View Full Version : Question Time Tonight

20-01-2011, 12:07 PM
Anybody looking forward to this?

BBC are bigging it up as Galloway versus Campbell. The article below also refers to some historic clashes:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/question_time/9366830.stm

Clark Carlisle of Burnley also becomes the first professional football player to sit on the panel while still a player.

20-01-2011, 12:09 PM
Anybody looking forward to this?

BBC are bigging it up as Galloway versus Campbell. The article below also refers to some historic clashes:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/question_time/9366830.stm

Clark Carlisle of Burnley also becomes the first professional football player to sit on the panel while still a player.

Looks like Campbell is going to arrive mob handed then. :greengrin

20-01-2011, 02:30 PM
Question Time has become a bit showbizzy. As one of a very small number of programmes debating the issues, however, I suppose I'll have to watch it.

Hibbie_Cameron
20-01-2011, 02:32 PM
This show is at its best when Galloway is on it:thumbsup:

(((Fergus)))
20-01-2011, 02:41 PM
punch and judy

20-01-2011, 04:22 PM
This show is at its best when Galloway is on it:thumbsup:

Are you sure you aren't thinking of celebrity big brother?

20-01-2011, 04:29 PM
GG has sold out that many times now he is just not worth a watch. Its more about him than politics

20-01-2011, 07:38 PM
One thing is for sure. They'll be talking Balls big style tonight!

21-01-2011, 07:36 AM
Question Time was a good watch.

That Campbell's a slippery customer, eh? Shame he doesn't get on with Galloway. I should think they'd be virtually unstoppable if they formed a coalition!

As for the Tory lady - Spelman? She talks about Family GPs as though we all live in flipping Dorsetshire or something. Whenever I go to my local surgery, I see a different doctor each time.

And they can't wait to get me out the door so they can process another poor sod!

21-01-2011, 07:41 AM
Question Time was a good watch.

That Campbell's a slippery customer, eh? Shame he doesn't get on with Galloway. I should think they'd be virtually unstoppable if they formed a coalition!

As for the Tory lady - Spelman? She talks about Family GPs as though we all live in flipping Dorsetshire or something. Whenever I go to my local surgery, I see a different doctor each time.

And they can't wait to get me out the door so they can process another poor sod!

Aye it was quite entertaining. Galloway is a nutjob however now and again he is bang on the money.

Thought the footballers comment about how it was good for GP's to be getting more control because it would mean things like the flu vaccine issues wouldn't happen again was quality. it had just been reported on the 10pm news that the government was going to take this away from gp's as they had stuffed it up:greengrin

The tory woman was like so many living on a different planet from us, my appointments at the doctor are always running late because they are so busy, so if they can't run there surgery on time:confused:

I thought the lib dem boy made a rod for his own back with his ema pledges as well.

21-01-2011, 08:11 AM
Great show last night with GG on top form. "You probably wrote the letters" said GG to Campbell. :greengrin

khib70
21-01-2011, 08:34 AM
Great show last night with GG on top form. "You probably wrote the letters" said GG to Campbell. :greengrin

I suspect if GG had stood on the table and sung the Hearts song at the top of his voice, you'd still think he was on "top form".:greengrin

Usual mixture of blustering, unsubstantiated allegations, more blustering, talking over everyone, and a bit more blustering.

The man's a dreary, egotistical fud whose political career is heading rapidly downwards, thank God.

Alistair Campbell is not my favourite person, but I thought he handled the pompous erse pretty calmly and competently.

21-01-2011, 09:14 AM
I suspect if GG had stood on the table and sung the Hearts song at the top of his voice, you'd still think he was on "top form".:greengrin

Usual mixture of blustering, unsubstantiated allegations, more blustering, talking over everyone, and a bit more blustering.

The man's a dreary, egotistical fud whose political career is heading rapidly downwards, thank God.

Alistair Campbell is not my favourite person, but I thought he handled the pompous erse pretty calmly and competently.

Agree with all of the above. Galloway seems to think he can say whatever he wants, and because he says it louder than anyone opposes it then it makes him right.

21-01-2011, 09:22 AM

Top form if you want to take Question Time down a few levels, yes. Basically about as funny as it would have been if Campbell had replied "no I was too busy pretending I was a cat on Big Brother, no that was you...".

21-01-2011, 09:54 AM
Top form if you want to take Question Time down a few levels, yes. Basically about as funny as it would have been if Campbell had replied "no I was too busy pretending I was a cat on Big Brother, no that was you...".

What has that got to do with the price of eggs ? GG owned him ! :na na:

21-01-2011, 10:00 AM
The problem with Galloway, and it has always been the case, that he only talks sense about 10% of the time. The rest of it is conspiracy theory nonsense.

I agree I though campbell handled him pretty well, he's dodgy as hell though aint he:agree:

21-01-2011, 10:43 AM
As an aside, breaking news on Five Live is that Andy Coulson, director of communications chief to David Cameron, is to resign from his post. More to come from the phone hacking allegations ?

21-01-2011, 11:28 AM
As an aside, breaking news on Five Live is that Andy Coulson, director of communications chief to David Cameron, is to resign from his post. More to come from the phone hacking allegations ?

Yes, he's gone, although he's sticking by his (totally ludicrous) story that he didnt know about the hacking, despite being the paper's editor. Its always dangerous to presume guilt before knowing all the facts, but....he's guilty, no doubt.

21-01-2011, 11:29 AM

Galloway isn't a politician any longer. There's no debate, argument, listening etc. He's just one of those guys that stands on a box in Speaker's Corner and tries to shout above everyone else now.

21-01-2011, 12:57 PM
Andy Coulson is the guy who dials up Murdoch and hands the phone to Cameron who then goes:"Yes, master......"

21-01-2011, 01:20 PM

Other than his slip along the lines of:

"If the Chilcott enquiry finds that it was an illegal war, I'd fully expect those responsible for making the wrong decisions should be brought to justice."

Then when asked to clarify that remark by David Dimbleby:

"I would never seek to pre-judge an enquiry."

21-01-2011, 01:46 PM
Last night's show was entertaining to say the least but It's a pity that so many of the issues discussed had absolutely no relevance to Scotland whatsoever.

The Beeb should have clarified that the proposed NHS reforms apply to England and not the UK. Similarily the position regarding student grants and the abolition of EMA.

As for the dabates themselves, then last night proved that both Campbell and Galloway were miles in front of their Tory and Liberal counterparts.

21-01-2011, 03:01 PM
Last night's show was entertaining to say the least but It's a pity that so many of the issues discussed had absolutely no relevance to Scotland whatsoever.

The Beeb should have clarified that the proposed NHS reforms apply to England and not the UK. Similarily the position regarding student grants and the abolition of EMA.

As for the dabates themselves, then last night proved that both Campbell and Galloway were miles in front of their Tory and Liberal counterparts.

That's true. I don't think we can afford to gloat however. I'm not optimistic about the Scottish economic picture.

21-01-2011, 03:05 PM
That's true. I don't think we can afford to gloat however. I'm not optimistic about the Scottish economic picture.

I only hope we can keep our NHS away from the madness that Cameron and co. are proposing down south. In a nutshell he is suggesting the third largest employer in the world would be best run from a network of local offices. Yeah that's what works for other massive organisations.

(((Fergus)))
21-01-2011, 04:44 PM
I only hope we can keep our NHS away from the madness that Cameron and co. are proposing down south. In a nutshell he is suggesting the third largest employer in the world would be best run from a network of local offices. Yeah that's what works for other massive organisations.

The NHS is the third largest employer in the world??

21-01-2011, 04:51 PM

Fourth. Indian Railways; Chinese Army; Yams' playing squad; NHS.

21-01-2011, 04:52 PM

After the Chinese Army and the Indian Railways, I believe. Happy to stand corrected if I am wrong though.

Wiki answers, has Wal-Mart as being third.

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Who_are_the_five_largest_employers_in_the_world

Times says NHS third:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/health/article1050197.ece

I don't feel Wal-Mart count, as surely they are a multi-national and therefore have different HR and Payroll functions in different countries.

Calvin
21-01-2011, 04:54 PM
I think the German postal service is above them too, not positive though.
Edit: Scrap that, they're up there but not above the NHS.

I enjoyed QT last night but what was the point of Clarke Carlisle? His general statements added nothing I felt.

21-01-2011, 09:44 PM

While the Tory attack on the NHS is south of the border, we shouldn't ignore it as it sums them up perfectly.

They didn't tell us they were preparing to wreak havoc on the NHS in their manifesto or in the coalition agreement.

They did promise there would be no 'top-down reorganisation' of the NHS.But that's exactly what they are doing.

They promised there would be a real terms increase in NHS funding. The Health select committee has examined the evidence and said that will be impossible - and their chair is a senior Tory!

They're taking £20 billion out of the NHS, while spending £3 billion on backdoor-privsatisation of parts of the NHS It's no wonder waiting times are starting to go back up.

All this, in order to give GPs the power to commission services. But WTF does a GP know about strategic commissioning? They go to university for five years to learn how to treat patients, not to study the finer points of procurement law or how to write tender documents!

But of course the GPS aren't going to be commissioning. If nothing else, GPs are already essentially private contractors, paid for their time by the NHS. If they were to take on this role, damn sure they would be seeking recompense and more than half of them are on six-figure salaries already. How soon before the majority are on a quarter of a million a year?

Truth is the GPs aren't keen on commissioning, as well this Tory government knows. The GPs will pass on the commissioning to the private sector, meaning profit-making companies will be getting our money to decide whether we should have cancer treatment or NHS dentists in our areas.

Broken Tory promises again. What's worse is that the man in charge of this transfer of our money, from the NHS to the private sector is Andrew Lansley, the Tory Health Secretary.

The same Andrew Lansley whose private office was bankrolled by guess whom? That's right, a private healthcare provider who stands to benefit hugely from these changes.

It's gone beyond broken promises. Gone beyond even an ideological onslaught on the poor and vulnerable. This is sleaze, pure and simple. Same old Tories.

22-01-2011, 08:35 PM
While the Tory attack on the NHS is south of the border, we shouldn't ignore it as it sums them up perfectly.

They didn't tell us they were preparing to wreak havoc on the NHS in their manifesto or in the coalition agreement.

They did promise there would be no 'top-down reorganisation' of the NHS.But that's exactly what they are doing.

They promised there would be a real terms increase in NHS funding. The Health select committee has examined the evidence and said that will be impossible - and their chair is a senior Tory!

They're taking £20 billion out of the NHS, while spending £3 billion on backdoor-privsatisation of parts of the NHS It's no wonder waiting times are starting to go back up.

All this, in order to give GPs the power to commission services. But WTF does a GP know about strategic commissioning? They go to university for five years to learn how to treat patients, not to study the finer points of procurement law or how to write tender documents!

But of course the GPS aren't going to be commissioning. If nothing else, GPs are already essentially private contractors, paid for their time by the NHS. If they were to take on this role, damn sure they would be seeking recompense and more than half of them are on six-figure salaries already. How soon before the majority are on a quarter of a million a year?

Truth is the GPs aren't keen on commissioning, as well this Tory government knows. The GPs will pass on the commissioning to the private sector, meaning profit-making companies will be getting our money to decide whether we should have cancer treatment or NHS dentists in our areas.

Broken Tory promises again. What's worse is that the man in charge of this transfer of our money, from the NHS to the private sector is Andrew Lansley, the Tory Health Secretary.

The same Andrew Lansley whose private office was bankrolled by guess whom? That's right, a private healthcare provider who stands to benefit hugely from these changes.

It's gone beyond broken promises. Gone beyond even an ideological onslaught on the poor and vulnerable. This is sleaze, pure and simple. Same old Tories.

Yeah but no but labour eh deficit eh brown eh devil but no but.

So just accept it!!

22-01-2011, 08:55 PM
Yeah but no but labour eh deficit eh brown eh devil but no but.

So just accept it!!

Nailed it in a one-er BHFL.

Inexcusable policies with no defence, so the Tories will start moaning about Gordon Brown or whatever to try and avoid tlking about why they're cutting too far, too fast.

The people of Britain are the guinea pigs for Dave and George's big experiment.

We might suffer the consequences, but the trust fund millionaires in the Tory-led government won't notice a thing.

22-01-2011, 09:19 PM

Nailed it in a one-er BHFL.

Inexcusable policies with no defence, so the Tories will start moaning about Gordon Brown or whatever to try and avoid tlking about why they're cutting too far, too fast.

The people of Britain are the guinea pigs for Dave and George's big experiment.

We might suffer the consequences, but the trust fund millionaires in the Tory-led government won't notice a thing.

The best thing we can do to escape the bammers is a quick referendum on independence.......then vote to run like **** from the lot of them doon the road.

Thereafter, we'll have a different breed of politics here with no linkage or baggage to London.

(There will still, be nae torries in power though :greengrin)

24-01-2011, 09:16 PM
I've just caught it on watch again and Galloway was excellent I thought, Campbell by contrast looked nervous, dodged direct questions and generally squirmed throughout, certainly on the Iraq point. I dont think he handled him well at all.

I don't particular like either of them, but Galloway is still a very talented debater.