View Full Version : Burnley have new striker

ArmadaleHibs
28-01-2011, 04:45 PM
Burnley have signed charlie airley> does this mean theres no room for steven thompson and hes on his way to hibs as has been speculated??????

28-01-2011, 04:47 PM
Burnley have signed charlie airley> does this mean theres no room for steven thompson and hes on his way to hibs as has been speculated??????

Here's hoping that is the case :cool2:

Would be a very good signing imo

aberhibsfc
28-01-2011, 04:48 PM
I don't know, I just can't get excited about this.

Maybe playing dan saff has developed his game but he's never been much of a goalscorer for a striker. We need goals.

28-01-2011, 04:52 PM
Isn't Thompson injured? I thought there was something on here this week about him having to go and see a specialist.

28-01-2011, 04:56 PM
Isn't Thompson injured? I thought there was something on here this week about him having to go and see a specialist.

He was in the team the other night !!!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_div_1/9371582.stm

28-01-2011, 05:00 PM
Here's hoping that is the case :cool2:

Would be a very good signing imo

Based on what ? :cool2:

28-01-2011, 05:04 PM

there's been a question about a problem in his groin - muscle strain, tear, whatever. he was going to see a specialist to see whether the specialist could work out what exactly was wrong.

He's been playing through it, though, and if we did sign him - even on loan - he might very well be a decent signing for us.

jonny
28-01-2011, 05:04 PM
Not a prolific goalscorer but a big strong lad who can win balls in the air and hold it up.
Would be ideal IMO if we hold onto Riordan who will then have somebody to play off.

28-01-2011, 05:07 PM
Based on what ? :cool2:

Based on the fact that he is playing at a MUCH higher level than any of our strikers ever have, he was a good player with Dundee Utd and the Huns, and now with Burnley ... You obviously rate Nish :devil:

28-01-2011, 05:09 PM
Not a prolific goalscorer but a big strong lad who can win balls in the air and hold it up.
Would be ideal IMO if we hold onto Riordan who will then have somebody to play off.

But if lose Deek and are stuck with Thompson and Nish, we'll be playing hoofball and even if we stay up I reckon we'll become a boring hoof ball side....and unless results are excellent I can see the fans being really disgruntled next season. My Forrest supporting colleague warned me of his 'style' ........ Though 1st thing is 1st and that is staying in the SPL.....won't worry too much after that at this time........
Certainly seems to be making it as hard as possible for us, losing our only 2 players that can produce anything at the right end.

Oh well, in a few days we'll see how our team will take shape. Right now, I fear the very worse.

28-01-2011, 05:12 PM
Based on the fact that he is playing at a MUCH higher level than any of our strikers ever have, he was a good player with Dundee Utd and the Huns, and now with Burnley ... You obviously rate Nish :devil:

No I dont ad i bet Thompson is just as prolific as Nish has been this year

A 32 yr old injury prone and scores seldom

28-01-2011, 05:16 PM

But if lose Deek and are stuck with Thompson and Nish, we'll be playing hoofball and even if we stay up I reckon we'll become a boring hoof ball side....and unless results are excellent I can see the fans being really disgruntled next season. My Forrest supporting colleague warned me of his 'style' ........ Though 1st thing is 1st and that is staying in the SPL.....won't worry too much after that at this time........
Certainly seems to be making it as hard as possible for us, losing our only 2 players that can produce anything at the right end.

Oh well, in a few days we'll see how our team will take shape. Right now, I fear the very worse.

Is everyone forgetting we've got Duffy( still to get full sharpness ) and Byrne ( waiting in the wings ), Thompson is the type of CF we need right now, someone who can hold the ball up and bring others into play.....so what if he isn't going to bang in the goals but if he can help create them, then that'll do for me.

Obviously I don't want to see Riordan and Zouma move on but come on lads and lasses get a grip, life goes on and players come and go.:confused:

28-01-2011, 05:19 PM
No I dont ad i bet Thompson is just as prolific as Nish has been this year

A 32 yr old injury prone and scores seldom

For what we have, money and players, I would give him a deal if I were CC.
The players we have (as we all know) are not doing the job .. Simples :greengrin

28-01-2011, 05:19 PM
Is everyone forgetting we've got Duffy( still to get full sharpness ) and Byrne ( waiting in the wings ), Thompson is the type of CF we need right now, someone who can hold the ball up and bring others into play.....so what if he isn't going to bang in the goals but if he can help create them, then that'll do for me.

Obviously I don't want to see Riordan and Zouma move on but come on lads and lasses get a grip, life goes on and players come and go.:confused:

Given that CC keeps playing just Nish, and if he signed another striker, I am just assuming that's the main 2 which would feature. And if it was Thompson we signed, it certainly would sound like we're going to continue hoof ball.

Don't need to get a grip thank you - Simply having football conversation about the team we all love and support and we're all allowed comments and observations.

28-01-2011, 05:21 PM

Obviously I don't want to see Riordan and Zouma move on but come on lads and lasses get a grip, life goes on and players come and go.:confused:aye, but in our case it's mostly good ones that go and not so good (and that's being kind in some cases) that come.

I guess we'll just have tae wait and see what we end up with.

28-01-2011, 05:27 PM
Given that CC keeps playing just Nish, and if he signed another striker, I am just assuming that's the main 2 which would feature. And if it was Thompson we signed, it certainly would sound like we're going to continue hoof ball.

Don't need to get a grip thank you - Simply having football conversation about the team we all love and support and we're all allowed comments and observations.

Dinnae get yer knickers in a twist, it's a figure of speech......just think we're all getting too worried about certain players leaving, they've left before and will again, it's the nature of football.

ArmadaleHibs
28-01-2011, 05:40 PM
you know what. if Riordan and zoumma want to leave they will and thats it. I would not imagine CC or anyone at hibs would want them to leave and its more a case of them not wanting to stay.

I couldnt give a toss if all the players that weve had at our disposal this season with the exception ( hanlon spoony and booth) were all sacked and replaced with new players as weve been utter tripe and i just want to see us win again.

So get behind CC and lets stop all this negative dross that has been placed on his new players that hes brought in before theyve even kicked a ball.

LETS BE HONEST HERE, IT CANT GET ANY WORSE

Hibiza
28-01-2011, 05:47 PM
a mix up on colin ( couldnt hit a barn door) ncnish.

basil fawlty
28-01-2011, 05:51 PM

Why do you asume if we get thompson it will be hoofball as you call it? was it hoofball when we had mixu and brewester both big men who were good in the air and could hold up and bring others into play, you play to any strength you have. I am old enough to remember peter withe at forest ,lee chapman at leeds, every team at that time seemed to have a big physical striker and that is something missing from the game now, dont know why, perhaps because big guys are not as fast or mobile as todays players but they were certainly more exciting. Now i have not seen thompson play since his rangers days but if he is still fit i would take him like a shot, look what kyle has done for hearts and he is injured half the time.

28-01-2011, 06:04 PM
Why do you asume if we get thompson it will be hoofball as you call it? was it hoofball when we had mixu and brewester both big men who were good in the air and could hold up and bring others into play, you play to any strength you have. I am old enough to remember peter withe at forest ,lee chapman at leeds, every team at that time seemed to have a big physical striker and that is something missing from the game now, dont know why, perhaps because big guys are not as fast or mobile as todays players but they were certainly more exciting. Now i have not seen thompson play since his rangers days but if he is still fit i would take him like a shot, look what kyle has done for hearts and he is injured half the time.

Coz that's what we play under CC and letting Deek and Zouma go, looks like we are preparing for 'direct' football then?

If it works then fine, and I totally agree we need proper presence upfront.
I'd rather it was Nish leaving, with a physical striker coming in to play up front along with Deek. That's all really.

We lost Stokes goals, then we'll lose Deeks goals.
Only concerned where we're heading.......If that's allowed.

micksoo
28-01-2011, 06:06 PM
According to SSN Iwelumo talking to Preston so looks like 1 in and 1 out

28-01-2011, 06:09 PM
aye, but in our case it's mostly good ones that go and not so good (and that's being kind in some cases) that come.

I guess we'll just have tae wait and see what we end up with.

Is that not the case everywhere though? I think the lower down the food chain you are the worse it gets but is still, relatively speaking of course, the same in most places.

BigKev
28-01-2011, 06:18 PM

Presume it's Charlie Austin from Swindon...

If so he'll do well with them. Our chances of signing Thomson will rely on Howe's style of play IMO. If we get him fair enough but there are equally available players still out there.

CC has signed players no "in the knowers" have offered so far so in him I trust to keep it quiet.

28-01-2011, 09:24 PM

3 of the players signed are midfielders so maybe CC didnt feel we had the correct players to play through midfield and needed to bring in new faces that would enable him to play that way:dunno:It seems to me that he thinks most of our problems stem from midfield judging by his signings

jonny
29-01-2011, 08:44 AM
3 of the players signed are midfielders so maybe CC didnt feel we had the correct players to play through midfield and needed to bring in new faces that would enable him to play that way:dunno:It seems to me that he thinks most of our problems stem from midfield judging by his signings

I think that most of our problems do stem from the midfield.
Recently our midfield seems to be lacking in ball winners and creativity - the 2 core responsibilities for a midfield IMO.

Bringing in 3 midfielders suggests to me that CC is seeing what we are and has identified this problem area and has moved to rectify it.
I'd still like to see a decent striker to hold the ball up brought in but if we hold onto Riordan and with the improvement (hopefully) in midfield we should be OK.

If we get Rooney now or at the end of the season it'd be a massive bonus.

29-01-2011, 10:48 AM

But if lose Deek and are stuck with Thompson and Nish, we'll be playing hoofball and even if we stay up I reckon we'll become a boring hoof ball side..

That would be a pity right enough because we were playing such pretty, free-flowing stuff before he arrived.

He must have bought the three midfielders as they are good at watching the ball being kicked over their heads to the strikers.

29-01-2011, 11:42 AM
Coz that's what we play under CC and letting Deek and Zouma go, looks like we are preparing for 'direct' football then?

If it works then fine, and I totally agree we need proper presence upfront.
I'd rather it was Nish leaving, with a physical striker coming in to play up front along with Deek. That's all really.

We lost Stokes goals, then we'll lose Deeks goals.
Only concerned where we're heading.......If that's allowed.

Don't you think that it is maybe because of the midfield we have that we play that way, CC is constructing a new midfield to play the way he wants, I will wait and see how it develops before making a decision.

29-01-2011, 12:04 PM
Don't you think that it is maybe because of the midfield we have that we play that way, CC is constructing a new midfield to play the way he wants, I will wait and see how it develops before making a decision.

I haven't made any 'decision' ...... fully behind CC and Adams and the signings have most definitely gave me plenty encouragement.

He has made a team playing poor, even worse though. But agree he can't be judged until we see his own team, half of which is almost recruited.

Roll on tomorrow :flag: