View Full Version : HSA don't want players at POTY dinner/ Oh Yes They Do!

19-01-2011, 08:55 PM
Chairman of the Supporters Association just on SSN.

Just said the members of the SA don't want to invite the players or Petrie to the POY dinner on 13 March!!

I was pleased to hear that....so cheers Mike!

19-01-2011, 08:57 PM
Well done Mike. :top marks

19-01-2011, 08:58 PM
I was impressed with his tash. I actually had to look twice because I thought it was the tash at first.

I have to echo your comments though.

19-01-2011, 09:02 PM

Just said the members of the SA don't want to invite the players or Petrie to the POY dinner on 13 March!!

I wonder if they'll have an official one again at Easter Road, up for it Barney :)

19-01-2011, 09:03 PM

As much as i agree with the sentiment, (what player really deserves anything like a player of the year award and what player really wants to be there getting there head nipped about being pish?) however, the resentment between fans and players and vice versa really isn't healthy for the club and is becoming a real issue, it's not been right since the player revolt even though there's very few of the players from it left and something needs to be done about it.

This is our club, we're supposed to look up to the players, not resent them and boo them when they play and they're not supposed to slate us in the media like Nish did last season.

One of CC's biggest challenges, is to bring in some characters that the fans can relate to and actually like. If he brings in a bunch of workhorses that'll do a job then that's only half the battle, he needs to do something to get the fans back on side.

19-01-2011, 09:06 PM
I wonder if they'll have an official one again at Easter Road, up for it Barney :)

Defo. Who's steak gets nicked this year? :tee hee:

I can just imagine the players before it - "Ah hope ah'm no stuck on a table wi those wingnuts". They'll be drawing lots to see who ends up with us :greengrin

19-01-2011, 09:07 PM
Just the right thing to do to encourage tge younger players.
Stupid and Petty in my book. Why not get thecpkayers along and see what their views are? Ask them directly if they are trying? Get answers.
This will just dustance them even more. Nish Riordan and Murray with all their faults are Hibs fans and must be wondering what the **** is going on with us.

19-01-2011, 09:08 PM
the resentment between fans and players and vice versa really isn't healthy for the club and is becoming a real issue, it's not been right since the player revolt even though there's very few of the players from it left and something needs to be done about it.

This is our club, we're supposed to look up to the players, not resent them and boo them when they play and they're not supposed to slate us in the media like Nish did last season.

19-01-2011, 09:10 PM
Stupid and Petty in my book. Why not get thecpkayers along and see what their views are? Ask them directly if they are trying? Get answers.

Excuse me Mr Nish/Miller/Riordan are you trying on matchday? Of course i am. Great well done, this beef is lovely isn't it? What do you expect them to say?:confused:

19-01-2011, 09:14 PM
Excuse me Mr Nish/Miller/Riordan are you trying on matchday? Of course i am. Great well done, this beef is lovely isn't it? What do you expect them to say?:confused:

Poorly worded G but we could be asking WTF is going on. Sticking the finger up to them ain't going to help is it?

19-01-2011, 09:16 PM
As much as i agree with the sentiment, (what player really deserves anything like a player of the year award and what player really wants to be there getting there head nipped about being pish?) however, the resentment between fans and players and vice versa really isn't healthy for the club and is becoming a real issue, it's not been right since the player revolt even though there's very few of the players from it left and something needs to be done about it.

One of CC's biggest challenges, is to bring in some characters that the fans can relate to and actually like. If he brings in a bunch of workhorses that'll do a job then that's only half the battle, he needs to do something to get the fans back on side.
:top marks:

Superb post mate. :agree:

There is a huge 'them and us' split at the moment, and it's understandable - if I'm being honest there have been times (almost after every match at the minute) where I've called the players every name under the sun and prayed that I'd never have to see them in a Hibs jersey again.

You're spot on about needing some players that will get the fans back onside. We need a cult hero, a fans favourite, someone to identify with.

Yogi used to go on about wanting a seige mentality, unfortunately it transpired that the players probably ended up with that mentality against the fans and vice versa. We all need to be in it together, that is something that CC has to bring to the table.

19-01-2011, 09:17 PM
Very childish IMO.

19-01-2011, 09:18 PM
Poorly worded G but we could be asking WTF is going on. Sticking the finger up to them ain't going to help is it?

I agree its not helping, although can understand it 100%. To be fair i don't have any affinity with this lot, and the last thing i'd want to do is sit down and have dinner with any one of that lot, manager and board included.

Baldy
19-01-2011, 09:33 PM
Defo. Who's steak gets nicked this year? :tee hee:

I can just imagine the players before it - "Ah hope ah'm no stuck on a table wi those wingnuts". They'll be drawing lots to see who ends up with us :greengrin

we just have to work out who we want to leave the club next .. thats how it works aint it :confused: .. we nick their steak then they get punted

19-01-2011, 09:37 PM
Why not just have the POY dinner and announce that there is no POY this year?

19-01-2011, 09:38 PM
we just have to work out who we want to leave the club next .. thats how it works aint it :confused: .. we nick their steak then they get punted

I hope you. have big appetites then

19-01-2011, 09:41 PM
I hope you. have big appetites then

Knowing the two of them i'm sure that won't be a problem :greengrin

Gala Foxes
19-01-2011, 09:44 PM
A Player Of The Year do without players ? - just give the award to Albert Kidd in recognition of services to football

19-01-2011, 09:50 PM
I think under the circumstances and the current ill feeling that's surrounding everything concerning HFC just now I think this is a wise decision.
I would hate to be a player attending a POTY award dinner this year - kinda like "Into the valley of death ....."

It's a no win situation. Probably even worse for an under 19 year old to be faced with a barriage of awkward questions about what's really going on behind the scenes at ER.

Just my opinion like.

19-01-2011, 10:05 PM
Knowing the two of them i'm sure that won't be a problem :greengrin

Hark at Twiggy :greengrin

19-01-2011, 10:06 PM
Sad times when we have no POY...

19-01-2011, 10:14 PM
By the same token, I wonder which player thinks they deserve the award?

19-01-2011, 10:18 PM
Why not go ahead with the function and select a player from the under 19's?

Yup ...give it to young Crawford....

Or ditch the POY title and have a Fan of The Year award..there must be a few loonies who have been to every game this year and never left early...let fellow fans nominate (or name and shame) them

19-01-2011, 10:24 PM
If i was paying £30 a heid for a POTY function, I would certainly want there to be players there.

Seems petty, that might be his personal opinion but he should be speaking in his capacity as Chairman of the HIBERNIAN SUPPORTERS ASSOCIATION or does Mike plan on changing the name to HIBERNIAN WE'LL SUPPORT YOU DURING GOOD TIMES BUT THE PLAYERS CAN GTF DURING BAD TIMES ASSOCIATION

Would be interesting to hear the players views on the situation.

Surely Mike should be encouraging members of the association to bridge the gap between the club, players and supporters not driving them apart.

19-01-2011, 10:26 PM
If i was paying £30 a heid for a POTY function, I would certainly want there to be players there.

Seems petty, that might be his personal opinion but he should be speaking in his capacity as Chairman of the HIBERNIAN SUPPORTERS ASSOCIATION or does Mike plan on changing the name to HIBERNIAN WE'LL SUPPORT YOU DURING GOOD TIMES BUT THE PLAYERS CAN GTF DURING BAD TIMES ASSOCIATION

Surely the Mike should be encouraging members of the association to bridge the gap between the club, players and supporters not driving them apart.

Good point.:agree:

19-01-2011, 10:28 PM
Although we have been terrible there are cases for the following to get it. Yes they have been far from inspiring so far but...to keep it simple

Murray - effort on occasions
Hanlon - improving
Brown - some good saves
Riordan - goals

Bamba - solid at the back on many an occasion. ( But has moved on ) :greengrin

19-01-2011, 10:33 PM
If they don't believe that Mark Brown is working hard, that John Rankin is working hard, that Paul Hanlon is working hard, that Iain Murray is work.....you get it.

Totally ****ing petty, and once again, its good to see that the fans, as well as the players, management and board, are doing thier best to make things worse.

Totally petty.

19-01-2011, 10:33 PM
Although we have been terrible there are cases for the following to get it. Yes they have been far from inspiring so far but...to keep it simple

Hanlon - improving
Brown - some good saves
Riordan - goals

Nish - But we run the risk of him falling on his backside on the way up to collect the award :greengrin

19-01-2011, 10:40 PM

Hanlon - improving
Brown - some good saves
Riordan - goals

if ian murray wins our player of the year this year it will show really how bad we are:agree:

slow second touch is a foul but oh hes commited, yes at giving foul after foul away... his "defending" last night for the goal was laughable :agree:

for me it has to be Mark Brown so far with Paul Hanlon winning young player... none been perfect but both are a million miles ahead of anyone else...

19-01-2011, 10:55 PM
That'll be a ***** night then.....

19-01-2011, 11:01 PM

Surely Mike should be encouraging members of the association to bridge the gap between the club, players and supporters not driving them apart.

Bang on. :top marks

We've heard a lot recently about SPL Chairmen (including Petrie) not representing the views of the fans. Well what do we expect when the Chairman of what is supposed to be a Supporters Association uses his position to be divisive and advocates a position which I'm sure would meet with disapproval from the majority of supporters.

The OP does say that the Chairman said "the members of the SA" didn't want to invite a player. I wonder how they decided that.

Fair enough these guys pay their money and are entitled to their opinion but if that's the petty nonsense they're going to come out with they should change their banner. Supporters are supposed to support.

19-01-2011, 11:15 PM
I hope they realise what a stupid comment it was. So what do they want to end up with a load of people in a room moaning about nothing. How can they claim to be the "Hibs Supporters Association" when they turn their back on the players that form the team of Hibernian.

In any event I am sure the players would not be arsed if that is the view they took. An evening off from listening to the people Nishy accuratly described last season when it comes to knowledge on football.

19-01-2011, 11:41 PM

If that is true it is an utter disgrace. There are plenty of opportunities to let the club, management, Board and players know how unhappy we are with the present situation. For the SA to suggest that they somehow exist apart from the team is just monumentally stupid, divisive and damaging.

The bond between the supporters and the team is probably the most precious relationship around the club. It doesn't matter how bad things are - and they are very,very bad just now - the only way this is going to be turned around is if everyone pulls together. Taking the stance that appears to have been suggested is self indulgent, pointless and will serve only to alienate players even further from the supporters. Do we really want a squad that is clearly at the very lowest ebb of confidence to also be handed on a plate a sense of grievance about the fans which makes it even harder for the manager and the triers among the squad to get the rest of them to get motivated?

I didn't think I could be angrier with anyone more than the players about where we are now at. This however really takes the biscuit for self regarding pouring of petrol on trouble waters. Why don't they go the whole hog and announce they will support the opposition in the coming games until the players measure up?

19-01-2011, 11:43 PM
I can agree with the sentiment behind the HSA Chairman's remarks BUT as a previous poster says " this is a HIBERNIAN supporters association" and usually the award is for the previous season.

Unless i am wrong, this was the season we qualified for Europe by coming 4th in the league? Why should that not be celebrated?

If the association feels that an evening like this mixed with alcohol may lead to some bampots misbehaving then it is them that should not be invited to purchase tickets.

If there are to be no players present at the awards night ticket sales will slump and it will be a disaster.

As a member of the HSA for the last 40+ years no one has asked me if i want players to be or not to be invited to the POY awards this year?

If feeling is so strong amongst the 3000 odd members then maybe putting it off this year would have been a wiser decision?:rolleyes:

19-01-2011, 11:45 PM
Bang on. :top marks

We've heard a lot recently about SPL Chairmen (including Petrie) not representing the views of the fans. Well what do we expect when the Chairman of what is supposed to be a Supporters Association uses his position to be divisive and advocates a position which I'm sure would meet with disapproval from the majority of supporters.

The OP does say that the Chairman said "the members of the SA" didn't want to invite a player. I wonder how they decided that.

Fair enough these guys pay their money and are entitled to their opinion but if that's the petty nonsense they're going to come out with they should change their banner. Supporters are supposed to support.

As a member of the Supporters association, it certainly is not my opinion and as you said I'm fairly certain it would not be the opinion of the majority of the Supporters Association.

Dont get me wrong, I am far from happy with the current situation at ER but refusing to invite players to the Hibernian Supporters Player of the Year dance is totally rediculous!! It 1 of the very rare occasions when the supporters get; close to the players, a short time to socialise, hear of experiences and stories.

19-01-2011, 11:49 PM
If I was a player I would actually be dreading getting invited to one of these things just now. Imaging the pish you would get ripped out of you? Wouldnt be a nice experience.

19-01-2011, 11:51 PM
If I was a player I would actually be dreading getting invited to one of these things just now. Imaging the pish you would get ripped out of you? Wouldnt be a nice experience.

I don't think they would get ripped - especially if they won POY.

At the end of the day they get paid to do a job - we pay their wages - do they fully deserve them ?

19-01-2011, 11:53 PM
Ridiculous. Im not a member of it but as an outsider, not inviting the players to something like this is just being petty.

We're all pissed off just now, but there's no need for this.

20-01-2011, 12:18 AM
This will just dustance them even more. Nish Riordan and Murray with all their faults are Hibs fans and must be wondering what the **** is going on with us.

Once again i agree with you. :greengrin

20-01-2011, 12:19 AM

I agree and I would expect they would be embarrassed when they turn up but it's part of there profession. They might get asked some awkward questions but its not as if folk are going to start lobbing tables and chairs at them!!

As well as playing on the field they have to also partake in off the field activities; deal with the media, conduct themselves professionally in public, attend fans funtions, act as role models, community involvment, kids coaching etc

20-01-2011, 12:30 AM
Once again i agree with you. :greengrin

FFS Silver that's twice in a week. This will need to stop.

Forthview
20-01-2011, 01:35 AM
Players not to be invited to the POTY, this from the guy who apparently speaks for 3000 supporters but I thought he came across as giving his opinion. Embarassing the club even more than the players, good work, really. :asshole:

oregonhibby
20-01-2011, 06:04 AM
Ill judged in my view. These things should happen every year as, as previous posters have said, there is plenty to be happy with outwith the first team and a couple of players even breaking through.

Even within the first team it is rare that all 11 have a complete stinker in every game. Also we are not finished the season yet and what happens if a few new player come in and the team starts to play again, who is going to look stupid then.

Finally, the HSA open themselves up in later years to the Club turning round in a successful season in saying "you know what, we will not be going to the HSA POTY we will hold our own" and how does that serve the fee paying members of the Supporters Association. Even though I don't think the Club would do such a thing as I recall the Hibs Board in previous difficult times going down to Sunnyside and going in to the lions den!

20-01-2011, 06:30 AM
Great move by HSA, and makes me proud to be a Hibby.

We love to win in style. We'll put up with losing stylishly, or even winning boringly, but when you play tedious, mind-numbing football devoid of inspiration or fight, and LOSE EVERY GAME, that's when you've crossed the line with the Hibernian support. And that, thank Donald Duck, is what separates us from the Yams of this world.

Take note Mr Petrie and your boardroom cohorts.

20-01-2011, 06:38 AM
I'm not an HSA member, so my views on it count for nothing but is the comment the official line? Like players themselves, he may have made a flippant comment that has been jumped on. If not, anyone know if Albion Rovers have ever had one of these awards nights?

20-01-2011, 07:37 AM
I can't believe they would even have such an event this year?

Who would buy a ticket for it, and why?

Does anyone think the players even want to attend anyway? Those imposters will be happy as it means another night off and another night in some sheeeite George Street bar where they can impress their money grabbing hangers-on and drink their 5 quid beer.

20-01-2011, 08:26 AM
I am not going to this years POTY awards as I find it galling that one of these under achievers picks up such an accolade.

After the Ross County defeat, the POTY awards took place, and the members were told that no heckling would be tolerated towards anyone from Hibernian FC. With this in mind I feel it would be appropriate to cancel this years event, as someone is sure to say something after a few sherberts.....

Can the players really expect no level of criticism after this seasons shambolic effort and performances?

20-01-2011, 08:32 AM
It's been mentioned already, but this surely would be an opportunity for players to step up and "bond" with the fans - we are after all, all in this Hibs thing together. Surely it's an opportunity for the fans to actually talk to the players and for the players to perhaps express their feelings? Anyway, Deeks goal at Parkhead alone was worthy of my vote - but maybe one of the youngsters could have been awarded it?

From a club POV this does not make for good PR - poor and immature move on part of HSA - IMO

... we could call it "best of a bad bunch" maybe?:greengrin

20-01-2011, 08:34 AM
It's been mentioned already, but this surely would be an opportunity for players to step up and "bond" with the fans - we are after all, all in this Hibs thing together. Surely it's an opportunity for the fans to actually talk to the players and for the players to perhaps express their feelings? Anyway, Deeks goal at Parkhead alone was worthy of my vote - but maybe one of the youngsters could have been awarded it?

From a club POV this does not make for good PR - poor and immature move on part of HSA - IMO

... we could call it "best of a bad bunch" maybe?:greengrin

:agree: It's an important event that is an opportunity to get everyone shooting the same way again.

The players would, IMHO, be entitled to tell the HSA to shove future events if they are not invited to this one.

20-01-2011, 08:44 AM
I am not going to this years POTY awards as I find it galling that one of these under achievers picks up such an accolade.

After the Ross County defeat, the POTY awards took place, and the members were told that no heckling would be tolerated towards anyone from Hibernian FC. With this in mind I feel it would be appropriate to cancel this years event, as someone is sure to say something after a few sherberts.....

Can the players really expect no level of criticism after this seasons shambolic effort and performances?

I agree with this, I see some think it is a chance to create some affinty with the players but i dont see any affinty with this team after last years event or the previous etc etc. Imo there has not been any affinty with players for years.

The players have the chance to create affinty every saturday with me. I dont see why anyone should be given any night of honor.

20-01-2011, 09:47 AM
:agree: It's an important event that is an opportunity to get everyone shooting the same way again.

The players would, IMHO, be entitled to tell the HSA to shove future events if they are not invited to this one.

I've been thinking about this this morning.

While I understand the point that the club and fans need to repair bridges rather than continue to burn them, I do understand what the HSA are doing here.

I don't particularly want to build bridges with any of these players. My patience with them ran out a long time ago. I'll be happy when every single one of them is shown the door in the summer. Why would I want to socialise with them now?

Someone in this Hibs team needs to stand up and lead. There are no leaders at the club, it would appear. All we're getting is the usual soundbytes about "working hard to turn it around" etc.

If I was (for example) Ian Murray, I'd be calling a press conference and doing some pretty straight talking - in public - about where we're headed. I would be urging my team mates, my manager, my board and my supporters to put our differences aside for 4 months so that we can drag ourselves out of this mess. We're all capable of it.

Instead we get a semi-generic message posted on the official site and the players continue to hide behind David Hardie. The whole club needs to face up to the problems and have the balls to deal with them in an honest manner - even if that means some noses (manager, fans, players, board) being put out of joint.

These players lost the fans a long time ago, through their laziness, ineptitude and downright bad attitude. It's up to them to win them back.

20-01-2011, 09:57 AM

You mean ANY of this mob will still be here for future POTY events?! :confused:

20-01-2011, 09:59 AM
I've been thinking about this this morning.

While I understand the point that the club and fans need to repair bridges rather than continue to burn them, I do understand what the HSA are doing here.

I don't particularly want to build bridges with any of these players. My patience with them ran out a long time ago. I'll be happy when every single one of them is shown the door in the summer. Why would I want to socialise with them now?

Someone in this Hibs team needs to stand up and lead. There are no leaders at the club, it would appear. All we're getting is the usual soundbytes about "working hard to turn it around" etc.

If I was (for example) Ian Murray, I'd be calling a press conference and doing some pretty straight talking - in public - about where we're headed. I would be urging my team mates, my manager, my board and my supporters to put our differences aside for 4 months so that we can drag ourselves out of this mess. We're all capable of it.

Instead we get a semi-generic message posted on the official site and the players continue to hide behind David Hardie. The whole club needs to face up to the problems and have the balls to deal with them in an honest manner - even if that means some noses (manager, fans, players, board) being put out of joint.

These players lost the fans a long time ago, through their laziness, ineptitude and downright bad attitude. It's up to them to win them back.

Some very good points there. Its clear we all need to work together, and there has been a division between players and fans, bigger than i have ever seen before. Football is a game where emotions are high, and things get said in the heat of the moment, that most probably regret minutes after saying them. So i understand Mike Rileys answer, but i know and he knows its wrong, and if we are to get out of this mess, we will do it a lot easier together than apart.

20-01-2011, 10:02 AM
You mean ANY of this mob will still be here for future POTY events?! :confused:

Sure some of them will be.

20-01-2011, 10:02 AM
Some very good points there. Its clear we all need to work together, and there has been a division between players and fans, bigger than i have ever seen before. Football is a game where emotions are high, and things get said in the heat of the moment, that most probably regret minutes after saying them. So i understand Mike Rileys answer, but i know and he knows its wrong, and if we are to get out of this mess, we will do it a lot easier together than apart.

hibbymac
20-01-2011, 10:26 AM

First thirty seconds or so are worth listening to.

Supporters ?? (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGOHZTdxTVY)

Glory Glory !!

20-01-2011, 10:28 AM

First thirty seconds or so are worth listening to.

Supporters ?? (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iGOHZTdxTVY)

Glory Glory !!

:thumbsup::notworthy:

20-01-2011, 10:29 AM
Sure some of them will be.

Not many I hope.

hibbymac
20-01-2011, 10:32 AM
:thumbsup::notworthy:

:aok: :flag:

20-01-2011, 10:34 AM
Not many I hope.

Me too.:agree:

20-01-2011, 12:55 PM

Not often I disagree with you Brockie but I do on this occasion.

East Lothian Hibs as an out of town branch often struggled to get players along to our then annual bash. Gareth Evans was a regular attender and others who showed were Keith Wright, Darren Jackson, Mickey Weir, Darren Dods, Graham Donald and Chris Jackson. We used to sponsor Pat McGinlay but stopped as he would never come to our bash and Hibs never to this day gave us the shirt we were meant to get.

So now the Hibs Suppoerters Association who IMO seem to think they speak for all Hibs supporters on the planet deem they don't want any players.

This could affect other supporters clubs being able to get players to attend their functions, again IMO.

If I was a player I would also be wary of the HSA in the future. Say for example Hibs do very well next season and for the sake of argument Paul Hanlon and Callum Booth are stick outs for POTY and young POTY awards.

The two of them IMO would be entitled to say "we weren't good enough for you last year but because it suits you this year you want us to attend, well take your award and GTF"

I don't think the statement made does anybody any favours whatsoever.

20-01-2011, 01:00 PM
Did the hibs.net branch get consulted over this decision? They Should have cancelled the event rather than embarrass us further

20-01-2011, 01:18 PM
If any chair of any organisation makes statements publicly without the permission of its members then their position becomes untenable. As such The hibs.net branch should a meeting/virtual meeting to discuss submitting a vote of no confidence in the HSA chair.

proud_and_green
20-01-2011, 01:41 PM
I agree its not helping, although can understand it 100%. To be fair i don't have any affinity with this lot, and the last thing i'd want to do is sit down and have dinner with any one of that lot, manager and board included.

I agree the sentiment as well, but the more and more we as the fans villify the players, and this to my mind is a fairly extreme version, the less i can see other players wanting to come to a place where this sort of treatment is meted out.

Players play for a number of reasons, they enjoy it (can't imagine many of ours are at the moment) they like the attention they get and support from fans (hmmm..) they like performing in front of people.

The them and us has to stop now. Players have fragile egos and we need to pick them up and urge them on again. Unfortunately i think what is happening now is just breaking them further and discouraging others from joining us. It is a bit of a rapid downward spiral which feeds on itself.

20-01-2011, 02:03 PM

Childish. Why have a POY night and not invite players.

Baker9
20-01-2011, 02:44 PM

:top marks I agree entirely. Petty, small-minded and will look stupid if (please) we win our next 6 games or even appear to be turning it round. Even if we never win another game till March it is a terrible decision. And on telly for the world to see! Our friends across the way will be wetting themselves.

Baker9
20-01-2011, 02:48 PM
If any chair of any organisation makes statements publicly without the permission of its members then their position becomes untenable. As such The hibs.net branch should a meeting/virtual meeting to discuss submitting a vote of no confidence in the HSA chair.

:agree: It sounds like another case of 4 guys round a table after a few beers thinking that what they believe is what everybody must believe, fuelled by the excitement of TV and power.

20-01-2011, 02:52 PM
Stupidity taken to it's broadest extreme....and I've seen plenty these past few months.

Quite apart from the arrogance of apparently a few high faluting committee people..........

WHATS THE POINT OF A POTY WITHOUT ANY PLAYERS :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin Its a bit like having a burns supper wi sausage and mash and reading fae Wordsworth. :greengrin

20-01-2011, 03:52 PM
Do you have to be a Hibs Supporter to join the HSA?

Is it a supporters association or a social club?

To you have to wear a cap, ring a bell, organise a raffle?

Or do you build a strong, modern partnership between the football club and it's fans?

Not criticising - just begging the question!

invisible man
20-01-2011, 04:35 PM
The HSA will be holding it's annual POY on 13th March and the players and Rod Petrie will be invited along as normal and we're sure the evening will be a great success.

The Chairman of HSA was asked by a reporter what the mood of the Hibs fans was in the aftermath of the Ayr game and he replied, among other things, that some fans had questioned the wisdom of holding a POY and suggested holding a function without the players instead. Never at any time did he say that this was what HSA was going to do.

The HSA has worked hard over recent years to build a relationship with HFC and Hibs have responded by making sure that this function is well attended by players and officials. We hope that this will continue for many years to come.

Tickets are on sale now priced £30 :wink:

20-01-2011, 04:39 PM
The HSA will be holding it's annual POY on 13th March and the players and Rod Petrie will be invited along as normal and we're sure the evening will be a great success.

The Chairman of HSA was asked by a reporter what the mood of the Hibs fans was in the aftermath of the Ayr game and he replied, among other things, that some fans had questioned the wisdom of holding a POY and suggested holding a function without the players instead. Never at any time did he say that this was what HSA was going to do.

The HSA has worked hard over recent years to build a relationship with HFC and Hibs have responded by making sure that this function is well attended by players and officials. We hope that this will continue for many years to come.

Cheers for the clarification :aok:

20-01-2011, 04:43 PM
Glad that has cleared it up.

20-01-2011, 04:44 PM

20-01-2011, 04:54 PM

£30 :shocked:

You can get to a Cat A match cheaper than that:duck:

I'm looking forward to meeting the players and offering my encouragement for the remainder of the season. :greengrin

Well done the HSA, building bridges for .... ages :aok:

20-01-2011, 05:06 PM

Colin - you have made us all look silly - I will climb off my high horse now. :greengrin

Misreporting is what the media do for a living

20-01-2011, 05:43 PM

Do you supporters have to pay as well? :greengrin

invisible man
20-01-2011, 05:49 PM
Colin - you have made us all look silly - I will climb off my high horse now. :greengrin

Misreporting is what the media do for a living

I think the title of the thread was a bit naughty and some of you got sucked in by it :greengrin

invisible man
20-01-2011, 05:51 PM
Do you supporters have to pay as well? :greengrin

Naturally :wink:

20-01-2011, 07:34 PM
I think the title of the thread was a bit naughty and some of you got sucked in by it :greengrin

It was called 'Mike Riley' but the admins changed it. Dicks! :o)

invisible man
20-01-2011, 07:50 PM
It was called 'Mike Riley' but the admins changed it. Dicks! :o)

Oh did they now?

Well admin?

archiebald
20-01-2011, 09:38 PM
Oh did they now?

Well admin?
To late Rods read it. :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

21-01-2011, 12:03 AM
Oh did they now?

Well admin?

:tsk tsk:

invisible man
21-01-2011, 09:17 AM
:tsk tsk:

New title was misleading toads, gave the impression that the HSA weren't going to invite the players which wasn't what the op said.

It's going to be even harder to sell tickets now :greengrin