View Full Version : The Official Hibs.net Transfer Deadline Day Thread:

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

31-01-2011, 09:53 PM
Thought Webster had gone on loan to hearts??

mike1875
31-01-2011, 09:53 PM
tottenham in for charlie adam

31-01-2011, 09:54 PM
Scott Mcdonald signs for ICT according to blogger on STV website.

Twiglet
31-01-2011, 09:55 PM
Carroll signs 5 1/2 year deal with Liverpool.
Wonder who the judge will make him live with now?

Scott Mcdonald signs for ICT according to blogger on STV website.

Hah, its Alex McDonald the wee lad from Burnley that played a few games for Falkirk

sixtwo
daily record website saying nish to falkirk. please!
I'll drive him there

Ell_Chrisso
Has Webster went to DUTD?

31-01-2011, 09:56 PM
Now on DR site

Coventry City sign Derek Riordan for £450k plus incentives. Source - Backroom staff.

There's certainly not been anyone coming or going at Tannadice in the past hour.

Lights are still on though...

Coventry City sign Derek Riordan for £450k plus incentives. Source - Backroom staff.

Interesting one from DR. :

deeks to coventry 450 k lol :taxi

No, but he might have GONE there.

Hillsidehibby
31-01-2011, 09:57 PM
Deeks to Coventry??????? 450K

Heard a rumour

Anyone else got the countdown music going through their heid?

from DR site, so probs rubbish

31-01-2011, 09:58 PM
3 mins left :greengrin

31-01-2011, 09:58 PM

I have now..

31-01-2011, 09:59 PM
Come on Rooney pleaseeeeeeee.

:pray:

from DR site, so probs rubbish

So its not "backroom staff" then?

Torres and Luiz complete moves to Chelsea

Sweep

I have now :rolleyes:

bruno
:agree: have to agree

window still open for another hour though

edit looks like i talking crap only SFL window open til midnight

Oh well, i guess we have our lot. I just hope this group of players have it in them to keep us up???

This is like Hogmanay, waiting for the clocks to hit 12 o'clock and hearing the chimes from Big Ben and seeing the fireworks. :greengrin

31-01-2011, 10:00 PM

SPL window is now shut - SFL window is open until 12

Wrong, shuts at 11 for SPL.

Slam

That's it.

31-01-2011, 10:01 PM
I'm looking on the BBC website and the guy doing the updates on there has still not had it officially confirmed to him that the Carroll and Torres moves have been done.

EDIT-He's now confirmed that Andy Carroll has signed for Liverpool - 5.5 year deal for £35 million.

**** sake

steviecarnie
Games up the poll

Slam

Shattered.

miniboco
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110131/player-update-_2262950_2281477

31-01-2011, 10:02 PM
Club confirm that's it - http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110131/player-update-_2262950_2281477

Hibs confirm that's it.

Shameful stuff.

If that's our whack, then "Cannon Fodder" springs to mind...

Supraninja
So we signed Rooney then right guys?

...guys...?

robinp
31-01-2011, 10:03 PM
Ach well, still an hour to get rid of our dead wood to sfl clubs!

Jim White says " Arlie Chadam " is signing for Spurs. What a fud.

Remember folks, deals can still have been done but not yet been announced!

Bird on SSN: "door slams shut"

Its a WINDOW, not a door. Andy Gray will be rushing down to set her straight.

31-01-2011, 10:04 PM
Slam

I am glad someone told me. I needed to know if it slammed shut, or merely closed.

31-01-2011, 10:04 PM
The BBC are reporting that the Torres and Luiz deals went through on time but there's been no official word, as yet.

31-01-2011, 10:05 PM
Very very disappointed. I fear a defeat on Wed night might see Petrie and co getting absolutely slaughtered.
Did the statement not say that the board would back the manager financially and to the very limit of our resources.
I think we're actually in the black after the Jan window!!

31-01-2011, 10:06 PM
Looking at who we've sold and who we've signed during this month... it looks like we're preparing for the 1st division.

31-01-2011, 10:06 PM
The BBC are reporting that the Torres and Luiz deals went through on time but there's been no official word, as yet.

Confirmed by the scousers according to SSN.

steviecarnie
31-01-2011, 10:07 PM

31-01-2011, 10:08 PM
Very very disappointed. I fear a defeat on Wed night might see Petrie and co getting absolutely slaughtered.
Did the statement not say that the board would back the manager financially and to the very limit of our resources.

It's not like doing the weekly shop, though. You can't just say... we have £x to spend, we 'll spend it all.... and then spend it.

the_ginger_hibee
£80,000 spent.

£400,000 brought in.

Shock :rolleyes:

renato
Lets just hope we have a decent free transfer CH and forward lined up, as I still think we're in deep trouble with what we've got.....:worried:

northgreen24
31-01-2011, 10:09 PM
really disapointed with what has happened today. only hibs can be sitting second bottom of the league with the team below them having 2 games in had however doen worry rodders you still made a profit and moved on zemmama and bamba

:boo hoo:

Ach well, still an hour to get rid of our dead wood to sfl clubs!

Remember folks, deals can still have been done but not yet been announced!

Two positive posts on the same thread!! Excellent :greengrin

I'll sleep tonight. GGTTH

So, we now have 4 goalkeepers, have signed 1 defender and lost 3, signed 3 midfielders and lost one and also lost one of our most creative attacking options, replacing him with an unproven striker who has a questionable strike ratio.

Only Hibs, eh? :rolleyes:

Connor Sammon confirmed to Wigan.

Matty_Jack04
31-01-2011, 10:10 PM
official website post player update already does this mean defo no other late late deals where even attempted?

jackhfc
Good stuff RP, how many of these unknown players from teams mostly worse than us will come good?

pogo
How about 'Buffalo Soldier', but changed to Hibee Sodje?:greengrin

Thought I'd have a look at this while I was waiting for something to happen!!!

Hibee Sodje, new centre forward.
There was a Hibee named Sodje, in the City of Embra.
Got him from Charlton, brought him to Embra.
Fighting on arrival, fighting for survival.

Didn't have to change the last bit though!:brickwall

31-01-2011, 10:11 PM
Lets just hope we have a decent free transfer CH and forward lined up, as I still think we're in deep trouble with what we've got.....:worried:

Yep, our last chance of getting out of this mess and we've blown it. 1st Division here we come:confused:

31-01-2011, 10:13 PM
Good stuff RP, how many of these unknown players from teams mostly worse than us will come good?

You mean like, Ivan for £5000 :greengrin :devil:

mentalhibee
If that's Petrie doubling his efforts to back the manager then we are in trouble. Hope the new guys do well but not inspired by the last day signing of a journeyman striker. Honestly thought we'd sign Rooney.

So, we now have 4 goalkeepers, have signed 1 defender and lost 3, signed 3 midfielders and lost one and also lost one of our most creative attacking options, replacing him with an unproven striker who has a questionable strike ratio.

Only Hibs, eh? :rolleyes:

Connor Sammon confirmed to Wigan.

No positives at all? What did you realistically expect then? Personally i think we will have a stronger team out on the park then we did before the transfer window. It would have been nice to get a name signing in but that was always unlikely for several reasons.

31-01-2011, 10:14 PM
Maybe Akpo can get Efe His Bro to join him at ER :devil:

Time will tell, but having freed up all these wages and made good profits on 2 of our players, I really hoped/expected to see at least one signing of decent pedigree. Really disappointed with this.

Anyone else just want to walk up to Petrie, slap him in the face and just say GET THE F OUT YOU FAT USELESS MONEY GRABBING TURD!

You can do that on wed at St Mirren game :greengrin

31-01-2011, 10:15 PM

Remember at our levels last year we would be set for a £2million loss this season, never mind adding in paying off Yogi, paying compo for CC and the utter lack of cup runs and the like.

Can we cut the 'we have made a profit this window' crap out right now. I'll be amazed if we manage to get through this season with a million pound loss at best.

Purehibee_MYB
In Rod we trust...

well I do until 8am tomorrow when I wake up and find out Hibs did no last minute signings

Top Pans Hibby
To paraphrase Gary the Tank Commander tonight.

"Watching Hibs activity during the transfer window is like watching Hollyoaks - you keep watching thinking it's gonna get better.............but it disnae !!!!"

31-01-2011, 10:16 PM
If that's Petrie doubling his efforts to back the manager then we are in trouble. Hope the new guys do well but not inspired by the last day signing of a journeyman striker. Honestly thought we'd sign Rooney.

Honestly think Deek will stay now hope so And we might get a Centre Half on free or Loan

jackhfc
31-01-2011, 10:17 PM
You can do that on wed at St Mirren game :greengrin

Nah, he'll most likely be chilling on a yaucht in Paris or something with the Zouma and Bamba money....

SmokieJoe
31-01-2011, 10:18 PM
There will probably be a whole raft of players freed at about a minute to 11

This will give us a chance to sign players out with the transfer window....

You know, a chance to sort out the chaff from...the...chaff?

renato
31-01-2011, 10:18 PM
Yep, our last chance of getting out of this mess and we've blown it. 1st Division here we come:confused:

Seriously hope you're wrong but have to agree - we've had 31 days to get a big, physical, commanding leader at the back, yet nothing. Calderwood himself identified this as key and the recent attempts at "defending" have only highlighted this point even further.

Just got to hope we still have someone in mind....

31-01-2011, 10:20 PM
El Hadj Diouf HAS passed his medical and has signed on loan at Ibrox until the end of the season. The Andy Webster to Hearts deal was going through but hit a late snag. Hoping to get confirmation before midnight.

Official from DR

31-01-2011, 10:26 PM
I think it's terrible that nobody would accept our offers for their players. I mean we must have offered Killie more than Wigan did for Conor Sammon. And Inverness have a damn cheek not agreeing to let Adam Rooney join us (did we make an offer for him?). To be honest I'm more angry with the Hibs players who refused to take a pay cut to finance our bid for Andy Carroll. Get a grip. Half of you spend your lives posting about how overpriced Scottish football then expect us to compete with Barcelona!!!

31-01-2011, 10:31 PM
No positives at all? What did you realistically expect then? Personally i think we will have a stronger team out on the park then we did before the transfer window. It would have been nice to get a name signing in but that was always unlikely for several reasons.

Of course there are positives, but they're long term positives. We need something to help us out of our current slump NOW, and the signings we've made simply won't do that.

A 4th goalkeeper - where's the justification for him, especially considering he's backup keeper for a Slovakian first division club...Smith needs replacing, but both Brown and Stack are adequate replacements.

Our defense is so obviously weakened, yet what business did we do to address this? Sold Hogg, lost Grounds (outwith our hands I guess), sold Bamba and brought in a full back on loan from Celtic with no SPL experience. Granted, he looks a cracking player, but we need experience to get us out of this hole - he's not even a future acquisition, as he'll be back to Celtic come the end of the season.

Scott and Poulsson both look like they have the potential of a good midfield duo, but they're going to need time to gel together and with the team - they're both also very young and inexperienced, although Scott looks like he has the fight to help our cause. Thornhill hasn't been on the park long enough for me to say either way.

I can't see how losing Zemmama can be anything other than a negative - creative midfielder who can turn a game given the right support. We've also not scored in 2011 and again, we fail to address this. Yes, we've signed Sodje, but his record doesn't fill me with confidence. However, maybe he's just not been given a chance.

We need more than what the board have provided IMO.

Purehibee_MYB
31-01-2011, 10:41 PM
Looks like nothing happened at the last minute then...

Bring on the trips to Partick Thistle, Ross County and Dundee

31-01-2011, 10:42 PM
Of course there are positives, but they're long term positives. We need something to help us out of our current slump NOW, and the signings we've made simply won't do that.

A 4th goalkeeper - where's the justification for him, especially considering he's backup keeper for a Slovakian first division club...Smith needs replacing, but both Brown and Stack are adequate replacements.

Our defense is so obviously weakened, yet what business did we do to address this? Sold Hogg, lost Grounds (outwith our hands I guess), sold Bamba and brought in a full back on loan from Celtic with no SPL experience. Granted, he looks a cracking player, but we need experience to get us out of this hole - he's not even a future acquisition, as he'll be back to Celtic come the end of the season.

Scott and Poulsson both look like they have the potential of a good midfield duo, but they're going to need time to gel together and with the team - they're both also very young and inexperienced, although Scott looks like he has the fight to help our cause. Thornhill hasn't been on the park long enough for me to say either way.

I can't see how losing Zemmama can be anything other than a negative - creative midfielder who can turn a game given the right support. We've also not scored in 2011 and again, we fail to address this. Yes, we've signed Sodje, but his record doesn't fill me with confidence. However, maybe he's just not been given a chance.

We need more than what the board have provided IMO.

So do we know that CC didn't have other players in mind but just could not convince them that joining a relegation threatened side in a second rate league would be a good career move?

Manxhibs
31-01-2011, 10:49 PM
I really thought the board would show the fans they meant business today, so underwhelmed. Maybe sodje will do well but he's not the signing that captures the imagination. Ah well, come on hibs let's get stuck into st mirren on Wednesday!!!

31-01-2011, 10:49 PM
So do we know that CC didn't have other players in mind but just could not convince them that joining a relegation threatened side in a second rate league would be a good career move?

Fair point. I don't necessarily think CC is to blame for it, as his signings have been encouraging - I just wish he had targeted the more "needy" areas, which, IMO, he hasn't done.

I definitely don't claim to know what the answer IS, but I don't think we've acquired enough to claw us out of this hole.

blairwallace
31-01-2011, 10:50 PM
Remember at our levels last year we would be set for a £2million loss this season, never mind adding in paying off Yogi, paying compo for CC and the utter lack of cup runs and the like.

Can we cut the 'we have made a profit this window' crap out right now. I'll be amazed if we manage to get through this season with a million pound loss at best.

if we spend £2 million last year in transfer windows, yogi wouldnt of had to of been paid off, would of been no compensation for CC and we could of had a better cup run. EVERYTHING within a football club goes to what is being played on the park.

31-01-2011, 10:51 PM

Exactly.

IMO the toys have been thrown out the pram because everyone wanted Rooney, i did too, but can you imagine CC trying to sell hibs to him when he could wait, find out where we are next season and what other offers he gets before making a decision, it's an absolute no brainer, he'd have been crazy to sign for us, thats not petrie or calderwoods fault, thats just the reality of our situation

Need to blame someone though :fuming: :brickwall :grr:

31-01-2011, 10:54 PM
Exactly.

IMO the toys have been thrown out the pram because everyone wanted Rooney, i did too, but can you imagine CC trying to sell hibs to him when he could wait, find out where we are next season and what other offers he gets before making a decision, it's an absolute no brainer, he'd have been crazy to sign for us, thats not petrie or calderwoods fault, thats just the reality of our situation

Need to blame someone though :fuming: :brickwall :grr:

So in an entire MONTH of transfer dealings, our scouting staff identified 2 players in Sodje and Rooney? I agree Rooney would have been mental signing for us, as Caley are flying high just now, but surely we had more than just the one target to try and bolster such an obviously weak aspect of our team?

In all honesty, I'm more disappointed we've not brought in a CH than a striker.

31-01-2011, 10:57 PM
if we spend £2 million last year in transfer windows, yogi wouldnt of had to of been paid off, would of been no compensation for CC and we could of had a better cup run. EVERYTHING within a football club goes to what is being played on the park.

Nonsense.

How does giving Hughes more money guarantee better players? Does it also teach him tactics?

And considering we'd have made a 2 million pound loss last year without player sales, where are you magicing 2 million to spend from?

If football was solely down to who spent the most Celtic would win everything without question and the league would finish Celtic, Rangers, Hearts, Hibs. You may have noticed it doesn't?

nortonhibby
31-01-2011, 10:59 PM
So in an entire MONTH of transfer dealings, our scouting staff identified 2 players in Sodje and Rooney? I agree Rooney would have been mental signing for us, as Caley are flying high just now, but surely we had more than just the one target to try and bolster such an obviously weak aspect of our team?

i am off to bed we are down RPs fault 1st division for us:confused:even my kid has given up cant blame him i cant even remember oor last goal:confused:

31-01-2011, 11:04 PM

No, deals have been falling through for various reasons since the first week though, the lad from newcastle phil airey was it, got injured, bogdanovich told us to bolt and i'm sure there were others we never heard about.

To me bringing in a physical striker was the most important piece of business we could have done, i don't think hanlon and dickoh are as bad as being made out, they just need to cut out the silly mistakes and now hopefully they'll have a midfield helping them out and a striker holding the ball up so it's not being fired back at them as soon as they've cleared it that could help them as well as having a goalie they can have confidence in :pray:.

Don't want to keep having a go but Nish and Riordan just could not play this role and thats where all our problems are stemming from which is exactly why we got better performances in the 2 games Trakys played well in against motherwell and Rangers.

31-01-2011, 11:06 PM
i am off to bed we are down RPs fault 1st division for us:confused:even my kid has given up cant blame him i cant even remember oor last goal:confused:

You do know its st mirren and bloody hamilton we're competing with no barca and real madrid :confused:

Lets keep a wee bit perspective eh, we've just brought in about 7 players and punted the 'wage thiefs' that everyone has been asking to get binned

31-01-2011, 11:07 PM
Did they definitely sign Webster?

new malkyhib
31-01-2011, 11:16 PM

That sounds like chillingly like Scott Lindsay's interview to the EEN of a few weeks ago - bemoaning the lackof revenue from getting papped out the cups in the early rounds - well if we had even a half decent team we would have got past Ross County and Ayr and got some money in - so back to the Board on that one maybe?

And i'm not sure if we did pay compensation for Calderwood - one of the North East papers said we only got him because Newcastle dropped their claim for compensation.

Maybe we'll get another statement from them tomorrow, and everything will be alright again eh?

31-01-2011, 11:20 PM

Bear in mind our operating expenses for the last few years has included money put towards the new stand. We wont need to provide for that for much longer, so our operating expenses will go down.

31-01-2011, 11:27 PM
I think it's terrible that nobody would accept our offers for their players. I mean we must have offered Killie more than Wigan did for Conor Sammon. And Inverness have a damn cheek not agreeing to let Adam Rooney join us (did we make an offer for him?). To be honest I'm more angry with the Hibs players who refused to take a pay cut to finance our bid for Andy Carroll. Get a grip. Half of you spend your lives posting about how overpriced Scottish football then expect us to compete with Barcelona!!!

Come on, surely even someone as easily satisfied as yourself must be disaapointed that we didn't at least have a reliable CB and target man lined up well before the transfer window opened. Why exactly did Petrie appoint CC? Because it surely wasn't for his ability to get the best out of the players at his disposal or his motivational skills. If it was, he must be a WEE bit disappointed.

Frogga
31-01-2011, 11:34 PM
;2721467']Did they definitely sign Webster?

No, he's been released by Rangers after they failed to use him in a swap deal for Craig Conway of Dundee United. Despite his Hearts links he'd be such a sensible signing and a great partner for Hanlon at the back. Please Rod.

01-02-2011, 04:54 AM
All in all not overly disappointed. All the signings up to last week were being slagged off, they did OK on Sunday and i expect we will see them improve. Another couple in this week so lets see how they do if they get a game tomorrow. Lots of activity in the last few hours so I guess it is not only Hibs who are scratching around looking for dross.

Onwards and upwards. We wanted rid of the so called 'wage thieves', we got rid of a load of them. Time for a bit of support:

In Rod and CC we trust.:flag:

01-02-2011, 07:04 AM
This will give us a chance to sign players out with the transfer window....

You know, a chance to sort out the chaff from...the...chaff?

Do some of you guys follow Hibs (assuming you actually DO follow Hibs) just to whinge and moan?

01-02-2011, 07:06 AM

We've moved up then ?

01-03-2011, 09:30 PM
I'd actually be happy with Akpo Sodje.

Smugness alert. He hasnt turned out so bad after all. Well done big man.

01-03-2011, 09:33 PM
Smugness alert. He hasnt turned out so bad after all. Well done big man.

I'll admit that... I KNEW Sodje would be a decent signing once I saw his rippling 6 pack!