View Full Version : Leicester v Man City (Bamba scored)

hibeemikey21
09-01-2011, 03:01 PM
Bamba starts for Leicester V Man City on ESPN, starting now! Lets see how he copes!

:cool2:

09-01-2011, 03:04 PM
Bamba starts for Leicester V Man City on ESPN, starting now! Lets see how he copes!

He's scored! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

No way

Ha Ha Ha!

blairwallace
09-01-2011, 03:05 PM
first few minutes into the game against manchester city bamba flicks the ball into the net :thumbsup:

Lol Bamba scores

hibeemikey21
:shocked:

09-01-2011, 03:06 PM
Incredible

Ell_Chrisso
Thats what Happens when you sell your best players

:lips seal

Flicked it in actually. Great start for the big man.

first few minutes into the game bamba header

2nd min goal but was a flick with his foot. :greengrin

Ell_Chrisso
09-01-2011, 03:07 PM
Thats what happens...

Yet another good player we cant keep in our ranks

09-01-2011, 03:08 PM
Unbelievable.

09-01-2011, 03:08 PM
I was going to stick a pound on him 1st goal but the stupid Betfred site would not allow it. 33/1

Danny_Hibee
09-01-2011, 03:09 PM
Talking about an ex-player doing well once they have left Hibs....I thought this wasnt allowed!?

:troll:

09-01-2011, 03:09 PM
Any chance we could update the thread title with the current score? :cool2:

Bamba 1-0 Tevez

09-01-2011, 03:10 PM
holy crud...would you beleive it...hope RP's sell on clause is huge

09-01-2011, 03:11 PM
Quite amusing in these dark times!

09-01-2011, 03:11 PM
no doubt he will be to blame if city score

09-01-2011, 03:13 PM
Just clocked Mancini. Wearing two scarves. What a fashionista. Either a pr1ck or a trendsetter....

Liams
09-01-2011, 03:15 PM
where is he getting played?

09-01-2011, 03:16 PM
Thats what Happens when you sell your best players

No, this is what happens when somebody who wanted away actually starts trying their ars* again once they do.

:lips seal

Bamba blocks off the line.

hibeemikey21
09-01-2011, 03:18 PM
where is he getting played?

Centre half. Looking a bit raw, but effective.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
09-01-2011, 03:21 PM
Just clocked Mancini. Wearing two scarves. What a fashionista. Either a pr1ck or a trendsetter....

Neither..."Watch out for plenty of Man City fans - and Roberto Mancini - wearing red and black scarves today. These colours were worn by City when they won the 1969 FA Cup. Neil Young scored the only goal in that match as City defeated Leicester to win the trophy. Young has been diagnosed with terminal cancer and the red and black scarf is a tribute to him." (from BBC website)

hibeemikey21
09-01-2011, 03:22 PM
Also, in the 24th minute, the Man City fans are planning on doing the "Poznan". Hope ESPN get the cameras on it!

Ell_Chrisso
09-01-2011, 03:23 PM
No, this is what happens when somebody who wanted away actually starts trying their ars* again once they do.

Yeah thats very true mate. But if our club actually showed some ambition to keep ahold of our good players, and put good players around them, they wouldnt all be wanting to leave. He's a better player than how sh*t we are at present, so im not really suprised he wanted out.

The rebuild of this team will only work if Petrie gets his finger out

09-01-2011, 03:25 PM

????? He scored 3 for us this season from centre half!!

09-01-2011, 03:26 PM
Normal Bamba service has been resumed :agree:

09-01-2011, 03:26 PM
That's more like the Bamba we know.

09-01-2011, 03:27 PM
1-1 Bamba caught out by a swift movement of feet by milner

That's more like the bambo we know.

'Hero at one end, villain at the other'

:devil:

JoeTortolanoFanClub
1-1. Milner. Bamba mistake. Back to normal.

That's more like the Bamba we know.

Damn you!:wink:

09-01-2011, 03:28 PM
Neither..."Watch out for plenty of Man City fans - and Roberto Mancini - wearing red and black scarves today. These colours were worn by City when they won the 1969 FA Cup. Neil Young scored the only goal in that match as City defeated Leicester to win the trophy. Young has been diagnosed with terminal cancer and the red and black scarf is a tribute to him." (from BBC website)

I know this and read about this before. Why two scarves though? Nice sentiment but he looks a pr!ck.

09-01-2011, 03:30 PM
Give it time Bamba's not finished more mistakes to come

09-01-2011, 03:30 PM
Damn you!:wink:

Quick fingers. :wink:

patlowe
09-01-2011, 03:31 PM
Milner deserves more credit for skinning Bamba IMO, not fair to simply label it a mistake from Sol.

09-01-2011, 03:32 PM
Commentator reckons that big Bamba maybe isn't as good a player as he thinks he is.......that sounds familiar.

miniboco
"perhaps bamba's not quite a good a player as he thinks he is..."

been sussed already! :greengrin

ESPN re Bamba

"Thinks he's a better player than he really is"

Must be a member on here. :agree:

09-01-2011, 03:33 PM
Commentators "Bamba's not as good a player as he think's he is" :LOL::LOL:

09-01-2011, 03:37 PM

commentator just reads hibs.net thats all.

Better CF than a CH??????? :greengrin

hibeemikey21
WTF is going on! Nearly got a second! :faint:

09-01-2011, 03:38 PM
Sorry its a bit late but I tripped up when sprinting to the keyboard to let everyone know this.....

Commentators just said "Bamba's not as good a player as he think's he is"

Milner deserves more credit for skinning Bamba IMO, not fair to simply label it a mistake from Sol.

It is on this place

commentator just reads hibs.net thats all.

Or maybe the same commentator witnessed him up here

09-01-2011, 03:39 PM
He just had two headers. Chris Waddle says better CF than CH lol

09-01-2011, 03:40 PM
WTF is going on! Nearly got a second! :faint:

And again...

09-01-2011, 03:41 PM
He just had two headers. Chris Waddle says better CF than CH lol

Inswinging corner from left by-line taken right-footed by Paul Gallagher (Leicester) to centre, header by Souleymane Bamba (Leicester) from centre of penalty area (12 yards), fantastic save (parried) by Joe Hart (Man City). Header by Souleymane Bamba (Leicester) from centre of penalty area (12 yards), brilliant save (caught) by Joe Hart (Man City).

09-01-2011, 03:43 PM
????? He scored 3 for us this season from centre half!!

Care to remind me the three games he scored in?

09-01-2011, 03:43 PM
Take him away from the back 4 and stick him in midfield

millarco
09-01-2011, 03:44 PM
A bit poor that so many can't wait to see him fail, taking delight in him making a mistake. I'd argue that it wasn't even that great an error, had to go over to cover as nobody was tracking Milner's run from midfield, and it was nice footwork to get past him. Delighted to see him score and hopefully he does well down south. Wish him all the best, as well as the likes of Maka and Murphy who did well yesterday. If nothing else it improves our reputation down south, but always like to see former players do well elsewhere, other than in Scotland.

Dan Sarf
Lampard all over the place...

1639: GOAL Chelsea 7-0 Ipswich (Lampard)
1638: GOAL Chelsea 6-0 Leicester (Lampard)

From BBC updates :rolleyes:

Yeah thats very true mate. But if our club actually showed some ambition to keep ahold of our good players, and put good players around them, they wouldnt all be wanting to leave. He's a better player than how sh*t we are at present, so im not really suprised he wanted out.

Easier said than done, I'd imagine he's on more money now than he'd ever get up here by some margin.

09-01-2011, 03:45 PM
Sometimes a player just needs a fresh challenge.

We need a fresh team altogether.

09-01-2011, 03:47 PM
2-1 City

09-01-2011, 03:47 PM
2-1 City, Tevez.

09-01-2011, 03:48 PM
The commentator saying 'Bamba having a blinder'.

Anyone who thinks he cant play at the top level is just...well, wrong. Typical for HIbs fans though, we never apprecaite what we have until theyre gone.

09-01-2011, 03:48 PM
An excellent finish.

09-01-2011, 03:51 PM

But we cant afford this, and even if we were able to, the Championship will always be a more attractive league, especially to foreigners with no connection to the club.

Newhaven
09-01-2011, 03:52 PM
Talking about an ex-player doing well once they have left Hibs....I thought this wasnt allowed!?

:troll:

Apparently so.

09-01-2011, 03:56 PM
To be fair Bamba was a good player, but he is the type of player who only plays when he can be assed.

fife hfc
09-01-2011, 03:59 PM
Bamba has had an excellent first half and as said earlier it just sad that so many want him to fail. Go on big Sol.

09-01-2011, 04:02 PM

Anyone who thinks he cant play at the top level is just...well, wrong. Typical for HIbs fans though, we never apprecaite what we have until theyre gone.

Bring back AOB. :not worth

Ell_Chrisso
09-01-2011, 04:07 PM
But we cant afford this, and even if we were able to, the Championship will always be a more attractive league, especially to foreigners with no connection to the club.

Well you just summed up why Scottish Football is sooo dyer compared to England. The championship appeals to Hibs players, but even the likes of the good players Hearts have they can keep ahold of. Like i said, our club doesnt show much ambition to generate a squad full of decent players that could get us challenging for europe every year, pushing the old firm & competing in the cups. Thats where we SHOULD be.

hibsdaft
09-01-2011, 04:11 PM
did he not have a similar bomb scare on his debut at ER?
then we moved him to CM.

09-01-2011, 04:11 PM

He also said that Bamba "......was not a very good player in Scotland but was endearing himself to the LC fans."

09-01-2011, 04:17 PM
then we moved him to CM.

He played in midfield and was sent off.

Most on here were full of praise for him though despite the sending off.

patlowe
09-01-2011, 04:19 PM
Paul Gallagher looks decent, a Scottish player that's kinda disappeared in the last few years.

09-01-2011, 04:19 PM
Bamba has had an excellent first half and as said earlier it just sad that so many want him to fail. Go on big Sol.

I want ex players to do well along as they move outwith Scotland.

Bamba however is different as his head was in the clouds when he was here thinking he's better than the club.

fife hfc
09-01-2011, 04:21 PM
then we moved him to CM.

He is not having a bombscare so wtf are you havering about.

09-01-2011, 04:21 PM

Yup. It was evident that Bamba was a very decent player but he became one of the scapegoats as soon as the rumours about his behaviour came out.

There seems to be a bit of revisionism going on to perpetuate the myth that he always made basic errors for us too. I remember him saving Hibs far more than he ever cost us.

It is becoming tedious how some players can do no wrong whereas other can't get credit irrespective of what they do though.

09-01-2011, 04:25 PM
2-2 :thumbsup:

09-01-2011, 04:26 PM
Shocking error by Hart.

patlowe
09-01-2011, 04:27 PM
Oops, yet another english goalkeeping prospect drops a clanger.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
09-01-2011, 04:27 PM
2-2 :thumbsup:

Well deserved. I wouldn't be surprised to see Leicester in the Premiership next season.

Bamba looking good going forward.

fife hfc
09-01-2011, 04:28 PM
Only bombscare moment in whole game has just been committed by Joe Hart.

09-01-2011, 04:28 PM
Yup. It was evident that Bamba was a very decent player but he became one of the scapegoats as soon as the rumours about his behaviour came out.

There seems to be a bit of revisionism going on to perpetuate the myth that he always made basic errors for us too. I remember him saving Hibs far more than he ever cost us.

It is becoming tedious how some players can do no wrong whereas other can't get credit irrespective of what they do though.

:agree: Agree totally. Was always thus, unfortunately.

09-01-2011, 04:41 PM
Bamba could've easily have scored a hat-trick today!
very threatening at set pieces.

No wonder players want to leave ER ASAP and move on to this level, bigger crowds, better atmosphere, more money, playing big names, etc etc.

I wish him all the best.

Cracking cup tie by the way :cool2:

09-01-2011, 04:43 PM
:agree: Agree totally. Was always thus, unfortunately.

:agree: There's a lot of folk here imo, who seem to prefer crap mediocre players to good quality ones. :confused:

09-01-2011, 04:49 PM
Care to remind me the three games he scored in?

apologies. 2 goals

patlowe
09-01-2011, 04:49 PM
Why was Bamba not this much of an attacking threat for us?

09-01-2011, 04:51 PM
apologies. 2 goals

No probs Callum, couldn't think of a third.

09-01-2011, 04:53 PM

because we cant get our corners past the 1st man

Cause we put in ***** corners. :confused:

Bamba MOM :agree:

Dan Sarf
09-01-2011, 04:56 PM
Well played Sol, you did us proud.

Did the commentator say it was a big day for Hibs getting £250,000? Patronising twonk if he did.

09-01-2011, 04:57 PM
Martin Allen on SSN. "Leicester's Bamba is MoM. He has been awsome on his debut".

Gala Foxes
09-01-2011, 04:59 PM
Great effort by The Foxes - thought the script was written for Stevie Howard to score a last minute winner but happy to get a second go in Mancsville

Last time I went to Man City away with Leicester Robbie Savage scored the only goal at Maine Road. The time before Mark Robins did the same.

09-01-2011, 05:00 PM
What a loss he's going to be for us.

Great character, great player.

09-01-2011, 05:01 PM
Good game Bamba did well

Ell_Chrisso
09-01-2011, 05:01 PM
Just aswell Joe Harts not our goalie or he would be another goalie thats useless and sounded out on here. Well played Sol 'useless' Bamba. Good riddence

hibeemikey21
09-01-2011, 05:03 PM
Delighted for the big man. Been tested by the best opponents he is likely to face for Leicester this season and had a stormer! Really hope he can keep it going! :top marks

09-01-2011, 05:09 PM
It wont be long before he's found out for what he really is.

A bomescare...

Bobo
09-01-2011, 05:10 PM
Martin Allen on SSN. "Leicester's Bamba is MoM. He has been awsome on his debut".

It's amazing what can be achieved when players show a bit of commitment and put in the effort :rolleyes:

09-01-2011, 05:10 PM
Bamba's accent is quality :faf:

Good luck to him - attributes to be a very good player and was a good signing for us. Proved a lot of people wrong during his spell with us, hopefully can do the same down South.

09-01-2011, 05:13 PM
It wont be long before he's found out for what he really is.

A bomescare...

You think so?

I think he will end up playing in the Premiership with or without Leicester.

09-01-2011, 05:19 PM
Youth think so?

I think he will end up playing in the Premiership with or without Leicester.

They guy is an accident waiting to happen...

Prawn Sandwich
09-01-2011, 05:20 PM
Maybe Bamba's done Hibs a big favour and there will now be a big rush to buy Hibs players from the Championship? :greengrin

moggie
09-01-2011, 05:23 PM
Robbie savage and john barnes played down his debut performance, like they know that was a blue moon display.:cool2:

09-01-2011, 05:30 PM
Bamba is a class act and will do very well for Leicester.
He'll make the odd mistake but that won't matter, because it's only Hibs players who aren't allowed a mistake. :rolleyes:

09-01-2011, 05:31 PM
do we have a sell on claus?

09-01-2011, 05:31 PM
he was a good player in a **** hibs team, he was brought down to the level of bad playes at ER. Good luck tae the guy, wouldnt it be a bummer if he is sold for a couple of million in a year or so?

09-01-2011, 06:08 PM
Thought he had an excellent game and will do well down south.

09-01-2011, 06:18 PM

However he was usually excellent in big games

09-01-2011, 06:30 PM

And yet was our best defender by a mile.

Godsahibby
09-01-2011, 06:40 PM
My mate who played at Dunfermiline said to me that Bamba is only a good player until he's looking for his next move, showed this with Dunfermiline and showed this at ER, wonder how long until the bombscare makes and appearance.

09-01-2011, 06:41 PM

Correct. Amazing how we pray for decent players then slag them when we have them.

09-01-2011, 06:44 PM
he's accent is hilarious!

Leicester Fan
09-01-2011, 07:08 PM

I'd guess most sets of fans are like that. There's plenty like that on our forum.

Anyhoo. Thanks for Sol, he's a cult hero in the making, could have scored 2 or 3 tonight. We needed that bit of aerial presence in the box, we only scored our first goal from a corner this season last week.
I thought he defended pretty well as well.

09-01-2011, 07:11 PM

Best since Sauzee :agree:

09-01-2011, 07:19 PM

Was certainly our most capable. Still maintain best game I saw him play was against us in the Sxottish Cup semi. Guy was immense that day and it is no exaggeration to say he single handedly broke up play and got his team to the final.

Now if he could be ersed every game :greengrin

09-01-2011, 07:20 PM
From FoxesTalk ..they love him already ..

http://www.foxestalk.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=70240

09-01-2011, 07:23 PM
I'd guess most sets of fans are like that. There's plenty like that on our forum.

Anyhoo. Thanks for Sol, he's a cult hero in the making, could have scored 2 or 3 tonight. We needed that bit of aerial presence in the box, we only scored our first goal from a corner this season last week.
I thought he defended pretty well as well.

He did well today without doubt! :agree:

But..........it's easier to play well with better players around you! :wink: :agree:

09-01-2011, 07:56 PM
Maybe Bamba's done Hibs a big favour and there will now be a big rush to buy Hibs players from the Championship? :greengrin

Can we make a list of great prospects :wink:

09-01-2011, 08:33 PM
From FoxesTalk ..they love him already ..

They are in for a rude awakening...

09-01-2011, 09:03 PM
He did well today without doubt! :agree:

But..........it's easier to play well with better players around you! :wink: :agree:

Just been reading the thread and waiting for someone to write that :greengrin
Paul McStay was another one exactly like Bamba.
Watched the game and was pleased for the guy but ....................... !

09-01-2011, 09:09 PM
Best since Sauzee :agree:
i would rather have jones than bamba,although he was easily our best defender when he he could be ar$ed

09-01-2011, 09:25 PM
A Jones / Bamba mix would have been ideal.

Pleased he did well today - he was too good for us and often lost concentration as he found it too easy.

For the SPL and Hibs he did a job more often than not.

Regarding his future - it will be interesting to see how he does down south.

I always thought he was strong in midfield - but Leicester looked to have some good players in midfield.

If you played for your country (Ivory Coast) at the world cup then came back to play against St Mirren / Hamilton wouldn't be ideal so no grudges held him wanting to further his career.

Wouldn't be surprised if he ends up somewhere like Wigan / Wolves in a couple of years.

HibeePaj
10-01-2011, 04:03 AM
ok, enough of the negativity for now,, after Sol's display against man city tonight has gone down a storm it would seem. i would just like to wish the big man all the best and lets hope we see him in the EPL soon.

he has (as expected i guess) already been a hit with the foexes fans,

10-01-2011, 06:56 AM
Pleased he did well today - he was too good for us and often lost concentration as he found it too easy.

Thanks for the belly laugh with this on what is a bleak Monday morning in Berlin....:faf:

10-01-2011, 07:45 AM
ok, enough of the negativity for now,, after Sol's display against man city tonight has gone down a storm it would seem. i would just like to wish the big man all the best and lets hope we see him in the EPL soon.

A great player when the interest took him, but he has the tendancy to sit back on his laurels when he's established himself.

If he overcomes this attitude, then he'll be going on to bigger and better things in no time at all.

McKenzie
10-01-2011, 12:18 PM
Had a decent game last night, except the mistake, he just needs to keep his concentration up for the full 90 and he will be a decent player. Good luck big man

scott7_0(Prague)
10-01-2011, 12:33 PM
Sol who?? :confused:

10-01-2011, 12:38 PM
:fuming::grr::bitchy::brickwall:paranoid::take that:tsk tsk::sairhead::furious:

Away and bile yer heid - and while you at it, have some respect for the teminally miserable and suicidal among us. :greengrin

Leicester Fan
10-01-2011, 04:05 PM
A Jones / Bamba mix would have been ideal.

For the SPL and Hibs he did a job more often than not.

Regarding his future - it will be interesting to see how he does down south.

I always thought he was strong in midfield - but Leicester looked to have some good players in midfield.

If you played for your country (Ivory Coast) at the world cup then came back to play against St Mirren / Hamilton wouldn't be ideal so no grudges held him wanting to further his career.

Wouldn't be surprised if he ends up somewhere like Wigan / Wolves in a couple of years.

We'll be above them soon.:greengrin

11-01-2011, 01:10 AM

That really is rather worrying reading. Esepcially the Hibs fan saying he is "one of the most consistent players you'll have"

I've sang Sol's praises a lot on here, but consistent is not a term I would assosiate with him. Good luck to him though.

11-01-2011, 01:14 AM
A great player when the interest took him, but he has the tendancy to sit back on his laurels when he's established himself.

If he overcomes this attitude, then he'll be going on to bigger and better things in no time at all.

Bamba probably thinks his move to Leicester is long-overdue recognition of his fantastic abilities.

calder45a
11-01-2011, 09:20 AM
Heres his first touch in English football.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbU4... (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbU4-g7UVQk)