View Full Version : Chris Hogg to Lincoln City

27-01-2011, 11:09 PM
Gone!
Lincoln city apparently

27-01-2011, 11:12 PM
That is the answer, but what is the question?

27-01-2011, 11:15 PM
Gone!
Lincoln city apparently

Indeed.good luck to him :agree:

27-01-2011, 11:16 PM
Indeed.

Has he gone? Did someone give us money for him? :confused:

27-01-2011, 11:16 PM
If he has gone Good Luck to him and Best Wishes Hoggy

27-01-2011, 11:18 PM
Has he gone? Did someone give us money for him? :confused:

Yes, and dunno - doubt it or nominal. Yogi offered him new terms ages ago, and he turned them down so I'm guessing we weren't difficult to deal with.

27-01-2011, 11:22 PM
Yes, and dunno - doubt it or nominal. Yogi offered him new terms ages ago, and he turned them down so I'm guessing we weren't difficult to deal with.

Oh well, fair play to him. Hope it works out well for him. Always had a soft spot for Hogg but by the end it was not working.

27-01-2011, 11:23 PM
nothing on their forum :confused:

if true, good luck Hogg, Thanks for the hard work and your part in the famous '07 Final :agree:

GK 41 Andrew McNeil
RB 2 Steven Whittaker
CB 15 Chris Hogg
CB 5 Rob Jones (c)
LB 3 David Murphy
RM 17 Ivan Sproule
CM 14 Guillaume Beuzelin
CM 7 Scott Brown
LM 26 Lewis Stevenson
CF 20 Steven Fletcher
CF 10 Abdessalam Benjelloun
Substitutes:
GK 1 Simon Brown
DF 12 Shelton Martis
DF 25 Kevin McCann
MF 6 Michael Stewart
MF 4 Merouane Zemmama

if the rumours turn out to be true there will only be 2 left from that team

27-01-2011, 11:24 PM
thanks for the bad memories

27-01-2011, 11:25 PM
thanks for the bad memories

Bit harsh...he did help make some good ones too.

27-01-2011, 11:25 PM
Good luck to the guy, never rated him as a player but never for one second did i doubt his commitment to the cause.

Hopefully wherever he goes he learns to use his strength better, if he does he might make it as a decent player...if he doesn't then he'll not last long in professional football unfortunately

27-01-2011, 11:26 PM
I cant find this anywhere you guys sure?

HibeeMcGinn1
27-01-2011, 11:29 PM

Tis true yes. All the best Hoggy, got us a vital win earlier this season which could help us later on.

27-01-2011, 11:32 PM
Ah well if true bye Hogg. Always thought you a good team player and Looked good when you had big Jones next to you. All the best if you ever read any o this lol

27-01-2011, 11:33 PM

If you sign up to th PM forum, you would already know its true. :greengrin

Just a tenner a year :aok:

27-01-2011, 11:40 PM
Good luck Hogg, cheers for the two and a half years you were good. :thumbsup: Not so much for the last year and a half. :wink:

woody47
27-01-2011, 11:43 PM
If it's true - Good luck Hoggy. Looked out of his deapth since he took over the captaincy but ALWAYS the professional.
Really hope it works out for him :thumbsup:

27-01-2011, 11:44 PM
Sad to see Chris Hogg go ........ Young local laddie Had problems With Cancer they had a collection in Local Co-op to raise funds to send young boy to America for treatment And Hogg went to east mains and Came back with Funds ...Pure class ..Also was a good player at Hibs Good Luck Chris Hogg :notworthy:

27-01-2011, 11:45 PM
Good luck to him. He was a decent enough defender, just think the captaincy was a bit too much for him, wasnt really a leader.

27-01-2011, 11:55 PM
Good luck to Hogg.

Never came across as arrogant or too big for Hibs.

Just like others this past year suffered in form / confidence with all the changes.

Played well with Jones beside him and 2007 was a great day :agree:
:flag::flag:

27-01-2011, 11:57 PM
Good luck Hogg.

27-01-2011, 11:58 PM
Is this being confirmed tonight or tomorrow?

Hibee_Lisa
27-01-2011, 11:59 PM
Was never really a great fan of his but good luck in the future Hogg. :agree:

28-01-2011, 12:01 AM
Club captain leaves without anyone noticing almost - sums up sad situation we`re in at present . Of course , it means there`s money for someone else etc but what sort of club have we become ? Just one more example of general malaise in club . Good luck to the player - always felt he didn`t deserve criticism he got from many here .

Is this being confirmed tonight or tomorrow?

Who do you want it confirmed by?

All the best Hoggy

28-01-2011, 12:04 AM
Club captain leaves without anyone noticing almost - sums up sad situation we`re in at present . Of course , it means there`s money for someone else etc but what sort of club have we become ? Just one more example of general malaise in club . Good luck to the player - always felt he didn`t deserve criticism he got from many here .

Maybe you could argue he wasn't the right man for the captaincy.

But the job description for players now or summer should have leadership at the top as you can see we lack inspiration on the pitch :agree:

28-01-2011, 12:17 AM

The two clubs involved?

28-01-2011, 12:18 AM
Always had a soft spot for Hoggy, good luck to him in the future!

28-01-2011, 12:20 AM
The two clubs involved?

Don't you believe it like?

28-01-2011, 12:22 AM
Aye good luck to hoggy - hope it works out for him.

All the best :thumbsup:

28-01-2011, 12:22 AM
Good luck Hoggy, sorry it didn't work out for you at the end of the day but you had more respect for the fans than a lot of the players had or have.

28-01-2011, 12:23 AM
Good luck to Hogg.

Just like others this past year suffered in form / confidence with all the changes.

:flag::flag:

28-01-2011, 12:24 AM
Good luck to Hogg.

:flag::flag:he was like a laddie going off the rails when his faither (jones)left his mother (hibs)

ForeverHibs93
28-01-2011, 12:27 AM
Always liked Hogg, Best of luck to him:thumbsup:

28-01-2011, 12:35 AM
always liked his attitude if not his displays, good proffessional, i remember him coming over to the old east to have words with disgruntled fans, heart in the right place, good luck hoggy!

booshsutton
28-01-2011, 12:40 AM
I hope he does well at his new club, seems to me like a change of atmosphere may be what alot of our players need. Was always committed to the cause but went of the boil since being given the captaincy.
Good luck Hoggy, hope it works out for you in pastures new

hibby19
28-01-2011, 02:30 AM
nothing on their forum :confused:

if true, good luck Hogg, Thanks for the hard work and your part in the famous '07 Final :agree:

GK 41 Andrew McNeil
RB 2 Steven Whittaker
CB 15 Chris Hogg
CB 5 Rob Jones (c)
LB 3 David Murphy
RM 17 Ivan Sproule
CM 14 Guillaume Beuzelin
CM 7 Scott Brown
LM 26 Lewis Stevenson
CF 20 Steven Fletcher
CF 10 Abdessalam Benjelloun
Substitutes:
GK 1 Simon Brown
DF 12 Shelton Martis
DF 25 Kevin McCann
MF 6 Michael Stewart
MF 4 Merouane Zemmama

if the rumours turn out to be true there will only be 2 left from that team

Does Zemmama not count like? :greengrin

All the best Hoggy!

28-01-2011, 02:36 AM

All the best Hoggy!

If rumours be correct, he is off to 'Boro.

28-01-2011, 04:01 AM
He is a great professional and a general nice guy. I hope he does well

28-01-2011, 06:23 AM
Not been the same player since he took that head knock against Morton for some reason.

Mind you, it's a shame he'll be leaving ER with boos echoing in his ears. Especially when he was integral to the team in the season we won the CIS cup, POTY the next year, and Captain of a team that qualified for Europe the next year.
Chris Hogg has NEVER been the problem at Hibs.

28-01-2011, 07:17 AM

All the best Hoggy!

Not if he's away to Boro!

billbee
28-01-2011, 07:36 AM
Good Luch Hoggy you missed your big pal Jonesy! aw ra best!

Ps you will always be a final legend! but last wee while time to move on son!

28-01-2011, 07:39 AM
Not been the same player since he took that head knock against Morton for some reason.

Mind you, it's a shame he'll be leaving ER with boos echoing in his ears. Especially when he was integral to the team in the season we won the CIS cup, POTY the next year, and Captain of a team that qualified for Europe the next year.

Good post, honest appraisal - always thought he was a good professional and he had lots of good games for the club, had his bad games too, but he shouldn't be receiving the level of criticism thrown at him - wish him all the best in his future career. Thanks for being a Hibby Hoggy! :thumbsup:

28-01-2011, 07:40 AM
Sad to see Chris Hogg go ........ Young local laddie Had problems With Cancer they had a collection in Local Co-op to raise funds to send young boy to America for treatment And Hogg went to east mains and Came back with Funds ...Pure class ..Also was a good player at Hibs Good Luck Chris Hogg :notworthy:

I always thought that Chris Hogg gave his best for the team and the club and he definately played his best games for the team alongside Rob Jones! :agree:

This story confirms that the guy had a heart and cared something that is a rare commodity these days amongst many of the prima donna footballers that have an artificially high impression of their own importance and position within society that income beyond their dreams or expectations can generate very quickly! :cool2:

Best of luck in the rest of your career Chris! :agree:

28-01-2011, 07:41 AM
If you sign up to th PM forum, you would already know its true. :greengrin

Just a tenner a year :aok:

Don't you believe it like?

Just 2 words for you guys. Steve Clarke. :wink::greengrin

28-01-2011, 07:45 AM
Absolute gentleman whose conduct off the pitch was always dignified and a credit to the club.

Good luck Hoggy.

28-01-2011, 07:46 AM
Fantastic news to wake up to:thumbsup:

28-01-2011, 07:50 AM
Good luck . Didnae work out in the end but agree at least tried. Hope he can get back on track .

Thanks for cup final

28-01-2011, 09:12 AM
Fantastic news to wake up to:thumbsup:

Pity it's 2 years too late...

proud_and_green
28-01-2011, 09:19 AM

Hear, Hear.

I always liked Hoggy. He was a conscientious player respected the fans and the club and perhaps the reason why his performance fell off was because he felt so responsible. Sad to see him go in this way!! Although i think it is best for him and i hope he gets back his confidence.

All the best, a real professional with a big heart who was unfairly treated by many fickle fans!!!

khib70
28-01-2011, 09:26 AM
Hear, Hear.

I always liked Hoggy. He was a conscientious player respected the fans and the club and perhaps the reason why his performance fell off was because he felt so responsible. Sad to see him go in this way!! Although i think it is best for him and i hope he gets back his confidence.

All the best, a real professional with a big heart who was unfairly treated by many fickle fans!!!
Well said

A nice guy and a good professional who always gave 100% for us. Lost it somewhat recently, but I hope he gets it back down there.

Thanks Hoggy and all the best:thumbsup:

woodyloon
28-01-2011, 09:30 AM
Good Luck. All the best at your new club, and for the rest of your career.

Good player for the club, shame you struggled lately. Lets hope a fresh start with a new club suits you and you kick on.

28-01-2011, 09:35 AM

Sad to see him go.

28-01-2011, 09:54 AM
I wish hoggy all the best, he's had a real hard time in recent months and that's sad to see, because as pointed out i think he really does care about Hibs. He's served the club well since he arrived and i for one would like to thank him and wish him all the best in th future. Cheers Hoggy, thanks for getting us a trophy.

scott7_0(Prague)
28-01-2011, 10:01 AM
Have I missed something - has this been confirmed or is their even any link to this story?

28-01-2011, 10:35 AM
Good luck.

Kevin@green
28-01-2011, 10:48 AM
Well said

A nice guy and a good professional who always gave 100% for us. Lost it somewhat recently, but I hope he gets it back down there.

Thanks Hoggy and all the best:thumbsup:

Met him a couple of years ago in Puerto Banus, place was full of famous faces, he was genuinely surprised someone recognised him.

Stood with us for a while had a few drings and was just a nice guy :thumbsup:

28-01-2011, 10:52 AM

Great post.

All the best Hoggy.

Purehibee_MYB
28-01-2011, 11:22 AM
Why can I not find this anywhere?

All the best to him anyway. Helped to create one of my best memories in my life so far in 2007!!

28-01-2011, 11:24 AM
Met him a couple of years ago in Puerto Banus, place was full of famous faces, he was genuinely surprised someone recognised him.

Stood with us for a while had a few drings and was just a nice guy :thumbsup:

Is that a mixture of drink and drugs? :greengrin

scott7_0(Prague)
28-01-2011, 01:13 PM
http://www.lincolncity-mad.co.uk/roll/ed11/who_is_ipswich__hibs_star_chris_hogg_625923/index.shtml

A juicy who is for Friday lunch

The Imps are said to be close to a deal for right / centre back Chris Hogg from Hibernian. The former Ipswich Town and England U15 & U19 star would be a massive signing and has played in both the Scottish Premier and The Europa League this season.

The 6 foot 25 year old started out at York and then Ipswich but was denied a Premier League start due Ipswich being able to pay the transfer fee. By the time that was sorted he had fallen from favour and was subsequently loaned to Boston (twice) before Hibernian signed him in 2005.

Hibs were still happy to take the talented heroic lad despite him being severely injured whilst trying to prevent a car robbery in Middlesbrough in January 2005. This would deny him even training for two months but he was worth the wait forming a formidable partnership with Hibs Captain Rob Jones. Chris won the Scottish League Cup Final in 2007 ( a 5-1 win over Kilmarnock) and even played on through concussion to become Captain for the 2009/10 season.

This season Chris has had to make way for new signing Francis Dickoh, regarded as a bigger physical presence, playing a bit part at right back.

Full name Christopher Francis Hogg
Date of birth 21 March 1985 (age 25)
Place of birth Middlesbrough, England
Height 6 ft 0 in (1.83 m)
Weight: 12st 7lbs (79.45kg)
Playing position Defender
Previous Clubs: Boston Utd (loan) Ipswich Town
Current club Hibernian
Number 4

2010/11

Competition (as sub) Goals Yellows Reds
SPL 6 (1) 2 1 0
Euro Cups 2 (0) 0 0 0

Youth career
1997–2001 York City
2001–2003 Ipswich Town

Senior
2003–2005 Ipswich Town 0 (0)
2003 → Boston United (loan) 5 (0)
2003–2004 → Boston United (loan) 5 (0)
2005– Hibernian 143 (3)

National team
England U15 & U19

Amit
28-01-2011, 06:40 PM
http://www.lincolncity-mad.co.uk/roll/ed11/who_is_ipswich__hibs_star_chris_hogg_625923/index.shtml

Anyone else got info on this?

StarMan10
28-01-2011, 06:44 PM

Anyone else got info on this?

they dont half talk him up abit! :LOL:

28-01-2011, 07:22 PM

Cup winner. PoTY. Captain. Good luck Hoggy

since90plustwo
28-01-2011, 07:41 PM
not a great footballer, but gave his heart to this club. all the best hoggy

northgreen24
28-01-2011, 07:41 PM
I agree it is all to easy to forget that Hogg has been a good servent for hibs and although i think it is time for a chage another that can hold his head high and and be remembered as a 2007 cup winner at hibernian FC

seems a long time ago now lol

Best of luck Chris Hogg

28-01-2011, 07:47 PM
Genuine best wishes to Hogg, not his fault Yogi pitched him in as captain at the wrong time, had many more good games at the beginning and middle than bad ones at the end, should do well at Lincoln and I will pop up to see him play hopefully, easily good enough at this level.

28-01-2011, 07:54 PM
Must be the longest serving player we still had? and if not very close

28-01-2011, 08:00 PM

He sounds great ! Just what we are looking for :greengrin

stevenhibs
28-01-2011, 08:09 PM
Best of luck Hoggy. Been made a bit of a scapegoat by sone but great service.

Thanks for everything.

28-01-2011, 08:13 PM
Lincoln looking for a right back and goalie? ;-)

28-01-2011, 08:14 PM
Was a good player for us until the last year or so, helped win us the Cup. All the best Hoggy. :thumbsup:

28-01-2011, 08:14 PM
Best Wishes Hoggy - one of the few whose (commitment) was never doubted at ER.
Good Pro & wish you every success. :thumbsup:

28-01-2011, 08:33 PM
Always gave his all and never deserved much of the flak he got from some.Wish him every success with his new club.

28-01-2011, 09:07 PM
Good luck Hoggy, cheers for that memorable day in March 2007.:aok:

Always put in all his effort for the club and that's the players i respect the most, just unfortunate his form slumped since he became captain, none the less he was a decent player over his whole time at Hibs, best of luck in the future.:agree:

Dirkster23
28-01-2011, 09:18 PM
Reality check for those who thought he was a player?

I'm sure it'll just be a short term deal until the end of the season.

28-01-2011, 09:26 PM
He sounds great ! Just what we are looking for :greengrin

Yip. Very similar to the welcome we give our new signings. :rolleyes:

They dont sound very "underwhelmed" ........

Good Luck Hoggy. It was good while it lasted.

28-01-2011, 09:26 PM
143 games isn't to be sniffed at but Hoggy must be the smallest six-footer I have ever seen. Whole hearted player. Never a right back though. Kinda sad to see him go as he is throwback to happier days, but fixing what is wrong is going to be brutal root and branch surgery, with no sentiment.

28-01-2011, 11:08 PM
Good luck Chris Hogg.

Not the best defender in the world but by god he's nowhere near as bad as some make out on here.

28-01-2011, 11:13 PM
I'm sure it'll just be a short term deal until the end of the season.

Very good :greengrin

28-01-2011, 11:23 PM
I wish lincoln all the luck with that bomb scare going to them. I know he always tried but just not up to it. I believe Rob Jones carried him

wazoo1875
28-01-2011, 11:36 PM
All the best Hoggy, a good servant for the Hibs and a cup winner to boot. Best of luck down south.

28-01-2011, 11:48 PM
Best of luck to him

Wish other players had as good an attitude towards football as he does

Wasn't the best defender by a long stretch, but was a professional.:aok:

LALthehibeeGAL
29-01-2011, 12:05 AM
Cup winner. PoTY. Captain. Good luck Hoggy

exactly - people forget - i think chris hogg always gave his best and always very appreciative at the end of each game good or bad on his part. Good Luck Chris

Lal:wink:

29-01-2011, 12:12 AM
I don't know what his remit was as far as Hibs is concerned but I've only ever been to the Sick kids about ten times to pick up passengers...

...but on two of these occasions I've seen Hoggy going to visit someone. Pretty good ratio.

The beauty was that he was still in his training gear both times. Shorts, socks, boots, drill top etc. it's as if he'd really just come off the training ground. I'm sure the kids he seen were thrilled to see a real footballer come through the ward just to see them!

I've met him a few other times and he's an absolute gentleman.

Good luck Hoggy.:thumbsup:

Heckys Wheel
29-01-2011, 12:41 AM
Good luck to him. He was a decent enough defender, just think the captaincy was a bit too much for him, wasnt really a leader.

I would argue that he is a leader with attributes that you need to be a captain. I just don't think he had the footballing ability to lead a team like Hibs.

Good luck to him though. Sounds like a great guy.

Badge
29-01-2011, 01:00 AM
All the best young man.

delbert
29-01-2011, 08:56 AM
Said many times that Chris Hogg gave 100% every time he played, which cannot be said of some in the current squad. However the position we are in leaves no room for sentiment or even loyalty, and in the end Chris was a poor defender who was utterly found out once we lost the big dominating centre half who at times carried him, and once he was the main man, he turned out to be one of the quietest captains I ever saw whose lack of ability, especially passing and physical presence, was ruthlessly exposed, basically never a leader in a million years. Perhaps he will be more at home and at a level he is comfortable with at Lincoln, and despite all I said before, I hope he does well there.

29-01-2011, 09:26 AM
Im not gonna slag the guy off, he gave his all (at times) but, sadly, just didnt work out for him at Hibs.

Good luck Chris

29-01-2011, 09:38 AM
Good luck Chris Hogg.

Not the best defender in the world but by god he's nowhere near as bad as some make out on here.

Spot on !
When he arrived from Ipswich he had a good track record through the international age groups he played in for England.
Unfortunately he appears to have turned out to be yet another example ( there are dozens) of a young lad who never made the big step from " promising " to "star"

Wish him well and will be interested to see how he makes out .

hibsfan7
29-01-2011, 10:30 AM
all the best chris
thanks for 18/03/2007

hope you dio really well down south

Expecting Rain
29-01-2011, 10:39 AM
Opinions in football are many and never ending [ mine], i don`t doubt Hogg`s credentials as a person or as a footballer at another level, i just thought he had enough time and chances to be better than what he was in his position at Easter Road, i salute him as a winner in a cup final and will forgive him for giving away the penalty at Hampden in the Scottish Cup Semi Final and my final words will be all the very best Chris on your new journey.

29-01-2011, 10:42 AM
I think this is about the right level of move for ch. Thats not meant to be a criticism of him,he's a good pro. It is a criticism of the managers who made him 1st pick (and captain) when the spl was not chris's level. Maybe this will show the likes of nish,miller,rankin the types of club who are interested in players who win 4games per calendar year,regardless of how highly they rate themselves in their own minds

29-01-2011, 11:16 AM
All the best Hoggy.
Always gave 100 percent and poured his heart out. Not the best, but at least he cared, unlike the majority of our current squad.

29-01-2011, 11:26 AM
Still haven't seen anything official on this but if it's true I would like to wish one of our top scorers this season every success in the future.
Good luck Chris

29-01-2011, 11:29 AM
enjoy the blue square next season