always tried to play to his strengths. And bust a gut doing so.

For that reason he's alright by me, too.

CommentAuthorsam3110 (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/account.php?u=2566)
CommentTime3 days ago

# 58 (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/?CommentID=865571) I liked Sodje, his willingness to run, and his amazing ability to take about 6 strides for every man's 20 will stick in my mind. People seem to forget he has scored a couple of game winning goals since being here, and though he's not the most natural footballer I'd rather have one Akpo Sodje than 3 Marcus Bents.

DartfordAddick (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/account.php?u=2723)
CommentTime3 days ago # 61 (http://www.charltonlife.com/forum/?CommentID=865739) As long as a player gives 100% as often as possible, (as others have said) it's fine by me.
Maybe not the most talented, but he did give 100% more often than not, scored some great important goals for us and nearly scored 2 at spurs.
Good luck Akpo, personally I'll miss ya, but much better for you to be playing more I guess.

Thanks for that. He sounds like exactly what we need. It's easy to pick negative quotes to support a message of general doom. To me it's now either yer with us or against us. If I hear one boo on Wed I'm turning around and lamping him!

01-02-2011, 10:15 AM
G, this guy's a knob, he argues with almost everyone on this forum, don't give him the time of day. Do what I do now, read his posts, then have a good chuckle to myself knowing the fact that he's a knob end, that gets me through the rest of the day.:greengrin

Cannae help myself. :wink:

01-02-2011, 10:26 AM

Cannae help myself. :wink:

01-02-2011, 12:22 PM
Welcome to the Hibees Akpo - hope you go on to enjoy great success here.

Looking on the Charlton forum he seems to be a determined and tenacious player (which is a good combo with a 6'2" frame) although technically limited.

This comment made me LOL from McLovin...

"Fairwell sweet clumsy prince. Whenever I see someone blundering through something and injuring themself in the process, I shall think of you. " :greengrin

And in the interest of balance a more sensible one from Pilchard...

"Totally agree, I have never had a problem with Akpo, a very honest player who works his balls off for the team, not the worst goals per game ratio either. Maybe he lacks a little finesse but when it comes to problem making Akpo is quality, he is 30 times the player Useless Bent was. I will be very sorry to see him go and wish him all the best wherever he turns up."

He seems to have developed a bit of a cult following down the road - seems to be a real workhorse which will hopefully work well alongside the likes of Deeks who can provide the finesse - cautiously optimistic.

01-02-2011, 06:36 PM

See my post above, I nearly never posted this, :duck: but here's the view of a Charlton ST holder I respect pasted below. The guy follows us as his team in Scotland.

but I fear I may well ruin your day if what you are looking for is a big, aggressive striker, that will torment defences and score you at least 15-20 goals a season….
What in fact Hibs have signed is a supposed striker, who is lazy and when he does challenge for the ball either does so half heartedly or gives away a free kick. You think with his size he'll be a great target man and win loads of headers……well, if you get a chance to see him play you'll see what I mean.

Sorry for the bad news - he seems like a nice lad, so I actually hope he does well for you, but on past performances I fear you have signed a bomb scare…..Delighted to rub his nose in it if he is wrong, new start, freash challenge and all that.

01-02-2011, 06:41 PM
See my post above, I nearly never posted this, :duck: but here's the view of a Charlton ST holder I respect pasted below. The guy follows us as his team in Scotland.

but I fear I may well ruin your day if what you are looking for is a big, aggressive striker, that will torment defences and score you at least 15-20 goals a season….
What in fact Hibs have signed is a supposed striker, who is lazy and when he does challenge for the ball either does so half heartedly or gives away a free kick. You think with his size he'll be a great target man and win loads of headers……well, if you get a chance to see him play you'll see what I mean.

Sorry for the bad news - he seems like a nice lad, so I actually hope he does well for you, but on past performances I fear you have signed a bomb scare…..Delighted to rub his nose in it if he is wrong, new start, freash challenge and all that.

Thank god for that, with Bamba away we get to keep that quote on hibs.net.

01-02-2011, 06:42 PM

Awesome. In trying to be seen as an equal opportunities employer, we now have a black Colin Nish to go with the cumbersome caucasian one that's already on the payroll. Smashing stuff.

01-02-2011, 07:26 PM

As opposed to fans canning a player that signed 20 minutes before there post and they have never even heard of, dont know anything about, let alone seen play. More than happy to give the title muppet to these people....for the record that would not even go close in the description of you.

Now as I said....scurry....

01-02-2011, 08:28 PM
I am prepared to wait and see how Sodje does for us. Some of the Charlton fans did not seem to rate him, but maybe he just became stale, and will relish a fresh challenge. He sounds like a grafter and if he gives 100% every week, then that will do for me... Hopefully the goals will come thereafter.....Could be a great foil for Deek, Trakys, Nish or Duffy?

Good luck at Hibs Akpo.............:flag::flag::flag:

01-02-2011, 08:44 PM
I am prepared to wait and see how Sodje does for us. Some of the Charlton fans did not seem to rate him, but maybe he just became stale, and will relish a fresh challenge. He sounds like a grafter and if he gives 100% every week, then that will do for me... Hopefully the goals will come thereafter.....Could be a great foil for Deek, Trakys, Nish or Duffy?

Good luck at Hibs Akpo.............:flag::flag::flag:

Lets face it, this might be the lowest level he's played at so I am holding the hope.

01-02-2011, 09:54 PM
I dont know much about Sodje though it appears he is a powerful technically limited forward.Im presuming he has been brought in as a target man to hold the ball up which is something we dont have at the moment.Most people seem to agree that this style of player may help our other strikers to up their goal tallies.It also gives another option for CC.2 of our new midfilders apparently love to get forward and make runs into the box.Someone playing up on their own with the ability to hold the ball up will allow us to remain tight in midfield using midfield runners to support the striker.These midfield runs are difficult to pick up and would allow us to stay compact.I think these are good tactics if we score 1st and certainly strengthen our options.
Anyway welcome to Hibs Akpo