View Full Version : Richie Towell & Matt Thornhill Signings Confirmed

Zemmama19
24-01-2011, 11:13 PM
Hibs will be signing Ritchie Towell from celtic on loan till end of season heard it hear first :)

24-01-2011, 11:17 PM
Source?

Zemmama19
24-01-2011, 11:21 PM
Someone in the know at celtic Maybe another player going with him too.

24-01-2011, 11:26 PM
Hibs will be signing Ritchie Towell from celtic on loan till end of season heard it hear first :)

What would Celtic be doing with a towell? :confused:

24-01-2011, 11:27 PM
Someone in the know at celtic Maybe another player going with him too.

And who would that be?

24-01-2011, 11:30 PM

Here we go! Four pages of bad puns.

Lmc2105
My Celtic supporting mate said that there was a deal in place to send the laddie up to Mcstay at County?

i know he is a centre/left back i think ...

don't really know about the player just what my mate said decent prospect but not likely to make the celtic first team or a reg basis

Can play right midfield or right back, certainly looks like CC is well aware of where our biggest problems are given he has signed 2 midfielders and if this info is correct is looking to bring in a right sided player as well.

24-01-2011, 11:33 PM
And who would that be?

Gary Hooper:pray:

(I'd like to apologise to any Celtc fans i have offended by using the 'pray' smilie, i'm not sure if this smilie is partaking in the right or wrong type of prayers)

24-01-2011, 11:33 PM

Awe jings - CC's no' throwing the Towell in already! :offski:

Lmc2105
24-01-2011, 11:38 PM
Can play right midfield or right back, certainly looks like CC is well aware of where our biggest problems are given he has signed 2 midfielders and if this info is correct is looking to bring in a right sided player as well.

my mate kens heehaw about him then if he plays on the right and he calls himself a celtic man!!

you have given me the info to show him up :aok::not worth

NthCarolinaHibs
24-01-2011, 11:41 PM
Can play right midfield or right back, certainly looks like CC is well aware of where our biggest problems are given he has signed 2 midfielders and if this info is correct is looking to bring in a right sided player as well.The laddie is 19 :confused:

24-01-2011, 11:46 PM
my mate kens heehaw about him then if he plays on the right and he calls himself a celtic man!!

you have given me the info to show him up :aok::not worth

I got my info from a tim mate of mine, he's a proper die hard though and follows their youth team. He says this Towell guys a decent enough player, has only played once for the 1st team but been on the bench a lot and looked neat and tidy when he did play. He can also play centre midfield apparently so looks like a bit of a utility man.

sven nil
24-01-2011, 11:46 PM
The laddie is 19 :confused:
agree, would be better off useing one off our own 19 year olds

24-01-2011, 11:47 PM
He is pretty good on Football Manager. If that means anything :greengrin

24-01-2011, 11:54 PM
The laddie is 19 :confused:

agree, would be better off useing one off our own 19 year olds

Maybe we don't have an under 19 or any youngster who is right sided who the management team feels is good enough to play regularly?

I've never seen this young guy play, all my info is 2nd hand but if he's a player who is versatile and can play on the right side i fail to see the problem. All season we have moaned about the RB position so CC and DA have obviously identified a player they feel capable of sorting the problem, albeit temporarily. None of the players we have tried at RB this season have exactly excelled.

If, on the other hand, we have signed him to play centre midfield i'd be more inclined to agree as young Welsh is definitely deserving of a chance in that position.

24-01-2011, 11:57 PM
Poor signing, the lad has a serious drug problem.

http://www.vegastripping.com/images/news_towelie.jpg

smack
24-01-2011, 11:59 PM
Heard this player just mops up everything at the back

NthCarolinaHibs
25-01-2011, 12:00 AM
Heard this player just mops up everything at the back
Opposition hang him out to dry :greengrin

25-01-2011, 12:02 AM

You could be right.

Hopefully he'll bale us out. :cool2:

25-01-2011, 12:07 AM
Maybe we don't have an under 19 or any youngster who is right sided who the management team feels is good enough to play regularly?

Scott Taggart is a right back/winger and he's in the first team squad. :dunno:

GraniteCityHibs
25-01-2011, 12:09 AM
Poor signing, the lad has a serious drug problem.

http://www.vegastripping.com/images/news_towelie.jpg

Haha! That was exactly what i thought when i saw his name! Sad isn't it! Funny though.

25-01-2011, 12:15 AM
...sounds like a cert for an early bath...:na na:

25-01-2011, 12:17 AM
I wouldn't take Towell. Heard he's gone off the rails. :agree:

6 pager. :greengrin

Frogga
25-01-2011, 12:20 AM
I'm not sure if he's a good influence in the dressing room.

Heard his personality's a bit dry :greengrin

25-01-2011, 12:24 AM
Heard his Dad, Terry, is a big Hibs fan which may mean there is some truth in this, and heard he is keen to get away from that shower... :agree:

25-01-2011, 12:27 AM
I'm not sure if he's a good influence in the dressing room.

Heard his personality's a bit dry :greengrin

That's just a fabrication.

25-01-2011, 12:33 AM
Haha! That was exactly what i thought when i saw his name! Sad isn't it! Funny though.

Baws! I was going to make the same joke http://www.buddytv.com/articles/Image/weeds/towelie.jpg

25-01-2011, 01:15 AM
Here we go! Four pages of bad puns.Brickie Trowel.............hod oan a minute

25-01-2011, 06:42 AM

this is nothing but flannel

hibbill2002
25-01-2011, 07:05 AM
Away and dry yer eyes:greengrin

25-01-2011, 07:09 AM
I hope we don't just throw him in.

Ferryhibby
25-01-2011, 08:15 AM
well we could always throw him on at the end when weve given up:greengrin

25-01-2011, 08:57 AM
I heard he has a reputation for excellent personal hygiene. He's very sanitary.

machibby
25-01-2011, 08:58 AM
Worried about his temperament, apparently he sees red on a regular basis. :cool2:

25-01-2011, 09:05 AM
This just cofirms what we always knew anyway, nae Towells needed at Celtc.
Unwashed tramps!

25-01-2011, 09:08 AM
What about Kevin Mccann now hes back from Inverness, would have thought CC would want to give him a run when he gets over his injury. Mind he always seemes to be injured.

25-01-2011, 09:10 AM
Signing a young lad on loan from that lot doesn't fill me with excitement. I am not the biggest fan of signing unkowns on loan anyway, nevermind training up a boy for the Celtic first team. A no from me.

aberhibsfc
25-01-2011, 09:14 AM
A loan signing wouldn't bleed us dry and he sounds like useful during a bad period.

Green_one
25-01-2011, 09:21 AM
Signing a young lad on loan from that lot doesn't fill me with excitement. I am not the biggest fan of signing unkowns on loan anyway, nevermind training up a boy for the Celtic first team. A no from me.

I will not critisise the manager for doing what we want - signing players. However, a 19 year old, on loan, who has no first team experience sounds like an unlikely success. We surely have players of our own to bring in and end up with a benefit of exposing them to first team football. Even if this guy does well he is just gaining experience to go back to Celtic. Where is the 'steel' in a young guy like this that CC talks about?

Hope I am wrong but this signing does not excite me but worries me. I also do not like this 'plays on the right' stuff. So he has no position? Sounds a bit like Spooney. NOT what I was expecting.

25-01-2011, 09:21 AM
Heard his Dad, Terry, is a big Hibs fan which may mean there is some truth in this, and heard he is keen to get away from that shower... :agree:

Seriously? The lads father is called Terry Towell? I would think that in todays society that would be child abuse.

Is the other player alledgedly coming with young Mister Towell called Soap? That would be it for me.

25-01-2011, 09:35 AM
This is all nonsense, guys. He's off to Bath.

25-01-2011, 09:35 AM
A loan signing wouldn't bleed us dry and he sounds like useful during a bad period.
:hilarious:hilarious:top marks

25-01-2011, 09:39 AM
Getting into a lather because we are signing Towell from that shower. They are never slow to sponge a player from us. Depends on his condition.ER is not the place to get your self fir. This could be a sham.Pooh pooh it.

25-01-2011, 10:16 AM

He wont be unknown to Derek Adams or the Hibs youth coaches though. If the boy can do a job get him in.

25-01-2011, 10:17 AM
All this pun malarky will never cotton on.

25-01-2011, 10:25 AM
There's no chance we're getting him, we've got to wipe this off our minds, matey.

It would only plug a hole in the team for a while and no doubt he'd be flagged clothside more often than not. He'd go off the heated rails in no time.

Life's not a beach at ER right now and maybe giving him a dry run in bounce games and keep him on a short leash.

I don't know how he'd cope on a rope like that but this signing could be sent spiralling down the drain by Celtic themselves, the sudds.

25-01-2011, 03:36 PM
I hear his younger brother is also on the books at celtic, and is the better prospect. I wonder how much we would have to pay per towell?

25-01-2011, 05:32 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110125/irish-defender-signs-on-loan_2262950_2276355 :thumbsup:

Welcome Aboard !

down the slope
pinched this from the bouce, apologies.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110125/irish-defender-signs-on-loan_2262950_2276355

Looks like this was correct after all

25-01-2011, 05:33 PM
2 signings in a day. Thats more like it!

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110125/irish-defender-signs-on-loan_2262950_2276355

25-01-2011, 05:34 PM
Just noticed it says that THornhill has also completed his signing !

25-01-2011, 05:34 PM
thornhill medical completeed, says at the end :thumbsup:

Ell_Chrisso
25-01-2011, 05:38 PM
Jeeezy Peeps, 3 in a day??

25-01-2011, 05:40 PM
So that's three signings. Going by CC's comments in the last few days, we can expect maybe 1 more. Need to be a striker!!!

McKenzie
25-01-2011, 05:41 PM

So that's three signings. Going by CC's comments in the last few days, we can expect maybe 1 more. Need to be a striker!!!

Thompson ?:greengrin

Supraninja
25-01-2011, 05:42 PM
Only 3 and it's only a week 'til the end of the window.

:grr::grr::grr:WHERE IS MY STRIKER??? :grr::grr::grr:

billbee
25-01-2011, 05:43 PM
Welcome Richie!

25-01-2011, 05:43 PM
Welcome :agree:

darwenhibby
25-01-2011, 05:44 PM
He gained European & First Team experience in Mediteraanen Tournement last Summer

He was put out early by the Germans though

NiallGR
25-01-2011, 05:44 PM
Thought it may be worth adding that in front of me at security this morning at edinburgh airport was rod (6am), the only real flights of interest that I could see were 2 Manchester, London and Southampton- maybe someone else on there way??

25-01-2011, 05:46 PM
Pity we couldn't get a few more paddies on loan for 3 days to help out a bit against Der Hun. Maybe Ljungberg and Hooper?

...WentToMowAnSPL
Think the Towell one is a fake - not one mention of the fantastic training facilities :confused:

Im glad weve got someone in for that position, has anyone seen him? He wont need to be anything special to be an improvement on our current right backs anyway.

25-01-2011, 05:52 PM

25-01-2011, 05:53 PM
Seriously? The lads father is called Terry Towell? I would think that in todays society that would be child abuse.

Is the other player alledgedly coming with young Mister Towell called Soap? That would be it for me.

His dad then married a chinese lady who kept her maiden name and now he's called Terry Towel-Ling :greengrin

I'll get my terry towelling bathrobe then :greengrin

At The Edge
25-01-2011, 05:58 PM
Asked my Tic supporting mate about him, his reply was 'surprised we've let him go even if it is only on loan, good player, will do very well for you'

25-01-2011, 06:00 PM
Anybody any idea when Towell's contract's up at darkheid. While i hate helping other SPL clubs bring on their youngsters, maybe CC & DA want to see him a bit closer before signing him up in the summer.

25-01-2011, 06:03 PM
Im glad weve got someone in for that position, has anyone seen him? He wont need to be anything special to be an improvement on our current right backs anyway.

Hopefully, if he's any good, we can get him signed up on a more permanent basis.

As it's celtc though, if he plays 1 good game, they'll probably recall him.

soul_driver
25-01-2011, 06:05 PM
A Celtc colleague at work was very surprised to hear we were linked to him as he thinks he is highly rated by Lennon. No reason why he shouldn't come straight into the team at RB tomorrow night.

25-01-2011, 06:06 PM
maybe we have an option to buy at the end of the season

25-01-2011, 06:09 PM
Towell is a talented player - if he helps us stay up then I am not bothered he is from Celtic.

He is 5 "8" so not the tallest but if he is good enough it doesn't matter. (Messi)

25-01-2011, 06:10 PM
If he plays against Rangers, will we wipe the floor with him?

Hibee Daz
25-01-2011, 06:11 PM
So we've borrowed smelltics Dick Towell well that's just plain nasty.:jamboak:

aberhibsfc
25-01-2011, 07:10 PM
Thompson ?:greengrin

Please no.

25-01-2011, 07:14 PM

Soap? Don't be daft, lad - this is Celtic we're talking about. Soap's a swearie-word down Parkhead way.

25-01-2011, 07:18 PM
Soap? Don't be daft, lad - this is Celtic we're talking about. Soap's a swearie-word down Parkhead way.
So is this banter or unaccaeptable in todays world Doddie? Not looking for an arguement just curious on your view. :greengrin

jonny
25-01-2011, 07:31 PM

At last... someone "in the know" gets it spot on.

25-01-2011, 07:37 PM
Celtic supporting mate at work reckons he's a very good player, so we shall see how he does!

25-01-2011, 07:44 PM
A Celtc colleague at work was very surprised to hear we were linked to him as he thinks he is highly rated by Lennon. No reason why he shouldn't come straight into the team at RB tomorrow night.

I am sure he will.

Purehibee_MYB
25-01-2011, 07:51 PM
3 signings in one day...not too shabby!!

25-01-2011, 08:06 PM
Welcome to the club, 3 in one day! :greengrin

Get them in tomorrow, they can't be any worse than what we currently have. A striker and a left winger will suit me....Rooney and Flynn :cool2:

25-01-2011, 08:09 PM
25 days into the Jan window and I'm starting to feel a little more relaxed just cause of the sheer fact that we now have a RB & 2 centre midfielders who will replace 3 of the 15/16 that simply are not good enough.

Yeah, you could argue the toss that where the players have came from is hardly inspiring (and anyone being truthful will surely admit that it aint) but it's all about the individual coming in and what they now give in our fight to survive the next 4 months.

Hopefully give the whole club a wee lift for tomorrow night.

paul_hfc3
25-01-2011, 08:09 PM

Get them in tomorrow, they can't be any worse than what we currently have. A striker and a left winger will suit me....Rooney and Flynn :cool2:

Oh I could think of some...Sam Morrow and of course the brillant, spectacular great..The mali Magician Konte. Colin Murdoch, Jonliet, Zariab(sp)

25-01-2011, 08:13 PM
Oh I could think of some...Sam Morrow and of course the brillant, spectacular great..The mali Magician Konte. Colin Murdoch, Jonliet, Zariab(sp)

Konte>Nish :cool2:

25-01-2011, 08:19 PM
By getting 3 in, I am guessing the manager must be confident of unloading a least a couple in this window

25-01-2011, 08:23 PM
Three players, all young with (hopefully) desire and plenty to prove. Good.

Better than the jokers happy to pick up their wages each week.

25-01-2011, 08:30 PM
I am still hopeful after hearing CC's recent interviews of a couple more coming in.

Who knows, the big keeper might have done enough this week to merit a contract too.

25-01-2011, 08:33 PM

We've not re-signed all of them too have we. Surely if they weren't good enough the first time, they've had their chance:greengrin

25-01-2011, 08:33 PM
So we've actually added to the growing list of players who are out of contract at the end of the season. :rolleyes:

That's

Stack
Smith
Thicot
Dickoh
Hogg
Stevenson
McBride
Miller
Rankin
Zemmama
Galbraith
Riordan
Nish
Trakys
Duffy

and now Towell who are all out of contract in six months' time.

Only

Brown
Hanlon
Stephens
Booth
Hart
de Graaf
Wotherspoon
Murray
Scott
Thornhill

Have contracts for next season and beyond.

Also, I don't doubt that this guy is a decent player but I'm totally opposed to signing Old Firm players on loan.

Sorry, but I don't agree with that in the slightest.

25-01-2011, 08:52 PM
So we've actually added to the growing list of players who are out of contract at the end of the season. :rolleyes:

That's

Stack
Smith
Thicot
Dickoh
Hogg
Stevenson
McBride
Miller
Rankin
Zemmama
Galbraith
Riordan
Nish
Trakys
Duffy

and now Towell who are all out of contract in six months' time.

Only

Brown
Hanlon
Stephens
Booth
Hart
de Graaf
Wotherspoon
Murray
Scott
Thornhill

Have contracts for next season and beyond.

Also, I don't doubt that this guy is a decent player but I'm totally opposed to signing Old Firm players on loan.

Sorry, but I don't agree with that in the slightest.

While I understand the sentiment, who cares where we sign Towell from. Survival is the name of the game and if helps then great.

25-01-2011, 09:06 PM
While I understand the sentiment, who cares where we sign Towell from. Survival is the name of the game and if helps then great.
:agree: Have to agree with you.

In our current predicament we have to set to one side factors which would not normally be our preference in order to ensure that the club stays up.

25-01-2011, 09:06 PM
If he plays against Rangers, will we wipe the floor with him?

He`ll soak up everything Rangers throw at us Jim.

Zemmama19
25-01-2011, 10:04 PM
Told you he was signing:P Boy who watches alot of the games says he was best player in under 19s league last year so hopefully he will add something to the team. Beileve there trying to get another of celtic not sure it will happen though :agree:

MontrealHibs
25-01-2011, 10:06 PM
Told you he was signing:P Boy who watches alot of the games says he was best player in under 19s league last year so hopefully he will add something to the team. Beileve there trying to get another of celtic not sure it will happen though :agree:

Stokes back on loan - magic :-) :flag:

25-01-2011, 10:39 PM

Zaluska.

Leishy1995
25-01-2011, 11:04 PM
already, a happier forum. Now the imortant bit, getting all 3 to play well.:flag:

Heraghty's
25-01-2011, 11:09 PM
Richie Towell (enough puns already :coffee: ) is a natural right back but can also play as a holding midfielder. I've seen him a couple of times at youth level.
Quite a stocky lad but aggressive and energetic, too.
Just what the team needs. :agree:
We need more determination and dig.
And we need to grind out a couple of results to get back on track.
Wednesday night would be a good start. :thumbsup:

25-01-2011, 11:16 PM
By getting 3 in, I am guessing the manager must be confident of unloading a least a couple in this window

Not necessarily. Ideally it would have been better to get rid of and bring in accordingly. With the window coming to an end soon I think Calderwood has told Petrie that we can't afford the luxury of waiting to see about 'leavers' and has emphasised the need to bring in now. If this increases the wage bill then tough.

25-01-2011, 11:24 PM
With the window coming to an end soon I think Calderwood has told Petrie that we can't afford the luxury of waiting to see about 'leavers' and has emphasised the need to bring in now. If this increases the wage bill then tough.
I'm thinking / hoping that we might break with recent club policy and let a few players go at the end of this window.

25-01-2011, 11:27 PM
I'm thinking / hoping that we might break with recent club policy and let a few players go at the end of this window.

I agree. I was surprised there were none in the summer...

26-01-2011, 02:21 AM
Richie Towell (enough puns already :coffee: ) is a natural right back but can also play as a holding midfielder. I've seen him a couple of times at youth level.
Quite a stocky lad but aggressive and energetic, too.
Just what the team needs. :agree:
We need more determination and dig.
And we need to grind out a couple of results to get back on track.
Wednesday night would be a good start. :thumbsup:I am warming to the fact that we have brought in 3 relatively unknown young players(despite first thoughts) after reading some positive comments about the RB in particular. I do think it would be too much of an ask,to get a win against der Hun this week though and I dont expect CC to play all 3, but it would be nice to see a goal for us at least. a fighting draw would also cheer me,at this stage.always spoils a Hun day oot if they dinnae win:greengrin