View Full Version : Murray through to Australian Open final
aberhibsfc
28-01-2011, 11:33 AM
Well done son.
28-01-2011, 11:38 AM
Least one Hibee is doing well :thumbsup:
Could he win the title wearing his green top :greengrin
Heard a few Hibee shouts from the crowd too!
KiddA
28-01-2011, 11:39 AM
Well done son.
Just watched it over here had to get up a wee bit early for it but it was well worth it :thumbsup: well done Andy
28-01-2011, 11:39 AM
Could be a super Sunday: Andy Murray wins an Open title and we score a goal and take the points from DU!:agree::flag:
28-01-2011, 11:40 AM
Hibs need some of the Murray fighting spirit.
Well done Andy:aok:
28-01-2011, 11:41 AM
Could be a super Sunday: Andy Murray wins an Open title and we score a goal and take the points from DU!:agree::flag:
What is this 'goal' you speak of?
28-01-2011, 11:42 AM
That would be class!
Murray's win - would for me - be the greatest sporting achievement by any Scot ever.
28-01-2011, 11:42 AM
You've just taken that too far. :greengrin
28-01-2011, 11:44 AM
Murray has more chance of this than Hibs have scoring in 2011 :greengrin
28-01-2011, 11:44 AM
That would be class!
Murray's win - would for me - be the greatest sporting achievement by any Scot ever.
:agree: Yep.
That would surely be the BBC's Sport Personality of the Year 2011 decided already.
28-01-2011, 11:46 AM
That would surely be the BBC's Sport Personality of the Year 2011 decided already.
Don't think the English would vote for him. They'll be hacked off it was a Scot, not nice, wee Tim, Tim thick-and-dim. :wink: :greengrin
aberhibsfc
28-01-2011, 11:47 AM
I was following it on a live link at work, the 4th set was tense stuff. Nibbled my finger nails down to the knuckles.
With Nadal and Federer dispatched already, only Djokovic stands in his way of his first Grand Slam title.
Unfortunately this is one of Djokovic's best surfaces and he's won this title before. He will be well up for this too and see this as his best opportunity to return to winning ways.
I only hope Andy can overcome any nerves and be mentally ready for this final match. He has got the game and just needs to overcome the final hurdle to prove to himself and others he is a Grand Slam winner.
If he manages to capture this title, the pressure on him at this years Wimbledon will be crazier than ever.
Think he's got a good game for grass but Nadal and Federer have got the edge on results there. If he can achieve the unbelievable double he would banish any doubts and possibly go onto be another tennis great. It would be amazingly funny if the next Brit to win Wimbledon was Scottish.
It would be a nice touch if he won the Australian that he had some Hibs merchandise, a top or scarf or something to associate himself to the club. Would be an advertising master stroke if Hibs could get him on camera with something distinctly Hibs.
Anyway, getting way ahead of myself, I only hope he can go away, rest and take confidence in himself to approach this next game as prepared as possible to perform well.
Well done and good luck.
:not worth:flag:
28-01-2011, 11:49 AM
That would be class!
I'd argue Ken Buchanan travelling to Puerto Rico to beat Ismael Laguna over 15 rounds and become lightweight World Champion shades it.
Bearing in mind the effects of altitude on sportsmen and so on weren't understood the same then as they are today and he had little or no time to acclimatise.
'Mon the Hibs
28-01-2011, 11:52 AM
:hmmm: :greengrin
Well done Andy!!!! Your time is now! (though i've been saying that for the last 4 years :wink:)
28-01-2011, 02:41 PM
Just looked on Twitter.
"Good luck to Andy Murray for the Australian Open final on Sunday. Hope it's the first of many slams for you. Best wishes from LFC" ...from the Official Liverpool FC Twitter account.
A nice gesture I thought...part of the reason why I've always followed and loved Liverpool..the Scottish connection to the club over the years and the fact they actually warm to us Scots doon there, in the main. :agree:
Anyways, hope Murray wins it.
hibbybob
28-01-2011, 04:02 PM
It would be a nice touch if Hibs put a good luck Andy message on the official site!
Andy to win in Oz and the hibees to do the business at Tannadice. That would be a good sunday!!
Mon Andy :flag:
Twiglet
28-01-2011, 11:55 PM
It would be a nice touch if Hibs put a good luck Andy message on the official site!
Andy to win in Oz and the hibees to do the business at Tannadice. That would be a good sunday!!
Mon Andy :flag:
They did last year. Think there was something on the hibs website.