View Full Version : Snow - Hibs v Ayr on (Yams off)

07-01-2011, 12:33 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/forecast/5?&search=dalkeith&itemsPerPage=10&region=world&area=Dalkeith

:greengrin sorry someone would have asked eventualy.....forecast is pretty harsh looking on the snow front

07-01-2011, 12:39 PM
http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/dg/edinburgh_forecast_weather.html

07-01-2011, 12:41 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/forecast/5?&search=dalkeith&itemsPerPage=10&region=world&area=Dalkeith

:greengrin sorry someone would have asked eventualy.....forecast is pretty harsh looking on the snow front

As at 12.40 its looking fine...better checking here >>> http://www.metoffice.gov.uk - unfortunately, Government Ministers missed this relevation :devil:

ryanelliot-hfc
07-01-2011, 01:09 PM
fingers crossed!

07-01-2011, 01:21 PM
As at 12.40 its looking fine...better checking here >>> http://www.metoffice.gov.uk - unfortunately, Government Ministers missed this relevation :devil:

Us country bumkins are well used to dealing with the snow...it was seeing how CEC dealt with things in the City recently :rolleyes: that would lead to concern they cant clear up roads / pavements sufficiently to standard acceptable to police regarding fan safety after it stops

07-01-2011, 03:18 PM
According to the radar on the Met Office site, could be bad during the night but the worst of it should have cleared by dawn.

07-01-2011, 03:38 PM
The forecast is suggesting that there could be heavy snow in the early hours of the morning and last for a good few hours. I don't think the temperature tomorrow is forecast to be high enough for the snow that does fall to melt.

If the snow is going to be as bad as that, the match tomorrow could well be in doubt but all we can do is wait until the morning and see the damage that's been done.

07-01-2011, 04:16 PM
I really hope the game is on, but with snow expected tomorrow. The game looks kind of doubtful.

magnificent_seven
07-01-2011, 04:34 PM
Looking at the forcast, snow chance this game will be going ahead.

07-01-2011, 04:38 PM
Looking at the forcast, snow chance this game will be going ahead.

Ach didnae worry - you know how unreliable these climate change scientists can be with their predictions.

07-01-2011, 06:08 PM
Snow flurries out here in Deepest East Lothian already - well ahead of forecast

07-01-2011, 06:15 PM
Snow flurries out here in Deepest East Lothian already - well ahead of forecast

Just as i was typing no snow in the shadows of the stadium... im seeing snow flakes falling in my garden now.

Sweep
07-01-2011, 06:23 PM
Snowing in Bonnyrigg.

07-01-2011, 06:27 PM
And in Newington-send for the huskies.

MountcastleHibs
07-01-2011, 06:36 PM
Snowing here in Mountcastle. Lying already a layer on the pavement.

Simpson
07-01-2011, 06:44 PM
Snowing here in costa del Northfield

07-01-2011, 06:49 PM
Nae snow here in the Cuik :cool2:

07-01-2011, 06:50 PM
Nae snow here in the Cuik :cool2:
Try opening the curtains

07-01-2011, 06:51 PM
Try opening the curtains

I wouldnae dae that even if Hibs were playing in ma back gairden :wink:

07-01-2011, 06:52 PM
snowin in livi

SloopJB
07-01-2011, 07:04 PM
No, it's in Edinbruh.

According to Froth 1

07-01-2011, 07:11 PM
Jings quite a wide spread already..

EskbankHibby
07-01-2011, 07:26 PM
Chucking it down now just off Lower London Road/Narnia.

07-01-2011, 07:56 PM
Jings quite a wide spread already..

Sounds good.

07-01-2011, 07:58 PM
Snowing in Falkirk. Got quite a covering on my street already.

07-01-2011, 07:59 PM
It's snowing in Dalkeith.

Mary Hinge
07-01-2011, 08:19 PM
The streets in Bonnyrigg are like skating rinks :agree:

07-01-2011, 08:21 PM
It's snowing in Edinburgh and doesn't look like stopping...

07-01-2011, 10:21 PM
10 cm to fall ,pretty sure when i was at school, thats only 3 inches so the game should be on. :wink: mon the hibees

07-01-2011, 11:34 PM
10 cm to fall ,pretty sure when i was at school, thats only 3 inches so the game should be on. :wink: mon the hibees

Eh :rolleyes: 4 inches..size matters

07-01-2011, 11:38 PM
Plenty snow up on Corstorphine Hill, hear it's meant to stop by dawn.

Hope the game's on, I've been looking forward to it all week (in a masochistic way, of course). :greengrin

woody47
07-01-2011, 11:39 PM
Certainly a couple of inches in Bo'ness right now. If it keeps up like this no way will I even get the car out of the street so hoping it stops soon or no game for me tomorrow. Bloody German cars.

07-01-2011, 11:42 PM
snow stopped in leith now. a few cm, not enough to stop the game I don't reckon.

Paths around lochend might be a bit slippy but I reckon it will be ok.

07-01-2011, 11:46 PM
Certainly a couple of inches in Bo'ness right now. If it keeps up like this no way will I even get the car out of the street so hoping it stops soon or no game for me tomorrow. Bloody German cars.

I'm not a million miles from you as I'm just outside Falkirk and it's pretty bad here at the moment as well.

Not too sure I'll be going anywhere tomorrow either.

07-01-2011, 11:53 PM
I'm not a million miles from you as I'm just outside Falkirk and it's pretty bad here at the moment as well.

Not too sure I'll be going anywhere tomorrow either.

Hopefully Deek doesn't get snowed in out your way. :greengrin

07-01-2011, 11:53 PM
Anyody going from Perthshire?

Need somebody to take a banner to Easter Road

I'm on the top of a hill and unlikely the car will move the morn :boo hoo:

But I can get it on foot to Perth town or Broxden

07-01-2011, 11:59 PM

What school was this? :greengrin

sven nil
08-01-2011, 05:26 AM
5 2OAM the snow has been falling since 8PM last night ,I dont think the game will be on,anyone near Easter Road how bad is it down that way?

08-01-2011, 05:35 AM
5 2OAM the snow has been falling since 8PM last night ,I dont think the game will be on,anyone near Easter Road how bad is it down that way?
its not that bad mate just drove past in the taxi and i would be surprised if there is any problems

sven nil
08-01-2011, 05:39 AM
its not that bad mate just drove past in the taxi and i would be surprised if there is any problems
Cheers mate i just drove from Redford to loanhaed six inches deep here.

roondheid
08-01-2011, 05:43 AM

I'm in Leith. I'd be surprised if it's not called off this morning.

sven nil
08-01-2011, 05:47 AM
are the pavements covered mate if sothe polis will have a say.

08-01-2011, 05:48 AM
i dont see why they would call it off its not icy yet and the pitch should be fine but you never know with the health and safety brigade

08-01-2011, 05:56 AM
Game will be on I think.

sven nil
08-01-2011, 06:22 AM
Just heard Edinburgh airport is closed,Its not looking to good im desprate for the game to .be on

HibeesLA
08-01-2011, 06:55 AM
http://www.camvista.com/scotland/edinburgh/royalmile.php

jakki
08-01-2011, 07:04 AM
Nae way it should be called off!

40+ years ago I'd be standing in the terracing in my gym rubbers and nae socks in 6" of snaw. Kept warm wi daing the original Hibees Bounce and changing ends
at half time.

yer all wimps!:wink:

Maybe thats why I've got the dreaded arthuritis and now have to pick and chose which games I can go fur :thumbsup:

08-01-2011, 07:11 AM
sorry bud [how does your ferrari handle the snow]:greengrin

hibbill2002
08-01-2011, 07:11 AM
Nae way it should be called off!

40+ years ago I'd be standing in the terracing in my gym rubbers and nae socks in 6" of snaw. Kept warm wi daing the original Hibees Bounce and changing ends
at half time.

yer all wimps!:wink:

Maybe thats why I've got the dreaded arthuritis and now have to pick and chose which games I can go fur :thumbsup:
Ya woose, nae flip flops?:wink:

08-01-2011, 07:12 AM
What school was this? :greengrin
rumbled :greengrin

jakki
08-01-2011, 07:44 AM
never have worn flipflops what ever they be :thumbsup:

08-01-2011, 07:45 AM

It does?
Aw noooooooooooooooooooooooo.:boo hoo:

08-01-2011, 08:05 AM
Just been out in leith, pavements are covered in a thin layer of snow. It's all melting already though so providing theres not anymore snow I think it will be on.

hibbill2002
08-01-2011, 08:17 AM
Just been out in leith, pavements are covered in a thin layer of snow. It's all melting already though so providing theres not anymore snow I think it will be on.
Anywhere near Pitt street? am heading there shortly, hopefully to take a wheelchair for a walk

ionahibby
08-01-2011, 08:19 AM
Think it will be more to do with travelling conditions from outside edinburgh and ayr that the polis will consider. Polis being the polis will prob go ott if there is a flutter of snow :rolleyes:

hibbill2002
08-01-2011, 08:20 AM
never have worn flipflops what ever they be :thumbsup:
http://www.somethingyoushouldread.com/images/haikus/eva-flip-flops-20838.jpg
(http://www.somethingyoushouldread.com/images/haikus/eva-flip-flops-20838.jpg)

08-01-2011, 09:18 AM
just dropped the wife off at ER for work.

IMO there is no way the game should be off

08-01-2011, 09:22 AM
Anywhere near Pitt street? am heading there shortly, hopefully to take a wheelchair for a walk

I once killed a mouse with a shovel in Pitt Street. FACT

08-01-2011, 09:26 AM

yeah very close. be a bit of a shove for a wheelchair but shouldn't be too bad. Are you putting anyone in the wheelchair?

08-01-2011, 09:31 AM
It's all slush no way shouldnthe game be off roads clear enough I'm at meadowbank now

08-01-2011, 09:33 AM
It's all slush no way shouldnthe game be off roads clear enough I'm at meadowbank nowPassed that way at 0800 this morn & it was more slush than anything else ..jeez..games have been on in worse conditions than that ..:agree:

mickki40
08-01-2011, 09:36 AM
Think it will be more to do with travelling conditions from outside edinburgh and ayr that the polis will consider. Polis being the polis will prob go ott if there is a flutter of snow :rolleyes:
I am in the west, the roads are quite clear where I am, although snow everywhere else the main routes are clear

08-01-2011, 09:36 AM
boys are out clearing it the now so reckon that means game on :wink:

08-01-2011, 09:48 AM
A good covering of snow out here in West Lothian but not enough to keep me in the house, so assuming the car starts, I'll be coming in.

08-01-2011, 09:53 AM

You're a monster.

Dalkeith
08-01-2011, 10:01 AM
game on official

ayr website

http://www.ayrunitedfc.co.uk/news.asp?int_news_id=2258

08-01-2011, 10:03 AM
You're a monster.

Would a monster need a shovel to kill a wee mouse:dunno:

08-01-2011, 10:25 AM
If the Ipswich v Leicester game went ahead a couple of weeks back then the game today should go ahead no questions asked.

08-01-2011, 10:27 AM
Why would a mouse be carrying a shovel?

08-01-2011, 10:31 AM
just dropped the wife off at ER for work.

IMO there is no way the game should be off

Thanks for that Mr De Graaf :greengrin

08-01-2011, 10:36 AM
Why would a mouse be carrying a shovel?

Greenlex made it dig its own grave. :bitchy:

08-01-2011, 11:03 AM
sorry bud [how does your ferrari handle the snow]:greengrin

My Crew van shaped Ferrari handles well :agree: However the summer sexy BMW Z5 soft top of my neighbour I can confirm is like a bar of soap on a tiled floor in the snow :greengrin

Back to weather...nice day..cold but not freezing and sunny over the snow...looks lovely and should present no problem to a competent council roads team :rolleyes:

08-01-2011, 11:08 AM
A good 4 inches in Inners with glorious sunshine :wink: According to the BBC, the game is still on but doesn't even give us a mention :rolleyes: Nae surprise there then .. :cool2:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/9348366.stm

08-01-2011, 11:17 AM
game on official

ayr website

http://www.ayrunitedfc.co.uk/news.asp?int_news_id=2258

It's always good to have to rely on your opponent's website for up to date info!! :confused:

08-01-2011, 11:44 AM
Just drove from livi to Edinburgh, roads are fine just watch the motorway eastbound J2 (newbridge) when the overtaking land goes from clear to covered in snow

Dalkeith
08-01-2011, 11:58 AM
It's always good to have to rely on your opponent's website for up to date info!! :confused:

Aye why waste bandwidth when you can let someone else keep your fans updated

hibbill2002
08-01-2011, 12:53 PM
Who gave the mouse a shovel, and why did you kill it?:greengrin

yeah very close. be a bit of a shove for a wheelchair but shouldn't be too bad. Are you putting anyone in the wheelchair?

I was going to put my brother in it, but he didnae want tae go out in the cauld.
It wisnae too bad as you said, cheers:aok:

08-01-2011, 01:03 PM
game at pinkcastle tomorrow is postponed(burst pipes)

08-01-2011, 01:04 PM
Yams off due to burst pipes

Call me suspicious but that wouldn't be them trying to get back at St. Johnstone for forcing them to charge full price?

08-01-2011, 01:05 PM
game at pinkcastle tomorrow is postponed(burst pipes)

Probably too tight to put on the under soil heating :agree:

08-01-2011, 01:14 PM
Yams off due to burst pipes

Call me suspicious but that wouldn't be them trying to get back at St. Johnstone for forcing them to charge full price?

Can't be any worse than the state of the toilets last week, before the game!

08-01-2011, 02:13 PM
Can't be any worse than the state of the toilets last week, before the game!

To be honest, the toilets are a disgrace every Derby thanks to some disgusting antics from our fans. Last week I actually saw one punter take a leak against the pie stand whilst the one toilet that was operational was packed with smokers, one of which thought it would be a great idea to kick a pipe off the wall causing urine to pour all over the floor.

It wouldn't surprise me if hearts decided to close the other toilets to avoid the usual damage being done.

08-01-2011, 02:29 PM
In the ground now - the streets around Stadium are appalling with ice
The bridge is so icy that police are going to close unless thay can gett council to grit it
There was a crowd just watching peple try to get down steep part without doing a you've been frames moment

08-01-2011, 02:33 PM
In the ground now - the streets around Stadium are appalling with ice
The bridge is so icy that police are going to close unless thay can gett council to grit it
There was a crowd just watching peple try to get down steep part without doing a you've been frames moment

Any team news?

08-01-2011, 02:37 PM
Any team news?

Brown, Thicot, Grounds, Dickoh, Hanlon, Murray, Zemmama, Miller, Duffy, Riordan, Galbraith. Subs: Smith, Wotherspoon, Stevenson, McBride, Trakys

08-01-2011, 02:43 PM
Brown, Thicot, Grounds, Dickoh, Hanlon, Murray, Zemmama, Miller, Duffy, Riordan, Galbraith. Subs: Smith, Wotherspoon, Stevenson, McBride, Trakys

Duffy, Zouma, Miller and Galbraith... I'm liking:greengrin

Thanks BD

08-01-2011, 02:53 PM
Looks to be a very attacking team.:agree: