View Full Version : Zemmama to Boro (Merged)

Pages : 1 [2]

28-01-2011, 11:47 PM
And how do you know he does not want to be here ? Perhaps he was told he was not wanted :confused:
Yeah we are better with guys that run around 100% have no skill, No ability, unable to shoot, incapable of passing to a team mate never get on the ball but at least they run around.

I cant believe fans do not want Football Players in our team

I want to see football players in our team. Zemmama has flashes of brilliance but from his debut at Inverness onwards he has proved to be a disappointment. Do you honestly think he has shown any sort of consistency. He does some clever stuff but usually it results in nothing effective. He can thrill at times but far too often he frustrates.

28-01-2011, 11:49 PM
Perhaps, maybe, if... Any more imponderables you can add in here?

So without seeing them, you've dismissed Towell, Scott, Thornhill and Paulsen as having no skill, no ability, can't shoot, can't pass to a team-mate, will never get on the ball - all they're good for is running around?

If £200,000 for Zouma and a bit more leeway on the wage-bill means we have a better chance of holding onto Deek, I'm happy to take it. And run all the way to the bank.

In the SPL - especially at the wrong end of the SPL - every player in the team has to be able to scrap for the ball and give 100%. Zouma right now would be a luxury - I look forward to seeing how he copes with some of the big defensive midfield tacklers in the Championship.

No sorry I was talking about the players we have played in the team so far this season. I have not dismissed anyone but all still have to prove themselves Zemmama does not.

28-01-2011, 11:51 PM
And you base his replacements fitness, ability, consistency and not getting injured and on what ?

The bit in bold is exactly what we may need to turn this around or simply stay in the league

No point arguing you have you opinion I have mine lets hope we are in the SPL come August.

Towell looked fitter, sharper, hungrier and more dangerous in his first ever SPL start for one thing. None of them have an injury record longer than their lists of appearances either.

For the record I think we will survive, and survive well :agree:

28-01-2011, 11:52 PM
I want to see football players in our team. Zemmama has flashes of brilliance but from his debut at Inverness onwards he has proved to be a disappointment. Do you honestly think he has shown any sort of consistency. He does some clever stuff but usually it results in nothing effective. He can thrill at times but far too often he frustrates. A legend in his own injury time.

Of the current squad ignore new signing who would you Pay good money to watch

I would pay to see Deek and Zemamma

Maybe Hanlon and Booth as "our" youngsters no one else

We DO NOT have football players in squad out with them.

28-01-2011, 11:54 PM
Towell looked fitter, sharper, hungrier and more dangerous in his first ever SPL start for one thing. None of them have an injury record longer than their lists of appearances either.

To be fair Towell was okay, however gifted the goal to kill the game and will create very little going in his short time at ER.

28-01-2011, 11:56 PM
To be fair Towell was okay, however gifted the goal to kill the game and will create very little going in his short time at ER.

Didn't the mighty game changing Zemmama also give away possession which led to a goal?

Good to see you've wrote the lad off after 90 minutes mind, while Zemmama is still untouchable despite not having a good 90 minutes since when? 2009?

Badge
28-01-2011, 11:58 PM

Agree 100%. Towell did well in his first game. We will survive with a bunch of hungry young players rather than those who have coasted through the last 12 months or so.

DAVE1875
29-01-2011, 12:00 AM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1351557/Middlesbrough-face-battle-Kris-Boyd-Leroy-Lita-despite-signing-Merouane-Zemmama.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

29-01-2011, 12:04 AM
Didn't the mighty game changing Zemmama also give away possession which led to a goal?

Good to see you've wrote the lad off after 90 minutes mind, while Zemmama is still untouchable despite not having a good 90 minutes since when? 2009?

What part did you not read? I did not write any on off I said to be fair he did okay It WAS a howler for the goal and as a Right Back I dont think he will create much however his main job is to defend not create. Where did I say Zem is untouchable ? What I dont type in future just make up :wink:

P.S. the other goal came from a free kick Hibs had 10 players back in the box I dont think many would blame Zemamma for that goal. Then again 5 mins before that free kick Murray gave possesin away by knocking it out for a throw in he coud have been the catalyst

29-01-2011, 12:17 AM
What part did you not read? I did not write any on off I said to be fair he did okay It WAS a howler for the goal and as a Right Back I dont think he will create much however his main job is to defend not create. Where did I say Zem is untouchable ? What I dont type in future just make up :wink:

P.S. the other goal came from a free kick Hibs had 10 players back in the box I dont think many would blame Zemamma for that goal. Then again 5 mins before that free kick Murray gave possesin away by knocking it out for a throw in he coud have been the catalyst

I disagree i think he put in some good crosses and looks a fine player. His pass back was a bad mistake but so was zoomers penalty miss.

joebakerforever
29-01-2011, 12:27 AM
Mowbray probably got the best out of Zemmama, so this transfer is beneficial to both the player and Petrie's pocket.

Hopefully the guys that Calderwood is recruiting have decent physique and stamina, something that has been generally lacking and definitely needed for a bottom six relegation dogfight.

YetholmHibee
29-01-2011, 01:07 AM

So without seeing them, you've dismissed Towell, Scott, Thornhill and Paulsen as having no skill, no ability, can't shoot, can't pass to a team-mate, will never get on the ball - all they're good for is running around?

If £200,000 for Zouma and a bit more leeway on the wage-bill means we have a better chance of holding onto Deek, I'm happy to take it. And run all the way to the bank.

In the SPL - especially at the wrong end of the SPL - every player in the team has to be able to scrap for the ball and give 100%. Zouma right now would be a luxury - I look forward to seeing how he copes with some of the big defensive midfield tacklers in the Championship.

You don't have to go too far! :rolleyes:

Riordan, Zemmama & Galbraith have struggled against the big physical midfielders of the SPL recently . . .
And they have done pretty badly over the last 6 games. :agree:

:taxi :taxi :taxi

shambles
29-01-2011, 03:23 AM
Yup. How much has he contributed at all, actually? He seems to have spent most of his time (a) on the treatment table; (b) in the Middle East playing for someone else; (c) not fully fit because he was observing Ramadan.

In between times, I have to admit he was quite good, but IMO all he's PROVEN as being is undependable and ungrateful. Hibs went through hoops for him, and now he can't wait to get on the train out of here.

29-01-2011, 04:02 AM
Another cup winner departs:not worth

Good luck Zoumma and thanks for that goal against the Hearts!!:aok:

29-01-2011, 04:25 AM
It's sad that Zemmama never quite lived up to the hype and never quite hit the heights that I thought he would.

I still remember his debut v Motherwell and remember thinking he was going to be absolutely brilliant. Then the next week at Parkhead he was brilliant again.

I guess the injuries finally got to him and it's a pity he never fulfilled his potential, just like Benji I suppose.

Good luck to him.

delbert
29-01-2011, 05:26 AM
Frankly right now Zemmama is a luxury we cannot afford, we need guys in midfield in the trenches right now and that was never, ever Zemmama. Capable of brilliance at times no doubt, but in his mid twenties and still does not know how to play with his head up, and as for gifting possession to opposition players, did it every bit as much as many of our duds, if not more. If we get £200,000 for him, it should be given straight to ICT for Rooney, they turned down £100,000 from Rubio Kazan, but I doubt they,d turn down double that right at the end of the window. We need a striker who is not afraid to pull the trigger, who is full of confidence and who knows where the goals are, and despite all the other signings, which I fully support, if CC does'nt bring in a striker after watching five zeros in 2011, then for me his credibility is shot to hell, because that is the area where we are lacking most right now, an out and out goal scorer. We can create as many chances as we want between now and the end of the season, but if anybody on here seriosly reckons that with a target man like horizontal Nish we are going to get goals, then deluded does'nt even come close. Lets hope CC knows this too.

29-01-2011, 05:56 AM
Frankly right now Zemmama is a luxury we cannot afford, we need guys in midfield in the trenches right now and that was never, ever Zemmama. Capable of brilliance at times no doubt, but in his mid twenties and still does not know how to play with his head up, and as for gifting possession to opposition players, did it every bit as much as many of our duds, if not more. If we get £200,000 for him, it should be given straight to ICT for Rooney, they turned down £100,000 from Rubio Kazan, but I doubt they,d turn down double that right at the end of the window. We need a striker who is not afraid to pull the trigger, who is full of confidence and who knows where the goals are, and despite all the other signings, which I fully support, if CC does'nt bring in a striker after watching five zeros in 2011, then for me his credibility is shot to hell, because that is the area where we are lacking most right now, an out and out goal scorer. We can create as many chances as we want between now and the end of the season, but if anybody on here seriosly reckons that with a target man like horizontal Nish we are going to get goals, then deluded does'nt even come close. Lets hope CC knows this too.

I cant agree with this bit in bold. The midfield have not created anything for our strikers so it is very harsh to judge them this way. What strikers in the SPL would have been able to score with the midfield we have had up until recently?

calumb
29-01-2011, 06:27 AM
I cant agree with this bit in bold. The midfield have not created anything for our strikers so it is very harsh to judge them this way. What strikers in the SPL would have been able to score with the midfield we have had up until recently?

Agree with that but it will be Sunday at the earliest before we find out if that situation has improved any . What we do know is that with the exception of Riordan and at a very big push Nish we have no proven spl goalscorer (Byrne is untested and its been a while since Duffy scored goals).

I would sooner CC took any money he got for Zemmama and Bamba and found a big strong forward before the window closes so even if the midfield is still lacking he can at least try and play hoofball just to get us out of this mess.

29-01-2011, 06:52 AM
It's sad that Zemmama never quite lived up to the hype and never quite hit the heights that I thought he would.

I still remember his debut v Motherwell and remember thinking he was going to be absolutely brilliant. Then the next week at Parkhead he was brilliant again.

I guess the injuries finally got to him and it's a pity he never fulfilled his potential, just like Benji I suppose.

Good luck to him.

Not that well obviously.:greengrin His first appearance was up at Inverness.

sunshine1875
29-01-2011, 07:22 AM

:agree: another dire game at ICT's ground

Edinburgh Green
29-01-2011, 07:25 AM
Not seen him play but you're right he was very highly rated.

If its £200,000 plus Halliday, then Rod is a genius! :not worth

Yeah that would be a superb deal!

coco22
29-01-2011, 07:27 AM
zemmama has had flashes of brilliance undoubtedly. in an ideal world, having him as a squad player, 15 games a season and impact sub appearances would be great. current budget and predicament would never accomodate that so its a shame but think its best he moves on if it is his wish.

29-01-2011, 07:59 AM

Alright pedant...FULL HOME DEBUT :greengrin

29-01-2011, 08:13 AM
Let him go? He wanted to go, when a player wants to leave it's game over.

That is the case these days even if the ink on the contract is not yet dry. The manager and chairman have to do whats best for the club. That said I am pretty confident if CC wanted to keep him he would be going nowhere till may. It's a judgement call.
Scott Brown was different in that he actually fell out with the club but made up again and a deal was struck that suited both parties and Brown eventually left on good terms, similar to Fletcher in a way when we knocked back Celtic.

As an aside it will be interesting to see if Torres is still at Liverpool next season, or perhaps sooner as he has handed in a transfer request following Chelsea's bid. What price loyalty eh?

29-01-2011, 08:49 AM

Got to be said a little bit of a contradiction righting off Zouma for not being a 100% dig in player in a relegation battle and using the money to keep Deek who of course is well suited to such a scrap. :greengrin

29-01-2011, 09:01 AM
Got to be said a little bit of a contradiction righting off Zouma for not being a 100% dig in player in a relegation battle and using the money to keep Deek who of course is well suited to such a scrap. :greengrin

A key difference being that Riordan despite his faults is easily our top scorer. I think we should have kept Zouma. The guy has been out for ages with serious injury, he's not a going to hit top form straight away...especially coming into a team devoid of confidence. When he comes good again he would be a class apart from most players in this league and the cash we lose by allowing his contract to run out will be a pittance compared to what we would lose being out the SPL for a season

29-01-2011, 09:06 AM
I'd have thought the new men who have arrived, would have been to compliment Zemamma? Now it seems they are here to play with Rankin and the likes, a different approach to how we would all like to see us play i suppose, although if we start winning, there will be no complaints. Unless of course those wins are lucky?:devil:

29-01-2011, 09:10 AM
Point four Zemmamma is PROVEN perfomer at this level

Once every four or five games when he can be bothered :cool2:

29-01-2011, 09:15 AM
I'd have thought the new men who have arrived, would have been to compliment Zemamma? Now it seems they are here to play with Rankin and the likes, a different approach to how we would all like to see us play i suppose, although if we start winning, there will be no complaints. Unless of course those wins are lucky?:devil:

I thought we'd actually signed 4 midfielders.

Even if Towell plays at right back, there's no place for the likes of Zemamma or Rankin.

Oh, and at the moment, I'd take a lucky win any day.

29-01-2011, 09:15 AM

Or Deeks? Perhaps theres room for one maverick in CC's plans but not two?

29-01-2011, 09:24 AM
I thought we'd actually signed 4 midfielders.

Even if Towell plays at right back, there's no place for the likes of Zemamma or Rankin.

Oh, and at the moment, I'd take a lucky win any day.
Our Colin seems to like a 5 midfield Dave, with one up top.

Or Deeks? Perhaps theres room for one maverick in CC's plans but not two?

29-01-2011, 09:25 AM
Latest position from CC as noted in today's Scotsman:

"They have spoken to him and the negotiations are ongoing at the moment," Calderwood said of Middlesbrough. "We understand they are at a point where they are close to a pre-contract agreement."

If the English club and Zemmama reach that point, Hibs will then seek a fee for the player, acknowledging that there is little point in keeping him against his will. "I think they are quite keen to implement something now and I think the player is as well," Calderwood continued. "We need to know if he has actually agreed a contract.

"Once we get to that point it is just a discussion between him and me, really. Then we'll get a feeling."

Mind you this would have been the position late yesterday. Events may have overtaken this article and the Daily Mail is nearer the mark. :dunno:

29-01-2011, 09:51 AM
A key difference being that Riordan despite his faults is easily our top scorer. I think we should have kept Zouma. The guy has been out for ages with serious injury, he's not a going to hit top form straight away...especially coming into a team devoid of confidence. When he comes good again he would be a class apart from most players in this league and the cash we lose by allowing his contract to run out will be a pittance compared to what we would lose being out the SPL for a season

Wasnt disputing that it was the comparison of the comment that at the end of the league we are currently at we need players up for a scrap and who will give 100%.

29-01-2011, 10:01 AM
I enjoyed Zemmamma in the odd game he played for the team. Sadly in most games he either played for himself, was injured or wasn't even in the country. Hope he regains fitness and does himself proud at Boro. Bye

29-01-2011, 10:05 AM
Wasnt disputing that it was the comparison of the comment that at the end of the league we are currently at we need players up for a scrap and who will give 100%.

I don't think this way, i just like better quality players. Hard work can only take you so far. In fact we have quite a lot of hard working players in the team, i don't think for one minute if Derek Riordan worked as good as say John Rankin, we would be in any different position as we are now?

29-01-2011, 10:20 AM
Latest position from CC as noted in today's Scotsman:

Mind you this would have been the position late yesterday. Events may have overtaken this article and the Daily Mail is nearer the mark. :dunno:

Be the first time then. Probably isn't true as there is no mention of Diana or immigration/falling house prices in the South in the article

29-01-2011, 11:33 AM
Be the first time then. Probably isn't true as there is no mention of Diana or immigration/falling house prices in the South in the article

The Mail on Sunday will have a story about Moroccan immigrants sending house prices plummeting in Middlesbrough.

While The News of the World runs with "Princess Di - The Moroccan Contract Killer Now Living On Tees-side. Is Tony Mowbray The Muslim Godfather?"

29-01-2011, 11:59 AM
the mail on sunday will have a story about moroccan immigrants sending house prices plummeting in middlesbrough.

While the news of the world runs with "princess di - the moroccan contract killer now living on tees-side. Is tony mowbray the muslim godfather?"

29-01-2011, 12:39 PM
I don't think this way, i just like better quality players. Hard work can only take you so far. In fact we have quite a lot of hard working players in the team, i don't think for one minute if Derek Riordan worked as good as say John Rankin, we would be in any different position as we are now?

Dont disagree all I was doing was highlighting what I thought was a little contradicting as using the money from Zouma to pay Deek as we need 100% committed guys at the club during a relegation scrap. The balance is always hard work with quality which we are likely to be able to afford if young and potential or older nearing retirement. The problem with just having grafters is that we may get out of this seasons scrap but next season we wouldnt have the quality to kick up to positions in the league we realistically should be at.

29-01-2011, 12:42 PM
Dont disagree all I was doing was highlighting what I thought was a little contradicting as using the money from Zouma to pay Deek as we need 100% committed guys at the club during a relegation scrap. The balance is always hard work with quality which we are likely to be able to afford if young and potential or older nearing retirement. The problem with just having grafters is that we may get out of this seasons scrap but next season we wouldnt have the quality to kick up to positions in the league we realistically should be at.

Deek is apparently carrying a hip injury, but has shown that when fit he WILL scrap for the ball and work for the team.

Zouma doing the same? Aye, right! :rolleyes:

He's a lovely player on his day, but that day only happens once or twice a season at most, IMO.

29-01-2011, 12:42 PM
BBC resporting Boro and Hibs have agreed fee for Zouma.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/9380840.stm

29-01-2011, 12:44 PM

Thats it then. Absolutely and totally gutted:boo hoo:

29-01-2011, 12:45 PM

I understand what you are saying, and why you say it. Is it the right way to go, not for me? All it does is fill the side with more mediocrity. That after all is the reason we are in this position imo.

Purehibee_MYB
29-01-2011, 12:48 PM
Gonna miss the wee man if he goes... Loved him even though lately he hasn't been his best understandably coming back from injury.

Will never forget the flick against Dunfermiline and the goal (s) in the Edinburgh Derby

GOOD LUCK Zouma (if this all goes through which it looks like it will)

29-01-2011, 12:52 PM
I will miss the wee man as he is an entertainer and a great player to have about when things were going well. Should hopefully see Wotherspoon reintroduced on the right wing which is a decent consolation. The money and wages must be used to bring a fresh striker in though imho! The squad is starting to take a bit shape and settle down somewhat which we need for the run in.

joebakerforever
29-01-2011, 12:55 PM

Surely it would be difficult to get a work permit (as mentioned) before Tuesday or does the Transfer Deadline not apply to Championship clubs :confused:

29-01-2011, 12:55 PM
It's sad to see us lose another creative player but by all accounts he wanted to go. :cool2:

At the end of the day we need players that will put themselves about and unfortunately Zumma isn't that sort of player that will get the tackle in .. and he is just back from injury so he isn't about to jeopardise his comeback ..

We need harder men, that will get the sleeves up and fight for our lives :agree:

29-01-2011, 12:56 PM
I will miss the wee man as he is an entertainer and a great player to have about when things were going well. Should hopefully see Wotherspoon reintroduced on the right wing which is a decent consolation. The money and wages must be used to bring a fresh striker in though imho! The squad is starting to take a bit shape and settle down somewhat which we need for the run in.

:agree: We desperately need a new forward, Rooney would be my preferred option, Thomson seems to be injured an awful lot, and at 32 is not one for the future. Rooney if he continues to progress, could make us a few bob later on too?

29-01-2011, 12:57 PM
Zemamma away for £200,000

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1351557/Middlesbrough-face-battle-Kris-Boyd-Leroy-Lita-despite-signing-Merouane-Zemmama.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

RP & CC - you are both :asshole:s for agreeing to this
If we are relegated for lack of a creative force then I'll know where to point the finger :grr:

29-01-2011, 01:00 PM
:agree: We desperately need a new forward, Rooney would be my preferred option, Thomson seems to be injured an awful lot, and at 32 is not one for the future. Rooney if he continues to progress, could make us a few bob later on too?

Mine would be Torres :devil: but that's not going to happen :wink:

Apart from ST, who else is on the radar? ..

29-01-2011, 01:02 PM
If we are relegated for lack of a creative force then I'll know where to point the finger :grr:

And if we're not cos the team has a better balance, fewer passengers and gets stuck in? What then?

Purehibee_MYB
29-01-2011, 01:02 PM

To be fair they haven't really got much choice... Lose him for free in Summer...having a player not really playing for much if hes away then...or take a fee now..

29-01-2011, 01:03 PM

Yeah agree with this and it appears that this is now our transfer policy anyway in bringing younger players who can improve and possibly be sold on rather than players in their twilight years. Even just the impact in freshening the forward department up would do no harm.

I actually think we are primed now to kick on a bit once a win comes along here is hoping it is not too far off in the future!

29-01-2011, 01:06 PM
Yeah agree with this and it appears that this is now our transfer policy anyway in bringing younger players who can improve and possibly be sold on rather than players in their twilight years. Even just the impact in freshening the forward department up would do no harm.

I actually think we are primed now to kick on a bit once a win comes along here is hoping it is not too far off in the future!

:agree: I agree everything is in place, its down to them now. :pray:

29-01-2011, 01:17 PM
And if we're not cos the team has a better balance, fewer passengers and gets stuck in? What then?

Then I'll breath a sigh of relief - as will RP and CC as their gamble to gain 200K against the risk of losing millions will have paid off.

29-01-2011, 01:20 PM
To be fair they haven't really got much choice... Lose him for free in Summer...having a player not really playing for much if hes away then...or take a fee now..

They had a choice alright - keep a talented player on the books to help fight off the threat of relegation or wave him goodbye and boost the bank balance - they chose the later and I hope it's not a gamble which comes back to bite them on the erse.

29-01-2011, 01:23 PM
They had a choice alright - keep a talented player on the books to help fight off the threat of relegation or wave him goodbye and boost the bank balance - they chose the later and I hope it's not a gamble which comes back to bite them on the erse.

I'd rather have the money to hopefully go after a more consistent performer rather than put all our hopes on an unfit, misfiring, injury prone midfielder who wants away.

29-01-2011, 01:24 PM

Who's to say that He didn't want to stay and fight :cool2:

Zumma is NOT a fighter by any stretch on the imagination :agree: :wink:

Dirkster23
29-01-2011, 01:24 PM
Then I'll breath a sigh of relief - as will RP and CC as their gamble to gain 200K against the risk of losing millions will have paid off.

The transfer window doesn't close until Monday night, who's to say they wont re-invest the 200k in the team this window?

29-01-2011, 01:29 PM
:agree: I agree everything is in place, its down to them now. :pray:

Right, I really don't want to be negative but how can you be so certain. Have you seen any of the new signings before? Has anyone?

29-01-2011, 01:34 PM
Right, I really don't want to be negative but how can you be so certain. Have you seen any of the new signings before? Has anyone?

:agree: People are roundly shouted down on here if they dismiss new signings without seeing them play. Surely it's equally as bad to be raving about signings as if they are Messi before anybody has seen them kick a ball for Hibs.

I hope CC and Adams have got it right but I'm sure nobody predicted before the window that 2 of our 3 best players would be sold(so far). So it's a gamble but one that simply has to pay off.

29-01-2011, 01:36 PM

According to the BBC :devil: ST is in the starting 11 :confused:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/fa_cup/9379063.stm

I've got to say, He MAYBE!! what we are looking for, just to hold things up a little longer than at present :greengrin I'd like to see him and DR paired ...

29-01-2011, 01:39 PM

CC and DA have. Which is probably a step forward from the previous regime, if all that is said is to be believed.

They cant be any worse than the guys that are here sahib, and I include Zemmama in that. Zouma had just over 4 months to go on his contract and if he had wanted to stay I am pretty certain he would still be here. I loved the wee man to bits as well but, like Benji, he didnt do enough often enough.

29-01-2011, 01:39 PM
:agree: People are roundly shouted down on here if they dismiss new signings without seeing them play. Surely it's equally as bad to be raving about signings as if they are Messi before anybody has seen them kick a ball for Hibs.

I hope CC and Adams have got it right but I'm sure nobody predicted before the window that 2 of our 3 best players would be sold(so far). So it's a gamble but one that simply has to pay off.
The bigger gamble is not (so far) bringing in some experience. An old head who has been there and done it. Its a huge gamble going into the final half of the season relying on youngsters no matter how good you think they are. The will need time to gell too. If we dont hit the ground running. (winnning more than we dont in Feb) we could well be 1st Div next season. I really hope this gamble pays off.:pray:

29-01-2011, 01:42 PM

I never mentioned the new players? The infrastructure is all in place. The platform is there for the manager and players to show us what they have. Its down to them now.

29-01-2011, 01:43 PM
The bigger gamble is not (so far) bringing in some experience. An old head who has been there and done it. Its a huge gamble going into the final half of the season relying on youngsters no matter how good you think they are. The will need time to gell too. If we dont hit the ground running. (winnning more than we dont in Feb) we could well be 1st Div next season. I really hope this gamble pays off.:pray:

:agree: I'm with you on that one ...

In saying that, it's all part of the master plan :wink:

29-01-2011, 01:44 PM

Superb...:rolleyes:

£400,000 for Bamba and Zemmama (two players who are out of contract in six months) might seem like a great deal, particularly when it was highly unlikely that either of them were going to sign new deals, but relegation (the threat of which hasn't suddenly gone away just because we've signed a few players of our own) will cost us several millions of pounds.

Despite his pretty poor form since he returned from injury, Zemmama was still one of our best players, capable of changing a match in our favour.

I just hope the board know what they're doing.

29-01-2011, 01:47 PM
i thought he was miles of the pace and struggled against rangers, never threatened any danger to them. best players were the centre halfs

I agree that he was off the pace but was our only player trying to create something for almost the entire game - when he came off the team seemed to simply accept defeat.

I'm not saying he was brilliant just one of the best out of the other 10 we had on the park and IMO, the only person really trying to get forward.

Since Benji left he's no been the same player and injury obviously didn't help that.

Upon reflection, if we can get a bit of balance into the squad then his departure may be for the best but if not then we've lost the 2nd most talented footballer at the club for nothing. :paranoid:

29-01-2011, 01:49 PM
Amazing how as soon as the wee man is away there are so many on here complaining that he never tried?! :confused: Yeah he blew hot and cold but I dont think he was guilty of not trying. He was always trying to jeer the crowd up and make things happen, People complaining of no loyalty!? :confused: Was he offered any sort of new contract?! Have any of our out of contract players? So was he jst to completely ignore an approach from Boro? A deal worth a hell of a lot more money and potentially financial security for another few yrs. Does CC even want to keep him? Im working with a guy at the moment who is in covering a maternity leave until June. There is a high chance the girl is not gonna return full time after her leave so he has a great chance of getting kept on. He's still sitting most nights looking for jobs tho coz he wants security. Does this mean he's not commited to my boss?!?! Does it ****. How can you criticise Zemmama for no loyalty if Hibs dont even want him? Folk also moaning that hes not bk to top form yet?!? Get a grip ffs! He's just back from 9 months out injured! I was out for 6 months lst season with a broken ankle/snapped ligaments and im still not back to how I was before. Folk expecting Zouma to be back destroying teams within 3 games in the middle of our worst run of form in about 85 yrs?!? Crazy, absolutely crazy! Folk also moaning about him being injured all the time, yeah its been hugely frustrating but do u think he's meant to get injured? Do u think he has enjoyed being injured? Sounds like there are folk on here who think he's been at it...

End of the day, I had a feeling he would go in the summer but to get rid now is daft imo. Even if he jst pulled one magic performance out the bag in the nxt few months it could have bn the difference between staying up and going down for us. Rest assured Rankin, Miller, Giraffe, McBride et al wont single handedly win us a game between now and the end of the season. One of my best memories is his performance against DU at ER lst season. He was unplayable. We dont desperately need £200,000, it was worth the risk to keep him! And before anyone compares the situation to when Gary Caldwell signed a pre-contract and we all boo'ed him...its 100% different coz he was going to Celtic. Anyway, even if folk had boo'ed him he wouldnt have heard it over the boos for the rest of our midfield so he would have been fine :wink:

I actually met Zouma a few times, Hibs stuck him in a flat directly across from my flat when he first signed and he stayed there for a while. An absolute gentleman and couldnt speak highly enough of Hibs. All the best wee man. Maybe u can get a goal nxt sat as well, what was it, 5 ex players scoring for their new clubs lst Sat whilst we drew a blank. Again...

29-01-2011, 01:52 PM
Superb...:rolleyes:

£400,000 for Bamba and Zemmama (two players who are out of contract in six months) might seem like a great deal, particularly when it was highly unlikely that either of them were going to sign new deals, but relegation (the threat of which hasn't suddenly gone away just because we've signed a few players of our own) will cost us several millions of pounds.

Despite his pretty poor form since he returned from injury, Zemmama was still one of our best players, capable of changing a match in our favour.

I just hope the board know what they're doing.

This might just make the difference between getting and not getting Rooney ?

29-01-2011, 01:53 PM

Considering how poor Hart, De Graaf, Trakys, Duffy (and the rest) have been since signing along with Towell's performance against Rangers (backpass aside), I don't think it's any more of a gamble to bring in a younger player. We just need decent players of any age with a little bit of pace and self-belief.

29-01-2011, 02:00 PM
Considering how poor Hart, De Graaf, Trakys, Duffy (and the rest) have been since signing along with Towell's performance against Rangers (backpass aside), I don't think it's any more of a gamble to bring in a younger player. We just need decent players of any age with a little bit of pace and self-belief.
The Harts De Graffs etc fall into the experienced category but thats about it.
Have any of them been in a proper relegation scrap? Are any of them leaders and organisers on the park. I am all for signing the type of players we have dont get me wrong but the lack of leadership has to be addressed if it hasnt already. I just dont see how kids can have that sort of presence. I hope I am wrong I really do but we must hit the ground running.
Its a gamble for sure and I hope its a winner.
It says a lot of the board to back Calderwood in such a manner it really does. I await the board getting pelters if the gamble fails.:rolleyes:

29-01-2011, 02:23 PM
The Harts De Graffs etc fall into the experienced category but thats about it.
Have any of them been in a proper relegation scrap? Are any of them leaders and organisers on the park. I am all for signing the type of players we have dont get me wrong but the lack of leadership has to be addressed if it hasnt already. I just dont see how kids can have that sort of presence. I hope I am wrong I really do but we must hit the ground running.
Its a gamble for sure and I hope its a winner.
It says a lot of the board to back Calderwood in such a manner it really does. I await the board getting pelters if the gamble fails.:rolleyes:

Have we spent a lot of money in the window? Bamba away, £200k in plus wages saved. Hogg away wages saved, looks like Zemamma away for £200k plus wages saved.

Scott £80k And Thonhill for free as is the icelandic player.
Trowell is on loan. Have we actually spent any money we didnt have before January, and surely wages that have and are being freed up will be covering the new players wages?

29-01-2011, 02:36 PM
I'm really disappointed in Zemamma. All that **** he said about wanting to repay the fans when he came back from injury. Not only that, Hibs were good to him by letting him go on loan when his wife wasn't allowed in the country (not that we had much choice given player power these days but that's for a different thread).

A good player on his day and we really needed him to come good a
on all the promise he has shown in the past. He doesn't go with my best wishes and I think he's really let us down.

29-01-2011, 02:40 PM
Have we spent a lot of money in the window? Bamba away, £200k in plus wages saved. Hogg away wages saved, looks like Zemamma away for £200k plus wages saved.

Scott £80k And Thonhill for free as is the icelandic player.
Trowell is on loan. Have we actually spent any money we didnt have before January, and surely wages that have and are being freed up will be covering the new players wages?
Dont know G. Who mentioned money?
Are both Thornhill and Pallson both frees by the way?

29-01-2011, 02:43 PM
Zemmama has offered very little since he returned from injury. The new guys can't be any worse.

29-01-2011, 02:45 PM

Nobody, but you did say, It says a lot of the board to back Calderwood in such a manner it really does. I await the board getting pelters if the gamble fails. You are saying he's been backed, i just asked if he has money wise?:wink:

29-01-2011, 02:46 PM
Are both Thornhill and Pallson both frees by the way?

I thought they were, i could be wrong though????

29-01-2011, 02:49 PM
Nobody, but you did say, It says a lot of the board to back Calderwood in such a manner it really does. I await the board getting pelters if the gamble fails. You are saying he's been backed, i just asked if he has money wise?:wink:
I meant they could have done a Collins/ Mixu/ Hughes on him and not backed him and forced him out. The players so far are quite obviously been identified by Calderwood or Adams' and not been hawked by agents as in the case of some of our signings in the past

29-01-2011, 02:52 PM
I thought they were, i could be wrong though????
I would be surprised if we got them on free's to be honest. These are players we have chased rather than being free'd by their cliubs. Liverpool payed decent money for Pallson and he is obviously well thought of. Thornhill maybe less valuble but still well thought of.
Who knows for sure?

29-01-2011, 02:56 PM
I meant they could have done a Collins/ Mixu/ Hughes on him and not backed him and forced him out. The players so far are quite obviously been identified by Calderwood or Adams' and not been hawked by agents as in the case of some of our signings in the past

Ah, :agree: I dont think they had any other option than to back him in that way. Although fag packet calculations do seem to have us in credit again imo. I do concede these calculations may be miles out?:dunno:

29-01-2011, 03:01 PM
Ah, :agree: I dont think they had any other option than to back him in that way. Although fag packet calculations do seem to have us in credit again imo. I do concede these calculations may be miles out?:dunno:
Nothing wrong with being in credit:stirrer:
The window isnt shut and I dont think we are finished yet either? :greengrin

29-01-2011, 03:13 PM
I want to see football players in our team. Zemmama has flashes of brilliance but from his debut at Inverness onwards he has proved to be a disappointment. Do you honestly think he has shown any sort of consistency. He does some clever stuff but usually it results in nothing effective. He can thrill at times but far too often he frustrates.

Like 1min 48secs into this vid.
We'll probably never see the likes of that again at ER.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AM1UiRbShM8

Really liked the wee man but it's time for both sides to move on.
Good luck Zooma.

29-01-2011, 03:16 PM
Zemmama has offered very little since he returned from injury. The new guys can't be any worse.

That really is NONSENSE he has played 2.5 games after a 12 month injury what did you really expect? In another 2 - 3 games I would expect a lot more from him.

You have NO idea what the new player will be like they may be worse than we have they may be the new Messi but the point is we dont know.

29-01-2011, 03:18 PM
Nothing wrong with being in credit:stirrer:
The window isnt shut and I dont think we are finished yet either? :greengrin

A centre forward please. :agree:

29-01-2011, 03:19 PM
That really is NONSENSE he has played 2.5 games after a 12 month injury what did you really expect? In another 2 - 3 games I would expect a lot more from him.

You have NO idea what the new player will be like they may be worse than we have they may be the new Messi but the point is we dont know.
Your'e right we dont know but hopefully Calderwood does.

Zemamma is free to talk to anyone he wants and Boro are a step up for him Calderwood has judged it best to let him go now rather than wait till the Summer. Up to Calderwood in that respect.

29-01-2011, 03:20 PM
A centre forward please. :agree:
I'm greedy I want two. :greengrin

29-01-2011, 03:21 PM

I agree with both of you! But, as you say, it will take another 2 or 3 games (at least IMO) to get him up to speed and I'm not sure we can wait that long. Lets face it, if he didnt want to leave (for god knows how much more money per week) he wouldnt have.

29-01-2011, 03:21 PM
Your'e right we dont know but hopefully Calderwood does.

Zemamma is free to talk to anyone he wants and Boro are a step up for him Calderwood has judged it best to let him go now rather than wait till the Summer. Up to Calderwood in that respect.

We either held on to him - in which case I'd have been exceedingly surprised if he'd tried a leg between now and June, and then he would have gone for nothing, or we agree to the move, get the best deal we can, and MOVE ON. :agree:

29-01-2011, 03:33 PM
We either held on to him - in which case I'd have been exceedingly surprised if he'd tried a leg between now and June, and then he would have gone for nothing, or we agree to the move, get the best deal we can, and MOVE ON. :agree:

good point but will we use the money to strengthen the squad at this late stage?
we can live in hope

29-01-2011, 03:36 PM
good point but will we use the money to strengthen the squad at this late stage?
we can live in hope

We are, I am told, trying hard :wink:

29-01-2011, 03:42 PM

no point in asking if u can expand on that? throw some hope in my direction?

ancienthibby
29-01-2011, 03:43 PM

Is that you operating 'just below the main board level' of our Hibees again??:devil:

29-01-2011, 03:46 PM
Is that you operating 'just below the main board level' of our Hibees again??:devil:

Below! I am deeply offended. :greengrin

ancienthibby
29-01-2011, 03:53 PM
Below! I am deeply offended. :greengrin

So, as always suspected, given your start date and posting record, you are now the Tashman's dummy on this board!:greengrin

29-01-2011, 04:33 PM
BBC reporting fee has been agreed.

Cheerio wee man, will always remember you fondly despite the injuries and terribly inconsistent performances. You always tried though I feel and wish you well.

Petrie, just forward that cheque to the caley stadium please :cool2:

29-01-2011, 04:37 PM

Cheerio wee man, will always remember you fondly despite the injuries and terribly inconsistent performances. You always tried though I feel and wish you well.

The "stumbling block" might not be Inverness though? Just a thought.

29-01-2011, 04:38 PM
The "stumbling block" might not be Inverness though? Just a thought.

and?

sixtwo
29-01-2011, 05:57 PM
Cannot believe some fans are excited at the prospect of signing Adam Rooney. He is a poor mans Colin Nish.

29-01-2011, 06:12 PM
Cannot believe some fans are excited at the prospect of signing Adam Rooney. He is a poor mans Colin Nish.

Go i will bite, in what way?

29-01-2011, 06:14 PM
I never mentioned the new players? The infrastructure is all in place. The platform is there for the manager and players to show us what they have. Its down to them now.

:embarrass

Sorry got the wrong end of the stick.

sixtwo
29-01-2011, 06:28 PM
Go i will bite, in what way?

Similar goal scoring records before signing for us (if Rooney does sign) although Nish got his in the SPL while Rooney got his in the first division and the SPL.

He might turn out to be a player but I'm not excited that our club is signing him.

In recent years we have had stokes, fletcher, killen, deeks, O'connor and I'm supposed to get excited at the prospect of signing adam rooney from ict. Is he gonna save us from relegation?

29-01-2011, 06:34 PM

said his cheerios to the players today I believe, along with Chris Hogg.

sixtwo
29-01-2011, 06:37 PM
said his cheerios to the players today I believe, along with Chris Hogg.

Now that is good news

29-01-2011, 06:55 PM
Similar goal scoring records before signing for us (if Rooney does sign) although Nish got his in the SPL while Rooney got his in the first division and the SPL.

He might turn out to be a player but I'm not excited that our club is signing him.

In recent years we have had stokes, fletcher, killen, deeks, O'connor and I'm supposed to get excited at the prospect of signing adam rooney from ict. Is he gonna save us from relegation?

You were excited when we signed Killen from Oldham?

sixtwo
29-01-2011, 07:04 PM
You were excited when we signed Killen from Oldham?

Was happy we were signing a proven goalscorer from a decent team. He had a physical presence and I though it was likely he would score goals at hibs. I think I was right. Or do you disagree?

16 goals in 25 appearances for us is pretty decent. would take him back in a heartbeat!

29-01-2011, 07:18 PM
Was happy we were signing a proven goalscorer from a decent team. He had a physical presence and I though it was likely he would score goals at hibs. I think I was right. Or do you disagree?

16 goals in 25 appearances for us is pretty decent. would take him back in a heartbeat!
that description could quite easily be applied to rooney

sixtwo
29-01-2011, 07:20 PM
that description could quite easily be applied to rooney
Wayne

29-01-2011, 07:29 PM

Not really.

Before us Nish had 40 goals in 145 matches for Killie. Rooney has 40 in 88 matches for ICT. Nish also has 22 in 93 games for us.

I'm no Nish hater, but Rooney has clearly better stats in that area.

29-01-2011, 07:31 PM
Wayne
not on a pre contract,,but if you dont think A D A M ROONEY will vastly improve our team ,we are watching a different team

sixtwo
29-01-2011, 07:31 PM
Not really.

Before us Nish had 40 goals in 145 matches for Killie. Rooney has 40 in 88 matches for ICT. Nish also has 22 in 93 games for us.

I'm no Nish hater, but Rooney has clearly better stats in that area.

How many of rooneys goals were in the first division?

29-01-2011, 07:40 PM
How many of rooneys goals were in the first division?

20, so half of them. Considering in his first season ICT were relegated, and this is their first season back which still has plenty more time to run, I make that a significant contribution.

Gala Foxes
29-01-2011, 07:44 PM
Collette Rooney would be better up front than than Nish

sixtwo
29-01-2011, 07:48 PM
20, so half of them. Considering in his first season ICT were relegated, and this is their first season back which still has plenty more time to run, I make that a significant contribution.

Well, Nish scored a 40 goals at the top level of scottish football and half of Rooneys came against mediocre first division teams.
Is it or is it not fair to draw comparisons between the two?

I made the comparison many posts ago and was shot down. Lets put things into perspective. Rooney is an average player. He has nothing about him that stands out as excellent. He is relatively small, he is not the fastest player I have seen, his finishing is average.

Why are people thinking he is the saviour?

29-01-2011, 07:50 PM
Well, Nish scored a 40 goals at the top level of scottish football and half of Rooneys came against mediocre first division teams.

I made the comparison many posts ago and was shot down. Lets put things into perspective. Rooney is an average player. He has nothing about him that stands out as excellent. He is relatively small, he is not the fastest player I have seen, his finishing is average.

And therein lie the rub :greengrin

29-01-2011, 07:52 PM

unless you are in holland then 6'2" can't really be classed as relatively small. so, on that basis i put to you that you are talking out your hat :aok:

29-01-2011, 07:54 PM
And therein lie the rub :greengrin

Mmm. So you are hinting that our management team might not fancy him?

29-01-2011, 08:00 PM
Collette Rooney would be better up front than than Nish

Is it not Coleen Rooney? :wink:

I actually feel physically sick for knowing that. :blushie:

29-01-2011, 08:00 PM
Mmm. So you are hinting that our management team might not fancy him?

No I'm not. I'm saying that bringing players into a team is not an exact science and sometimes it works sometimes it dosent. From Ed De Graff to Andrei Shevchenko and beyond.

29-01-2011, 08:05 PM
No I'm not. I'm saying that bringing players into a team is not an exact science and sometimes it works sometimes it dosent. From Ed De Graff to Andrei Shevchenko and beyond.

Sorry, I misunderstood. I thought from previous posts you were giving an "inside view" so thought my assumption might've been what you were hinting at.

Absolutely agree there are no guarantees with any new signing but I think Rooney looks a far better bet than anything we currently have. He's done it in the SPL as well as the lower league.

29-01-2011, 08:09 PM
Sorry, I misunderstood. I thought from previous posts you were giving an "inside view" so thought my assumption might've been what you were hinting at.

Absolutely agree there are no guarantees with any new signing but I think Rooney looks a far better bet than anything we currently have. He's done it in the SPL as well as the lower league.

Sorry no.

I was suggesting earlier that Hibs MAY have agreed a fee with ICT but Rooney (or Rooney's agent) are thinking they can get better terms elsewhere.

I do know they are working very hard to bring players in before Monday, as I'm sure a lot of us do. Scotland is quite a small place.

29-01-2011, 08:15 PM

Aye, cause scoring against Dundee / Dunfermline / Falkirk et all is soooo much easier than scoring against Hamilton, St Mirren or just about any non Old Firm club in the SPL.

sixtwo
29-01-2011, 08:30 PM
unless you are in holland then 6'2" can't really be classed as relatively small. so, on that basis i put to you that you are talking out your hat :aok:

Soccerbase has him at 5ft 8.

He could be 6ft 2, soccerbase might be wrong, I'm not that bothered. He is still a very very average and uninspiring player!

29-01-2011, 08:31 PM
Rooney might be answer to our goalscoring probs who knows

Few years ago i wouldve had Craig Dargo in a hibs shirt...

Good player unlucky with injury and an eye for goal

Rooney is worth a punt tho :thumbsup:

sixtwo
29-01-2011, 08:34 PM
Aye, cause scoring against Dundee / Dunfermline / Falkirk et all is soooo much easier than scoring against Hamilton, St Mirren or just about any non Old Firm club in the SPL.

Last time I checked there were more than three or four teams in the division and while your comparisons are fair, it can also be stated that scoring against Hearts, Rangers, Celtic is more difficult than scoring against some of the utter dross in the first division!:na na:

29-01-2011, 08:36 PM
Rooney might be answer to our goalscoring probs who knows

Few years ago i wouldve had Craig Dargo in a hibs shirt...

Good player unlucky with injury and an eye for goal

Rooney is worth a punt tho :thumbsup:

A Hibby too.

Oh wait............:greengrin

29-01-2011, 08:37 PM
Last time I checked there were more than three or four teams in the division and while your comparisons are fair, it can also be stated that scoring against Hearts, Rangers, Celtic is more difficult than scoring against some of the utter dross in the first division!:na na:

Tell me when Nish did any of that?

sixtwo
29-01-2011, 08:51 PM
Tell me when Nish did any of that?

Couldn't care, I think nish is absolute *****. I think rooney will prove to be equally inept.

29-01-2011, 09:34 PM

Actually, I thought we were signing an injury prone Kiwi who had done ok at Oldham and not much else?

Turns out he was a lot better than I imagined.

I too would take him back, and I reckon he'd be available at the end of the season (or even now if we really wanted him) after fannying about in China for a while.