View Full Version : Scottish Cup - 5th Round draw Ayr/Hibs v St Mirren / Peterhead

11-01-2011, 09:37 AM
What time today is the draw, and is it on TV?

Aberdeen v Montrose/Dunfermline
Inverness CT v Morton/Airdrie
Hamilton v Dundee Utd/Ross County
Stenhousemuir/Threave Rovers/Stranraer v Motherwell
East Stirling/Buckie Thistle v Queen of the South/Brechin
Rangers v Celtic
Hibs/Ayr v St Mirren/Peterhead
Hearts/St Johnstone v Falkirk/Partick Thistle

11-01-2011, 10:02 AM
Pretty sure SSN are covering it, 2.30 ?

11-01-2011, 10:14 AM

Rangers v Ayr or Hibs is my prediction

11-01-2011, 10:17 AM
will be insteresting to see who Ayr will play in the next round.

11-01-2011, 10:27 AM
As Jim Bowen would say, "Let's see who you could have played"

TamHibs
11-01-2011, 10:53 AM
Ayr/Hibernian vs Hearts/St Johnstone

11-01-2011, 10:57 AM
Ayr/Hibernian vs Hearts/St Johnstone

Where did you get that from?

edit: just realised this is probably a prediction..

ivan03
11-01-2011, 11:06 AM
hearts/st johnstone vs ayr/hibs. hibs will lose and hearts will pump ayr! boom!

11-01-2011, 11:28 AM
Motherwell go into today's draw for the Scottish Cup fifth round after beating Dundee at the weekend.
The 4-0 thumping of the fancied First Division side puts the Well in the hat to be drawn by Scots pop stars Biffy Clyro at 2.30pm.
STV Motherwell will be at the national stadium for the draw and you can follow events on Twitter (http://twitter.com/stvmotherwell) or on our Twitter feed on the home page.
Tweet us or leave a comment below to say who you want in the draw.

http://local.stv.tv/motherwell/sport/4285-scottish-cup-fifth-round-draw-from-hampden/

not sure if its on telly at work so cant check but SSN

11-01-2011, 11:30 AM
Motherwell go into today's draw for the Scottish Cup fifth round after beating Dundee at the weekend.
The 4-0 thumping of the fancied First Division side puts the Well in the hat to be drawn by Scots pop stars Biffy Clyro at 2.30pm.
STV Motherwell will be at the national stadium for the draw and you can follow events on Twitter (http://twitter.com/stvmotherwell) or on our Twitter feed on the home page.
Tweet us or leave a comment below to say who you want in the draw.

http://local.stv.tv/motherwell/sport/4285-scottish-cup-fifth-round-draw-from-hampden/

not sure if its on telly at work so cant check but SSN

WTF!! :confused:

thats a bit random.

Expecting Rain
11-01-2011, 11:33 AM
Just another example of indifference towards our game and a chance to break up the monotony of watching David Beckham at the Spurs training ground, i`m sure Jim White will be there with a dolly bird in tow to spice things up to when they finally get around to the draw.

11-01-2011, 02:04 PM

I think the other way round.

soproni1
11-01-2011, 02:08 PM

Might be our best chance of a win given recent results

11-01-2011, 02:14 PM
I reckon it will be Montrose or Dunfermline.

11-01-2011, 02:17 PM
It will be either Huns away or Inverness away.

11-01-2011, 02:35 PM
:thumbsup:Rangers vs Celtic

Hibs/Ayr vs St.Mirren/Peterhead

Draw for the last 16 of the Scottish Cup;

East Stirling/Buckie Thistle v Queen of the South/Brechin
Rangers v Celtic

Dirkster23
At home to St Mirren or Peterhead, provided we get through!

Rangers v Celtic :greengrin

11-01-2011, 02:36 PM
:thumbsup:Rangers vs Celtic
Hibs/Ayr vs St.Mirren/Peterhead

I demand a recount! :greengrin

Or redraw!

11-01-2011, 02:37 PM
Someone forgot to turn the microwave on.

11-01-2011, 02:39 PM
Someone forgot to turn the microwave on.

Aye - never mind the dodgy e-mails, whae forgot tae heat the balls! Sack them! :greengrin

We could potentially play St Mirren 3 times in 3 weeks, as we play them on 2nd Feb and 20 Feb already.......

francobaresi
Ooooh, Hibs v Hearts final & the chance to end the season on a high..:wink::flag:

Ell_Chrisso

East Stirling/Buckie Thistle v Queen of the South
Rangers v Celtic

Oooooooooooooooops! :na na:

11-01-2011, 02:40 PM
Horrible feeling Hearts will win it again.

Decent draw for Ayr though, and with 1 of the OF out at this stage, makes it very open indeedly.

11-01-2011, 02:40 PM

Someone will get the bullet for that draw! :gun:

Storar
11-01-2011, 02:41 PM

Surely not? I always read on here that the 'GFA' are fixing corrupt *******s and always rig the draw to keep Celtic and Rangers apart until the final :rolleyes:

Disc O'Dave
11-01-2011, 02:42 PM
Maybe the Rock n'Roll lifestyle has left Biffy Clyro with numb fingertips.....insensitive to subtle temperature changes.

ionahibby
11-01-2011, 02:42 PM

East Stirling/Buckie Thistle v Queen of the South
Rangers v Celtic

The sfa must have forgotten the warm balls then eh :greengrin

11-01-2011, 02:43 PM
We could potentially play St Mirren 3 times in 3 weeks, as we play them on 2nd Feb and 20 Feb already.......

Prime example of Scottish football playing the same teams too often :agree:

Not confident about Ayr game...

Have a feeling the yams are going to win it this year :rolleyes:

Not a bad draw for us being at home - just pity we are useless!

Dirkster23
11-01-2011, 02:45 PM
Someone will get the bullet for that draw! :gun:

I'm sure George Peat did say to the guy from Biffy Clyro that he would be in trouble for that draw :cool2:

11-01-2011, 02:47 PM

:agree: if they keep up their current run of form they will be confident, especially with one of the bigot brothers eliminated

11-01-2011, 03:03 PM
So going to form (and lets pretend Hibs will win against Ayr) the QF lineup will look like the below...

Aberdeen
Inverness CT
Dundee Utd
Motherwell
Queen of the South
Celtic
Hibernian
Hearts

So lets pray for Hibs v QoS or we are ****ed!!

11-01-2011, 03:06 PM

Decent draw for Ayr though, and with 1 of the OF out at this stage, makes it very open indeedly.

does that mean it's a decent draw for hibs as well then ?? we are still in the cup you know :rolleyes:

11-01-2011, 03:12 PM
That's the draw.

Aberdeen v Montrose or Dunfermline

Inverness CT v Morton or Airdrie

Hamilton v Dundee United or Ross County

Stenhousemuir or Threave Rovers or Stranraer v Motherwell

East Stirlingshire or Buckie v Queen of the South or Brechin

Rangers v Celtic

Hibernian or Ayr v St Mirren or Peterhead

Hearts or St Johnstone v Falkirk or Partick Thistle

11-01-2011, 03:13 PM
Opens the draw up nicely and the ideal to me would be to get to the quarter final and play Rangers at home as they will no doubt pick up a few bookings in the OF tie which added to last nights yellows may rule out a few for the quarter final tie.

11-01-2011, 03:14 PM

Is this an attention-seeking post? :confused:

11-01-2011, 03:16 PM
Its a home tie should we win at Ayr, against a non old firm team, who are actually below us in the league. We cant complain about this one.

11-01-2011, 03:18 PM
Oops, how did I miss this thread?

11-01-2011, 03:20 PM
Is this an attention-seeking post? :confused:

having an opinion that Hearts will win it (others have said same),
and i think Ayr will put us out, whom will have a home draw against a team even worse than us perhaps.

11-01-2011, 03:23 PM
maybe Sky are demanding 5 OF games a season now :greengrin

Lets be REALLY positive..assuming US and St Mirren get through then IF we can beat them 3 times in quick succession then we will remain in SPL and look rosy for a wee cup run :flag:

11-01-2011, 03:26 PM

i think its got Aberdeens name written all over it this season.

Pa Broon will do wonders! :agree:

one day maybe...
11-01-2011, 03:40 PM
Hope we get through and Peterhead, wee mates there Captain the now, be a cracking tie for Peterhead. going to the replay next Tuesday only £12 a ticket. If its blowing a gale St Mirren might not fancy the job as its baltic up here. Mon the Blu Toon :wink:

11-01-2011, 03:46 PM
Its a home tie should we win at Ayr, against a non old firm team, who are actually below us in the league. We cant complain about this one.

But we've failed to beat lower league opposition in our last two home SC ties - Ross County and Ayr!

Billy
11-01-2011, 03:49 PM
For those who may have missed the draw, you can watch it again via the freeview screen on the official site.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/Home

11-01-2011, 04:13 PM
Good draw for us and a real opportunity to extend our season. A few decent signings in January and who knows an upsurge could be on the cards. OK its more hope than believe but you have to at least hope.

11-01-2011, 04:17 PM
:flag:WERE GONNAE WIN THE CUP AH TELL YIS:flag:

11-01-2011, 04:19 PM

That is what I like to see

GTTH

11-01-2011, 04:28 PM
i think its got Aberdeens name written all over it this season.

Pa Broon will do wonders! :agree:

Aye :agree: -or God forbid...

The Tubs
11-01-2011, 04:42 PM
I suppose the Ayr game's one of those that could turn a season around: getting a result at a tricky away venue when everyone's writing you off.

It's just that in over 20 seasons of Hibs I've never seen them turn a season around. However, being an optimist, I always believe we can. C'mon the Hibees!

11-01-2011, 04:51 PM
lets hope the St J's win tonight...but if they do...no gloating

jackhfc
11-01-2011, 04:52 PM

WOO:panic::flag::thumbsup:

11-01-2011, 05:23 PM
But we've failed to beat lower league opposition in our last two home SC ties - Ross County and Ayr!

Ok, we are doomed then. Is that better?

11-01-2011, 05:58 PM

i've got a feeling too

There are only abou 5K hibbies who still have the ability to be at every game :wink:

hibee
11-01-2011, 06:15 PM
My cup top up might be worth it this season after all!

11-01-2011, 06:16 PM
Although I count myself among them, the number of punters who think we are going out the cup at the hands of a poor second division is depressing. Putting aside any blame for our present predicament, you would think that even the bunch of losers we have would muscle up enough pride to get through. I wonder if Ayr will be the bookies favourite for the tie.

11-01-2011, 06:17 PM
**** it, I am backshift but if the guy on early shift can swap I am gonna go.
Mon The Hibs:flag:

11-01-2011, 06:25 PM
Who were those 2 scruffy sods that did the draw today, and what do they do? Yes i'm getting old.:wink:

11-01-2011, 06:28 PM
Who were those 2 scruffy sods that did the draw today, and what do they do? Yes i'm getting old.:wink:

Members of Biffy Clyro.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biffy_Clyro

11-01-2011, 06:31 PM
Surely not? I always read on here that the 'GFA' are fixing corrupt *******s and always rig the draw to keep Celtic and Rangers apart until the final :rolleyes:
I have a feeling(and I admit my memory is not what it was-although I can remember us having a good team)that in the days of the draw being made in private which was up to 20 odd years ago in all the semi final draws they were in the OF never came out together.

11-01-2011, 06:34 PM
Members of Biffy Clyro.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biffy_Clyro

11-01-2011, 06:36 PM
For those who may have missed the draw, you can watch it again via the freeview screen on the official site.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/Home

I had a look. It's still the same fortunately.

EasterRoad4Ever
11-01-2011, 08:13 PM

You wouldn't fancy Hibs against ANY side in Scotland at the moment - home or away. In most years a home draw against Ayr, then home against St Mirren would have all excited about this being our year. Sadly, we have some of the worst motivated players in the SPL playing for us at the moment who can hardly muster one game a week without blowing out their *****, so no chnace of them being up for cup.

11-01-2011, 08:50 PM
East Stirlingshire or Buckie v Queen of the South or Brechin

One of these in Qtr final....:cool2:

11-01-2011, 08:57 PM
Brechin currently 2 up at Queens:greengrin

11-01-2011, 09:01 PM
Brechin currently 2 up at Queens:greengrin

Shame for Booth he might have had a good chance of progressing :wink:

Storar
11-01-2011, 09:21 PM

I think they'll win **** all :flag:

11-01-2011, 09:22 PM

Not a bad draw for us being at home - just pity we are useless!

11-01-2011, 09:23 PM
Looks like St J's V Falkirk in the next round :lolyam:

11-01-2011, 09:26 PM

I see what you've done there, good man.

11-01-2011, 09:26 PM
I think they'll win **** all :flag:

thank **** !!

Noticed Skacel wasn't playing at all, and Templeton came on late in the game and Kyle went off quite early. This no doubt impacted them, but who cares, they're oot - bye bye :bye:

11-01-2011, 09:28 PM

thank **** !!

Noticed Skacel wasn't playing at all, and Templeton came on late in the game and Kyle went off quite early. This no doubt impacted them, but who cares, they're oot - bye bye :bye:

They are being rested as they are concentrating on the league this year, it's what big teams do. :wink:

11-01-2011, 09:31 PM

thank **** !!

Can I get your lottery picks too? :not worth :thumbsup:

11-01-2011, 09:32 PM
Cup's wide open now.

This could be a great chance for Ayr to finally go on and win it. :agree:

11-01-2011, 09:38 PM
Does Preston sound absolutely gutted or does he sound absolutely gutted? :cup:

11-01-2011, 09:44 PM
Just thought it might be time for a wee update to the cup draw that was made earlier. :greengrin

East Stirling/Buckie Thistle v Brechin
Rangers v Celtic
St Johnstone v Falkirk/Partick Thistle

11-01-2011, 09:50 PM
Just thought it might be time for a wee update to the cup draw that was made earlier. :greengrin

Rangers v Celtic

Is it just me that thinks we could sneak past Ayr and Peterhead and get East Stirling in the Quarters at ER. :greengrin

11-01-2011, 09:54 PM
Is it just me that thinks we could sneak past Ayr and Peterhead and get East Stirling in the Quarters at ER. :greengrin

:pray:

11-01-2011, 09:56 PM

Rangers v Celtic

One clear-cut tie so far in the whole lot and look at the nick of it!

11-01-2011, 09:57 PM

Why, so we can lose at Ochilview on a cold, wet Tuesday night? Sounds like a plan. :greengrin

11-01-2011, 09:59 PM
Why, so we can lose at Ochilview on a cold, wet Tuesday night? Sounds like a plan. :greengrin

Naw, we'll beat Stenhousemuir in the semis, but lose to Partick Thistle in the Final. :greengrin

11-01-2011, 10:00 PM

Errm, this is hibs you know!

Chances are we will get East Stirling in the final and lose!!!!

I used to be a glass half full type of chap :boo hoo:

11-01-2011, 10:03 PM
And even longer in football....

Earlier today there were a load of Hibs fans after seeing the draw who were dreading the thought of Hearts wining the SC......

Can you think how the Jambos must be feeling now with the potential route we could have (IF we get our act together) and them pumped out :greengrin

11-01-2011, 10:06 PM

I quite fancy a wee trip to Stenhousemuir to watch us play the Shire. 15 minutes from my house, so I could be back in the house by 5 o'clock. :greengrin

Hibby D
11-01-2011, 10:10 PM
And even longer in football....

Earlier today there were a load of Hibs fans after seeing the draw who were dreading the thought of Hearts wining the SC......

Can you think how the Jambos must be feeling now with the potential route we could have (IF we get our act together) and them pumped out :greengrin

I wish I could share your enthusiasm - it just isn't going to happen. is it? :greengrin

11-01-2011, 10:13 PM
SKY Sports have updated their news ticker just in case anyone wants confirmation of tonight's result 314 times over the next 16 hours.

11-01-2011, 10:39 PM
Would it not be IRONIC if the worst Hibs team in 30 years was to do the Unthinkable :greengrin :cool2: :greengrin

11-01-2011, 10:47 PM
Would it not be IRONIC if the worst Hibs team in 30 years was to do the Unthinkable :greengrin :cool2: :greengrin

:greengrin:wink:

Stranger things have happened..

Delighted the yams are out - we have nothing to cheer about so may as well laugh at them:greengrin

I got it fully wrong about my feeling for them to win it this year :na na:

11-01-2011, 11:11 PM

Stuff ironic..................fantastic more like

11-01-2011, 11:55 PM
it's our year!! :duck::offski:

Hibs On Tour
12-01-2011, 01:08 AM
And lo, as was the Hibs way, as the clouds parted and the draw unfolded did not the non-heated balls show the way - did they not foretell of a path to long-lost glories and celebrations the likes of which the capital has never seen?

No, as bloody usual the foretold us somehow shooting ourselves in the foot with opportunity staring at us in the bloody face!

The kindest SC draw in living memory [and we thought last year was potentially good!] with most of the big names already binned. OF against each other already.

Problem is that we are J Arthur Rank at the mo'. The board, if they have one iota of common sense about them, need to seriously back CC this transfer window because not only are we staring a relegation battle square in the coupon but <whisper it> with a following wind and a large portion of luck and dutch courage we might just have a decent shout of a cup run this year.

But *not* unless we get some quality in to at least buck up the keek that's already here. Rant over.